Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Indiana University-Southeast Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are like I was and are nervous about large campuses, not looking forward to being just a number, fear not. The campus is small, and yet is spacious so you don't feel cramped. And the class sizes here are small, and all of my professors know me by my name. My largest class is my German class, which has maybe 20 people or so. It really is a great experience, but you have to experience. I suggest visiting here and seeing the campus for yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a TON of activities on campus for people to do. You get a good education and make plenty of friends, but that's not all that's makes a bang for your buck. There are many free events like dances, speeches, magic shows, concerts, lodge activities scheduled almost weekly by your CA's (Community Advisors). Most of which is free, and if not free, at least discounted. There's always something going on here!

    Am enjoying being here

    Being here is awesome. Simple as that. I am generally a shy person, but living on campus has really given me the opportunity to meet awesome and various people and make new friends. In my lodge (yes, lodge. The housing here is amazing) people come over and we play board games and watch movies and we all just hang out. And if I ever need anything, I know there's someone here to talk to. The campus in it's entirety is very pretty. There's a lake and is laid out well for semi-weekly walks or runs. The pond is also really pretty to look at, and I get a view of it from my dorm. Just watch for goose poop when walking during the months the geese are here at the pond.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are generally really nice and easy to talk to. Sure, there are those certain professors you watch out for, but so does every college. The professors I've had so far are really easy-going for the most part, and made transitioning here from high school very smooth.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are an older student and need to get back in the saddle, this is the place for you. The adult student center is a great place to hang out and Kim Pelle is a great asset for you to use. The staff in the admin offices are great and helpful, too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check on-course a lot and your email for events and happenings. Get to the parking lot early and park on the back side and walk through campus. The campus is beautiful and has over 33 different types of trees. (I took Geography 307 this summer with Dr. Galvin!!)

    Bang for the buck

    I am from Hillview (Bullitt County, KY) and I still pay the in-state tuition charge for IN! It's a great value and a whole lot cheaper than the Louisville schools. It takes about 25 minutes to get to class, and parking isn't too bad if you hit it just right.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have been generally accepted by all - teachers, classmates, school staff. I am a 42 yr old returning student and fit in just like I was 22.

    Am learning a lot

    I have been challenged by the teachers and professors. The classes are very interesting and a lot more fun than 15 yrs ago!!

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Excellent value for in-state tuition.

    Did enjoy being here

    Beautiful campus. Many activities for resident AND commuter students.

    Did learn a lot

    Great instructors. In all the time I attended, all of my classes were taught by MA's or PhD's. No grad students, yay!

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Indiana University Southeast is a great campus for almost anyone. When I say almost, I mean anyone who is willing to put out the effort to learn. Anyone looking for a party school needs to look elsewhere. We like to have fun at this campus, but we also know that our education comes first.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep up with your studying, never get lazy, and try to stay focused on what you need to do...it all will pay off in the end!!

    Bang for the buck

    I pay a good portion of money to come here. I will say that I get the most for money because of how great the professors are.

    Am enjoying being here

    Student life around campus is perfect for my type of lifestyle. It's a great place to get an education and also the other students and all faculty make life around campus fun and exciting.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning as much as I can. The professors and instructors are great and they really get involved with their students' educations.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police station on campus with24-hour patrolling. Many police phone booths. Very safe.

    Greek Life

    Multiple sororities and fraternities for those interested.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any club or activity you are interested in is available. If it isn't, make one.

    Great for these types of students

    Family oriented. Broke.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Cool clock tower,2 mascots (Hoosiers,and grenadiers). 24 hour computer lab. Multiple ponds with a lot of geese.

    Bang for the buck

    For less than half of the money you get an IU degree.

    What to do for fun

    Louisville is less than 15 minutes away. There are many restaurants close. Our campus attempts to have fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    You can not use your debit card.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply to me. However, they are building on a 3rd dorm, so I suppose the demand is growing. Furthermore, this school is beautiful, I'm sure the housing is too.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are relatively small. You get one on one attention. Learning here is not too difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider fully all of your options. Do not be afraid to go for something bigger. This school is awesome, but I bet IU Bloomington is better.

