Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Inver Hills Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    veterans, adult, traditional, non traditional.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help when you need it. Never be afraid to approach your professors or reach out to other classmates for assistance. Join some type of club if you can find time for it!

    Bang for the buck

    Financially, this school is great! You don't pay a lot of money and learn only from the book. The professors are knowledgeable and keep you up to date on the field that you are studying. There are also a lot of readily available resources.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really like going to school here because it has given me the flexibility to live me life as I need to. There are many options for weekend, night, and online courses if that is a need for you.

    Am learning a lot

    Most professors at this school are here because they actually want to teach their students about the subject. If they are involved with any research it is not their primary focus while on campus unless the students are involved. If you ever need any help or have questions, the professors are very approachable and always willing to help you. You have to able to ask for them to help though.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    busy people or parents

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is the cheapest I have seen for a great quality of learning

    What to do for fun

    Free movie nights

    Food and Dining

    Food is a little spendy

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are busy and still would like a obtain further schooling, this is the school for you. The rates are reasonable and the teachers there treat you as an equal.

    In three sentences

    I rate this school a 10 out of 10 for having the fleixble hours, great rates and access to many academic resources. I appreciate that I am able to obtain my dream job qualifications while being a mother and working a full time job. This school has given me opportunity to do it all.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and neat. No smoking policy which is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are LOTS of clubs there almost for every occupation your looking to get into.

    Bang for the buck

    It is worth your money to go there.

    What to do for fun

    Co-Ed softball team. Also there are plenty of fun events and games you are able to do. Also there is a room where people are able to socialize and play pool. ECT.

    Food and Dining

    Good food and also have a lot of choices. It just can be very spendy.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but there are apartments near by.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers there are a lot of fun. But some of the teachers I had taken just did not catch my interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to always be on time. Also make sure you have a relationship with your teachers it will help a lot.

    In three sentences

    Its a very friendly school which has all age groups of people. Also the school is clean and has a lot of fun activities your able to do. Would definitely recommend this school.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have yet to try their food.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not have on campus housing but there is an apartment complex right across the street.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule for your classes early!

    In three sentences

    This college is in a very nice location, the city reminds me of home and the people are so nice. The campus is gorgeous.. very outdoorsy and simple. The staff are very helpful and direct me to where I need to be.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe but no phones in any parking lot for back up or emergency.

    Greek Life

    do your job and study hard.

    Clubs and Activities

    International club is sometimes fun.

    Great for these types of students

    *Law *Math *English *Nurse *Transfering *And look for more information at www.inverhills.edu.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Some class are out of campus (I did not mean online), and there is another public library near campus too.

    Bang for the buck

    Instrutors, tutors and Student Success Day are very helpful for student to suceed.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym to exercise.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is OK but the food is expensive and there is no discount for students.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms and no rooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any questions, ask the student workers because they tend to know accurately than the faculties/staffs

    In three sentences

    Inver Hills is the BEST!!

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are tons of activities around campus. They have a lot of student functions during the year. The teachers often will offer extra credit for some of the events that are held on campus also!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at this school is great! They are pretty cheap, and they have a variety of food selections. Anything from pre-made sandwiches, to freshly cooked hamburgers. The also have plenty of vending machines around, so if you are low on energy in between or even during class, you can use those.

    Dorm Life

    This community college does NOT offer dorms! They do, however, offer student housing down the street from campus. This is at a discounted rate, and the options vary from sharing a place with a few students, to having a simple place to call your own with some of your friends.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs that they offer are very diverse. If they don't have a particular program that you want to enroll in, the generalized associates degree is an easy 60 credits. The teachers are very knowledgeable, and stay on topic! The classes are always fun, but they teach you everything you need to know to feel like you are getting your money out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the classes that you need to take for the program you want. If you like a certain teacher, take them for as many classes that they teach! This is very helpful for returning students. Make sure you look at all financial aid options, before deciding to not go to school!

    In three sentences

    Inver Hills is a great school with many great features! It offers many different classes and courses that appeal to just about anyone. The teachers are wonderful, and they are always willing to help out.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    There are great transfer opportunities. These opportunities are welcomed by campus staff and staff is very helpful in the process.

