Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

J Sargeant Reynolds Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JSR can fit any type of student, really, but its especially great for any student who wishes to make a good start to their college experience, gain an understanding of and a jump-start to a desired career, and learn invaluable skills that will be useful in a job and in college, such as studying, making friendships, being independent and focused, and more outgoing. JSR is also great for people who want to ease their financial burden a little, while getting a quality education at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take every opportunity you can at JSR; this is truly a place where you are the one who ultimately forms out the experience. If you don't put yourself out there and talk to people, participate in an extracurricular, or even check out a club you may never have joined before, you will be miserable here. But if you do all of the above and then some, you'll find JSR a much more enjoyable place! Who knows what could happen: you may meet some of your best friends here, and maybe learn something about yourself you may not have before. It all depends on you...

    Bang for the buck

    J. Sargeant Reynolds is very rewarding financially; if you don't have the funds to afford going to a 4-year school, you can go to JSR for one to two years, for HALF the price! You get all of the same classes you would take at your desired 4-year college, but at a more affordable rate and at a comfortable pace! You can also gain the necessary degree or skill set needed for a career of your choosing, all without breaking the bank!

    Am enjoying being here

    JSR can at first be a little intimidating, and a little bit of a culture-shock to new students; it may take a little while to get used to the social scene, campus atmosphere, and classes, but once you get settled in, its okay. Once you meet people, get involved in an extracurricular outside of class, and get used to what you're taking, you'll find the place to be pretty charming, and you'll start to notice things you like about the campus, like its convenient location near Richmond, from your home, etc.

    Am learning a lot

    All of the teachers are intelligent, caring individuals who truly care about their students' success and actively try to help you reach your goal. If you don't understand something, or simply need tutoring, they are always available, and will help you gain a better understanding of the material. In General, most of the knowledge you gain will not only be a little easier than that of a 4-year college, but it will also be very useful for a prospective career or a future bachelor's degree

  • 12/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    J Sargeant Reynolds is great for pretty much everyone but especially parents! I am the mother of one little boy and I've met and been in class with women and men that have two, three, or even five kids at home and each one of them is doing an excellent job in class! J Sarg is also a wonderful place for students who didn't take their previous schooling opportunities seriously and need a fresh new start.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay true to yourself and what you think you can handle. If you believe you can go for a four year university, then by all means try it. But if you think an extra step before you go totally outside your comfort zone if the next step, then J Sargeant Reynolds could be for you! I would suggest that you visit the campus and the Academic Advising Center to discuss with them the paths available.

    Bang for the buck

    There's no doubt what so ever that this school deserves every dollar per credit hour! The cheapest four year university in the area is VCU, which at approx. $7,000 a year for only tuition, is triple what you'd pay at J. Sargeant Reynolds. People may assume J. Sargeant Reynolds has to have such low rates solely because it is a community college and its not like they're actually teaching the students, anyway. To which, I would reply to that completely incorrect statement, not only are we being taught for wonderful rates, but we are being taught for wonderful rates by professors who also teach at other four year universities and graduate schools in the area (such as VCU and the University of Richmond).

    Am enjoying being here

    Because J Sargeant Reynolds is a community college, the people that make up the student body are just that: the community. Richmond, VA is a colorful city and J Sarg is the proof! Personally, it made for a very easy transition since I came from a very diverse high school campus. However, many people come directly from the local high schools with their friends. Though that aspect may be intimidating for people not originally from the area and/or the older students, the familiarity and security provided by the already formed groups could be considered the best part and key to many people's success.

    Am learning a lot

    Depending on the classes you were offered in high school or any other previous educational institution, J Sargeant Reynolds can either offer a different, new and exciting curriculum or just an extra information on an already learned topic. Either way, you're bound to learn more than you expect from a community college setting.

  • 02/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that are worried about college, or need to get back into the swing of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get discouraged if you can not finish in two years. The two year program is if you have enough time and money to take seven or eight classes per semester.

    Bang for the buck

    The pricing for classes are much more reasonable than at other colleges.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are three campus', so each campus has its own appeal to the students. The parham road campus, where I take most of my classes, is a slower paced campus as far as traffic and student flow. The downtown campus is all in one building, so the student flow can be busier. I have not been to the western campus, but that is where most of the classes over there are for specific type of classes.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are great, and tend to want to help the students. The classes are easier than I expected. There is still enough information to learn, that it is not boring.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is quite a good presence of security personnel

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    i know there are several clubs and there are quite a few activities, i haven't been able to take part due to my work schedule

    Great for these types of students

    recent high school graduates who want to keep going to school but not ready for 4 yr college, home-schooled grads, working and unemployed adults, people looking to change careers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i know of so far

    Bang for the buck

    absolutely worth the money

    What to do for fun

    i work so i am not sure what the fun quotient is on campus

    Food and Dining

    the cafe on parham campus is nice and affordable, with really good food - the french fries are my favorite.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    i would say i am quite challenges in all my classes

    Tips for prospective students

    get your financial aid applications in early. also, enrolling online and ordering books online is amazingly simple and time-saving.

