Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Iowa Western Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think Iowa Western is great for every type of student. We've got great sport teams, clubs to join, and a variety of majors to choose from. I definitely think there's something here for every student to enjoy.

    Tips for prospective students

    A very important tip for prospective students would be knowing what you want to major in before coming to Iowa Western. If you just pick General Studies, you may be stuck taking classes that you either don't like, don't count towards you degree, or even worse, you fail. So really think about what you want to major in, otherwise you might be here for more than two years!

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get a bang for your buck here! That's exactly why I chose Iowa Western Community College. You're getting the same education, and taking the exact same classes as University students, for half the price! With the economy at it's current state, this is something that you shouldn't overlook.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is wonderful, and there's always something fun to do with friends. The only downside that I see is if you don't live on campus, which I don't. So it's kind of hard to schedule meetings and classes when I have to commute back and forth to my house.

    Am learning a lot

    The great thing about Iowa Western Community College, is that even though it's a two-year college, it doesn't lack anything that a four-year college has. I'm loving my classes, and learning quite a bit more than I thought I would from the teachers here. What I think is great about the teachers, is that they support you and become your mentors if you need them to be. That's really important because after you graduate, you'll have an abundance of teachers you can talk to from networking at Iowa Western.

  • 05/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here it is so great. It's a small campus and people are great.

  • 07/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student looking to further their education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't like your major, it wont hurt you to change it. Don't be afraid to try something new that interests you.

    Am enjoying being here

    Great facilities, Nice Staff, Gorgeous Campus

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Yes, per credit hour is much less than a four year university and you can transfer a lot of the credit hours.

    What to do for fun

    I do not live on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Very nice facility. I have not personally eaten there, but it smells wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    Drive back and forth, though other students I have talked to love the suites that are available.

    Academic Rigor

    For a community college it has a lot to offer compared to other community colleges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend orientation that is offered prior to attending classes. Have a goal or degree to work towards, even if you think you may change your mind. Always attend class and do your assignments when given so you do not fall behind. Make sure the credits that you are receiving will transfer if you plan to go to a four year university/college.

    In three sentences

    Love the class size. Free tutoring available. Current instructors are very supportive and want all students to succeed.

  • 04/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any type

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do not wait for the last minute to register or pay for your classes. The admissions department gets really busy during peak times and it is sometimes very difficult to effectively communicate with the staff. But I also work full time and it's very hard to play phone tag. There's a lot of people you can email though and it goes much quicker.

    In three sentences

    Iowa Western is a community college with a university feel. The campus is beautiful and functional and there is definitely something for everyone here.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class all the time.

    In three sentences

    Best school out there! The teachers are great, and class sizes are small.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    frolfing!

    Food and Dining

    put on by the culinary students

    Dorm Life

    i never lived on campus

    Academic Rigor

    challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick a program and stick with it. You will not regret getting your degree!

    In three sentences

    Iowa Western offers a wide variety of classes and programs. I have found that the staff is always helpful and the admissions process was very simple. Iowa Western is a great place to learn, to grow, and to academically inspired and challenged.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who need to attend night or on-line classes.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but I hear the suites are amazing!

    In three sentences

    I love the small class sizes. Makes me feel like a person, or student, rather than just another number. Instructors have been great and willing to help with any questions I have.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Excellent selection in the cafeteria as well as small stations located elsewhere on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    IWCC has an excellent science department, full of instructors that really care about their students. Prepares students for rigorous programs such as Dental Hygiene and Nursing.

    In three sentences

    Community college with a small, private school feel. Not your typical community college!

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for very self-motivated learners.

    Bang for the buck

    With many scholarships availble and a relatively cheap tuition, it offers students a good educational value for the money.

    What to do for fun

    There truly isn't much to do for fun around the area, especially if students are limited by transportation. This could however be a blessing by forcing the student to focus on the task at hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should remember they are there for education first and need to abide by the life-style that it demands, and try not to get lost in the typical slacker scene

    In three sentences

    Overall I would say the expectations at IWCC are relatively low in comparison to most schools. They have however done a great job of expansion and trying to increase curriculum difficulty. But this institution has much growth to still accomplish if it wishes to compete with other universities in the area.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to sports games!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all your requirements in as soon as possible!

    In three sentences

    It has a really good campus and the location is beautiful. The tuition is very affordable. The staff was very helpful.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i do not live on campus

    Bang for the buck

    I chose IWCC because of its location. and cost.

