Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Jacksonville University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for pre-dentistry. music..or arts. and athletics i would say. Also business as well! Students who want the small class sizes because they seem to work best one on one almost.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off. The bad thing about getting to know everyone and always having friends around is that you wont be able to discipline yourself so well. With all the stuff going on that seems so much fun. You will need to make some sacrifices and stay in your dorm that night rather then go out and have fun sometimes

    Bang for the buck

    this can all depend on how you did your high school year. They give out lots of scholarship money but the school is expensive anyway.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school isn't THAT small. There's always something to do there. It's a small community and you will get to know more people then if you were at a bigger college. Joining clubs will keep you busy as well if that's what you're looking for.

    Am learning a lot

    The fact that the class size is really small, gives the teacher more time to give out more information and pretty much call out each and every one of us to make sure we know whats going on. Sometimes you think you understand until you're asked; that's when you challenge yourself and find if you understand the material at hand. The subject doesn't matter. The professors there will learn your name and know your capacity pretty soon. If you need help. Help is everywhere! tutoring programs by subject are free.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for fine art students looking to excel in their craft. Also I would say great for sports as well!! We have excellent basketball team. All sports are NCAA Division 1 expect football.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school! Nice class sizes and tons to do. Very beautiful campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    Getting to know your professors and having them know you is great! Also the students are wonderful.

    Am learning a lot

    For me being a Music student I enjoying the small ratio of teacher to student. This allows me to expand my knowledge and grow as a musician. I am able to learn more than if I chose a much larger campus.

  • 07/24/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for people who like hands-on work. The small class size definitely is beneficial to this kind of learning, as well as really getting to know other students within your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    JU is unlike a lot of large colleges. Don't expect overly crowded classrooms and long lines in the on-campus eateries. The only part of the school that isn't built to accommodate the number of students would be the parking lot, so on Sunday-Wednesday, plan to be home as early as possible to minimize the walk from your car to your dorm. The atmosphere is very relaxed; a fair representation of life in the Jacksonville area.

  • 10/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Pre-med of any sort will love this school. The business program is one of the best in the area. Those who, like me, walk kinda slow, will love the size of the campus. Coming from the dorms can be pretty far, but it nothing compared to most university campuses. The 10 and 15 minute class separation are plenty of time for most.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to pay. If you know you will have to pay out for tuition, remember to add the cost of dorms and what goes in them, meal plans, books, parking decal, and just having cash on hand for extra needs during the year. If this is really the school you wish to attend, start saving as soon as possible and look for as many outside scholarships as you can.

    Bang for the buck

    I was given plenty of financial aid and a very large scholarship. I only had two options for school since I had to stay close to home and JU gave me the best the could. JU is expensive, but it is a private college and there are so many more benefits to have 30 people in a class than 300. It allows the school to supply you with the newest and the best of technology, as well as on campus activities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a commuter student and a freshman so I haven't had the on-campus living experience, but the people on campus and in my classes are very nice and the teachers are very respectful. You will be treated as an adult and your decisions (as long as they aren't poor ones) and opinions will be taken seriously.

    Am learning a lot

    My classes are amazing! The teachers are very responsive to the students and don't mind you asking question if you don't understand something. Even if you send them an email, it is usually answered within 24 hours. As a Biology student, having the St. Johns River directly behind the school makes for excellent hand-on work, especially for ecology and marine biology aspects. When it comes to homework, there is plenty to keep you busy, but not nearly so much that you have no down time. There is enough time between quizzes and tests for you to space out studying for all of your classes, PLUS for most classes, all of the quizzes and tests are dated on the syllabus so you know weeks ahead of time!

  • 10/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JU is great for more small town students who like having less people and don't like the giant classes or a billion people around you all the time. Or if you play sports. Ju is a big sports school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your planning to come to JU make sure you have looked at all your options and know that this is the place for you.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is pricey but if you want that small class atmosphere or not as busy atmosphere this is the place to go.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are lots of school events that go on like finals pancake dinner and tailgating for home games that JU can have because there are less students and its a simpler environment that makes school events a lot more fun.

    Am learning a lot

    The small class sizes allow for a better learning environment. You get that one on one feeling because the professors know your name and can come and help you without all the hassle of having 300 other students in the room.

  • 03/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JU is great for students studying the arts and sciences, also athletics and ROTC are big here. If you like a small school feel and the ability to build life-long friendships, JU is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the website before you get on campus- you can learn about the different programs, professors, and all of the new opportunities on campus- I found out about the new Marine Science Research Institute where I now study. SO HELPFUL! Also, talk to students on campus when you go to visit, talk to staff and ask them anything and EVERYTHING you want to know.

