Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ivy Tech Community College-Northeast Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great place to begin....

    Am learning a lot

    All instructors, thus far, have been very helpful and are passionate about their students learning

  • 10/12/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Because they desrave it

    Tips for prospective students

    Can be honor roll students

    Bang for the buck

    Willing to work With a good a attude.

    Will enjoy being here

    Because it is in my own state fort Wayne In

    Will learn a lot

    Because It is a great college, and the professors are well prepard.

  • 10/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    small campus, dont want to live on campus, online classes and on the campus courses

    Tips for prospective students

    dont give up on your hopes of not being able to get in to a school, eventually when you least expect it a college will contact you, just keep your head up and stay positve, dont get frustrated when you make your schedule it all work out in the end :)

    Bang for the buck

    tution is high no matter where you go

    Am enjoying being here

    great atmosphere

    Am learning a lot

    learning a lot

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they take the safety of their students very seriously!

    Great for these types of students

    beginning students should definitaly look into attending ivy tech community college

    Bang for the buck

    wonderful education for the prices per class! it doesn't get much better than this for such a great educational experience!

    What to do for fun

    possibilities are endless for fun activities to do around campus. there are offices at harshman hall and the main campus coliseum campus that will lead you in the right direction if you wish to get involved in extra-curricular activities.

    Food and Dining

    considering this is a community college, i would give them props for the food options they offer.

    Dorm Life

    not applicapable

    Academic Rigor

    professors are fabulous at helping you find your direction as well as getting you on the right path for your career choice.

    Tips for prospective students

    punctuality is always important! whether it is with your homework assignments or just being to class on-time. leaving class early should never be an option. i have found the teachers and professors wait until the end of class to give the most important details for the next class or upcoming exam. missing class with a prior notice to the professor is not as frowned upon i have come to learn. if you are going to have attendance issues, understand this is not high school, the teachers will not hold your hand through it. you need to be responsible and take responsibility for your own actions regardless whether they are in good faith or not.

    In three sentences

    ivy tech is a wonderful beginner college. i would not suggest it for an individual that knows exactly what they want to do with their life in regards to their career path. this is more of a college for a required a.s degree for a career one is already in or for someone that has no clue where they want to go in life and desires to go to college immediately.

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    fort wayne has a array of things to do! movies, plays, museums, laser tag, paint ball, mini golf! something to do every weekend without getting bored of the same old routine!

    Food and Dining

    everything is within minutes of ivytech. right down the road you have your pick from steak houses, italian, chinese, burgers, etc... also the mall is just down the road which makes it easy to shop!

    Dorm Life

    dorms are mixed with ipfw which is right across the road, and they have a free bus system just for the two schools. so you get to become friends with a dynamic of people. they just built three or four new buildings... completely furnished! extremely nice!

    Academic Rigor

    academically you basically get what you pay for. although there are always those teachers who go the extra mile, so do your homework and ask around to see if your upcoming teachers have that extra umph. if not switch classes to a better known teacher!

    Tips for prospective students

    get to an advisor asap, but also do your homework on what it takes for transfers, and what other schools require if you do transfer. it makes your time more efficient so you are not doing classes for nothing. also if you are interested in a certain field, ask your advisor if classes in that field count as your elective. for example, i want to one day have a transitional home for addicted women. i am enrolled in the human services associates program, but for my elective i took all classes relating to substance abuse. when i transfer, those credits are used towards my masters in substance abuse counseling.

    In three sentences

    if your looking for a school with diversity and an affordable start to your degree, here is the place to start. whether you are fresh out of high school, or coming back after years of not being in school, you will find something to be a part of. free tutoring, study groups, online help, etc.... ivy tech goes above and beyond to help you succeed!

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    4 out of 5

    Great for these types of students

    Students that do to have a great deal of money.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am getting a solid education for an exceptional price. I plan on receiving a two year degree at this college and then transferring my credits to a four year school. 5 out of 5

    What to do for fun

    The college provides outside activities that students can attend.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been very happy with the education I have received so far. 5 out of 5

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't think this college is a blow off university. You really have to study.