    Food and Dining

    this does not apply to me

    Dorm Life

    I am living in my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    I was extremely overwhelmed the first class. But as time went on i began to ease into things. The instructors are not very flexible when it comes to homework papers or being late.. It will be an adjustment for me

    Tips for prospective students

    Just jump in. Don't let time, age or work steer you away. Just go for it. you're never too old!

    In three sentences

    I have just finished my first week of full time classes. The staff have been extremely friendly and helpful. The facility is very easy to maneuver around. And the instructors have been great.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've only snacks for the bookstore so far.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only taken math courses so far. Math is not a great subject for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students would be, to pick up your books before your course/courses start. If you wait til class starts it could be a long wait in the check out line for your books.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always out and about helping people and surveying the campus. They are always there to help and are just one phone call away.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are sign language clubs and many others. Also the sports teams at the school are very high in the national rankings, if not number 1.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a Frisbee Golf course on the campus. Its really nice and fun to play with.'

    Bang for the buck

    The experience there is pretty cheap and you learn a lot and have a good time.

    What to do for fun

    There are many sports offered by the college. There is an amazing student life center with games and activities going on all the time.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is an amazing place to hang out and eat with friends. The food isn't bad either.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on where you live on campus. If you surround yourself with good people, you will be fine.

    Academic Rigor

    Iowa Western takes care of its students very well and handles any problems with respect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend Class, it is not an easy school. Don't think it will just be a breeze.

    In three sentences

    Iowa Western is a good college to get your generals out of the way. It prepares you to get ready to transfer to a university. It is always growing and always has more to offer.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    100%

    What to do for fun

    go to activities on campus and sometimes if not fare some away games

    Food and Dining

    100%

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advise. We have the best advisor's around. They can do almost anything to make sure your are happy in your degree choose even if you are a non-traditional student like me. Instructors are even there to help with tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Friendly, community based understanding of their students needs to succeed at all cost.

  • 10/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school offers intramural sports, and most of the sports teams are ranked nationally. Most students go home on the weekends. For fun we travel across the bridge to Omaha, NE or catch a game in Lincoln, NE.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall serves good food. All the food is made and prepared by the culinary arts students.

    Dorm Life

    Life in the dorms is what you would expect at any college. The weekends can get quite loud. The cyber library is open for use, and is the best place to study.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses that are offered aren't that tough. The introductory courses are also taken by high school seniors. The main thing to understand is that as a student you have to manage your time. There must be a balance between academics, extracurricular activities, and hanging out with your friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that prospective students and their parents come on campus and look around. You can speak with an academic advisor, have a current student show you around the campus, and answer any questions that you may have.

    In three sentences

    The college is a community college, but you get the feel of being on a 4 year college when you step on campus. The student body is diverse with students from different states and countries. The advisors and instructors go out of their way to help students succeed.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    IWCC is a tiny campus, and there is security here all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    I'm in the construction technology program, and we're building a home for someone in Council Bluffs, Iowa. We're almost done.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is the best.

    What to do for fun

    Fun?

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, but I bring my own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not in the dorm, but all the other students really like the dorms and apartments. I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes are hard, but the instructors are really generous with their time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to current students in the program you are interested.

    In three sentences

    Great school! I'm learning a lot. The campus is really nice.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very secure. I see security officers driving around the campus all the time and they walk around the building as well. I had one experience when I locked my keys inside my car in the middle of winter and a security officer was there very soon to unlock my door and relieve me from the cold. I am very glad Iowa Western cares so much about student safety.

    Greek Life

    I am currently not part of a sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unfortunately I haven't had a change to join a club at Iowa Western but they have a bunch of clubs to choose from. Its hard for me to be involved in a club because I live 25 minutes away from campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Iowa Western is a great college for students that want a smaller classroom setting and teachers that really care about how they do in college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wrestling and Football are big deals at Iowa Western. We all come together for the matches and cheer on our team. More so here than I've seen at other colleges!

    Bang for the buck

    One of the main reasons why I choose Iowa Western was because I have to pay for all of my own school and this was one of few that I could possible afford. I attended University of Nebraska at Lincoln and I feel like I learn just as much at Iowa Western as I did at UNL

    What to do for fun

    I like to go Frisbee golfing with my friends. I like to be outside as much as I can. I also enjoy going to see movies when I have free time.

