Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Jackson State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 out of 22 people found this review useful. 1 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Jackson State is great for any student who wants to further their education and believes that education is the key to success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholorships possible

    Am enjoying being here

    daily activities for everyone to enjoy both during the day and night, and friend environment

    Am learning a lot

    great teachers, available tutors for every subject

  • 12/03/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 out of 19 people found this review useful. 2 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every type of student...Feel free...We are here for you...

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Class Get to Know your instructors Use all the campus resources there are many available There is help out there just waiting for YOU

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely a bang for the buck, Not everything is free if it is your dream you do not mind, only remember in the end it pays off,you know where the money is going too and you see it. They provide you the materials to let you know where the monies are going.

    Am enjoying being here

    If you are not a party person, the campus is full of activities, and free. We have a movie theater, a bowling alley, a rec room with pool tables, swimming pools, student lounge, plenty TV rooms, and especially around the holidays if you are not able to go home for the holidays JSU hello is A Home Far Away From Home

    Am learning a lot

    This school is excellent, not only am i learning alot but i am also having fun learning. The instructors offer tutorial sessions that is available upon your schedule not thiers, they are kind, and caring. The campus is full of family felt love people. Yes i am learning alot.

  • 06/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 out of 14 people found this review useful. 3 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for JSU scholarships!!!!

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 4 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This institution is great for those who would like to be from home and want to experience being at an Historical Black College or University.

    Bang for the buck

    Jackson State University has many scholarships to apply for.

    Am enjoying being here

    For the most part, I enjoy being here, but being six hours from home can be complicated. Yet the education is worth it.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Jackson State University are enthusiastic about teaching. They encourage the students to have a college-level attitude and come in ready to work.

  • 06/17/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 5 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Abosoutly...everything that the current students has said...100% true....everything past students has said...100% true...you just gotta go for it.

    Will enjoy being here

    There's just so much to do and to get into...being bored here is not an option

    Will learn a lot

    Going off past speakings of my friends...JSU is where its at. Teachers are great...big campus to meet multiple friends...its just great

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is something for everyone. With so much to offer, there is an informational on what and how to become apart of the different clubs and organizations .

    Tips for prospective students

    Simply be open to the possibilities of your future!

    Bang for the buck

    As an out-of-state student, tuition overall is quite reasonable. Not to mention the amount of institutional grants and scholarships that are available. All one has to do is apply from the convenient quick link on the home page. A few minutes to peruse the grants applicable to you and literally two minutes to fill the application out and done!!

    Am enjoying being here

    Never having been on my own, away from family, or visiting JSU before arriving for my first semester, I had no idea what to expect. I was in love by the spring! There are a lot of campus involvement opportunities.

    Am learning a lot

    Not only academically have I learned a lot, but about myself and life in general. Being thirteen years younger than my sister, I had to figure out college in its entirety on my own. I thought it would be extremely challenging. The instructor's and professors are really willing to work with you and help you understand the overall concept so that you don't get left behind. You'll learn that here, there are people that honestly want to see you succeed!

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 7 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is amazing. We have all of the divine nine on campus and they are truly special. Greek life is becoming more prevalent on campus and trying to have more for students to do.

    Bang for the buck

    Choose Jackson State I Did!

    What to do for fun

    Honestly if you dont have a car or know someone with a car theres not much to do. They have certain things on campus like movie nights and there is a game room but you pretty much have to make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is improving. They are constantly changing and rebuild to make it better so thats a plus. The cafe is forever the same though which gets boring but there is a burger king, pizza hut, subway and many other food places located on campus to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun to a certain extent. Its very open so you get to mingle with different people in the dorm. The suite style is amazing to live in and its very important you get a clean roommate causes you do have to clean your own bathrooms. Only bad thing is visitation is not open and its only during certain times but its not that horrible as it sounds.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics at JSU are top priority . Education is very important and the professors take it very seriously.A high GPA is everything and it matters everywhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    If staying on campus and in the dorms please bring shower shoes and house shoes. Noone wants to walk around barefoot. Do not pick the easy teachers when it comes to your major classes. You need the classes to help carry you throughout life. Do participate on campus its fun to get involved and meet new people.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is a wonderful place to get your foot in the door and a jumpstart on your career. Combine the family environment with the professional of the student body and youll see why we are one of the best HBCU'S. At JSU we are in the business of challenging minds and changing lives.

  • 08/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for a lot of scholarships. Make great grades. If you are coming in as a freshman make sure you have the grades and standardized testing scores so you can get those scholarships for four years you are there. Go to class also be your teacher best friends. You will need them at the end of the day and when you graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a little costly if you are an out of state student.Save your money or apply for many scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Jackson State University! I bleed blue and white. I do a lot on campus and involved thats how you would love it. Join clubs and organizations.

    Am learning a lot

    You learn what you want to learn and it depends on your teacher and your department. I really only know that College of Business you will learn a lot.

  • 11/22/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this school seems like its great for people who really want an education and want to have fun learning.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will enjoy every minute of being here because its fits everything about me. I can picture myself being involved with programs and activities going on. the atmosphere is perfect for learning especially when its with people who have a lot in common with me.

    Will learn a lot

    I will enjoy being at Jackson State University because it has the atmosphere i love. it also have wonderful programs to pick from. i think i will have a wonderful experience learning with people who are similar to me.

  • 02/24/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is relatively cheap for such a quality education

    Will enjoy being here

    If you are not from a big city (i.e. Chicago), the small town, close knit environment may feel a bit like home.

    Will learn a lot

    Upon my visit, the faculty seemed warm and welcome.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    what i do for fun is sit on the plaza with all my friends and watch the band play.

    Food and Dining

    the food is very good, but you will get tired of eating the same food everyday. so make sure you have food in you room.

    Dorm Life

    as a freshmen you'll be staying in alexander hall. those dorms aren't the best dorms but there good enough to live in. i'm actually staying in those dorms right now and it's not bad. my friends and i have fun in alexander.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you choose your class and teachers wisely. try not to have class with you friends. be ready to make friends because there are some very friendly people here.

