Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Jackson Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/31/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are looking for quality education at a much cheaper price. Those who are not ready for the jump between high school and a university. Those who enjoy a more relaxed atmosphere.

    Tips for prospective students

    JCC is a community college, but one cannot go into JCC and expect every class to be cake. With that mindset one will not go very far, one must work hard in order to succeed here.

    Bang for the buck

    One can learn a great deal for much less money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really do not have any complaints. The students one meets at JCC all are very friendly, but some of the professors and be a little unapproachable.

    Am learning a lot

    JCC is great for education. Many of the professors could easily be university professors, and it is because of that that JCC is so helpful. Because of the size of JCC, one can get help much easier which, in turn, will help the individual to learn more.

  • 12/07/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I plan to go through financial aid

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes, because it is close to home.

    Will learn a lot

    Yes, I plan to.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've not eaten from the cafeteria so this doesn't apply to me.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorm but I've had friends say they enjoy it.

    Tips for prospective students

    ATTEND CLASS! If you are interested in Psychology I recommend that you take as many classes as possible with Dr. Walraven. Also, the more you apply yourself the more you will get out of the experience!

    In three sentences

    I've found the staff to be helpful. The atmosphere is friendly and I'm enjoying my time here. I would recommend this school to friends and family.

  • 10/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    for students that really don't know what that really want to get into, and for those that want to pursue careers that only need a associates degree this is the school for you

    Tips for prospective students

    my tips are to study but also plan something fun to do everyday to give yourself a break from the books, and that school seriously its a lot different from high school.

    Bang for the buck

    the credit hour tuition is very nice for someone with shallow pockets. it cost close to about twenty grand less for a semester of 15 credits than a four year university,

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here very much but the more i think about what i want to do, i come to realize this may not be the place for me.

    Am learning a lot

    this is a great school for students who like to challenge in their studies.

  • 07/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you wish to have a secondary education without having to spend university prices, then Jackson Community College is the place for you to attend. The atmosphere and teachers are very friendly, I have enjoyed the two years I have attended the school very much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study, and take the classes seriously. Some classes may seem easy and you may be able to blow them off, but some things you learn in these classes will be applied to the harder classes of your degree of choice. Always attend class, if you are not in class then you are wasting your time and money.

    Bang for the buck

    Jackson Community College is much cheaper than a university, although you do not get the experience of attending a university which is kind of a stinker.

    Am enjoying being here

    Jackson Community College has a fun atmosphere, there are many students to socialize with, and the library is suitable for doing homework or using the computers to have a little fun.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot of information while attending Jackson Community College. I am really looking forward to the opportunities that the school is going to give me when I am done.

  • 09/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who need to transfer credits, Non traditional students, Students going into the medical field, and Local high schoolers looking for direction and a place to start.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live in Jackson and need to get prerequisites out of the way go here. JCC is part of the MACRO agreement and credits will transfer with ease to whatever college is also on board with MACRO.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is updated here: http://www.jccmi.edu/StudentServices/Registration/tuition.htm The rates are acceptable and the student services at the college have amazing counselors who will work with you to try and get your help with financial aid.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy the classes and upbeat interesting teachers but being a community college there's times where the campus is dead so to speak. On the flip side though the Potter building on occasion houses artists, bands, and comedians that provide entertainment and chances to meet important people in the arts.

    Am learning a lot

    I am amazed that a community college could provide me so many resources to accomplish my goals. On many occasions teachers will go out of their way to help out their students by changing scheduled test dates to having one on one student hours available. The tutoring center here is also an amazing resource for any struggling student who have knowledgeable tutors that can help out in almost any class and if they cant the center will seek one out for you at the schools expense. For any students who might be wary know that even if you are a nontraditional student there will be great teachers and lots of help.

  • 12/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for EVERYONE.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in with lots of questions to make sure you get all of your concerns taken care of. They'll help you with everything.

    Bang for the buck

    I am personally paying higher tuition since I am out of county but it's STILL very affordable. You get so much free help from the staff it definitely makes every dollar worth it. They strive to help you succeed. Not to mention, the Jackson Campus now has an on-site clinic for walk-in sickies. It literally only costs a few dollars to get prescriptions. Beyond affordable!

