Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Institute of American Indian and Alaska Native Culture Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those that enjoy hands-on learning and team projects. Classes are small and many students are shy. Lots of clubs to join, but not many sports activities. Campus is out of the city and very beautiful.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of all the oppurtunities given and offered. Be wary of the cafeteria food. Do the work and stay in touch with your teachers.

  • 11/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Artists, creative visionaries, business moguls, activists, Native Americans (but you don't have to be to apply), writers, museum and history studies, liberal studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be outgoing as you can. This is how you meet friends and connections. Grab the college experience by the horns and take advantage of every opportunity but don't wear yourself out. The best advice I can give is to be as organized and prioritized as possible.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not pricey, about 12,000 a year, but goes above and beyond in the degrees that it offers.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love going to school here! The campus itself is in the hills of Santa Fe where you get a 360 degree view of the mountains. IAIA is a close community where everyone practically knows each other. I have met so many amazing people here!

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much from this school. It is the ONLY Native American art school in the world! At IAIA, all students are equally assured of the best opportunities for critical, professional and cultural development provided from a Native perspective.

  • 12/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who learn visually or hands on. Students who are geared towards art and Native perspective. Students who enjoy out door scenery of New Mexican mountains. Students who want a closer relationship with their instructors and not feel like they disappear in a crowd. Students who are looking for a unique experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    You do not have to be Native American to attend, but the majority of students are Native. If you are commuting to school the NM Rail Runner and local bus transportation are accommodating. Check your email account regularly for opportunities, campus events, and notifications. Ask your teachers questions and stay in communication, the classes are small and they are there to help you.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on the person and how much motivation they apply it is not a bad cost to attend, but you have to put in work to be able to survive. I would not be searching for scholarships and alternative resources of funding if the cost of college was not a challenge.

    Am enjoying being here

    So far this has been my best choice educationally. I enjoy learning because of the Native issues presented and artistic viewpoints to solve them. I enjoy sharpening my artistic skills, while learning new mediums to become well-rounded.

    Am learning a lot

    I definitely am learning a lot at IAIA, not only the basic general studies, but culturally and artistically. This is a great place to experience and get to understand Native culture in a contemporary world. Especially on an artistic perspective, the institute relates to students who are visual learners.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very secure and respectable

    Clubs and Activities

    sculpture club

    Great for these types of students

    Native Americans

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is always community gatherings to support the students

    Bang for the buck

    Beautiful campus with great native american art and lovely views of the Santa Fe and surrounding mountains

    What to do for fun

    go to the library and look at all the great art books

    Food and Dining

    very good! healthy organic local food provide at very affordable prices

    Academic Rigor

    three stars but more if student dedicates him/herself to their art studies

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the teachers knowledge and facilities and work hard.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school that is providing a well rounded art education. There is a dedication to craft for students. It is a nurturing environment.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. The city of Santa Fe is not known for its crime and the campus is located on the outskirts which makes for a really laid back artsy type of feeling. great in terms of safety.

    Greek Life

    No frats or sororities but some students have been considering starting some.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various clubs and activities available for any one anytime.

    Great for these types of students

    Native American and non native Artists

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are literally a couple hundred different Native American tribes represented at this institute which makes a great place to submerge into various cultures.

    Bang for the buck

    For an average of $3500.00 a semester and an outstanding curriculum and faculty it is a great buy.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I make art and music, go out to new gallery openings, and work out at the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is not bad. They recently changed the food provider and now we have organic food which is great if you want to stay healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is lively, but i prefer to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses can seem difficult at first, but once you find a fulcrum it is quite an experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school to begin your undergraduates degree. This school was perfect for me to make the transition from a high school student to college student and soon enough into a graduate student.

    In three sentences

    A great school to hone your skills as an artist. Perfect for all types of artist and visionaries wanting to develop and take there art to the next level. A great school to earn a four year degree.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Become involved as much as possible. The IAIA community is very welcoming and is one big community.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy attending IAIA. I have learned and I am continuing to learn so much. It truly is a unique and amazing school. The staff is very friendly and always willing to help. It is a great community!!

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus, you'll feel completely safe knowing that it is a drug free environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Make your own club by applying at the Associated Student Government, there are some clubs such as the Horror Movie Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Native American students that wish to connect with other tribes or people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Drum circle is where most activities are held.

    Bang for the buck

    An overall good school that is highly misjudged because people don't put the effort that they need in order to succeed.

    What to do for fun

    Activities scheduled every week, such as dances, parties, movies, etc. Activity center has a pool table and a lounge.

    Food and Dining

    Bon Apetit cafe allows students to eat healthily and it tastes good as well!

    Dorm Life

    Internet access, air conditioning, nice comfortable beds, desk, other students that are talkative, easy to make friends when you're in the dorms, and much more.

    Academic Rigor

    Helpful courses for those who are just learning about art. Also, courses that will keep you involved and will push you. Allow yourself to show your true feelings in your art.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, never give up, and communicate. Don't let yourself get behind and always be on top of homework. Use the studios to get everything you need done. And stay away from activities that will distract you.

