Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Itawamba Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/19/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want their Associate degree and great for students who need a baby step to a university.

    Bang for the buck

    You do get a lot of your basic classes finished here for very cheap but you have to make sure you are taking what you need. ICC is only focused on students getting their Associate degree from there. Which means they ONLY make sure you are taking the classes to get your Associate and DOES NOT help or give any effort to help students transfer beyond ICC.

    What to do for fun

    You can join clubs or sports. Not really any activities on campus unless you are in sports. Indian Idol and plays are really fun to watch, they just need to have them more. Indian week is the most active week of the whole year. I just wish it had been like that more throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and student union has friendly staff. But the food is not the best and not very healthy. But the cafeteria and student union has a good atmosphere and sometimes fun activities.

    Dorm Life

    Only two girl dorms. One (Itawamba) with a two person rooms and the other (Sheffield) has FIVE person rooms. Itawamba is almost impossible to get into unless you are an athletic, which is ridiculously unfair. The housing office is hard to get in touch with or to work with. The housing director does not solve issues at all. Sheffield has issues constantly: flooding, power outage, leaks, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very personable and are easy to talk to and work with. This makes classes easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join activities and get invloved

    In three sentences

    ICC is a good place to go if you do not want to go straight to a university. It is like a larger version of high school. You can take all your basic classes of your major here for free pretty much.

  • 04/12/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm not quite sure what this means, but I think it means to have a job and earn some extra money to help myself and be responsible.

    Will enjoy being here

    I've been to the campus, met some students, and even made the cheerleading team.

    Will learn a lot

    I hope to go to ICC and take my general education classes to help start off my dream career.

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY

    Am learning a lot

    going steady.. very helpful instructors

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have patrols throughout the campus. i have a night class and i see security all the time. this is so very comforting to me.

    Greek Life

    this doesn't apply to me.

    Clubs and Activities

    thsi doesn't apply to me.

    Great for these types of students

    this doesn't apply to me.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    this doesn't apply to me.

    Bang for the buck

    the price of college has really gone up over the years, but that is like everything else.

    What to do for fun

    i love spending time with family, friends and love sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    this doesn't apply to me.

    Dorm Life

    this doesn't apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    it has been a reall challenge for me...working 40 hours a week. i also have an 11 year old that plays travel baseball and 2 grandchildren. i only attend part-time. whew! i am very proud i decided to make this change in my life, only wished i had decided years ago, but the opportunity wasn't permissible after high school. i stress myself out due to the fact i have been out of school since 1983.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not be afraid to ask for help...this is your future.

    In three sentences

    this institution is very caring, helpful and reaches out to all that would love to learn. i am proud to be a part of this college, even at the of 47.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    This campus has several activities to do for fun. We have all sorts of sports, BSU, and a bowling alley.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good here. We have a wide variety of choices to choose from! It is almost close to your mother's home cooked meal.

    Dorm Life

    I would not know about the dorm because I commute from home to school, but I have heard they are nice with plenty of space and room.

    Academic Rigor

    Very well! Nice teachers! Great education!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your best and never procrastinate!

    In three sentences

    If I were to rate ICC on a scale from one to ten, I would rate it a ten. This school is great! I would recommend this college to all entering college students because it is a great start for college.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops are pretty much like mall cops. They drive around in a car all day.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    LOTS

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sweet southern charm next to the water way

    Bang for the buck

    Just as good as a University...half the price

    What to do for fun

    Intramural sports.

    Food and Dining

    I mean it is a cafeteria, you can't expect much.

    Dorm Life

    Lived off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Great starter college

    Tips for prospective students

    Study! Once you mess your GPA up...it will never start itself back over.

    In three sentences

    Great school and atmosphere. Many health related programs that are WONDERFUL!!!

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend BSU and spend time with new friends that I have met there.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small campus with a great location ICC this is a great college

    In three sentences

    ICC is a great school. It tution rates are good, convient location, and has good course offerings

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Most parts of campus are well secure with cameras and campus police, there are very few spots that stay unattended or watched.

    Clubs and Activities

    Have a wide variety of clubs for almost everything possibly imagined.

    What to do for fun

    Intermerial sports are always really fun to become involved in. Also clubs and other programs that may even provide scholarships to help throughout school.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe has a bigger variety but grill cooks their food alot better.

    Dorm Life

    Try to room with someone you have not grown up with or been friends with for a long time. Majority of the time in college life thats the number one reason how friendships fall apart.

