Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Jackson State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/26/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I don't think the cost is to high because any college is going to be expensive no matter what college you attend.

    Will enjoy being here

    I believe I will have a great time on any Jackson State Community College campus. The campus site look very welcoming to people of all types. I dont believe I will have a problem fitting in at all.

    Will learn a lot

    I think I will be able to learn alot from going to this college. I have had friends attend this college and they say their nursing program is great and is top 12 in the nation wich is great.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    JSCC is very reasonably priced.

    What to do for fun

    JSCC often has activities going on for students to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    JSCC has vending machines, and used to offer chikfila, but as of now JSCC offers little to no food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    JSCC does not offer dormitories.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been challenged at JSCC, but I have also not been strained too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend doing your research on the teachers before signing up for classes and become accustomed to their teaching styles.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State Community College is a decent school that offers a low tuition price. It is easy to transfer credits, and would make a great starter school for anyone. I recommend JSCC.

  • 05/25/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends! It's not that big of a campus and you will be able to fit in!!

    Bang for the buck

    Of course, it's a community college but it doesn't cost to much and you can get paid more than some one with a bachelors degree depending on major.

    Will enjoy being here

    Easy campus to figure out. A lot of clubs.

    Will learn a lot

    They are willing to work with you to help you learn.

  • 10/12/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    lower level

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not overload on the hard courses

    Will enjoy being here

    I have heard the atmosphere is great and is very welcoming.

    Will learn a lot

    I have had previous friends that have been accepted into graduate school because of their education from here.

  • 11/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great if you live in the area of the branch you plan to attend because it's close to home. I live at home and commute to school 2 days a week. It's just great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships!! Jackson State offers plenty of scholarships so don't wait to apply! It really makes a difference!!

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are very affordable where at a university you would pay thousands for one class. Here classes are in the hundreds and scholarships are in range for anyone. Money-wise, this school is it!

    Am enjoying being here

    It's a small campus so everything in close knit. It is great if you're looking for a school that's small and cheap!

    Am learning a lot

    This school is equipped with teachers that want to teach and they are there to help you when you need it!

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for all kinds of students. No student could not like this school for it as great academic opportunities as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage high school graduates to attend the Community College for several different reason. The classes are just like high school and the environment is awesome to be around. I like all the teachers I have had and all the students there are great! It's also not as expensive as many of the bigger colleges around. I will recommend high school graduates to attend Jackson State Community College.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Just on my two quick visits, security guards were on the premises and driving around the parking lot.

    Great for these types of students

    Parents, full-time employees trying to earn their degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Classes start next month, not sure of any unusual traditions yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Made the transition from working full time, to now attending college online/night very smooth. So glad I chose Jackson State Community College, very friendly and personable.

    What to do for fun

    I am married with a child, and work full time. Classes start June 4th, not sure what there is to get involved with yet.

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes will start June 4th.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not register online, go to the campus and allow them to help you with classes, scholarship and admissions.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State Community College has been extremely friendly and helpful. Going back to school as an adult and parent, can be very intimidating, and they have made the transition very smooth for me. Registration process was very thorough and informational.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is all around and you are safe 24/7

    Greek Life

    Fraternity Clubs for Guys

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA

    Great for these types of students

    for students who focused on their education and want to experience a great community college without spending a lot of money

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We always fix food for students or even for the community. Also we donate to various charities and offer specials classes in jackson

    Bang for the buck

    The school is affordable for anyone who wishes to attend and it is worth going to

    What to do for fun

    Socialize with students and participate in weekend activities

    Food and Dining

    We have great snacks at the school and dine in place around the city by the school

    Dorm Life

    We dont have dorms but we have beautiful apartments down the street and other parts of Jackson that are close to the school.

    Academic Rigor

    They make the work fun and easy for all strudents to enjoy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and keep a positive attitude about what you do and how you do it.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State Provides excellent and exceeding professors that care about you and your work. The School offers great services like tutuoring and student activities for all students. The school love what they do and makes everyone happy.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Schcool activites

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused

    In three sentences

    Jackson state is a great school and the staff is very helpful

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent!!!

    Greek Life

    not involved

    Clubs and Activities

    madison county general hospital volunteer and honors programs.

    Great for these types of students

    student hall

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    grass area

    Bang for the buck

    volunteer time. part time work. student tips

    What to do for fun

    travel

    Food and Dining

    needs work

    Dorm Life

    needs some improvement

    Academic Rigor

    successful..

    Tips for prospective students

    get scholarships and fafsa

    In three sentences

    Long prolonged studies

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always campus security there.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Many to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student that wants something convient.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library is on a hill.

    Bang for the buck

    Great place to begin.

    What to do for fun

    Join one of the many organizations.

    Food and Dining

    no cafateria

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    All majors transfer easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great school to start out at. All the staff is willing to help. Great sources to help students.

