Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ivy Tech Community College-Northcentral Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an on campus security that makes you feel very safe, and a well lit parking lot. They will walk you to your car at night if you ask them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to participate in like an online blogging one.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults going back, first time college students out of high school getting a feel for college, students who are looking for smaller class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Ivy Tech Culinary Students cook gourmet food for the Annual Event to raise money for Ivy Tech.

    Bang for the buck

    This school will give you everything a traditional college gives you, with more personal attention.

    What to do for fun

    Take a creative writing course, or join a club.

    Food and Dining

    Cheap vending machine food nothing to brag about but very nice cyber cafe. Pack your lunch!

    Dorm Life

    No on college living at this Ivy Tech.

    Academic Rigor

    You will defiantly get your brain waves going!

    Tips for prospective students

    Trust me get a tutor or collaborate in study groups to get through tough courses.

    In three sentences

    I loved Ivy Tech Community College, great teachers, advisors, and fellow classmates. I felt challenged through my courses, but not stressed out from them. I met people just like myself with children, families, and looking to get ahead in life.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There really is no dinning.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy grading scale. Fair grading system. Easy task.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard. Devote your time. Be commited

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a hands on college. The teachers are good. The students are helpful.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Way to expensive.

    What to do for fun

    fish, hunt, work on cars.

    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    none

    Academic Rigor

    ok. They do not provide all that you need for classes such as tools. This is the only Tech school I know that does not do that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for quality schools that offer what you need not what the school needs.

    In three sentences

    There is no work study. Meaning they have no program to place me or any student in a automotive maintenance shop to get work experience.

  • 01/15/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a good education for an affordable rate. Those who want a school to work around your schedule. Ivy Tech offers both morning and night classes making it very convenient for any student no matter what your age, or status in life. Really Ivy Tech is great for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your credits will transfer to wherever you plan on attending next. Ask for an adviser, they will help you out a lot. Be ready to learn and put effort into the classes. Your experience can be great if you make it great. Oh and a little patience with the school and there communication difficulties will go a long way.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech is a great place to get started because of their affordable rates. Even though I didn’t get government aid the school worked with me giving me scholarship money so that all I had to pay for was my books. If you are looking for an affordable college and a place to get your general courses done, then this is the place for you. Another advantage of Ivy Tech is that almost every school will transfer all your credits from Ivy Tech. Just make sure you check with your prospective school before taking classes at Ivy Tech to make sure they will transfer.

    Did enjoy being here

    I really enjoyed most of my classes. It was nice to be at a community college where I already knew people. One reason I enjoyed my classes so much was because of the professors I had, the classes were small enough and they knew every student by name. Most all of my professors not only knew me by name but they took an interest in who I was. I really liked the personal aspect of Ivy Tech. Not every experience was the best, such as communication at Ivy Tech is not good which added some frustrations to figuring out my classes, finances and such.

    Did learn a lot

    Many of the classes were challenging for me and I learned a lot. Others were not so challenging for me. It really depended on what classes you took and who your professor was. I was also able to take online classes which was nice for my scheduling.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for Liberal Arts majors. There is also an extensive amount of classes for those seeking degrees or certificates in the medical areas. I hear the Culinary Arts program is good, too and very competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to do everything as early as possible, register, financial aid,etc. If you are late Ivy Tech will work with you if you ask. By being early filling out financial aid forms, whether you or the school make a mistake it can still be corrected in plenty of time.

    Bang for the buck

    A very good value. The number one reason I am attending Ivy Tech is tuition costs. I will have a bachelor's degree in a year and a half with out borrowing money by working full time and looking for scholarships while going to college.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am comfortable on the campus. A cafeteria would be a nice addition. I really wish there was a golf team. There are no sports at all. The library is great.

    Am learning a lot

    My professors have been interesting and engaging in all of my classes. I have mastered all topics presented in my classes. Time flies in class because the courses are interesting. I fell I am getting a good value for my tuition dollar.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If there is anything you need please feel free to ask an advisor they are very helpful and genuine.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Community College North Central South Bend is a great college. I appreciate the fact that they pride themselves in managing all student affairs properly and organized. I plan on completing my education at this college.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are plenty of security officers but i never see them outside. the lighting at night is not good but rarely has an incident happened.

    Clubs and Activities

    the clubs have a variety of features from live music to dj. reasonable cover (usually $5), but the parking is horendous!

    Bang for the buck

    in this economy, nothing is cheap!

    What to do for fun

    dance clubs, ice skating, theatre performances, karaoke, billiards, wine arts.

    Food and Dining

    normal fast food with a few exceptional restaurants, bars or pubs.

