Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Indiana University-Kokomo Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/28/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any. They have so many programs that are form fitting to the unique individual. If you want a small school that is improving and 'On the move' and growing this is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go check it out. You'll be impressed-- I was.

    Bang for the buck

    It's one of the cheapest colleges in Indiana, but you graduate with an IU degree and the education provided is top notch.

    Will enjoy being here

    Everyone is supportive and really nice. The facility is clean, new and great.

    Will learn a lot

    The staff is amazing. They are super helpful and one time when I went on a visit professors were introducing me to other professors. It was great.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IUK is an ideal school for students who are seeking a quality education at an affordable price and is a good option for the students who are looking for small class sizes that offer the best learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely look into to this school. Schedule a visit day and look at the campus. This is not a school you want to overlook!

    Bang for the buck

    Indiana University is a very affordable school. This is the main reason I chose to go to college here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy going to school here! The campus may be small; however, it is beautiful! It is always well kept and clean. It is also non-smoking! All staff are very friendly. There are always fun things going on around campus such as: cook outs, competitions, food drives, drawings, and so much more! Students get opportunity to study abroad. Leadership camps are offered to students. Students also can participate in drama and choir and many other activities and clubs. Iuk also has sports teams such as volley ball and men's basketball. More sports teams are to be added soon. The student body gets to be involved a lot in campus decisions. A competition was just held not to long ago to name the new school mascot! It is a very good place to go to school, I wouldn't even think about going anywhere else!

    Am learning a lot

    At IUK the class sizes are small, and students and professors get to interact more than those at larger schools. Because of this, students get personalized learning. The professors are always available to give extra help outside of class. The classes really prepare students for the job they will have.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i skate and bowl.

    Food and Dining

    i cook most of my meals.

    Dorm Life

    i live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    study everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay foucsed and work hard.

    In three sentences

    the staff is very professional.they care about you being succcessful. i like the location of the campus.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    basketball and volleyball games and some student activities.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    always check your syllabus.

    In three sentences

    good professors. decent work load. decent college.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have our own police force patrolling our campus. there are several officers, and they are very helpful. there's emergency contact boxes located in all the parking lots.

    Greek Life

    i don't know anything about this area of our school.

    Clubs and Activities

    for the small size of the school, we actually have many activities. we have sife, spea, several sororities, many miscellaneous activities, and tons of groups to join. like i said before, the only drawback is that there is no dorm housing, so you'd have to drive to campus for all the meetings and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    anybody who's outgoing. anybody who has to fund school from their own pocket, and anybody who doesn't want to have much student debt. anybody who wants to be challenged academically. anybody who loves smaller classroom settings and a more personal touch with classes/teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the crazy people at school run a half-naked mile every winter. it's fun watching their red faces and bodies when they're all done.

    Bang for the buck

    at an average of around $3,300 a semester, with a full 15 credit-hour schedule, it's definitely one of the cheapest schools i've ever seen. and as the academics excel, it's very much worth it.

    What to do for fun

    the campus provides many activities and groups to join, however, being a commuter school, it's often hard to engage in these activities, especially when one lives as far away as i do.

    Food and Dining

    all the food is made-to-order, and there's actually a nice selection for such a small school. anything you could want, they've got it, and it all tastes very good. a lot better than most other colleges' cafeteria food. the seating in the cafeteria is arranged nicely, as well, and it provides for good opportunities for group study/eating.

    Dorm Life

    non-existent. indiana university of kokomo provides no housing arrangements. the apartments nearby are cheap, but there is no direct dorm housing.

    Academic Rigor

    indiana university of kokomo holds itself to a very high standard academically. my focus is business, and they strive to maintain the same standards as the kelley school of business at the main iu campus. i've been very pleased with how the classes have challenged me and forced me to excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    unless you live in kokomo, make sure you have a job that can afford the gas. that's the only drawback to iu of kokomo. however, the total cost of gas is also significantly less than the cost of staying in a dorm for the semester. also, give the school a chance. when i first came to school at iuk, i was very skeptical as to its academics and its environment. it felt like joining a new high school, which we all know is not the best feeling in the world, especially when you're not outgoing, like myself. however, give yourself a semester, and you'll be guaranteed some friends, as the people that attend iuk are all very nice. and the professors are wonderful as well.

    In three sentences

    indiana university of kokomo excels in academics. indiana university of kokomo provides great opportunities, especially considering its smaller size. the majority of teachers at indiana university of kokomo are very friendly and enjoy connecting with the students.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not very much Greek Life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unsure.

    Great for these types of students

    Older students or students wanting to live at home. IUK is also a wonderful place to finish general education courses before transferring to more expensive school.

