Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Indiana University-South Bend Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    IUSB is a fantastic school for someone who wants to live at home and commute to college. Although you won't get the typical College Experience, you save a great deal of money but still receive that college education needed for a great career!

    Bang for the buck

    At IUSB, you get an great education at a relatively cheap rate. The class sizes are small and that makes for a great learning experience with personal attention.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to IUSB because of the small campus and class sizes. I love this because I don't get lost in the crowd, like many of my friends are experiencing at other colleges. Even though I don't live on campus, I have gained many friends because many of the students are in the same classes together. They also have a great (free!) work out center, The Student Activity Center that has pool tables, basketball courts, and a gym. This is a great place to hang out and meet new people.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at IUSB are very knowledgeable about the subjects that they teach. I feel as if I learned more in one semester at IUSB than I did in four years of high school. However, I experienced classes that it was hard to follow along with the professors because it seemed as if the professor was TOO knowledgeable and didn't explain it on a level that the students could comprehend.

  • 09/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I would strongly suggest that prospective students come for a visit to the Univeristy. The Office of Admissions offers campus visits 4 days each week where you receive a guided tour of campus from a current student and have the chance to sit down with an admissions counselor one-on-one. There are also Showcase Days offered once each month where students can come for a visit and have the chance to speak with someone from the major they are interested in. Coming for a visit will help students to see all that IU South Bend has to offer. Whether you become a student at IU South Bend or another institution, get involved on campus and take advantage of any opportunities that come your way. They will make you a more well-rounded student and person, and will help you when it comes time to find a job or pursue another degree after graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    IU South Bend is very affordable for students. The education you receive and resources and opportunities that are available to you as an IU South bend student well exceed the cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    I graduated from IU South Bend with my BA in Sociology and now am pursuing my Master's in Social Work (MSW). I have enjoyed all of my time as a student here; however, as a student I have involved myself on campus through student clubs and groups, studying abroad, internships, and working as an RA in student housing. I challenege other current and prospective students to pursue every opportunity available to them through IU as it can only help to broaden their perspective and worldview (and it looks good on their resume, too).

    Am learning a lot

    The classes offered at IU South Bend challenge students in a variety of ways through creative projects, group assignments and presentations, and professors who think outside of the box. A key element of the classes at IU South Bend is critcal thinking, as all of the classes incorporate activities or assignments that force students to look at things from other perspectives.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a cheap college tuition, this is the college for you. But if you are looking for a great campus experience, look else where, like Ball State or Purdue.

    Bang for the buck

    For around $3,000 dollars,(for me at least) you can't beat it.

    Am enjoying being here

    IUSB won't give you a campus experience like other bigger colleges. There isn't much to do as far as on campus activities.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently a freshman majoring in Mechanical Engineering. I am learning a lot from these classes.

  • 06/07/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For all types who want to further their education have a wide variety of programs and degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    To get familiar with the campus and your teachers. You will do well

  • 12/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The are various degrees you can work towards and the student body is very diverse. This is a great college for any student :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus, always visit a college before saying it is the one for you. I love IUSB, it's great for me and hopefully for you too! :)

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for an inexpensive price! About half the price of going down to IU (or less) and you still get an IU Degree!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus size is perfect, not too big and not too small. It is so close to Mishawaka that it is an easy drive to the mall and other stores.

    Am learning a lot

    I love going to IUSB. Not only is it close to home, but there are also informed professors to help you along the way. P.S. When you take Public Speaking, ask for Professor Heathyr Harkless :)

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the dining hall is large and inviting. the food is surprisingly good.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    the class range from easy to advanced depending on what learning level you're on.

    Tips for prospective students

    join a sorority or fraternity for an even more enjoyable college experience!

    In three sentences

    the facility at iusb has been very helpful, there are some fantastic teachers there who are very knowledgeable. i like that the college is close to home. the campus is not overly huge and complicated, it's easy to navigate.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the squirrels are quite friendly!!

    What to do for fun

    the sac always has something going on lots of clubs to join too

    Tips for prospective students

    stick with it you will find everything you need at your fingertips.

    In three sentences

    great place to learn. close to home and offers the most comprehensive courses for my area of study.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is good for being one of the larger cities in indiana. you don't really here of any kinds of incidents. almost seems like a small town college.

    Clubs and Activities

    awesome opportunity to make your own clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    international base there is pretty strong. there is quite a bit of diversity going on from religious diversity to people.

    Bang for the buck

    yea i would have to say for the money its good. like i stated earlier there are some things that could definitely be worked on as far as the advisers go.

    What to do for fun

    sac, student activity center is awesome. students go there for fitness sports and other recreation.

    Food and Dining

    i lived off campus so i didn't dine in the food court.

    Dorm Life

    i lived in an apartment off campus so i didn't experience dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    there are some things that do challenge you but its not all hard. then again its not all a breeze either.

    Tips for prospective students

    it would not hurt if you did a little bit of information on your field of study. especially if you are going into the education department. advisor is good but very slow in getting back to you on questions regarding adding/dropping classes

    In three sentences

    its a good school, you get the benefits of an iu degree in a smaller setting. i enjoy my professors and classes. i really didn't have much luck with my advisor and getting what i wanted but overall the school was good.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    number one in my book.

    Clubs and Activities

    they really offer alot to students and family members.