    Am enjoying being here

    I don't have a single complaint about this school. It has so many resources to help students and it's all for free. The student body is diverse and haven't observed any social issues at all.

    Am learning a lot

    I am going into my 3rd semester at JCC. I love it so much. All of the instructors I've had so far are very helpful and enjoy their jobs. They reach out and are friendly to their students and make learning fun.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i do not eat at the college

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm.

    In three sentences

    i think that jackson community college is a great school. it is easy to get through any process that you need to get through and everyone there is friendly. also jcc will help you no matter what.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports events through out the week.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to your professor's they are willing to help just ask. advisors on campus are there to help with curent and future plans stop in now and then to make sure you are taking to the right classes.

    In three sentences

    is a great school to attend to receive a higher education. great environment for learn in with professor who are willing to help you. a wide variety of out of class you actives to keep you apart of the campus community.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Jackson community college is a great school. They have really awesome teachers. And they have add and updated the buildings on campus.

  • 04/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a safety officer on campus to assist in any situation needed.

    Great for these types of students

    Jackson community college is great for the student that wants to get their general education classes out of the way before transferring to a four year college or university.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to the university and another college in Adrian, it is the best option price wise regardless if the student is going for an Associates or transferring.

    Food and Dining

    JCC in Adrian, MI, has a local cafe housed inside. Just about everything is healthy.

    Dorm Life

    Does not apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class and the instructor. Everyone has their own standards, but its nothing like high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take any of the classes lightly. Feel free to ask for help, speak up. Attend study groups or start your own.

    In three sentences

    JCC has wonderful instructors that help you succeed. Faculty are employeed in the subject matter they teach so they know what they teach. The small class sizes give way to more personal instruction.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If your a criminal justice major you have the opportunity to be campus safety. Whats better than getting class credit and being paid?

    Great for these types of students

    JCC is great for those who plan on transferring or if your in the health profession.

    What to do for fun

    At JCC if your here to live you just have to make your own fun. But JCC offers a lot of groups like Drama club and Broadway review.

    Food and Dining

    Campus food is OK. Its good just expensive. Because JCC is a apartment like dorm school there are no meal plans because we have a kitchen so meal plans are not needed.

    Dorm Life

    I love living on campus! There is only one problem with JCC and their dorms: lack of things to do. If you do not own a car or have a license getting around (in town) is pretty hard. Other than that the dorms are like apartments and its a small campus so you get to know a lot of the people who live with and near you.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes offered are easy sounding but because the teachers at JCC are on top of their game the classes are harder than you would have thought. Definitely a challenge, but, isn't that what college is about?

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you study and take advantage of the library. Also visit the student center for success if you're struggling in a class.

    In three sentences

    JCC is a beautiful campus with great potential to offer a lot to students. I live in the dorms and I love it, it can get rough though if you don't drive.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    its actually pretty safe!

    Greek Life

    nothin!

    Clubs and Activities

    nothing really to put here.

    Great for these types of students

    good for older people who are returning to school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not really.

    Bang for the buck

    no i would think it would be cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    homework, read, internet sucks though.

    Food and Dining

    bring your lunch even the coffee sucks!

    Dorm Life

    no comment

    Academic Rigor

    note hard, but expect to due homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    the squeaky wheel gets the grease. speak up in class teachers hate wall ornaments!

    In three sentences

    the teachers are great. the test are fair. the food sucks!

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There was always a security guard on duty. I remember one night my class got out late and it was dark. The guard walked outside before the first student and he stayed out there until all of our vehicles had left the parking lot. Then, he made sure the instructor had all of her things, and he pulled out of the parking lot behind her.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students to excel in one-on-one situations. It was very easy to get questions answered or the help you needed; either by a teacher or a fellow classmate who knew what they were doing.

    Food and Dining

    The only thing we had access to was vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms on the Hillsdale Campus.