    What to do for fun

    IUK offers clubs and has sports teams if you are looking for things to participate in.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your advisor early to ensure you are on the right track. Utilize the tutors many classes provide. Do not be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    IUK has knowledgeable professors who are willing to help you. IUK is a good value for higher education. IUK is conveniently located.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police on duty, I got into a wreck on campus, and they came right away. They are very nice, and always willing to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    IUK has a lot of variety in the clubs and groups you can join.

    Great for these types of students

    IUK is great for students who want to go to college close to home, or who are not wanting to live away from home.

    Bang for the buck

    IUK is pretty cheap for what you get. You pay a community college price, but you get the full college experience, and an Indiana University degree. I think IUK is well worth the money you pay to attend.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations to join on campus, and there are always events going on outside of school, such as cosmic bowling and a dance crew.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few close restaurants within walking distance of the campus, and there is also a fantastic cafeteria. They have a bunch of ready made food, or you can order food fresh. The prices are pretty cheap also.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on the IUK campus, but there are some fairly cheap apartments close by.

    Academic Rigor

    It is very easy to talk to fellow students or your teachers. There is a simple messaging system online to message one person, a few people, the intrustor, or everyone in a certain class. Teachers also have set office hours so you know when you can go talk to them, and most are more than happy to stay and talk with you after class.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should definitely go to the New Student Orientation before you go. They take you on a tour around campus with a group of people going into the same field of you. If they ask questions, it could also answer some of yours. It is just a great way to meet people, and learn your way around the college instead of being super overwhelmed your first day.

    In three sentences

    IUK is the perfect college for a person from a small town, wanting to go somewhere close to home. It is medium sized, so you still get the college experience, but without dorms, you avoid all the drama that comes with college. it is a very close knit campus, with very nice teachers and students.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although Kokomo is a safe town, what makes this campus so safe is its location within the town. Campus security is also excellent.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, no greek life....not yet. This is on the new Chancellor's agenda for next year.

    Clubs and Activities

    IUK has strong memberships in over 100 clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    IUK has strong programs in political science and nursing. IUK is the ideal school for high schoolers considering nursing in Kokomo, as well as adults who are officials in the community who are interested in political courses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only thing unusual is the the student participation in student government. This is the only campus I have seen where students really rally around issues and get things done through SGA. Students definitely have a voice on campus, and are constantly improving it.

    Bang for the buck

    Best deal in Indiana! IUK's tuition rates are a bargain, considering the educational level provided. All the professors I have had so far, have doctorate degrees with published works under their belts, and treat their classes more like graduate level courses, which facilitates an educational atmosphere of excellence, pride, and integrity. And it's only a fraction of the cost of IU (Bloomington).

    What to do for fun

    IUK is located near the town's central park, and the city has put in new bike trails throughout the town. So rather you want to stroll through the park between classes, hike the Indian trails, or ride your bike to class, most students seem to have a lot of fun exercising and enjoying the beauty of the campus and the city's Highland Park.

    Food and Dining

    They just remodeled the cafeteria and revamped the menu! IUK now has a salad bar and coffee bar, along with great hours for students with early or later classes. They rarely have food sitting under the heat lamps because it's all fresh! I have never had a bad meal, and the prices are affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Like I alluded to before, IUK is growing, and they are planning on having dorms installed by 2013.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging for a smaller campus, but the professors are determined to set students up for success, not failure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Professors at IUK make time for students unlike any other campus I have ever been apart of. Take advantage, and engage your professors. They go above and beyond to meet and help students, even after hours and on weekends. They are there for YOU.

    In three sentences

    This campus is growing exponentially due to a new chancellor with ambition and goals, which is spreading among the faculty and students! It is truly an exciting time in Kokomo because we have new programs coming in every semester, and new sports teams, and it's all due to an incredible staff of professors, affordable tuition rates, and a visionary chancellor.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a campus safety office in the main building with very nice staff who are willing to help with any safety needs.

    Greek Life

    They have a couple different sororities and fraternities that students can join. I haven't experienced them as of yet.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are sooo many different clubs for people with all different kinds of interests. Anyone could find something to join if they wanted to.

    Bang for the buck

    As of right now, I'm considered a non-resident student, so I'm paying a lot of money. However, for in-state residents, the price really is pretty good. I paid the same amount of money to go to a community college as I would here as an in-state resident attending a university.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of organizations and groups to join. They have sports and other itnramural activities to entertain their students.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, I live very close to campus, and I don't eat on campus, so I've never tried their dining.

    Dorm Life

    The Kokomo campus doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Well I'm still a student, but I truly believe that if I'm successful at IUK, then my experience after school will be great. They are a great school and I'm looking forward to what my future brings after graduating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to join organizations and groups to meet new people and make your college experience more fun.

    In three sentences

    The staff seem so friendly and the campus is beautiful! I'm so excited to start!