    Great for these types of students

    any student that wants to be close to their parents, but show a little bit of independence iusb is the place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    so far the sac(student activity center) is the place to be. that's like the meet and greet spot for everything.

    What to do for fun

    i enjoy a kickboxing class after a hard day of studying.

    Food and Dining

    they just opened another cafe and i love the food. it gives you a nice variety, but my personal favorite is the italian stir-fry, it's the best.

    Dorm Life

    live off campus, but did visit them and they were awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    serious business... the professors are great and you get the grade that you work for.

    Tips for prospective students

    go for the gusto, this is a great university. the professors are willing to work with students on a one-on-one basis and they offer multiple tutoring options as well as other advantages.

    In three sentences

    the best decision that i could have ever made in a college choice. caring faculty, great way to meet and make new friends.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there have been a few instances where we have had peeping toms otherwise safety there is good.

    Clubs and Activities

    i love the nap club!!

    What to do for fun

    homecoming week, they have this nearly-naked mile that goes on which is fairly entertaining. mic-night is a good place to go for comedy. i love the free move-nights that go on there, too.

    Food and Dining

    i am a food fanatic and i give their food an a++. the food has reasonable pricing and there isn't tax for students! they just rebuilt the lounge area that is very spacious!

    Dorm Life

    i personally do not live in the dorms, but i have friends who live there and they enjoy it!

    Academic Rigor

    this is definitely not as easy as high school. there are a lot more expectations that are required. you must come into class having the mentality that you are going to pass this class.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure to never procrastinate on assignments! always read the textbook before and after class because there may be material that is not covered in class that you may have to learn outside of class. always come prepared and never be afraid to ask questions!

    In three sentences

    this college had the best prerequisite courses that really teach students how important college is. they have awesome homecoming events! i believe that any person who is looking for a home away from home location, this university is the place to go!

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is located right next to the iusb police department. there are emergency telephones located around campus as well, and most of the parking lots are well lit. when walking to campus housing, most students will ask if you need someone to walk with at night, but rarely are there incidents of crime.

    Clubs and Activities

    everyone is so friendly and kind. the club(s) you choose to be a part of do not just meet within the times scheduled, but meet outside to eat, watch movies, study, etc. if you allow yourself to join a club, you will find that you have formed strong bonds and a little family on and outside of campus.

    Great for these types of students

    students who commute, who need an education that is not going to cost them half of their soul, who enjoy a small body of friendly students of all ages, who want to feel like they are a part of something bigger than themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i have never seen any other campus do quidditch before. the plays run around on broomsticks and the snitch is a cross country runner. the nearly naked mile, a fundraiser, is pretty crazy too.

    Bang for the buck

    iusb tells a story that you can only hear if you listen closely. it is peaceful and serene, and though it might be small it offers a memorable experience if you will it to.

    What to do for fun

    on campus you will find, plenty to do: movie nights for all ages, game nights, sporting events, concerts, zumba classes, stand-up comics, pageants, dances, etc. also, there is a bus that provides transportation to iusb students and the campus is actually really close to a lot of the restaurants and stores.

    Food and Dining

    now that they are finished remodeling the grille, the food is actually pretty good. if you are an saa (student alumni association) member you get a discount card for the food in the sac (student activity center) and for other places like allie's cafe, tanning places, china house, etc. membership is 10$ a year.

    Dorm Life

    it is nice and cozy. do not be that person that ends up with a roommate that you never talk to. and when i mean never, i literally mean, not even a hi or telling them where you are going. a-w-k-w-a-r-d.

    Academic Rigor

    as a pre-nursing student, to be granted admission in the program is rigorous. nursing students will tell you right from the get-go that you need to aim for a's- especially in science, and they accept only accept a small portion of students per semester. it is challenging, but it pushes you to try as hard as you can to get what you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    just because you are a freshman, does not mean you are helpless. befriend students that are sophomores and up (most of them know what they are doing). get to school early to find a convenient parking spot. when printing things out, print on both sides. flashcards, flashcards, flashcards!! www.ratemyprofessor.com will save you the trouble of getting a professor that sucks.

    In three sentences

    the atmosphere here is really calm, relaxed and friendly. a cute campus that provides every opportunity to get involved in some way, shape or form. i give iusb an 8/10.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there's always something going on in the gym and if you want to go off-campus there are a ton of things to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out the learning services for any help that you may need. they are always willing to guide students.

    In three sentences

    iusb is a good school and has very good teachers. they are very helpful if information is needed. iusb is very professional.

  • 03/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    relatively safe.

    Greek Life

    beginning to grow.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who wish to focus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an interesting underground hallway in the basement of the Northside building which leads to the library- it reminds me of a train.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable, making it easy to buy books.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the library :)

    Food and Dining

    The eating quarters are awesome and roomy.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are close enough- but one must follow strict regulatios and live with uncomfortable furniture.

    Academic Rigor

    Great knowledgeable professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    there is no such thing as asking too many questions when it comes to financial aid, advising or especially in the classroom. No need to hesitate.

    In three sentences

    IUSB is very resourceful. This school is rich with knowledge in regards to the professors. overall, I belive the dynamic is great.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are phones for emergencies everywhere. I haven't heard of any serious incidents on campus. When something does happen an email is sent out imediately.

    Greek Life

    Not so much, but hey who liked the greeks anyway?