    In three sentences

    It is very reliable so that is a 8.I love how close to home it is,10. All the staff is really friendly,10.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Jackson State has basketball and baseball teams along with a softball team, which are fun to watch. Also, there is a minor league baseball team with a stadium just down the road from campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food and dining currently at the moment. However there is plenty of restaurants in the vicinity.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a prospective student is unsure about college, I recommend Jackson State for a start. It will give new students a small taste of what college is.

    In three sentences

    JSCC is a good transition from high school into college. The classes are small enough to maintain a healthy relationship with teachers. Also, Jackson State Community College has an excellent nursing program.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a guard on compus at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very welcoming.

    Bang for the buck

    From a monetary standpoint this is the best place to begin your collegiate education.

    What to do for fun

    There arent many fun activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Jackson state has no food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    Jackson State has no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the academics are much tougher than others but I have yet to find on that I could not handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Set your classes up online at JWeb, do not rely on student services. Study, Study, Study. Give respect to gain respect.

    In three sentences

    The student services department at Jackson state community college is sometimes very tough to deal with but once through the door the professors and staff are great people. The campus is very well laid out as designed. From a monetary outlook, this is the best place to begin your education.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I work during the day time hours but receive emails all the time on offers to join staff and peers to free pancake breakfasts and free pizza.

    Academic Rigor

    I have found that JSCC is very fair in their Academic rigor. They provide a very flexible path for me to follow on this journey to achieve my goals.

    In three sentences

    There comes a time when you can advance only so far in a career without a degree of some sort. I was struck with that realization at the age of 35 and started going back to college part time an working full time. Jackson State Community College has Provided me with a very affordable option for achieving this goal that has been so elusive in the pass.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I havent had a chance to experience the food.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I am curently taking Learning support classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay positive and study.

    In three sentences

    I am really enjoying my first semester. The teachers are very helping the helping us learn. I hope to have more semesters like this.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a new great student center!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Dr. Wesson is a very good motivational teacher. He will help with any scholarship questions! He will help any way he can. Sarah Pearson is a very good writing or English tutor!!

    In three sentences

    Jackson State community College is a very good and welcoming school. Most of the professors are very nice and help any way they can. It is very easy to navigate and the students are very friendly.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing

    Food and Dining

    Nothing on campus except a few vending machines filled with junk.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early!

    In three sentences

    It is an average school, not outstanding. Class sizes are good with good professors. A small campus, but it's easier to get to various classes.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent they call or text anytime anything is going on.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs and activities always going on.

    Great for these types of students

    great for quiet or outgoing students and jocks

    Bang for the buck

    JSCC is cheaper than a university college. They seem reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    activities, sports, clubs

    Food and Dining

    excellent

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    Very friendly and helping college in any way they can.

    In three sentences

    excellent community college

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always near and alert.

    Clubs and Activities

    The SGA is very active within the school.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a fraction of the price.

    What to do for fun

    Jscc has a great social moral, so for fun just make conversation with the other students that attend, goto the events that the SGA sets up, and goto the gym for a little friendly competition between students.

    Academic Rigor

    A great place to learn, great teachers, great advisors, and awesome tutoring centers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and your will excel in all courses. As long as you do your part, the instructors will teach you the proper information to pass.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State Community College is a great school. The instructors are nice and there to teach. This institution is a great start for anyone.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a really affordable school. The book store will price match your books for a lower price. It's a good school to get started.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't anything to do walking distance, but in town you have a mall and a movie theater.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything ahead of time. They will send you letters on anything else you need. They help you keep up.

    In three sentences

    JSCC is really easy to get into. I transferred from CA and the process was so easy. Classes were very available.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good education for little money.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in clubs and activities.

    Food and Dining

    No places to eat right now.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes can be challenging, but I find them fairly easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of academic aassistance.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State is a great place for the money. Most teachers care about the students. Also, there is a lot of academic assistance if needed.

  • 06/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Around Jackson State campus there are some days where there will be some fun activities around campus but majority of the time the only thing to do for fun is to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There aren't any big restaurants on campus. We have one little restaurant called Soup DuJour but it really doesn't sale any good quality food unless you like bagels, donuts, and muffins.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at Jackson State Community College. But there are plenty of apartments complexes that surrounds Jackson State.

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you keep your academics first, you will have nothing to worry about. But if you choose to put anything before your academics then you will have some serious problems at the end of the semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to students is be on time. Make sure you grow a very strong relationship with your professors as well as the staff members because one day you will need them for some reason.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State Community College is the best community college in Jackson, TN. The professors are caring, loving and very well qualified, and the staff are just as helpful and friendly. It's easy to get around the school, and no matter what building you are in you are guaranteed to feel safe at all times.