Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ivy Tech Community College-South Central Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Health care field is expanding and Ivy Tech is keeping up with the demand. Ivy Tech has lots of career choices and is a great school to get your education started for a future transfer to a larger university

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college for an associates degree. Helpful, fun and dedicated teachers and faculty who helps make earning a degree a challenging one as well as a rewarding one. Staff that helps you get the information and papers needed to succeed

  • 11/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who know what they are doing already and don't need much help

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider all your options before trying to get into the nursing program. It is very competitive and may not be worth the wait unless you just really can't afford to go somewhere else. A place to look into in southern Indiana is JCTC in Louisville. They offer some of the southern Indiana counties the in-state tuition rate

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school to go for your pre-reqs, but be sure to look into the programs available before you jump all in. Do your research........

    Am enjoying being here

    I have been SEVERELY disappointed

    Am learning a lot

    The nursing program needs alot of help

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is very good, helps that we have a sheriffs office right next door.

    Clubs and Activities

    sga, medical assisting club, respiratory therapy club, ptc, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    working parents, single parents, anyone who wants to better themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    i have been able to pay for my classes without any loans, because ivy tech is the most reasonably priced community college in the area.

    What to do for fun

    sga offers something every month for students to participate. ivy tech has zumba, yoga, and other fun after school activities to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    the cricket cafe has the most awesome soups, and mazarella's bread bites are pretty awesome to.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are tough but it lets you know you are getting your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    file your fafsa forms early, check out the online courses they have lots ,and makes it easier if your work full time, and have a family to take care of.

    In three sentences

    i like ivy tech because it is reasonably priced, has small class sizes, and has some very good teachers. it is expanding on the more popular programs like nursing, and healthcare support. is accredited for these programs as well.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Capmus Safety is awesome. Right beside an Indiana State Police Post.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs to join as well as an honor society.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out with friends, go to comedy shows, talk on the phone, go to the gym, work, and go to school. Everything I do I try to make a fun experience.

    Food and Dining

    Close to many restuarants that offer discounts, as well as on campus food serivces as well.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live on campus. The overall campus is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are well put together and have appropriate difficulty depending on the level of class you are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    When taking online classes stay ahead of the class. Always ask questions when you do not understand something. Study study study Find people that you can form study groups with. Stay positive and have fun while in College.

    In three sentences

    I really love this school. They have numerous programs to choose from. Teachers are great and help you really learn the information.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is well lite in the evening and security is on campus at all times. I feel very safe going to my car at night.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults that been out of school for many years.

    What to do for fun

    I work and go to school full time so that is my fun time

    Food and Dining

    Many fastfoods in the area.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    No discrimination.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up! Don't be afraid to ask for help! You can succeed!

    In three sentences

    If you have been out of school for many years this is the place to go. Everyone makes you feel welcome you don't feel out of place because of your age difference. I strongly recommened this school for everyone.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Ivy tech offers many opportunities for it's students. Ivy tech is always encouraging the student body to be more involved in the school and always offers the help that the students need.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for students who do not like a large classroom setting and it also offers a variety of classroom times. There is also the option for many classrooms to be taken online. As well as it is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    I am not there for fun activities, I am there to learn but there are options for fun activities, however I do not know what they are.

    Food and Dining

    Ivy Tech has only a small food court that offers breakfast/snack type foods (for way too much) and pizza by the slice.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech (Sellersburg) does not offer dorm room living.

    Academic Rigor

    Ivy Tech offers students either a fast-paced academic life or a slower academic life. For i.e. you can make a 2 year degree take 4 years if you want to go only part-time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your own research as to what classes you need for your degree. When using an Academic Adviser at Ivy Tech, clearly state your degree. Do not buy required books BEFORE beginning classes because you do not always need all of the required books and can rent them online much cheaper.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech offers low-cost tuition. Ivy Tech offers many locations to attend classes. Ivy Tech offers smaller classroom sizes.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police on staff always.

    Greek Life

    Not really any.

    Great for these types of students

    Any one who works alot and doesn't have time to spend on campus or people looking for a great place that transfers credits.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent.

    What to do for fun

    A mall is just 10 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat Burger King and Taco Bell across the street :)

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Very Good

    Tips for prospective students

    Take half your classes online and in school to maximize your workload.

    In three sentences

    This school is really affordable. Has new facilities. And Is a great learning environment.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Unknown

    Greek Life

    Unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    Unknown

    Great for these types of students

    Those in high school or wanted to complete prerequisite classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unknown

    Bang for the buck

    With duel credit, I have paid little-to-nothing. With strictly college classes, the price is fairly reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    Unknown

    Food and Dining

    Unknown

    Dorm Life

    Unknown

    Academic Rigor

    I have only fully completed four classes, so I am sure the difficulty increases with time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in duel credit, talk to your counselor. Or simply contact an advisor at Ivy Tech through their website.

    In three sentences

    I have never been to the campus, but the online accessibility is great. They have, with the help of my high school, made duel credit a breeze. With limited opportunity for opinion, I would rate this college a 7 out of 10.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hangout in lobby area, enjoy outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't eaten there before

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Moderate difficulty, some classes are a breeze others required lots of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan,Plan,Plan...Start asap to plan classes and schedule.

    In three sentences

    The school has very Friendly staff. The department heads are very knowledgeable and helpful. The teachers vary from ok to great.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Free Monday night Zumba classes

    Food and Dining

    A local cafe has a little stand open a couple of hours a day, I believe. There is also a vending machine haven with many machines lined up for your choosing.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    You will work hard for your education no matter where you go.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ivy Tech is a great school to finish quickly but remember, you really do get what you pay for.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech has a very nice campus and new facilities. The nursing program has proven time and time again to be disorganized and disappointing to all of those accepted into it. While the program is supposed to be elite and strict, Ivy Tech has never lived up to the professional guidelines that they have demanded from us.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security works hard to keep campus safe

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Cappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Life is a good place to look for clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small classroom environments Students who wish to complete course work at a low price

    Bang for the buck

    Very good for what you are paying to go here

    What to do for fun

    Student life always has fun activities planned you just have to look for them!

    Food and Dining

    There are a few restaurants available on campus and many around campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms offered here, this school is made to keep education costs low.

    Academic Rigor

    Many classes here can be transferred to big name universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Think about the money you can save even by completing general education work here. Also, consider how nice the resources available to you are.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech gets a bad reputation because it is a community college, but it is a fantastic school. The school offers very low tuition to students. The facilities are also very nice and it feels like a safe student environment.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Im not sure if they have food because again it's a community college.

    Dorm Life

    It does not have dorms.

    In three sentences

    I have heard it is a great school, it is affordable, close to home, and its small.