Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Iowa Central Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Iowa Central is very well priced compared to other colleges. Even if you live on campus, you will pay much less for much more.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are SO many fun on and off campus events to go to! There are BBQs, Karaoke, discounted or free movie showings, inflatables, root beer floats, and so much more!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors actually care about the students in their classes and often give out their personal cell numbers so students can call them. Also, smaller class sizes make one-on-one time more available.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    iowa central has its own campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs at iowa central are very easy to get involved with and help draw the community together.

    Great for these types of students

    iowa central is a great school for those people who have been out of school for some time and are wondering if its right for them, and for people would are looking for a cost effective way to get a degree.

    Bang for the buck

    i'm getting three years of college (two a.a.s's and one a.a) for the price of one year at a state institution. i can't complain about the cost of tuition. not to mention, iowa central offers many other amenities for its students.

    What to do for fun

    iowa central community college works hard to make the experience enjoyable for its students. they focus on activities that draw in a crowd, and help people experience culture or new experiences. while this emphasis is heavier during the beginning of the fall semester, there is usually at least one thing going on every week, as well as discounts at the local movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    with a dining hall with many options, there are few complaints. but iowa central makes it easy for students who don't live on campus as well by offering two additional eateries. and if thats not enough? subway, caseys and mcdonalds are all within walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    iowa central has many dorm options with new dorms being added on a fairly regular basis. the rooms are clean and roomy, although some of the newer dorms place up to five people in the same living quarters.

    Academic Rigor

    as a community college, you can tell that iowa central is working on preparing people for transfer. the general education classes are nearing their equivalent at a four year college, but still leave a little lacking in the preparation department.

    Tips for prospective students

    how many times has someone told you to stay on task and get your homework done? well, it still holds true. like any other school, you have homework and tests, quizzes and research papers. what makes the difference between a failing grade and an a+ is how much effort you put into it. iowa central has many opportunities that you can make use of, including tutors, test help, and extended lab hours.

    In three sentences

    iowa central community college is a great way to get started on your future, whether you plan to work for an associate of arts or get general education credits out of the way for transfer. the staff and students are helpful and friendly, and they truly want to help you learn. the atmosphere at iowa central is easy going with an emphasis on success.

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I love the apartment style dorms. I think that's the best part. They have really nice athletic facilities and a pretty nice band/choir room. Their theater is kind of small, though. The professors have been helpful and nice, plus the class size is pretty small because it's not a huge campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE it at Iowa Central. It's a smaller town, which I really enjoy and I have some great roommates. I'm involved in cheer which is really fun, but I think it would be that way if you were involved in any of their sports or other activities. Plus the first week or two we're on campus, there's so much fun stuff to do. My admission rep has also been super helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    I was a really advanced student in high school and took a lot of college classes, so there aren't too many electives left for me to take and I have a light load for my semesters (but this isn't necessarily a bad thing, and I have more time for a job and cheerleading)

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is always around and available. the campus is very friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    lost cost for great living, food, and education.

    What to do for fun

    iowa central offers many extracurricular activities from bingo and intramural sports. also, the athletics are very good and provide entertainment for all.

    Food and Dining

    multiple meals a day and a wide variety.

    Dorm Life

    very clean on campus apartments that are both nice and roomy.

    Academic Rigor

    great academics and faculty with brilliant minds.

    Tips for prospective students

    definitely apply for iowa central.

    In three sentences

    i rate iowa central community college a 5 star school in terms of community colleges. the facilities and campus atmosphere is great. also, all of the faculty care for each student and strive to accompany each student's best interest.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i feel that the experience i am receiving with iowa central's online courses is exactly what i was looking for. challenging and i am learning what is needed for my field of study.

    Academic Rigor

    online courses are no different than in-person/on campus courses as far as academic rigor. you will spend approximately the same amount of time studying for online courses as you would in-class.

    Tips for prospective students

    research tuition and book costs. know if you are an on-campus or online type of student for the best learning experience.

    In three sentences

    i'm enrolled in the online program. this is the most comprehensive online study program i have participated in. the instructors are very responsive to student needs.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    not applied.

    Great for these types of students

    students that are prepared to excel in higher learning classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not applied.

    Bang for the buck

    well rounded retainable information. good investment.

    What to do for fun

    review library database, career guidance, and student reviews.

    Food and Dining

    not applied.

    Academic Rigor

    focus on student developing and retaining information. establish healthy communication with peers and teachers responses.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focus to class discussions, take notes,and ask lots of questions. remember no questions are bad, unless you don't ask a question.