    In three sentences

    It is a very beautiful, small college. It feels very close to home. It is not too much different from high school though.

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    There are some pretty interesting things going on almost all the time.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a nice campus with a good atmosphere. I could probably spend all day here.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at IUS seem to be really concerned with whether or not you are learning, and they will generally help you with any questions you have for them.

  • 10/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that get involved, and love to be involved (or if you hate the world and only want a degree, that's fine too).

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the best things about this school is that it is not restricted to just class then going home. I am often found in the coffee shop playing chess, by the lake drawing or in the game room to hang out with the guys. There are always events going on and they are so much fun! I could go on and on with the events that have already taken place and its only October!

    Bang for the buck

    Living on campus is pricey, but worth it!! The book are expensive (but that is everywhere! Unless you know how to work the system), but I'm only spending about $12000 a year, including all other expenses. It may seem like a ton of money, but compared to surrounding colleges this is nothing!

    Am enjoying being here

    Class will always be class. Some are fun, some are boring but my favorite thing about IUS is the campus! I live on campus, and I think it has been the best experience so far! Not only am I meeting a ton of new people, but I am learning how to be on my own. I live with 3 other girls. We have 2 bathrooms, our own kitchen and living area. It is like a mini-apartment except there is more common experience with all the neighbors. I cannot stress enough how important it is to get this full campus experience and how it has been more beneficial to me than wearing shoes.... in the winter...

    Am learning a lot

    The classes I am taking are very informative. I am seeing some things in a newer and more innovated way. Especially my art classes!

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we were voted the #2 safest school in the united states by news week.

    Greek Life

    ius has 3 fraternities and 2 sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have over 100 student organizations, so it's very easy to find a group that's right for you.

    Great for these types of students

    indiana university southeast is great for students who want to go to a small school were they have a real chance of excelling and getting to know their teachers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every year we have the nearly naked mile sponsored by the student alumni association. we also have a halloween party, 80's dance, spring luau, rock fight, and midnight madness.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is very affordable, and at the end you have an iu degree, but at about half the price of attending iu bloomington.

    What to do for fun

    we two lakes you can fish in, an open tennis court, sand volleyball court, open gym for weightlifting and basketball, we also have several programs each week sponsored by campus life, student programming council, student government association, residence life and housing, or by one of the other student organizations.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good, though the line can be rather long, and the hours for the cafeteria are not the most convenient if you live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    indiana university southeast does not have dorms, but student apartments. they are comparable to regular apartments and come with complete a complete kitchen including, refrigerator, stove, oven, microwave, and a dishwasher. not to mention the great atmosphere inside the lodges.

    Academic Rigor

    the small class sizes allow you to get to know your teachers very well, which allows you to easily contact them when you have questions and need the extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved on-campus, there are over 100 student organizations, and they are all full of opportunities to involve yourself in the community and with other students.

    In three sentences

    it's an amazing school, with small class sizes, and great teachers. you get a chance to really feel like part of a much larger community. indiana university southeast allows you to excel as both a student, and as a member of the community.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    check out the website for activities and events. there is always something going on. also, make sure to take part in some clubs.

    Food and Dining

    the food is really good. however, i do not eat in the cafeteria often because i have my own kitchen. but when i do the food is always really fresh.

    Dorm Life

    i love having a kitchen, living room, and bathroom in my dorm room. it allows me more freedom then i would otherwise have.

    Academic Rigor

    i really like the classes. professors understand you are taking a variety of classes and have a job. they are really flexible on due dates for things.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out the on campus housing. i live in the dorms and i love them. living in the dorms is so much fun.

    In three sentences

    i really like the small campus atmosphere. it gives you the ability to know everyone personally which helps you adjust to the college lifestyle. i also like that you are able to have a car your freshman year.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    this rating is based on what i have been told by others not personal knowledge.