    In three sentences

    This is a friendly and caring school environment. Staff and professors are very helpful and welcoming. There are also tons of services and extra-curricular activities students can be involved in.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A lot of recreational sporting teams and extracurricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    Very good variety of food! Not bad prices either.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but there are apartments available on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a little challenging. Not too bad compared to high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your homework. Get ahead of the game if you can.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is very nice and accepting. Very easy to make new friends. Professors are great.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a smaller campus so its less scary plus there are always people around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot to choose from!

    Great for these types of students

    All!

    Bang for the buck

    So worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There's clubs, a gym open free to students and even a garden where students can have their own plants.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat in the cafe often, but there are a lot of choices and good food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on what classes you take, but treat every class like it is important.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun, but work hard.

    In three sentences

    Inver Hills is a great college for independent learning and one-on-one learning. Inver also gives the option for o campus and internet classes, which is really helpful for busy schedules.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is nothing to worry about on this campus. I have never felt uncomfortable or unsafe while attending this college. It is a cozy place to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the same education here with great, friendly professors as you would anywhere else. One of the best ways to get the education you need for half the price of a university.

    Food and Dining

    I give three stars because I have only eaten on campus once or twice. I had soup and a pizza and what can I say...it was food!

    Dorm Life

    This college has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't be fooled by the term community college--professors here do challenge you to the best of your ability.

    Tips for prospective students

    Connect with your professors--I have not been a student there since winter of 2010 and I still keep in touch with some of my favorite professors. One has wrote me a letter of recommendation to study abroad in Australia.

    In three sentences

    Caring, dedicated, and knowledgable professors! Campus is nice and small, it's own cute little community. Great value, bang for your buck.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is on staff.

    Great for these types of students

    Veterans Reserve Military members EMT students Law enforcement students

    Bang for the buck

    Great degrees at great rates.

    What to do for fun

    Lounge at the student lounge. Talk and attend learning communities. Meeting new people.

    Food and Dining

    No cafeterias, but have vending machines for snacks and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask lots of questions.

    In three sentences

    The school is known for its great EMT and Criminal Justice programs. The environment of the school is very friendly and welcoming. The staff and teachers of this school are very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel like I could be put in any danger

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and events for this school

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. There are a lot of choices and many of them are healthy.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school

    Academic Rigor

    The work is challenging but not impossible

    Tips for prospective students

    Navigating the website and many email adresses you are given is hard at first, but once you get help it is extremey simple to use

    In three sentences

    Inver Hills is a great school to go to. The teachers and classes are excellent and you feel that they are there to help you. The campus is also beautiful, and there is a great library, cafeteria, and many places to study

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I do not really do anything for fun at Inver Hills. I love studying so that is what I do here, but in terms of organizations, they could work on getting more students involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! The diner is nice and they make the food very quickly. I personally love the french fries, there is something about them that makes me want more!

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm here, but there is an apartment across the parking lot that students can live in!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great here! The professors care a lot about you and want you to succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Look up your professors! ratemyprofessor.com is a great website to go to! Also, stay on top of your studies! DO NOT slack off because it will only hurt you in the end!!

    In three sentences

    This school is great for starting out and people who want a degree in two years. The professors and administration are fantastic and they always try to help you do better! I am extremely happy that I chose to get my generals here, and would recommend this school to anyone!

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    typical campus food. over priced and un-appetizing

    In three sentences

    Good school, smaller class sizes than state universities.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Open gym, anyone?

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for anyone that needs flexibility.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The fine arts building is the best!

    Bang for the buck

    Inver Hills is a community college. There's a great payment plan, where you can make small payments once a month.

    What to do for fun

    There's tons of clubs, and our campus is beautiful. Sometimes it's just nice explore it.

    Food and Dining

    Our cafeteria is always packed with students, and we have all kinds of exciting things going on down there.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms! However, there's a great apartment building across the street that works with college students and has a great set up.