    In three sentences

    jsargeant reynolds cc is very affordable. it offers flexibility for scheduling classes. also, the campuses are conveniently located throughout the greater richmond area.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have police that have guns, batons, and all the like. I think they know Maui Thai too?!

    Clubs and Activities

    Student life is available for students, where they get together and hang out. If there is a club or activity that isn't available at the time, Student Life will help get your ideas off the ground on creating a club.

    Great for these types of students

    Focused individuals that are serious about the quality of their education and looking to transfer to a 4-Year University.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Have not noticed any unusual traditions or locations on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education and classes for the price, compared to a University. You'll be saving a lot of money that can go to other expenditures.

    What to do for fun

    Socialize with schoolmates and don't forget about Student Life!

    Food and Dining

    Prices are a bit high for the pea sized sandwiches.

    Academic Rigor

    Course work is challenging for a 2-Year Degree program

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is a must. There is a great class called SDV 100, that goes over this in detail.

    In three sentences

    J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College is a great start for anyone that is looking to begin their college education or to start over from scratch in their education!

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I didn't attend any.

    Great for these types of students

    If you just looking for a 2 year college . J Sargeant Is they way to go .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't have any

    What to do for fun

    They have a video game room . Had lots of sports events to keep us going .

    Food and Dining

    Great Cafe'

    Dorm Life

    There was no dorms .

    Academic Rigor

    They are pretty flexible . The teachers are GREAT , they help you out a lot and make things less stressful .

    Tips for prospective students

    Always study & Come to class on time !

    In three sentences

    J Sargeant Reynolds Community College is a Great College so far . I've only completed A semester so i'm not to sure , but from what i have experience i would say its a great school & nice learning environment . Wish they had better customer service .

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is the best price money can pay for the education. You have small classes so you can actually be a part of the class instead a color in the crowd.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, people from all walks of life attend this school and there are many interesting and motivated students to get to know.

    Food and Dining

    Probably the best you can give a food place that doesn't have a restaurant in it!

    Dorm Life

    Community college doesn't have dorms, so why not!

    Academic Rigor

    Most professors will test the students and each one has their own ways to do so.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just pay attention and actually do the homework. Deans list is very achievable.

    In three sentences

    J. Sargeant Reynolds is a school where the everyday student can thrive. The professors are excellent and are there to help you excel. The class sizes are the perfect size and allow the students to collaborate well together.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a running trail, and a football field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask students for help choosing your professors, there are a few you want to avoid.

    In three sentences

    Good school in a three easily accessible locations to the Richmond area. J. Sarge offers a wide variety of classes taught by knowledgeable professors. It's a perfect place to learn and become familiar with college level classes.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    College the 2nd time around is a lot more interesting than the 1st time. I think its because im spending my own money(ha ha). But seriously im realizing that i really do enjoy learning. thanks jsr

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    J. Sargeant Reynolds make sure that their staff, students, and visistors are kelpt safe at all time with on campus sercurity and police officer protrolling the area.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college have several clubs and activities that I recommend anybody to join...

    Great for these types of students

    J. Sargeant is great for any type of students, and it does not matter the culture back ground that they come from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the sucess center of the campus; I have met the most wonderful and polite personnels that give you that warm greeting....

    Bang for the buck

    J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College is a well organized place for working parents, high school graduate, and evening stay home parents to acheive there goal for the working field today and the near future.

    What to do for fun

    J. Sargeant do have alot of activities for there student and family, and everybody can get to know each other as well as having a wonderful time.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is excellent....

    Dorm Life

    Never had dorm life, but most likely in any college; there is no different.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic is very explainable, but in good standard.

    Tips for prospective students

    J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College make sure that you get the best education and prepare you in the degree that you are seeking in the working world...

    In three sentences

    Up-most educated community college for teens and adults to attend. Well organized college that stay on track to help their students. Above all community college, they rate as the best to transfer credit to a 4 years institute.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This college offers full programs at half the cost of other colleges.

    What to do for fun

    This college is awesome about having fun. they offer many different events on and off campus to socialize and have fun. you cna even organize events for you cause.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe on campus. It has anything you need from snacks for between classes. Hot meals and other items are offered as well. The downtown campus has nearby places that may suit any craving.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, unfortunately. The campus life is amazing though. If there was a campus life however, it would be great.

    Academic Rigor

    This college offers personalized learning. There are also small class sizes that allow for individual attention if needed. The teacher sfocus on what can make you a batter student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the library. Teachers and students hang around the library as resources for YOU!. its great and the student resource center can get any question that you may have about the school.

