Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ivy Tech Community College-Kokomo Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus here makes it very safe for faculty and students to get around. Ivy Tech around here seems to pride itself on making things safe so that noone gets hurt.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and activities that go on each semester. Its just a matter of having the time, money, and the right transportation to do the activities for each of the clubs a person wants to get involved in.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the classes are a lot cheaper than most colleges and yet don't skimp on what you learn. I am glad I have had the chance to come to Ivy Tech.

    What to do for fun

    There are several different groups to get involved in for all the different fields of study at Ivy Tech. There are usually some really good trips to take with other Ivy Tech students every month, as well as long distant trips if you have the money that are really good for educational value as well as being stress relievers during breaks.

    Food and Dining

    The snack machines on campus isn't bad and the location of the school is fairly close to descent resteraunts.

    Dorm Life

    This one doesn't apply to me because I live at home while going to school.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor can be tough, but you have to be tougher so you can get the best grades possible to show your serious about your career choice. Study like you believe your life depends on it.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips are this: 1) Be serious about going to school, 2) Have a good idea of where you want to take your career choice, 3) Be ready to study and ask questions when in doubt about something, and 4) Have respect for yourself and others enough to allow for the knowledge to sink in by not being a distraction (even to yourself).

    In three sentences

    I like the Kokomo campuses because the staff goes the extra mile to help students in their field choice. Most generally the teachers are very helpful in giving guidance for their classes. I like the fact that a student can do a two year plan, but not be tied down to getting it done in two years should something happen beyond their control.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an on duty officer here at all times as well as off duty police officers to serve as security.

    Greek Life

    I donk know much about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a culb for almost everything.

    Bang for the buck

    It is really cheap to attent this college the classes are cheap and you will enjoy them as well as learn a lot of things you will be able to use during your proffesion.

    What to do for fun

    We have mystery trips monthly here and its free to you. you will not know where you are going until the morning of the trip. There is always a trip for you to go on and depending on what organization you are involved in, the trips just get better & better. This year there is a trip to Paris! As for fun outside of school I dont know about to many things. There is a bowling alley, a theater & sksating rink near by.

    Food and Dining

    There is restaurants and convenient stores surrounding this campus.

    Dorm Life

    There's no on campus living here at the Kokomo campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    feel free to contact your instructer if you dont understand something, they will be more than willing to help you. do not wait untioo the last munite to seek help, the lrc is amazing if you need help they will sit with you one on one or you can be a part of group tutoring. do your best in all classes they do count. Allow yourself to be involved in school activities you will be surprised at what you can learn.

    In three sentences

    Inytech is a wonderful place to growand build some fundamental college experience. It is also small enonough for you to get that one on one experience that is needed for some students to learn more efficiently. Being there I have experienced so much and learned a great amount of things about networking and i believe this has helped my communication skills.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non-applicable

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is a wonderful place to start for someone who is re-entering school after several years of work, family life, or disability.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ivy Tech has many buildings scattered around Kokomo - from East Morgan street to miles away on East Firmin.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very reasonably priced for the education that you obtain.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations to join around campus, such as the BASO and numerous clubs. Phi Theta Kappa offers the lifelong benefits of a fraternity or sorority, while annual festivals such as the TechKNOWFest and Punkin Chunkin invite the entire family to come together and experience Ivy Tech's fun.

    Food and Dining

    Non-applicable

    Dorm Life

    Non-applicable

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others - but that's not to say that the instructors are lax. Be prepared for hours of study if you take Microbiology, though!

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that you are there to learn and that you won't know everything right away. Take the constructive criticism and let it shape you into a model student. Buddy up with a peer and study, and never be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech has a competitive surgical technology program that sets you up for a promising career. The staff is knowledgeable and they work hard to provide a superior academic experience for all students. I highly recommend Ivy Tech to everyone, especially those returning to school after a long stint away.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i feel all of the campuses are safe and have the security when necessary.

    Great for these types of students

    ivy tech would be good for anyone who would like the college life but gets to still be home and have a job or be a parent. ivy tech has very flexible hours to choose from to make a schedule that accomodates your already crazy life.

    Bang for the buck

    i am a single mother of three and get financial aid. it is nice to know that i do not have to take additional student loans out in order to pay for my schooling. ivy techs prices are very fair and reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    ivy tech has several clubs to join. they also provide mystery trips, and other fun activities to attend.