    Food and Dining

    The food there is excellent! Always a good selection and they have healthy choices that taste great!

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms on campus, but from what I've seen they are very nice!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers work hard to make sure their students excel and are in the degree that fits their interests.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise finding good study habits before college because college classes are a lot different than high school classes.

    In three sentences

    I have really enjoyed my experiences at Iowa Western. The teachers care about the success of their students and I enjoy going to class. I am happy with my decision to go to Iowa Western!

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security everywhere literally, even give you there number for that just in case moment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any club you can think of, and if it isn't available then make your own, and maybe you'll find more people that's interested in it.

    Bang for the buck

    Great investment

    What to do for fun

    Tons of things to do there, whatever you want they have it, just have to find it.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't ate the food there, usually just go to McDonald's

    Dorm Life

    I haven't stayed on campus yet but I heard it is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid it helps a lot.

    In three sentences

    Great one on one teacher student ratio. Some teachers/professors have terrible knowledge of the new system they have. Overall a great college for people who wants the college experience without the high tuition or GPA.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had a problem or weird experience on campus. I have a late night class when almost everything is closed up and it's always felt really safe.

    What to do for fun

    We have a lot of great athletic teams to watch and performing arts.

    Food and Dining

    Personally, I try to avoid the cafe at all times.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I don't live in the dorms, but I've heard they're nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class you take so IDK how to answer this one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get an advisor and ask every question you have. Then ask general questions to try to pick up on anything you missed. Finally, when you're all out of questions ask a little more incase. I know I could have made things a bit easier on myself if I'd bothered to ask the right questions.

    In three sentences

    I like it there. It's not perfect but no college is. They're very clear about what you have to do to get your degree.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure. Campus security are always out and always there, even if you just need to be walked to your car at night.

    Greek Life

    You can rush at a Fraternity at UNO.

    Clubs and Activities

    They are really big in sports, but don't have my sport.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a good place for anyone going into a nursing or doctorate degree and for anyone who don't know what to do.

    Bang for the buck

    The price isn't bad, and you can get financial help. For the price it is, it's a great education.

    What to do for fun

    There's sporting events going on, and admissions are always trying to have some event. And Council Bluffs is right over the river from Omaha, NE.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't experienced the food here, but I was told it wasn't the greatest.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but from what my friends told me they're great. It's set up in a suite style, you have your own room in a section that four people have access to. There are two bathrooms and its two to a bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    They have many programs you can start off with. So if you do know what you want to do but don't know what college to go to, you can start here before you transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know what to do, don't go to a four year right away. Two year colleges are a great way to start out and you can get rid of the basic classes for a cheaper price.

    In three sentences

    Iowa Western is a great place for any beginning student.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is on top of everything. If you need anything just call and they will be there.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various sports and clubs. Something for everyone

    Bang for the buck

    I am an out of state student, I believe that it should be less or the same price to take classes here since I choose to leave the schools in my state.

    What to do for fun

    There are various activities and clubs. There is always something going on on campus. There is also a student center set up with pool table, foose ball, and video games.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to order food. They are both kept clean and the food is excelnt.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but I have heard that the dorms are excelent.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are easy for the most part. All that you have to do is show up and do the work. If you don't understand something the instructors are willing to go above and beyond to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with the work, Show up to class, Have fun.

    In three sentences

    This college has excellent programs. The staff are very helpful and know what they are doing. It is like a home away from home.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good. They have a full breafast that I love. It is very good compared to other colleges.

    Dorm Life

    I have lived on campus for two years. Never had a problem. It is very convenient and it is not expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors and professor are understanding as long as theres communication. There academic is definitly strong. There is tutors on campus who help out for free no charge.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest in getting a tour. Find out about their programs and how they will help you. Meet up with a financial adivsor for tips on how to pay for college.

    In three sentences

    IWCC is a great community college. They have a big variety of programs, and it is still growing. The campus is very nice and easy to get around.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    To be able to park on campus, you have to get a permit sticker to put on your vehicle. IWCC has campus security vehicles that routinely inspect the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    IWCC has SO much going on. My last semester there, they started these really cool hobby classes where you can go and learn how to draw, crochet, and knit, among others. IWCC has a frisbee-golf team and their own on campus course. Other clubs include: Ag Club, Culinary Arts, Athletic Training, and many more!