    In three sentences

    I would highly Recommend this college to anyone who is interested in attending. From the student to the staff everyone help you achieve your goals. There are two campuses to chose from and many classes offered.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police publishes an annual report with detail about what types of crime happen on campus, and based on that report, hardly anything ever happens. The place seems to be crawling with police, and since each campus is relatively small, none of them are probably too hard for the police to keep up with. And one time, I accidentally left my brand new mac on campus. After returning to get it a few hours later, someone had turned it in to the lost and found already.

    Greek Life

    none . . .

    Clubs and Activities

    There's quite a few different types of clubs on campus. They're not all that big though. There's also a department of student life dedicated to improving the enjoyment of campus life. And, on each campus, there's a game room with video games, cards, and a pool table. Student life also plans events like weekend trips, transfer college visits, movies, book clubs, sporting events, free food give-aways, special speakers, and all kinds of things.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to save money. Students who want to stay at home a little longer. Students who didn't do so well in highschool. Students who did very well in school, but still don't have enough money to go to a bigger school right of the bat. Students who don't want to pay off loans forever and ever after graduation. Students who are unsure of what they want to major in. Students who enjoy a diverse student body. Students who prefer smaller class size (which really is a beautiful thing).

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, there's a few groups of people who sit around in the lounge areas and play the really involved card games, like the Magic trading card game. They get really involved and can be seen somewhere on campus at almost any hour of the day. On another note, there's some tables and seats outside, behind the library on the lowest level. It's a pretty nice spot to chill and there's hardly ever anyone out there.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition per semester is AT LEAST a couple thousand less than in-state tuition at a usual four-year college. You can complete your Associates degree at J. Sarge and easily transfer to any Virginia State school and many private schools as well. Then you can finish your Bachelors in another two years. In the end, you receive the same special piece of paper from your four-year college, but you just paid a lot less for it than most everyone else.

    What to do for fun

    On campus, not a whole lot. There are student clubs though. I am a part of one, which definitely adds to the enjoyment of campus life. Sometimes, it's fun to pick a spot that has a good view of a busy area on campus. It's fun sometimes to watch people walk by and observe the diversity and watch the occasional person acting like an idiot. Some areas on campus outside are actually very pleasant on a nice day. And if you're weird like me, there's studying in the library, which is actually pretty nice and fairly new.

    Food and Dining

    There is one small cafe on campus. The food is mediocre and overpriced. Fortunately though, there's lots of fast food joints close by.

    Dorm Life

    Well, there is no dorm life. For this reason, J. Sarge is a lot less glorious than the typical four-year college, but yet again, in the long run, you save A LOT of money. The pleasure of dorm life is an expensive luxury.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on who your professors are and how much time and effort and put into your school. If you really want to, you can do as little as possible and still slide by with passing grades the first semester or two, but your GPA will reflect your effort. After that though, when classes become a little more advanced, you will most likely fail if you're lackadaisical and don't keep up with homework and studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for your classes as early as possible. Classes fill up quick and the longer you wait, the more difficult it becomes to get all the classes you want or need at the time you'd prefer. Also, avoid taking classes on multiple campuses if at all possible. It really is a hassle. Night classes are great. There's more adults in the classes, which usually means your class mates are smarter, more mature, and more academically inclined. Plus, the classroom atmosphere is much more relaxed at this time and evening classes often let out early.

    In three sentences

    J. Sarge is a great start to your College career. It saves you a lot of money on room and board, since you can stay at home and still work on your degree, and tuition is MUCH cheaper than a four-year college. There's been a lot of recent construction and renovation, so the facilities are pretty nice.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not very great but in the scheme of things is that really important?

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Lots of programs/ information provided for the student to succeed.

    In three sentences

    I graduated in 2008 with my RN. This school was great. Now going back to school for my BSN and taking prerequisites here for another BSN program.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I enjoy watching tv. I also enjoy listening to music. I love reading books.

    Food and Dining

    They have many food options.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not started classes yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your academics. Ensure that your chose a major that you are interested in making a career.

    In three sentences

    I believe that the staff is very helpful. I also like that they have available activities for the students. The library is state of the art and it has many helpful resources.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security exists, they drive around.... but it's hard to know where they are.

    Clubs and Activities

    Unsure... I'm not involved in any.

    Great for these types of students

    Busy students that are still working part-time, full-time.. people of all ages. Someone who may have attended a small school that could be overwhelmed by a big institution.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely a good place to get started! Most courses offered here will transfer to a 4 year program/college. Its a good way to save some money.

    What to do for fun

    They have a Student Center which coordinates school events, student outings, and they have an intramural program.