    Dorm Life

    off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    above average to excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    study! manage your time. get involved. choose your major wisely!

    In three sentences

    the professors are exceptional. the curriculum is tough but gratifying. the clubs and extracurricular activities are diverse.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Well lit, staffs, with emergency centers on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa, creative writing, and radio club on its way!

    Great for these types of students

    Just starting out on the college path, or for returning students.

    Bang for the buck

    At approximately $3500 a year, this is a great 2 year school!

    What to do for fun

    Various clubs are available.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines only

    Dorm Life

    No dorms; this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Full time tutoring available five days a week. The professors are all helpful, and will take time to help out of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the IVYT 120 class. You will be taught how to be a good student through study habits and successful attitude. Take advantage of the helpful staff; they are great at learning about you and how they can help.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is great, with personalized teaching and a helpful administrative staff. The campus is expanding, with plans for a culinary division and possibly a radio station and program. Overall, a very personal and helpful campus!

  • 04/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Again, a very safe place. ALWAYS someone around to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not part of any myself, but I am aware they have them.

    Great for these types of students

    Working adults. Also good for students in high school to start taking college courses offered through ivy tech, even while in high school.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy tech is more bang for the buck! Period.

    What to do for fun

    Live life to the fullest!

    Food and Dining

    Ivy tech has an exelent culinary education school. I have tasted and sampled some of the best creations from willing students that want to share what they have learns.

    Dorm Life

    The best. I live at home!

    Academic Rigor

    I have had some challenges just getting started. I would advise to take a college prep course to help you get into a college state of mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid in order first. Spend hours filing out scholarship applications. Chase that degree with gazelle intensity!

    In three sentences

    This has been an excellent choice for me to return to school, at a school that has classes that fit my schedule. My two current instructors have been the best to say the least. It's a clean campus, and its safe.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They love writing parking tickets, that you will never get a fair dispute. Your guilty no matter what. They love chatting while sitting at their desk.

    Great for these types of students

    Someone who never wants a degree just the ability to spend government money and student loans.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have NO ONE to advise you properly on your course of study.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes tuition is cheaper per credit hour for in state student, but that doesn't really matter if you never have a working degree, or ability to graduate.

    What to do for fun

    Go home

    Food and Dining

    If you like vending machines

    Academic Rigor

    Professors who aren't there to teach. Unless you can learn by a teacher reading from power points, you'll spend a lot of money on books, and internet programs that are required for your course but then never utilize them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find another school Waste of money This school doesn't care if you ever graduate, all they want is your money

    In three sentences

    A waste of your time and money, If your there to pick up a general education course to complete a degree at another local college you'll probably be okay, just be sure that the credit transfers, because many reputable colleges in town don't always recognize Ivy Tech college classes as sufficient for their programs

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many stations through out the parking lot that are there to provide assistance in case of emergency. There are also security officers who patrol the building.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and lectures that Ivy Tech offers. They also have a job fair that comes once a year which is very helpful to those who need help getting through school financially.

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines in many places around the campus. They also have drinking fountains.

    Dorm Life

    There is not dorms at the campus I attend.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very informational but require much outside work to do well! Your teachers also provide you with the tools you need to succeed in the field of study you are going into by providing opportunities to do internships and get the experience that you need. The IVY 101 class provides you with help on figuring out what your strengths are so you can be more confident in your field of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to prospective students is to make sure you go to your first classes of the semester or you will be dropped from some of them. I have seen so many times where students have not realized this beforehand and have been very upset that they were dropped from the class.

    In three sentences

    It is a very clean school where the teachers really seem to care. The classes are much smaller than other colleges in the area, making it easier to learn without much disruption. Another aspect I like is how much closer to home my school is because it makes transportation much more easy.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech is a community college, so in turn it is cheaper then other colleges.

    Food and Dining

    There are only vending machines here, but they are looking into a vendor to serve food in the student lounge.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm here at Ivy Tech.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't experienced any difficulties.

    Tips for prospective students

    Campus Connect is a very helpful tool for you to utilize. All important dates are on the student callendar.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a great college to attend. The staff of advisers and employees are so helpful to make sure that students succeed. Without the help of the staff here, I'm not sure if I would know what I was needing to do next.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never seen security patrol the parking lots. The only time I've ever seen security at this school is one time in front pf the office. He was a very old man which I'm sure if something were to happen he wouldn't be of any assistance.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivytech is a boring school. It seems as if all the ghettos attend this school just to receieve money. The classes aren't challenging enough and some of the professors seem to lack the education that should be needed to teach there.