    Bang for the buck

    many of the other schools have offered me lots of scholarship money, but when you figure in thier offering with the final cost ius is still less costly.

    Food and Dining

    this rating is based on what two of my friends who go there now say, not on personal experience.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are great and i plan on living there. can't wait.

    Academic Rigor

    this rating is based on information i found while comparing them to other schools. not based on personal knowledge.

    In three sentences

    my mom and i have toured lots of campus' around the state and i decided on ius because of the flexibilty it offers. plus the other reviewers here and people i know that go there all love it. i haven't decided a major yet and am super nervous about that but the people there have been very helpful.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    what all you have there. is it nice. is it fun

    Dorm Life

    whats it like living on campus. is it nice. is it fun

    Academic Rigor

    what all yo have there. is it fun. is it nice

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a student center and a lot of activities for students to get involved in.

    Academic Rigor

    Good

    Tips for prospective students

    If you really want a great education, IUS is the school!

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed my experience at IUS thus far. The instructors are great and they are easy to get in touch with. I love this school!

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its safe

    Greek Life

    weak

    Clubs and Activities

    weak greek life

    What to do for fun

    campus life

    Food and Dining

    food is great variety not so much

    Dorm Life

    New Lodges are super nice but expensive

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick a major use the careers center

    In three sentences

    Good Environment. Strong Academics Helpful Professors

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has real cops that have an office here, not just security guards.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for students who like more one on one communication with professors.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can get involved in organizations and go to Louisville where you can find anything to do!

    Food and Dining

    I've heard the food is really great here, but I actually have never ate in the dining. The dining area is nice and big with a few televisions. They even have signing and poetry readings in there sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are amazing! Not only do you not have to share a bathroom with a whole floor, but you also get access to a full kitchen, dishwasher too!

    Academic Rigor

    The campus has all the classes that you need for most majors. The professors are mostly all great and willing to help you throughout the semester,

    Tips for prospective students

    When buying books, wait, not all professors make you have them! Once you are accepted and decide to go here don't wait too long to sign up for classes, they fill up fast! Talk to people in your classes and get to know them, it will make this college much more enjoyable.

    In three sentences

    The small class sizes are great for students who don't like huge classes. The housing on campus is fabulous for those who chose to live here. Overall, I personally love this college.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For such a small campus there is always something going on. The sports teams are worth checking out among all the other activities.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new but I've never been in one.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers take their material seriously and expect you to do the same. Exams are hard but you are paying for this education. Most classes will form a study group so that helps tremendously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go ask your teachers for help, that is why they are there and they are all more than willing to help. Also, be sure to be involved on campus because it will enhance your experience.

    In three sentences

    An awesome place to learn. The small class sizes and student-oriented teachers encourage learning. The campus is also very safe and an awesome value.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on campus, if any emergency arises there are speaker boxes throughout the campus to go to that directly contacts the Campus Police.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who prefer smaller sized classes and friendly people.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a good education without an overly pricey tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are countless clubs on campus, and there always seems to be an event happening.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, there is variety and it tastes pretty good. You can also use your University ID as a sort of debit card to some nearby restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I don't personally live in the dorm, but I've been in them. They aren't like standard dorms, they seem more like apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes provide a challenge, but there is plenty of help available on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some classes fill up quick, so make sure you have some alternative classes planned out.

    In three sentences

    The classes are perfectly sized. The staff and professors are extremely helpful. There are lots of fun activities on campus.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not gone to school there yet. i start in august.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not gone to school there yet. i start in august.

    Bang for the buck

    I have not gone to school there yet. i start in august.

    Food and Dining

    I have not gone to school there yet. i start in august.

    Dorm Life

    I have not gone to school there yet. i start in august.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not gone to school there yet. i start in august.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have not gone to school there yet. i start in august.

    In three sentences

    I have not gone to school there yet. i start in august.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Watch the campus sports games. Talk and hang out with classmates and friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of the campus. It will help you be able to find your way and not have to rush because you don't know.,

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus. Friendly faculty. Easy to get started.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always patrolling and checking to see if you have a parking permit:)

    Greek Life

    Never done it, but those kids really chalk up the campus! Not a bad thing.