    In three sentences

    jackson state university is a very fun school. get involved with events and clubs at jackson state. everyone is friendly like staff, teachers, students, ect.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Jackson State is great for every student. There is so much diversity you will find somewhere to fit in.

    Bang for the buck

    Jackson State offers a big beautiful campus and top education for a great price!

    What to do for fun

    The campus plaza is the place to be. It's stretches through the whole campus & it's where students hang from sun up to sun down.

    Food and Dining

    The Jackson State campus has many food places to choose from. You have the choice of eating in the cafeteria (their lunch is the best), eating at common fast food restaurants, or fine dining.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life gets better as you move up grade levels. Freshman dormitory is at the bottom of the pit but it's really not that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Jackson State offer challenging classes that require you to work hard and put forth your best effort. Once you have completed that course you will have definitely learned what you wanted to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying, do come prepared and make sure you have everything you need. Jackson State is a little slow on processing things.

    In three sentences

    I love Jackson State! Since I'm a native of Jackson, it's like my home away from home. It's far enough from home but not too far that it's too expensive to get back. It's right in the heart of the city & there's so much energy and diversity.

  • 11/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Apply for as many scholarships.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay Focus, Pay attention and have a open mind. Expand your options, apply, apply, and apply.

    Am learning a lot

    Great Professor's, they will provide turtoring for struggling students in whatever subject.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Band members and football players

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get in if you want to

    Will enjoy being here

    Their atmosphere is so exciting and fun.

    Will learn a lot

    Their teachers teaches to where everyone can understaqnd and also helps when a student needs it.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get in organizations. Hang with friends on the Plaza! Just explore the campus

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. Fish Friday is the best! Dining is also good, the employees are very respectful.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life for me isn't what i expected. Let's just say have a roommate that u can get along with and have a great relationship with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus on your work, work first play later!

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is the best HBCU in Mississippi.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    the huge library located at the heart of jackson state offers help to needy students. it has a lab and many book collections. the library houses four floors in which each level offers different help such as on research papers.

    What to do for fun

    our student center has a game room with a variety of fun activities to participate in. the college has greek life and many other groups for the students to take advantage of. the cafeteria itself has a bowling alley upstairs.

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining areas on campus are unique in the event. many new spots are in the process of being built for student access. we have shopping centers, food places, and even grooming salons.

    Dorm Life

    there are a variety of dorms at jackson state. some of them are old but most are new. each dorm is for a certain level of students such as the freshman dorm. one also has the choice of being roomed by him or her self.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic statues of the students are very important to the staff. attendance and grades play a huge role in the success of the university. one must have a certain gpa in every level and a certain amount of attempted hours each semester. every student must complete at least the minimum amount of hours each semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students should be aware of their surroundings. they should read signs and notices to be mindful of coming events. if you don't know about something, ask someone in authority.

    In three sentences

    jackson state university is a local college in the jackson area. we are known for the sonic boomof the south! the campus is open and friendly.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Law enforcement can always be found on the plaza. Not just at night but at the crack of dawn and all through the day, you will always see security browsing and observing the campus and their surroundings. Behind the freshmen dorm is a police station. Individuals are stopped before they can drive on campus. Their are people who sit at the door of every dorm to make sure random people who may be dangerous dont come in.

    Greek Life

    The Greek life is very interesting. On special events or activities they tend to be rather entertaining. They also complete many community service hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are many clubs to be apart of. There is always something to do on our campus to be involved.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers many different foods to satisfy various people taste. They provide healthy foods, pizza, salad, sandwhich, and desserts. We also have Chic-Fil-A, Pizza Hut, Subway, and 2 other restaurants on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is awesome. The best part about being in college is meeting new people. You will have the opportunity to be in the presents of many different personalities and very diverse people. The bonds, friendships, and memories that are made in dorms are priceless.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics is challenging. However, there is help and assistance available to students. Teachers are very helpful and they do not mind spending extra time on a concept and breaking it down until you undertand it thoroughly. Obviously their is homework assigned but through experiece i have realized the hardest part about academics is prioritizing, managing your time wisely, and not spreading yourself too thin.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take advantage of electives in high school such as Spanish. By taking it in high school, you can skip it in college. This will give you more time to take other classes to help you reach your goal and degree sooner. Take your grades serious in high school because the higher your GPA is the better chance you have at receiving a scholarship. Instead of doing nothing in the summer, go to summer school and put yourself ahead of the rest of the upcoming freshmen. By using your time wisely, you allow yourself not to get lazy and you keep yourself in the groove and habit of doing school work.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school is known for it's infamous Sonic Boom of the South tiger marching band. Be prepared to enjoy some great music throughout the school year.

    What to do for fun

    I like to parlay on the plaza with my friends before, in between, and/or after classes.

    Food and Dining

    Nothing like good meal in the cafe to make you feel right at home. Good southern cooking.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty average, but currently on the rise. Renovations will eventually take place in all of them.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are just as tough as any other school. My reference being LSU (Louisiana State University) where I transferred from. But the teachers are more willing to assist you with your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to meeting new people. The quicker you build relationships with people, the better your experience will be.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is a very unique, diverse, and spirit-filled university. From the students to the faculty, everyone on campus is one big family. You feel at home when you're there.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are always present on campus and have a great responds time to calls to the department of safety. I have not seen or heard of any unsafe occurrence since i have been on campus.

    Greek Life

    One of the best Divine Nine groups in the country enough said.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for whatever area you would like to participate in from your home state, to your major, to what you like to do for fun, and if there is not a club for one of your specific interest you only need 3 people to start it.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with a desire for a higher education who want to have a great college experience without having to take out large loans to do so.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of the education, and the exprience out side of the classroom, for the price has to be one of the best deals in the country of the United States.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. Down the middle of the campus there is the Green - Gibbs Plaza where you can always find something interesting to get into. There is always something going on the plaza. Every Friday there is a Hot-spot on the plaza doing the day, where the campus gathers, music is played, an more. This goes just to name a few of the many thing you can do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe offers a range of food from all around the world. There are also simple stations such as Sandwich and Pasta stations.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life as at any school is what you make it. At Jackson State you can make you dorm life very interesting and fun as much as you would like. The dorm rules are not in any way strict but the few rules that be, are strongly enforced for dorm safety.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic process is a like any other university but due to the access to most professor outside of the classroom for assistance simplifies the academic difficulty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are on top of you game with all your required paperwork for enrollment before you get to the university in the Fall/Spring.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University its a great school in all areas. The school has great academic standards and athletics. Jackson State offers an overall great experience

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is there 24 hours, all day everyday. You will be safe attending this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have so many clubs, like SGA, chess, sports teams, all men's club, all women's club, etc.