    What to do for fun

    I've seen post that there are some student activities but I rarely seen any groups in person.

    Food and Dining

    There is a large room filled with vending machines but other than that no hot food is offered to students.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this school.

    Academic Rigor

    I ended up with a professor who I later questioned his education. He was suppose to be a law professor but couldn't spell and failed to make our class a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    I reccommend purchasing your books online as soon as you sign up for classes. The book store is always packed in the beginning of the semester which makes it almost impossible to purchase books becasuse of the amount of students waiting in lines. Try and sign up for classes where the professor is well known. You might end up with someone that you may not like.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I was truely worried about having night classes here but it is more than safe! There is always security on campus and there are plenty of lights on at night. The buliding also has security cameras and is never left empty unitl everyone has left safely.

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for a student that is more reserved or who does not want to move away from home yet. This is a place where people do not judge others and you can go home when your done with class! You do not have to be stuck at school for years!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At my campus I like going to the cafe during the breaks we have in class, espically when I have night classes! The Student Lounge is nice too. We can get on the computers, study, etc. before, after, or in between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech is a great place to go to college for less but also get an excellent education. I've learned so much just in the past three years. Another plus is that they will help with interviewing skills, etc before going into the workforce. I've never heard of another college that offers that for free!

    What to do for fun

    There are several activities, events and clubs that are offered at Ivy Tech. There is at least one going on every single week. We are aware of anything that is going on through our E-mail, which is great!

    Food and Dining

    Ivy Tech is more of a place to have class. They have vending machines and a Cafe that is excellent. Most students can get food before or after classes or bring thier own food to eat.

    Dorm Life

    In the Northcentral region, Ivy Tech does not offer dorm life. We all commute. However, it is nice to have a life other than colllege or if one has a family.

    Academic Rigor

    It is nice to be able to have a smaller classroom with less students. Having a one-on-one experience with the professor is great. This has helped me realize that I am a more hands on learner.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ivy Tech is great if you want a more hands on learning experience. The professors are great and are more than willing to help you during classes when needed. If you are looking for a college that is small and want to graduate fast, Ivy Tech is the one!

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech offers many wonderful things to their students. Professors are great and more than willing to help one succeed! Classes are smaller with more of a hands on experience that is fun and exciting!

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for non traditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheaper if you are paying out of pocket.

    Food and Dining

    we are suppose to be getting a cafeteria in about 2 years i think

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    My classes are challenging but I love every minute of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sit down with an advisor before doing your schedule.

    In three sentences

    If you need a degree quickly, this is the school for you. It's cheap and the advisors are very helpful. The professors are nice and they do understand that sometimes life happens and will help you in anyway they can to assure you get your degree.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Many security posts around the parking lot and the security guards will even escort you to your vehicle. If you have problems with a certain person or persons, if you let them know they will keep an eye out with a description of the person, for example; domestic violence issues.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't really participated in much but there is a lot offered.

    Great for these types of students

    Working and students with children

    Bang for the buck

    Extremely affordable compared to other colleges plus they have so many free services that many other colleges charge for, again, the main one being tutoring.

    What to do for fun

    There are many campus activities. At the end of August they had a free cookout.

    Food and Dining

    They have a nice vending area.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I really depends on the classes you take, but teachers are helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete your FAFSA before you do anything. Communicate with the schools faculty, if the person you speak to doesn't know the answer they will direct to someone who does, everybody is extremely helpful.

    In three sentences

    I love the teachers, they seem to really care as if we are truly part of their family. The rest of the staff is ready and willing to help. They offer many free services with the main one being free tutoring.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    In three sentences

    Its a very nice campus. The people are nice.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had an experience where I felt unsafe on campus. There are security guards on campus and the campus is not that far from the local police department.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't joined any clubs, yet, but I do intend to. I want to connect with as many people in my field as possible.

    Great for these types of students

    I am not sure what is being asked...great for these types of students.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a 41 year old, single mother of two, who has decided to return to school. I've always wanted to major in Hospitality Management, but never stepped out on faith. I am believing in myself and God. I don't want to go through life saying, If I had....

    What to do for fun

    What do I do for fun? Well, when I have time, I enjoy reading murder/mystery books, bowling, baking and spending time with my family.

    Food and Dining

    Ivy Tech is in the process of adding on to their cafeteria and I know it will be awesome.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Study, study, study and when you think you've done all you can....study more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seek out as many scholarships as possible, and let loans be a last resort.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is the only local school that offers Hospitality Management. So, I am truly grateful for that. I also love the flexibility of taking on line and/or face to face classes.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In between classes my classmates and I have a 1 hour break and the art hallway on the second floor is usually the quietest for studying or killing time.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty cheap for tuition considering the surrounding schools and universities, but books will get you every time at every school. So, buy online or rent if you can.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on! Bake sales, movie nights, day trips, you name it. Just check your e-mail.