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs are available. There Is even a workout room and gym.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for everyone. High school gradutes up to the working parents are all catered here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We finally aquired a quitich team. I would love to join if I had the time :(. (Harry Potter nut)

    Bang for the buck

    The business school is one of the top in the nation. This packaged with affordability means you won't enter the workforce brok.

    What to do for fun

    South bend always has something to do. Especially now, there are options that have openned up in the notre dame vilage. Great shopping is available as well.

    Food and Dining

    Its pretty good for a quick bite. However, I have not attended recently.

    Dorm Life

    Can't comment I live off campus. However, I have seen the appartments and they are very nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just get started. So many of us put it off because of time constrants. If you think you don't have the time start small with one class. Once you get the ball rolling you will discover you can make the time.

    In three sentences

    The school has a highly organized and structured college life. For those who want a great degree without all the fluff attched would do well her. There are options for fluff, however those of us with lives do not have the time for it.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus there is the SAC where you can go to work out. They have other things in there. The campus also hosts family nights, plays, musicals, and many other things.

    Food and Dining

    We have a cafeteria on campus, but South Bend is a big town and you can find most anything you want to eat just up the road.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life I do not use because I'm an adult student. But I have talked to people who live there and they said it was much like other colleges. The dorms themselves are new, just built in the last 2 years.

    Academic Rigor

    Indiana University wants there students to be well rounded. I have taken many classes that might not pertain to my career choice, but they aren't just wasted. They will be used for my electives and help me have more information than I might need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the legwork. Make sure that you do comparisons between colleges and make sure to visit the campus. Go in and meet with some of the faculty.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University of South Bend is an excellent college for someone who wants a more personal experience. The faculty, staff, and professors definitely work hard to help you make the most of your college experience. I have recommended my college age children to attend this wonderful university with me.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has many emergency phones outside and so it definitely feels much more safe having the police so close

    Bang for the buck

    I would highly recomend going here. U get the IU degree and don't have to worry about being 50,000 dollars in debt after your done. like most other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is very beautiful during the summer so its just nice to sit outside. Also the SAC building has a weight room, 4 basketball courts and many other things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The resturant in the SAC building is amazing. The only way to releive yourself from studying is to get yourself a decent size pizza with any three toppings only for 4 dollars.

    Dorm Life

    I support myself but the dorms and the location of the dorms do seem as if they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not difficult as long as you are active in class. As long as you go to the professor's to ask questions you will surely pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are taking the right class load. Too much can damage you GPA. Also make sure you are planning your time wisely so you can get your homework done.

    In three sentences

    IUSB is a good, close to home college. It's not to big so the personal attention is great. The professors are very intellectual and down to Earth.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    IUSB has a basketball team, which is the center of student life. Also there are a lot of student organizations that fit your needs and suit your interests.

    Food and Dining

    IUSB just re-did The Grille and I must say that the food is very good and worth the price ! The Grille closes at 2:30 p.m so most students go to the SAC cafe and enjoy snacks, if all else fails, they are plenty of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fairly new. The apartment suites are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at IUSB are tough ! The professors that are teaching at IUSB come from different professional backgrounds and academic standings. These professors are very knowledgeable in their respected field. Also the professors are very enthusiastic to spread their knowledge to the students

    Tips for prospective students

    The university is small enough to become personal with your professor, take that advantage. Everyone there is there to help you succeed, do not be afraid to ask question, especially the tough ones.

    In three sentences

    IUSB is a small and very personable university. It is an affordable school. The community is closely-knit.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Throughout the year movies are played, we have dances, parties, theatre productions...all kinds of things! We have a Greem System too!

    Food and Dining

    On campus there are 3 established restaurants, Courtside Cafe', The Grille, and a healthy eatery that I do not remember the name of. The food is great! We have Coca-Cola products!

    Dorm Life

    The Riverside Dormitories are very nice. I personally do not live in them but I have several friends that do--they love them!

    Academic Rigor

    They expect that you are here to learn and achieve academic excellence which they promote very fervently. Be ready to work hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive when it comes to checking your email because if you don't it will bite you in the butt! Email is the official communication source of IU South Bend, and without that you will have problems. Not recieving an email from a professor will not excuse you from an assignment or change that your instructor gave via email. That is your responsibility!

    In three sentences

    This college campus has been a wonderful experience! My only real qualm with the university is just how difficult it is to meet up with academic advisors here. The campus is beautiful and smoke free!

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is none that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning or adults; local students that want to remain at home to save on the cost of obtaining a degree.

    What to do for fun

    While South Bend is officially a college town (having IUSB, Notre Dame & St Marys) it is much more conservative than most college towns I have lived in. There is always something fun to do if you are creative and have an imagination. (-: The city has a great little jazz bar, several movie theaters, and one of the best spots for culture is (unfortunately not part of IUSB) Notre Dame's DeBartolo Center (plays, concerts, films, lectures, etc). There is also a decent amount of cafes that have live music & open mic events periodically, as well as a variety of parks in the area. If you like disc golf I can think of 4 w/in about 15 min drive of the campus, more if you don't mind driving 30 min.

    Food and Dining

    Again, no clue

    Dorm Life

    I have no idea...I own my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your major, your academic year and your mindset.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to remember, you are paying for this, even if IUSB is not as expensive as Notre Dame for instance, in the end, if you mess around & don't put forth the required effort, you will still be responsible for the cost. And that is one very expensive party.

