Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ivy Tech Community College-Bloomington Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a good place if you want to save money and still get a good education that will look good on your resumes and possibly get you into a better school.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a good place to start and transfer to a 4 year school or to get an associates degree.

  • 10/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for students who what to go to college but don't know what they want to do yet, don't want to spend so much money at well known colleges/universities, or want to get general classes out of the way before they transfer to a bigger college.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend to everyone that Ivy Tech is a great school. Even if you don't know what you want to do or what college you want to go to; come to Ivy Tech and get the general classes out of the way. So when you do decide what to do, you already have the general classes out of the way.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here! The staff is great. The campus is great. I love that the classes are smaller and that it gives students more one on one time with the teacher. I love that Ivy Tech offers so many activities. There are a varity of teams a student can join.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much here at Ivy Tech. The classes are smaller which allows more one on one time with the teachers. The teachers are people who have worked in the fields that you are interested in. I think that is great because they know what they are teaching will benefit us. The learning environment is great!

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Good for getting your foot in the door, so to speak.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good for what you pay for.

    Am enjoying being here

    A handful of instructors were careless with handling my grades, however, action has been taken on the matter.

    Am learning a lot

    Plenty of in-class material.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are hard-working and willing to learn and take on a career they will lead after graduating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan enough time to study outside of class and always have available time for when things come up.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is not expensive, it is just hard for me to pay for it when I own a house and have other bills as well on my own.

    Am enjoying being here

    The professors make it very fun while learning new material and always seem to have a way to make it stick.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in the respiratory care program and I am learning a lot of information. This is hard work to retain all the information and takes a lot of outside studying.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    weight lift

    Food and Dining

    has a little cafe

    Dorm Life

    i live at home so can't really rate dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers could do a better job getting involved with the students life

    In three sentences

    im just doing my general studies at ivy tech and so far its been a good experience. its a cheap college and i only live ten minutes away. its a good campus for students who don't like university's and don't have much money.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Greek Life

    You can get invited to join!

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports!

    Great for these types of students

    There is something for everyone

    Bang for the buck

    What does this mean?

    What to do for fun

    they have sports! I play the guitar!

    Food and Dining

    They have a little caffiteria that you can stop by on your way to class or where ever!

    Dorm Life

    You stay off campus somewhere! There aren't any dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    I am not sure how the classes are yet but you have to take general classes and then you can take whatever you like!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions!

    In three sentences

    The people here have really helped me get things figured out. The people there Are friendly and are there to help! I am excited to attend there and will be happy to graduate!

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe here.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are about 15 various clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are going back to school after not being in school for a few (or more) years.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not really any.

    Bang for the buck

    You save so much going to a community collage as opposed to a traditional school.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the library.

    Food and Dining

    Small cafe type area. Not much to offer.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a community college. As long as you actually do your work, you pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the labs, and do your homework!

    In three sentences

    I would rate Ivy Tech Community College high. Being that it is a community college, you get what you pay for. The professors are there to support you all the way.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Due to students not living on campus, there are not a lot of food and dining options. However, Ivy Tech Community College as student lounges that students may sit and study in or grab a bit to eat from the number of venting machines provided.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech Community College does not require students to live in dorms throughout college. Students are able to commute to and from campus from home.

    Academic Rigor

    As far as academic rigor goes, the only challenge may be that classes fill up quickly because of the smaller class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    I strongly encourage new students to become close with the school advisor. The academic advisor is there to help and guide students in the right direction to obtain the degree each student is reaching for. That being said, it is important to visit the advisor's office on a regular basis and make sure you are on the right track.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Community College is a relaxed environment that has small class sizes for better one-on-one learning. The professors and advisors are always available if students need assistance with problems they may be having. Also, with Ivy Tech Community College having several locations all over the state of Indiana it is easy to commute to classes.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Amazing. I've never heard of a problem.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty, too many to count. If it's not there you can start it!

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    You get an amazing education for how little you have to pay!

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the campuses groups.

    Food and Dining

    They used to have a cafe but I don't believe it is there anymore. I am taking online courses so I have not been in the building for a while.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Real easy to follow along with and complete.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early, Talk with your adviser, Don't drop out!, there are plenty of financial aid opportunities.

    In three sentences

    The school is extremely affordable. It is easy to sign up and find the information you need to find financial aid to attend. The courses and staff members are easy to get along with and complete.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my friends and play tennis.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure that you complete the homework on time.