    What to do for fun

    Jackson state always has something for you to attend. Different groups/clubs have events you can attend during the week. Also, there is the plaza. The plaza is hang out spot for everyone, just sit outside and talk with friends and you always meet someone new on the plaza each day.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. They have a Burger King, chic-fil-a, Pizza Hut and other places on campus at the student center. The schools gives you $125 worth of tiger bucks, so you can spend those at the food places instead of your money.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fine, I'm just a freshmen. The dorms get better each time your classification change. They already have a microwave, refrigerator, a closet and a desk with well good size.

    Academic Rigor

    Apply yourself, and push yourself throughout the whole year.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Keep you school work first, do not get behind. 2. If you need help, find tutor don't wait till the last minute. 3. Be around positive people. 4. Get close with your teacher, make sure they know your name. 5. Be active with the school events, you can receive community service hours too. 6. Have fun and enjoy.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is a HBCU, it's has mainly all majors and minors. Our colors is blue and white, our mascot is a tiger. Jackson state is the only HBCU to have the science major: meteorology. From my experience this year, it's a good school. Teachers are well to get along with, we have some diversity, and if you ever need help with any thing, the faculty members are willing to help.

  • 04/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Jackson State has a police station right on campus, but it is not in the best neighborhood. Police patrol the campus at night, but students who choose to wander alone should be vigilant and protect themselves with pepper spray or a taser. The best choice is to call for a police escort if you are leaving the library or a function at night when you are alone.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is booming at Jackson State. Once you have completed 30 credit hours, you have the opportunity to apply for one of the nine sororities and fraternities of the Pan-Hellenic council. There are always step shows, community service projects, and fun programs and parties hosted by the greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do here at Jackson State. There are intramural sports, choirs, multiple dance ensembles, a book club, and many volunteer organizations. Joining a club here is important because 120 community service hours are required for graduation.

    Great for these types of students

    Jackson state is great for students who want to go to a four-year university that isn't too big (about 9,000 students). For those interested in attending an HBCU, JSU is an excellent choice. It's very close to Downtown for those who want to be in an urban area. For those who want to give back, 120 hours are required to graduate, so Jackson State will help you reach your volunteer goals

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, the freshman have to attend a convocation where they walk across a stage that mimics the graduation stage they will hopefully cross in four years.

    Bang for the buck

    Jackson State is located in the capital of Mississippi. It has a unique, vibrant culture and students just feel taken care of.

    What to do for fun

    Jackson State has a very active intramural sports program for those athletes who do not play for the school. You do not have to be a music major to be in choir or band. The Marching Band, called the Sonic Boom of the South, is a pleasure to watch, and all athletic games, even football games, are free for students! Free movies are periodically shown in the student theater, and the drama department puts on affordable and sometimes free shows. Throughout the year, there are free concerts, step shows, picnics, and dance performances. In the student center, there is a game room with Xboxes, Playstations, card tables, and pool tables. The gym and basketball courts are open until 9 at night.

    Food and Dining

    The Heritage dining hall has some of the best cafeteria food I have ever tasted. The food tastes home cooked, and there is a selection of desserts. There are a variety of choices every day for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. There is a Starbucks in the library, a Burger King attached to the cafeteria, and in the student center there is Chik-fil-a, Pizza Hut, and a soul food kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms do have community bathrooms, however they are visited by janitorial and maintenance staff daily. The dorms for upperclassmen have suites, where two rooms (with two roommates) share one bathroom. There is one dorm for sophomores, juniors, and seniors where each person gets their own room, and there are two bathrooms per suite. The community Assistants (CA's) are very helpful and serve as middlemen between students and the housing department. The dorms often have programs, little get-togethers, and guest speakers.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a saying at Jackson State: Students who come to class tend to pass. More often than not, the key to getting a good grade in a course is simply showing up. Some teachers do not care about attendance, but others will hold students accountable and attendance will be reflected tin their grades. Learn how to study in a way that works for you, but do not stress if you do not grasp a concept because many professors here drop the lowest quiz/test grade or grade on a curve. There is tutoring available though the library and through the honors college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to study for the ACT/SAT tests. Academic scholarships make a big difference if you do not qualify for federal aid. Do not be afraid to show up to meetings or events, they are put in place so new people can get to know the organization. Clubs and extracurricular activities will help you to network with other students while also having a great time on campus. Jackson State has a very active Greek life, if you are interested in joining any organizations that are members of the Panhellenic council (Historically African-American sororities and fraternities).

    In three sentences

    Jackson State has a supportive network of professors and alumni. There is a warm, welcoming, helpful atmosphere whether you are experiencing your first tour, going to class, or handling business in any of the offices. There are multiple opportunities to get involved with clubs and organizations, which are great opportunities to acquire community service hours.

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    you don't have to worry about security because the campus police patrol the campus on foot and in their cars non-stop all day. you won't feel like you're in a prison or anything. you will feel safe.

    What to do for fun

    there are plenty of activities to get into for fun. there's dance ensmeble, sororities and fraternities, drama club, of course the famous sonic boom of the south, and so much more!!!!

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is a fun social place to eat and relax and chat. the food is good and filling so make sure you don't waste your meal plan by going off campus to get something to eat everyday.

    Dorm Life

    living on campus is one of the biggest changes of college life. if your roommate is a friend, it makes the experience easier. even if you don't know your roommate, it's nothing wrong with making new friends. jsu informs you on who your roommate will be and from there you can look them up on facebook or twitter and get to know them before school even starts!!