    In three sentences

    IUSB is reasonably priced comparatively speaking. They transferred all of my past credits from 3 different sources which was more than I expected. They have a large adult/returning student population which tends to result in a decent amount of variation when it comes to class times & styles.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, I live 20 minutes away walking distance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend Classes!

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I dont spend much time here besides for classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that your major is available here.

    In three sentences

    Overall enjoyable and nice. I love the small classes the most. I also find the smaller campus easy to navigate around.

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    GREEK LIFE IS AWESOME! Being a part of greek life has given me so many opportunities that I would not have had otherwise. We do a lot of great work to benefit our surrounding community while getting the opportunity to be social. Some of my greatest college friends are also members of greek life.

    What to do for fun

    There are numerous clubs and organizations to get involved in, way to many to list here. If there is a club you want to participate in, and they don't already have, you can go through the right people to create it yourself. There is no shortage of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    All of the food is very good. They have lots of options to choose from. The food never gets boring or old. Sometimes they let restaurants sell their food on campus; every Thursday is China House day at the Northside Caf�©.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but they are very nice and many people enjoy living in there. I think they are slightly expensive if you have no financial assistance.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics can be super rigorous depending on the course load you take and the challenge level of the courses. At IUSB many students work while keeping up with their academics, and this can be very challenging, but when the right balance is achieved it definitely is doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to work hard and put your best foot forward. IUSB may be a small campus, but we have a large student body that takes academics seriously. Never miss classes, and know where you are going before your class meeting time. Parking is fairly limited, so be sure to arrive early.

    In three sentences

    IUSB is a great school, with great educators, and a fantastic student body. There is so much for students to do and so many things to get involved in. I am a member of several different organizations on campus, and each has given me great experiences and character that I will take with me into the work force.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The club page really needs to be updated. However, there are a few clubs that everyone is interested in such as nap club.

    Great for these types of students

    Just out of high school

    What to do for fun

    Catch a theatre performace for free, watch quidditch, catch a volleyball or basketball game.

    Food and Dining

    The dining area was just redone in 2012. It not only is a good place to eat, it's also nice to study. There are several options available at lunch time.

    Dorm Life

    Never been in one of the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not an expert on this as I transferred in, but there are several classes that are outside your major to take. Also the professors are generally easy on grading.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to financial aid during the summer, it's less busy. Have your id on you for that, the desk will swipe it so that you may talk to financial aid.

    In three sentences

    Campus is beautiful. Professors are generally helpful. Performances are worth checking out.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are paying their own way through college will love Indiana University South Bend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate openly with your adviser and don't worry if you are undecided as to which major interests you.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University South Bend is an underrated school. The professors are helpful and well-educated in their field, and the courses are challenging as well as relevant to one's selected career. The tuition is affordable and the courses are current with today's growing need for educated professionals.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have an actual police station on campus for the safety of the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have various clubs you can attend.

    Great for these types of students

    They are a very diverse campus and they have students that help other students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Northside as the theatre where you can enjoy yourself and the SAC has a gym and weight room.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is worth it if you put everything you got into your education (dedication and hard work).

    What to do for fun

    There is a work out room and a gym where you can do various activities. They have a theatre where you can go watch plays and different other shows.

    Food and Dining

    they have three different places where you can dine. there are very spacious so there is no crowding.

    Dorm Life

    They have nice size dorms for students who live on campus. There are safety doors so only students can get in.

    Tips for prospective students

    it's a good college to graduate from. You can always find that the professors are helpful and good at what they do.

    In three sentences

    This is a very good school; they have people that are willing to work with people one on one and they have different degree opportunities.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are multiple stations around campus where you can call for the police if necessary, and the dorms are patrolled by the police as well. Safety is a top priority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a great amount of organizations, and, if there's a club that doesn't exist on campus, there is an easy way to create it yourself!

    Bang for the buck

    The housing is cheap for the quality. Bigger campuses with other schools have ore expensive housing and not as nice dorms.

    What to do for fun

    Organizations on campus are always creating things for students to do. Comedians, magicians, etc., happen every month and create a fun, relaxing environment for everybody.

    Food and Dining

    There are three different places on-campus (not including the dorms themselves) where students can go and get food when they need it, along with many different vending machines for a quick snack between classes.

    Dorm Life

    Clean and safe dorms that always have an RA on duty. The community Building has great hours and is a great place to go when you need to relax and have a good time. You can do your laundry on-campus, and the dorms themselves are fully-furnished.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't easy, but aren't too challenging as long as you go to class, pay attention and take notes, do your work,and get help when you need it. The professors are willing to help those who ask for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research - talk to the people working in the Administration Building and check your Onestart account to make sure you've taken care of everything. Take advantage of all the opportunities IUSB provides in order to do the best you possibly can.

    In three sentences

    IUSB wants their students with many opportunities to excel in their classes, and provides tutoring opportunities and help with classes on campus. They want their students to be happy with the education they receive. On-campus activities are everywhere, encouraging students to get out and socialize with their fellow students.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Well, the computers are fast.

    Clubs and Activities

    Again, there are clubs for anyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student, I feel that there is room for anyone here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The tunnel between NS and the library is awesome.

    Bang for the buck

    I love my school.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to dine.