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. There are constantly men in uniform easily found on campus. There is also areas where you can call if you feel unsafe and a cop will escort you to your vehicle. There is also a service students can sign up for that sends them updates of any unusual campus safety risks or tells them of any recent occasions.

    Greek Life

    There is one greek club. The club is called Alpha Phi Sigma. It is the national honor justice society. To be involved you must be a student and exploring some sort of criminal justice degree.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs offered at IUK. Some of them include a bible study group, psychology, drama, iuk crescendos, french club, ect., even some greek clubs. Activities are mostly sports and a very few campus events.

    Great for these types of students

    Indiana University-Kokomo is great for students who wish to live at home or commute from home. It is good for students who like a smaller campus and venue. It is good for students who want four year bachelor programs. It is a good school for students who wish to work and have schooling.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unusual location on campus is the parking garage. It is located a good amount away from the school. It is quite a walk when you have to park there.

    Bang for the buck

    Indiana University Kokomo is very affordable for students who do not want a ton of debt. They do not offer a lot of scholarships, but they do offer a few. They are very accepting of outside help and will offer financial guidance.

    What to do for fun

    There are volleyball games and basketball games that students can attend. They offer some activities, including movie nights. The school has a lot of musical productions.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very open and large. There is a ton of seating available. The food is not expensive and is actually consumable. The look of the cafeteria is very presentable as well.

    Dorm Life

    Indiana University Kokomo does not offer any on campus living. If students wish to live close to the university, they can live in apartments around the area. The university is hoping to add dorms in a couple years.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are very helpful and easy to communicate with. The homework should never be taken lightly, but have a 100 percent effort involved. Studying needs to be done over a period of days and not over night.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any student that plans on attending should know that parking at IUK is the worst. The books you will be purchasing are overly priced in the book store. The school does not offer a lot of activities.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University Kokomo is a very clean school. It has a lot of helpful and kind staff. The college also has a lot of different classes to choose from.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students that aren't looking to be on a huge college campus. You still get a great college experience, just close to home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual traditions on campus that come to mind. We do have a fall break, which a lot of campuses now do not have.

    Bang for the buck

    You are getting an IU degree for much less by attending Indiana University Kokomo.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of activities on campus to be apart of. The campus offers many groups and clubs to join. There are also activities like cookouts, movies, and comedy.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of restaurants near campus. There is also a cafeteria in the Kelly Center, which is really convenient.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus. They are currently working on building dorms for the campus, but they aren't quite ready yet. There is a lot of available housing near-by the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Grades are extremely important to everyone on campus. There are a lot of resources available for someone needing help in any class. The school also makes sure to notify you frequently of any issues or concerns they may have.

    Tips for prospective students

    I highly recommend Indiana University Kokomo to anyone. Definitely check out the admissions office as well as the financial aid office for information on applying. The school is very willing to work with and help everyone.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University Kokomo is a great university. The campus is fairly small and easy to navigate. The class sizes are also small, making it easier for one- on- one interaction with your professors.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our officers are very protective of this camp; there's not one moment were you will not see them in the parking lot looking for those that don't have parking passes.

    Great for these types of students

    I thinks that Indiana University of Kokomo is a great campus for students that enjoy the extra attention form their instructors, not only that ,but those that like the fact of not being to crowded with other students.

    What to do for fun

    After finals me and a couple of my friends go out to eat and watch a movies since everything is near by. It's a great way to relieve your stress that you build from your finals.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of local restaurants and fast food places near by that you don't even have to travel that far for a cheeseburger.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms/ apartments are coming soon in 2013!

    Academic Rigor

    I enjoy the fact that you get a one on one, attention from your instructor, this allows me to keep my grades up and pass my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring Rain Boots for when ever it rains and an umbrella!

    In three sentences

    Indiana University of Kokomo is an enthusiastic school with the most positive attitude i have ever seen. The teachers are super friendly and helpful. Not only that, but the school spirit around campus really rubs off on you!

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    IUK has a very supportive staff. IUK has a great campus life. IUK has excellent technology integration.

  • 02/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    many to chose from

    Great for these types of students

    all students

    Bang for the buck

    worth the money

    What to do for fun

    there is a lot of student group activities to engage in

    Food and Dining

    have a very fine cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    very challenging but rewarding

    Tips for prospective students

    never give up!!!!

    In three sentences

    indiana university kokomo is the right school for me to continue my education after I graduate from ivy tech kokomo in may 2013 with an associates degree in general studies and a technical certificate in medical assisting-administrative

  • 05/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus has their own police force and there are call boxes in the parking lots for added safety. I have never felt unsafe on campus or in a parking lot.