    Food and Dining

    kokomo campus has a commons area with vending machines and nice tables to sit.

    Dorm Life

    there is not dorms at our campuses but they are convenient for anywhere you live in the state of indiana.

    Academic Rigor

    academics is obviously number one for everyone involved at ivy tech. the goals for the teachers is for everyone to pass and succeed. they are very helpful to seeing this happen.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you file your fafsa. schedule an appointment with an advisor and follow your dreams. anything is possible if you put your mind and heart to success!

    In three sentences

    it is a very cultural campus that is accepting to all. all of the campuses i have been to are very clean and convenient. the staff and students are very respectful to others.

  • 02/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    n.a.

    Dorm Life

    n.a.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are down to earth at a medium rate of speed. tutors are always available.

    Tips for prospective students

    do your home work. be open and honest. show up to class, we have excellent teachers.

    In three sentences

    ivy tech is one of the most affordable colleges in the area. it helps you decide what you want to do and gets you pointed in the right direction. class hours are flexable. i rate it a 9 on a 10 point scale.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are clubs for a variety of students.

    Food and Dining

    There are only vending machines at the campus I attend.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging enough to keep you on your toes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ivy Tech has a wide variety of courses. Something for everyone.

    In three sentences

    I believe Ivy Tech is doing a great service to the community as well as to the students. The professors are knowledgeable and friendly. They are always willing to help and work with the students to aid in achieving their academic goals.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of lights outside and if you are still afraid at night there is always someone who will walk you to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several Clubs you can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone and everyone young and old.

    Bang for the buck

    Just all around nice atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    Join various clubs, like the Criminal justice group and they go on field trips and out to eat.

    Food and Dining

    Only vending machines but plenty to choose from and there are micro-waves. During rgular classes spring and fall on Wed. there is usually a meal served from various groups and only cost $3.00 and you get a dessert and drink with it.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    All the teachers will help you when you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come check out the school and meet the advisors for helping you choose your classes.

    In three sentences

    Ivy-Tech in Logansport,IN is a fantastic school to go to. It is a fairly new Campus and very clean. The teachers and advisors are very friendly and helpful.

  • 07/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see a patrol officer at the main campus sometimes, they also have security cameras all over the buildings.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have do have some clubs and activities that are pretty diverse especially for a community college.

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for students who are working or have families. The instructors understand that you have a life outside of college and the course offerings are diverse in the time of day you can take them or by even taking them on-line.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any unusual traditions. As far as locations, since they are continually expanding and usually just take over old manufacturing buildings in the area or most recently the area's visitor's building, they have a lot of interesting spaces.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech is the most economical school in this area. They offer several degree options for less than most regular four year colleges. Many of their course transfer so someone could always start here if wishing to transfer to another school for a four year degree. Books are a little high, but I think this is normal amongst most colleges.

    What to do for fun

    It's a community college located in Kokomo, IN so there are events that try to involved students from all age groups and backgrounds. They offer social events, clubs, and charity events.

    Food and Dining

    They have a couple vending machines, but no cafeteria. I gave them two starts because they often have doughnuts, coffee, or other treats set up for students in the lobby of the main campus and sometimes allow 3rd party vendors to sell food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are hard, some are fairly easy. Probably depends on your interest level too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective student to Ivy Tech - Kokomo should meet with an advisor early and often. The curriculum for some courses seems to change regularly. Also, register for classes early and pay on time. Since there is such a high demand for some courses, they might fill up quick and if you don't pay on time you could be dropped from the course.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a diverse college with many two year degree options available. The instructors are helpful and for the most part seem pretty sincere in assisting student achieve success. Ivy Tech - Kokomo seems to be growing all the time to meet the demand of a region flooded by people try to better themselves.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great police force and security in Kokomo

    Great for these types of students

    all kinds really adults who have been in the workforce for awhile and looking to improve their position in the company they work for or looking for a new line of work

    Bang for the buck

    offers a wide range of associates degrees for a lower cost than larger universitys

    What to do for fun

    Kokomo has alot of normal town things to do as well as offers a midget dirt racing track on the north side of town

    Food and Dining

    Kokomo has alot of dining options Mikes Pizza is probably one of the tops

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to there enrollment staff first they will point in the direction u need to be heading as far as what all you are looking for . Dont be afraid to ask questions they will give you the right answers

    In three sentences

    I start classes this fall. I must say up to this point everything has been very easy and supportive. They have been so hopeful as far as enrolling and finding financial options in the process. I would recomend this school to any others who were interested in furthering there future with an education.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have noticed that the larger campuses have security and are really lighted.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ivy Tech sends out emails telling about on campus activities that are free or cheap.