    Dorm Life

    I have heard good things.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect good work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to read. Be ready to study. And always talk in class, with relative material.

    In three sentences

    IUSB is a great school. The professors in my program are passionate and ready to fill you with knowledge. The tuition here isn't bad at all.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have call stands you can use in case of emergencies and if you need to walk to your car when it is dark a campus officer is happy to walk with you. They have numbers you can keep in your cell phone if you need assistance.

    Greek Life

    They have quit a bit of Greek clubs to join and they are very nice.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a club for everything you can think of. If there is a club they do not have you can make your own. They have a nap club so I think almost anything is possible.

    Great for these types of students

    Any students that want to further their education and have a nice relaxing place to do homework this is a great place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of my favorite locations is the tunnel. It is very peaceful and I love going there to do my homework.

    Bang for the buck

    I love going to the bookstore and looking at the clothing they have. I usually buy things on sale because I am a college student and do not have much money to spend.

    What to do for fun

    For fun they have a bunch of clubs you can join. With all the students there it is hard not to make friends.

    Food and Dining

    The grill has wonderful food and is my first place to go when I have time to sit down and eat. So many things to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I have not experienced the dorm life but I have friends that have. They are gorgeous and very home-like. Short walking distance from campus with a gorgeous view from the walking bridge.

    Academic Rigor

    They are strict on the rules only for our safety and protection. There is no worry about walking around on campus by yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take all your prerequisites to get them out of the and take advantage of the library resources. DO NOT fall behind with homework, it is not high school. College is serious and is a challenge, which I absolutely love.

    In three sentences

    I come from a tiny town and a tiny high school so this campus is gigantic to me. It is very well taken care of and the professors are very helpful. The administrators answer all the questions you have and go above and beyond to help.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus, there are emergency phones placed outside. I am assuming because I see signs to watch your laptop, that there is some theft.

    Greek Life

    Not so much

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities that I just don't have time for. I have seriously thought about the nap club though

    Great for these types of students

    IUSB is great for students who are willing to work for the grade.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities, but being a single parent while a full time student, I don't have time for them

    Food and Dining

    The new Grille has great food and selection

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms, so don't take this rating seriously.

    Academic Rigor

    I find myself able to apply much of what I have learned in classes to real life

    Tips for prospective students

    READ THE SYLLABUS!!! So many times students claim they didn't know a professor's policy or when something is due. All they had to do was read the syllabus provided the first day of class if not earlier.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have been away from school for a few years are perfect for IUSB, but it's just as perfect for high school graduates and transfer students who want to stay close to home.

    Bang for the buck

    The low price might make some people sketchy, but it is definitely worth the price. There are many opportunities for financial aid, and the education is invaluable.

    Food and Dining

    IUSB is about twenty minutes away from a major shopping center and half an hour away from some of the best restaurants in town.

    Academic Rigor

    When I planned on attending IUSB, I was afraid that my academic intentions were not going to be taken seriously. However, once I segued into classes for my major, I felt challenged by the class material and still fascinated by discussions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come in early for good parking and make sure you declare your major early on if you are sure of what you want to do. If not, don't be afraid to venture into some electives that peak your interest - you might surprise yourself.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University South Bend is a great choice for anyone. There are a variety of students here, and they are all valued equally. The work is challenging and engaging, and there are several opportunities to meet new people.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are on call 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    Many commuters attend IUSB so if you are close than this is a great option for you!

    Bang for the buck

    This state college has reasonable tuition! Plus there are many scholarships you can apply for!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do at IUSB. From games and sporting events to club meetings and academic discussions, you can definitely find somewhere to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    IUSB has several dining services on campus. The grille has a beautiful dining area.

    Dorm Life

    IUSB has beautiful on campus apartment style dorms. Each week many activities are hosted by the different house.

    Academic Rigor

    The honor's program offers a challenge to students who want to take their education to the next level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ahead of the ball game. Make sure you have everything done ahead of time so you can take full advantage of everything IUSB has to offer.

    In three sentences

    IUSB is great because you get a big name degree from a smaller school. Smaller classes means more individual attention. Getting an education here is affordable as well.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Um...nothing comes to mind that really strikes *me* as unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    I'd say we're in the 80th percentile. Parking/living space issues keep us down a little, but there's no more room in this corner of the city. Some of the older buildings on campus could use a little updating, but nothing is decrepit or in disrepair.

    What to do for fun

    I like some pretty out-of-the-ordinary stuff, but South Bend has been good to me in that regard. There are Irish pubs (all ages restaurants really) with live traditional music, a goodly number of coffeehouses, etc, all the usual suspects. If South Bend & Notre Dame are too small or tame for you, then Chicago is an hour away, with all its attendant distractions and entertainments.

    Food and Dining

    There's ok food to be had on campus in at least three different locations, but there are only a few other places within walking distance if you want variety. Lots of places around town offer student discounts, so that's good.

    Dorm Life

    Can't say. Never lived in the dorms here, but the general complaint around campus is that they are too far from the buildings where classes are held - especially in the winter.

    Academic Rigor

    I can really only speak with authority about the English Department, which has some true world-class scholars on faculty. I have taken classes under professors who have written books on the subject. In that situation, you are in that professor's house, and they usually have a little something special cooked up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for apartments or rideshare buddies early. Do not be afraid to ask as many questions as you can come up with - the more the merrier. Take the time to get familiar with the mechanisms in place to help you succeed (tutors, writing center, childcare if you need it) and also to get very familiar with the things which will make your college life difficult, so you can deal with them early and fully.

