Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ivy Tech Community College-Columbus Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A completely safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of free seminars, and trips.

    Great for these types of students

    Part time and returning students, technical, and nursing.

    Bang for the buck

    For the in-state tuition, I don't think I could find a better school.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers movies on the lawn, and it seems they have a free pizza lunch weekly.

    Food and Dining

    I take all online course.

    Dorm Life

    I take all online course.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are moderately paced, I have had no problems with course completion.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be studious and prompt; stay ahead of the ball if you can.

    In three sentences

    Have taken 30 course credits;all online, and they have been great. Academic advisers are wonderful,scheduling a meeting with them is a breeze. I couldn't ask for a better experience!

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are no safety concerns Ivy Tech, I feel as safe here as my home.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is available at Ivy Tech.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs and activities; including a campus activity board.

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for returning or part-time students while offering a great education for a 2-year degree or for those wanting to continue there education.

    Bang for the buck

    For the annual tuition average Ivy Tech offers one of the best curriculums at the price.

    What to do for fun

    There is often movie nights on the lawn and seemingly free pizza lunches weekly.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great recreational room with vending machines and an ATM for all students and staff. There is seemingly a free pizza lunch weekly.

    Dorm Life

    The college is in the process of completing dorm availability.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are suited with the student in mind; course work is easily completed with proper time management. Professors and Advisers are always readily available to help with any problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on task and and try to stay ahead in your course work. Make time to meet with teachers and advisers.

    In three sentences

    I have completed 30 course credits and the school has been great. They offer a wide range of classes; including a larger online catalog. The annual tuition and education received makes Ivy Tech a great choice.

  • 03/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want an inexpensive education quickly, also great for transfer credits.

    Tips for prospective students

    I definitely suggest attending here as a stepping stone for a bigger school or a two year degree.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very inexpensive, as all community colleges are, except it has great architecture and wonderful computer labs.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small, and I learned where everything was on the first day. Classes are small, too, so it is not so bad to speak in front of a small group and I feel like I get extra attention here.

    Am learning a lot

    Since cappex doesn't have my school on here (IUPUC) I will put a review under the closest school to it and pretend I'm reviewing Indiana University-Purdue University Columbus. Most of the teachers are very motivated to teach as much as possible in as little amount of time, but if they are going too quick they will slow down. Teachers are always available outside of class. The material is current and relevant to my interests.

  • 07/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is a great place if you are like me and don't like being around a lot of new people and don't want to be a number.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't skip classes at all and just do your best and you will love it.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech seems to also be a very inexpensive school compared to most colleges which is another reason that I love going to this school. It doesn't drain you out of all your money like every other college will do. If you want to go to a small, cheap, school where you can get all the help you need to succeed then Ivy Tech is the place to go.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy it here at Ivy Tech. Like I said above it's a small school which is good for me because I don't really like to be around a lot of people that I don't know. Also, as said above, classes are small and you can get more attention from your teachers unlike at some huge college where the classes are so big that you just become a number sitting in the room. I enjoy the classes and all of the teachers are extremely nice and always want to help you if you just ask.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning a lot at Ivy Tech. It's a small school and there really aren't that many people at the school so each class is easier than at a regular college because you can get more help from a teacher when you need it and you won't be just a number.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    ivy tech state college is a great choice if you're paying for college on your own, which is exactly what i'm doing!

    What to do for fun

    there's a walking path close to the school.

    Food and Dining

    the vending machines are alright.

    Dorm Life

    i live at home, so i am unable to answer this. i don't believe that ivy tech has dorms though.

    Academic Rigor

    i think it's fairly reasonable!

    Tips for prospective students

    you just have to make sure you're able to set aside time for classes and studying.

    In three sentences

    i think it is a great school to go to if you're still figuring out what you want to do with your life. they have a really easy to work with class schedule. the classes are small and the teachers are willing to help you in any way they can!

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of any safety issues.

    Great for these types of students

    I am an older student (mid twenties) and there are a wide range of students in all my classes. There are some people that could be my grandparents and some fresh out of high school. Its good to see the different perspectives of the age groups.

    Bang for the buck

    With federal grants, I have to pay very little to be a full time student. This is the biggest advantage to this school. You have good professors, but costs significantly less than 4 yr schools.

    What to do for fun

    I am so busy with work and school, I am not able to take advantage of those opportunities. There are things like bowling, wiffle ball tournaments, dances, and many other things.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food either.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes haven't been too hard so far, but there is a lot of work involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, classes fill up quickly. The academic advisers are very helpful, take full advantage of them. There are many services offered to help students succeed; tutoring, computer help, editing for papers, and many other things.