    Academic Rigor

    the work load varies for every teacher but regardless of the work load, always do the best you can and enjoy every minute of it to the fullest. some teachers don't require homework to be turned in, some teachers prefer homework to be done in class, others require alot of studying outside of class to be prepared for lecture. it all depends on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    students that plan on attending jsu should definitely keep in mind that even though jsu is fun, it is still a college. diversity supplies many opportunities to network and become acquainted with the campus with friends.

    In three sentences

    jackson state univeristy is definitely a fun college to go to. it's full of diversity and there's always something going on. going to jsu can supply many benefits after graduation.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food and dining is horrible. the cafeteria really sucks, but there is a chi-fil-a, pizza hut, and a subway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is cool. your freshman year will be the worst. the dorms you live in get better as you progress.

    Academic Rigor

    it is fairly difficult. like any other university, you get what you earn.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I don't too much know about greek life. but from watching them perform look interesting.

    Great for these types of students

    Yes, it's great for anyone who's wlling to make a difference in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Working with Chinese corner. It's tons of fun!

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do on the campus like going to the different events that are going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus Do all homework and extra credit if giving pay attention in class be on time for class

    In three sentences

    Jackson State is an excellent school. You taught a lot but and the teachers actually care. Being at Jackson State University you can never reach failing.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety at JSU is okay. There are security officers on every angle and entrance of the campus and there are also emergency phone locations as well.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life is excellent, the members are very entertaining and they really enjoy community service activities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any kind of college level sport is avaible to watch live. THere are also student government and drama clubs available.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hanging out on the Plaza where all the Greek's plots are established.

    What to do for fun

    Excercise, write, study, and enjoy life

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University gives a great sense of unity. It is a college full of people from all over the world. Not only is JSU a Historical Black College but it is also a college to each and every person no matter what the content of character or the color of skin they are.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own Campus Police; in cars, on feet and in the on campus apartments.

    Greek Life

    We hold all Divinve 9 Greeks (Alpha Phi Alpha, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Kappa Alpha Psi, Sigma Gamma Rho, Iota Phi Theta, Phi Beta Sigma, Zeta Phi Beta, Delta Sigma Theta and Omega Psi Phi). They always have forums, activities and community service events.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are easy to join based on your major. There are always forums and freshmen activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Jackson State is great for those who love diversity, hospitality, student government and having a good time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition would be the Sonic Boom AKA The Best Band in the South. They hold the title for a reason. At the beginning of the football season they always give the students a show on the yard as they head to and from band practice.

    Bang for the buck

    The city is wonderful. The hospitality is beyond unreal. Being in Mississippi is like coming home.

    What to do for fun

    Walter Payton is our recreation facility. We always have Intramurals going on which is really exciting for students, it gives them something to look forward to after a long day of classes. Our on-Campus apartments are known for pool parties to begin, resume and end the year.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe isn't predictable, there is always a variety as well as different sorts of meal plans. If you don't enjoy the cafe, there is also Chik-Fil-A, Pizza Hut, Mississippi Kitchen, 34 Payton Place, Subway, Java City and the newly added Burger King.

    Dorm Life

    Currently being in transitions into building more suites but the dorms are spacious, comfortable and convenient to being closer to your classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging courses, some can be taken with a breeze. Tutors are always available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus. Get to know your teachers, make sure they know you're interested as well as concerned with your progress.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University has challenging and interesting courses. The University is amazing. It's affordable to everyone and you cannot experience love like this anywhere else.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is down to earth from what I observe they are good people

    Great for these types of students

    Ones willing to learn and be in a different environment

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Plaza where everything happens. Listen to the bands march, Greek life, freshmen enjoy the plaza

    What to do for fun

    Walter Payton Center, sports activities

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip would be focus hard as well as enjoy your time there

    In three sentences

    JSU is like home away from home. At JSU a fun and loving environment is provided. I love JSU

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Football Games

    Food and Dining

    Great

    Academic Rigor

    Reasonable

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on task, stay focused, and keep the drive to learn.

    In three sentences

    Great campus, New buildings, great administrators and teachers.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your college years and always ALWAYS go to class!!

    In three sentences

    JSU is a fun school. They have great professors. They also have a great staff!

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is numerous amounts of clubs and activities at JSU. So if your looking to be apart of something you don't even have to know what you'll find a place for you to be.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is relatively cheap, especially for in state student. Also out of state tuition and fees are as good as it gets if you plan on wanting to be out of state.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on, on campus. You just have to pay attention to the flyers the put up, and what they announce on the website. Don't miss out.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the cafe won't be too different from your high school cafe. Although the days you won't want to miss are fried chicken Tuesdays, hotwing Thursdays, and spaghetti and fish Fridays! Also a burger king was recently put in place as the 2011-2012 academic year ended. In our union there is a chick fil-a, pizza hut, R.F.O.C. (great food, almost like soul food!). All these places I just named you are able to use your tiger bucks that come with your meal plan. Also there is a subway next to the union if you want to stay fit like the famous athletes!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be what you make it! There will be late nights maybe just up talking with friends, or an all nighter studying. There is a lot of southern hospitality amongst everybody from the south or not.

    Academic Rigor

    Jackson State is continually rising in it's academics. Teachers are very welcoming and will work with you if you put in the effort. They also assist students as they enter into college that helps prepare them for classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time out to ask questions ABC get to know the people who want to help and see you succeed. Attend orientation and meet your fellow classmates, best way for you to come in and be relaxed.

    In three sentences

    JSU gives an absolutely humbling HBCU experience for all people. There is a place for anybody and everybody. They challenge minds and change lives.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The sports, homecoming, dances, and the activites around and off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont let partying keep you from getting good grades and being active on campus. Allow yourself to explore the groups and activites around so you can become more involved in making this school before from you and othes around you. As well, dont let others per pressure you or make you feel like what your trying to accomplish isnt important at the time; your hear to learn and invest in yourself, keep it that way!!

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is a well rounded school. It provides good education and valueable life lessons. I would recommend Jackson State to anyone who loves to be around good, positive people!