    Food and Dining

    There is one sandwich shop that offers a minimal selection... it's not the best.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. This is a community college that does not offer housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Each teacher is different, classes are different. Expect to earn your grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you set aside a good chunk of time if you ever need to go to campus and talk to an adviser. The Academic Success Center containing representatives for Financial Aide, Admissions, Advising (and something else...) are extremely understaffed!

    In three sentences

    This college offers a wide variety of certificate and associate degree programs. They offer many day and night classes, and have several locations within the Richmond area, making it convenient for it's students. It's the cheapest college tuition around!

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I hang around with my friends after a night of studying and review.

    Food and Dining

    The food at home is alright.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my family while taking my class during high school.

    Academic Rigor

    The class itself is fairly straightforward. Sociology challenges you to apply methods to your view about people and society.

    Tips for prospective students

    I take Sociology during first block in high school.

    In three sentences

    Out of five I would give the college a four. This is my first semester and it is challenging but not too hard.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not to much in the way of clubs and activites.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for people living at home and working or have families.

    Bang for the buck

    Totally a good bang for the buck.... if you go in knowing your goals.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing mcuh, there are a few after school activities but most people work and have families.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food or dining except for a few fast food restaurants near by.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class. Some classes are way to easy and other classes require effort. Most teachers will work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you intend to major in or tranfer too before you sign up for your first semester, otherwise you will waste tiem and money.

    In three sentences

    They have a really helpful staff. registering for classes is simple, but they don't have many options for class times in the higher level classes. this school is a great way to knock out GER's and be able to work at the same time.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police and Security is heavely enforced.

    Clubs and Activities

    J. Sargeant Reynolds offers several different ethic clubs and many acadimic clubs as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Returning after a long period of time, first time college students. and low income students as well.

    Bang for the buck

    This a grreat school with small campuses that don't intimdate you. You also meet a varitey of students with different backgrounds going back to school for different reasons. And a lot of very good teachers willing to assist you.

    What to do for fun

    STUDY ! I know that doesn't sound like fun but when you create study groups it can be quite fun.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small caferia on campus, but a variety of food choices outside most campues areas.

    Dorm Life

    Non- dorm campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Definely a 5 star school !

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I would give for prospective students would be to look into the different ares of studies at J. Sargeant Reynolds C. C. before making any decissions when entering a community college.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from 1 - 10, 10 being the highest and 1 being the lowest, I would rate J.Sargeant Reynolds a 10 for returning students like myself, and also for newly high school graduates who are undecieded or have limited finiacial aid. This school offers a number of studies for a very afffordable price. This also a great school because it has 3 campuses in conveint areas.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are phones located everywhere just in case. They have a number you can call if you need help or if it is late and you don't want to walk to your car by yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    It is not expensive at all! It is a community college. The most expensive thing is textbooks but that you can find online for used.

    What to do for fun

    We have a student lounge which helps relieve stress. It has xbox, wii, pool table, air hockey and so many games. Everyone is welcome!

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the most amazing thing I have ever tasted but it is still really good.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are willing to help. They have office hours to see students and there is always the option of emailing them. Stay on top of your work!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get overly stressed about anything! The teachers are willing to help and they are so nice. Always ask for help and don't get behind in any work.

    In three sentences

    I love J. Sarge because there are awesome professors and the classes are not big. It is easy to navigate and there are so many class options. They give you a great outline of all the classes you will need for the degree you are pursuing.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although campuses are open and one is even located in downtown Richmond, security is visibly present.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa honor society

    Clubs and Activities

    Although they offer several clubs ad activities most are during the week days, which make it hard to partcipate when one works then.

    Great for these types of students

    Working, parents, busy, those needing a more affordable education, distant education/online, older students, serious students, students transferring to Virginia state universities and colleges

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    J Sargeant Reynolds has several campuses and offers online and satellite classes to need the meets of all students' schedules.

    Bang for the buck

    J Sargeant Reynolds is very affordable, pricing at a third of the local university. They offer their own scholarships, which have a simple application process.

    What to do for fun

    J Sargeant Reynolds has a variety of clubs and organizations along with many events throughout the year for students to participate in, sometimes with their families included.

    Food and Dining

    Campuses have stores and machines for snack, but no formal dining areas because all students commute.

    Dorm Life

    J Sargeant Reynolds doesn't provide any housing

    Academic Rigor

    Professors treat students like adults with busy schedules since most either have a full-time job and/or family. That is to say the curriculum is challenging, but professors give a doable schedule of assignments as long as you stay on top of your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Feel free to ask for assistance- everyone is happy to help! Get and keep in touch with an advisor so to stay on track and not waste time. And don't be afraid to take the online classes- you get just as much out of them!