    In three sentences

    I actually dual enrolled at the Hillsdale LaTarte Center. I loved the small classes which led to questions answered easily. Everyone was nice, and willing to help; I go all of my questions answered!

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've attended the college for two years and I've had no issues with safety.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about the clubs available for the school since I didn't attend any.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know much about the clubs available for the school since I didn't attend any.

    Great for these types of students

    1st time college students or or returning adults who want to get their prerequisites out of the way before moving onto a 4 year university or people who are interested in getting an associates degree in several careers.

    Bang for the buck

    The price for classes themselves are not bad, the credit hour cost as of 2012 is 100.50 bucks for in state students. The bookstore however is a complete rip-off, if possible buy your books online.

    What to do for fun

    The campus has several clubs and sports, though it you want to experience a fun college town I suggest going up to Ann Arbor.

    Food and Dining

    Not a whole lot of options and the food can be very pricey but not bad all things considered.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed off campus so I can't speak about that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and apply yourself, just become its a community college doesn't mean it should be blown off.

    In three sentences

    A good stepping stone for students who plan on attending a four year institution. The college is small enough that it want be too overwhelming for 1st year college students or returning adults to school. The people are very nice and the many teachers seem genuinely interested in their students success.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Workout they have a gym thats open everyday.

    Food and Dining

    I make my food ;D

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are really nice. Just dont have anything to do on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    my classes arent hard yet i just started in may so its like july now im not studying for my major until fall.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to learn.

    In three sentences

    I rate them a 8.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JCC is great for those who haven't decided what to do yet, people who are re-entering college life, and people who want to transfer to another school!

    Bang for the buck

    The credits usually transfer easily, and I find the staff very helpful for classes and whatnot.

    What to do for fun

    I'm not usually at JCC for fun. I only spend as much time as I need to for classes. The cafe's are nice for hanging out between classes though!

    Food and Dining

    Love the cafes in lobbies and study ares! Good food and usually great atmosphere!

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived in the JCC dorms, but they seem simple and decent. I've heard no complaints.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't ridiculously hard if you take the seriously. Meeting with professors is always a good thing to make sure you understand everything clearly and have the right dates for due assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep meeting with professors or advisers if you don't understand something because they will help you. And keep up with homework and the class shouldn't be too difficult. Also, find a friend or two in every class who will be helpful and studious with you. It makes everything a bit easier.

    In three sentences

    There are great, small classes with teachers who usually take the time to help you! It is easy to navigate the different campus locations. They are very helpful when it comes to getting set up for classes, tuition, and transfers!

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are recently graduated from high school will find JCC to be similar to the high school experience. This school can be seen as a nice bridge between high school and a bigger college or university. Non-traditional students will also enjoy JCC due to flexibility and accessibility of classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Most times I would hear from other students that they did not like the school, it was too easy, etc... I can honestly say that for as little as it costs to attend JCC, I left the school knowing that I got my money's worth. It is a great feeling knowing that I recieved a quality education for a very affordable price.

    Food and Dining

    The food provided from the cafeteria was very good! The only problem is that most times the food would be over-priced. Once a week however they would do Dollar Deals where a menu item would be placed at only a dollar. The school also has a coffee bar that serves Starbucks products for the coffee addict.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived in the dorms, but from what I have heard from friends who did live in the dorms, it was a very positive experience. During orientation I did tour the dorms and I would like to point out that they are very modern with all of the comforts of home.

    Academic Rigor

    There will be some challenging classes and there will also be some easier classes. The level of difficulty varies from class to class depending on the subject matter. Some classes are certainly on the same level as high school, but be warned that most teachers will grade strictly

    Tips for prospective students

    Make time to visit with instructors so they become familiar with you. Be sure to branch out and meet other students in the library or cafeteria. Don't be afraid to use all resources as there are many on campus to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    JCC is a great school for anyone. The atmosphere is casual and relaxed, great for anyone not ready for bigger colleges or universities. JCC has the right at home feel for those just graduating from high school or those returning to school as a non-traditional student.

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    JCC revamped their cafeteria my last semester. The food was very good there.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live in the dorms but my friends said they enjoyed them.