    Great for these types of students

    Any kind of person would be happy going here. I'm an introvert, so I find it hard to make friends sometimes because I'm such a shy person. At IWCC, it wasn't really a big deal because the class sizes were pretty small, so I didn't feel overwhelmed. IWCC was also great for me because I worked full time and attended college. IWCC had a lot of online courses, so I was able to save time by not having to drive to campus every day of the week.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The frolf (frisbee-golf) course is really awesome. Frolfing is a good way to relieve stress and to get some great exercise while on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to community college for your general education requirements is way cheaper than going straight to a university for all four years. IWCC is very reasonably priced considering the great campus, courses, and the awesome teachers.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of things to do if you're looking for a good time on campus. There is a frisbee golf course on campus, as well as a gym and yoga classes. IWCC also has a student center where they have couches, TVs, and game systems. Off campus, there are nearby shops and restaurants to visit. Council Bluffs is also very close to Omaha, so the Henry Doorly Zoo is about 15 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    IWCC has a great cafeteria area. They also have an area in the book store that you can buy snacks if you so desire. Not too far from campus there are fast food restaurants, and of course there are more restaurants the farther you go into Council Bluffs.

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus, but friends who lived in dorms said that dorm life is great. Staying on campus is very convenient for most people, and it's a lot easier accessing the student library and the student center, not to mention the extracurricular activities IWCC offers.

    Academic Rigor

    IWCC has many great classes and programs. Many of the classes that IWCC offers are very challenging, but the instructors are amazingly considerate and are willing to spend as much time as possible giving a helping hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to campus before classes start and get to know it. Find out where your classes are beforehand so that you don't get lost on your first day.

    In three sentences

    IWCC is has so many great programs and classes. IWCC has amazing teachers. IWCC is perfect if you're planning on eventually transferring.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus security. It is a safe campus and I never felt in danger, while I was there. Again, I am an online student that lives in Moore, Oklahoma.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not quite sure of all of this. What I do know is Iowa Western has many clubs and activities that students can be involved in- I have heard nothing but good things about fellow classmates and friends that are involved in them.

    Great for these types of students

    ANY students should go to Iowa Western. They offer a variety of Online classes and classes in class. All of which will help any type of student for the way they learn- especially with the flexibility IWCC offers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is by the city, but in a quiet setting. The school is surrounded by school off of a busy street. It is a perfect place for quiet studying. There are trees, waterfalls, and so many different things to be around that isn't normal- at least I don't think it is.

    Bang for the buck

    I am an online student in Moore, Oklahoma. I was involved in the Moore, Oklahoma tornado in 2013. With that said, it was a devastation in Moore that everything was hit, including all houses within a mile of my house. Altogether, during the time I was cleaning up and transitioning into a new home and rebuilding my city and home- Iowa Western professors and other employees at IWCC were flexible with me and helped me complete my classes in a orderly manor. No, they did not give me special treatment- but they did give me forgiveness. When the tornado happened they were truly understandable and gave me an extent on a the assignments that were due for that week and the next week. They are truly encouraging and did nothing but encourage me to try my best and they easily tested my knowledge.

    What to do for fun

    Iowa isn't a fun state, but there are a couple different things you are able to do at Iowa Western. They have sports games you can watch, a couple miles away is one of the towns in Council bluffs that has many things to do- including the mall.

    Food and Dining

    When I went on my college visit, I was able to eat some of their food and it is not bad. Of course it may not have been as good as Raising Canes, Taco bell or Mcdonald's; but the food they provide is nothing bad. At least nothing compared to cafeteria food in high school.

    Dorm Life

    My sister attended Iowa Western, on campus. I visited the campuses and the dorms and they are extremely nice and taken care of. The students that live in them also have respect for other classmates and their privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    I am an online student, but this school has constantly been giving me the education and opportunities that fit my needs. Iowa Western has tested my brain and helped me learn more than any school I have been too. My father was military, which shows that I have attended many schools- Iowa Western has been the best so far!

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective Students: If you are a prospective student, make sure that you have decided your major and the plan that you are taking for your course. Also, make sure that you ask as many questions possible when applying: what will transfer to and from the school, what classes they offer for your major online or in class, etc.

    In three sentences

    Iowa Western Community college is an incredible school. They have given me nothing but opportunities since I started attending school at Iowa Western. This school is flexible, professional and an environment I would encourage any college student to be in.