    In three sentences

    With very friendly and helpful professors and staff I am extremely proud to go to school at J Sargeant Reynolds. As a school that keeps in mind most of its students work full time and are adults it was easy to get my degree done in the least amount of time possible. I had the best teachers and learned more there than I did anywhere else during my educational career.

  • 03/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Very good amount - I don't personally participate but all of the clubs are active.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cost-efficient.

    What to do for fun

    To be completely honest, I don't hang out around Sarge that much. Mostly I get my class done and leave. That being said, I know there are plenty of recreational clubs and activities that happen with other students.

    Food and Dining

    Nice little cafe in Burnett. Otherwise, there is not much to say (because there is not much to review).

    Dorm Life

    Can't comment, not in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you get your work done and actually pay attention, the classes should not be incredibly difficult. Teachers allow for a lot of make-up and are very flexible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work and show up to class and you should be golden.

    In three sentences

    Reynolds has been extremely rewarding. The teachers genuinely like their jobs, and the information is taught well. The class sizes are small, which makes it easy to know the teacher well.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't seen any problems on campus the whole time I have been here. We have campus patrol watching the Campus at all times, making sure everyone who enters and leaves is safe. This is not an issue at J Sarge.

    Clubs and Activities

    The only club I am in for this College is Phi Theta Kappa. his is the Honor Society for Community Colleges, it requires a 3.5 GPA or better and helps you to receive many scholarships such as this one. I highly recommend joining any club that interests you as you may find many people like yourself and great opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    J Sargeant Reynolds is great for all types of students. However, being an Engineer I know that the college is fantastic for us Engineers. The Engineering Professors are top notch and teach at Universities like VCU and U of R. The learning experience is great. Everyone here seems to be fun, out going and excited to see what comes next.

    Bang for the buck

    J Sargeant Reynolds is priced at a very low cost. The school isn't very expensive at all. We have one of the best prices I have seen here per credit hour. The courses and Professors also lecture like we are in a University. In my opinion J Sarge has the best quality learning at one of the lowest prices.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun at J Sargeant Reynolds. We have the gym to play sports from basketball to hockey. There is a very wide span of athletic courses to take that you can enjoy while getting credits. I spend most of my time in the gym when I am looking to have some fun before class.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafeteria at J Sargeant Reynolds, they have the average things that most schools will have. Nothing too fancy but will get the job done when you need to grab a quick bite before your next class begins.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in a dorm at this school so I don't have feedback for this topic.

    Academic Rigor

    I am majoring in Engineering at J Sargeant Reynolds so as you may know it is a tough major in general. The teachers here are able to make the subject seem less difficult and prepare you well throughout the duration of the time they are with you. The courses are challenging but will definitely help you in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone who is looking to go to a great 2 year college should choose J Sargeant Reynolds. There wide span of choices and options for courses. Find your major of choice and research all of the phenomenal courses J Sarge has to offer you.

    In three sentences

    J Sargeant Reynolds is one of the best, if not the best, Community Colleges in Virginia. The Professors are happy to be there and the environment is great. Everyone is self motivated and determined to make the best out of there time here.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    J Sargeant Reynolds provides a police and security system that allows you to be escorted to your car if you feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities to all types of people.

    Great for these types of students

    J Sargeant Reynolds is a great school for anyone. Being a community college, there are many full and part time students along with people of any age.

    Bang for the buck

    There is no better option for saving money on college then attending a community college. You are offered equivalent classes as a university, at a much more reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    J Sargeant Reynolds offers many clubs that will connect you with peers of similar interests. In addition, there are many academic organizations that offer volunteering opportunities to give back in the community.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at J Sargeant Reynolds offers many snacks and choices for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home and commuted to J Sargeant Reynolds for class, so I never experienced dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    J Sargeant Reynolds offers classes that are transferable to a four-year university or college. All of my courses are accepted at Virginia Commonwealth University, the university I am transferring to.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend checking into J Sargeant Reynolds Community College if you are looking to save money. I was unsure of my major at the time, and chose to start at JSRCC before transferring to Virginia Commonwealth University. My instructors at J Sargeant Reynolds were very hands-on and guided me during my time at J Sargeant Reynolds.

    In three sentences

    J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College is a great way to get your general education requirements at an inexpensive rate. I was able to receive my Associates Degree of Science in a little over 2 years. At J Sargeant Reynolds, you are taught in a smaller size classroom where you feel connected to your instructor and peers.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great restaurants around the area.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life, and I don't think the area to live off campus is a nice area to stay at.

    Academic Rigor

    Great place to start off with school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are serious about your education and want to learn, J. Sargent Reynolds is the best community college to start off at.

