Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ivy Tech Community College-Lafayette Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/23/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone! really just apply to the school!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always look and find the right colllege, dont give up and think you'll never get in you wil, and IvyTech also gives lots of hispanics that opportunity.

    Bang for the buck

    Im not sure what that means i hope it means money , and still being able to go to their college?

    Will enjoy being here

    They make it seem like even though you have low sat scores you have an apportunity to keep going in school, and maybe transfering to a 4 year college.

    Will learn a lot

    Learn about nursing, it the one thing Im very interested in, the school is very close to where I live!

  • 01/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech could be great for any person, any race, and any age and make that extremely clear from day one. In my classes I had students of all race and ages and never once was any singled out. Ivy Tech is great for any student, even if they want to transfer somewhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips i could give would be is to always make it to class, no matter if your late or sick your teachers will work with you if you just show up. Another tip would be take your general classes first and figure out what you would like your major to be and if you would like to stay at Ivy Tech. Another tip I would have is always do your homework, which is a gimmick, but most students slack off their first semester and play catch up the rest.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Ivy Tech was great for the price for each semester. There are a lot of people who say Ivy Tech isn't as good as a State College and i highly disagree. Ivy Tech Students might pay less for tuition but get the same education with more hands on time then a State College. I was great to only have at most twenty to twenty five students in my class, as well as nice to be able to ask questions to my professor during class time. Ivy Tech has great opportunities for financial aid as well as pay plans to help students that need it. Being one of those students I can say it is really helpful.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Ivy Tech because it is a clean environment that has all different types of people. I enjoy being at Ivy Tech because you can walk through the halls and talk to your professors and feel completely comfortable. Ivy Tech always had people on hand to make you feel safe and help you when needed.

    Am learning a lot

    I had great professors and thought Ivy Tech was great with having assistance around if needed such as; tutors for nearly everything and professors that help as much as possible. All of my professors emailed me back within the day when i had questions or concerns. I learned quite a bit in my Comm 102 class, my professor was fabulous and always made the class fun. My English 111 class had a wonderful professor as well; he taught us how writing is extremely important, as well as making class fun.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I once overheard someone mention leaving their laptop and other personal belongings in the student lounge overnight. Everything was still there the next morning.

    Greek Life

    Nothing to speak of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs to join, but you have to look for them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who had a lower GPA in high school, students who live locally, students who want to attend Purdue or Indiana University but are looking to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you're into nerdy hobbies, the campus lounge is a good place to hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable, and most of it is covered by financial aid if you're eligible. Textbooks are a bit pricey.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much in Lafayette, but Indianapolis and Chicago are one and two hours' drive away, respectively. West Lafayette has a decent nightlife, as well.

    Food and Dining

    Once I found a hair in a soup ordered at the on-campus cafeteria. Enough said about that. There is a Dairy Queen 10 minutes' walk away.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't too difficult, but if you pay attention, you'll learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to communicate clearly with your teachers, and consistently attend class. If you have a good attendance rate, everything else will fall into place.

    In three sentences

    With dedicated, caring teachers, a helpful staff, and several on-campus assistance options, Ivy Tech is a nice option for getting your associates or earning credits to transfer to another in-state university.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is security on duty all the time. They walk halls, drive around parking lot and campuse, and also direct traffice when classes let out!

    Clubs and Activities

    There is fitness room and black history.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for ALL students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do have sports teams such as basketball, soccer, and mario kart tournaments. We believe in learning and having a fun time.

    What to do for fun

    I for fun love to play word games such as, scrabble and words with friends.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafeteria to get breakfast, lunch, and even dinner. They are very well kept up on cleaning and yummy food. They also have a vending area.

    Dorm Life

    I do not have dorm living options here at Ivy Tech!

    Academic Rigor

    Be on time to all classes because you might miss something and you do not get to make up quizzes!

    Tips for prospective students

    You should be prepared to become organized and to study a lot! Be sure to always be on time and ready for quizzes! You do not really get a second chance to make up a quiz.