    In three sentences

    Overall, while the instruction has been high in quality, the institution still has the feeling of a junior college which is trying to fix its image problem. In the English department, however, the quality of instruction has been consistently higher than expected or even warranted, given this condition. My blanket rating of the school is then as follows: if you can put up with commuting, or a dorm arrangement which is less than stellar, you will come away with a very good education for the money.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Throughout the campus there are emergency phones to call in case of an emergency. There is also a police department right next to the campus parking lot. You can have a personal escort walk you to your cat or to your dorm. To me this makes me feel really safe knowing I would never be harmed while at school.

    Greek Life

    Realy all I know about this on our campus is that it is fairly new and that they focus on academics, community service, as well as brother and sisterhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs you can join but I don't really have time for that with all of the classes I'm taking.

    Great for these types of students

    I would say this university is great fro everyone. I have seen a wide variety of people walking through campus from students right out of high school to those people that have children and are my parents age. I enjoy that very much.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At IUSB there is an underground tunnel that connects a few of the buildings which makes it nice for the winter so you don't have to walk across campus in the snow.

    Bang for the buck

    To me the amount that you pay to attend this school is worth it since the value of an IU degree is sought out by many.

    What to do for fun

    Personally I don't really participate in much but our school has comedians that come and put on a show, the school of the arts puts on shows and from what I hear they are all great!

    Food and Dining

    The little food courts around campus are delicious!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the student housing but I hear that is is really nice. Instead of it being like a dorm it is more like an apartment. You can have one to yourself or you can share one with up to 3 other people to split the cost.

    Academic Rigor

    For me the only problem I have is one of my professors is foreign and it s hard to understand him but like everyone else in that class I'm toughing it out to make sure I earn that degree I want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you use a planner and stay focused on school.

    In three sentences

    At this school you get the chance to work one on one with your professors, they make sure you are going to succeed. the student body all around is very nice and they are willing to help as well. I really enjoy this university and I love the fact that it's close to home.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school prides itself on providing a solid safety net on campus. Alerts are sent to every student by text and email informing them on possible threats and also providing students the convince of police protection throughout campus. Their are help towers located at different parts of campus also to call for campus police assistance in the chance a students phone does not work or they do not have a cell phone.

    Greek Life

    For the most part Greek Life is not a large part of the campus. There are some Greek groups, but the Greek Life at IUSB is much different than Universities with Greek rows or like on the television show Greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    The campus allows for any club to be started and maintained by students. One of the most interesting clubs is the Napping Club which consists of a room filled with nap matters. Students are encouraged to take a map and nap between classes to rejuvenate the minds. The club is based around College Students love of naps and to promote healthy sleep.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students looking for the college experience, but with the option to save a little on the college education process.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The best location on campus is the courtyard in fall. There is a pretty fountain and it is a soothing place to relax in between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The University prices based on the everyday person for people who receive financial aid it allows you to attend full-time with extra financial help to pay for books, and other expenses. For students who unfortunately do not receive Government assistance due to parental finances, or other reasons, the IUSB has based the tuition and fees at an affordable cost to allow even the biggest penny pincher a chance at a College Degree.

    What to do for fun

    There are countless events to attend. The biggest event are Basketball games and the campus Halloween party.

    Food and Dining

    The campus does have a few dining facilities that provide nutritious and delicious meal options. There is a mini cafe that students can also visit between classes for a quick latte or light meal.

    Dorm Life

    From what I have seen and heard the housing campus is pretty standard and offers the apartment life without as much worry apartments can bring.

    Academic Rigor

    I have taken classes at 2 separate colleges. Both were challenging, but when you live on a campus and are constantly reminded by roommate to do your work and the college community is there any Academic class becomes easier. At local Universities students are challenged inside the classrooms and outside. At Indiana University of South Bend or IUSB, as most of the students and faculty refer to it as, the students are forced to accomplish the tasks and material presented in class and than find time around everyday life with families, friends, full-time work, and just the time to sleep to keep up with the work loads! The University truly teaches the students to balance the many aspects of life after college and teaches us how to become successful motivated people.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students know that college is not High School. You are in control of your future now. Take classes that will challenge you to become a better person. Do not declare a major until at least your second fall semester to avoid changing your major multiple times. Also know they staff at any college wants you to succeed, but you have to make the time to seek them out. You hold the key to the rest of your life make use that key to unlock all the benefits an education can provide!

    In three sentences

    Indiana University of South Bend is a wonderful place to attend for higher education post high school or GED completion. They offer flexible class schedules for students in all walks of life. The staff is available to fully help the students achieve their education goals.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police department on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose! There is one for everyone

    Great for these types of students

    People who want their teachers to know their name.

    Bang for the buck

    A LOT cheaper than other schools!

    What to do for fun

    Lots of clubs, performances to go to, sports games.

    Food and Dining

    There are many different dining options and the food I have tried is great!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but I have friends that do and they love it!

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early,take ACT and SAT.

    In three sentences

    Great school! The teachers are very involved with their students. They try to get to know you and teach you the best the can.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No incidents. Messages go out to all students regarding any suspicious activity in the area. It is very safety conscious.