    Academic Rigor

    Some might say JCC is like 13th grade coming out of high school, but even though its not a big 4 year university if you don't stay on top of your work it will come around and bite you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get lazy on homework and stay focused!

    In three sentences

    This college was a great start to my education. While taking a variety of classes I learned a lot in multiple subjects. I really enjoyed most of the teachers there.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see the security officers around.

    Great for these types of students

    All students

    Bang for the buck

    Student loans will not cover an aggressive educational plan.

    What to do for fun

    They offer sports and such if you have time.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is rarely open.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The accelerated business program is very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as much information on the cost per semester of the program you are involved in.

    In three sentences

    They offer great programs for non traditional students. The instructors so far have been very clear.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I believe Jackson Community College is an excellent choice to begin a career path. This college offers many classes and degrees. Jackson Community College has great customer service with friendly and helpful staff.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with new friends! Catch up with old friends! Also, going to the Potter Center for concerts/performances look fun!

    Food and Dining

    Really good! The food is very appetizing.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome! The teachers are very helpful. The advisors also give you plenty of attention when looking for classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick this school if not sure where to go. + it's cheap and you get all of the necessary classes you'll need anyway at a 2-year college, instead of going to a 4-year college where you do that for the 1st 2 years. It's just that easy!

    In three sentences

    It's really nice and affordable here. They opened up a North Campus, which is close to home for me. It also offers plenty of online classes, which I love because it's easier for me to go to work more often.

  • 12/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Constant security surveillance and staff make the campus safe for students.

    Greek Life

    None that I know of, though many classes include elements of Greek society.

    Great for these types of students

    People out of high school or returning to college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Much lower tuition compared to colleges of similar quality.

    What to do for fun

    The college has regular extracurricular activities for its students.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria, and the snack areas seem to have confusion over their hours...you can't count on listed hours of operation being adhered to.

    Dorm Life

    I attend the college from home.

    Academic Rigor

    You can maintain your work easily by staying on top of your studies and taking notes during lectures

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are fresh out of High school there's no better choice than JCC.

    In three sentences

    A laid back atmosphere and friendly staff. Can greatly help in providing direction for decided and undecided students.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    don't live in dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I'm just getting started

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and don't give up

    In three sentences

    I believe that Jcc is a very nice school. There a are friendly students as well as workers. Its close to home and I don't have to leave my children.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Its definitely not a home cooked meal.

    Dorm Life

    I wasnt in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    99% of the teachers i had were very helpful and fair but they flowered strict guide lines.

    In three sentences

    If a good transition between high school and university life is what your looking for then JCC is a great place to start. Helpful teachers and faculty make the experience smooth and less stressful.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will be absolutely fine here.

    Greek Life

    Zero

    Clubs and Activities

    They have all the band programs, and theater programs, and sports that any college would have, where the college lacks is just in the people around willing to promote and join the things that exist. The college needs more active people.

    Great for these types of students

    People serious about education but serious about not spending a lot.

    Bang for the buck

    For my advice on JCC its definitely that you get what you put into it, its a small college (still growing) and offers the intro courses and lower end classes for those just returning to school, but it also has a staff of dedicated teachers who really liven the school up. You can get all the basic pre-req's from great teachers at a small fraction of what big universities cost and essentially save yourself two or three years of 10k and up tuition while learning the same things. Its a quiet town but stands to raise tremendously in the next few years, get involved! Anyway a definite bang for your buck No Doubt About It.

    What to do for fun

    Because of JCC's size there really isn't much in the way of immediate fun things to do minus the traditional hang out with friends, but i will say if you get involved in any organization or club going on they seem very tight knit and the people get enjoyment out of it.

    Food and Dining

    The coffee shop (Java Joe's, serving Starbucks) is pretty amazing and is inside the library, the food situation is odd because the cafeteria is there but i never see anything going on around it or really anybody really there, it seems like an extravagant ghost town. The potter center where its located is always like that when events aren't happening, which makes it a great study place.