    Bang for the buck

    I am satisfied with the education i am getting for the money i am paying. The classes are small and hands on. The teachers are helpful and take the time to help you and explain the course material in different ways so that you understand the material.

    What to do for fun

    Ivy Tech Community College sends out weekly emails telling about events on campus, or Ivy Tech days at sporting events and such.

    Food and Dining

    There are food courts on most campus locations. The smaller locations have vending machines with plenty of restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    I have not experienced the dorm life at Ivy Tech Community College. I commute to classes once a week and work two jobs.

    Academic Rigor

    Be organize and plan ahead. This will help with your studies. Make friend with classmates and get together to go over notes before exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions no matter what, you are not the only one who doesn't know. Make friends with your teachers/professors and classmates, it will come in handy. Time management and organization will be your best friend to help you succeed and achieve your goals.

    In three sentences

    This is my first semester attending classes at the Kokomo location. I am looking forward to it, as i have taken classes at other locations near me. There are many locations and class times to choose from that best fits my schedule.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 28

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This is a very good school. It has a lot of degrees that you can choose from. The staff are always trying to help you anyway they can.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a dining hall in the school in which there are vending machines and tables for people to sit and study if they wish. They often have little events where they make lunch or snacks for the students. All in all, it is a nice place to stop and grab a snack in between classes or catch up with your friends.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Ivy Tech because it is a community college. Most of the students that go to the Kokomo Campus are from that city. Sometimes, students will have to go to another campus if they want a specific program that is only offered in one area. The campuses are really accessible though, and very easy to get to.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is a big part of Ivy Tech. The classes are designed so you can easily understand and continue prospering in your education. Also, the teachers are willing to work with you on whatever you need and have an open door policy. I felt really satisfied with the way my degree was going and the classes I was taking. I didn't feel like I was wasting money, but that I was getting the education I wanted and needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really get to know your adviser and the staff at Ivy Tech. From the people in the financial aid office to the teachers in the classroom, everyone is really helpful and will work with you no matter what your situation. Even if you're in a tough spot, they will go above and beyond to help you out and make sure you're successful in school.

    In three sentences

    The staff at this school are amazing and will really help you out with whatever you need. They have a really wide array of programs to choose from that will provide every student with the education they really want. And it's affordable to go to school here... who doesn't like that?

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campuses are very safe and clean. Students and staff are very hospitable to one another and share their information to help. Security is consistent and thorough. I'd feel safe to walk anywhere alone.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society Student Government Association Stars and Stripes Student Organization Business Administration Student Organization And many others

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for students who are adults looking for a change in their future but want to still work a full time job. It balances school, work, and family so that it's comparable with your lifestyle.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are lots of local establishments for socializing in the area. I recommend Buffalo Wild Wings.

    Bang for the buck

    As far as what you receive from the college for what you pay, it's unmeasurable. The financial aide personnel go out of their way to help with every resource. The book store is informed and courteous. The instructors are knowledgable and fun. By far the curriculum is easy to follow by syllabus guidelines.

    Food and Dining

    I don't believe there is dining available on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    I don't believe there is dining available on campus. Snack machines are available and there are lots of restaurants near campus.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security all the time we are told. If you have a late class they will even walk you out. That is nice to know.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa is a national honor society that you can join if you have 12 credit hours and a grade point average of 3.5.

    Great for these types of students

    There are so many different areas of study that a student could go into. I had said before that if Ivy Tech does not have the 4 year program there you can transfer with ease.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is my first semester at Ivy tech and I am excited about finding out all about what there is to offer.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy tech does not offer every 4 year degree but they work with other college's to help you be able to transfer your credits. This helps out a lot.

    What to do for fun

    I spend time with my family.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home with my family.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my family.

    Academic Rigor

    I am just starting out with the basic classes at this time and they are not too hard. I have been out of high school for over 15 years and it is nice to ease back into things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ivy Tech is a great place to at least take your prerequisite classes before you go away to the high dollar schools.

