Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Ivy Tech Community College-Wabash Valley Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7

    Great for these types of students

    The currently working; you can schedule your classes around you work days. Anyone looking to pursue a career and better life.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable!!

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs!

    Food and Dining

    Fantastic food and excellence service!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, all classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask questions! Ivy Tech strives to keep everyone on the right path to their career.

    In three sentences

    My Ivy Tech Community College is great for the first time college experience! It has a great working and studying environment. This school constantly helps to keep their students on track in pursuing their dreams.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe. There is security on the premises at all times and there are emergency phones located in various locations on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech offers a great education for a great price. Since this college is a community college, it more affordable in today's economy than many other Universities.

    What to do for fun

    Ivy Tech provides many great opportunities for fun on and off campus. They offer various fun learning experiences, volunteering experiences, and chances to meet other students while participating in fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    Ivy Tech has a great area called The Commons, where students have the opportunity to utilize their cafe or if they wish they are also offered various vending machines as well to satisfy hungry students. If a student is more apt to bring their own lunch, Ivy Tech provides a microwave that is available for student use.

    Dorm Life

    Ivy Tech Community College at this time does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great at Ivy Tech. They have great office hours and many teachers are easily reached by email. The staff is great at returning messages as soon as they possibly can, to help achieve an optimal learning experience for each student. The teachers are very knowledgable about each subject they teach and are willing to go above and beyond to make certain the students understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips that I would give to prospective students would be that I would highly recommend attending Ivy Tech. Ivy Tech has a great staff that are willing to help you pin-point what career is best for each and every student. Once you find the career of your dreams, the staff is willing to help each student achieve their goals.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Community College in Terre Haute, IN is a great school. This college is helping me reach my goals by providing me a great education. I am very honored to have a school that is willing to go above and beyond to help me reach my academic endeavors.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a cop on campus... would be nice if there was 2 or 3 for its size.

    Clubs and Activities

    There web sit, makes it extremely easy to find clubs and activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy tech is a vary affordable, if you can work full time and go to school part time.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately I was unable to experience the fun the school had to offer. Being a poor college student, work and school was the only time I had.

    Food and Dining

    The food cort was shockingly great! Some thing for everyone!

    Academic Rigor

    Seems like most the teachers care and are good about teaching you the information needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I really recomend taking your time and not waiting the last minut to get you finacial aid and classes schedualed. Schedual as soon as you can and no matter how intimidating the staff might be, it is there job to answer every question you have and always leave you self time to fix there mistakes!

    In three sentences

    Ivy tech community college summed up is the campus is amazingly beautiful with just the right amount of sources on campus. Unfortunately the staff is nice but not very knowledgeable and seems like they have too many students to be helpful. The financial aid department was more about getting me in and out then confirming if I understood what I had signed.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking lot is very well lit and as far as I am aware, there have been not security issues on the campus anywhere.

    Greek Life

    No sororities or fraternities available here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not very many clubs/activities are available here. Or if they are, I am not aware of them.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for working adults and/or other-wise busy students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    For what you pay per class, it is very cost-effective. Many students prefer to do their gen ed classes here before transferring to a bigger college. The cost definitely does not reflect the quality.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a whole lot available outside of classes and honor societies at this campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria that is on campus is centrally located and seems to have a very decent selection of snack-type foods. I have not eaten there myself.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus living available here.

    Academic Rigor

    This depends on the classes of course. Most of the classes that I have taken have been easy to follow, easy to maintain good grades in and fun to participate in. Of course, I can not vouch for the classes that I have not taken.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make sure to keep up on your homework. In some classes, your grade is based solely on tests. If you do not test well or don't keep up on your studies, you won't be able to keep up your grades in those classes.

    In three sentences

    The campus here is very one on one, compared to bigger colleges. The campus is very easy to navigate and the teachers are extremely helpful, as are all of the staff members. The classes are informative and really help you in the real world.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't actually looked into them, but I do know they have them. I put 3 stars though because I am not sure how many they have.