    Dorm Life

    To be honest I don't know! :o. Its a pretty new addition to the campus and i hear great things, but I live close by. If you live close by its better fiscally to just drive to school if you ask me, but if your determined to live in a dorm go for it!

    Academic Rigor

    For the classes they offer, and the quality of the instructors the work doesn't seem like too much of a pain. I have made the mistake, however, of underestimating the workload.

    Tips for prospective students

    While a community college may seem easier it is by far just as hard as any class. If your going to pay for it in any college take the classes that challenge you, the instructors get much better as you get to higher classes anyway to be honest. Also, the library here is your best friend.

    In three sentences

    A great two year college with mostly excellent instructors. Low cost for pre-req's or any kind of associates degree. A growing facility in the beautiful Michigan countryside close to Jackson.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You might get a bee sting in the spring, other than that your probably good.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I have yet to hear of any.

    Great for these types of students

    Limited income students, or students who are not ready to be thrust into a university life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Starbucks on campus is very nice, and so is the lady who works there.

    Bang for the buck

    JCC is very cheap, and the credits transfer, what else could you want?

    What to do for fun

    Not a lot, if you are looking for fun, this is not the place to be.

    Food and Dining

    It's solid cafeteria food, not great, not terrible.

    Dorm Life

    Mostly for athletes, can't speak much about it. I've heard the dorms are nice however.

    Academic Rigor

    It is what you make it, take difficult classes and they tend to be that way, the same goes for easy ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Solid place as long as your not looking for a college atmosphere. Good library, helpful staff, just not a lot of fun going on.

    In three sentences

    Solid school, nothing overly special. Professors are kind and understanding, which works well with the small class sizes. However if your looking for a true college experience JCC isn't for you.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always see someone around, if you need someone to walk with you out to your care during night classes always seem to be there. Never had any issues in the last three years that I've attended school here

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all Students

    Bang for the buck

    I feel I'm getting more one on one than a larger school can give, I still will get the same education diploma when I am done

    What to do for fun

    Activities always posted for those interested

    Food and Dining

    Great food

    Academic Rigor

    You get what you put into your classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for all financial aid no matter what your age or career goals

    In three sentences

    Affordable for students of all ages Close community ties Great teacher student relationships

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I often found security guards sleeping on the 3rd floor of the Potter Center.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's this thing called Student Government which is a bunch of weird unbathed students, discussing anime all day. There's another thing called Men of Merit which is a black supremacy group.

    Great for these types of students

    It's not great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nope. Nothing to see here.

    Bang for the buck

    Borderline scam.

    What to do for fun

    Go home.

    Food and Dining

    Severely overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    Rules are too tight. No classic dorm experience to be had here.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy stuff. Only challenges here are moronic teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you must attend a Community College, attend a different one.

    In three sentences

    Incredibly unprofessional and inexperienced staff. Educational standards barely stand out above most high schools. This is the last stop students make, before giving up on life.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. We have your standard paid guards as well as students who are going into the police force patrolling at all times.

    Greek Life

    I dont really know about this topic.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs to join, hardest part is picking which you want to be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    All students flourish here. People into sports all the way to stay at home parents all attend and do great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the Potter center up by the theater, there is almost no one there ever. Very quite and off on its own. Great place to study, do homework, or read a book between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Great school, I love it here. Going to be hard to leave.

    What to do for fun

    JCC has all the sports teams you could ever want to join, many different clubs, and all sorts of different gym classes from spinning to zumba. Always the normal places to go pretty close by, places to eat, movies, skating(roller and ice).

    Food and Dining

    The food at JCC is amazing! Everyone can find something to eat. They have healthy choices as well as everyones favorite junk foods.

    Dorm Life

    From what I have heard the dorms are great! They are pretty big compared to other schools and very nice. Seeing as they were only built a few years ago they are very up to date and very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    JCC really knows how to push you, but not in a bad way. Enough to really gain something more than just knowledge, they show you how to apply things to the real world. I have gained a lot from this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to start a relationship with a adviser. The better you get to know one, the easier it is for you in the long run.

    In three sentences

    JCC is a very good school, with all around good teachers and nice facility's. The students get help whenever needed. Great school!

