Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Indiana University-East Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Get involved in campus groups; it will look good on your college transcript when you graduate. Volunteer in your field of interest, if possible, before naming a major in high school. For instance, I nearly majored in Occupational Therapy, but when I began to volunteer at a local hospital during my senior year of high school I ended up switching to a different major because I realized Occupational Therapy was not a major I wanted to go into. Lastly, get to know your teachers - they are real people, with lives outside of the classroom. The teachers might control your grades, but they can also become a friend to you. I have gotten to know my teachers by talking with them outside of class and it has helped me to establish a good relationship with them; I feel like I can talk to them or ask them questions more easily because I know now that they want you to succeed; if you fail, it looks bad on them.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first tip would be to meet new people - you are at college and no one cares whether you were a geek or jock in high school. Secondly, you should show you care in classes - keep your notes, quizzes, papers, etc. all neatly filed in a three ring binder. Keeping things in a binder makes finding things easier and your professors will enjoy seeing a neat student. Thirdly, I would recommend skipping then college parties - in the few weeks I have been attending college there have been three stories of kids who ended up graduating in six years instead of four because of their nocturnal activities. Lastly, dress the part; I am not trying to discriminate, but if you dress in ratty, stained, risque clothing you will not command as much respect as you could if you wear a clean and modest outfit. Same goes for makeup and hair - the really serious students usually do not go for vibrant hair or makeup because they are too busy with their academics during the school year. Teachers can pick up on the serious students because they ask questions, take notes on lectures, answer question the teachers ask, and study the content. If you want to be a successful student I would say that your best chance is to study - if you study hard, then you won't have time for the parties and you will probably graduate in four years, unlike the party-loving crowd.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a lot of neat features about Indiana University East. The college has done three big events since I enrolled here: A two day 'Back With The Pack' bash which included free t-shirts, prizes, activities, food, and a live band. The college also includes a 'technology charge' which is really handy - Adobe CS5, Photoshop, Microsoft Word, Virus Software, etc. are just a few of the free programs offered under the technology charge. In fact, one Indiana University East staff member said that some people have taken a single cheap course at the college to gain access to some of the software listed under the technology charge. This college also allows students who possess a student I.D. card to use the X-box, playstation, and fitness center located at the school for free. Overall, there are many amenities for the oncoming student; all you have to do is look around, ask questions, and keep your eyes and ears open.

    Am enjoying being here

    Enjoying your classes depends on who your teachers are, how you prepare yourself mentally, and how you respond towards others. If you go into a class thinking that it will be terrible, it will likely be a terrible experience for you. Teachers also make up a large part of enjoying your classes; if you have a terrible teacher then you will probably hate your class. Several experienced juniors and seniors have told me about their experiences with terrible teachers and their advice was plain and simple: drop the class. Your responses are just as important to enjoying classes as finding the right teacher; if you act aloof and unkind to the people you have never met before then you will end up a loner.

    Am learning a lot

    Going to Indiana University East has its advantages; the teachers are wonderful and very smart. Generally, if you ask a question they will answer it and explain their reasons, letting the student better understand. If you are struggling in classes there are help centers - usually called S.I. Leaders who are present from 9:00 in the morning till 5:00 at night. The teachers want you to succeed; if you apply yourself then you will learn.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IU East is good for any student! If you want to learn and go forward in a career IU East is a good college to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do NOT be afraid to ask for help. Everyone at IU East is willing to help you, even some of your fellow students. So ask for help and a little bit of help goes a long way.

    Bang for the buck

    IU East is a cheaper college but I believe it is one of the best colleges there is. You can learn a lot and there is always available help. Plus there's free T-shirt days and sometimes there's even a free lunch! I have also gotten to attend some free events like college speakers and I have learned so much from those speakers. IU East is definitely a good school to attend.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love all the activities IU East provides and I like how they have special occasions where they try to get all the students to come together and just enjoy themselves. The black light parties and movie nights near the Graf are definitely my favorites.

    Am learning a lot

    I Love attending IU East! Every teacher I have had has taught me something I can currently apply to my life or something I will eventually use in my future as a Social Worker. The Social Work program is especially good and any of the advisers or teachers will help you with anything you need. The staff at IU East is very attentive and I am thankful for that.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    IU East is a great college. The classes are smaller, which is one thing I like about this school. IU East is a great college to meet new people, especially when you get into your major, because you get so close to those few people who are with you. I highly recommend this college to anyone.

  • 09/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I'm a distance education student and I love it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small but everyone is really nice and very helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are small and it's easy to get one-on-one help from a teacher.