    In three sentences

    I never imagined that I would be able to take classes so close to home. The professors really help you out, and help you succeed in their class. I have thoroughly enjoyed going back to school.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    IvyTech campus has security guards on campus during all class times. The security guards patroll all parking lots and there is also a guard post in the main parking lot.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the tuition is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    They have Zumba classes that I find incredibly fun!

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. I have only eaten there once

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    There have been many promotionals for IvyTech. I have found that the advisors really want everyone to succeed. Just look out for the other students who want to bring you down

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you keep all of your emails from the school and set up a study plan for yourself, so you can keep on top of your work!

    In three sentences

    I don't go to the Columbus campus, I go to the Indianapolis campus but they don't have that as an option. So far IvyTech-Indianapolis has been a fantastic place to study. I haven't had any problems, yet, and i hope to continue my pre-requ's here.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    1) Be dedicated 2) Be prepared for the long haul 3) Get acquainted with other students and the instructors 4) Never give up 5) Never quit

    In three sentences

    Attending Ivy Tech has been one of the best decisions I have made. Everyone from administrative offices to the instructors and the students all together make Ivy Tech an outstanding college to begin your education. Tuition is very affordable too!

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Talk with classmates

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on tract at all times.

    In three sentences

    I like it that the class sizes are smaller. The teachers are more one on one with each student. The advisors are very helpful in helping you choose the best way to help you success.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are several different clubs and activities available on campus. You can join a sports team, a variety of clubs, and go on school hosted trips. It's hard to decide what you want to do with so many options.

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech Community College is great for students that are parents. It is also good for working students. It works around every one's schedule!

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech Community College is excellent for the price of tuition. It is on the lower side which allows students who are parents or working to afford an education. Because of the low cost, Ivy Tech Community College was the best choice for me!

    What to do for fun

    There are several things you can do for fun around the Columbus campus! You can join clubs, play on recreational sports teams, and even go on school hosted trips. Ivy Tech Community College as many fun things available for their students.

    Food and Dining

    There are no dining courts available at Ivy Tech Community College. If you want food you have to get it out of a vending machine. I think it would be a good idea for this campus to look into building a cafeteria for their students.

    Dorm Life

    There currently are no dorms available at this college. In the future they may have housing available. This would be more pleasing to students who come to the Columbus campus from farther away.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't think the academic level at Ivy Tech is as high as it should be. I believe that since it is a community college they are a lot easier than if you went to a bigger school such as Indiana University or Purdue University. I think they should make their academics should be harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering coming to Ivy Tech Community College, do your research. Talk to as many advisers and get as many opinions of the school as possible. Be sure the school is right for you before you start!

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Community College is a great college to choose. It has small class sizes which allow individualized attention and the teachers really care about their students success! I love Ivy Tech Community College!

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have free activties in their lounge

    Academic Rigor

    Its okay

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn your material

    In three sentences

    Great School the teachers need to be more proactive with helping the students.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I get emails constantly about fun activites for single students or families! It is great that they think about you as an individual and where you come from!

    Food and Dining

    I live at home but food is expensive everywhere and it is hard to feed a family of four on a limited budget.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned so much and I enjoy all of my classes. I have been able to keep a 3.25 or above and it is thanks to the support!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply!!! Don't wait! It is easy and affordable and the school has many outlets that will help you along the way! I am a mother of two and a wife in a low income home and never thought it would be possible for me to attend school but I'm doing it now and I am so very thankful!

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech has provided a wonderful learning outlet for me, I have been able to achieve goals I didn't think I was capable of. The instructors have been magnificent and very helpful. I love this school and I am grateful for the opportunity to get a degree!

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security guard at the front desk looks as though he has consumed on too many donuts!

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa is an honer society that I am a member of. It is the only club that interested me.

    Great for these types of students

    Low income, minorities, adults, and anyone wanting to get a higher education without breaking the bank!

    Bang for the buck

    Best college for the money you pay!

    What to do for fun

    There are not of extra activities that go on.

    Food and Dining

    There are only vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms. This is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    They definitely give your brain a workout!

    Tips for prospective students

    I absolutely recommend Ivy Tech!

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is extremely inexpensive. Everyone is incredibly friendly. The class sizes are small and intimate.

  • 02/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs and activities you can join such as Zumba or yoga classes.

    Food and Dining

    They sometimes have free lunches but there are many vending machines as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important and the teachers are friendly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take the time to study and use all the resources you have.

    In three sentences

    This college is very convenient. It is close to home and at an affordable price compared to other schools. I have been able to schedule my classes around work and all my credits will transfer.

  • 05/31/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    yes

    Great for these types of students

    never give up... on your self , we will finish school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is IUPUC in the some place.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech is the most lowed costing school in Indiana.

    Food and Dining

    great

    Dorm Life

    I don't live the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I hope that I keep my grads A's and B's