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many security guards not only driving around, but walking around as well.

    Greek Life

    There is not any greek life on JCC campus; they do have an honors program that is somewhat greek, but not to the extent of universities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There does not seem to be many clubs and activities besides going to sporting events.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is now an international student center where you can learn about different cultures!

    What to do for fun

    There are many opportunities where you are able to get involved at JCC. Not as many as universities may offer, but there are a few.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very nice and well put together compared to most dorms out there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to talk with an advisor not only from JCC but with one from future transfer schools.

    In three sentences

    Jackson Community College is a great place to start your education! Basic courses are offered for most majors. They have low affordable prices.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has 24/7 security. No persons can come in and out of the dorm buildings without a school id.

    Clubs and Activities

    I myself did not get involved in any clubs. I played on the soccer team and my teammates were all the friends i really needed.

    Great for these types of students

    JCC is great for students who have not yet decided what it is exactly that they want their career to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Many of the students participate in pick up basketball games.

    Bang for the buck

    JCC is a good institution to get your first two years of school down.

    What to do for fun

    In the city of Jackson there are two malls that many students go to. Also, the gym constantly has pick up basketball games for those students who like to be active.

    Food and Dining

    There is no meal plan at JCC so you have to buy your own food, however, the dorm room has a fully applianced kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are the nicest I have ever seen. Living in the dorms at JCC, for some, is better than living at home. Numerous group activities are organized that create good opportunities for making new social connections.

    Academic Rigor

    The English classes I have taken were fairly laid back. However, the Science courses are challenging and push your critical thinking skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    The dorm rooms can be noisy at times so take advantage of the library. It is a great place to study.

    In three sentences

    Jackson Community College is a great school for first and second year science majors. The instructors are very friendly, and many allow you to schedule one on one sessions with them. Also, the Jackson Community College community is very welcoming.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I listen to music and play with my daughter.

    Tips for prospective students

    At least try it out once.

    In three sentences

    JCC is a good school. I have had nothing but good luck there. My teacher was very helpful.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a smaller class size or want to transfer credtis but dont want to pay the higher price.

    Bang for the buck

    The educational experience is there just at a lower cost than Universities.

    Food and Dining

    There are places to eat on Campus

    Academic Rigor

    The have a My Educational Plan this plan gives a view of all classes you need to take for your program of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your financial aid done. Know what your program of study is. Ask question.

    In three sentences

    The staff has been very helpful and informative. The classes are small, which is a better teacher to student ration than larger colleges. They have a wide range of programs of study and offer the MACRO Agreement.

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At the LISD campus, which is smaller than a high school, we have two security guards. Mind you, I know that one of these security guards has had some serious training in the military/security force, which does seem a little safer if you are the type of person who has fear about robberies, shooting, and things of those sorts.

    Greek Life

    I'm American

    Clubs and Activities

    We have NOTHING of this sort at the LISD campus, so check out the bigger campuses. I know there is a football teams. You can easily search for these on the website. I have heard rumors of the existence of clubs, but the truth is shrouded in mist...

    Great for these types of students

    Lower income, students in the cities where these college are located, people who do not know if college will work for them, students wanting to get the foot in the door.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wouldn't know.

    Bang for the buck

    If you can get FASFA, then you can get most, if not all, of your tuition paid for. That is a pretty good deal if you ask me.

    What to do for fun

    There are athletic teams and the such at the Jackson Campus, but not at the LISD campus. We have NOTHING to do. The best you can hope for at LISD is to get to know fellow students and start some sort of group. For example, in my World Regions class, we talking about taking our practicals in the class and doing them outside of class.

    Food and Dining

    I only go to the LISD campus and all they have is a small cafe. Keep in mind this particular campus is smaller than a high school. I'm sure the Jackson campus has great food. I have just never eaten it.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I can't comment on such.