    In three sentences

    I love Ivy Tech because it is close to my home. The teachers are very knowledgeable and friendly. It is cost effective for me to go to Ivy tech Community college.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    bowling league

    Food and Dining

    Doesn't apply

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't apply

    Academic Rigor

    It is different than High School and for older adults its hard to find the time to study with the demands life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, Study and don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    The school faculty has been very helpful. It is a easy college to navagate. I just love it.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of restaraunts to choose from in town.

    Dorm Life

    I dont think there are dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic level here is very good its not place where you can get by just being lazy you have to do work. Fortunately its not overwhelming that you stress more than needed.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They seem to have plenty of activities to partake in. I am a brand new student, so I havent been able to check into it yet.

    Food and Dining

    I am not sure how this would apply to ivy tech to be honest.

    Dorm Life

    I think we all know ivy tech doesnt have dorms/housing. Its close to home so it saves even more money for the younger students.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard many students talk about how there are some classes that have them pretty confused. They do say there is plenty of help if you need it, and of course you dont have to shell out more cash to get it. There are many resources available here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the friendly staff in the library and financial aid office. They have plenty of helpful advice.

    In three sentences

    The instructors have been very personable so far. The class sizes make it very easy to keep on track and recieve plenty of help. I am fully enjoying going back to school so far!

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is there until 11 pm

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many options. However, I'm not in any clubs, so I can't really speak on this matter.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a dedicated student that has a lot going on in your life outside of school. Ivy Tech is great for you.

    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable prices

    What to do for fun

    Not a whole lot of anything.

    Food and Dining

    There's only vending machines and unhealthy snacks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Ivy Tech.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I have taken thus far have not been incredibly hard. However, I haven't taken in classes relating to my major yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with an advisor. Only take classes you need for your degree. Go to class.

    In three sentences

    I have fully enjoyed my time at Ivy Tech. I typically enjoy the classes I take. I have had few problems with my professors.

  • 11/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe the Wabash campus is very safe, because there is always a police officer on the campus when there are night classes taking place.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on that anybody could attend. Usually, you can even bring your family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    This question is not applicable for me, because I do not eat the food at the campus.

    Dorm Life

    This question is not applicable, for Ivy Tech Community College at Wabash, which is in the Kokomo region, does not have any dorm rooms in existence.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is somewhat strict at the Wabash campus in the Kokomo region at Ivy Tech Community College. However, I feel like the instructors could be a little bit less lenient on the students.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students wishing to transfer into any indiana transfer degree that Ivy Tech has to offer. You get the same classes for much much cheaper and they transfer beautifully over to your next college.

    Bang for the buck

    Most definitely an awesome educational investment.

    What to do for fun

    Join lots of clubs. Phi Theta Kappa is an excellent one if you meet the qualifications.

    Food and Dining

    I also don't eat at the campus so I don't have any information to offer here either.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, I commute so this box is irrelevant to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always always always ask questions if you have them. Don't hesitate to look into things for yourself, regardless if your advisor helps you with your scheduling or not.

    In three sentences

    The staff is quite helpful. The campus is clean and inviting. The courses are for the most part very interesting due to the teachers.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There really isn't any security until the evening.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Student government

    Great for these types of students

    Adults and high school graduates

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none.

    Bang for the buck

    It's cheaper to pay for classes at Ivy Tech rather than a big 4 year school.

    What to do for fun

    There are different groups to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    There are only vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's easy to earn a degree closer to home. If you aren't sure what you want to do, take a few courses to see what you like or don't like.

    In three sentences

    The small class sizes are nice. The teachers are easy to work with. The teachers really do care.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 28

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have mystery trips which are always a blast i have gone on 3 so far I got to go to a Pacer's game, See a production called Blithe Spirit at Purdue, and last but not least I got to go to a Colts game a day before my oldest son's birthday! And they provide you with one meal for each mystery trip! but you have to watch for the kaleidoscope because they fill up fast!

    Food and Dining

    there are vending machines and there is also restaurants near by!

    Dorm Life

    they don't have dorm's

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not the brightest apple on the tree but they are the most wonderful people to get to meet and hang around! Don't be shy

    Tips for prospective students

    Always Always Always ask your professors for help if you can't get something done because you can't get it figured out or you just down right can't understand it!