    Clubs and Activities

    bunches

    Great for these types of students

    For any type of student (billboards all over campus with flyer's that can help you choose your major).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like hanging anywhere on campus. Outside mostly if the weather is permissible.

    Bang for the buck

    Your money is definantly spent towards a good education when you go to IUS. I am a senior and I have liked all my teachers besides one and that guy was just making tests up out of deep to save himself time because he is retiring soon.

    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of activities like baseball, basketball, volleyball, etc. Sometimes kids make things up like playing Frisbee or flag football to do on campus or on the riverfront. The first week of school there are bands playing on campus and a bunch of other things to do to meet and greet people. Plus there is free stuff given out!

    Food and Dining

    The food is improving. There is not that big of a selection (pizza, 3 or 4 pre made sandwiches, 3 or 4 desserts, chips and snacks, salad bar, and a little place that makes something like 12-15 different sandwiches). They just reconstructed the whole area where all the food is hopefully it will be better this year in which I expect it to be.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in a dorm on the IUS campus, but I've been in a few and they're really nice and spacey. The lobbies where you can read or watch TV are really active areas and I see kids playing video game systems there quite a bit.

    Academic Rigor

    It has the academic level of teaching as any larger school (Uofl, etc). 100 level classes are sometimes harder than upper level classes. Throws a curve-ball at you when you least expect it. Try this school for yourself to see if it compares to higher level schools, my opinion is from experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    It has the academic level of teaching as any larger school (Uofl, etc). The rooms are made for 30 kids or less instead of 50 to hundred kids. Teachers respond to 90% of emails and so do other services (Financial Aid, etc). Campus is clean and is free of tobacco usage. The food is improving and the campus as a whole is very beautiful.

    In three sentences

    Very clean and active. The dorms are really nice and very spacious. The teachers and students are welcoming if your welcoming.

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Although I have yet to begin class here, I have heard wonderful things (from students and staff alike) about the food and dining. The dining area is very comfortable as well.

    Dorm Life

    Although I have not personally lived in the dorms, they appear to be very clean and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave this an average rating because I have no personal experience to speak from. I will begin my first year very soon.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient. Sometimes things don't move quite as quickly as you'd like them to, but everything comes with time.

    In three sentences

    IUS has a relatively small campus with clean grounds and a friendly staff. Everyone is warm and welcoming, and every person on staff has been helpful and polite. It's the only place that I 'd want to be right now.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a full-time police force dedicated solely to keeping the campus safe and helping people out in whatever way they can. The University Police also provides escorts for people who are out late at night that don't feel safe going back to their dorms alone, and will even unlock or jump-start your car for you.

    Greek Life

    I can't really speak for this aspect of IUS, but we do have most major fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    IUS has clubs for almost any interest, and it hosts events for all sorts of people. There are music groups, performances, and even a Gay-Straight Alliance and a Gamers' Society!

    Great for these types of students

    This school is really good for a student going for a traditional associate's or bachelor's degree. IUS also offers a limited number of master's degrees. IUS has traditionally been mostly comprised of non-traditional students (students going to college a year or more after graduating high school), but it currently has a large percentage of traditional students straight out of high school while maintaining a good environment for its non-traditional students. Most people who go to IUS also have a part-time or full-time job, like me.

    Bang for the buck

    Choosing this school most definitely gives prospective students a good deal, as far as cost of attendance goes. It would be fairly easy to get the necessary scholarships and grants to not have to pay a penny out of your own pocket for your education here, since the average cost for a year's worth of full-time classes is between $5,000 and $6,000.

    What to do for fun

    IUS hosts plenty of events and clubs for people to participate in. We have sports, sororities and fraternities, and even a Gamers' Society! You can also hang out with your friends in the Commons, the library, or one of the two coffee shops on campus. Of course, there are an abundance of nearby places off-campus that are suitable for hanging out or doing homework. For example, the McDonald's just up the road from IUS has free wi-fi and plenty of seating. if you have some extra money, you can even grab a little snack while working on your schoolwork.