    In three sentences

    this school provides you with real life examples and understanding of personal experiences. text books interacts with class materials to guide students to solve weekly assessments. follow up staff are supportive in providing tech. support and online resource guidance.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who have a busy lifestyle, its flexible and you can do work on your time in a weekly period. moms,workers,etc.

    Bang for the buck

    great value compared to other online colleges.

    Food and Dining

    online student

    Dorm Life

    not really sure, i'm a online student

    Academic Rigor

    even though it's online, it's still great. you learn a lot, very informative when it comes to learning things. great curriculum and professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're interested in online. be prepared to be self motivated. you should expect to learn alot on your own.

    In three sentences

    i'm currently enrolled online at iowa central. really great school,great professors. i love it.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greeks

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities are average, but the people hosting or participating makes it fun.

    Dorm Life

    Beautiful doorm rooms and living conditions

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to learn, and have fun doing it!

    In three sentences

    iowa central community college is a helpful college with a staff that will help you get to where you want to go. The activities that they have for the students are fun and full of excitement. I would rate ICCC a 8 out of 10

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have activities to do around campus almost everyday. you can go to the service research center to play games and activities. you can hang with friends.

    Food and Dining

    the food is OK there. the first day of every month will be steak and shrimp day.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm is nice and being and has they're own bathroom, refrigerator, stove with oven, and sink in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are typically easily if you do your homework and pay attention in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    be open and outgoing there and you will meet a lot of cool people to be friends with.

    In three sentences

    it was a learning experience for my first year of college. met a lot of cool and new people. teachers are very helpful and will work with you.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is the number one priority! You can always see campus security driving or walking around campus keeping everyone safe!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different sports from swimming to rodeo! There are rodeo clubs, ag clubs, nursing club, a club for practically everything!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone from a small town, or wants a small class size ratio! the teachers always know your name, and are always willing to help you!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always a welcome BBQ cookout the first day every year! great place to meet new friends!

    Bang for the buck

    ICCC is definitely highly recommended for the academics!

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities on campus to do, people to hang with, or local businesses have deals for college night!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is great. It doesn't taste like high school food, its taste decent with meals always being warm and ready!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms are kind of small for 5 people to be living comfortably in.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics at ICCC are outstanding, and the advisers know practically every question you could possibly have for them. They are very informative, answer emails quickly, and great to just stop in a get to know!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking of going to ICCC i recommend the school! it is a great small college with small classes but great advisers! Campus visit is a must!

    In three sentences

    ICCC is a great small campus. The advisers are outstanding. It is a little difficult to get a hold of anyone via telephone.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Iowa Central has a lot of different options for making college a possibility for those who may not have been able to afford it. For example, I can live at home and commute, which has been much more effective for me. It has also allowed me to work full-time, while going to school part-time. Being able to work while going to school has made it so I don't have to take out any expensive school loans.

    Food and Dining

    As a commuter I still get the benefits of eating on campus, however I usually do not take advantage of this, as I can go anywhere in town and eat.

    Dorm Life

    I actually commute to a campus that is not part of Fort Dodge, but in Storm Lake. This has been a great experience for me. I can enjoy living as an adult, or at home with my parents. It's also much more cost effective for me personally.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a nursing student, which tends to be a little different from most majors. So, I have to study A LOT. But, the teachers never give students more than they can handle, and are always willing to give you extra help outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for somewhere to get the best bang for your buck while college searching, this is the place to go.

    In three sentences

    Iowa Central is a great place to get a good education that will serve you well in the working world after college. It's affordable, and prepares students for the next steps in their lives.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all types of students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The first or second day on campus we had a bull ride and a zip line to do for free. It was so fun!

    What to do for fun

    They have activities going on all the time and it's a great campus to find a place to sit and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    They're getting a new cafeteria in 2013 so the food and dining services will be much better.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to do to!

    In three sentences

    Iowa Central is a great place to go to school at. All of the teachers here are understanding and great to learn from. The campus is beautiful, it's impossible not to make great friends here!

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to further their education!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Going to different parts of the state or even out of the state just to go for art class was unusual but lots of fun!

    What to do for fun

    ICCC always has something going on to get the students involved, whether it's a cook out, college movie night or college bowling night.

    Food and Dining

    Not the top of the line food, but if you had to cook for that many, the food you made wouldn't be that great either!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are more like apartments and get us ready for having to deal with the real world but in a gentle way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait to sign up to go there! If you wait there might not be room for you! Study hard, and don't be afraid to ask questions!

