Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ivy Tech Community College-East Central Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants a two year program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great on the grind you have to study harder and party less. Study for two hours a night for each class you are taking and you'll get through college.

    Bang for the buck

    I have been on fincial aid, but without it I would not be in college

    Am enjoying being here

    Ivy Tech is a very helpful college the staff is friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    I have to take three classes and I have passed them all. There are some that are easys, but then there are the one that are hard.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we do have security guards on campus and they are very friendly. there are also lockers you can rent out in the buildings. i feel more than safe here, over all it is a very great learning environment!

    Great for these types of students

    students that prefer smaller class settings should look into ivy tech. that's one reason i came here because i do believe it is easier to learn in a class where more than likely everyone wants to be there. it is also better if you like more one on one time with your teacher, since the classes are smaller it is easy to get that time.

    Bang for the buck

    i believe it is totally worth the money to come here. seeing how classes here range from $300 - $400 i'd say it is more than worth it. at a bigger college you'd probably be paying over $1000 for one class. on top of that there are computer labs, free tutoring, and it is very easy to get ahold of your teachers. so to me yes, this was worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    i've seen that there a many different clubs you can join at ivy tech that will also help you advance in your academic studies. occasionally there are trips and outside activities you can sign up for that are posted on your campus connect. there are plenty of things to do if you keep tabs on when things are going on.

    Food and Dining

    we don't have a food court or anything like that but the campus does offer free pizza and popcorn every once and awhile. there are also tons of vending machines all over campus that don't only have chips and candies but sandwiches and smaller things that you can heat up in the provided microwaves.

    Dorm Life

    this community college has no dorms but usually near ivy tech campuses there are lots of apartment complexes to check out if you're interested.

    Academic Rigor

    i think the compass test you take to be admitted into the college really is the first step in showing you what type of expectations the college has for you. it was very helpful because it placed me in classes that i should be starting with not in classes that i might have automatically fallen behind in. ivy tech wants you to succeed and gives you every tool to do so when it comes to academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is much easier to understand how to go about coming into this college if you actually do come in. the staff is wonderful and will guide you thru the application and financial aid process. signing up for classes is very easy to do online and when you first come in you will actually have someone help you sign up for your first term.

    In three sentences

    i love this college so far and all the teachers i have. i was not to big on the idea of college but now that i am here i am more than positive this was a very great first step to achieving my life goals. i think that if you are a person that is iffy about school but wants to give it a try you should definitely start here.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is relatively small and i always see security making their rounds.

    Greek Life

    this portion is not applicable.

    Clubs and Activities

    i have been invited to several activities since attending the school.

    Great for these types of students

    i am an adult who decided to go back later in life. i think the school is excellent for working adults or people who did go to college after high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i do not attend on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    it is not an expensive school. it costs approximately $3000 per semester. i am currently learning everything that i would in any other paralegal program. my credits will also transfer if i decide to attend a four year school, later on.

    What to do for fun

    there are constantly sending email invitations to various events.

    Food and Dining

    this portion is not applicable.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    i am enrolled in the distance education program for paralegal studies. i am very happy with all of my instructors.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure to communicate with the school. there is always someone who can answer any of your questions and concerns.

    In three sentences

    i love attending ivy tech. i study independently from home on-line. i am attending my second semester.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never felt that i have been in harms way while on campus. i do feel it is a safe campus.

    Food and Dining

    i am not real sure about the food and dining i have never tried it. i have heard good things about it though.

    Academic Rigor

    i think that the academic requirements are very high. they do not want people who are not going to be hard workers. they have good standards set.

    Tips for prospective students

    sign up for your classes early because they fill up fast. keep your head up and just keep going forward. use your resources and time wisely.

    In three sentences

    i have enjoyed being a student at ivy tech. i have found that being a working mother and going back to school can be accomplished. it is not an easy road but ivy tech has helped me through it all. thank you ivy tech soon i will have my dream job!

  • 03/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe enough.

    Great for these types of students

    Older adults, lower income, and adults with children.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Three different locations in town, makes transitioning from one class to another difficult.

    Bang for the buck

    Great bang for the buck!

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with family.

    Dorm Life

    Live at home with wife and children. Dorms not available.

    Academic Rigor

    Seems easy enough to stay on top of studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay the the course.

    In three sentences

    It's a good institution. Small class sizes with same curriculum as a four year institution. Tuition is half the price.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Ivy Tech has vending machines for dining. If the student does not want something from a vending machine there are close fast food restaurants. I would be nice to have a concession stand that serves hot food.