  • 10/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I am an educational student and it's great for those who are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your work on time and get involved on campus by joining clubs or groups.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like that it's a small school. The students are nice as well.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are smaller, so it's easier to get one-on-one help

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many restaurants located near the campus and a cafeteria on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students: do your work, respect your teachers by keeping your cell phones off, and always attend each class.

    In three sentences

    I love Indiana University-East. It has the home town, friendly, small community quality that makes it special. It is a small university with great teachers,a school that I am proud to be a part of.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at Indiana University East & we have great campus police there that keep a good eye on our campus as well as the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is Student Government Association, Student Activities Advisory Team, Campus Christian Fellowship, Environmental Club, & Psychology club student organizations on our campus.

    What to do for fun

    Students' can work out in our Graff recreational fitness center for fun as well as attend our volleyball/basketball games that we have throughout the semester.

    Food and Dining

    We have a coffee place called Bear Creek in Springwood hall that has great coffee, smoothies, hot tea, & other sorts of foods.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have any dorms, but are working on it.

    Academic Rigor

    Indiana University East has excellent teachers who really know take their job seriously and want to see students' succeed in all of their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not hesitate on going to your teachers for help if you're struggling in their classes, it will pay off in the long run. Take extremely good notes in your classes. Get involved with student organizations on our campus & see our campus become a great place for students' to want a degree at.

    In three sentences

    This school has excellent teachers and faculty. Indiana University has an excellent Student Support Service that helps students' with a disability and can help them succeed in their classes. We have an excellent writing & math center & these centers are there to help students with their math & writing skills as well as help them do well in their math/writing classes.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Recreation center, clubs, and gym.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up now!

    In three sentences

    My experience at Indiana University East has been very educating. The staff and professors are helpful, knowledgeable and friendly and the classes are very interesting. Overall it's a great school at an affordable price!

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    good

    Dorm Life

    friendly atmosphere

    Academic Rigor

    academic rigor is very good

    In three sentences

    Indiana University is a conducive environment to study.

  • 08/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Richmond is a small town, but we have movie theaters, a skate building, parks, walking paths, mini golf, and much more.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms yet.

    Academic Rigor

    If it's something you are interested in, it isn't too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    You don't have to have a major decided or anything beforehand; a lot of people go a year or two before deciding a major, and other people switch majors a handful of times. It's nothing to stress about!

    In three sentences

    Everything is pretty easy-going. If you don't understand something, its easy and comfortable to ask someone for help. The staff and the other students are all very comfortable to be around.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. I've never once had a worry about my safety here.

    Bang for the buck

    This school isn't too expensive, and you get a decent education.

    What to do for fun

    Being that there is no dorms, there really is nothing fun to do on campus, unless you call going to class and attempting to learn fun.

    Food and Dining

    I myself have never eaten here, but I've heard it's definetely not the best.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here, but I've heard they MIGHT be trying to build some.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are a lot more strict than others, but over-all I'd say they're pretty easy going. They're more helpful and available also, probably because of the small class sizes compaired to other universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school isn't hard to get into, and it's not very expensive. If you want a good I.U. degree, this is the place.

    In three sentences

    Over-all, I feel this is a pretty good university. If someone is wanting a smaller school, smaller classes, and more one-on-one attention from professors, I would look into this school. On a scale of 10, I would give this school an 8.

  • 11/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are many fast food restaurants located near campus, but it only takes a maximum of ten minutes to take the highway across town where more sit-down restaurants are located.

    Dorm Life

    Students live off of campus, but there are apartment buildings for students right down the street.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers here want students to succeed. They give many opportunities to make up work or give extra credit. Do not confuse this with getting an easy A. Teachers push us to think outside the box and connect what we learn in class to the outside world. There is an honors program for students who want to push themselves even further. This involves doing extra projects in class, service learning, and cultural activities. Honor students even get their own classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as involved with school as you can. Get to know your professors and push yourself with honors work or extra credit opportunities. Take advantage of everything.

    In three sentences

    This a small campus with small classes, but also a positive atmosphere with professors that care about each individual student. Communication on campus is very effective and our homepage keeps students updated on important dates and opportunities. Staff is readily available to assist with questions.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do not cap out on your financial aid! Ask many questions of your professors! Study everyday!

    In three sentences

    Indiana University East is a great college! I really enjoy going to this school! I hope to continue mu education at Indiana University East!