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a pool that you can swim in and also a bookstore that you can browse. They also have a career services center where you can participate in many campus activities, even if you do not stay on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is great. They have two main cafeteria's. The legacy includes a chic-fil a, pizza hut, and a salad bar. The other cafeteria includes a burger king. They also have a lot of snacks and drinks.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay on campus, so i can't really tell you what it is like.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very important at Jackson State University, especially if you are trying to go to graduate school. Jackson State University stresses the importance of your GPA and your academics. They really care and try to help as much as they can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you read the handbook and look at your intended major requirements. Also, make sure you go to orientation and become familiar with the campus; especially your department.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is a great school to attend. They offer a variety of campus activities. They also offer a variety of scholarships.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun is hangout on the plaza with my friends, go to on campus events, and attend the hotspots every August at 1:00 pm to celebrate the start of the new school year.

    Food and Dining

    The food is one of the reasons I chose to attend Jackson State. I love soulfood. Its such a unique flavor.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life I have to say hols some of the best times I ever had here. I loved having study sessions with my friends and roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    I love JSU

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy your college years. Be patient and do your best.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is a fantastic school to help you succeed in making a brighter future. JSU has not only help prepare me for the world outside of college, but has been a life changing experience. I truly believe I made the right choice by attending JSU.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    PLEASE REMEMBER THAT OVER ALL YOU ARE GROWN ACT LIKE IT

    Greek Life

    DO IT! BUT REMEMBER YOU MORALS

    Clubs and Activities

    DRAMA AND EVERYTHING YOU CAN DO

    Great for these types of students

    UM IF YOU KNOW SOMEONE GOOD MAKE UM YOUR ROOMMATE

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    UM DJ PARTYS WHILE CLASS IS GOING ON

    Bang for the buck

    FULL TIME JOB IT GETS HARD IN SCHOOL

    What to do for fun

    WORK

    Food and Dining

    ITS OK DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY IF YOUR NOT GOING TO EAT

    Dorm Life

    ITS OK

    Academic Rigor

    WE HAVE GOOD TEACHER AND COURSES JUST NEED SOME MEDICAL PROGRAMS

    Tips for prospective students

    STAY FOCUS BECAUSE ALTHOUGH YOU THINK YOU GROWN REAL LIFE IS COMING SOONER THAN YOU THINK AND STAY HUMBLE

    In three sentences

    IT IS A GREAT SCHOOL. WE ARE GETTING BETTER AND HOPEFULLY WE CAN MOVE PAST OUR SCARRED PAST.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Average not the best.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mississippi association for educators national honor society

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    party

    What to do for fun

    I sing, listen to music, shop, and clean

    Food and Dining

    The food is average but not the best.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life was enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early for scholarships don't give up strive to do your best set goals put God first in your life stay prayed up

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University has the best science, technology, and engineering department. This school also has a good network and education department. This school is very competitive in everything we do.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus police cars around. The number to campus police is really easy to remember too. Plus there are a ton of emergency buttons all around campus for you to push if anything is to go wrong.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of things to do for fun at JSU. I like to go to the Union and play pool, bowl, catch a movie, or play video games with my friends. I also enjoy just sitting out on the plaza and listening to the campus DJ with my friends. When I need to relax I hit the gym or take a few laps in the pool.

    Food and Dining

    Purchasing a meal plan at Jackson State University is not optional so I'll never be hungry. The cafeteria is always clean and filled with laughter, and the food isn't that bad either!

    Dorm Life

    I really wish I could stay in the dorms they seem so fun. All my friends love it. I've visited a few times. The rooms are rather spacey and perfect study space. But it would be nice if every dorm room had its own bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    The pressures of being an incoming college student push you academically as it is. The fear of failing also pushes you. But although everyone around you at Jackson State University wants you to do your best, they aren't going to force you to do your work. But they will work with you under certain circumstances.

    Tips for prospective students

    The number one tip I have for prospective students would be to deal with your paper work ahead of time. All of the registration papers and the admission stuff can get a little overwhelming. Especially when you're just walking through the door. If you make a checklist things will go smoother and you're sure not to forget anything. I would also tell prospective students to meet their professor one on one before classes even start. With so many students he/she wont know everyone, but they will know you!

    In three sentences

    Most of the people are MEGA friendly. Financial Aid staff actually cares. The campus is generally clean and easily feels like home.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    attending sports games and joining social club events are pretty awesome.

    Food and Dining

    State of the arts dining area.

    Dorm Life

    The dormitory have there moments, but its the best experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Top schools for research.

    Tips for prospective students

    Organization is the key to success.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is an school that has high expectation that will never lower there standards. This university is place that gives you hope. In addition to that, it is in the heart of the south.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have not really started class yet so I don't know what it will turn out to be like in the fall.

    What to do for fun

    You can go to the student center where there are many activities to do. They have a game room, a theater, and etc. activities for a student to have well clean fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is quite tasty.

    Dorm Life

    The people here have made me feel like I am at home with how friendly they have been towards me.

    Academic Rigor

    I have taken a few summer classes and they were rigorous if you did not study.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say study and go to class because the teachers are not your parents and will not tell you these things. They will fail you and continue their lives.

    In three sentences

    I think that Jackson State is a wonderful university. The people here have been very friendly since I have been on the campus. In the end I believe it will be a very awesome four years at this university.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security officers and Campus officers at all hours of the day and night, so who wouldn't feel safe?

    Greek Life

    The Greeks are kind and friendly!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are approximately ...to many to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those students who are looking for a real career!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The hang out spot is on the plaza.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many organizations here on campus that you'll find your self struggling to try to make time for them all.

    Food and Dining

    EXCELLENT!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is like living with either your sister or brother.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY! STUDY! and right after your think your done studying, study some more. The teachers aren't like the high school teachers, these are consequential teachers.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is a school of excellence, and hard work. The teachers and students are helpful and ready to lend a helping hand to those who ask. Jackson State is also a school of good fun, all work and no play make it a dull stay!

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Wonderful sorority walk on the Plaza.

    What to do for fun

    A lot!

