Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ivy Tech Community College-Southwest Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are several security guards on campus. You will see them walking around the parking lot as well as the hallways.

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech is great for students that attended smaller high schools so the adjustment to college will be easier at a smaller school. It is also great for people that can't afford the big name, pricey schools.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech is perfect for people on a budget. Tuition is not expensive and you're still getting a great education.

    What to do for fun

    There are several organizations you can join that are affiliated with the school. My favorite thing is to go to the fitness center, which is free for students.

    Food and Dining

    There is only a small cafe and several vending machines. However Ivy Tech is located near several restaurants from Chinese to fast food.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on your course of study. Overall, I feel the classes don't assume you know anything, therefore they start you with the basics. From there, some can drastically increase in academic rigor while others are easier to catch onto.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending Ivy Tech is a very easy adjustment. The technology used in classrooms is basic and there are always classes or seminars you can take to help you learn how to use things.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a smaller school which means smaller classes and a less overwhelming campus. It is a very affordable two-year institution. I believe it to be a great fit for me.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    NON-traditional

    What to do for fun

    I don't have fun I study!

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Allow at least three hours of study for every hour in class.

    In three sentences

    Perfect for my full-time schedule of working and being a mother of two.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I rarly hear of any problems. maybe a theift or two but not a lot if any.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are some clubs at Ivy tech but I'm not in any. I wanted to join an anime club but my fear to be in a large group of poeple talked me out of it.

    Great for these types of students

    Easiest thing for smokers... stop.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know of any unusual traditions but the place i find out is the smoking in front of the school.

    Bang for the buck

    all the resources availabe to help a student in almost anything.

    What to do for fun

    I find hanging out with friends and family to be enjoyable. I read mangas( japanese comics) and when I have time try and learn Japanese.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. I do wish they would invest in helthy food for vending machines. some poeple want to eat healthy but don't have time to wait in line.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy tech does not have dorms, but the student lounges are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It very from class to class and depending on the instructor how difficult the class maybe

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage student to learn about your instructors before joining thier class because some may work for one student but not another.

    In three sentences

    Over all good but could inprove in lecturing. All the instructors are nice and wish to help if you as. Its a good school for those who can't do four years

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hear they have a space so you can play XBOX and all other sorts of things! How exciting/.

    Food and Dining

    I have not been in the dining areas, but at a glance it looked very casual and a nice place to just hang out and relax.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am unsure yet, as I have not attended yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study so you can score high in the COMPASS exam.

    In three sentences

    The campus is small which is awesome. The teachers seem very friendly! The advisors are also a lot of help, too/

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Security is everywhere on school. They are easy to get ahold of when needed.

    What to do for fun

    Not much.

    Food and Dining

    They do have a little cafe in the student commons. It is OK but very pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply to me

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the teachers seem very knowledgeable and passionate about their teaching. 8

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid Pam Puckett for A&P 1

    In three sentences

    They are very strict with their nursing program, you have to have all A's in order to get into the program. They do not have the best advisors for the pre-nursing. A lot of the teachers are great at what they do however, some of my classes I left there very lost and confused on the course material due to the teacher not liking students to ask questions.

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have tons of security for such a small school. They are very friendly too.

    Great for these types of students

    Working adult or high school graduate

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent band for the buck. I can not emphasize how much this school is recognized for especially for their nursing program. This semester I only paid for my books because my financial aid covered the rest.

    What to do for fun

    They have several different clubs available but not as much as your regular college. The students are great though I've made a ton of good friends this semester.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't a whole lot of food options at the school since it is small but there are tons of places to eat nearby!

    Dorm Life

    No on campus dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Just because this school is a community college does not mean the classes are any easier. Their academics are just as creditable as any other school and they really have a great reputation!

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources available to you. Ivy Tech has tons of study group and help offered in the learning center. Use it!

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a small school but very well recognized and the students and staff are great. It's very affordable and a great place to get most of your core classes done at or a degree. Great school for the working adult.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never turn the corner without seeing a security official, and I'm yet to hear of unsafe things happening around campus. The security is always easy to locate if it is needed.

    Bang for the buck

    Through my scholarship application I was awarded a scholarship for full tuition for the first year. They are very passionate about saving you money, unlike many schools!

    Food and Dining

    Very good, but kind of pricey

    Dorm Life

    There is not a huge student life opportunity

    Academic Rigor

    Not too challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class, even if you don't need to. Ask about what classes you can substitute for others. They're very good at working around requirements to cater to your needs.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a very great school overall. All staff and teachers are very dedicated towards bettering your education and show a strong concern for you as a person as well as your achieving future goals. It is organized, easy to enroll, and a great environment!

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Beginners, Nontraditional students

    Bang for the buck

    Cheapest around, but quality education.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and other campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe needs work, but vending is good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at Ivy Tech.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared. Know what you want. Never be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Best Financial aid department. Awesome Career Services department. Best Student Life Center around.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a small rec room that has a pool table and there are televisions around the commons to watch tv on.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad but kinda pricey.

    Dorm Life

    Not one

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you find out as much information about your degree and what classes you have to take before getting into a degree and deciding to switch. Keep in good touch with your campus connect and the financial aid department, they will not tell you when you need to turn things in.

    In three sentences

    It can be helpful at times, but not very helpful in the financial aid department. Lacking the interaction with the students once they leave the admission process. Lacking the communication between students and administration.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money, it's very affordable and is so much less than going to a large university and you can still get the same level of education.

    What to do for fun

    There are student commons on the first and second floors, the first floor commons has a pool table and you meet alot of people in these commons and it's a great place to get some good work done! Also there are always events on campus so get involved and check out some of the wild and wacky things to do!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be offput by the words community college, just because it isn't a big four year university doesn't mean that it isn't for you. It is a great place to get general education requirements out of the way and to get your feet on the ground in a degree before you take your degree elsewhere to expand on it.

    In three sentences

    A great campus that is well maintained. A wonderful place to begin your education with lots of degrees available. A thriving student body who are eager to learn and get an education.

  • 03/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always events taking place at Ivy Tech. Look for signs posted around campus and attend a few. They are always beneficial to students.

    Food and Dining

    There is a café, but it is a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not wait until the last minute to sign up for classes. There are a lot of students that attend Ivy Tech so classes will fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    I love Ivy Tech so much. I've been here for almost two years now, and I've enjoyed my time here. It's affordable and the class scheduling is awesome.

  • 05/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are lots of places to eat on first ave.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but there are overpriced apartments on the northside.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep going no matter even if you feel like dropping a class. Don't ever expect your financial aid to be accurate unless you speak to Monica or Tiffany.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech is a community college and everyone is accepted. It's nice to start at if you are looking to save money.Most of my proffessors/instructors have been helpful.