    Bang for the buck

    While tuition is high, I definitely feel that the cost is worth it- and they have plenty of campus scholarships to help with the cost, as well as a ton of on-campus jobs to help pay off the rest. You are paying for the great community and one-on-one help you get everywhere you turn.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is a very tigh-knit community, and it feels like home. The class size is small- usually less than 30 students per- which allows you to do class projects often and get help and different perspectives on the material from the other students.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are so helpful here. Whenever you need help, they are there for you- that's what's great about the small class size. The classes are very unique and I can honestly say I have never learned so much, especially because you can get one-on-one help in a subject if you're struggling.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Jacksonville University is great for hard working students who like to have a little fun on the side. It is not your typical party school, but it is also not boring. The classes do take up a lot of your time, so to be studious would be the best advice I have to give you. The kids here who try to turn JU into a party school don't do very well in their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to join a club if you go here, that way you will be guaranteed to have friends with the same interests as you. The students in your same major you will see all four years and they may not have the same interests as you, just the same career path. Don't take 18 credit hours every semester. The Student Solutions Center at JU specifically told me that I should take a break from doing that because it gets really tiring, really fast.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm so glad I'm here, don't get me wrong, but I've been through a year here, and I'm already in debt. The school is expensive, and even though I make straight A's they aren't boosting up the money they are giving me for my academic scholarship. So, I wonder how bad it would be if I wasn't making straight A's. I don't get financial aid or the Pell Grant so I always feel like I'm going to have to be paying off a huge loan when I get out. But, I do like it here, I just have to remember that.

    Am enjoying being here

    I commute, so it is really hard to make many friends that way. I instead tend to make more friends with the teachers and the staff. I've made a few friends with the other students who commute, but it is hard to hang out with the students who live on campus when the drive is 20 minutes away. It is also hard to go to any campus activities when the drive is 20 minutes away. I schedule all my classes close together, and if there is a campus activity scheduled around my classes or in between 2 classes, I'll go. The campus activities are so much fun, though. That's why the ranking is a 4. JU's Final's Frenzy is the best. It really destresses you before finals with free massages, free food, raffles, games, and all sorts of fun activities.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors cater to your every need. They give up their cell phone numbers and their office hours and all the time they have to help you in the course. They give out extra credit work like crazy. The classes are jam packed with information and they are not boring. The teacher does not expect you to just buy the book and learn yourself. Every step is put on the board and broken down/discussed. The small classes give the teachers time to make sure not a single student fails unless the student really tries to (by not coming to class or by being lazy on their workload).

  • 04/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure this is the school you looking for by finding out all you can about it.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is costly but it have a great learning atmosphere.

    Am enjoying being here

    Their many activities to participate in or help out with.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors make time for you if you are having any problems.

  • 06/03/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, athletic students, rotc, marine science majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself, stay focused on your school work, if you ever have a problem in class its always best to meet up with your professor..when they see you making an effort the better the grade. Join a club or sorority or sport to have something to do.

    Bang for the buck

    This school being a private school is very expensive. Good thing they do give scholarships to majority of freshman who enter. But I believe JU should upgrade certain aspects of the school especially the dorms and cafeteria. Its not a bad school, but I personally think you pay too much for some of the stuff. You should be semi-rich when you come here or you'll be taking out a lot of loans.

    Did enjoy being here

    Yes I did enjoy my time here. You will definitely make friends and meet a lot of different, friendly people. Although sometimes the weekends are boring, its best to bring a car if you have one so you have something to do. Or join a athletic team or something to stay busy after classes.

    Did learn a lot

    As you enter college one thing you have to get used to is teaching yourself. Most classes are lectures and after each class its your responsibility to make sure you grasped everything the professor went over. Something I had a big problem with. But if you manage your study time you will definitely learn a lot here!

  • 06/11/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuiton seems overpriced.

    Will enjoy being here

    I can't say that I like the atmosphere of the campus as compared to some of the other colleges I've been to. JU feels dead compared to other schools I've visted.

    Will learn a lot

    I do like all of the professors I've met so far; they all seem helpful and intelligent.

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JU is a great campus for sororities and fraternities! Though I am not in one, I have plenty of friends who are. They tell me all the time about their get together's and fun activities that their sorority or fraternity do.

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing I would stress to a prospective student is that college is not all fun and games. There is a lot of responsibility on your plate. You no longer have your typical high school teacher forcing due dates upon you and asking if you need any help on your projects. Most college professors give you the material and don't see it until the day you turn it in. They are very willing to help though, but you have to be the one to step up and ask. Don't be afraid to ask for help or go to the tutoring room! Be on time and study hard! Good luck!