    Dorm Life

    It would be nice if there was a dorm life. Dorm life at Ivy Tech is the appartment or house the student lives in prior to college. There is no dorm life at Ivy Tech.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors will help students and work with them if they show effort toward the class. College is much harder if the student does not apply themself toward their work. Academic success represents the student effort because Professors will not just hand out grades

    Tips for prospective students

    It is best to know the major before takeing classes unless they are prerequisites. If a students does not know the major they are going for they run the of taking extra classes and wasting valuable time and money. Also, a student needs to give 110 percent in every class it will pay off.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Community College at the East Central location is an exellent school. Ivy Tech is student friendly. The staff is welcoming and helpful both in and out of class.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are parks around the campus and indianapolis isn't that far away from the campus that I'm at.

    Food and Dining

    the food is quick dining not great but not bad

    Dorm Life

    no dorms here stay at home

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the major

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that all the assignments are done and that you show up for class great for easy points.

    In three sentences

    I feel that the school is good. It has a different feel about it than the big campuses and the classroom sizes are small. This makes it great for individual attention and some of the professors seem to care about thier students.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    zero

    Clubs and Activities

    zero

    Great for these types of students

    Brain dead. Maybe communication or social work students. You will have to deal with these people there is no going around them, you paid for it. Mind boggling igorance and nastiness.

    Bang for the buck

    It was basically Communist discrimination time when I went there. I paid for that?

    What to do for fun

    Leave.

    Food and Dining

    On top of everything I got a bad case of food poisoning from a coffee from one of their vending machines, which is al the food there is. I was sick right away. Stay away from the vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    shocking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to a four year college or try a different community college. I would rather drive three hours to another college then to deal with these sociopaths.

    In three sentences

    Terrible. I was denied financial aid becausemy EFC was zero. Discriminating teachers. No diversity. Horrible memories. I was hung up on by the receptionist several times.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security officers monitoring the campus. They will also direct traffic during busy times on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs offered, and more information can be found on the Ivy Tech website.

    Great for these types of students

    This school has a lot of diversity, and any type of student would do well no matter age, sex, religion, race, or ethnicity. As a parent I feel this college meets my needs very well, and has flexible classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech is very affordable, and is outstanding in quality as well. It is almost a quarter of the amount you would pay at other colleges. I know it is well worth the money that I have spent.

    What to do for fun

    Muncie has a lot of delicious restaurants, a city pool, bowling, roller skating, college football games, fishing, arcade/laser tag, parks, children's museum, some free concerts and activities at minnetrista, concerts at Emens Auditorium, and movies. There are plenty of things to do in Muncie.

    Food and Dining

    There is a gentleman that has a hot dog cart that sells food, but there aren't any restaurants within 5 minutes. It would take about 10 minutes to get to an eating establishment.

    Dorm Life

    As an Ivy Tech student I enjoy being able to attend college, and live from my own home. I am married and have two young children. I find this is a nice convenience.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the classes are intense, but the instructors are always willing to help. There is also tutoring available to help you with class work you don't understand. You can succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Call, or visit a campus to get a good idea of what it would be like to attend this college. Make an appointment with an advisor. They are very knowledgeable, and willing to help.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech has a nice campus, and I don't feel like I will get lost. They also have very helpful staff, and a wide variety of courses. They also have many resources to encourage learning.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ivy Tech has an array of security across the entire campus at any given time day or night!

    Greek Life

    Phi Beta Thappa is the Greek life at Ivy Tech.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have too many clubs and activities to name, go to; ivytech.edu and look over their website for more information.

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for working and/or single parents, as well as recent high school graduates, or retirees who would like to go to school full time or less, for whatever reasons.

    Bang for the buck

    For the amount that you save each year, by choosing Ivy Tech over the other area colleges, you will be amazed at the one on one treatment each student gets!

    What to do for fun

    Ivy Tech has many programs for fun, and even sports, if your interested.

    Food and Dining

    They have many affordable vending machines at Ivy Tech, as well as several portable food vendors that come throughout the year.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life here, as this school mostly educates family and working people.

    Academic Rigor

    Ivy Tech is known for their statement, Teach me and I will try to learn, show me and I may learn, but let me follow your steps and I will understand! - I agree with this statement, as I learn better hands-on, and much of the Ivy Tech syllabus is hands-on, so the students will understand what they are learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live within distance from Ivy Tech, in the Indiana area, and are looking for a college that works with you at your pace, sign up as soon as possible, you won't regret it!

    In three sentences

    I love East Central Ivy Tech Community college because they are a family oriented, student focused school with many helpful resources available for the students. The teachers provide as much time as needed with students to help them excel in needed areas, as well as specifically designated teachers who work for Ivy Tech solely as tutors. The atmosphere is diverse and laid back, compared to universities.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is in semi-secluded area and seems safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Single or working parents.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is below that of most neighboring colleges.