    Food and Dining

    How good the food at IUS really depends on what you like. I personally like most of the things at the cafeteria, and the coffee shops also have good drink options for pretty much anyone. If none of that suits your tastes, then there are a good number of restaurants right in New Albany that you can go to. For example, there is a Taco Bell, a McDonald's, and an Arby's right up the road from campus, and a ton of other places, such as Jimmy John's, Graeter's, and Tumbleweed, just a few minutes away.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really speak for this myself, as I live at home with my parents and commute to school every day that I have classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The level of academic rigor really depends on the classes you take. For example, I find my psychology class really easy, but physics is sometimes rather difficult. Luckily, the teachers I have are good, so nothing is unnecessarily difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply as early as possible. I waited and waited to apply, and I was only able to attend the very last orientation session, so I couldn't get the the classes I wanted at the times I preferred. When you apply, also read through the requirements and don't be afraid to chat with the admissions counselors to see if you need anything else. You should also register for the earliest orientation session possible, to ensure that you get the classes you want at the times you want.

    In three sentences

    This school is perfect for me! The class sizes are fairly small (I haven't had a class much bigger than 40 people), and everyone seems to be pretty nice to me. There is plenty to do here when your classwork is done, and also plenty of resources if you need help with anything.

  • 11/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops on campus are very strict and vigilant. Surveillance is unmatched.

    Great for these types of students

    Slow-learning and interactive type of students

    In three sentences

    If you are looking for an affordable college institution where you want to really study enough, Indiana University southeast is best for you.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For such a small campus, IUS has police officers on patrol all the time. Unlike most campuses, these are real police officers who carry guns and can arrest people. There is also call boxes all over campus, in case you are in an emergency.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is many different groups to participate in and there is something for everyone with over 50 student groups.

    Great for these types of students

    -Close to home -On a budget -Introverts -Academically Driven

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Nearly Naked Mile is a campus tradition. Where students run the grounds of the campus and raise money for charity, while doing so in nearly no clothing.

    Bang for the buck

    IUS is a cheap school. With that, you can get a quality education for a fraction of the cost. With such a close-knit environment, there is always someone to help you.

    What to do for fun

    The campus hosts many events, but are never full of students. If you are looking for something to do, head to Louisville a short drive from IUS, and there is always something going on!

    Food and Dining

    There is a food court located in the basement of the University Center. The food is overpriced and prepackaged. However, you are only minutes away from downtown Louisville which has plenty of food options.

    Dorm Life

    The campus has apartments, but mostly students travel and live at home. The apartments are well furnished and a reasonable price, but there is not a lot to do on campus. So, you should probably bring a car if you are planned on live there.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are designed for commuter students. The teachers are professionals and most come from other larger universities around the region.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in attending IUS, I would recommend taking a tour of the campus. Review the academic standards on the admissions page of the IUS website (ius.edu) and speak with your guidance counselor about your goals. Academically, IUS is a fairly easy school to get in to and the acceptance rate is high.

    In three sentences

    This small campus comprised of mostly commuters offers a wide variety of degrees and certifications for students. The campus is fairly small and gives you the idea of a friendly close-knit community. Classes are also small, allowing you to get to know your professors and fellow classmates.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    TKE are the big dawgs on campus! There parties are on thrusday night and attended by atleast 300 people everytime.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is low involvement but many clubs to join.

    Great for these types of students

    Education is first!

    Bang for the buck

    Most affordable in the area and is ranked high in education among other schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are many events and activities held on campus but not many are well attended. It is not the a party school. However, there are many surrounding areas that do party.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms so I am not sure. However they are new!

    Academic Rigor

    If you apply yourself you can achieve a high to moderate academic standing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Education is first and you can build an excellent network of professional that will be of great support to your dreams and career plans.