    Academic Rigor

    Very well organized and helpful over all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont loose focus on the reason why you are there. Several students every year loose focus on their school over their parities and hangouts and end up loosing everything they worked for in high school. Stay ahead with your work and you will be prepared for almost anything unexpected come your way.

    In three sentences

    Overall a great leaned back southern college, with great attitudes and friendly atmosphere. Provide multiple intreging opportunities and programs to become involved in. With a score one out of ten i would rate the school at an 8.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are very vigilant. Watch out, they will put a boot on your car!

    Greek Life

    There are no Greek activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous academic clubs. Also, band and intramural sports are very popular.

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for a student who is not academically ready for a university or a student who would get in too much trouble at a university. It's also great for a student who lives close.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any unusual traditions or locations.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great value. Most of the students who attend get full scholarships or financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do for fun as long as you keep an open mind and be creative.

    Food and Dining

    I always commuted, so I rarely had the chance to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, not a university.

    Academic Rigor

    I found all of my classes to be very challenging. I was very pleased with what I was able to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't buy your books in the bookstore. Sign up for your classes during early-registration.

    In three sentences

    Itawamba Community College is a great place. This school provides an easy transition for students who are not ready to attend a 4yr university. The faculty and staff are very helpful and actually care about you.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Skating, bowling, and volunteering are things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is the BEST!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. You meet new and different people from all over.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically this curriculum causes you to think, focus, and understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to do with your life so that you don't get lost taking unnecessary courses. Focus on your education. In college, it is very easy to get sidetracked.

    In three sentences

    Itawamba Community college provides an amazing atmosphere that is conducive for learning. The instructors are awesome. This school is amazing!

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have onsite police with their patrol cars and office. They are strict about loud music that studying students are not disturbed. Tupelo campus is better.

    Clubs and Activities

    All types.....many.

    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners

    Bang for the buck

    Cook outs, tail gate parties. They have free tutoring which I really took advantage of on campus. They have two campuses one in Tupelo and one in Fulton for your convenience.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. The have find the Indian and other fun activities. Flag football is a favorite. Beauty pageant, the fashion team, film club, and photography. There is a game room with a fast food grill.

    Food and Dining

    You have a choice of different foods and they are all good. Good salad bar! I love their stir fry.

    Tips for prospective students

    For Literature get Mrs. Cutturini she is just awesome. For Math you want Ira Kinard. A&P get Allen Sherrer or Mrs Campbell. Micro go for Mr. Harris

    In three sentences

    I love the Instructors as they were very helpful. The campus was great and the online classes were just as good, all except the Creative Writing Class. Everyone there is to help you succeed.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are on top of everything.

    Greek Life

    Nope.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have science club, film club, Phi Theta Kappa, fashion tribe, Baptist Student Union, Wesley House, marching band, wind band, intramural sports, athletics.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL. ICC has something for everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite tradition we have is the Craw-fish Boil in the fall. All students are invited to the center of campus where you pay a few dollars to eat as much craw-fish as you can put in your body. It's really fun because no other campus around here does it. And it's representative of our southern culture.

    Bang for the buck

    For what you get at ICC, you don't pay much at all. You can take a lot of the same classes here that you would take at a university. The difference is the price. At ICC, students have so many scholarship opportunities that a lot of them end up paying nothing out of pocket. That's hundreds of dollars less (per class) than a university.

    What to do for fun

    There are not many fun things to do in town, so pretty much everyone hangs out on campus. Two or three times a month, the student government holds a movie night in our beautiful auditorium for the students to enjoy. There are also organizations like Baptist Student Union and Wesley House that not only hold weekly worship services, but also provide other fun activities throughout the week.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and Grill are great places to eat on campus! I always go to the Grill for breakfast because it is open longer. The sausage biscuit is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are great. The only thing that I don't like is having room-check on Tuesday, rather than Friday (it would be nice to come back to a spotless room on Monday).

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty much every core class has some teachers that aren't very challenging and some that are extremely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Delete your social media apps. Social networking is good for downtime when you have it, but it'll be the death of your GPA if you're not careful!

    In three sentences

    ICC is the best community college in Mississippi. Its students are proud to be Indians. The campus is beautiful and the environment is phenomenal.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is super safe here! Campus police are constantly checking in on you and are there for you whenever you need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    The ICC All American Band is the largest organization on campus and they are really good!