    In three sentences

    A great school capable of teaching you some of the basic and more advanced aspects of art and Native American art. Really active and helpful teachers that care. There are also a lot of activities to get you involved.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on campus provided by the student housing and the student government such as movies nights, stickball games, dances, karaoke and outdoor field trips. There are also many diverse clubs on campus like the culture club, concert club and the museum club that offer a wide variety of fun activities. Every night of the week students can participate in fun and healthy activities.

    Food and Dining

    The campus cafeteria is catered by Bon Apettite which is one of the best food businesses in Santa Fe. The menu is a variety of healthy, organic foods and it has such a range of different daily food options that the menu is not boring. The cafeteria environment is comfortable, clean and inviting.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is a great experience because the environment is very comfortable, clean and safe. All the students who live in the dorms know one another and are friendly and supportive of one another. It is a small campus and life in the dorms is a good way to create lasting friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    The Institute of American Indian Arts is a stellar institution where teaching is of the highest quality and academics are set at a good pace. The subjects taught are from the Native perspective and this gives the university a unique advantage from mainstream traditional schools whereby Native students learn in relation to their own lives.

    Tips for prospective students

    The prospective student is someone who is Native that would like to develop his/her artistic abilities and pursue a career in the arts. A good tip for the prospective student is to allow his/her passion for the arts be the motivation and guiding factor toward a great academic career.

    In three sentences

    The Institute of American Indian Arts is a wonderful university that excels in promoting artistic creativity through an indigenous perspective. The faculty, staff and administration strive to create a supportive and comfortable environment for students. The result is a dynamic and vibrant Native community where artistic talent is fostered and cultivated for the students.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secured. Guards running around the campus for safety. Card system for entry for the students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different clubs in the college which are very co-operative and engaging. They organize different programs and student participation is highly encouraged. There is very interactive environment among students and the club.

    Great for these types of students

    Native Americans People who wants to learn about native culture and contemporary arts. Foreigners.

    What to do for fun

    Check in with different clubs. Stick ball games. Indoor games and different hiking and outdoor tours.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent cafeteria. Organic food including vegetables and fruits. One price with eat everything you can!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is well managed. Very co-operative RA.

    Academic Rigor

    Very helpful student success center. Qualified learning specialists. Great library.

    Tips for prospective students

    To learn about Arts and culture of Native American. Great to start contemporary arts. Knowing about different cultures.

    In three sentences

    The college is far the city life and is very quiet and peaceful. It's a great place to make friendship with Native people and share their culture and tradition. Excellent place to learn contemporary and Native arts.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems to be very safe, have not had or seen any problems with security there, they are very present and friendly too.

    Greek Life

    HUH? No.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs at IAIA, and I belong to one of them - the Museum Club, and there's others like the Culture Club, Horror Club, Music Club, and the Concert Club....and probably many more!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for Museum Studies, artists (of all kinds), photography, graphic arts, creative writing, and so on....

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    IAIA is focused on providing Native American students the services they provide, with a thought to native traditions and a respect for these traditions. Non-Native students are encouraged to apply and may be surprised to find this a very diverse institution. Some unusual traditions (to some) may be the sweat lodge, and hogan located on the campus. The campus is located on a beautiful piece of property, and is a few miles south of Santa Fe NM.

    What to do for fun

    IAIA offers a lot of things students can do for fun like going to see a movie, going to community events, art galleries, ice skating, etc., they provide transportation to these events, but I'm not sure if there is a cost for this.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions, people are there to help you, and apply for all scholarships that you are eligible for.

    In three sentences

    I am a return student to IAIA to receive my bachelors degree in museum studies. So far my experience has been extremely fulfilling and I have gained a huge amount of knowledge just within my first semester here. I recommend this unique institution to all who are interested in the arts!

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Its an Indian school you can think of something to do.

    Food and Dining

    all organic food and you will lose weight here, in a good way though. They do not starve you but they dont fry any foods here either.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are like little hotel rooms, very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very open minded and artsy. Some are very easy going and some are very strict.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go there with an open mind.

    In three sentences

    Coming to I.A.I.A was the best thing i did for myself as far as schooling. I think it is a very great school and the staff and faculty do their best to make sure the student gets what he/she needs.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe. Campus staff available and security.

    Clubs and Activities

    I enjoyed the clubs I was involved in....it promotes community awareness.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone wanting a culturally experience with indigenous peoples from all over the world. Artist of all mediums...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Learn allot about the cultures of your classmates...and professors. Many visiting speakers for motivational inspiration. Dances performed throughout the year by visitors. And ceremonies where anyone is welcomed.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable college and very educational. A great experience.

    What to do for fun

    Fun...I didn't have much time for fun...I enjoyed the clubs and student activities on campus. There are field trips, gym activities.

    Food and Dining

    At my time....food was ok. It was affordable. Not allot of selection. But I heard they are making changes.

    Dorm Life

    I only stayed one semester on campus and lived off campus the remainder. Allot has changed since my stay. But the doors were roomy and clean. There was many activities planned for students and it was close to laundry and cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Besides professors wanting to see the best you can do...you have the competition of other great artist around you, this makes you want to do your best or better. Professors are great with helping and assisting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips to not goof off too much and be prepared and organized and on time.

    In three sentences

    I've been to several colleges and this one is by far the best with the people and students being friendly and helpful. It becomes like family.