    In three sentences

    I can say this school has hired the best academic instructors to teach online students, as myself. I have help to an over extreme amount to make sure I am passing my classes and I am successful. My school is one of the best community colleges, even though I wish it was closer to Petersburg.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have security walking they have alarms for emergencies, they have cameras.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have all kind of clubs religious ,activities and educational

    Great for these types of students

    JSRCC great for quick program or associate degree. it doesn't have all majors so it limited.

    Bang for the buck

    JSRCC provide students with all their need. hopefully they would provide more majors.

    What to do for fun

    JSRCC have events, movie nights, and trips

    Food and Dining

    They have good food but not my favorites. they provide hot and cold beverages they provide snacks and food

    Dorm Life

    i don't know about dorms never lived in one. i know they have building, but i don't know their life style

    Academic Rigor

    professors communicate with students and they provide all the material needed. the academic that provided is reasonable and fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    student who their majors isn't provided at JSRCC should take the credits that are transferable to that college that they are graduating at

    In three sentences

    JSRCC class capacity is great, it help students to be more connected with the professors. They have great programs. and Advisers try to help as much as they can. it has many campuses which give more options to many students

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's safe.. not in a really bad area..

    Bang for the buck

    For a community college, you're really getting a good deal for your money. What more can I say?

    Food and Dining

    Again, CC... no food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    Well, this is community college, there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't actually attended class yet, so I couldn't answer this question accurately, but I have heard most teachers are unforgetting and really helpful.

    In three sentences

    J. Sargeant Reynolds is a great way to get your foot in the door as far as college is concerned. It is a good way to get a feel for classes, the environment, and even your career choice.

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I only put 4 stars because nowhere is ever 100% safe. This campus always has security officers, which I believe are police officers,in every building. I have never heard of anything ever happening on campus, so i guess they are doing a great job!!

    Great for these types of students

    J Sargeant Reynolds Community College is best for the student who really appreciates the opportunity they have in attending college; no bells and whistles included. This school is for the student looking to really buckle down and focus on school work. Maybe the student looking for a second chance at college. This is a great school for you!!

    Bang for the buck

    This is not an expensive school at all, but you are able to complete the main reason for attending any school which is to get an education!!!

    What to do for fun

    If you love the night life, there are a good number of clubs and bars about 15 mins away from the downtown campus. They have the VCU Rams basketball games in the Seigal Center during the season. There are also bowling alleys, poetry clubs, lounges and all sorts of things to get into downtown ;)

    Food and Dining

    There is not much to choose from on campus here, but there are a vast amount of restaurants just a 1 minute drive away from the Parham Rd campus. The Downtown campus has a very small snack shop. They also make subs and sandwhiches. If ypu are downtown, I would recommend going to the VCU campus for Subway, Pizza places, Jamaican food etc.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms :'((

    Academic Rigor

    There is a large variety of courses to choose from. I have had a great experience with all of my professors. I think the professors are excellently trained, because they do a great job of making the topic they are teaching so easy to grasp!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont expect too much excitement on campus. One gets the strictly business vibe around campus; which i feel is the perfect atmosphere for a community college. If you plan on applying for financial aid, i recommend you complete that ASAP!!! The lines get RIDICULOUS toward the beginning of the semester!!

    In three sentences

    I have not been attending for that long, but J Sargeant Reynolds is great for the student who is a purely self-motivated character. The campus is full of quiet study rooms and computer labs that make it an ideal environment to get work finished easily. I see J Sarge as the Get Back on Track school.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeterias are ok.

    Dorm Life

    There are not actually any dorms at J Sarge.

    In three sentences

    I really like J. Sargeant Reynolds. The classes are small and they have been remodeling the classrooms over the last couple years so the technology is up to date.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety Patrol on campus is patrolling om am everyday basis and the school also offers a text service to alert you when a crisis is happening or for weather warning which is very helpful for the students/faculty!

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa : PTK members to help you develop skills to give you an edge in job-seeking and the workforce.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are just starting up currently.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students on a tight schedule or have low incomes trying to earn a degree or certificate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any that I have discovered so far.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost for what type of education and environment you are paying for here, is definitely well worth what you paid for. A lot of people start at a community college because of how expensive a four year university costs. I personally think this is a great starting point to get to the four year university you want to graduate from, while spending more than half the cost until you get there.

    What to do for fun

    The school sponsors a lot of events that are inclusive for everyone! Some events that have happened so far include: Safety Day with the local fire/police department demonstrating drunk driving effects and fire safety, College Representatives from ODU and VCU to talk about the transferring process, a Welcome Back Event for the start of the new school year featuring a carnival type theme with free food, music, and caricatures, a Halloween Movie event featuring scary movies and providing free food and cinemas open to all students, and much more!