    Food and Dining

    Food so great you will go over freshmen 15!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty small so therefore are tight in space unless you're an upper classman.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard play later.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is a great place to learn. We have a lot of things going on on campus. Try not to get rapped into the fun and intensity of our beautiful school.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are awesome!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual things that has occured is random people on campus that don't belong

    What to do for fun

    Parties, pep rally, plaza,

    Food and Dining

    The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are proficient. I consider living in them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and make the right decisions.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is an outstanding university. I love the diversity and various organization choices. I plan to receive my Bachelor's Degree here.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I rarely attend a party so my fun is watching movies, trying need restaurants and foods with friends, mini golf, pottery, etc. I love attempting new things. Even if I didn't like it I feel good knowing I tried it.

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of places to eat on campus. We have a variety of foods: burger king, subway, soul food, cafe, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus so I really can't comment on dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    In my opinion college is not hard, but you do have to work hard at it. Many students get to JSU and get distracted with all the parties and extra activities. I got drunk, I got in late, etc. are not valid excuses and your instructor will still fail you.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. It is always helpful to have a friend on campus, whether it be a student or faculty member. You should always have connects. 2. Studying is not a hour before thing. You study to learn not memorize. 3. Always be prepared. Teachers dislike a student with no books, paper, or pen. Its make you look as if your not serious about your education.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is a small campus so it is not hard to find your way around. There is always something helpful happening on campus. many people frequently visit the campus to further education on jobs, interviews, internships, etc. Honestly out of every five faculty members two might be helpful, but those two will go above and beyond. Those are the courses you want to take and the mentors you want to study under. whenever help is needed and they they can give it they will.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food and dining at Jackson State University is above all means because you have more than one variety of choice. At Jackson State University you can either eat at one of the restaurants or the cafe that's on campus.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Jackson State is a very great school to attend. The teachers are very helpful and caring. You will explore various opportunities during your attendance at Jackson state.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have officers patrolling every part of the campus every hour so this secures you with confidence to explore the campus at any time of the day.

    Great for these types of students

    If you never dream that you were college material you have to visit Jackson State, if you never know a place where any race can come together and become great you should attend JSU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love when Students from around the world get to transform the campus with setting up flags from their nations,dressing with cloths from Iran to India and simply speaking their language for a day inter-verse actions.

    Bang for the buck

    The University is worth the tuition and the travel. Here is a school that is simply worth the learning in and out the classroom.

    What to do for fun

    we have theatres and band, with chances to be part of a organization like sororities and fraternities .

    Food and Dining

    The food here is the best, with Burger King and Pizza Hut you cant go wrong. Also with a Kitchen that has a home cooking theme and atmosphere is exciting to be around .

    Dorm Life

    Never stayed in a dorm but for many I believe its a chance of freedom and to be able to adapt to life on your own to a certain degree.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that the classes here at Jackson State are all what they aim to be and do

    Tips for prospective students

    do your work and attend class

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed Jackson State thus far, just to attend a black college that strives to make a different for everyone and every race. To be apart of a school that has place so many graduates in the White House and other political offices around the U.S. is a dream.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Going clubbing is the norm in Jackson. Not too many chill spots as other major cities.

    Food and Dining

    We have a brand new cafe but there is little variety especially during the second semester.

    Dorm Life

    They are doing full renovations to all old dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you make plenty of friends, whether it's students or professors. At JSU it is truly who you know.

    In three sentences

    JSU has become a very diverse and highly respected school over the past couple of years. WIth constant renovations, JSU is also becoming a more beautiful campus. There is a low student to professor ratio, so one can be sure to get as much help as needed.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    47 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get involved in organizations is the best way to have fun. They set you up with tons of opportunities. Also, our Walter Payton Fitness and Recreation center is where you can go to work out, play sports, or get in a fitness class.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is good on some days. It's either a hit or a miss. There are a ton of options, so you never go hungry, but sometimes you may just be settling for a slice of pizza. We have a Burger King, a Pizza Hut and a Chick-fil-a on campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is nice. You make a ton of friends through living on campus. There's never a dull moment.

    Academic Rigor

    As a Biology major, I have an abundance of science classes. They are not hard classes, but they take much hard work and effort. Much studying required. The math department at Jackson State needs some help, but there are still decent teachers that do an exceptional job.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come to Jackson State University, do so with a purpose, a plan. Many people come to JSU and get off track. Get involved, but also make sure that you do not lose sight of what's important: Graduating.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is a Historically Black College/University with a melting pot of cultures, ethnic backgrounds and traditions. Jackson State is full of network opportunities for its students to build their future. Students who graduate from Jackson State University do so with pride in their Dear ole college home.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, the have officers on duty 24/7.

    Greek Life

    The greeks make school fun, they always have events for people to enjoy.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything you could imagine, and if you think of anything you can always start a new one,With a short process.

    Great for these types of students

    Jackson State University is great for all types of students, because everyone is so nice. People of any race, religion, and background can find there place.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things to do for fun it just depends on you type of fun. There are clubs and organizations the fit every need you may have.

    Food and Dining

    The Heritage, is probable the best college food you will every recieve. The make the food right in front of you and it is a buffef of many different things.

    Dorm Life

    All of the dorms on campus are different, you start from the bottom and work your way up. All in all the dorms are pretty decent and the ones that are not are being remodeled. Living in the dorm on the other hand is a great experience, meeting new people and making new friend. Dorm living makes you grow up pretty fast because you learn to live with different people and deal with personalities.

    Academic Rigor

    Jackson State University is a place of higher learning, they come in prepared to teach adults. They mover fast in the class, but will always be prepared to help during their office hours. If you have the mind set to achieve great thing, they will lead the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to be mentally read for college, most students are not fully prepare but the learn to adjust. A few tip that would be helpful is stay one you finacial aid, dont procrastinate, and if you do not get the work always ask questions.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State is an excellent choice if you are looking for a affordable, fun, and traditional HBCU. The class rooms are not overwelming, and the teachers are there to aid and assist. The atmosphere is loving and everyone speaks to you while you are on campus.

  • 07/19/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    49 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    everything looks so nice. meal plans seem affordable and look great.

    Dorm Life

    dorms seem decent and in-expensive, look forward to viewing into this more

    Academic Rigor

    I very much enjoy looking at this college more and more every day. love the urban environment it seems to thrive in. i NEED urbanization, so this is just awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    get correct information about this school. prices seem to go up and down. here it is telling me Instate is 5,000; on the home website of Jackson State, it says 4600 out of state though, and all other prices on actual website say different pricing as well.

