Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Iowa Wesleyan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Most popular events: Athletics, Weekly Forum, Southeast Iowa Symphony Orchestra, Homecoming, Haselmayer Endowment for the Arts events, Spring Thing, Xmas Thing, Variety Show, Design Reading

    Bang for the buck

    Campus Safety Services Offered: 24-hour foot and vehicle patrols, late night transport/escort service, lighted pathways/sidewalks, controlled dormitory access (key, security card, etc)

    Am enjoying being here

    Basic Services Offered: nonremedial tutoring, placement service, health service, health insurance Remedial Services Offered: reading, math, writing, study skills Counseling Services Offered: minority student, career, military, personal, academic, older student, psychological, religious.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel the campus is very safe.

    What to do for fun

    The school has many on campus activities to participate in. The town has many festival like events that attract thousands of visitors annually. The students go to the local bowling alley to hang out too.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but I have heard students really enjoy campus life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, get strong at time managment and be sure to read your text books.

    In three sentences

    I am having a great experience at Iowa Wesleyan. The town has that small town feel and everyone is friendly. The pass rate of the NCLEX-RN exam is what brought me to IWC, it is awesome!

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's Wal-Mart, a movie theater and a lot of restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't wonderful. There isn't a lot of opportunity for healthy choices, and the food is often leftovers.

    Dorm Life

    There are a lot of respectful people in the dorms. People are generally good about being quiet during finals week and after quiet hours.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of your classes will be really easy, but some of them will be really challenging. Make sure you take notes, pay attention and go to class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely go to class. Check your email EVERY DAY. Make a lot of connections with professors and other students.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school. There are wonderful instructors, and all of the buildings are close together. By the time you graduate, you are ready for the real world.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    After hours they have a few security guards that roam the halls, but overall, this campus is pretty safe. Just always use the buddy system!

    Greek Life

    We have 2 sororities, one national and one local that just got started. We also have a futurity. No houses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of interesting clubs and activities here, at the beginning of the year they have an activity fair, where anyone can sign up for the clubs and activities here.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a small personal college. I found that even with people undecided as a major, this college is really helpful in deciding.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a bell that the sports team ring when they win. On campus we have the Harlan-lincoln house, that belonged to Abe Lincolns son, and it was basically his vacation home, and now it is only open for tours during special occasions. Lots of People say that this campus is haunted, but what can you expect from one of the oldest colleges west of the Mississippi?

    Bang for the buck

    As long as you keep your priorities straight, any college is worth it, but this college has a lot to offer, and is a great college for anyone looking for a small college to attend.

    What to do for fun

    This is a very small town, but in the square in the middle of town they have lots of nice restaurants. There is a newly refurbished movie theater that plays recent movies. Mt. Pleasant also has a lot of local activities. A big part of Mt. Pleasant is the Old Threshers festival that everyone always looks forward too! The next bigger town over is about a 30 minute drive away that includes a mall. Iowa City is about an hour drive directly north of Mt. Pleasant, and they have pretty much anything that you would need. We also have a Walmart in town, and they have everything you would need.

    Food and Dining

    Not as good as home cooking, but they have enough choices. The food distributor here is Sedexo. They have a buffet set up, and the dining hall we have always has enough seating. They try their best to provide healthy, yet tasty meals. During meal times, they have a snack bar that is open as an alternative to meals, which serves good food!

    Dorm Life

    There are 3 residence halls here. A boys hall, a girls hall, and the suites that are available to upperclassmen (which are really nice, and pretty new!) The rooms themselves are decent sizes, and they are remodeling the girls dorms, adding in more lounges, and getting rid of old furniture.

    Academic Rigor

    Every school has there good and bad teachers, and here, the class sizes are small enough to where you get enough one on one attention with your professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say be very open minded when choosing any college. This college is very friendly and quaint. It might also be a culture shock to some. This college is very service learning based, and they work in community service into the curriculum. Another thing that is a positive about this college, is the help that is available for setting up your career after college.

    In three sentences

    Iowa Wesleyan is a good liberal arts college. Despite the size, Iowa Wesleyan has a lot to offer, in terms of academics and extracurricular activities. Over all i would give Iowa Wesleyan an 8 out of 10.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe little to no crime

    Greek Life

    NONE!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Very little that I could see

    Great for these types of students

    Just looking for peace I would say, maybe small town lovers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Zombie day- Everyone makes a homemade weapon and people dress like zombies I was told it is very fun.

    Bang for the buck

    In the middle they have a lot of scholarships but if you don't get more than 20,000 in aid I don't recommend it.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. Enough said

    Food and Dining

    They offer a lot of options for food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    Small dorms, outdated.

    Academic Rigor

    Seems like high school continued.

    Tips for prospective students

    Athletically coming here isn't a bad idea they are a DIII school with good coaches and its a good starting point. Academically to me it did not seem solid.

    In three sentences

    Its a quiet town not a lot do but Iowa state is just an hour away if you need civilization. Also the students are very separated and the ones id meet there told me to pass the class and get good grades just show up. I don't really recommend this school but its peaceful.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a security guard that walks around campus starting at ten every night. He makes sure that nothing is going wrong but since there is only one of them he cannot be every where at once. This makes it easy for people to sneak around hi if they have to which is not very secure.