    In three sentences

    I love it here. They are very helpful on EVERYTHING. They also provide all the classed that I need to get my associates degree in Nursing to become an RN!

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to learn. Your teachers are there to help you, so let them help you. And no matter how silly a project seems, do your BEST!

    In three sentences

    It is a school that lets you become acquainted with your professors. A school that helps you get on the right track to your further education. An affordable way to get your basic classes out of the way.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe Area

    Clubs and Activities

    Very informative website of current clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters, and people with a busy lifestyle.

    Bang for the buck

    Credits transfer to many places.

    What to do for fun

    Mall is near by!

    Food and Dining

    Vending Machine/Book Store

    Dorm Life

    I haven't looked into apartments in the area, personally. But this is a commuting school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early!

    In three sentences

    Small Class Size. Good Teachers. Boring Social Life.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has their own security team and system. There is an officer visible on campus and off at all times.

    Greek Life

    There are a few sororities and such but I do not know much about it. I haven't really been able to get involved due to how far away I live from the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs and activities to choose from! I never go because I live a bit away from campus, but there is always something going on here.

    Great for these types of students

    If you have ever wanted a career very badly but haven't had the time, energy, or the money this place is great for your. Or if you don't want to spend much money at a four year to get your pre requisites done, then this is it for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite inexpensive here! Cheaper than any other community college I have seen or heard of. You get great teachers, excellent syllabus, and all the help you could need.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations to pick from here. You could stay busy every day!

    Food and Dining

    They do not have food and dining. It is a community college. Although it is in Lafayette, so there are many places to eat around it.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms at this school. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers have high expectations. They don't want you to slack especially in the online classes. The workload is great but the teachers are helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you meet with your counselor and discuss your future. Set a goal and go with it! Also, make sure you get the best grades possible, for yourself.

    In three sentences

    It is a well rounded school. It offers many different classes and majors. It helps me be able to reach my dreams.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is security around all the time.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is literally always something to do and plenty of clubs to get involved in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really didnt notice anything unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    the bookstore is overpriced . only go there if you absolutely have to.

    What to do for fun

    there are a number of organizations that one can get involved in. There are also events and programs all the time.

    Food and Dining

    There is a big dining/ social area.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms . it is a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips would be to make sure you know where your classes are. Also become affiliated with your professors , they are there to help. If you have a question or concern , don't be afraid to express it.

    In three sentences

    I am extremely happy that i decided to attend Ivy Tech. I enjoy my classes and the people that i attend them with. I also like that i don't have to leave campus

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security can be found pacing through the parking lot at different times throughout the day. Assistance is also available for students who have trouble with their vehicle.

    Bang for the buck

    Courses at Ivy Tech are not as expensive as other courses found in different colleges. This is great for students paying out of pocket partially or completely.

    What to do for fun

    Socializing with new/future students in the lounge/commons area is one of the best things to do on campus. The mall is about 5 minutes from the campus as well as a wide variety of restaurants to choose from. Their are plenty of fun activities to do while being off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not available at Ivy Tech.

    Academic Rigor

    Regardless of where you attend college, one will always find something difficult and challenging when it comes to Academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great Community College to begin a 4 year degree. By starting at Ivy Tech and then transferring credits, a student will be able to save money. Summer classes and online classes are available.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech location is ideal for a wide range of students. It has flexible course schedules, as well as online classes, for working students. Tuition costs are competitive as well as their payment options.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Adequate Security is visibly active at all times.

    Greek Life

    Not common for this type of community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many available.

    Great for these types of students

    Non traditional, seeking second career, returning to education after interruption.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ivy Tech provides open computer labs at many convenient locations

    Bang for the buck

    Financial advisers are readily available. Class related tours are common. There is a convenient bookstore on campus.

    What to do for fun

    You will be living at home, so the sky is the limit.

