Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ivy Tech Community College-Southeast Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Unsure

    Great for these types of students

    All types - non-traditional, adult, working, dual credit HS, transfer, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Located next to the local animal shelter.

    Bang for the buck

    You cannot find a better education for the price. I've saved a ton of money by completing my first 2 years at Ivy Tech before transferring on. It's helped out a lot financially and reduced my stress!

    What to do for fun

    Truthfully, there isn't much to do in Madison, for fun. Then again, I wasn't there for fun. I was there to get a much needed and desired degree. There are two local movie theaters, Clifty State Park, a few shops and restaurants, but mostly you would have to leave the area for anything major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't put off taking classes even if you're unsure what you want to major in. At least find common classes that would be required for whatever major you're looking for and take those and you make your final decisions. Don't delay!

    In three sentences

    My experience has been mostly positive. Student Advisors have been very helpful and easy to contact (very important!). This school has helped prepare me to move on to a 4-year university upon graduation.

  • 01/19/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is college is great for every type of student. It has something to offer for everyone. No matter what you age or situation is, they will work with you and help you get on the right path to a better future. This school looks to be one of the best colleges that I have seen during my long look for the right school. It's an amazing place and a place that I think everyone will love.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have not attended this college for school yet but I know many people who have and I know you will enjoy it. I loved my tour and everyone there was very helpful. You get one on one time with your teachers. You are in an environment that is very upbeat and always will to help you better yourself. This is a great school for anyone who wants to better themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    This college offers you everything that a college should and for the price that they should. This is a college that is here to help you move on with your future and better yourself along the way. I have looked into many colleges and so far this is the fairest priced for most of the same classes that you would attend at an overly expensive college.

    Will enjoy being here

    You will enjoy being here so much that you might not want to leave. They have everything that you need to get on the right track in your life. There is a gym, labs, sitting areas, computers, library, book stores, and much much more. There is no way that someone can come to this college and not be satisfied with what they see and how much they learn.

    Will learn a lot

    I believe that at this college you will learn so much that your brain will overflow with the knowledge you obtain. This school has so much to offer that anyone can obtain a degree in something. From what I've seen the teachers are very friendly and help one on one with all of their students. The staff is very helpful on letting you know where everything is and if you haven't been there before they are sure to point you in the right direction. I believe, from my research that this school is one of the best Ivy Techs that I have been to. I can't wait to start off my career there.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a Madison Police officer there at all times

    Food and Dining

    There is vending machines in the student lounge

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They have tutors in the library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Community College is terrific. The classes are small so the instructors no you by name. The instructors really want you to succeed in life.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police as well as exclusive parking garages at the main campuses. I have not felt unsafe a campus.

    Greek Life

    Not at community college. There is a Phi Kappa I think it's called. This is a society comprised if 3.5 GPA's or better.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are major based societies. I am a member of the human services group. I find them most benefical for posting intern opportunites, summer jobs and companies looking to hire graduates.

    Great for these types of students

    Online, Online, Online. There are two required classes for my major that must be completed on campus. This does not include the 2 internships that are required post class work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of. Lawrenceburg has two locations. Batesville's student population has expanded requiring a new facility. This should be exciting.

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth the fees. I attended University of Cincinnati right out of High School. Ivy Tech is far better in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    Whatever interests you without the hassel of big city living.

    Food and Dining

    Great local restraunts close to Batesville and Lawrenceburg campus. I am an online student who eats mostly at home. The food around my house is amazing!

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech does not have dorms that I am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    Community colleges are strenous enough to prepare you for a traditional four year institution. Their benefit is they are more personal than bigger institutions. You are more than a student with a number to everyone on campus. I would compare the rigor to college prep courses. As long as you do the work you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take all of the offered preparing for college classes. Get to know the academic advisors, they can be your best advocates. Have fun while working hard two years goes faster than you think. :)

    In three sentences

    Great options for online students. Acadmic advisors and professors know you by name and are invested in your success. Class sizes on campuses are resonable.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Classes run about 333 dollars per class, so roughly 1300 a semester. (not including books.) Definitely worth it compared to other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    With Ivy Tech located where it is, you are near numerous places to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    Ivy Tech is located near many restaurants/fast food chains so you always have many options when it comes to food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get your financial aid processed as soon as you can, the process can be a bit long, and if you run into an error you need to get it resolved as soon as you can.

    In three sentences

    A very good campus with very helpful staff. Parking is free for students, and the location is great. The campus is also very affordable and has payment plans for everyone.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I feel their courses are priced fair. I did however return their books that I purchased from the book store and ordered them online for about $40.00 cheaper per book.

    Food and Dining

    There are quite a few fast food restaurants in Sellersburg including Burger King, Taco Bell, McDonald's, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home and drive to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, I feel the courses are tought fairly for undergraduates. I have been able to understand every subject and hopefully we will go into more detail as I have a better understanding.

    In three sentences

    I actually go to Ivy Tech Community College of Southern Indiana in Sellersburg, In but they weren't on your list to choose from. Today is only my second day, but so far my experience has been pleasant. The classes are fairly easy to find and the professors and their syllabus' have been straight forward.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    As i know of they do not offer an dinning hall or anything of that sort, but off of the campase there are plenty of places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    As i know of they do not offer dorm life on these campases.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is so easy to register, u can register on line or at any of there compass. I think anyone who has tried a big college and didn't like the huge classes or the to busy perfecers then this college is for you.

    In three sentences

    I really like this school for it's small classes and great friendly staff. The school is big enough to give you what you need and what you are looking for, but also the class sizes are small to make it easier to learn. The staff are easy going and easy to talk to, they really relate to the students at the school and are there to help.

  • 10/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a police officer on campus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    -Campus Activity Board -Student Government -Psychology Club -Health Organization - OTHERS

    Great for these types of students

    This is a place for anyone of any age to attend school. Ivy Tech Community College is flexible and they will work with you and your schedule. If you are a singe parent, working a full time job, and trying to go to school full time, then this is the school for you.

    What to do for fun

    -Bowling <1 mile away -Movies <2 miles away -Clifty Falls State Park <5 miles away -Putt Putt Golf <5 miles away

    Food and Dining

    There are vending machines and there is a bookstore that has snack food. There is almost every fast food restraunt less than a mile away, as well as, a few dine in places and buffets.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech Community College is a community college and doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The biggest challenge I have faced was the difference from high school to college. I wasn't prepared for the difference. I thought you would meet for class everyday rather than weekly. It took me 1 semester of withdrawals and a fresh new semester to get the feel of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    - Apply Yourself - Get to know your Adviser and meet with them EVERY semester (this is the best thing you can do) - Present yourself as a professional - Keep up with your work - Show up to class and show up on time - Keep your phone off or on vibrate just for emergencies only - Get organized

    In three sentences

    The staff at Ivy Tech Community College is awesome and they are all involved in pushing each individual student to succeed. The classes are small so that the students get a great learning experience. Ivy Tech Community College gives everyone an opportunity to further their education for a low cost with flexible schedules.