    Greek Life

    Minimal Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs to join. These clubs and groups offer various activities. Just check a bulletin board, you're sure to find something.

    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a personalized experience and commuter.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a good education for a good price. The campus is beautiful.

    What to do for fun

    The student activities center has plenty of choices if you are into fitness and sports. There are shows put on by Titan productions and many clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    There are several dining places on campus that provide a variety of meals. Some are quick grab n go and others are better for sitting and enjoying a meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are close to the campus with a beautiful view.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and rewarding. Many teachers are available outside class. There are tutors in most subjects as well as student led study sessions.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an affordable school that offers a high quality education. Do not think less of yourself for choosing iusb. It is still a university with many opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Iusb is a small campus school. The classes are very personal. You do not get pushed aside as though you are an insignificant number.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security at all hours on campus and at housing as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities that will interest all, if not there is something that will call ones attention to join.

    Great for these types of students

    For all types of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The zoo is across the street and it also has a green house. The river is right next to the campus, many things are nearby.

    Bang for the buck

    IUSB is affordable for everyone and they offer scholarships and grants as well for those who qualify.

    What to do for fun

    There is a night club near by and other places to visit in downtown.

    Food and Dining

    There are mnay choices near campus of where to dine some fast food and a few sit down places.

    Dorm Life

    I have heard that the dorms are great and they are walking distance to campus just a walk across the bridge over the river.

    Academic Rigor

    There are lots of great academic choices for many majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions, get fully informed especially when it comes to financial aid.

    In three sentences

    IUSB has been a great place to study, I find it easy to get around the campus. IUSB has great professors who are willing to help the students to reach their goals. IUSB would recommend this university to any one simply because it has great professors, advisors, and I have enjoyed my experience there.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do not transfer

    In three sentences

    Great classroom size. Great professional staff. Very affordable.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I live around South Bend, so I know that there are some awesome shopping malls and stores around the area. There are also plenty of parks and the St. Jo river runs right past campus. The movie theatre is always one of my favorites and it is only ten minutes away. You are also only five to ten minutes away from downtown South Bend where the Morris Performing Arts Theatre can be found, as well as many galleries.

    Food and Dining

    Again, I did not eat on campus ever. I commuted from my job to class and home. I usually brought my food with me.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm. I recommend living on campus if you want the college experience. However, from what I have seen, the dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what classes you take, your academics could be challenging or easy. I recommend retaking your placement tests until you get the highest score you could possibly get. After high school, I took a year off of school and when I took my placement exams, I scored much lower than I wanted. Take advantage of every opportunity.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you would like to truly have the college experience, stay on campus. I commuted and it was difficult to be involved in anything on campus. You will feel detached because you are not there. Also, speak up in class if you are having trouble understanding. Take the time to meet with your professors and get the help you need. They are on your side and have plenty of resources to help you.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University South Bend is a school full of diversity. From the staff to the students, every person attending has a voice and strive to be heard. I am glad that I chose to attend a school with such rich and genuine people who push for knowledge and deeper understanding of their world and each other.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Summer class get 25% off. So take four classes and get one free.

    What to do for fun

    Join one or more of the numerous student organizations on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is delicious. There are a few different locations with different menus to suit the tastes of all.

    Dorm Life

    There is campus housing as well as student off campus apartments and houses.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been academically challenged. I have had the best professors teach me the things I need to know to go out into the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. There are tutoring centers, libraries and study groups that you can join to help you with your education. Take advantage of them!

    In three sentences

    I am impressed and pleased with my choice to attend IUSB. All of my interactions with administrators, staff and students has been friendly and more than helpful. I look forward to earning my degree here.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SAC is an A-1 facility

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with the many readily available personnel that is eager to help you. (really!). Plan your degree ahead so you do not take classes that do not count toward that degree.

    In three sentences

    A LOT better than expected or perceived by most! IUSB is a class act, with excellent faculty,learning programs, and more. I am very happy I am attending!

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Everything about IUSB is awesome in my opinion. I had a very very hard freshmen year but talking to my advisor and professors helped me get on track. Everyone there wants you to do well and learn as much as you can you just have to ask for help because they are more than willing!!

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton a groups and clubs to join. The SAC center is my favorite place to hang out.

    Food and Dining

    There are tons of places to get food or lounge and eat. And most everything tastes great!

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived on campus but it looks like it would be very nice!!

    Academic Rigor

    It's very challenging and not at all easy but it's college, it needs to be. I feel better knowing I'm at a school that pushes you instead of one that misses you in between the cracks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the recommended amount of study time your professor suggests. Don't be afraid to ask questions because most likely you're not the only one wanting to know, and put yourself out there. Everyone is looking for someone to study with so introduce your self and make friends?

    In three sentences

    I love Indiana university South Bend. it's a very comfortable University, teachers are involved they make you feel like you're important. it's still a bigger Campus but you have the small classroom feel.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs and intermurals along with a great activity center.

    Food and Dining

    I havent eaten much on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The IUSB apartments are great. i live their for a year. i made alot of good friends and i had a great time.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are knowledgable, but the thoroughness of the advisors is questionable. I emailed and called my advisor more times than i can remember and never recieved a response. if you want to talk to your advisor you have to march into their office and demand a meeting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not expect much help or quick response from the advisors.