    Food and Dining

    Minimal accommodations.

    Dorm Life

    Not an option.

    Academic Rigor

    You may progress as fast as you like, including late start (8 week) classes. Tutors are readily available. You may be a distance student, which means studying online.

    Tips for prospective students

    Establish deadlines well as they relate to your educational plan. Understand what is needed to succeed, such as access to a computer with adequate minimum specifications. Use the advisers to match your classes to your real lifetime goals.

    In three sentences

    This is an institution offering a wide variety of 2 year programs Tuition is comparatively very low here and is free to applicants over 60. Their reputation for helping people qualify for and find work is exemplary.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a library next to the campus in Lafayette,IN. Students hang out there. Also There is a mall about 1/2 mile up the road from campus.

    Food and Dining

    They provide discounts for students at some diners and restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech does not provide dorm living.

    Academic Rigor

    The college is a low costing college. The living conditions is on you but they do help out with discounts on certain places.

    Tips for prospective students

    tips: get the beginning process done and FAFSA done as soon as possible Stay focused Take good notes Study

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a chep school for people that have low income. The locations are all over indiana. Ivy Tech provides great help on subjects students need to be tutored in.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech is a very inexpensive school.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech has a good nursing program. The advisors help you out a lot. Ivy Tech works around my schedule.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Its a great place for students fresh out of high school, or people who have had some time off and are looking to finally further their education.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech made my choice easy. It was the only school i could afford to go to at the time.

    What to do for fun

    Ivy tech has many Extracurricular activities to keep students involved with their school. Every week you can find new posters for cal outs of activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria in the main student building.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Ivy tech is a relaxed setting but the expectations of student can be high.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you set up appointments early. Never wait for the last minute to do anything.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Community College runs at a relaxed pace, which makes it easy for any kind of student to further their education. It meets all the standards of a community college while keeping it affordable. I would give the school a three out of five.

  • 09/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many campus activities and clubs to join.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be completed with minimal studying. Others require the amount of time suggested for studying. A majority of instructors and staff are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top any required paperwork to be completed to ensure timely response from Ivy Tech. Pace yourself in the beginning to acclimate to course loads. Some require much more time than others.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is accessible to anyone. They make it easy to try and achieve a degree. Many campuses to choose from for your convenience.

  • 09/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are everywhere, indoors and out you see them often!

    Greek Life

    One club, but it's not a big thing on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Criminal Justice Society, Paralegal Society, Latino Clubs, African American Student Society, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like smaller class sizes, a close knit teacher/student environment, students who can't afford a large university but have dreams to complete a college degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have outdoor seating, and couches spread throughout where wi-fi can be accessed.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that I am able to have a personal connection with instructors in order to have all my questions and concerns dealt with promptly. Which sometimes can be a loss if someone is attending a large university.

    What to do for fun

    Many events, and preferred partner events, such as Latino Festivals etc.

    Food and Dining

    We have Culinary Concepts near the Student Lounge which is run efficiently by students with competitive pricing and pretty delicious options.

    Academic Rigor

    Very academically oriented, very little time spent not learning!

    Tips for prospective students

    It is best to start you financial aid process as soon as possible, so as soon as they post info for you to begin! Take a stand against procrastination, your teachers will notice a difference in your work!

    In three sentences

    I love the small class sizes! The environment always feels safe. The instructors are caring and very knowledgeable.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt unsafe. There are security guards around campus.

    Greek Life

    None, unless you count honor societies like Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of different clubs and activities to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional students, students who want to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Seriously, you can't beat their low tuition rates. It's a quarter of the cost of most 4-year institutions.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved in student activities.

    Food and Dining

    There's only one place to get food on campus (sandwiches, nachos, things like that), and it's okay. Bring your lunch or consider going out to eat.

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter school, and there are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, but most of them are pretty straightforward, and some are downright easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class! Seriously, that's half the battle to doing well. Don't squander your education; skipping class only hurts yourself.