    In three sentences

    My time at IUS has been educationally valuable. Professors devoted their time and their personal network to ensure that you success inside as well as outside the classroom. It's a clean and safe campus!

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I have not experienced Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't experiences any clubs or activities but I have heard great things!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to make a difference and who enjoy being a part of a big family. Indiana University Southeast makes every student feel like they belong and that they are valued.

    Bang for the buck

    To attend Indiana University Southeast, it is much cheaper and a great school.

    What to do for fun

    Relax on campus, attend cultural events and musicals, and shop the bookstore!

    Food and Dining

    The food is acceptable at times, it just all depends on what you like. The area to dine is outstanding. Always clean and tidy.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms but I have friends who live in them and I have visited frequently and they are fantastic!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate your duties to be an outstanding college student. Go above and beyond, it is worth it!

    In three sentences

    Extremely helpful and caring! The administrators go above and beyond to help in anyway they can if it's an email or a phone call. They make sure you're on the path to success.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Love the food and the prices. Wish the Ucard covered McDonald and Taco Bell.

    Dorm Life

    Do not currently live in the dorms. I have been inside the dorms and they seem very awesome to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The 100 level classes are great learning experiences for incoming students and the 300 and above level classes challenge our thinking and get us ready for our future careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club and learn about all the different activities that you can get involved in.

    In three sentences

    Love the small class sizes. The teachers are very knowledgeable about their subjects. The cost of attending is low for a great education.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a game room on the bottom floor of the main building that is full of tv's, pool tables, and ping pong tables. Many groups meet in there for different activities and free time. The fitness center on campus is very nice, and offers every student a free way to get in shape if they so choose.

    Food and Dining

    There are multiple places that a person can go to so they can get something to eat. The dining area is very nice and has a great view of the campus. The cooks are friendly and will fix your food exactly the way you tell them to.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at IUS are pretty much all brand-new and extremely nice. The rooms are spacious and not heavily crowded. The campus is full of different activities and clubs you can become involved in if you do decide to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are influenced by each separate professor. The classes must be taken very seriously or you can easily fall far behind. You get so much help for every professor and tutor that the work might be extensive and difficult, but can be done and learned.

    Tips for prospective students

    Indiana University-Southeast is a good place for someone who might not have enough financial income to go to a huge university. The classes and professors push every student to do their best. Your tuition and fees are put to great use here, and every student can enjoy their time here.

    In three sentences

    The college is a very nice campus with plenty of different opportunities for every student. All the facualty and staff are extremely helpful with anything that a student may have questions on. The location is ideal because of the many attractions that are close.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I had many night classes and always felt very safe, and the presence of campus police also helps with this.

    Greek Life

    Many different sororities and fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities always posted on bulletin boards and a huge sign as soon as you arrive on campus. Always something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuter or traditional

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The center of the campus is a big clock that many people use as a meeting place, and sometimes there are even bands that play there.

    Bang for the buck

    Great Professors

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends in the dorms, or work together on homework and projects in the library.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and there are even options for light meals such as salads and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are new and very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but they give you the information that you would expect for your money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely look into Indiana University Southeast especially if you live close by. Also communicate with your advisers regularly so they can help you stay on track to graduate at a time that is reasonable for you.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University Southeast is a great campus, weather you commute or stay in the new dorms. There are many options for majors, and minors. Also when you graduate you will receive an Indiana University degree just as if you spent the extra money to go to Bloomington.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of things to do

    Great for these types of students

    Non Partiers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Game room is always fun!

    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends! Play Volleyball.

    Food and Dining

    Need more food on campus thats open later

    Dorm Life

    Loved it #orchard

    Academic Rigor

    Easy work, great degree

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and itll repay you later. Join lots oof groups!

    In three sentences

    Small, Beautiful, Easy

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I didn't eat there much, but when I did, the food was good, but cheap.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt like the classes were good, but not terribly challenging. I'm a good student, though, so all in all, I think they do a good job of keeping it learnable.