    Greek Life

    There is only one sorority. There are no fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs at this school. The hard part is finding information on the club that you are interested in. They rarely send out emails and when they do they do not put the vital information in the email. for example they leave out the time and place that you are supposed to meet.

    Great for these types of students

    I think that this school is great for nursing students and athletes. Since this school is mostly athletes it will be easy for them to get along with each other. This school has an excellent nursing program and the professors are fantastic and are interested in what you do.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is the Harlan-Lincoln house right on campus. This house was built by James Harlan. Abe Lincolns son married James Harlan's daughter and they lived in this house for an extended period of time.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't think that you get your monies worth at this school. I think they are charging you to much and are disappointing the students more and more everyday.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun since the school is in such a small town. There are a couple of big cities near Mt. Pleasant such as Iowa City which is where University of Iowa is and there is also Burlington and they both have good places to eat. Iowa City has a good size mall that you can go to but it is a 45 minute drive so sometimes it is not that worth it.

    Food and Dining

    are dining is through sedexo. The food is rarely good. The breakfast food is the worst by far. The eggs are instant eggs, they are always runny and have very little taste. The dinners are not that bad but they cook everything so frequently you get tired of eating the same food over and over again.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm that I live in now is not very well kept. When you come to visit the school they show you the rooms with the new furniture but you most likely will get a room with old furniture. The old furniture you cannot even move, it is all stuck to the wall. The bathrooms are disgusting even though they are cleaned everyday except for the weekends which is when they need to be cleaned the most.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses that I am taking now are just prerequisite courses. These courses are not some of the hardest courses you will have to take but a few of them will give you a challenge at times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though this school has a great academic program, since it is quite small it creates an environment that makes me feel like I am still in high school. If you are wanting to go to a school like that then I would recommend this school but if not then I would not recommend you coming here.

    In three sentences

    This school has a highly recommended nursing program. The professors take the time to check up on you and make sure that you are doing good work. I would rate this school an eight out of ten.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    IWC is not worth money to attend.

    What to do for fun

    Well, IWC is Mount Pleasant, Iowa where there is not anything fun to do in spare time.

    Food and Dining

    Same food every week. Food is okay, nothing to good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good, but boring and hot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go to IWC it's not worth your time and money.

    In three sentences

    IWC is not a good colllege to attend. The professors are not very helpful and don't teach their students anything, in other words, we the students don't retain much if any of what they teach.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With this being such a small town, I feel that it is quite safe. There is security that locks the dorms every night at 10 and they remained locked on the weekends. Security will also escort you from any place on campus to your dorms if you do not feel safe by yourself.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities, but there are two sororities. One is a nationally recognized sorority and costs to get into. The other is free and does a lot of community service work.

    Clubs and Activities

    Since it is such a small school, it is easy to get involved on campus. An interesting club that we have is PIG, which stands for paranormal investigation group. We have the basic sports teams.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, education, art, and music majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really is not anything all that unusual on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is quite pricy! However, they off very good scholarships for good grades. A lot of people that attend here have much of their tuition and fees paid through scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Mount Pleasant does not really have a whole lot of things to do. The college does do some activities for the students, but not a whole lot. There are a lot of speakers that come and performances by people. There are also games to be attended and show your school spirit.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. It is nothing like a home cooked meal, but it is edible. There really is not a great variety of food, but there is always a salad bar at every meal and there are some meals that are actually quite good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are kind of boring, but ST (the girls dorm) is currently being remodeled. The parts that have been remodeled look awesome, so once it is all done, I think the dorms will be so much better. The bathrooms also do not get cleaned on the weekends and it gets very gross.

    Academic Rigor

    As I am just a freshman, I am finding many of my classes to be similar to my high school classes. There is more to learn, but it really is not all that much harder. Getting into contact and asking questions for some professors is difficult, but other professors have great availability and are willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is great for certain majors, but there are some things that this school does not have. This school would be a great choice for music, art, education, and nursing majors, as those are very strong fields of study here. There are other fields as well, but not nearly as strong.

    In three sentences

    Iowa Wesleyan College would receive a 6.5 out of 10 in my opinion.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Again, I have not had the opportunity to go to their dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't needed to take advantage of the housing opportunities. I live in a different town than the college is located. I have my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are catered to your needs and the needs for the career you choose.

    Tips for prospective students

    IWC has a number or resources available to all students. Take advantage of everything they offer.

    In three sentences

    Iowa Wesleyan College has a wide range of majors to study. The courses are major focused and taught in a way that is fun. Classes are offered online, on campus, or at West Burlington.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It seems like it is very safe and always people around.

    Greek Life

    I talked to fraternity member as being part of this type of organization is important to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    Looking forward to playing Baseball for Coach Z and participating in some of the other activities.

    Great for these types of students

    The coaches and faculty I met are really involved with making this a great place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Lots of history and firsts for colleges on this campus. Really suprising!