    Bang for the buck

    If saving money is what your all about, JU can help you out. This university allows all JU students to attend any event JU students host for free. From football games to concerts, JU students don't have to pay a penny to watch.

    Am enjoying being here

    JU is a great campus for an atmosphere of studying. There are plenty of benches in the gardens and even a spot down at the river that students can peacefully study at. The campus also has plenty of things to do if you are a student with free time. There is a campus theatre, gym for working out, gymnasium for playing sports, basketball courts, swimming pool, baseball/softball field, volleyball nets, an art museum, music lounge, and a football field. There are clubs and groups that students can join for extra fun as well. For example, the Rowing Team and the Inner Varsity Bible Study group. Not only this, but JU also of course has concerts, game days, musicals and plays that JU students can attend for free. It's a wonderful active campus that students will never get bored at.

    Am learning a lot

    At Jacksonville University, I am not only learning a ton for my major and minor degrees but I am also learning about finances and expenses. JU has helped me mature more and be more prepared to start life independently when I am ready.

  • 09/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Seek outside scholarships, enjoy the city, beach it out, stay focused and embark on new experiences

    Bang for the buck

    Smaller classrooms and one on one help is worth money. JU offers financial support but I suggest that one would also seek outside scholarships and grants to offset cost

    Am enjoying being here

    JU is a smaller campus and with it being a smaller campus it is easy to get to know peers as well as staff. There are many international students, clubs, and organizations I believe that JU is a well rounded university. And I have made life long friends

    Am learning a lot

    I am in nursing and there are alot of hands on experiences. The school offers many different opportunites that a bigger school might not offer.

  • 10/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone who does not enjoy sitting in a room with 50 other students trying to learn. The class sizes are just like high school (10- maybe 30 student) and you have professors who genuinely care about their students' success and are always willing to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for the honors program. It may be more work but they offer great scholarships and you are guaranteed to have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    I am here for nursing and even with my full ride it gets pricey sometimes, but it is also recognized as the best nursing program in the entire state and you get a lot of experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love my professors they're entertaining and they care about students. Being in honors and nursing gave me an in with a lot of different people so I have made a whole bunch of new friends. The campus is gorgeous it does not even look like Jacksonville here and it's small enough to walk across in ten minutes but big enough that you have plenty of places to go and hang out without even having to leave campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn so much better here than I would elsewhere; the teachers take care of you if you take advantage of their office hours and the other students are surprisingly willing to help you out. The small class sizes also facilitate easier learning.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus could be safer. But its location in downtown Jacksonville makes it difficult to secure all areas of campus.

    Greek Life

    There are several active Greek chapters. But, unlike other schools, pledging isn't the only way to fit in.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs here, but my favorite is the one I founded-The Z Formation. It is a women's empowerment group. We participate in service activities, monthly forums, and other activities. We also work closely with the fraternities and sororities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated students, who are not easily caught up in the college partying lifestyle.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is very close to the beach, which is great.

    Bang for the buck

    Jacksonville University is quite expensive. However, it is only worth your money if you avail yourself of the educational opportunities you are afforded here.

    What to do for fun

    Go into the city Go down to the Riverfront Hang out in the student commons Play games in the arcade

    Food and Dining

    The food could be much better, but I've heard from students who have transferred from other schools that it's better than the food offerings at other institutions.

    Dorm Life

    It can get kind of rowdy. I have been an RA for two years, and I have seen many things living on campus. But security isn't too far away, and often responds to incidents that get out-of-control.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are mostly quite difficult, which often serves as a surprise to incoming students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard Have fun Enjoy the unique opportunity to gain your education in a great environment.

    In three sentences

    Jacksonville University has a beautiful campus, filled with lush landscaping and beautiful trees. Despite the ideas of many people, it is a very difficult school in which some students fail every semester. Work hard, take school seriously, and you can be a success here!

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus Safety officers are always patrolling around campus. I feel that I am safe on campus because they are always around in case anything happens.

    Greek Life

    The Greek Life at JU is great. The students that are in Greek life are usually involved in several other clubs on campus and they usually hold various leadership positions as well. Being in Greek life encourages the students to always be their best and puts a support system behind them that allows them to achieve their goals.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hundreds of clubs on campus. A student can join the shooting club, sociology club or even a surfing club. The options are endless so there is definitely something for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    I received a highly personalized education at JU. I got the individual attention that I wanted from my professors but they also challenged me to do my best in class. It is a little more expensive because it is a private college but I definitely think that it was worth it, because of the organizations and opportunities that I was able to pursue my confidence grew over the past 3 years that I have been at JU & that is something that is priceless in my opinion.