    In three sentences

    I feel that I can rate this school at least at 90%

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Wabash is a very small town and for us to have a college I think is awesome makes you believe you can be somebody without having to travel an extensive ride.

    What to do for fun

    They have extra curricular activities that you can join. Some I can think of is a bowling team and a sorority.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafeteria that only had vending machine. I wish there was more options for those people that have 2 classes a day.

    Dorm Life

    The college I go to doesn't have dorms that I know of.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and get your classes set up by an advisor so you know your schedule and you can get your books early enough so you don't have to wait for a book to come in if you go in to late.

    In three sentences

    I like the fact that if I need extra help the teachers are more than willing to stay after or set up a study group to help you out. The other staff is always there if you need more help or info. Its always nice and clean and in a great spot of town easy access from anywhere and if your close enough you can walk.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe,I feel there is an on duty police officer in the evenings. I don't have any fear based on safety issues. In the event,that I would, I would address it with the appropriate people.

    Greek Life

    I'm unfamiliar with this terminology. I truely do not know what this means. I will research and learn what this is.

    Clubs and Activities

    I currently do not belong to any clubs or activities. I have not been a student long enough to establish any interests in clubs. I would like too become more involved in some of these activities and clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for all types of students,from the single mom, disabled,to the grandma.! There are avenues for success,here opportunity awaits, just ask for help if needed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not been here at Ivy Tech long enough to learn the unusual traditions at any of our campuses. I may learn of some unusual traditions in the future.

    Bang for the buck

    This Campus at Ivy Tech offers students financial aide,that helps with the costs. Of course there are going to be some additional costs,but for the most part I feel Ivy Tech is cost effective.Ivy Tech offers textbook rental system thru their bookstore.

    What to do for fun

    Make friends and have fun. As students we all have the same goal in mind and that is to achieve our degree,so have fun will you are here. Plan activities and join clubs, this will help student in his studies,to make time for him or herself.

    Food and Dining

    One thing that I do wish is that at the Logansport Campus,that there was a cafeteria setting,where one could get actual food. Students lead busy lives and i don't ever seem to have the time to pack a lunch.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply to our campus. Dorm life does not apply here because we do not have dorm settings. Our campus is not set up to house students.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the challenges I find at Ivy Tech is,a challenge with in the student themselves .A challenge in time management,study skills etc. for the most part the faculity i feel readily assists students in any way they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students, don't be afraid to ask questions and seek help if needed. the ability to seek out the help that you need will aide in your success at Ivy Tech.Make friends ,have a social network set up,this will help you in that if you need support or assistance you will find it in your friendships.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a great college in my view. It is a community based college that is great in that it is very helpful in assisting students,with various needs. Needs can range from financial aide assistance,to finding your class room. Every one is positive and this reflects in the workers from the receptionist to the librarian.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safety is great they are there but not seen unless needed.

    Greek Life

    Only on PTK for good grades.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities if you want to join. Most have a difficult time attending these due to being working adults or other family commitments.

    Great for these types of students

    Working adults and unsure high school graduates.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many buildings but not all located near each other.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel you get the most bang for your buck by attending locally due to no extra travel or living expense.

    What to do for fun

    Local college so most live at home with family. There are a few activities on campus but not a lot due to no campus living.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines for snacks are here and for soda. They are very expensive so I pack my dinner or purchase it from a local drive thru.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms or campus living here.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that the academic here are Awesome! I have been challenged and assisted by the teachers to achieve more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start with the basics and build from there. You have to have the general classes anyway so why pay more for the same thing else where.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending classes here in Kokomo. I am with other student from different walking of life.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ivy Tech Kokomo Region is very secure, or has been since I've been attending. There is a police officer/several at each building incase you feel unsafe walking to your vehicle or to another class.

    Greek Life

    I am not aware of any, Greek Life, on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    My rating on this area doesn't really mean much. I have a lot of stuff going on outside of taking classes so I have no time to participate in the clubs and or activities. The mystery trips definately increase my rating however.

    Great for these types of students

    Parents trying to go back to school Older folks trying to get a degree to get further ahead in life Kids that are looking to transfer to a college in state

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    MYSTERY TRIPS! At least once a semester the Kokomo region of Ivy Tech hosts a mystery trip. You go out on an adventure and have lots of fun even if its something you would usually not do. I myself have been on 2 of them and have a splendid time!