    Food and Dining

    Not really much of it. There are vending machines and the such, but the school is undergoing some remodeling right now as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others as with any school and with any student. Credits are pretty easily transferrable and worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get overwhelmed too quickly. Don't think that because it's a community college it isn't hard, or as hard as a university. Get involved!

    In three sentences

    More personal student-teacher atmosphere. Staff is willing to go the extra mile. Career fast track if you're willing to push yourself and give it all you've got.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join one of the many clubs or participate is some of the social events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not waste your time of the professors. Be sure of what you want to achieve.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small but expanding to include a cafeteria. All of my teachers are friendly and are glad to help when needed. It is very easy to meet new friends.

  • 10/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security officer around somewhere if anyone needs it. I always feel completely safe when I'm here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities going around everywhere.

    Great for these types of students

    Older people who want to go back to school, or start a new school, or earn some kind of degree. Students who prefer a more direct way of learning. Students who prefer small classes over larger ones.

    Bang for the buck

    Study groups, tutoring, theater, new cafe, whatever else, it's all completely worth coming here, even if it's just for one semester or one year. It's completely affordable and you wouldn't be wasting your time here at all. For a community college this school is completely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs here anyone can join. They also have theater groups you can join so you can help out with plays that they put on. There's also things you can enter for fun or for any reason. There are always fliers about something going on around here that you can join, like morning yoga and such.

    Food and Dining

    With the new remodeling and such they made a cafe that's run by the culinary program here. The food they serve is always fresh, and if it's not you can request for fresh food to be made and they'll make it for you. It's nice and clean and a lot better tasting than some other college foods.

    Dorm Life

    I don't believe they offer dorms here, but I'm not 100% sure since I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    The staff and classes here are pretty superb, as apposed to some other colleges I've been to. A lot of the professors know what they're talking about and know how to teach a class in the most appropriate manner. There's tutoring if anyone ever needs it, and the professors also offer one-on-one time for anyone that really needs the help or is really falling behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that Ivy Tech has your major. The college is small and inexpensive, but always make sure that you have all your financial aid and the such figured out ahead of time. It's very easy to do and talking with someone about financial aid is very easy. Make sure you talk to an advisor about what your major is, what your goals are, and whether or not you plan to transfer to a bigger school in the future. The advisors are very helpful and can guide you through whatever questions you have about the school. Last, make sure that you explore the school before the start of classes, or just to tour it. It's a nice school and there are a lot of places that exist around here that you might not have noticed by just walking in and out.

    In three sentences

    The school is rather small and quaint, but the with the new remodeling it's a lot better than what it had been before. The classes are small which means teachers care for the students a lot more, which is perfectly fine by anyone who likes the small class sizes and more face-to-face time with teachers and such. The classes are pretty good, a lot better than some classes I had taken at other colleges; they're easy to follow along with and the teachers are very knowledgeable and friendly and you can very well tell that they care about what they're doing.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Clean campus. Nice views

    Great for these types of students

    older people who want to get a late start in education

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Always have to walk in the main doors and greet the guys at the front desk

    What to do for fun

    play sports and go to church

    Food and Dining

    foods good

    Dorm Life

    live off dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you call them dont wait for them to call you

    In three sentences

    I liked walking around campus. New people tp meet. Great advisors that will get you where you need to be

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of security guards driving around the lots to ensure vehicle safety and also guards inside. It's great to know there's always someone there.

    Great for these types of students

    As I mentioned before you will meet a huge variety of people at ivy tech!

    Bang for the buck

    The reason I liked this school south is the price per semester. With the help of financial aid I was able to attend without paying anything out of pocket.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of plays and lectures you can attend on and off campus. Just now they are holding Halloween, on campus, parties for students, faculty and their families. There always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Ivy tech has just recently opened a new cafeteria and I love it. The hours are perfect and they email you the specials of the day every morning, it's awesome.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy tech does not offer on campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at ivy tech can be challenging to some and easy or others. I find the work load tolerable and I admire the hours our teachers and tutors put in to help us when we need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    One top I would pass along to new students is to stay up with the current work load! I fell behind and it is extremely hard to catch back up, so stay focused and do your best.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is an awesome way to meet people from all around the world! In just one class I met a woman from Iraq, two people from Africa and many people with situations you never thought you'd did at a school. Not only are the students great but the professors are amazing as well.