    Bang for the buck

    The scholarship and grant opportunities made this more affordable than attending a state school where I live.

    What to do for fun

    The students I met during my visit were very friendly and shared ideas of things to do at school. Lots to be involved in and things where you easily join to meet people.

    Food and Dining

    The food I had during the campus visits and orientation was good.

    Dorm Life

    I already know my roommate and am making arrangements for what we are bringing. I like that there is one guys dorm and the weight room is right there.

    Academic Rigor

    I like that I will start right away with classes in my intended dergee program. It will reinforce my goals to have the experience right away to see that yes, this is the right direction for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend time on campus and talk to students who share your interests. I met students that are in my sport as well as others. Talk about your program interests with the counselors and teachers. They really coach you in finding the degree that you are looking for and advising for coursework.

    In three sentences

    I chose this College as I liked the personalized attention during all of my visits. It made me feel that my goals were important and I would not just be a number there. I don't want to just attend college, I want to excel in my chosen direction.

  • 05/28/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has about two security guards and only one on duty in the night. Though campus never really seems to be dangerous and I used to walk around at night by myself with no problems at all.

    Greek Life

    There is one national sorority, Alpha Xi Delta, two local soroties, Theta Sigma Rho and Pi Delta Chi, (sorry for the spelling) and one fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities, you just have to ask about them. I was involved in so much on campus, it was rare that I had a free moment. There is always a weekly even put on by the student union board. Those activities include BINGO (which is huge, the prizes are usually food), $2 movies( go to the local movie theatre and see a recent movie only $2), zombies, pool tournament, video game tournaments, always something going on. Not to mention the live acts that come each year, usually a hypnotist Chris Jones(he is so funny and great and pretty cute), there is also a comedian and various others that come to campus.

    Great for these types of students

    IWC is good for students who like the small town feeling. Mount Pleasant is small and so is IWC. I would say that there are only about 400-500 students that live on campus. Sometimes the drama gets out of hand, but at any school there is drama it just seems like more at IWC since it is so small. Academic driven students with the right ming set who would also like to play a sport would be great for IWC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have this bell on campus that we all like to ring at odd hours of the day and night, and also after winning a football game. In my early years at IWC there was a prank war between some of the girls and guys, so that was fun. In Mount Pleasant there is also this thing, festival really, called Old Threshers. People REALLY get into it. I have been all four years and it is great fun and there is some amazing food and live entertainment.

    Bang for the buck

    IWC is really expensive in my opinion, and has gone up since I first attended. Though, college prices are increasing everywhere. IWC, if attended for the right purpose and one stays on track, is worth it. There were many times in my college career at IWC that I though about transferring. There is quite a bit of drama here since it is such a small school and can be overwhelming at times. But I would not change my experience here for anything. It helped me grow into a strong individual and made amazing connections with other students and also professors that could help me in the future.

    What to do for fun

    When I attended I usually hung out in the dorms and went to other peoples rooms. We always found something to do, go to walmart, McDonalds, go to the pond or park. But what was the most fun was just hanging out with friends in the dorms. Every now and then we would take a trip to Iowa City (about an hour away from campus) to go to the mall or to just get away. I also frequented Burlington, I had a job there. Athletics is also a huge part of campus. I played volleyball for four years and also ran track. There was always a large attendance at games. Football games were fun too. The teams also support each other greatly. We are kind of like a big family at Wesleyan.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is...Eh...alright. There are not tons of healthy choices, but they try to accomidate students to the best of their abilities. The food is through Sodexo. In the fall of 2014 they are planning to redo the cafeteria and make it open longer and have a beter variety of food. Off campus there is mcdonals, which is where the majority of us end up eating. I would NOT reccomend the TacoBell/KFC here. It is GROSS and I have seen employees sneeze into their hands and then continue handling food. There are also lovely spots to eat in the downtown square and there is even a little coffee shop, similare to starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    The doorms have been recently remodeled and look far better than what they used to when I first arrived at IWC. The dorm rooms are larger than the typical college which is great. I have had a roomate and also lived alone in a double single room. Either way is great. There is enough space for everything one, especially a girl, might need. down stairs in both the girls and guys dorm is a place to work out. Both are also accomidated with big TVs and vending machines and a pool table. In the guys dorm there is also some arcade games and tables to sit around and socialize or do work. There is also another building called the suites that houses upperclassmen and is like apartment style living. Those are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I was a business major and just graduated this year (spring 2014). All of my professors have their doctorates. Most classroom sizes do not exceed more than 20 students. Once you get down to your major classes the class size is even smaller. This was a great help. Professors love helping students and are open to questions and debates, most anyway. Like anywhere there are always a few professors that are hard to get along with but at IWC, there are not many. I only came across two professors that I had trouble with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit before you attend! Mount Pleasant is a small town, yet there are near by larger towns. Someone coming from a large city such as Saint Louis or Chicago might have a harder time adjusting. Also it gets cold here in the winter, so if you are from a warmer state invest in a coat and warm clothes. There are also an abundance of chinese exchange students on campus, we have a sister school in china. Overall, Mount Pleasant is a nice small town. You can always find something to do.