    In three sentences

    I am attending Ivy Tech Junior College while completing my high school degree. The university has challenged me, as well as, provided me with teachers that take an interest in me. The admissions office has also guided me through the entire college process.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security on duty.

    Greek Life

    Not sure about this one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said before, anything from the paranormal club to film club, theres an endless amount of clubs to join!

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is for students who are low income and want an education. It is also for those who want a great education for a reasonable price.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I know each month is a different history month. There has been fashion shows, or an impersonator will perform every now and then. This year was a Ce-lo Green impersonator.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    You can definitely search the net when you are not in class and socializing with other students is definitely a must. Ivy Tech has certain clubs, and random activities throughout the week. Anything from film clubs to religious clubs to paranormal clubs. There is something for everybody!

    Food and Dining

    Ivy Tech has a few cafe's where the culinary students work at. It is a great way to get them involved for their future careers.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors want to push you to your limit and help you succeed. However, success will only be dependent on rather or not you want to succeed. You definitely do not get babied because every decision you make is completely up to yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT PROCRASTINATE!! Study hard.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a great way for people who are from low income families to afford a higher education. Ivy Tech has helped me gain closer access to my dream of becoming a teacher. They provide a free shuttle service for students who struggle with gas money or for those who do not drive.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    both parts of the campus have security offices so it's very safe there.

    Food and Dining

    the cafes in the student life center and the main campus both have very good food; sometimes there are long lines but they move fairly fast.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on the actual campus; you would have to go to ipfw dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    very good academics

    Tips for prospective students

    avoid the english composition teacher with the last name beard, but the composition teacher paula ashe is an amazing teacher and she actually enjoys what she does and enjoys helping her students. be sure to take the new student seminar because the class will give you good advice with how to manage your school money and ways of finding scholarships (very much worth the long class times).

    In three sentences

    ivy tech needs to work on it's english department. i enjoy the financial aid options at ivy tech. ivy tech gives a lot of financial aid to it's students which helps a lot with anything a student would need to pay for.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    if you are feeling discouraged your professors are there to help you. dont miss out on an awesome way to help your grade, take advantage of free tutoring offered by ivy tech!

    In three sentences

    ivy tech and its professors have helped me reach my goals and keep me on track. i am very pleased with my successes so far. i look forward to continuing my education with them in the next few years.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will find patrol quite frequently. They are constantly on the hunt for parking violations.

    What to do for fun

    Yoga, biking, movies, mall, sports, quite a bit to do.

    Food and Dining

    Their is food everywhere. Every street every for corner. It is in a a city population of about 250,000.

    Dorm Life

    Again there are no dorms but if you are going to the four year university they have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    With the teachers I have experienced many of the have PhD or come from a university. Not all are this way, I have just been fortunate.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is somewhat of a campus life, with groups and activities to join. Across the street is the four year university which is intermixed with many student taking classes at both schools.

    In three sentences

    Ivy tech is a good school for those who work, have families, or just not into a big campus. Ivy tech is a two year college that makes it easy to transfer credits to a four year. Ivy tech continues to grow and expand making more options available with each year.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes I feel like the security officers move slower than cold molasses running up hill. However, they are good at giving out tickets.

    Greek Life

    Nope.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have Student Government who puts on activities every now and then. Not very often though.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't have much money and are willing to work hard to pursue the career of their dreams.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think they have any. At least not that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally don't care for Ivy Tech. That is why I am transferring to Liberty University this coming fall. I feel like Ivy Tech is a great choice for someone who doesn't have much money.

    What to do for fun

    If you have time between classes to spare you can always drive five minutes down the road to The Glenbrook Mall. There are also Starbucks' all over town and The Firehouse Cafe is always a good choice. Ivy Tech also offers lounges which include couches and chairs for students to sit in. They are pretty comfortable too.