    Great for these types of students

    I feel like any freshman will find that they fit in here, simply because ICC is like a big melting pot of people. You can find almost every type of student with every type of major here, especially athletes, science majors, and art/music majors.

    Bang for the buck

    Super affordable! It is very easy to get Itawamba paid for whether you are in-state or out-of-state.

    What to do for fun

    Ultimate Frisbee is a big thing on campus. We have tons of intramural activities and clubs. While sports are not everything, many students will agree that they are possibly some of the most fun social gatherings.

    Food and Dining

    Itawamba has two places to eat, the cafeteria and the grill. The food is great! I have two words to support this- Freshman 15!

    Dorm Life

    Itawamba has five dorms. Two are girls, and three are for guys. All are very kept up and very clean. However, housing can be competitive if you wait late to apply for a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Currently majoring in science, I realize that the courses here would be easier than a university; however, after compairing course work with some of my friends I find that we learn more than some of their classes. However, it IS easier to learn here simply because the teachers here really care about you. You have a face, your not just a number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just because it is community college, do not think you can get away with not studying. Apply early, there are tons of things to be gained from Itawamba Community College, whether its scholarships or dorms, so there will be several students like you trying to get in - don't wait!

    In three sentences

    Itawamba is a great place to start college! I decided to come to Itawamba Community College for two reasons. It is very affordable, and I knew it would be a good transition for me as far as my grades and academics are concerned.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There will be plenty of fun. There will be various clubs in which to join. All kinds of sports will be available. You can also have fun in your study groups.

    Food and Dining

    I would have to say stick with the meal plan. Do not abuse it. Stick to your allowance.

    Dorm Life

    Realize that your Mama is not with you and now have to clean-up after yourself. Get along with everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    Be dedicated to your studies. Do not procrastinate. Do not get behind in your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Quickly come to the realization that this is not 13th grade. Study hard and make the grades. The better grades the better the scholarships for a four year college.

    In three sentences

    This college is excellent. The varied opportunities for study is awesome. I do like the way the college is expanding to meet the needs of the community.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some clubs and extra curricular activities offered,

    Food and Dining

    I did/do not eat in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I did/do not stay in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Most students don't seem to care. The teachers appreciate and do what they can for the ones that show some sort of effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask former students about the different teachers available for classes. Make sure things of value are not easily seen from the car windows (locking the doors doesn't always do the trick).

    In three sentences

    There are a variety of ages among peers and numerous options available for class period times. Also space has increased in the past couple of years, parking can still be limited. Having the right teacher makes all the difference.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on and off campus. You and a group of friends can even make your own sport!

    Food and Dining

    There are many different options for food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are in great shape.

    Academic Rigor

    They offer almost every major.

    In three sentences

    ICC has a very positive atmosphere. The staff is very helpful. The campus is perfect.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The one time I've eaten there so far, the food looked pretty good. They only had one booth and the salad bar open, and the price was reasonable ($5 for a plate, drink, and salad). The only issue I had was that I'm a vegetarian and both entrees offered were meat, they put meat in the potato salad and in the baked beans. The only thing left for me to eat was a roll and green beans, and a small salad bowl. They said that there are usually many more options available during the school year (I went during the summer for orientation).

    Dorm Life

    I've heard dorm life is great.. if you can get a dorm. The rooms fill up quickly due to the large amount of people who attend. If you have a dorm though, you have to keep your car parked near that dorm, instead of driving to all your classes.

    Academic Rigor

    ICC is known around the local areas for being extremely easy. However, I've heard the online classes are harder because you have to be more self-sufficient.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate for financial aid. A lot of the priority deadlines are sooner than expected, and you have to search for a lot of the information for services like Work Study. They're not often advertised in the open. Do your research.

    In three sentences

    It's super hard to get in touch with most of the counselors (particularly financial aid), but everyone was really eager to help when I visited for orientation. The campus is gorgeous. The rumor is that classes are easy, but the online classes are a bit harder.

  • 10/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    NOTHING MUCH ATTEND SCHOOL ACTIVITIES.

    Food and Dining

    NEVER DINED AT SCHOOL

    Dorm Life

    DIDN'T STAY ON DORM

    Academic Rigor

    GREAT TEACHERS

    Tips for prospective students

    BE READY FOR SMALL TOWN SCHOOL, BUT IT'S GREAT

    In three sentences

    GREAT SCHOOL! KEEPS OPEN COMMUNICATIONS WITH STUDENTS! AND GREAT RELATIONSHIP WITH ADVISORS!