    In three sentences

    I'm very glad I decided to begin my college education at Ivy Tech. Small class size, instructors who actually want to teach, and the fact that I'll obtain an associate's degree with incurring $0 in student debt are reasons why I couldn't be happier with my decision.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Moms, Undecided Students, Two year degrees.

    What to do for fun

    Possibly join clubs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sit down with the counselor and demand they get you the classes that you need and WILL TRANSFER. Get out of there as fast as you can. Unless, you want to do a two year degree then make sure you are on the right path.

    In three sentences

    Although I have had some great encounters meeting amazing professors, I disliked almost everything about this College. I hated the fact that they make you take brush up classes and prolonged you getting started into what you really wanted to do; BIG WASTE OF TIME. This is suppose to be a two year college, not 4.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is outside and inside, they are like ants around sugar.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds, you would have to go on their website and check it out.

    Bang for the buck

    You do get what you pay for, a really good education.

    What to do for fun

    I am a mom with a busy schedule with my 9 year old son. Football in the fall and other school activities though the school year.

    Food and Dining

    school food is expensive

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors do not let you fall behind and they will not pass you if you do not put your personal best forward, you cannot be lazy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early, classes do fill up fast and be prepared for a life changing experience.

    In three sentences

    The instructors want you to succeeded as a student and in your course. I can work my courses around my busy schedule and they help you in any way they can financially.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Great price for a college.

    Food and Dining

    On campus not much to do for food, but the town has a great variety of places to go.

    Dorm Life

    Not really a dorm life since it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging but not as difficult as a school such as Purdue that is in the same town.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always start at a community college. It is a great stepping stone and much cheaper.

    In three sentences

    This is a great place to start to get you prepared to get your 4 year degree. Everyone is friendly at this institution. Also all the teachers are actually trying to help you succeed.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fortunately, this campus is small, people are content and seem to be nice. They have police/ security at the school.Never had any problem, they even have a student who watches for stupid, unsafe drivers and he gives them little violation tickets.

    Greek Life

    Greek life? Well we are all people who are trying to participate in a college. Everyone is Greek when it comes to starting and paying for college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very few and hardly any students participate as far as i am concerned.

    Great for these types of students

    any student looking to transfer or get back into college to pursue bigger and better things, You MUST start here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not really aware of any traditions at Ivy tech. There is a Menards across the street and a Buffalo Wild Wings down the road, and a corn field or two.

    Bang for the buck

    This college was not an option for me. I needed to save money before i attended Purdue and this college got all my general studies out of the way. we all know college is expensive, which is why i am filling out this survey to get a scholarship.

    What to do for fun

    There are a few clubs at Ivy Tech. Personally, i did not join any and i honestly knew no one who was in a club.

    Food and Dining

    Food actually was not terrible. yet, the little cafe, was small, they managed through the line of students every day.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Ivy Tech - Lafayette. this is just a small little community college.

    Academic Rigor

    most professors were nice and would work with you, which was obviously very helpful. Yet, the term, Rigor, may not be the case. Rigor meaning strict for academic success was lacked by most administration at Ivy tech. Mostly, the see you as another student and will only help if you attend their office hours. Which i highly recommend attending.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to push the counselors into setting up meetings. The counselors do not tend to care, to them, you are just another students they must deal with in order to get paid. I would recommend this college to those who are going to transfer or who decide to go back to college after a few years from high school graduation.

    In three sentences

    This school was convenient because it was close to home. The counselors on the other hand did not appreciate the enrolled students unfortunately. Overall, it got me into Purdue and I transferred after a year at Ivy Tech.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have a husband named Adam, who I have been married to for a wonderful year now. I don't regret a minute of it. I have no kids yet, but may have someday in the future. :)

    What to do for fun

    I have a few hobbies that I do around the house in my spare time. I like to scrapbook, I get that from my aunt I think, but its fun. I also enjoy getting out side, and going swimming, and playing games with my husband, Adam.