    Academic Rigor

    While my Literature class is challenging, my Painting class is lacking. Watch what you sign up for.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you're signing up for classes, pay attention to where the class meets. Inver Hills does a lot of ASAP classes for full time adults, so my english class is off campus, and a few towns over.

    In three sentences

    Inver Hills is incredibly friendly. Everyone makes an effort to work with your schedule, and go the extra mile. I've had a lot of fun there so far.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many student activities like clubs and rentals if you think you want to go hiking or something along those lines. Not to mention movie days every once in a while!

    Tips for prospective students

    All I have to say for anyone thinking about Inver, is to make sure you get help if your even remotely not understanding anything. Inver has many free tutors that are at your disposal whenever you need them.

    In three sentences

    Inver Hills is a great college to start out at. With all it's student based activities and fun things going on every week (such as movies and magicians), it's hard not to have a bit of fun while learning.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Welcome week and finals week include free lunch (pizza) each semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value for those planning on attending a four year college in the Minnesota State College system. Get your MnTC required credits done here much cheaper and while cheap/free at home.

    Food and Dining

    Average cafeteria food. Custom made stir-fry's and pasta dishes.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly easy, however, I am a procrastinator, so I'd get stressed with a deadline fast approaching with nothing done yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take speech and writing 1108 the first term, even if you dislike English. These classes will set you up for future sucess for the remainder of your college years. Most every class I had taken required some sort of 3 to 7 page written paper. Many others required giving presentations to the class.

    In three sentences

    This school was perfect for me as a non-traditional student. Even though I was old enough to be some of the other student's parent, it was a great learning environment for all of us. Highly recommend for those just starting their college careers, no matter how old or young they are.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You could ask some English teachers about the Goose story... Some feathered friends decided to make their home on campus and lay eggs. If you so much as went near one particular spot there was a possibility of getting attacked. Eventually it had to be roped off.

    Bang for the buck

    Parking is free! Ans as it is a community college, classes are much less expensive than universities. You pay for tuition by the class, and every class is different. Also, most books are available to rent, which is much cheaper than buying them. However, if you do decide to buy your books, there is buyback at the end of each semester where you can sell the books back to the store and get some money back for them.

    What to do for fun

    Many clubs are offered, and they depending on your area of study, there are some academic clubs as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is wonderful :) No meal plans are offered however, and if you are buying from the cafeteria everyday it can get expensive. But if you bring food, there are microwaves!

    Dorm Life

    Apartments are offered directly next to campus, but there is no on-campus housing. I know many people who live/have lived there, and they enjoy it. :)

    Academic Rigor

    Inver offers honors courses for those who have made the Dean's list (3.5 GPA or higher) and they can get pretty difficult. The other classes can vary as well, while the theatre class may not be as challenging as the math class, it all depends on the teacher. Make sure you leave more time to study for the more difficult classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a laid-back, friendly atmosphere, but it is a college, so if you don't care and don't study... you're going to have a bad time.

    In three sentences

    Inver is fun, friendly, and cheap :) I have had some of my favorite professors here, and I think it is because most who teach here, really want to be here. IHCC is a non-research based college, meaning the professors' main goal is to teach and help the students, not anything else.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    PC Gamers you will find your click quick if you hang out in the student commons. Music fanatics hang out in the Fine Arts building. You'll meet all kinds of students throughout classes and keep an open mind.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you keep up to date with the weekly bulletin there will be student life activities going so if you're looking for peace and quiet keep an eye on that.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school to start out at! Be wary of which classes transfer. But for most students grants tend to pay for most if not all the way through.

    What to do for fun

    In the student commons there's always pc gamers around and if you have your little click of friends talking won't seem too much. If you're looking for otherwise in the activities building there is a game room although there tend to be a click there.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is a little pricey but if you look out for the right deals they are fantastic. The dining area is nice during early and late points of the school day. There will at times be very obnoxious people and they can be very rude but if you mind your own business and have headphones you won't have a worry. If you're a pc gamer there's always a group you'll be able to talk to and maybe have a game or two while you're there.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't experienced dorm life because there isn't a dorm to be had. But there is an apartment complex across the street that the school gives financial aid to students who are looking to live there and will provide a roommate. What I know of is that they are randomized and there's no request that I know of but the apartments are nice for a community school.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the generals will be based on the teachers. Talk to students in the student commons to get the exact scoop on certain teachers. But for the most part if you invest in the right amount of time you'll get the most out of it for the tests and assignments. They say about 4 hours of studying per credit a week, it really depends on your learning style and you'll find out what works best for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be attentive to each teacher. No two teachers are the same and they have their own style of teaching and homework policies. What is put in will be given out.