    What to do for fun

    In Jacksonville there is a huge shopping center called the St. Johns Town Center. It is definitely the place to go if you like to shop, go to a nice restaurant or hang out with friends. We also have a movie theater that is on campus and free to the students so that is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are 3 places where a student can eat on campus. Waves, the cafe and Nellie's. Personally I think the food could be a lot better in both Nellie's & Waves, just a little more fresh food but waves usually has some good food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at JU are okay. Most of the buildings are a little old but what they lack in fancy new accommodations they make up in the people that you get to know.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that I have taken at JU have challenged me in the best kind of way. I feel that I have a good relationship with my professors and that I can go to them if I am having any problems in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are tons of on campus organizations that are not only fulfilling but also fun to be a part of!

    In three sentences

    JU is my home away from home. The faculty go above and beyond their duties in order to help their students. I couldn't imagine going to school anywhere else.

  • 12/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus seems pretty good for all students, just make sure you come with an open mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on coming here, be sure to fill out tons of scholarships. Also, if you plan on coming here, buy rain boots! When it rains, some of the areas get flooded easily because the St. Johns River used to flow through some areas of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little expensive, as it is with all private colleges. Sometimes people around here, including me, question where our money is going because there are some minor issues when it comes to some of the things around campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone here seems to be pretty nice. Campus activities and the different clubs, sororities, and fraternities here always have some event planned. The campus is pretty nice and I just overall really like it here.

    Academic Rigor

    I really like the way the teachers here are teaching. They explain things in a way I understand. The work load isn't too hard or overwhelming, it's definitely manageable.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i don't eat on campus much, the food is expensive without a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    i never lived on campus, but i heard the new dorms were nice.

    Academic Rigor

    every school has it's easy and hard classes. you have to be the judge of whether or not you learn the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't slack. stay on top of your studies and your time management. the class sizes are small enough for the professors to know your potential and notice your absence.

    In three sentences

    ju has professors who care, class sizes to help focus on you, and a campus that you can walk in ten minutes, you'll never be late to class if you come early enough to find a parking spot.

  • 04/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I love to have education in JU

    In three sentences

    jacksonville University is great college to attent.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only thing security does here is ride their bikes, walk around staring into space, and writing tickets. They serve NO REAL purpose and are a waste of money for the school. No protection, so look after yourself.

    Clubs and Activities

    This has improved over the years...thankfully.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to pass through college, get a degree, not learn anything, and just get by in life.

    Bang for the buck

    The quality of education and the experiences you gain at JU are not worth the price you have to pay. They are really overpriced!!

    What to do for fun

    Not much....Jacksonville is not a real city like you would think. Mostly it's a place for people to get drunk or high and do nothing else. Kind of monotonous and boring.

    Food and Dining

    Food at JU is TERRIBLE!! DO NOT EAT! You've been warned.

    Dorm Life

    From what I've seen they need to seriously fix up the dorms; most students try to avoid them by moving into the college apartments across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    Most majors have classes that are too easy to pass without ever really learning anything. So be careful the major you choose!

    Tips for prospective students

    KNOW the major you definitely want to pursue before attending this college, that way you can visit the campus on your own (avoid the hectic and inadequate tour guide) and explore the building and campus where you'll be taking your classes. If you observe the environment you will be able to tell whether or not JU suites your needs and whether you will learn anything in your major field from the professors.

    In three sentences

    It has a select few professors that are knowledgeable, passionate, caring and helpful towards their students, however, they are hard to find. Furthermore, not every major receives the proper funding and the students suffer from it which is wrong and discouraging to know that the university itself does not care about its students. If you have a great college experience, deal with fascinating teachers, friendly campus environment, and find competent staff members then you happen to be one of the lucky ones.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Tons of fun!

    What to do for fun

    Join greek life or an athletic team!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as much financial as possible1 It's super expensive. Also, use chegg.com to rent your books. You'll save hundreds of dollars.

    In three sentences

    Great academic advising, professors, and student life staff. HORRIBLE financial aid staff, they are useless. Great atmosphere, beautiful campus, amazing experiences.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a ton of campus activities: fin fest, honors summit, plays, concerts, movie theatre, sporting events, sororities, frats, RHA activities, school wide humans vs zombies, res life trips and more. Theres also a pool and gym, nature trail, and river dock. There really is a ton of things to do on campus and you'll find them if you just look at bulletin boards.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is pretty good. And they have a lot of options which is really nice. If you're going to JU and you're trying to pick a meal plan definitely go for the eat anywhere option. And I was able to survive off 12 meals a week but it's up to your discretion.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on who is also on your hall as to what kind of experience you'll have. There were incidences Of vandalism on my hall and they were very loud but I moved to a quieter hall where there wasnt vandalism. Most of the halls were pretty tame which makes for a good study environment and such.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the teachers expect students to rise to specific standards and really put forth their best effort. The classes aren't necessarily easy but there is plenty of opportunity to make an A, what with teachers being available because of small classes and they being more flexible with work being turned in. Most of my teachers offered some form if extra credit also to help give students an extra boost.