    Great for these types of students

    Ivy Tech offers a wide range of studies. Check out the website today and see for yourself.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many fun events like movies on the front lawn and going to Holiday World once a year!

    Bang for the buck

    Ivy Tech offers the lowest rates in Indiana!

    What to do for fun

    Go roller skating, mall, Bogey's Family Fun Center, and also there are many cities close by with things like ice skating and other great places to shop and have fun. Close to Ivy Tech is Fowler Park, which has many events and nice trails to hike.

    Food and Dining

    There are lots of great places close to Ivy Tech to catch a bite to eat with friends/family.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms, but there are lots of apartments close to the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Many teachers seem to not be able to help with things because they solely rely on the book.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely consider going here!

    In three sentences

    I think this school is really nice because it is cheaper than other colleges. It offers a wide range of studies. Some of the teachers could be improved a little bit as some of them seem to not know much about what they teach.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always register for your classes early, because they do tend to run out of space. Also, don't ever think you'll be ok if you just don't go to class this one time. Missing class does matter and you will miss out on a lot.

    In three sentences

    It's not a satellite campus, so it has all of the nursing classes I will eventually need, and it isn't far from where I live. The campus is also smaller, and it is nearly impossible to get lost. Overall, I am satisfied with this campus.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The saftey is great , there might not look like there is much security,but its location, location.

    Bang for the buck

    Its definitely worth the money , there are opportunities for you to get the money for this great school to. Your getting a great education, and its a safe environment to cause the campuses are not to secluded.

    What to do for fun

    As a Ivy Tech student We are undefeated, we have soccer, softball its all for fun though to get you through the seasons.

    Food and Dining

    I have heard that to food is really good in the commons from pizza to biscuits and gravy, but i have not ate on campus yet, but with Ivy Tech its a quick drive to any food location due to its accessibility.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay on campus, I'm still residing at home which is great to save a little money, and with Ivy Tech being so close its cheap on gas.

    Academic Rigor

    Ivy Tech Community Collage has a great selection of curriculum to take from there nursing to automotive. The class are smaller , allowing you to have a more one to one time with your professor

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend this to any student wanting to start off on there journey for education. Ivy Tech should be the first spot to stop, and there very good about transferring too.

    In three sentences

    I have found Ivy Tech to be a very affordable and understanding collage. There is a broad of curriculum to study and very good opportunities. The teachers are very motivated to get you passed too.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those working full-time and parents.

    What to do for fun

    After studying, take a break to hang with friends and rid your mind of school work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research! Figure out what your cost of attendance will be and make sure that you can afford it. Don't max out your loans. Apply for scholarships. Study hard! You don't want to repeat classes.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech offers flexible class schedules. My advisor is very helpful in helping me register for classes and determining my degree path. Most importantly, tuition is very affordable compared to most colleges.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults returning to school. Teenagers fresh out of high school.

    Bang for the buck

    VERY cheap to attend school here.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramural sports that you can sign up for throughout the school year. There are also musically singing groups that you can join as well such as the Ivy Singers.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe serves fresh food daily and it is very quick place to grab a meal in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There were no dorms at this location.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't believe that the studies were that hard. I believe it is just a great starting point for those who are fresh out of high school or those who are returning to school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait till the last minute to get classes scheduled. Be proactive and know what classes you need to complete for your intended major. Stay positive and work hard.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school to start out with right after high school. There are very dedicated professors there who want nothing more than to see you succeed. It is small, but plenty of opportunities to get involved.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The money required to pay tuition and fees for books is next to nothing compared to the other local schools in this area.

    What to do for fun

    The Campus Connect website has made it easy to find events for students to attend. There are different academic clubs to prosper in if one chose as well.

    Food and Dining

    The snack bar is open and convenient for students attending classes on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not available on the Ivy Tech Community College campus in Terre Haute.

    Academic Rigor

    The pace in each class varies slightly but engages the attention of the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The Financial Aid and Business Departments communicate with the students in a way that makes applying a smooth process. The only suggestion I have to prospective students is to apply for the Federal Funding before March in order to obtain the State Funding as well.