    Greek Life

    There is one sorority and one fraternity on campus but there are no housing facilities so it's not Greek Life in the usual sense.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs available to students.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy small class sizes and individual attention.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is an outstanding deal financially. You get all of the academic and technological benefits of Indiana University for a great price. The tuition is extremely low compared to other universities.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with fellow students in between classes. Since it's a commuter school, many people hang out off campus.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria on campus that has reasonable hours, but is not open all the time.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter school so there are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan to give yourself plenty of time to find a parking spot especially during finals week because student parking is a bit limited.

    In three sentences

    I appreciate this school's small class sizes and individual attention given to students. They do not currently have student housing, but it is a nice commuter school. They have a cafeteria that is reasonably priced and good food and the campus has plenty of vending machines.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe at IUK because there is non-stop patrol around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a club for everything!

    What to do for fun

    At IUK they like to keep students active, they do a great job with coming up with activities to keep students involved. They have great sorority's and fraternity's, a basketball team, and other sports. They have a lot of fun opportunities for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria food is great! When school isn't in session, I actually miss the food at school.

    Dorm Life

    At Indiana University Kokomo you live off of Campus.

    Academic Rigor

    At IUK they have rules and guidelines that need to be followed, and their consequences are reasonable

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you attend class, attendance can make all the difference in your grade. You should also keep in touch with your advisor just in case you are struggling or have any questions. Also, don't ever be afraid to ask questions! Your professors are there to help you become successful for the present and the future, they will help you as much as they can.

    In three sentences

    They have a great group of professors that are willing to help students succeed. The classes are small enough that your professor can really get to know each and every one of you. The adviser's keep you on track make sure that they see you frequently.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    IU Kokomo Police is always present on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    To many to list.

    Great for these types of students

    Quiet, Homebodies, Frugal.

    Bang for the buck

    This is the cheapest IU campus, and it offers a great education for the relatively low cost.

    What to do for fun

    Exercise, basketball, Tennis.

    Food and Dining

    They have good food in the cafeteria, and there are also restaurants nearby (i.e. Rally's, McDonald's, Burger King).

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms yet. They are currently building apartment buildings across the street from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers make you earn your grade but it isn't too challenging to where you can't do it. Most students work and go to school and still make good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is the campus for you if you want an IU degree at a fraction of the cost of the IU Bloomington campus.

    In three sentences

    It's a small campus. They have great professors. They have great parking.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see campus police at school, and the fact that it's such a small campus makes it easier for them to patrol all parts and keep students safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    At least once a week, IUK has some type of entertainment for students, and it's fun to watch and listen to. Just last week there was an acapella group performing while I was on my lunch break.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    New last year was the Cole Fitness Center. I was really excited about this because my time in between classes was sometimes the only time I had to work out. It's a beautiful fitness center and it offers a large variety of things to do, including an inside track!

    Bang for the buck

    Going to school at IUK is great because of how cheap the tuition is, but you're still getting an Indiana University degree.

    What to do for fun

    Indiana University-Kokomo offers lots of opportunities to meet new people and get involved. There are Nearly Naked Miles, pep rally's, and other fun things.

    Food and Dining

    The food is prepared right in front of you and is very good. They also have a large variety of snacks and drinks, and a salad bar. There are plenty of places to sit down with a group of classmates and eat lunch or snack and do homework.

    Dorm Life

    Currently, IUK does not have on-campus living, but rumor has it that they are working on the construction of dorms right now!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors and instructors at IUK are both challenging and fun. I have had a wide range of instructors while at IUK, and each one of them has been different as to how they teach or how they talk. It's been a learning process in itself, but I've learned a lot from all of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're a first time student at Indiana University-Kokomo, I would suggest getting involved, making sure you are planning ahead, and setting up your classes first thing. You will get all the classes you want and when you want if you're on the ball about scheduling.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University-Kokomo is a perfect school for first-time students and also returning students. They offer a wide range of activities for students of all ages, and make the campus fun and inviting. The thing I like best about IUK is the affordability.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No place is perfect but I never feel unsafe on campus, even at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different types, find any one that fits your needs/likings.

    Great for these types of students

    People who want to save a little money but still get a quality education

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on that the different student organizations put on such as; comedy shows, faculty talent shows, concerts, zip lining, inflatable obstacle courses, movie nights, cook outs, and many more!

    Food and Dining

    We do have a catering service that maintains our cafeteria but in my opinion we should have a food court instead.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the type of classes you take really

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do your best, when you start to feel overwhelmed that usually means you're nearing the end of the semester, and just remember that means you're almost done! Don't worry about not knowing where things are, it's a small campus-you can't get too lost, and there's usually someone in each building you can ask for help.

    In three sentences

    IUK is a fairly small campus with classes of about 25-30 students per class making it very personal between the professor and students. I attended a larger campus (IUPUI) for awhile and I must say I enjoy school much more when my classes are smaller, my professors know my name, and I can get to know people better because I recognize them from elsewhere on campus. All the staff is very friendly and helpful as well.