    Food and Dining

    The Ivy Tech Cafe's are student run and always offer good food. It's usually pretty cheap too. If you don't like their food at the cafe you can always get food out of the many vending machines all around campus. They even offer headphones in the vending machines! I thought that was convenient for someone who needed some headphones last minute.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech does not offer on campus living. IPFW (the college across the street) does offer for Ivy Tech students to stay in their dorms. I have heard very nice things about these dorms, however they are VERY expensive to stay in.

    Academic Rigor

    It's kind of a gamble with Ivy Tech. They do not always have professors who have a great subject knowledge of what they are teaching. Sometimes you will get a professor who knows what they are talking about but doesn't know how to portray the information to the students. It's kind of hot-or-cold with Ivy Tech. Although I will say that I have had some of the best professors of my life there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to take on the work load. You have got to be prepared to take on a lot of work as a college student. This includes putting aside time to study and do big projects. Another thing is that since Ivy Tech does not offer on campus living you should be prepared to deal with the traffic while commuting to class.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Community College-Northeast is not the best college out there. However, they do provide a relatively cheap education to those who are willing to work for it. I would recommend Ivy Tech to anyone in the Fort Wayne are who is looking for a cheap route to getting a degree.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you choose, the school may text you with whether and other safety issues.

    Great for these types of students

    -Students planning on getting into the workforce faster; -Cheap students; -Students who wants to transfer; -Returning students; -Students not prepared for a more challenging school; -Students not prepared for college yet (Ivy Tech does offer classes to level your knowledge in case you forgot or did not get enough in High School)

    Bang for the buck

    Best deal around!

    Food and Dining

    I prefer to bring food from home because I am cheap. There are some options I like in their restaurant, though.

    Dorm Life

    I do not use this service!

    Tips for prospective students

    Great place to get affordable general education or associates degree

    In three sentences

    This school is embracing and offers a lot of extra help for those who struggle and want to make a difference on their career. Most teachers are very supportive and knowledgeable. It is a great, affordable option for those who want to transfer, because anything you study here does transfer to another school in Indiana.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, cannot recall any crime at all on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Has all the traditional and some non-traditional college clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Bang for the buck

    Great educational value at Ivy Tech.

    What to do for fun

    You name and I will perhaps try it.

    Food and Dining

    Two campuses in Fort Wayne and both have great cafes.

    Dorm Life

    Is available, but I live off campus and cannot give any knowledge out about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    That really depends up on your study habits.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a top notch campus and the adm is very willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    I am very please with the traditional classroom experience that I have had at this campus since 12/2010

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    not positive, I wasnt a part of any

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    You get SO much for your dollar. It costs about $1500 for a semester of classes here (full time), while at other places it can cost $25,000 a semester (at least for culinary)

    What to do for fun

    For fun, you can join clubs or organizations associated with your degree program.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining are awesome, considering you make all your food here. I got to taste foods from all over the world and eat thousands of dollars worth in food (caviar, calamari, truffles [mushroom], and other exotic foods)

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at Fort Wayne. However, most people attending here are living pretty close.

    Academic Rigor

    It wasnt so much academic as it was hands-on, on the job training kind of thing. Yes, some classes was more book work than others. But the majority of classes is all lab time, which is the huge chunk of your grade. This program is meant for people who love food and are willing to remember their studies in the kitchen, not on paper.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely look into this for Culinary Option, as well as Baking. The program varies between 1 and 3 years depending on what you do and if you go full time or not. This was an amazing experience.

    In three sentences

    I went to Ivy Tech for the Culinary/Baking program. I loved it here, the staff was amazing. The teachers knew exactly what they were doing and I learned tons of new techniques and developed a new taste and sense for food.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Begining collage students, returning to education students anyone who wants to save money while getting a great education

    What to do for fun

    Check out The campus entertainment there's alot of fun things they do. funraisers, community help, Free hockey tickets, movie night.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep working hard, Study and you will go further at Ivy tech state College

    In three sentences

    This campus and it's professor has help me get to my educational endeavors using compassionate care and concern. I have gone further and faster because of the educational strengh they have given me I am very greatful for them.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fort Wayne has a lot to offer! Check out some of the parks around town.