    Academic Rigor

    The entry level classes have been pretty straight-forward and easy thus far. However, some people are good at math, some people are not so good. The same concept applies with science and any other class. These classes are not easy just because it is a community college. You will be pushed to learn if you do not know the concepts at hand. Personally, I love science, but chemistry 131 is proving to be challenging, so do not expect this college and the instructors to be pushovers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get the opportunity to know the teachers. I have been going to this school at the LISD campus for two years. Not only can they help you achieve more in class, they can also be a recommendation for a future university if you decide to transfer. If you are struggling in your class, chances are that there may be a tutor to help you. This may not be the case for the harder classes, but you never know. Just remember that the student tutors are students and therefor are not teachers with teaching degrees. They may not be the best in education, but student tutors pass the class with a 3.5-4.0, so they should be able to help you out. When applying for classes, remember that there are multiple satellite colleges of J.C.C. This makes it convenient to work around your schedule if you can afford to drive to another city for class. Other than that, stay sharp and study. Good luck!

    In three sentences

    J.C.C. has small class sizes, so you can get personal learning experience. The tuition is very low, making this college a good start do post-secondary learning. However, there are not enough student tutors for the higher leveled classes such as pre-calc, statistics, and etc.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    As long as you know your professor(s) and they know that you are trying they will push you.

    In three sentences

    I believe that JCC can be described in three words, motivational, helpful and sincere.

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since being a community college, there's limited activities and clubs provided.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not the greatest and kind of pricey. I would recommend bringing a lunch to school for a healthier, cheaper alternative.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently living at home with my parent's but from what I hear the dorms are an alright experience.

    Academic Rigor

    My experience so far has been pretty easy. Obviously college is suppose to challenge one but I have taken pretty challenging classes others might say but with a little studying and showing up to class the academic experience is pretty easy.

    In three sentences

    Great School for students who are looking for a smooth transition as a freshmen. This is a school for students who are undecided on majors or who are looking to take the basic classes at a cheaper rate. Overall, the experience I am having is mediocre.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    As inexpensive as can be for a Community College. Less than $100 a credit hour for online classes.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! There is a game night on Tuesdays where they order pizza and play a new game each time. There are ping pong/gaming rooms with xbox 360's inside. There are a lot of little niches for you to just hang out with a few friends, or maybe even head over to the fitness center for a game of basketball or a class.

    Food and Dining

    The Potter Center cafe is great! All food on campus is served cafeteria style, unless you go to the Starbucks in the library. There are options for any budget. Full meals are $5 with a side, drink, and main course included. You can also get a slice of pizza or fries for $1-$2.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms, but my friend says they are spectacular! They have a lot of cultural dinners and activities for dorm students to attend on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They engineer their classes and instructors to really push the students to learn and get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and take a tour of the campus;it's beautiful!

    In three sentences

    They hire great Teachers. The student to faculty ratio is very small and good for asking questions and good for getting help. The Center for Student Success is a great place to go for tutoring or help with homework and tests.

  • 05/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is high on campus and the school is small so there are very few areas not being monitored.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are very few clubs and they are hard to locate and contact.

    Great for these types of students

    Since the tuition is low, Jackson College is great for students looking to get the prerequisites out of the way and then transfer. It is also beneficial for homeschool students who need concrete transcripts in order to attend a university.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is low but so are class options. Ever since they changed the name to Jackson College the cost of tuition is on the rise.

    What to do for fun

    The Potter Center usually has a variety of performances being held in the auditorium. Students are able to attend any sport events at the college for free.

    Food and Dining

    There are no options on campus for dinner. Both the Cyber caffe and Wava Joe's are only open from 7:30am to 3pm. The cafeteria is only open from 10am to 2pm.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean, updated and spacious. There is a small kitchen area that includes a stove, which most dorms do not. However the students living there are rowdy and like to blast music loud enough to hear across campus. I can't imagine trying to sleep there.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor all depends on the professor. Most of them give large amounts of work and are rigid when it comes to grading. Others are more lenient. The inconsistency sometimes benefits the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The choice of classes for each individual field is limited.If You are going to specialize you might want to transfer.

    In three sentences

    Jackson College is small, clean school that is great for first time students. It has relatively low tuition rate and high transfer rate. Both the staff and students are diverse and friendly.