    In three sentences

    Iowa Central has been a great school to go to! I have had all of the help I need to complete the classes I needed to transfer and the process of schedule making was made easy for me. The teachers there answered every question I ever had with the best of their ability.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always a security guard somewhere and if you have a problem they are always on call.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to get involved in!

    Great for these types of students

    Athletic students. A really great athletics program!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing very unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap and great education.

    What to do for fun

    Bowling, 3 dollar movie nights, shopping.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms! Apartment style!

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome teachers and small class sizes!

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books online to save money!

    In three sentences

    Is a really student based college full of great staff, housing, and students. Also theres always something to do and great food. Lastly their sports teams are amazing!

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going to the rec and playing basketball and lifting weights for is somthing to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all your resourses the school offer you as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    It is a great place to come to school and get an education. The teachers are great. The tutors are great as well.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always stuff going on. There are activities for everyone!

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten here once.

    Dorm Life

    From what I have seen it is pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    All the teachers are very helpful and answer any questions you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask as many questions as you have, there is no such thing as a stupid question.

    In three sentences

    They are extremely helpful. Make things easier for you. Very nice.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    IC is located in Fort Dodge, and there is quite a bit to do if you don't feel like working out at the gym on campus, or hanging out at the SRC (which is quite a popular place!)

    Food and Dining

    Food here is great! Lots of options, and they are just finishing building the Triton Cafe, so that will be a new food adventure!

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live on campus last year, but I will be this year. As for what my friends have said about dorm life though, they say its very nice. The dorms are nice and big, and are apartment style.

    Academic Rigor

    As a music major, I have music classes all day. And yes, they can be a little rigorous. Especially theory. The teachers really do a great job though of helping you learn it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think any less of this college just because it's only a two-year college.

    In three sentences

    IC is a great college for getting your feet wet with the college life. The music program here is great, and is like a family. They really help you get to where you want to be.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ICCC really does provide many things to do for fun. At times there may be College Movie Night where there are discount movies in town, there are events where there can be some social activity like karaoke or a music performer. But at the same time the town where ICCC is located is really nice to find good places to have fun overall.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dinning at ICCC is very different. Some times the menu can be over the top and times where its not as great, to be honest. Certainly there are special occasions where they may serve good food and even deserts. But the good thing I really do enjoy is breakfast, since most of the time its just a serve yourself type thing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at ICCC is a wonderful experience! First of all it is great to have dorm mates that can help out half of the time when, as a freshman, one is a bit clueless. Another advantage is that dorm life helps you understand other majors people are taking and the vast diversity that one can come across.

    Academic Rigor

    ICCC being a 2 year college still gives students many opportunities academically. For example, there is a vast encouragement on moving on to a 4 year university, which in my opinion is a good opportunity to take. The instructors there are also encouraging on students going bigger on their academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students can be that ICCC is an experience where you can even change your mind on how you think about a 4 year university. There are so many hands on classes that it changes people's perspective about their major. At times it may seem like one cannot keep up with classes and overall life at ICCC but one can get very used to college life in particular.

    In three sentences

    It has a nice environment for students who are interested on having good study ethics. The instructors at ICCC are very helpful when a student is in need of clarification on their subject matter. And overall this campus has much diversity that anyone can mingle around and have a great time with anyone.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    So affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are event always going on. There are college movie nights and when the pool was open, it was rented at the beginning of the school year for students to enjoy.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a very affordable option if you aren't ready to move off to a larger college right away.

    In three sentences

    Iowa Central is a small college with a big college feel. The students are friendly and the staff is so helpful. The class sizes aren't overwhelming so the student to faculty ratio is tremendous.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have installed cameras for theft. Fast responding Campus Security.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of clubs. There are a bunch of intramural sports that are very competitive.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for sports, music, criminal justice, dental hygiene, nursing majors, and people that enjoy school.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for what you are paying for. Reasonably priced community college.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the SRC and play ping-pong, pool, xbox 360, or watch television.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. It is better for the community colleges, but not as good as major universities.

    Dorm Life

    The apartment style dorms are nice and big. The tower dorms are your typical college dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Good education experience. Instructors know your name, even when you are done with their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    You want to apply early and sign up for housing early to get the good dorms, which are apartment style.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are very nice and helpful. The classes are good sized. Iowa Central is a clean college.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    There is bowling, and college movie nights. The college also puts on a lot of events for students to engage in.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great!! Iowa Central just opened a new cafeteria!!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are comfortable and nicely kept.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very active in students learning and actually care.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan your schedule ahead of time and go in to get signed up for classes as soon as you are able.