    Food and Dining

    good snack shacks

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    You learn what you need to without adding complications.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a good advisor and if you are torn between majors, take classes that would apply to both, so you aren't wasting any money.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech has been very helpful. The staff explains things thouroughly and makes sure that I understand everything I need to. For a new college student, this is one of the best things about Ivy Tech.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at the campus. There is check in spots at every door and there are officers checking for student ID badges.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone. I have had awesome teachers in every area. They have helped me more in one year then other places have in multiple years. Its also ideal for the working person. The school is all about you. You pick what you want and you go at your speed.

    Bang for the buck

    I have attended other schools and they have been double the price with no where near as much flexablility and one on one fromt he teachers. I can choose online classes that I can do when ever and where ever, which makes my life less stressful and makes my grades better.

    Food and Dining

    Thankfully there is a dinning area where I can get snacks or a meal. This is great becuase I usually rush to schoool right after work.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure how to rate this one. There is no dorm at the one I attend.

    Academic Rigor

    I enjoy all my teachers. They are very knowledgeable and helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have to work or have a family already this is the school to go to. They understand you have other responsibilities and go at your speed. Plus they are affordable.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech has great teachers that are very helpful. They offer all kinds of classes in several different ways. They really help you fit school in around work and life.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Ivy Tech does not hold much fun activities for students in the summer semester, but throughout the fall and spring term there are many of events students can take part in. They give free or reduce prices on events happening in the area as well as information on what is happening throughout the semesters at Ivy Tech.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Ivy Tech is fair. They don't have much variety, the list of the foods they are serving never changes, but they do have low price with great quality and quantity. Food is not like other larger colleges or universities.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech is a community college so they do not have dorm living for students, but if you wanted to live in a dorm then you can apply with IPFW-Fort Wayne housing. IPFW housing is really nice; although, the rates are high if you considered living alone.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Ivy Tech Community College-Fort Wayne is an EXCELLENT school. Teachers care about students success academically and understanding courses. Professors take time and put effort into their students. At Ivy Tech in Fort Wayne, it is not all about teachers pay.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students coming to Ivy Tech Community College-Fort Wayne I would recommend researching it first and making sure that you are truly interested in a smaller college. Also, I suggest registering for classes early because they fill up fast as well as being on time with Financial Aid.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a wonderful college for students who are looking for a college smaller and more one on one time with teachers. This college successfully focuses on what is important throughout students college lives and being as helpful as possible. Ivy Tech Community College is college of diversity!

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The classes are smaller with most professors wanting to have interaction with their students. This kind of atmosphere is great for students that want or need more personal attention.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that Ivy Tech was a good way for me to return to school after so many years. I think the education I received provided excellent foundational material for me to continue to a Bachelor's Degree.

    What to do for fun

    I am a member of the Rabid Panda Film Club. I don't know what other activities are available on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is a place to purchase food on each campus. Coliseum Campus is home to the culinary arts school so sometimes they have specials on lunches.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms. I don't think Ivy Tech CC Northeast even has dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Not all classes will have the same degree of difficulty. Those classes easy for one student will be more difficult to other students. Do not compare yourself with others. Just keep striving to improve yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a goal in mind when you speak with the counselor with your Major. Then keep track of your classes and what is required for yourself, do not rely on someone else. Try your hardest to achieve your goal by doing your best. If you need help in a particular area, do not be afraid or ashamed or embarrassed to ask for it. Everyone needs help from time to time.

    In three sentences

    I had great professors for the most part. When I needed help with anything I was able to get advice and tutoring. Although the campus is split into two locations it is simple to get to classes by bus, car, or bicycle.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel it is a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any greek life, to my knowledge.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs, and things to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for everyone, in my opinion.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable in comparison to many other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There is a great baseball stadium, the mall, bowling, and skating. You can pretty much find the same fun things to do as you would anywhere else.