    Food and Dining

    I have had their cafeteria. They always have good food. If you don't have time to stop and eat they have vending machines that are pretty useful.

    Dorm Life

    There really isn't much dorm life here as it's a community college, most students live off campus. However they do have a location in Lafayette, IN and its near a lot of shopping areas, and not too far from the mall. Also they have a lot of quiet places to study for those many exams.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had some pretty good professors here, and I have to say I like the way they teach. I like that I can take online classes when I need. The is also good tutoring help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say check with your adviser and make sure you have everything ready for classes ahead of time, as it is competitive. If there is a class you need schedule it early so the time you want is reserved. Also make sure all financial aid requirements are met, they sometimes take some time.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Community College is a very competitive community college. However, I had just about anything you need to get you started. If your ready Ivy tech is the place to start.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many groups that you are able to join. They try to make your experience at Ivy Tech as best as they can. I recommend joining at least one group!

    Food and Dining

    Ivy Tech has a good food court, but it does get a bit expensive. I recommend the breakfast more than the lunch.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There are great instructors here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether you attend for a degree or you want to transfer after, do the best you can. Make sure you obtain all the information you learn, you'll need it in the future.

    In three sentences

    It's an excellent starting point for either straight after high school students, or even students who haven't attended school in years. It's a very close net campus, and is much cheaper than a four year university.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They seem to higher a new security guard every week, so they have a good presence, but they would most likely be useless at stopping anyone in a fight. They usually just transport mail around the campus, direct traffic, and tell people to stop smoking.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a good variety and it is growing.

    Great for these types of students

    Non-Traditional and those seeking associate degrees especially in computer and industrial fields. Those that want to transfer to a four year state school in Indiana.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to transfer to a four year college in Indiana this is the place to start. Same credits at a fraction of the price.

    What to do for fun

    There is a mall nearby. Purdue University is in the same town and that's where all the fun is.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafeteria which mostly overly greasy food and over priced, small sandwiches. The eating/sitting area is small and crowded but there are plenty of other places to gather.

    Dorm Life

    This college has not dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of teachers give extra credit and except late work, it depends of the teacher and if they class you are taking transfers to a 4yr school. They now have an honor's program which would offer a good learning atmosphere for those that need class with other smart individuals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class and do the homework. That is how you are gonna learn. Also they have an excellent open tutoring room that is especially helpful for math, Make friends with smart students, they are crucial resources and you will constantly learn from them. This school also has a small but growing club system that you could get involved in.

    In three sentences

    It is a school that is committed to providing skills and knowledge that are directly useful in the workforce. They put students first and tuition last. Most of all they are a school where they cater to non-traditional student needs.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm close to home, how much more fun can you have?!

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines available, pricey, pack your lunch.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of essay papers to write! Internet access is a must have!

    Tips for prospective students

    Explore all your options. Community College is the bad stigma it used to be!

    In three sentences

    They now offer schooling in my hometown of Crawfordsville making it easier for me to attend school. The new campus is awesome & easy to navigate. The teachers are OK.

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a small store where you can buy food. It isn't all that bad. You don't have to eat there though because there are places close to the campus that sell food as well. You are never short on choices.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have a dorm at Ivy Tech. However, there are plenty of apartments in the area that are close to the school. And if you live close to campus already, you don't need an apartment and just commute.

    Academic Rigor

    It may feel like a high school atmosphere at times, but it is quite challenging. They expect your best while understanding that there are other things in life that must be done. Not many other colleges are like that.

  • 11/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never worry about security. There are lots of cameras. Staff and students look out for each other, and security procedures are in place for break ins, severe weather, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    we have a student government volunteer clubs and many more

    Great for these types of students

    low budget students sociable students hardworking students students who love their major and everyone else!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the off branch, WCIC, is sort of unusual. It used to be a medical center and is at the bottom of a hill under an abandoned hospital.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely worth the money! You get a great education at a ridiculously low price. Being a community college saes on money and allows professors to be more personal and teach better.