    In three sentences

    Ivy Tech Community College is an extraordinary stepping stone in a students life. The school is accessible to everyone willing to show the initiative that it takes to further their education. The teachers at the school have made themselves available and are willing to be of assistance with each student when needed.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a phone in every hall in case of an emengcery situation, and in the front of the south campus there is a security guard always there. they walk the campus on the outside as well as the end side every half of an hour.

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not know much about the clubs and the activities that Ivy Tech has to offer the students, but with my over all experience with the college I think that they would have some really great clubs and activities for students and there familys.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for any types of students. One that have just left high school, or ones that have decided to go back to school after some years. Applying to this college is easy and you get a lot of help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like the little outside tables where you can eat at or work on your work sitting outside. There is some quiet spots past the book store that would be a good place to study and have some quiet time.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a single mom of a 4 year old son and his name is Logan. I was unemployed before I started school. I made the decision to go to college because I wanted to better support myself and my son. With out a college degree I will not be able to do this with out much success. I also have a mental disability, I have p.t.s.d., Bi-polar and bpd and with all of this going on in my life I was able to complete summer semester with a gpa of 4.0 and got A's in both of my classes.

    What to do for fun

    I am a family person, so I like to spend time with my family. I like to take my son Logan to the park, go for walks at night, have cook outs and eat outside with the family. I like to burn wood in our fire pit and sit out side and just talk to my family. We like to spend as much time together as we can.

    Food and Dining

    The food quart at the south campus is great. They have really good seating there, they have big tables so if a student wants to eat and study at the same time they can. The food is really good and is not the expensive to buy.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms, I am a student that lives in my own home. I am not for sure if Ivy tech had dorms here in Terre Haute of there students.

    Academic Rigor

    I was only able to take two classes this semester, I had English 093 and IVY T class. My English class was really hard for me, it has been so long since I have been in school and I had to relearn everything that she was teaching us. I am taking 4 classes for the fall and the only two that I think that are going to be hard for me is my English 111 and my communication class.

    Tips for prospective students

    They should go to each of the campuses and take a good look around way before school starts for them, make sure they get there books on time. They need to apply for finical aid as soon as they can and as much as they can apply too. Save the money that they receive for summer so they can get in and get there degree without having to take a break in the summer because they do not have any money.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to go to. The teachers are really great and really helpful when you have a problem. I love going to this school!!!!!!! The enrolment was easy to do. The pre test was easy to take on the computer. If you have any questions there is always someone that can help you. The campus connect and blackboard is explained to you on the first day of school, which is really helpful.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have push button emergency systems everywhere.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities or sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Wants a personal college experience, and not to get lost in a sea of students.

    Bang for the buck

    Most affordable in my area.

    What to do for fun

    always stuff going on, just look around!

    Food and Dining

    they make really yummy sandwiches

    Dorm Life

    you can't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    It's not too hard so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your fafsa done early.

    In three sentences

    The college is smaller, so the class sizes are small, it's a great experience. The professors are personal. It's more affordable.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Little on the pricy side at the commons

    Dorm Life

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    I went from part time to full time. I was encouraged by an academic advisor that I could handle it and there is help if needed. I feel that I can do it so I won't let the down.

    In three sentences

    Great school who work with you to active your goals. They work one on one with students. The staff is extent lent on what they do.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always feel safe there.

    Clubs and Activities

    I can't really rate these because I do not participate.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for both traditional and non traditional students. Especially great for single moms, families, or just family on a budget.

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities/ fitness center

    Food and Dining

    There are restaurants around the school, but the school café is not the greatest and it is over priced.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus and I don't think that they offer on campus living.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to attend the nursing program, it will be very rewarding to actually get into the program. After you get in you no longer compete with classmates, but you help each other and become a family.

    In three sentences

    The Nursing program at this school has so far proved to be amazing. They have a 97% pass rate on the NCLEX, so I am very confident in being ready for the career field after graduation. All of the instructors so far are super nice and want us to succeed!