    In three sentences

    All the teachers I had were friendly and helpful. The classes were a nice size. The work was at a good level, I thought.

  • 06/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    IUS throws parties and lodge events all the time. Unfortunately they are all really dull and not many attend them. Most people would rather attend a greek party thrown by the fraternity TKE- which are fun, but not free. It is better to make some good friends, join an organization, and make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, but it is only open Monday through Friday and partly Saturday. They have breakfast cooked to order, at lunch and dinner there are different hot meals served daily; burgers, grilled chicken, fries, and onion rings available. There is also a sandwich and salad bar where you choose what you want, and microwaves if you bring your own food.

    Dorm Life

    The lodges are beautiful apartments style and are equipped with a fully equipped kitchen and bathrooms that only have to be shared with roommates. They are fairly new, and, unfortunately more than tuition. Because of the lack of sharing bathrooms and kitchens not a lot of interaction happens outside of lodge events unless someone initiates it.

    Academic Rigor

    Completely average, however the course load can frequently make it look daunting. Students interesting or already attending need to that remember studying will save you, tutoring is available, and the library is there to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    The classes aren't particularly painful, but don't slack off if you're aiming for a good GPA. Talk to your teachers, use the tutoring, and don't be afraid to ask for help from academic or financial aid advisors. Don't be intimidated by the Greek Life or the student organizations- You're interested? Try!

    In three sentences

    Academics at Indiana University Southeast are average, but picking classes can be tricky! The teachers are extremely helpful, some more than others, and so are the academic and financial advisors. The oncamus housing is great, but expensive, campus food is good, not great, and unless you're on the basketball team no one would know you do a sport.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    you will feel safe

    In three sentences

    A very good college to attend. Tuition is very reasonable even for kentucky students. Small classes and campus.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I actually have not tried the cafeteria food. I prefer to make my own meals in my dorm room.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here are beautiful! Each one has a kitchen with all the usual appliances and a full bathroom. It's like living in an apartment. There is plenty of room for all your things. The housing staff also hosts several fun activities each week for residents.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Indiana University Southeast are IU classes, so they are not all fun and games. Do not worry though, because it is definitely possible to get an A in your classes. If you are struggling, there are many resources that can help, including your teachers! Don't be afraid to ask questions; teachers welcome the questions!

    In three sentences

    I love Indiana University Southeast! This is a smaller college campus, so the faculty and staff have time to focus on each individual student, and they are very helpful and personable. Also, because of the smaller school body, you feel as though you are part of a community.

  • 10/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun. Louisville, KY is less than 25 min away, and there are plenty of bars, clubs, malls, parks, and many other things that you can do.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of restaurants less than 15 min away.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    One of the most difficult things about college is learning how to balance going to class, working, studying, and having time for friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to classes, and not skip out just because you can. Get plenty of sleep EVERY NIGHT. Make sure to read the material the night before, so you know what everyone is talking about in class. Study!! Learn time management.

    In three sentences

    A small, student-centered college. Small classes, with a small teacher-student ratio. Very friendly, inviting, and focused on learning.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    IUS campus has safety in it's DNA. There are several posts across campus that light up at night for easy spotting. The campus has police on duty at all hours.

    Bang for the buck

    IUS is a fantastic school to attend. the professors are magnificent and make sure to make each student feel welcomed. IUS offers tutoring, student help centers, several resources, and plenty of places for quick hot or packaged snacks. IUS really makes you feel right at home, and you get all of it for a reasonable tuition.

    What to do for fun

    IUS has a gym and a basketball court for anyone who wants to use it between, after, or before classes. Also, the campus is beautiful, so it is also a great idea to just walk around campus and enjoy your surroundings. If working out or walking around campus isn't for you, IUS also offers coffee shops, a huge library, a small art gallery, and a game room!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at IUS is impeccable! The pricing is fantastic and they offer a huge variety of foods and drinks. And, students work in the cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Indiana University Southeast are very nice. They are large enough to live comfortably with roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    Indiana University Southeast is a fantastic school academically speaking. The professors make you feel more than comfortable in class and try their hardest to make sure you understand the material. At the end of each semester IUS offers a grading slip for each professor, so the school can know what specific professors need to work on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be shy! Take the opportunity to learn more about the campus and where things are. Make it a priority to declare your major and meet with you advisor often.