    In three sentences

    They offer me In-State tuition even though i am from Arkansas because Jackson State has my major and no other school in my state has it. from what I see, it is a very prestigious school that is very affordable. look forward to take a campus tour.

  • 08/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great

    Greek Life

    great

    Clubs and Activities

    great

    Great for these types of students

    JSU is great for all types of students because of the divers population and activities happening year round.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    J-Sette Tryouts are ALWAYS the most exciting time on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable Tuition, state of the art facilities, growing athletic department and great faculty and staff.

    What to do for fun

    The campus offers movie theaters, bowling alley, park is within walking distance and the monthly campuswide activities make the semester fun.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent State of the Art Dining facility.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman Dorms are just that Freshman Dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Instructors assigned daily and weekly readings that require up to 5 to 6 hours a week studytime. Instructors do require outside reading and group projects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with Department Chair and Faculty members in your soon to be department to information on Freshman Retention Activities, become familiar with faculty and staff and find out about scholarship opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is a growing urban university with a rich history and strong Social Work department. The classroom size and teacher availabilty make for a positive and substantive educational environment.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Last year, Jackson State renovated our cafeteria, and gave it a brand new face lift along with a better food selection. There are plenty of food stations where you request the food that you are wanting and the chefs cook the food in front of you. The food selection is decent, but the two days that are priority for me are Fried Chicken Tuesdays and Catfish Fridays.

    Dorm Life

    Being that the University has placed strict rules regarding students safety (partially due to a large increase in the student population), majority of the rules are in place to protect us in general. To enter dorms, you have to swipe your ID card to unlock and gain access to your dormitory on campus. All visitors that you have are required to sign in with the front desk and are required to leave no later than 1:30 am. Else, you will risk losing visitation for the whole year. Although it is not what I was expecting, just like everyone else, I had to become used to the rules and it really isn't that bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your class, the courses will become more challenging as you matriculate through your college career, but the best part of the experience is the professors. Majority of the professors really do care and want to see you succeed and are there with open hands to help you with any ambiguity that you have regarding their course or even the professional job market. As long as you have questions, the professors have answers, and this is the best aspect about the college in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, stay focused, stay focused! There will be plenty of times to have fun, but remember to always take a step back and remember the primary reason you are attending the University.

    In three sentences

    I give Jackson State University a solid 9 out of 10. The university offers many opportunities to become a work

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Excellent Dining facilities

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to prepare, meaning do the majority of leg work before arriving. FASFA, shot record, living accomidation etc.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State is the states only Urban University, located in the heart of the Capital city. Computer science program is among the best in the country, MOU with the Corp of Engineers US ARMY. Is rated as a Reseach Institute.

  • 10/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a open university so expect the unexpected. The police officers here ratio is like 1:500 and the school is in the middle of the hood.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students in state. If you are out of state, I would say save your money! Being a student that pays out of pocket, it is a waste of two plus grand!

    What to do for fun

    For fun the best thing you can do is walk the Plaza or on weekends, go to the club. I totally recommend that you click up on the first day, get a commuter as a friend and find a friend with a car because campus can get really boring at times.

    Food and Dining

    They are very limited to the food choices and if you don't make it to lunch, you probably want to order out after like a week, usually you don't mind eating hot dogs, burgers, and pizza everyday. In addition, breakfast is good sometimes but i can say the meat is hardly ever cooked completely.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love my dorm, Transitional, because it is Suit style; however, i do believe other than my dorm and Campbell (the only coed and apartment style dorm) , the other dorms are community style.

    Academic Rigor

    This is my first semester and can really say I have learned absolutely nothing. Many teachers don't really know how to teacher and if you are a verbal learning this is not the place to be!

    Tips for prospective students

    Really research this school. Do a college visit and actually stay a couple days on campus it possible. It is best to ignore what everyone is saying about this school, its totally not the same as the people who graduate 10 years (plus) say!

    In three sentences

    I have to rate Jackson State a 6 out 10. I am a transfer student and I have to say what I heard is NOTHING like how this school really is. I plan of transferring this semester.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join groups and stay positive

    Food and Dining

    It's great

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm but they seem nice

    Academic Rigor

    Wonderful

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your paperwork in on times. Always be on time. Never miss or skip class if possible. And you'll be successful

    In three sentences

    It's getting better, at first I didn't like it. They have great instructors. Great atmosphere I'm starting to love Jsu

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports

    Tips for prospective students

    a very chill school

    In three sentences

    Jackson State is a good college for schooling. They really have a good business program. They are in the process of rebuilding.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Football games Different parties Different activities

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school If u change majors its very easy to transition into another major. Enjoy the festivities of the school.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school. Very challenging when it comes to academics. Family oriented school .

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    57 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I got accepted to Jackson State. I am so excited.

  • 01/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's a martial art class and an aerobics class. There are many parties off of campus. For people who don't live in the area, however, it may be hard to find something to do off of campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Jackson State is excellent. There are many different options to choose from, including a full salad bar. The cooks are nice and the atmosphere is good.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen will live in the oldest dorms on campus before upgrading to new ones. The dorms are kept in shape however, they could be cleaner in some areas. It's best to try and get used to the beds.

    Academic Rigor

    Jackson State University has a rigorous course depending on the major. For my major, I have to take more hours than say a speech pathology major. It all depends on the major that the student is pursuing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students need to look into getting into the honors college. Prospective students also need to challenge themselves while they are in college. They also need to try and learn every ounce of detail they can while they are there.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is a great school for students to learn in the area of research. It is good that the school is using technology to its benefit. Jackson State University is a challenging university offering to help any and all students to succeed.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always meet and greets going on at the plaza at Jackson State.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always pay attention to what a professor tells you it can help you in your future life.

    In three sentences

    I think that Jackson State is a great place for first time freshman and those furthering their education. The people are very friendly and the teachers love to help. Jackson State is a great school and I would tell anyone to come join me there.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THE SONIC BOOM!!! Jackson State has pioneered a new version of marching band. You'll find imitations all over the country. The J-settes dance team are amazing. The SOUND you get from this band is incredible. Even if you choose not to attend, find a way to hear this remarkable musical group in person. TV does not do it justice.