    Food and Dining

    It is probably about five minutes or less from so many restaurants, and the mall, which has the food court.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms, but I've seen them they are very nice and affordable.

    Academic Rigor

    It is as tough as 4 year colleges. You have to do the work, and be responsible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to put in the work, and do a lot of studying.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice and clean college. The staff in the offices and the professors are friendly. It is a great environment for learning.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I live in the area so this is not applicable.

    Dorm Life

    I live in area so this is not applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel the Academic Curriculum was easy to understand. They give you electives to choose from that makes it able to fit your needs and availability.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to review all the innformation out on the website and make an appointment with the Admissions Office.

    In three sentences

    Iv Tech is an affordable local college for a working parent to go back to school. Ivy Tech has a simple process to enroll in college. Ivy Tech offers a wide range of programs for anyone to choose as their next career path.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While there is security personnel available at each campus, that never fully ensures your safety. I have a friend who was mugged and hospitalized during a night class at north campus. A man tried stealing her purse and upon fighting back the man attacked her and broke her back from the beating. Years later she still suffers from pain, anxiety, and panic attacks from the attack. While Ivy Tech has cameras available, they were turned off during this circumstance and her attacker was never caught. Putting me in fear of going to the North campus alone.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel you get more bang for your buck in general education classes and possibly other programs available. Being a nursing student close to graduation, I do not feel I am getting more bang for my buck by choosing the community college route. They need more assistive personnel within the program to keep things better on track and much more organized. Being so severely unorganized within the program greatly affects my education.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of fun to be involved in around the fort wayne area no matter what your budget. I would recommend checking out http://www.visitfortwayne.com/things-to-do.aspx for a list of things to do in fort wayne.

    Food and Dining

    There is on-campus food and dining both at the main campus as well as north campus. There is Kelty's cafe and Blue Bamboo Cafe that are always available and the culinary students present a special menu each week that is cheap as well. There are also plenty of places around fort wayne close to campus for dining.

    Dorm Life

    Although Ivy Tech does not offer on-campus living, there is very nice student housing offered for Ivy Tech students across the street through IPFW. There is also many students always looking for roommates off-campus. I therefore cannot give a proper rating for dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective nursing student, take your general education courses here if you must, but I recommend going to a UNIVERSITY. Now days, unless you plan to work in a doctors office, you will need a Bachelor's degree anyhow so you might as well save your time a frustration of community college and go through with a 4-5 year Bachelor's degree. You will spend at least 3-4 years getting your associate degree with this route.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Northeast is a great college for general education while preparing for nursing school. Most professors, both general and nursing, are very knowledgable and helpful in teaching and aiding you through your class. However, the nursing program itself is extremely unorganized and even though you get a cheaper education, I do not believe I am getting more for my money by going through their program.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Ivy Tech Northeast is well lit, police monitored, and has several emergency posts that will dial for help. Safety has never been an issue when I've been there.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek life I know of on campus is Phi Theta Kappa, the honors society for 2 year colleges.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't many clubs or activities on campus. Most activities are run by the Student Government and consist of free pizza and some kind of career fair in the gym.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who would like to earn an associates that will transfer to a larger university for a bachelor's degree.

    Bang for the buck

    I think Ivy Tech Northeast is amazingly priced and really focuses on your education. It's easy to make friends on campus, however, there's not much to do on campus. Also to note, campus life is immensely more difficult without a vehicle.

    What to do for fun

    Most things to do for fun are around town instead of on campus, though student life is improving with occasional student movie nights on campus. Typical nightlife can be found in Fort Wayne.

    Food and Dining

    Available on campus are Kelty's Cafe on Coliseum campus and the Blue Bamboo Cafe in the Student Life building (North Campus). Both offer typical burger, fries, coffee, and random specials. The food isn't bad, but is slightly overpriced without much variety.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms Ivy Tech Northeast utilizes are shared with Indiana Purdue Fort Wayne. They are located between North Campus and Coliseum Campus and are available on the Campus Connect bus route for free with your Student ID card. Dorms have a key-fob entry to get into the residential part of the building and are set up apartment style with 2 to 4 bedrooms with its own bathroom (1 roommate per bedroom) sharing a common living room and kitchen.