    In three sentences

    Has a strong ciricullum. They are conveniently located.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is great. If you have a night class, and feel the need to have someone accompany you to your car, all you have to do is ask! They are very friendly and willing to help!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Ivy Tech has plenty of clubs and activities. If you are into clubs and activities, all you have to do is talk to a student ambassador and they will be able to find a great club for you. There are also activities that the school puts on for everyone, free bowling, swimming, movie nights, and much more! It really is great if you are looking for something fun and are strapped for cash!!

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for all types of students. Be you part-time, full-time, or only taking online or night classes, the selection is great. And the earlier you register for classes, the better the selection is.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are reasonably priced and the teachers are great, but what brings down the rating here is the bookstore. The bookstore costs twice as much as getting your books online, but if you do go elsewhere for your books, you have to either pay out of pocket, or wait for your refund to get your books.

    What to do for fun

    Ivy Tech has clubs, groups, and activities for anyone. They set up free movie, bowling, skating and other activity nights. They also have concessions at these nights that are reasonably priced.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is alright, we have a store called Bloomingfoods on campus, and it is all organic, which is really nice! But it is kind of pricey and has a very limited selection.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech doesn't have a dorm, so this is not applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    For the most part, the professors are fantastic. They are almost always willing to meet outside of class to give you the help that you need, and respond to emails in a timely fashion.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tip for prospective students would be, stay on top of your financial aid!!! There are some people who fall through the cracks and don't get their financial aid to go through the bookstore in time for classes!

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is an all around good school. The staff are usually pretty helpful, the teachers are great and the students are great, too. Class sizing varies, but there are a lot of opportunities for one-on-one help if needed!!!

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ivy Tech Community College - Bloomington is arguably the safest colligate campus I have ever been on. There are not policemen or policewomen walking around or driving around the parking lot like at learger campuses. However, there is always at least one security personnel in the building at all times when the building is open. Security even offers escorts to cars at night.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many great student clubs and orgnizations on campus. For me, the most unfortunate thing is that many of the ones I want to be a part of tend to be at awkward hours that I just cannot seem to fit my schedule around.

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE! Ivy Tech Community College - Bloomington is a great place for anyone who wants to seek an education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many students at Ivy Tech Community College - Bloomington take part in the traditions of Bloomington, such as Little 500 bike race and the Lotus World Music Festival.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that Ivy Tech Community College - Bloomington offers a very good education for the money that it costs. If you plan on transferring to a four-year university, it offers the same level of education as you would receive in two years at a four-year university for around one third of the price.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved! Student Life, Student Life, Student Life! I can't say it enough! It will definitely be worth your while to find at least one club or organization that you can be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    Ivy Tech Community College - Bloomington does not have much in terms of food for students on campus. There is a Bloomingfoods store, which can be quite expensive, and a vending machine area, which is not always filling or healthy. They are soon starting an expansion project, and I am not sure if it includes more dining options, but it certainly should!

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech Community College - Bloomington does not offer dorms. However, there are many affordable housing options nearby or on bus routes, making transporation to campus quite easy.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, I have only taken 100-level courses, but I have had instructors that make me want to go above and beyond for the class and have made me start to think about things more complex than just what we review in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Look for opportunities in Student Life, talk to your instructors during class and their office hours, talk to classmates, form study groups. The best education form an active and excited student.

    In three sentences

    This is a great place to launch a college education. The students, faculty, and staff tend to be very nice. Many of the instructors that I have had so far make learning fun.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Many security guards, will walk you to your car at night if you want them too.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning adults, Students that need to raise their GPA in order to be admitted to a University, and people that just need more help.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech makes college affordable and the quality is worth a lot more than you pay!

    What to do for fun

    Many student activities available. Such as, Basketball, Softball, movie night, and many others.

    Food and Dining

    There is a Bloomingfoods Market and Deli in the students commons. The food is really good. They offer a lot of organic and vegetarian options as well. I think it is also great that every Ivy Tech building in Bloomington has access to a refrigerator and microwave.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are available. However,there are a lot of student opportunities to be involved.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others. The professor will let you know at the beginning how hard they think the class is and how much time will be expected for studying each week. Their estimates are decently accurate, so plan accordingly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen closely to directions, plan ahead and don't be afraid to ask for help. There are so many resources available to the students there is no reason to fail! Set goals to accomplish and follow through.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech professors really care about their students. I think it is a great school. I wish that they were also a university, so that I could continue my college career here.