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online learning from IU East is very convenient. It is fast-paced. Especially if you work full-time or live in a different time zone. However for those that do, this program is great. IU Easty is a respectable college and no where on your degree will it say online Degree. So the stigma that you have an online degree is nowhere to be found. I will say that to succeed in an online enviornment you need to be self-motivated, organized, and present in all courses. If you fall behind it can be very difficult to catch up.

    Bang for the buck

    For online learning this college is very cost effective. Many colleges are expensive for an authentic education, or cheap for a degree from an unknown college. I was happy with the money I have spent at this college. And instructors are aware of the financial strains put on students and families and most are willing to let you purchase an older edition of a textbook.

    What to do for fun

    I do not live on campus so I cannot answer this question

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my college career at IU east has been online. The academic rigor varies per class, instructor, and material. Overall the classes were challenging but do-able. I currently have a 3.90 GPA

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to get your degree online I would recommend this option for students who work full-time or have distance or time constraints. Online learning can be great for the right student who is motivated and does not need the structure of college life. For those who do not possess those traits I recommend attending in-person.

    In three sentences

    My college career at IU East is a mix of in-person and online. most of my career has been online with IU East. The courses vary in difficulty and the quality of the course and material vary with instructor. I would rate the courses with a solid B.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe at Indiana University- East and I have never heard of any one having a problem with being unsafe on campus. The campus police are in Whitewater hall but I have seen them in the different buildings.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs or activities for all types of students.

    Great for these types of students

    The Honors Program is great for students who want to get more out of their education. The students in the program have the opportunity to attend many cultural events that are either local or require traveling.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some type of activity going on at Indiana University- East. The student center has activities to do on a weekly basis.

    Food and Dining

    The student center has a good variety of food, but it is overpriced. There are many places to sit so students can eat or study around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Indiana University- East does not have dorms for students, but their are many apartments close to the campus. There has been talk about dorms being built in the next few years.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging at Indiana University- East, but that is expected from college courses. There are many places students can get help for their classes, such as the math and science lab or the writing center. Before exams there is an exam jam to help prepare for finals.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you choose to attend Indiana University- East, stay involved. There are many activities and it is a great way to meet new people. There is something for everyone at Indiana University- East.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University- East is great college for students who want the best education for less. Instructors are willing to help students succeed in the classroom by offering help or advising them where to get help. The campus has many places where students can study or hang out between classes.

  • 11/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They send out email alerts about campus safety and if something is going on at one of the different colleges. They are always trying to make sure their students are safe.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of this at Indiana University, however, when I got my Associates Degree at Jefferson Community and Technical College I was a part of Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    There have been several emails sent out that shows the different range of activities and clubs that Indiana University offers.

    Great for these types of students

    Indiana University is great for students like to do online classes because a lot of their programs are set up where you can get your degree online. For me this is great because I do better online then in a class setting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I an not sure because I am doing my classes online.

    Bang for the buck

    My husband is a veteran from the Marines and I depend solely on loans so any help I can in scholarships in greatly appreciated.

    What to do for fun

    There is always some sporting event or other event going on to keep you busy.

    Food and Dining

    I am not sure because I live off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do all of my classes online so I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I think the classes are set up great.

    Tips for prospective students

    They send out email blasts that keep you informed and you will always feel like you know what is going on.

    In three sentences

    They have a great staff. I love that I can do my program online. Classes are set up for great learning benefits.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have real police officers from Richmond that work at the campus and they are there everyday all day different shifts and will walk out with you for the evening classes if you need them too. Very friendly as well

    Greek Life

    They have those but I am not in one so I don't know a lot about them.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have all kinds of clubs to join and all kinds of activities to do. Very community based activity as well which is fun for the whole family and students.

    Great for these types of students

    I think it is great for everyone but as an older untraditional student I think it is perfect. I didn't feel comfortable at a big university because I am older and here at IUE it is very comfortable for the flexible class schedules for working adults, but it is also fun for the younger traditional students as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know about this I do not attend of the activities or traditions that they have. I work full time and go to school full time so I am too busy.

    Bang for the buck

    I like IUE because it is a smaller campus and don't have 100s of students to compete with. Smaller class rooms, online classes. It is a beautiful campus as well and friendly staff, instructors, advisors.

    What to do for fun

    They have all kinds of fun activities to do at IUE, they have sports and community activities, clubs and they have a gym and other fun facilities. They have discounts available through out the town and surrounding areas for students.

    Food and Dining

    They have a good cafeteria, food is good. The prices are decent. They have a couple of different dining areas.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms at IUE but have housing for students off campus and cheap and nice apartments and houses to share with other students.