    Academic Rigor

    I find that the classes at Ivy Tech Northeast are much the same as when I went to Ball State University or Indiana Purdue Fort Wayne, however, the classes are smaller with more individualized attention to make sure you really learn your material. This doesn't make the material any easier, but there are plenty of opportunities for study support on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have enough time to get to your next class when you're signing up for your next semester. The travel time between Coliseum Campus and North Campus is 10 to 30 minutes depending on traffic and whether you're riding campus connect bus or not. Also, don't procrastinate studying even if it seems like an easy week. Towards midterms, things kick into high gear and race until the end.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Northeast is a great, fast-track to a degree that will place you in a career. The campus has been updated, the curriculum has grown immensely, and there's a better student life available than when I first attended in 2003. I like Ivy Tech much better than when I attended IPFW.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the most part I feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Not bad.

    Clubs and Activities

    I play rugby for IPFW.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone with a busy schedule and with not much time to do school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many places to study that you can only find if you do some exploring.

    Bang for the buck

    I said that a few sentences up. I am not in debt and have been here for almost two years.

    What to do for fun

    I work out for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad but not out of the ordanary

    Dorm Life

    no experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized and that will help you stay motivated.

    In three sentences

    Ivy tech is a college that gives you your bang for your buck. I have taken many classes and not put myself in debt. I am satisfied with this school.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am just starting so everything is fun.

    Food and Dining

    I have not dined at the college yet.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in online classes, but I attend all functions I can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend time getting to know your college layout before school starts.

    In three sentences

    I love this college. They have treated me with respect all the way. They helped me any time I needed.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not good for this experience

    Great for these types of students

    Starting off/beginner

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    What to do for fun

    I am not sure but there are many trip opportunities for rock bottom rates!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't borrow more funds than needed.

    In three sentences

    Ivy tech is a very cost efficient school. This school is a great opportunity to pursue higher education and if you are interested the school will prepare you for a bachelor degree.

  • 06/02/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    greater bang for your buck. Its gonna be one of the most affordable options for a certificate or associates degree.

    What to do for fun

    I have no idea. Explore Fort Wayne. Connect with other students.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafeteria with limited selections, but it does the job in a pinch.

    Dorm Life

    I believe the only dorm life to speak of is if you rent from the dorms on the IPFW campus. And I can't really speak from experience on those.

    Academic Rigor

    This is no ivy league. But its not a walk in the park either, you still have to attend class and maybe pay attention. For some it may be way too easy, and for others they will find it a challenge. And in the end any school will be as fulfilling and challenging as you let it be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask lots of questions. Know what you want from your college experience and compare it to what you learn about this school.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a great school for the price. If you need a degree quickly and are just interested in getting into the workforce this is the school for you. Its also an affordable way to earn credits cheaply before transferring to a school for the last half of a four year degree.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't care so much about partying, but rather grades.

    What to do for fun

    There is a wellness center and library on campus, but more fun things to do off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep in contact with your advisor. If you plan to transfer to a different college, take the courses recommended and needed only by that school, not IVY Tech. Also, make sure the classes you take at Ivy Tech will transfer!

    In three sentences

    Overall, Ivy Tech is an amazing school! Fun, passionate, and caring teachers with informational and insightful courses. The campus isn't too big, so it's easier to find your way around and keep in touch with previous classmates, compared to other schools.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A safe and secure campus environment is a high priority at Ivy Tech Community College. It is a shared responsibility between the students, administration, and the Campus Police. The very first thing I looked for when viewing this college. This statement I can say is true.