    In three sentences

    This school is great for new students and adults looking to continue their education. The student life is very laid back and will make any student welcome. With small class sizes you'll get the most out of education!

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The activity's build has many different things to do for fun. You can go to the gum and play basketball with friend, or play pool and ping pong. If you want, you could also relax and watch some tv.

    Food and Dining

    Food here is very delicious, although kind of pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Have not lived in the housings that are available

    Academic Rigor

    You get what you put in. If you put it a lot of time and dedication, you will succeed in your class. If not, you will fail. Teachers do well covering topics very clearly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn building names and you will make it here!!

    In three sentences

    It is a small, unscary, beautiful school. Faculty and staff are very nice and helpful. Students are fun and easy to get along with.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is available 24/7 you never miss to see someone who knows where to direct you need at any given time.

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for everyone IHCC makes it easy for one to identify with a group that seems fit for their passions a career choices.

    Great for these types of students

    From parents to student straight from high school IHCC would be your key to succeeding in your careers.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of activities go on at IHCC. Soccer is my favorite based on the roots that trace back to my origin. There is a gymnasium and tonnes of sports from aerobics to weight-lifting exercise go on there. We have a variety of clubs one can join to meet people with common notions as well as perform in front audiences. Service learning project that go on in and out of the school. This is a good way to put what we learn in class to real life situations where critical thinking is required.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria with a cheap variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    Cheap apartment around campus is available.

    Academic Rigor

    Very sophisticated learning environment, everything is equipped to promote student success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan your time well if you intend to join college. A lot of you will be leaving home to attend college that means you do not live under you parents supervision this makes you the master of your on choices. Pick your friends wisely as many people become swayed by parties that go on in college and tend to forget what brought them to school. A lifetime of comfort and prestige is far more worth than the four years blind-sightedness and constant obstruction from concentration on education. The hard work you put in will inevitably pay off so stay focused and keep in mind the end goal.

    In three sentences

    It's the best place to pursue college education. The credit courses are rated at reasonable prices. You would never want take classes anywhere else due to the great professors at IHCC.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay, but very overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Just do the work and you'll probably get a B.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here to get generals it's way cheaper. Take the bus or carpool because the parking lot is horrible.

    In three sentences

    Most teachers care a lot about the students. Great way to get generals before transferring. Horrible parking lot.

  • 02/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intramural volleyball and spanish club

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well on your accuplacer to avoid redoing classes done in the past. Always rent or get used books. FILL OUT A FAFSA!!!

    In three sentences

    Inver Hills is very close to home for me and was easy to get accepted. There are a lot of classes that the school makes you take that are classes you have already taken. There is no way around this and it is very annoying.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's quiet and there is security patrolling the lots.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a variety of clubs on campus, and they're really accessible.

    What to do for fun

    There is the rec center. You can lift weights or just go to the workout room to use their equipment. There's a selection to it. Also there is own gym in available days. They provide a schedule fort you to view.

    Food and Dining

    Good is okay. I early order from the cafeteria, but they have a good selection.

    Dorm Life

    I live nearby, so I can not speak to this. But ice heard from other classmates that it's nice to live across the street from school.

    Academic Rigor

    If there are any struggles with your studies here at inverhills, they have help available. Tutors and some online help as well. Most of the time they are your own classmates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking can some times be hectic, so come early. The earlier you are, the more study time you get, and the better the parking.

    In three sentences

    The staff here is great, they can almost always make time and take the effort to meet with you after class. Community is small, and not crowded. They have just upgraded their library and computer room and it gives us students now space to work with.