    In three sentences

    IUSB is a good but not Great (local) college. While it is close to home and fairly inexpensive, I feel not all of the professors and advisors truly care about the success of the students. If I were to grade IUSB i would give it a C+.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a plethora of clubs that suits every different kind of student. We have a Student Activity Center that is amazing! There are different classes if you want to work out and get fit, but there are also many intramural sport clubs. If there isn't a club or sports group for you, please feel free to start it yourself. The opportunities are endless on our fantastic campus!

    Food and Dining

    The most important thing for a college student is the price of food. The dining experiences at IUSB are wonderful. The prices are right, fair and most importantly manageable. The newly decorated dining room is comfortable and fitting for eating a meal or studying.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but I have visited and toured. The rooms are spacious and clean and the RA's are amazing!

    Academic Rigor

    IUSB may be a small campus, but the expectations of the students are high. We are adults and treated as such. If you fall behind, the best thing for students to do is to discuss things with your professor. The classes can be difficult, especially if you fall behind. Stay focused and things will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell a future student to come prepared and be willing to ask questions. No one will know that you need help unless you vocalize your issue or question.

    In three sentences

    IUSB is a fun and engaging college. The campus is beautiful and is ever growing. The staff are wonderfully helpful and respect the students.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Again several restaurants and a grocery store in the area. As for IUSB's own dining the best thing offered is the Grille. That honestly is the most quality food on campus. There used to be a court-side café that offered several items to my own liking but it has been replaced. If your taste is that of subway style sandwiches you will enjoy...there are at least two stands of this caliber on campus. For all you Starbuck's lovers, there is a newly installed Starbuck's café in the new Education and Arts building. My rating is only as high as it is because of the Grille otherwise it would be a 1.

    Dorm Life

    I actually do not stay on campus myself, but I've had several friends that did or still do. I've visited the dorms/apartments, and I honestly think as far as the living conditions for a college student you could not ask for more. I mean you have your own kitchen and private bathrooms that you have to share with at max 1 other person. Not to mention you are surrounded by several restaurants (McDonald's being one if you're a fan) and a nearby grocery store so you will never starve! However, while not completely boring always I understand that dorm activity leaves much to be desired. You'll have to do your partying at the Landing behind the dorms if that's what you're into.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors here vary. I recommend doing your research. In my experience as long as you are open and honest with them, the professors here are actually pretty generous and forgiving. In return of course you have to put your best foot forward in class work and attendance. However, some teaching styles are not exactly fitting for every student. You will definitely want to read your books, and get involved with the tutoring for the best effect. Remember you have to be your own advocate no excuses. Nevertheless if you time manage well enough you shouldn't get too many brain cramps.

    Tips for prospective students

    Like all college prep you will want to do your research on your degree. Make sure you can verify what your academic advisor is telling you, as when you first come in they will not have your best interest at heart always. You have to be your own advocate when it comes to your education. Also unless college is your complete life, don't over do it. Take just the amount of credits you need to achieve full time status. Seriously, pace yourself you don't want to wear yourself out by burning the candle at both ends. College in itself is a job before your career.

    In three sentences

    In my opinion IUSB is a good college. It is a university that is well spoken of, and not to mention a little easier on the pockets than other universities, especially the neighboring one's. A quality school at an affordable price.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some bars and places in the area to hang out with friends. Also Eddy St Commons is where most Notre Dame students go, so that is always a fun place to go.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria and cafe, along with seating and tables. Also Starbucks on campus!

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too over the top strict, but also enough to feel that you are getting a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicating with professors of your major is a great tool. My accounting professor helped me way more than my adviser with deciding classes I needed to take and my path to graduation.

    In three sentences

    Reasonably priced and decent education for community college. Don't have great advisers for scheduling classes and planning your future. Great professors for the most part.

  • 05/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. There are emergency posts in multiple places that allow for quick access to help if needed, or even if you are just nervous about walking home and would like a ride from campus police.

    Bang for the buck

    There is plenty to do on campus and the academic quality is worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs from Student Government Association all the way to Quidditch (which was selected to participate in World Cup). The clubs put on many events open to everyone on campus such as dances, comedian visits, movie nights, open mic nights, etc. The housing staff also put on events. If you are sporty, the Student Activities Center is free for all students and includes two basketball courts, volleyball nets, a weight room, a track, and more. There are also a variety of performances from the music students, theatre students, and dance students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, it just has odd hours of availability. However, there is a martins right across the street from housing, and full kitchens are available for preparing your own food in the apartments. There are also plenty of restaurants and fast food services in the area.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, only apartments. They are expensive but include full kitchens (full-size fridge, microwave, stove, oven, small dishwasher), air conditioning and heat, water, individual bedrooms, up to two bathrooms, a living room, cable, and Wi-Fi. They are furnished as well. The apartments are located right across the river from campus, connected by a bridge and easily walking distance, saving gas money.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been faced with a new set of challenges each semester that I overcome with the help of my professors. I have felt a lot of growth in my major since I began.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't pass this school by just because it's small and considered a community college by many. It is much more than a community college; It has become a second home to many. Give it a chance!

    In three sentences

    Indiana University-South Bend's Ernestine M. Raclin School of the Arts is way underestimated. The professors are very qualified to teach their area of expertise and very easy to learn from. I went in thinking I would want to transfer after my first year, but I will be finishing my degree at IU South Bend, and wouldn't trade my experience here for anything.