    Food and Dining

    One on campus dining area that they provide offers standard food in the commons. Food they offer include bottled drinks,pizza, fries, burgers, salads, and more. Another place for snacks on campus is the bookstore or vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college that does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Out of the classes I am in so far, I would say some are more challenging than others; depending on your academic standing. I recommend reading reviews on the professors prior to enrolling in the classes to get an idea of their difficulty level, and to also check their teaching style based on the syllabus. I don't recommend taking classes for an easy A or taking a class with a teacher that is not teaching to your potential; college is about challenging yourself to reveal that potential that you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend taking your placement tests as soon as possible prior to enrollment into the college, make your class schedule realistically collaborate with your work/life, and take advantage of all the services/programs they offer; such as free tutoring, parking, shuttle service, events, library access and a lot more!

    In three sentences

    J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College is a good starting point for someone to take advantage of the 2 year transfer program. You can earn your associates degree in several offered programs through this school and have the degree transferred to a VA college of your choice that is included in the transfer agreement. I am a first year student here, and have been enjoying the environment and academics offered here.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are clubs on many subjects and sometimes the college puts on activities.

    Food and Dining

    Not many options, not that great.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a community college so it isn't that rigorous. The most difficult thing is getting extra help.

    In three sentences

    Your average community college. The disability accommodations is lacking. Administration is disorganized.

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Attending a community college allows me to receive the credits for my general classes at a cheaper rate. I will be transferring to a four year college or university and by attending J Sargeant Reynolds I have saved a tremendous amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    Since it is a community college, I am not as involved in the activities provided on campus. There are several opportunities though that I have considered, such as intramural sports. However, I have not yet taken these opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    The atmosphere in the dining hall is not the best. It is very similar to a high school cafeteria. However, there are tables and benches else where on campus where I have eaten meals. I have not purchased any food there, so I can not rate that.

    Dorm Life

    J Sargeant Reynolds is a community college; there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are challenging. Every student is required to work to fulfill the assignments to receive a good grade. However, while the academics are challenging, it forces the students to learn the material extremely well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take advantage of any extra study sessions that professors offer. These will help you in preparation for exams. Also, make sure to be disciplined when completing school work and understand that there will be a lot of work to do.

    In three sentences

    The academics are taken seriously at J Sargeant Reynolds. Whenever I struggled with new course material, the professors willingly helped me. The atmosphere is also welcoming.

  • 12/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good police and security who are always present walking on the grounds.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of groups, activities, and free events held by the two campuses.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good and reasonably priced.

    Academic Rigor

    The work is whats expected in taking college level courses. You have to study ask questions, and READ your textbooks.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a plan and speak with advisers if you have any confusion or concerns. Plan to complete your program.

    In three sentences

    Good professors who are very knowledgeable in subject they teach. Its a diverse campus. They are doing a lot up updating and renovating to make the campus even more attractive and student-friendly.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have student life room with Play Stations, XBOX, pool TVs and much more or just lounging in the cafe or one of the many sitting areas. Also not too far from Historic sites in Richmond VA. and has close by malls and shopping centers .

    Food and Dining

    Reynolds has a basic cafe in the campus that has plenty of option to choose from all day. The staff is very helpful and sweet and very caring. If cafe food is not for you and not in the mood for the typical burger and fries lunch or sandwich there are many restaurants within five minutes of each campus to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    J Sargent Reynolds does not offer dorm services but there is an abundance of housing around and near the campuses that are great for students.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the courses are very difficult it is a college after all. However that being said the professors are more than willing to take extra time with their students to make sure you understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take full advantage of all resources like the tutoring centers and counselors. Do not be afraid to ask questions if you need help with something.

    In three sentences

    J Sargent Reynolds is a wonderful financial investment and worth the money to attend. Full of caring professors that are very willing to help their students achieve their goals. J Sargent is a great transition school when planning to go into a four year college and has great degree programs.

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    DTC has a swipe key for garage entry. PRC has none, and I'm not sure about Goochland Campus.

    Greek Life

    There is none, unless you count honor club societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not sure, I'm not involved with any.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfer students, out of high-school students, older students, any students willing to work and commute.

    Bang for the buck

    Like I said before, great education for the price, and has the agreement with all Virginia state institutions.

    What to do for fun

    Weekly e-mails with multiple events and clubs to attend.

    Food and Dining

    GREAT at the Downtown (DTC) campus, ALOT of options, but ONLY CASH. The dining room area right in front has a lot of seating, multiple varieties and LOTS of OUTLETS-barley any at PRC. The Paraham (PRC) road campus, the people are rude and VERY EXPENSIVE for barley any options. I've never been to the Goodchland campus so I'm not sure.

    Dorm Life

    There is none, but there might be agreements with apartment complexes near by- call and ask if you are interested.