    What to do for fun

    I have not yet fully explored the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not started classes yet, but during meeting with an academic adviser, they tried to put me in basic classes when I need to be in standard or advanced classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Follow the website's instructions and know where it is that you need to go.

    In three sentences

    The campus was less organized than I was expecting. The workers that tried to help me kept sending me in circles.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Anywhere that has no violence

    Greek Life

    English

    Clubs and Activities

    football, basketball, spring races, wrestling, baseball, flag football, kickball, mattball, wiffleball, track and field, ROTC, rifle team, drill tean, and strength and conditioning

    Great for these types of students

    anything you want to do for fun and to hang out, get to know one another

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are a lot of opportunities out in the real world

    Bang for the buck

    I'll do anything to get money for my family and friends to enjoy

    What to do for fun

    Play basketball, football, wrestle, baseball, kickball, weight lift, sprint race another dude, play video games, do homework with anyone, and listen to songs/music.

    Food and Dining

    send it to the dorm or i can buy the food

    Dorm Life

    i want to live on the ball state campus dorm with a roomate that is an athlete or fun to play sports with and into a lot of studying

    Academic Rigor

    Achieve a very good GPA of a 2.0 or above

    Tips for prospective students

    Get fit, education done first before doing any extracirricular activities

    In three sentences

    i rate in at a 95% because they are helping me forward my dream to transfer to ball state to become an athlete. They are also helping me get my mission begun as one. They have a lot of ideas to start me on a 4yr degree

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It depends on the campus, but there has been a history of theft. It comes with the territory. With a student body made up of such a diverse collection of personal situations you are bound to find a few bad apples.

    Greek Life

    There are only honors societies that have greek letters. No actual fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few, but none worth noting.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students that didn't do well in high school but want to further their education, working adults looking to go back to school or advance their career, and hobbyists looking to learn more about things that interest them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy tech is a fantastic way to bridge the gap between a better career or education and a half hearted high school career or less than satisfying professional career.

    What to do for fun

    It's like going to work. You will not find the college experience there.

    Food and Dining

    The vending machines are nice, but you still have to go find food elsewhere.

    Dorm Life

    There is no housing because it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It was easier than high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be insulted by the simple education style. The courses are catered to include not just wiz kids out of high school, but professional adults looking to further their academic careers. Do the time, and you'll get where you need to go.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a wonderful way for students to have access to post secondary education regardless of the decisions they made in their youth. The Education is unfortunately simple, but students gain valuable experience in an academic environment that will cary over to their next endeavors. Worth the money, worth the time, and worth the wait.

  • 11/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for just about anyone who wants an education. It's a smooth transition from someone fresh out of high school. It's a good place to come to after being out of school for a while too,.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech is very affordable.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't any restaurants on campus, only vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorm life for Ivy Tech.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    The main thing that I would recommend is to stay focused on the school work. It's easy to get side-tracked with everything else that goes on in life. If you stay focused, you'll be graduating before you know it.

    In three sentences

    I think that Ivy Tech is a very good place to start out at. It's very affordable and accommodating. Ivy Tech has very good instructors, so it's easy to adapt.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never seen anything being close to going bad at my campus

    Great for these types of students

    Great for beginning students.

    Bang for the buck

    A great cheap way to get your first year classes out of the way and you probably could just stay at home with the many different campuses and online classes.

    What to do for fun

    It depends on what city you are in.

    Food and Dining

    We have a great little cafe with good food for cheap prices.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know what you want to do yet or you want to save money go to Ivy Tech.

    In three sentences

    Great place to go to get your first year classes out of the way for a very cheap price.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join various clubs and outreach groups, sponsored charity events, blood drives; stop by multiple informative special guest stations throughout the week, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    Special event catering and much more. And of course always a snack available with in house vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No drama here, attend classes on your own schedule without worrying about how to pay outrageous room and board.

    Academic Rigor

    Ivy-Tech teaches you how to study with their introductory classes, preparing you to succeed. If you are already a seasoned student, jump right in and start learning, talk to an individual advisor who will meet your academic needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's never too late to enroll at Ivy-Tech, make your professional dreams come true. Walk-in or call today to start your path to success, you won't regret it! Class sizes are small, and online classes are available.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Community College-East Central (Marion) is a beautiful campus located right off I-69. With all the necessities a student has, this campus provides adequate space; both inside and out; with lavish accommodations. Friendly staff greet you at the door with a smile as well as those behind the scenes, ensuring your success as a student and future graduate.