    Bang for the buck

    Jackson State is one of the cheapest, if not THE cheapest, in the state. You really get your moneys' worth. The professors are intelligent and up-to-date in their fields. The President is forward thinking and wants the absolute BEST for the school. With the exception of the books, which are expensive everywhere, you really can't beat it.

    What to do for fun

    JSU has many activities going on. They post the events in the Student Center and email a daily digest to everyone. Jackson has some great events, too.

    Food and Dining

    The University just switched dining providers but so far, this one seems to be as good as the last. The food is generally tasty and reasonably priced. There are several dining options on campus, including a buffet-style dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, but I do know that JSU has a shortage of on-campus living. They are building more, but it may take a while for them to get up to speed.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the professor and the department. Some are more strict than others. Some teachers feel that the grammar and structure of an essay is the most important part; others feel that as long as you get the general idea, it's all good. So far my classes have been a mix of requirements.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're coming from out of state, be prepared for the need for a car. Jackson's public transit system isn't the greatest. If you are an undecided major, the undergraduate studies department is fantastic at helping you figure out what you want to do with your life and making sure you start out on that path. When you find your department, speak with your advisor twice a semester to make sure you are on the same page. College is expensive so you should always make sure you are fulfilling the graduation requirements in the proper time frame. Also, there is a required English Proficiency exam. It's not difficult, but make sure you know when your department requires you to take it. Some want you to take it earlier than others. On the whole, you'll enjoy the school.

    In three sentences

    JSU is a medium-sized, diverse school in the biggest city in the state of Mississippi. The students are polite, the professors mostly entertaining (if sometimes strange,) and the campus is beautiful. It's apparent that everyone involved takes pride in the school: the students, the alumni, and the employees.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Party.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is alot better compared to last semester. The best place to eat is at The Payton Place in the student union.

    Dorm Life

    McAlister is a horrible dorm. Next semester I'll be staying in Transitional Hall. Hopefully, it's a better experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The Honors College offers extra help for students are and are apart of the Honors College.

    In three sentences

    JSU is a wonderful school. This is my freshman year, and I've made several friends and joined many organizations. My advisors are great and they actually are very understanding and useful.

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to the Walter Payton to workout and play basketball.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to attend Jackson State University Make sure you have all your financial situation in order.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State University is a beautiful campus student here are very helpful and friendly. The staff are willing to help you if you are having trouble understanding and we also have tutors to help. This is really an University that challenges mind and changes lives.

  • 05/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    JSU has 24 hour campus security located all over the campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life on campus is good. There are numerous probates and stroll-offs that students attend for entertainment.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large number of clubs and activities to join at JSU. A student should never be bored!

    Great for these types of students

    Jackson State University is a great choice for students who want to experience the HBCU experience. It is also great for students who want to further their education at a university that cares about them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Jackson State University has a hot spot every Friday at 12 noon. During a hot spot, a DJ plays random music and the students usually dance and just enjoy themselves.

    Bang for the buck

    I would definitely say Jackson State is worth attending! You won't regret getting the feel of this HBCU!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations to engage in. Jackson State University has different events during different seasons specifically for students. Attending football games is another thing one can do for fun at Jackson State University!

    Food and Dining

    Jackson State University has numerous places for eating! You won't be disappointed with this particular aspect!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Jackson State are good. They have dorms with community style bathrooms and they have apartment style dorms (having your own bathroom).They are currently renovating a dorm and working on building two more additional dorms due to enormous enrollment rates.

    Academic Rigor

    I give the academic rigor a 5 star rating because the classrooms are of a nice size, which gives your professor the chance to know you. You get to have one-on-one sessions with your professor if you are having trouble grasping the information in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise prospective students to apply for scholarships.

    In three sentences

    I give Jackson State University a 4.5 star rating! I love the school. It is a very cozy environment and it makes one feel welcomed.

  • 05/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe in the daytime, but I do not know how it is at night. I always see campus police patrolling the campus. However, most on the campus police are at a guard booth, or in front of the student center.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs to join for all classifications. You have the freedom to create a club if it is not already on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Jackson State is great for people who enjoy urban areas and energetic activities.

    Bang for the buck

    Jackson State is a cheaper school, but you will get a good education.

    What to do for fun

    There are many different events that clubs have, for example, the fashion show that the fashion club hosts. People tailgate throughout the student plaza. There are plays, concerts, and parties depending on where you go.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of eating places to pick from. The big cafeteria is good, but if you want breakfast from there than you should get there early. The smaller cafeteria has Chick-fil-a, Pizza Hut, and many others to pick from.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some classes that are fairly easy, but some of there are general education requirements. Most of the more challenging classes are during your sophomore, junior, and senior years.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would get to school as early as possible to find a parking space. If you have questions, comments, or concerns please talk to someone in person. Please do not use your phone in class because the majority of the professors feel like that is disrespectful.

    In three sentences

    There are a lot of activities to get involved in around campus. Most of the professors are easy-going. However, there are not that many parking locations for commuter students.

  • 08/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Theres tons of things to do but there is nothing like hanging with your friends. but we have a game room, a gym, of course there is football games, hotspots, and of course the things you will be apart of when you join organizations on campus.

    Food and Dining

    food and dining is great a lot of options but the meal plan café closes about 7-8

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you stay the dorms are nice however the custodial workers are people and you must uphold your end of cleaning just like they do .

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is average, stay in class , go to class ask for help and you will be fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend Class Students who attend class, tend to pass that's a very true statement Stay on top of your financial aid Be aware of ALL deadlines Apply for housing and classes for the upcoming semester during the last semester. Don't sit in your room. go out ! explore ! experience! If you don't wanna miss some fun on Fridays don't schedule a class at twelve. However, don't spend all your time on the Plaza(the social walk way basically) its consumes your time and will throw off your schedule. Join organizations on campus and take every community service opportunity you can.

    In three sentences

    Jackson State is a great University. They provide quality education as well as opportunity for their students. JSU is a great place to spend your college years/