Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ivy Tech Community College-Richmond Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This collage is great for students that have a full time or part time job. The classes meet one time a week. It's also great for students that like smaller class sizes and personal attention from Professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look very carefully into what college fits you best. If you want a quality education for a very good price, Ivy Tech is the college for you!

    Bang for the buck

    I haven't found a better collage for the money. Most classes are transferable if you do your research on what courses the collage will accept that you want to transfer to if that is what you wish to do.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have taken both on-line classes and actual classroom classes. I have found that I really enjoy the small classes. It allows for every student to get personal attention from our Professors.

    Am learning a lot

    I have found that the Professors are very well skilled and professional in their fields and make learning fun. Even for a person like me!

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the Honors Society, and as a member of it, I would definitely have to say that it's an amazing experience and one of the best aspects of Ivy Tech. I really do love the college, it's great and I've had a great time so far.

    Clubs and Activities

    Ivy Tech always hosts a lot of events and activities on the campus and in the two halls, and they try really hard to get everyone involved. We even have a basketball team now!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who want to start working and making money quickly, and have a clear idea of what they want and when they want it. It's also a great school for students who like small colleges and campuses.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech is an amazingly affordable college. Tuition isn't expensive at all, and you can get your degree in no time and start working and it's just a really great deal for your money. Most people gets grants and scholarships and don't even have to use student loans, either.

    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of events and activities that they host, and there's put-put golf, roller skating, and movies. There's just so much to do in Richmond, and Ivy Tech isn't that far from any of it.

    Food and Dining

    Ivy Tech is located in Richmond: there's food EVERYWHERE! Just off the top of my head I can name about 7 restaurants on Chester Blvd. They have a wide variety.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech doesn't have dorms because they're just a 2-year college.

    Academic Rigor

    They don't have a lot of programs, but what they do have they're very good about having the right professors for. I'm studying Nursing right now, and I've had some of the best professors for my classes. They've been very laid back and cool about everything, and the classes have taught me a lot. It really helps that you can take classes online, too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to come in, learn, and get a degree in a short amount of time so you can start working soon! As long as you're willing, Ivy Tech will provide the best that they can.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a decent community college that will get you a degree quickly without costing you a lot. The professors care, and there are a lot of programs and activities on campus to get you involved.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the tutors and educational opportunities there.

    In three sentences

    A very good college. It has many wonderful health care programs. It has a very clean and beautiful campus.

  • 04/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always present to the students.

    Greek Life

    i don't know anything about Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to join

    Great for these types of students

    Student who want to stay close to home

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any traditions for this campus

    Bang for the buck

    This campus is located on the same property of IUE

    What to do for fun

    enjoy life, they also a various things for you to join

    Food and Dining

    They have a few vending machines but several fast food chains close

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    I would give this school a 10.

    Tips for prospective students

    This a wonderul start college. Be free to ask them any questions and if they don't have the answer they will find it for you.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy going to IVY Tech. They are very helpful in preparing for your degree. They let you know what is expected of you to be able to transfer to another college. I would give them a score of 10. The professors are wonderful and so are the students. They are always posting information of what is going on in the school!

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have seen numerous safety officers around the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    numerous

    Great for these types of students

    great for anyone

    Bang for the buck

    I feel its a good value

    What to do for fun

    they have numerous things planned throughout the year

    Food and Dining

    Havent ate there but hear its good.

    Academic Rigor

    How well you do is totally up to you! its on you how and when or whether you do or don't you work its what you make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just keep trying!

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a very good college. They have friendly and courteous staff. They are good for the working and the nonworking with there flexible schedules.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest college I've seen and you still get great education.

    What to do for fun

    There are many group events planned, they are fun and fairly cheap.

    Food and Dining

    None

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do what you need to do and you will be fine., also your instructors are you're friends.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Very easy to work around my schedule. Very cheap.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    As far as I know, there are a handful of clubs: a scrapbooking club, some sort of veterans group, and a club for education majors.

    Food and Dining

    I've never had any of the food myself but it smells really good in there!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes themselves are easy. The instructors are helpful and knowledgeable on their subject. It is the workload that will kill you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest, especially if you're taking a Math, English, or online course, to have your own flash drive and, if at all possible, a personal computer and printer. The classes are not hard but they are not easy, you need to set aside a specific amount of time per course because itâ??s a lot of work. Note-taking and paying attention in class, itâ??s cliché but necessary. If youâ??re not already caught up on these skills, the mandatory IVYT class will make sure you are.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is an affordable community college with flexible hours. There is a variety of courses available both online and face to face. There are tons of resources for tutoring and financial help.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There seems to be plenty of safety around. There is a policeman who patrols the campus at all times. I would rate safety a five star.

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for students that want a better education and work full time or still have small children at home. The online classes are great for these students.

    What to do for fun

    They have basketball games, and different fund raising events. They also have things like Easter Egg hunts for those with small children.

    Food and Dining

    They do have snack machines and Ritter's has opened up recently for all the students who spend quite a bit of time in classes. I would rate the food a three star.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have a dorm at Ivy Tech. I live near by and travel back and forth or take online classes. Rating would have to be zero because there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rules are used to help you maintain a decent grade level to continue with your education. Without them there would be no sense in going to college or every day life. I rate Ivy Tech a five star.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check with an adviser for all potential classes and careers. Keep up with new ideas to help in continuing your education. Remember, that the whole school is behind you to help in all matters.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a great college to go to for easy access to home. They offer plenty of online classes, which help me out since I am currently working part-time. All the staff are willing to help in whatever manner needed for me to further my education.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Even with my financial aid I have looked at the prices compared to other colleges and you are really getting a great deal with what you are putting into your education and smaller classes so you are able to get more help and attention than those with larger universities.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of different activities for students, although with my kids I haven't been able to attend any yet.

    Food and Dining

    The prices are great for the dining area just wish they were open a few more hours.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms available with this college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to keep contact with your academic advisor and teachers. As long as you communicate with them they WILL work with you

    In three sentences

    I think that Ivy Tech is a great start for a returning student. They ease you into your school and the academic advisors really work with you to make sure that you don't over do it with classes.