  • 11/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It could be a great school if the staff wanted to be there and make an effort to do there job.

    What to do for fun

    no fun here

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell most people to go to Northeast,Northwest,Blue Mountain, or practically anywhere else.

    In three sentences

    I really felt that ICC didn't have my best interests at heart, but their pocket instead.I feel like the majority of the staff are there for a check. I had the most difficulty with their online program, i went from an A student to a C student.:(

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. Some people do speed when they shouldn't, but they are usually ticketed when the campus police catch them.

    Great for these types of students

    Itawamba Community College is great for all types of students. There are people from several different cultures and ethnicities that attend the school and for the most part, all of the students and teachers get along great together.

    Bang for the buck

    ICC is quiet and tranquil. Everything just flows easily as long as you can follow the rules and study for your classes. If you have plenty of free time, there are several campus activities you can attend as well as numerous sports you can play or watch. If you are needing help with classes or are struggling with some academic problems, there are several tutors around campus that are more than willing to help you understand your classes more clearly.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs and activities that take place all over campus. I haven't been able to attend any of these due to conflicting work and school schedules.

    Food and Dining

    I have only eaten once at ICC and that was for orientation. The food was great. I don't eat at school because in actuality, I don't have time to stay and eat when I get done with my classes because I have a full time job and have to go to work as soon as my last class is over.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms at ICC; I have a thirty-minute commute from my house to ICC. From what I have been told by other students, the dorms are a good place to live as long as you can follow the simple rules and responsibilities established by the dean of the school.

    Academic Rigor

    I wouldn't say that all of the classes are easy at ICC, although some are. There are several courses that are much harder than I expected such as chemistry and calculus. As long as you make an acceptable amount of time to study for tests and pay attention in class, then no matter how tough the class may be, you should be able to make decent grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    As a student at ICC, don't stress yourself too much. Have fun, but keep up with your school work so that grades don't suffer. If you can manage that, success at Itawamba Community College is virtually imminent.

    In three sentences

    Itawamba Community College is a small, yet efficient school. If you are wanting a good education preparing you for a university, then ICC is the place to go. The teachers are nice, as well as the student body.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    -bowling -science club -lily's cafe activities

    Food and Dining

    Fulton has good food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes are all tough but I have good professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its a very laid back place so don't be in to much of a hurry.

    In three sentences

    Its a very beautiful campus. The professors are all helpful. I love it here.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. They offer a variety of ways to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not drop classes as this will affect you later in your college career. Try the best you can and if you need something do not question to ask the teacher.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school with a lot of activities to get involved in. The classes are 20-30 students, so high school kids are not overwhelmed. The teachers are willing to help you in any possible way.

  • 05/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are never too far away if there was ever a need for one! The usually ride around campus during the day and keep and eye on things!

    Greek Life

    There aren't any fraternities or sororities here, but we DO have Phi Theta Kappa, which is like a honor society for the student who show excellent academics!

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities out the wha-zoo! You're almost guaranteed to find at least one that will meet your needs!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who come from smaller schools, or students who aren't quiet ready to make the transition from H.S. to a larger university!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not hard to get a scholarship of some sort here at ICC! Even if there isn't a scholarship for you, you won't find any other campus that has as low of prices than ICC!

    What to do for fun

    Like I mentioned before, there is almost always some type of campus wide event going on! Between athletic events, musical and theatrical performances, or other promotions, you can always find something to do!

    Food and Dining

    There is more to the cafeteria than what meets the eye! You always have several options, and it's decent food and decent prices!

    Dorm Life

    I didn't stay in dorms, myself. ( I live close to the campus already!) HOWEVER, I have been to the dorms and it seems pretty ideal. You are away from your home, but there are still basic rules. you have a curfew, visitation rules, you have to keep the dorms mostly clean, basic common rules! each dorm has it's own bathroom, so you don't have to share with 100 other people!

    Academic Rigor

    STUDY, STUDY, STUDY! The material isn't as bad as what some may say, but it IS still college. you HAVE to study if you want to keep up your grades!

    Tips for prospective students

    There are so many student activities that can accommodate any student, so get involved! It will make the college experience much more fun!

    In three sentences

    Excellent transition school for students who aren't quiet ready for a university environment. The staff is always looking for ways to update to making it easier for the student. Wonderful instructors who care about your education and teach the material well!