Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

J F Drake State Comm. and Tech. Col. Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always see security walking around campus, checking on everything.

    Great for these types of students

    we have many different types of students everyone has been welcomed.

    Bang for the buck

    my instructors make it well with the money spent for my education.

    What to do for fun

    if your in nursing school; reading is your fun..lol

    Food and Dining

    you either snack all the time from stress or don't eat at all.

    Academic Rigor

    nursing course are the hardest classes i've ever taken. just about half the class has dropped out by half the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    reading you books is the only way to get through nursing courses. no other tips can help because there are no short cuts to this program.

    In three sentences

    wonderful college to attend with caring instructors. has a easy to understand education plan. the counselors actually guide you and encourage you to completing your education.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Drake to learn and you will learn.

    In three sentences

    Great college, very friendly. I like the small number of students per class, I get to talk with the instructors whenever I need to.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    off campus

    Dorm Life

    none

    In three sentences

    I Love the Atmosphere!

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    J.F. Drake State Technical College will help to keep an individual enthused and motivated throughout their schooling and thereafter.

    In three sentences

    J.F. Drake State Technical College is rated A+. The instructors are great. The campus is very well up kept. The library is a great place for doing work, studying.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do for from; I feel just by being apart of my institution is fun. We have the student center which is full of couches and television as well as a computer and pool room.

    Food and Dining

    We do not have food and dining but we do have vending machines and a student center where we can come and relax.

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    Any institution academic rigor is only as difficult as you make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    When entering at Drake or any college institution always be prepared to manage your time well meaning from work to family to studying the key to surviving college is time management.

    In three sentences

    J F Drake State has instructors that are determined to get their graduates to work. My institution is full of activities for a student to participate in if they are willing. Our school motto is completely true Our Graduates Work.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always around.

    Great for these types of students

    There are alot of students with different Nationalities at Drake so everyone is welcome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Drake has two Campuses for students in two different locations

    Bang for the buck

    Drake is a small school. Class sizes are smaller so there is more available help for students.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and interact with different people

    Food and Dining

    no dining hall

    Dorm Life

    There are not any Dorms at Drake

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay caught up and dont get behind on assignment.

    In three sentences

    Jf Drake State is a great school. Students receive emails on upcoming events so you are always informed of everything that is going on. The teachers are very reliable.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is number one priority at JF Drake State Technical College.

    Greek Life

    i haven't heard anything like this here.

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA, IAAP, PHI BETA LAMBDA ,AMATUER RADIO CLUB, CULINARY CLUB, SKILL USA, NATIONAL TECHNICAL HONOR SOCIETY, VOL-TECH, PRAISE DANCE MINISTRY, & GOSPEL CHOIR

    Great for these types of students

    A person who loves learning and being around others in a college atmosphere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only unusual thing i would say, is the library, which sits directly in front of the entire college. It is huge and i love it.

    Bang for the buck

    I love going here. The teachers and all of the staff are so vibrant. Everyone is a joy to be around.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you can go to the computers in the library or walk the track. The student center is always available for lounging. Join a club or two if you would like.

    Food and Dining

    They have an excellent Cafetorium. You can dine in with us on our campus. The Cafetorium is directly behind the library.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm. This college is a Technical College , therefore on campus classes or online.

    Academic Rigor

    Very well academic program for students who strive for excellence in there field. Scholarships and grants for all who would like to apply. Announcements sent to your student mail about all ongoing activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should apply early. Make sure you have your pell grant completed before the day of enrollment. Know what classes and program you want to apply to.

    In three sentences

    JF Drake State Technical College is awesome. Anyone can apply. There are great programs here.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Drake is perfect for any student! Those that are undecided but want to get started on core courses, and those who have life experience and are looking a fresh start. They offer day and evening courses as well.

    What to do for fun

    Drake offers student activities on a regular basis from BBQs on campus to trips to assist with volunteer work.

    Food and Dining

    No meal plans but the culinary arts dept. prepares meals sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Commit to furthering your education, and show this commitment to your professors. They will be your guide to the finish line.

    In three sentences

    J. F. Drake State is amazing. They are organized, welcoming, and success driven. I appreciate the motivation and encouragement that greets me every time I'm on campus.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always be cautious and aware of your surroundings, and report any suspicious behavior or activities to your local authorities .

    Clubs and Activities

    Student study groups can be fun and effective.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is very inexpensive compared to the other colleges in the area. Their maybe some scholarships available depending on your academics and GPA.