    Academic Rigor

    It varies on the teacher, and location of class. Look it up and ask around there are many different services available you can find about through word of ear, the school's website, the internet, and the class catalog definitions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your requirements for your major, if not ask multiple people because some employees do not know it all; actually that goes with everything like financial aid, and transcripts, and credits (if your transferring). E-mail teachers before each semester and ask if you need all the required books,codes, etc. because sometimes you don't-it will save you money. Use the website: www.bigwords.com to find the cheapest used or new items. Google your teachers, don't trust everything you read, but it may help you decide on an instructor. Use the tutoring service if you need help, it's free look it up.

    In three sentences

    J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College is an affordable college, that has an articulation agreement with all Virginia state institions. With three campuses; Downtown Campus, Goochland Campus, and Paraham Road Campus there are many locations to choose from. The only thing I would advise you to do is to ask a LOT of questions upon uncertainties and do your research on EVERY subject before you commit and register (costs, fees, needed requirements, teachers, tutoring, etc.).

  • 05/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security patrols non stop and i have always felt extremely secure.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at J. Sargeant Reynolds includes Phi Theta Kappa and Phi Beta Lambda

    Clubs and Activities

    J. Sarge offers a plethora of clubs and activities from sign language to anime, but a complete list can be found on the school website.

    Great for these types of students

    Motivated and involved in the school community

    Bang for the buck

    Explore the transfer programs available between J. Sarge and other universities. Take advantage of tutoring services and other resources available to you as a student.

    What to do for fun

    Study! Participate in clubs and get to know who's involved.

    Food and Dining

    Options are available but can be expensive. Packing your own lunch is often cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    J. Sarge is. Community college and while it does not offer it's own dorms, it is located across the street from VCU dorms. Any J. Sarge student interested in transferring to VCU would find assistance in admissions.

    Academic Rigor

    J. Sarge provided me with a rigorous yet maintainable work load. Teachers have been known to go out of there way to help students achieve success. Many of my teachers held flexible office hours and we're willing to work around my schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have patience, the financial aid office and academic advisors are swamped, they do however want to help you. A few ways you can help yourself is to know you're purpose for going, printing out any necessary forms, knowing your student I.D. Number, and have patience.

    In three sentences

    A place where challenges become steeping stones. Where there's a will there's a way. A great place to learn, grow, and succeed.

  • 06/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No issues.

    Greek Life

    Zero

    Great for these types of students

    Low-income.

    Bang for the buck

    Pretty cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing fun here.

    Food and Dining

    Decent cafe.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard. Don't be late.

    In three sentences

    Good community college to begin your college experience at. Wonderful transfer policy. Horrible hoops to jump through for dual-enrollment.

  • 08/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are the customary emergency help buttons around the campus. However, the Campus Safety officers I have met around campus have not been very helpful and act like they have something better to do with their time.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is some selection of clubs for students, but not very many. Take advantage of getting to know at least a few classmates in each class. It may develop into a friendship.

    Great for these types of students

    JSRCC will be great for you if... - Do not have money for 4 year institution - Not sure what you want to major in - Want to save money - Are an adult returning to college - Did not do well in high school or former college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I honestly have not observed any unusual traditions at JSRCC.

    Bang for the buck

    Be sure to make use of the resources at JSRCC to get the most out of your college experience - Student Center - Blackboard - JSRCC SmartThinking (Online Tutoring Service available through Blackboard) - Library - Workforce Center - Meetings with your professors and advisors

    What to do for fun

    I have not participated in the student activities yet, but I have seen how the students interact with each other. I find the atmosphere to be more amiable than the traditional 4 year institutions. I have heard many students attend functions later on after classes. The other students will help support you as well. If you are a young adult like myself, do not be deterred that many of the students there are old enough to be your parents. You will be treated as an adult, their equal. How people react and relate to you will be based on your maturity level and personality.

    Food and Dining

    The food service is alright. It is not horrible, but it is not exceptional either. However, the staff helps make up for that. They are very friendly and will remember your name if you interact with them. I suggest that you bring your own main course (such as a sandwich), then purchase the array of snacks available at the dining area (fruit, granola bars, sports drinks, etc)

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a community college, there are no dorms for students to live in. You will need to already have a place to live. However, there are activities on campus for students to get involved in (ASL, Muslim Student Organization, etc).

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at JSRCC will prepare you for a 4 year institution. However, do no make the mistake in assuming that all your classes will be an easy pass because they are at a community college. The professors will challenge you and expect you to show effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to get all your paperwork in at least a couple of months before you plan to attend the college. Know the priority dates to get your FAFSA, application, and registration information in. Try to be prepared even before the priority date arrives. If not, your paperwork will get lost in the shuffle and you may not the courses or financial aid that you want/need.

    In three sentences

    JSRCC is a great school to get a head start. The professors and staff provide you with the tools and knowledge to prepare for a 4 year institution and/or a career. Additionally, you can accomplish all of this at a low cost.