    In three sentences

    Iowa Central has very friendly teachers and staff who are active in the students education and actually care. The smaller campus makes it an easier transition from high school to college. The housing is in really good shape and well taken care of.

  • 04/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is important at Iowa Central. I see campus security all the time as I am driving and walking to classes. The dorms are secure. The parking lots are well lit. The classrooms are secure and student safety is important at this school. It is always easy to resolve any issue and the security on campus is seen and very prevalent.

    Greek Life

    I am not aware of any fraternities or sororities at Iowa Central Community College but with everything else offered here they are not really missed. Students spend lots of time socializing at the Student Services building and at athletic events throughout the school year. There is no shortage of community at Iowa Central Community College.

    Clubs and Activities

    Iowa Central offers many clubs and activities. For a college that is smaller, they go out of their way to get students involved in many different areas. They have academic clubs, social clubs, athletic clubs and the one thing I can say about each of them is that they work hard to benefit the community and to get involved in making the lives of other people easier. Serving others is an important thread that runs through most clubs, activities, and organizations on campus. Iowa Central Community College definitely emphasizes the need to be part of the community they serve. There is a lot of pride evident in every event ICCC is a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    Iowa Central Community College is great for students that are just out of high school as a first step to college. It also offers classes for non-traditional students and every class I have taken has always had older students in attendance. The classes are small, affordable, and every type of student can find something good at Iowa Central.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know about unusual locations at Iowa Central but I know that student services building is very popular. The gyms and exercise facilities are also very popular hangouts on the Iowa Central campus. There is something for everyone and there is always activities happening all over campus. Iowa Central brings in guest speakers all throughout the year and they are fun, interesting, and current!

    Bang for the buck

    Iowa Central Community College offers every class imaginable at a cost that is affordable to most everyone. The school is a great place to start college. They also offer many online, asynchronous classes that are easy ways to earn college credits while you study at your own pace. I took advantage of these classes while in high school, and continued taking them while attending regular college classes. Iowa Central Community College offers several campuses around central Iowa as well which makes learning much easier.

    What to do for fun

    Iowa Central Community College has many student groups and organizations that are available to join but the main events center around the athletic teams - GO TRITIONS! The athletic facilities are second to none and I spend a lot of time at the gym - playing basketball, lifting weights, swimming, and enjoying the sauna. The athletic training staff and personal trainers at the Fort Dodge facilities are the best and they offer lots of advice to anyone who asks for help.

    Food and Dining

    Iowa Central Community College just finished an extensive remodeling project of their student services building and the dining hall is second to none. The food is great and it is also affordable. The student services building is a popular hangout for students going to school here and it is warm and welcoming. The college spent a great deal of money on this project and the students appreciate the efforts!

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay on campus but the Iowa Central campus is surrounded by dorm buildings. I have been in the dorm rooms and they are up-to-date, as spacious as any dorm room I have ever seen. The security of the buildings is also great and students feel safe staying on campus at Iowa Central Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Iowa Central Community College offers a very wide variety of classes and they make it affordable to get a vast majority of the required courses under your belt. The class sizes are small and individual attention is available in every classroom. The college also offers many classes for almost every major you could think of and because the tuition is affordable it is a great way to test out different career options. The Academic Resource Center is wonderful. It is centrally located on campus and tutoring for almost every subject is available to the students at Iowa Central. The tutors are very knowledgeable on the subjects and they are available day and night. It is easy to see that they take a lot of pride in helping students. I know that I would never have made it through Calculus without the help of my tutor, Alona. She is so smart and incredibly helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be challenged in an environment that emphasizes student success. The class sizes are small enough that you will not get lost in the crowd. Going to college here is a great next step from leaving high school. ICCC is perfect for work on your liberal arts classes and get a taste of your major classes as well. The students and faculty are friendly and everyone is willing to lend you a helping hand if you need it.

    In three sentences

    Iowa Central Tritons are Proud, Powerful, & Positive! Iowa Central Community College is full of people that really want to help college students succeed! The school has excellent instructors, dedicated students, cutting-edge classroom instruction, and something for everyone.

  • 05/23/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Seem to have a lot u could get into

    What to do for fun

    In my free time I listen to music it's really my favorite thing to do is get lost in music. I also watch movies, ride my bike and prepare for tomorrow

    Food and Dining

    I haven't experienced this yet

    Dorm Life

    Your far from home buy it's an apartment style u make it as homie as u can

    Academic Rigor

    Work load would be all worth it

    Tips for prospective students

    If your major is here tuition is affordable.

    In three sentences

    They make you feel welcome and that if you believe in you then you fit right in.