  • 02/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We could use a Subway or something though....

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep a schedule! (and keep in mind that this is forreal) Your education will matter more than a party.

    In three sentences

    The program is perfect for anyone's schedule and pocket. The entire staff actually try to help you succeed. I got the skills and certifications I needed to land my dream job.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe campus. there is security at every building and they also walk the parking lot as well usually .

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all ages... great for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy tech is a very cheap way to go to college. I pay out of pocket usually and it fits my tight budget!

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a nice quiet and safe college. Everyone is nice, and tuition is cheap. Affordable for every type of person

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always at least one security guard on duty, and there are plenty of cameras monitoring the school and the parking lot.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is an academic association, but not a lot else that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want clubs, sports, and parties, this is not the college for you. If you want an affordable education and you are not concerned about a huge social life, this is great for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is pretty small, there aren't really any landmarks or quirks.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a good plan if you want to save money. If you want the college experience, this may not be for you, but if you are looking for an inexpensive education you are in the right place.

    What to do for fun

    There are some activities planned by the college, but for the most part, there aren't very many clubs or organizations to join.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small, relatively cheap cafe that serves food at most times during the day.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It is strictly a commuting college. They provide lockers if you want one.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class - some classes are about as easy as a high school class, but some of the science courses are especially difficult. You have to take a standardized test (unless you tested out of this with high enough SAT/ACT scores) which will place you in certain level of classes to start out with.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to do some classes here and plan on transferring to another college, make sure taht all of your credits will transfer. Always show up to class and do your work. If possible, look at reviews for teachers and see if they have been complained about before registering for any of their classes.

    In three sentences

    Some teachers/professors are helpful and knowledgeable about their subjects, but some of them make one wonder how they were hired. It is a good plan if one wants to save money on their college education, but it is not the same experience as a state or private university. For the price, one can get a fairly decent quality education.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Between classes, most students will go to lunch or dinner together. We become such great friends in a short amount of time.

    Food and Dining

    All campuses in East Central Region are close to food and dining. Most are staffed with Ivy Tech students and as well as Ball State.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech doesn't have dorms. Depending on which campus you attend, apartments and housing are close by.

    Academic Rigor

    Ivy Techs academic rigor is standard and easy to understand. The teachers will help you reach and push you to get higher grades and succeed in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to speak up in class. Everyone at Ivy Tech has a high goal and the teachers and staff will help you reach yours.

    In three sentences

    I love the whole environment at Ivy Tech. The culinary program is well organized and planned. Ivy Tech- East Central is a well rounded school from their staff, students and facilities.

  • 06/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Joining different groups that the school offers.

    Food and Dining

    Always a variety in the vending machines and when they had vendors there.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm Life

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure you file your FASFA on time. Keep your homework turned in on time. Make sure you attend all of your classes everyday so that you can succeed. Also make sure you study for your exams.

    In three sentences

    I am giving Ivy Tech a 10. I enjoyed going to this college. I have already graduated from one program and now continuing for a new program.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    just take your time and dont get overwelmed

    In three sentences

    IvyTech is a really good college to go to if u are not ready for big college life at all. they are very helpful with everything. tons of support academic wise.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus was very safe. Everywhere you went you saw a security officer of some type walking around or monitoring an area.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs at all, only one I can think of is the student government association.

    Great for these types of students

    Students unsure of what they want to do. Older adults who are wanting to go back to school that have been out for awhile. Anyone who wants to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of and I was there for 3 years.

    Bang for the buck

    Its cheap, affordable and will get you out of school in a hurry!

    What to do for fun

    Since its a community college there really aren't any campus activities that you can do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    No food available except for vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm rooms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes may seem like a joke, while others really put you to the test. It all depends on what you are good at and what you have for weaknesses when it comes to school studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your homework on time, make sure to write down assignments. Read your textbook, almost always the answers to homework questions are in there.

    In three sentences

    A good overall school to start at. Helps you get ready for transferring to a bigger institution. Saves money so you don't have to take as many classes at a school with higher tuition fees.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of activities and clubs. GET INVOLVED!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classes, students who are low income, etc.

    What to do for fun

    Attend club meetings, attend events, and hang out in lobby.

    Food and Dining

    Depending on your taste and location. If the school is near restaurants its okay. If you don't mind vending machine food, its okay.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech does not offer dorms to students.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff and faculty really know what they are doing and teaching.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply in enough time to be able to receive your letter and complete necessary steps to become enrolled. Ask for help. If you don't understand something, ask. There is a vast variety of resources that you can access.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a great college because it employees make the students really feel like they care about their success. It is a very affordable college. It is a safe and comfortable environment.