    What to do for fun

    Find things that you enjoy that is relaxing and didn't involve you putting more stringent stress on your physical and mental state of being.

    Food and Dining

    J.F. Drake State loves its students and are always organizing and recognizing student appreciation day luncheon, and state and federal holidays. But when they are not offering luncheon or dinner there are local restaurants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I am not a current student who lives on campus, but I wish I had that opportunity to experience the dorm life. There are no on campus dorms, but their is nice affording living in the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Study, study, study! And when your not doing anything else study some more. You will have plenty of time to party and have fun. I love Drakes academic requirements, because they can be vigorous, but also rewarding in the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to any student who is serious about learning, and advancing to the next stage of there careers is have a positive attitude, always come prepared for anything, and don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    J.F. Drake State Technical College is a well organized, well rounded college that is continuing to grow and advance. While offering, providing and finding new and positive ways to educate and prompt learning in health environment.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have Drake Alert which is a system that contacts you through emails, texts, and phone call pertaining to weather, cancellations, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm new so I'm not familiar with all the clubs or activities but they do have great tutors.

    Great for these types of students

    I would highly recommend students to this school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm a new student and I'm still learning.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm a single mother to two beautiful girls. Azyriah is my four year old and Adriana is nine months old. Adriana was born weighing 550 grams (1lb. 2 oz) n April 4, 2012. She was eleven weeks early. She stayed in the NICU at Children's Hospital of Alabama in Birmingham, AL 99 days. At three days old she had an emergency surgery weighing less than a pound. She went back and was able to have her intestines but back together on September 21, 2012. We stayed another five days. She never was intubated only for surgeries. She is truly a miracle and my daughters' are my inspiration!!

    What to do for fun

    Spending time with my girls, cleaning, shopping.

    Food and Dining

    I don't know much about the food at the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I am a single mother to two beautiful daughters, so I live in my own home.

    Academic Rigor

    My major is Nursing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Drake is the place to be. If you really want it, then they will be there to help you get it!

    In three sentences

    J F Drake State Technical College is a great college. Every employee goes above and beyond to help. It feels like family, because they care truly about you and your success.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always walk with a group if possible

    Bang for the buck

    i like to bid on items on e bay

    What to do for fun

    i like watching movies and spending time with my family

    Food and Dining

    since i don't live in the dorm, i also do not dine or eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm ,

    Academic Rigor

    I have not experienced any academic rigor as of yet ,but i do believe if i should encounter any problems along the way, my instructors are there to help me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions, approach anyone at the college and they will point you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    Drake State is has all I could possibly ask for in a two year institution, the staff made my transition go smoothly and my instructors really do care about my academic performance.

  • 05/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe and secure environment where students can focus on learning and not on safety

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Trio is the best program I've ever been a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for working students.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is the most affordable and gives you the greatest value than any other.

    What to do for fun

    Just participating in class is fun. The environment is friendly.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary arts program always provides tasty meals. The also have won awards for their talents.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but you can achieve your goals if you work hard and give yourself a chance to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait! Go up to the campus and speak with someone from the campus yourself. You will only get a great review.

    In three sentences

    Our graduates work. Knowledgeable Instructors with real life experience. Student diversity.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is wonderful that classes aren't that expensive and you won't go into debt getting your degree.

    What to do for fun

    I notice there is a band, and we have a basketball team.

    Food and Dining

    The culinary students and staff prepare wonderful meals on campus so you don't have to waste gas traveling for your lunch.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask for help when needed and take advantage of the tutoring resources.

    In three sentences

    I Love the teaching staff and resources. I am happy that the R.N. program will be starting and so I won't have to transfer credits. J.F. Drake State Community and Technical college is conveniently located.

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is very safe and has nearly no criminal activity going on.

    Food and Dining

    The campus does not have a cafeteria but from what I heard , during orientation, there is a student center where students can lounge and purchase snacks and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available because this is a two year college. To give a low rating for this criteria would be unfair.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the Pre-Nursing field. From what I can see, they take academics seriously here and strive for the student to push themselves to get the best grade they can possibly receive.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice for prospective students is to plan a visit to the college and ask questions. The staff are more than willing to direct you in the right path. They make the student feel very welcomed.

    In three sentences

    I plan to attend this college because of the great reviews from previous students. I was completely sold on this college after seeing the professionalism and care for the students when dealing with administration. I also thoroughly enjoyed the new student orientation.