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech is very affordable, its a community college.

    What to do for fun

    You get to make new friends, and the SGA for Ivy Tech almost always has something going on to get the other attending students involved.

    Food and Dining

    There are no dining services so I cannot answer this question.

    Dorm Life

    At Ivy Tech there aren't any dorms, therefore this cannot be answered.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes from my time here have not been extremely difficult. They give you the information that is required to succeed but do not try to put much more on your plate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. Don't be afraid to recieve the help that they offer. Don't stress, the teachers will work with your schedule. Have fun.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a very laid back college and has a very nice atmosphere. The people are very friendly and are always willing to help you. Ivy Tech is also very affordable if you're having financial issues.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is efficient in my experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ivy Tech is good about offering various clubs and activities to students who have varying interests. I was asked if I wanted to participate in a photography club a couple of weeks ago. The challenge is acquiring enough students to form a club.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for adults returning to school, people who want to advance in their current positions at work, and individuals who which to work full time while attending school.

    Bang for the buck

    Bam! Ivy Tech is the most affordable college I know of! Their website gives you the details on how much bang for your buck you get! The affordability is the number one reason I chose this college to earn my associates degree before transferring.

    What to do for fun

    As Ivy Tech is not a live-in campus the activities offered are different. There are various clubs and associations in which students can participate, however, like the Student Government Association, or the Gamers Club. These vary from those that would bolster your academics such as the SGA mentioned above and Phi Theta Kappa, the Honors Society for Two Year Colleges, to those that just get you involved socially. There are actually several activities and events every month and they are posted around campus and online. One such event is the Mystery Trip, which usually takes about a day. Students don't know where they will be headed when they take off from campus. It's usually free and includes one meal. Things like museums, ball games, government buildings, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Ivy Tech does not have a cafeteria. But it does have a Commons, which is an area for meals and various vending machines with quite the variety of choices from drinks to snacks to sandwiches depending on the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Ivy Tech is a community college that not only gives people the opportunity to earn Associates degrees and allows students to transfer to achieve their bachelor's degrees, but it also works in providing certificates. This means that students from various walks of life attend Ivy Tech for different reasons. Some simply want to qualify to progress in their current job and need to take a few classes. Some want to start the process for a degree. Because of this variation and other factors, Ivy Tech's academic rigor is not as intense as some four-year colleges may be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for financial aid and scholarships early to be certain you have filled out the applications completely and can obtain all necessary information. Know that not all classes will run if they do not have the minimum number of students signed up. This is usually around ten students. Be prepared for this by monitoring the class number and by possibly signing up for an additional class that would fulfill the number of credit hours you want (say, your 3 credit hour Creative Writing course only has 7 students, also sign up for a 3 credit hour English course that already has 12 students). You can drop the extra class online if the class in question actually does run. But be sure this will not effect any financial aid/scholarships you have received.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Kokomo is academically accessible to students of all walks of life, no matter how long he or she has been out of school. This college is extremely affordable. Although not always top-notch professional, there is an accepting atmosphere in class.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 28

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If it's dark outside, no one can leave a class without everyone going with. Also, if you don't feel comfortable walking out by yourself, they have security for that!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for adults, who have family, jobs, and other responsibilities because of the flexible class hours which are morning, evening, and even night.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech is cheap, and you really get your moneys worth!

    What to do for fun

    Ivy Tech offers common time, which is a time available to students and staff to gather together for activities; such as, clubs, organizations, and so forth.

    Food and Dining

    Ivy Tech offers vending machines and their bookstore also sells coffee and snacks. They have an area to rest, study, and eat. It's really clean and nice!

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech doesn't offer any housing on campus, but their school is always in a convenient location! After all, it is a community school.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, I'd give Ivy Tech a five! They're really great on explaining things, have tutoring if your just not getting it, and they are always available via email and even their cell and home phones!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ivy Tech is the best route to getting an education. It's affordable while most other colleges can be a financial burden. Academic there is great and teachers and staff members are always there 24/7. Credits do transfer, and they have flexible class hours, so any one who is interested in Ivy Tech really should schedule an appointment with a academic adviser!

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a great school to get your education started, because it's cheaper than most colleges. Credits transfer almost anywhere too! Teachers and staff help in any way they can; therefore, Ivy Tech cares about your education.