    Academic Rigor

    It is great because you don't have 100's of students in a class so you get more one on one teaching to help you achieve your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    As soon as you go to register the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. Go to book store and check out the rental prices for books they save you a lot of money and it is easy to do and return. The advisors are available all the time and make you feel that you are important and that they are there to help you any time.

    In three sentences

    IUE is a great college to attend. It isn't too big or too small. IUE has a wonderful bachelor of Social Work program.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    IUE has a really fun thing called the Glozone Party that they have at the beginning of the school year, there's glow paint and black lights. They also hold a half naked mile where you donate the clothes you're wearing and run a mile.

    What to do for fun

    There are TONS of clubs to join, anything you can think of, there's probably a club for it. Campus Life is ALWAYS having some kind of activity going on which usually involves food, prices, and games. The Graf is a great place to hang out and relax, there is also a gym if you want to work out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for your classes early so you have better chances of getting the times you want.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University East is a great school full of friendly people. The classes are a nice size so you can have the one on one time if you need help from your professors. It is easy to adapt to the environment.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Love the call boxes that are in the parking lot that go straight to the police

    Bang for the buck

    You get all kinds of free things there. There are so many places and people who are willing to help.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out at home with family. I love my family. But there is no time for fun in college it is eat sleep go to school repeat!

    Food and Dining

    Free fodd always and if not the soup and coffee is great!

    Dorm Life

    I live at home so I haven't experienced that

    Academic Rigor

    I don't even know what rigor means?

    Tips for prospective students

    GO TO CLASS!! Time management if you put the sand in and then the rocks there is no place for the water. Pay attention and take advantage of the free programs that are there to help you! Most of all have fun but be safe.

    In three sentences

    I love all of the activities that they have, that are free! IU East is a small school but you still get the college experience. IU East is awesome because you get and IU diploma.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not tried campus food but I have been apart of the barbecues we had during the summer and i really enjoyed them

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm room, I don't even know if they have dorms i believe they have apartments off campus. I live off campus but in a different set of apartments not sponsored my IUE

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is extremely intense you always have homework, a test and anything else that we may have to do. You never have a weekend to relax, which I like a lot.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Indiana University a 9 out of 10. The students are very nice and caring and extremely smart. While the teachers are very helpful and always there if you need anything.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although there are no dorms and a limited amount of things to do around Richmond, the education you get for the cost of tuition makes going to IU East worth it.

    What to do for fun

    In Richmond, there are a few amenities for outing events like the movie theatre, the bowling alley, museums, symphony orchestra and Glen Miller Park. If you're interested taking up martial arts for $5 a week, there is that option, too.

    Food and Dining

    This is yet another downfall of IU East. The Den has very few options to choose from and the majority of your meals will likely come from restaurants nearby or the local grocery store. While there is a Coffee shop and some sandwich options available, it does not provide the variety a student would need everyday. The Den closes early, also.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, so that is a huge disappointment. Finding an apartment for rent can be a struggle and IU East could enormously improve itself by providing the option for on-campus dorms. There is plenty of land available for it.

    Academic Rigor

    To my surprise, the material in the courses I have taken has been rigorously above average. It is not impossible to learn, but if you don't read your textbooks you will undoubtedly fail (unless you are re-taking a course).

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come to school with lazy expectations. You need to constantly keep up with the material and put all of your effort into understanding it. This will help you in the long run, whether you transfer schools, go to Graduate school, or proceed with establishing a career. College is not supposed to be a cake walk.

    In three sentences

    IU East has challenging curriculum for students who want a university experience without it costing a fortune. I was unsure of what to expect at first, but I have been challenged in all of the material from philosophy to chemistry for the year that I have been here. A majority of the professors care deeply about the subject they teach and are more than willing to help you learn all of the material. Although Richmond is not my favorite city, IU East has exceeded my expectations and has been a beneficial place to study.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The school is pretty inexpensive, and yet the classes are top notch... this school is great for the amount you pay.

    What to do for fun

    The school is constantly hosting parties, events, and other fun social things to get students connected.

    Food and Dining

    I have never tried the food so i cant say

    Dorm Life

    no dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    The classes challenge you without overwhelming you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up for class! Do your homework! Care! If you show up for class, do your homework, and care about the time you spend here during college you will succeed. The hardest part about college is just getting out of bed.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University East is a great school. The class sizes are small, making the class feel more personal and less overwhelming. The campus is made up of only four buildings so you'll never have to worry about getting lost