    What to do for fun

    There are various fun activities from time to time. There have been electronic gaming activities, days to honor America, float building, Easter egg hunts, and more.

    Food and Dining

    Whether at the main campus or at its off-branch, you will never go hungry! there is a great cafeteria at the main campus as well as vendors at both. at the off branch there are great resturants just a short drive or walk away.

    Dorm Life

    There re no dorms, but the main rooms are nice places to study.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes at Ivy Tech can be quite challenging. They are never challenging beyond possibility however!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take IVY 120 seriously, it can help. Take your time finding a major, make sure its the right choice. Anyone can pass if they try!

    In three sentences

    Ivy tech is a wonderful college. It has great professors and classes. They have very high academic standards.

  • 12/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activities always happening on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to sign up for classes quickly because the classroom sizes are small and will fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    They are extremely helpful to new students. The school counselors help guide students in the right direction for their degrees. Extra help resources are always available.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to choose from. check out there website. http://www.ivytech.edu/

    Great for these types of students

    For any type of student, did not do so well in high school, hers a second chance.

    Bang for the buck

    If you want to save money your first year of college then choose Ivy Tech.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of groups and organizations to choose from.

    In three sentences

    I am glad i chose to attend Ivy Tech Community College. I would rate this school 5 out f 5 stars, because everyone in the offices and the rest of the staff is super friendly. The professors are outstanding also.

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see safety cops and patrol people watching the campus making sure everything is working in order and no one is disobeying the rules.

    Greek Life

    Ivy Tech doesn't have a Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a fair amount of activities. I am to busy to be involved in them though or just don't care to join any of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Library right across the campus. The LRC where you can get help any almost any subject. There is always people in their giving up their time to help students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is none that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    It is known for being cheap and saving money. As of right now I am debt free and paying for a car on top of my student fees.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a whole much of anything fun to do their but your studies. Sometimes they will hand out free stuff such as pizza or muffins. Also sometimes they will have a day for free massages.

    Food and Dining

    I have personally never had it but I have heard its pretty good. There are a few places close by that you can drive to and eat. I know someone that worked in dinning there and he said the food was pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at Ivy Tech. But if they did it would be nice and organized. Its a community school for people that are usually older that have kids and jobs.

    Academic Rigor

    It can be challenging but there is always someone to help you out. The teachers are usually very understanding and willing to help you out if you work hard. The extra help has helped me out a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and do not be afraid to ask for help. Keep up your grades. Find people you can become friends with.

    In three sentences

    Its a nice clean school. There is someone always willing to help you. People there are always friendly.

  • 04/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security camera's all around the school. Staff available from open to close.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a few clubs, most are out of the Lafayette School.

    Great for these types of students

    Accounting, Business Management, Nursing and Computer Tech. Any age.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Easter Hunt for students.

    What to do for fun

    We get together have pizza and movie. Lunch and socialize in lobby. Student activities helping the community. Special fun activities for students.

    Food and Dining

    At this time we only have vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    This is dorm free.

    Academic Rigor

    I have to say at my age, just going back to school after 31 years and taking courses new to me, but old to today's student is challenging. I am majoring in Accounting AS, the math was my toughest class. English and Microsoft Office, breezed right through, but other courses are challenging. So challenging I am taking 15 credit hours per term.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students, if your looking for a friendly environment and small to medium size classes. Monticello Ivy Tech is the place. We hold study groups, a few activities inside and outside of school. We all pull together no matter our major or class and help one another to succeed. Our goal is Success. We also have a low class drop as well. We encourage new students to join our team, so we may expand. The more students we achieve the more our classes we will be able to offer.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Monticello has some of the best teachers/professors. Monticello Ivy Tech may be small, too small, yet sufficient to provide student needs. I would have to rate the facility an A for cleanliness and staff. I do feel we should have more student activities as other Ivy Tech Schools.