    Greek Life

    There are a couple that are known on campus Kappa Beta Delta and Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society. I am not apart of them myself but I have heard good things about the students that are. There will be information about certain activities that they sponsor.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have clubs were you can meet new people and study partners. The clubs include chest club, college bible study, culinary club , circle K club and many more. You could really use your talents in these clubs and learn new things.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for student who have jobs and are trying to stay students, Students who have children they offer childcare while in class, and returning students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any unusual traditions or locations that I know of. There is a computer lab that students go to study and some time hangout. Again I haven't heard of any if you find out let me know. =)

    Bang for the buck

    The campus courses are not that expensive compared to others. a lot of students like this and eventually transfer after the expensive classes are paid for. They offer programs for this.

    What to do for fun

    The school is always having free workshops and activities for students. If you have a little extra cash there is a movie theater close by campus and a shopping center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok but there are plenty of fast food places students stop at. I believe in packing a lunch or snack to save money and time. There are plenty of students who enjoy the food.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms I believe are safe there has not been any reports of issues. I personally live off campus. Some students say treat it like a place to live and STUDY STUDY STUDY not a party town.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is very serious about academics. It has polices that must be followed to help you stay on track. I would advice talking to the advisors frequently.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do you homework on this college see will this school offer you want you need to get where it is you want to go. YOU PAY THE SCHOOL!!!!

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech in Fort Wayne has came a long way since I started in 2011. the Academic center is much improved and the advisors seem to have the students best interest in mind. my rating for this college would be a 8 out of 10

  • 08/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Just hang out

    In three sentences

    Ivy tech is a great school. It's cheap and offers classes close to home. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    What to do for fun

    This campus is located very close to a large mall and all sorts of dining and shopping as well as the Memorial Coliseum where there is always something to do. It is also not to far to go downtown where we have a stadium, large library, always something going on down there as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application and testing and advising done early to avoid the last minute rush. Dont be afraid to ask anyone for help. Apply for any of the groups in areas that you need help in such as TRIO.

    In three sentences

    The staff are all helpful and awesome. The classes are taught by some wonderful professors. The campus always looks nice.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe. There are security desks inside the campuses, which is never unoccupied. There are usually cops patrolling the parking lot.

    Greek Life

    There really isn't a Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There could be a lot more clubs and activities but a lot of students work and or are parents so it is hard to get involved with school when you are taking classes and have another life outside of class.

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for students who want a wonderful education but are not willing to sacrifice an arm and a leg to just get their Gen Ed. classes out of the way. Or maybe you want to be close to family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is pretty normal and laid back. There really isn't too much that goes on here.

    Bang for the buck

    Nothing is better than not being in severe debt for two years so you can save money to go to an undergrad. university.

    What to do for fun

    Well since Ivy Tech is located a bit off of downtown Fort Wayne, you can either take public transportation or drive a few minutes to get to the mall.

    Food and Dining

    On the campuses of Ivy Tech Fort Wayne, there are always cafes so you will never be hungry.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms located on Ivy Tech's campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had many teachers who were not only inspiring but great people to spend a few weeks out of my entire lifetime. The classes can be a bit challenging when you look at it at a bigger picture than just a class. The teachers really want you to learn, not just memorize.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for expecting students is that you must be open-minded because there is a lot of diversity within the works of Ivy Tech. Not only with the students but with the teachers also.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Community College is a great way for any kind of potential student to save money. You're not only saving money, but Ivy Tech has a very flexible schedule for classes for those who have kids and or work. Ivy Tech really cares about their students and make sure they get the best education.

  • 03/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you are wanting to attend a college that has great staff, students, and is cheap than choose IVY Tech.

    In three sentences

    I would say Ivy Tech is an excellent school. The teachers are always willing to help you achieve your goals. The online classes are great for students who are not good with going to class.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Doing Welding and search for job that would be my dream comes true what I just learned from Welding classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Ivy Tech has best education and easy to useful with ivy tech. Most inductor is very nice and awesome!

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Community College - Northeast rate is 10. Because this school has welding classes that I can learn than another campus. It only is available where my home is. Its great a campus!