    In three sentences

    Indiana University Southeast is a great college to attend. The campus is beautiful and the class sizes are not too big or too small. The professors make it a point to let every student know that they do care about how well a student does in their class.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a game room with a pool and ping pong table but not much other than that.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty good. there is also a Taco Bell and a McDonalds across the street.

    Dorm Life

    I can't comment personally on the dorm life directly because I live of campus but from what I hear if awesome dorm life is important to you don't get to excited.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say it's about average. You can do well if you try with not to much trouble but you could also get by with not to much effort as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would look at going here for a year or two and then transfer to a more notable school with better facilities and more majors.

    In three sentences

    Simply put it get's the job done. This School is a good place to get some credit hours at a reasonable price. I would not say it is great though. The teachers that I have had are not the best and the facilities are average for the size of the school.

  • 02/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    very reasonably priced for an Indiana University degree.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in campus activities

    Food and Dining

    Rotating daily selection, as well as staple sandwich, salad, pizza, and fry bars.

    Dorm Life

    Brand new, and growing rapidly. Dorms are more like an apartment, compared to traditional dorm style

    Academic Rigor

    The IUS school of business is accredited by the AACSB and annually ranks in the 80th percentile among other schools in the group. There are multiple professors with industry experience, and even Ivy League degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus before writing it off. although it is a smaller campus compared to Bloomington, or U of L, it still provides all of the essentials to the college experience. Visit with an adviser to discuss academic plans and goals to decide if IUS is the right place for you

    In three sentences

    IUS is an excellent choice for a student wanting an Indiana University degree. The campus is growing, and professors are high quality. The quality of the education here is fantastic.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is an important aspect to IUS. The location of the IUS police seems to be perfectly placed where the most students pass by. Along the sidewalks are emergency type stands. In the event of an emergency a button on the stand will be pushed and the police notified. Police officers also patrol the parking lots and drive/walk around to ensure a safe campus. Even on saturday's (when most students do not take classes) there are police officers patrolling.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs/activities are available to students. Even if one is not a member of a club the activities they host are usually open.

    What to do for fun

    Many dancers are held at The Grand for cheap. The Grand is a few miles from IUS (about a ten minute drive). Many clubs/sororities plan events such as community services, dances, parties, etc. Most of the time you do not have to be a member to attend such events. Personally, I enjoy taking walks around campus on warm days and taking pictures.

    Food and Dining

    During 1130-130 the wait to get food is at its longest. The food I have had is about the same as fast food quality; not so nutritious but pleasant to the tastebuds. Along with the longer wait during 1130-130 the lunch room is also more crowded. The chairs are regular plastic chairs unless you are lucky enough to catch a seat in the few sofas that surround a T.V. Some chairs sit higher up so the view outside into the campus's pond and wildlife (squirrels, geese, etc.) is visible.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but have found the outside to be well kept. At orientation we were allowed to stay and play games in a sort of lounging area in one of the dormitories. a T.V. was present with comfortable furniture. Friends that live in the dorms seem to enjoy it. Your friends are always next to you when you need help and it's a great way to socialize.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty I have found in my classes is the amount of reading and retaining the words on the pages. A little bit of hard work and note taking is a key element into passing most if not all of your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a first year student always come a few days prior to classes and check out where your classes are located. Also, allow about ten minutes in between classes to navigate from one side of campus to the other. Never take a backpack for granted, it will become your best friend and support. Staying up late is a cliche no-no but is the truth.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere the staff provides the students is always uplifting and encouraging. Smaller classroom sizes allow closer connections to fellow students and to the staff which could pay off with networking and recommendations. IUS is all about helping students in every way possible and helping one succeed in life inside and outside of the classroom.