    In three sentences

    Jacksonville university is a great school for students who are looking for smaller campuses. The teachers and staff are all very helpful. They have an amazing, beautiful campus and there are plenty of opportunities to get out and do school activities and be involved.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The valley of death between the dorms and the classes is a struggle every time you want to leave your room and do something, but it becomes a part of life.

    Bang for the buck

    The internet gets really slow at the end of the night when everyone's homework is due at 11:59 pm and you would think that so much money could pay for a better internet connection, but that's as much trouble as you'll find.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in friends' rooms, go to the club, go to the pool, hang out by the river or in the buc room--there's always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    After a while, eating in the cafeteria and at Nellie's gets boring, but switching it up every once in a while helps.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Your roommate, suitemates, and hallmates all contribute to your dorm experience and it can be a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Although the teachers are pleasant and understanding, you have to make sure you keep up with your work and your reading. It's not hard if you stay focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is what you make it. Go to all the activities possible, they are worth it. It can be a lot of fun if you don't hold back.

    In three sentences

    Jacksonville University is a great school. The staff is very friendly and the students are, as well. It is a great place for a young adult to grow.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We've had a few bad scares on safety, but they've been handled in a timely manner and each student may call for assistance should he or she feel the need.

    Greek Life

    There are plenty of fraternities and sororities that are present on campus. While they can often get very rowdy and cause damage to the campus, these days are rare but are kept under control.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are very involving, helping students to overcome shyness or welcoming them to a new home. There is very little to not do.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a sports person, this university is wonderful. If you care about your education and know that you have support from family and friends, this is probably the best choice for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Just recently, an organization formed for fun, and as a good way to relieve stress and build friendships. This organization is called Humans versus Zombies, and they hold a game of Humans versus Zombies campus wide, involving everyone in a huge game of tag.

    Bang for the buck

    The faculty is more than willing to help students in furthering their education. The campus is absolutely wonderful and the students are very friendly.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities available to the students. Sports are almost always going on, and there are more than enough students to meet and talk to that share your interests in clubs. If you want to take it easy, there are plenty of relaxing areas under trees and hidden away that allow for that nice alone time to calm down.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the cafeteria is much better than the counter service areas. People in the cafeteria are much more friendly and will strike up a conversation with you. Counter service employees are more brash and not so cheerful. Food is so-so, with some hits and some horribly misses.

    Dorm Life

    Living in both the all female and the coed dorm, the two experiences are very different. People in same-sex dorms are very friendly and gladly help you out in getting what you need. The coed dorms are louder, and more often than not, you'll see the people you share a hall with, but you'll never know their names.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are challenging, and even more so in the biology and marine science fields. The professors make sure you know the material and you have enough help to get through the course as well as help you in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead and listen to what your academic adviser tells you. And get involved! It's a wonderful way to meet people as well as keep your mind sharp.

    In three sentences

    Jacksonville University is a beautiful campus with a wonderful faculty more than willing to help. Campus activities are never hard to find as the students are very passionate about involving everyone. The only lacking point of JU is the communication between financial aid and the students.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe the grounds close at 6 and at that point any visitors have to check in at the tower. The dorm room buildings are locked I believe at 9pm every night. If there security department suspects something they will investigate it.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities and fraternities. There are panhellenic and non-panhellenic

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like a small classroom this is an ideal school for them.

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool and beach volleyball. You can always go for a bike ride or go to the gym. There is a movie theater on campus where they have daily movies. One of the organizations also try to bring in big name artists to perform at the school. Plus the school offers field trips to local theme parks.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is pretty good but I am glad they offer a meal plan where you don't have to only eat there. It gives me a variety

    Dorm Life

    I know I am staying in the new building with a semi-private bath. During orientation I had to stay in a building with a communal bath which isn't really my thing.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not attended any classes yet but I have been mailed the summer reading list. This proves to me that I will be challenged

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college a couple of times. If you attend orientation you will meet many new people. Financial aid is there for you no matter what. Get involved in whatever way you can.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The staff is really nice and are there for the students. Your professors will know you personally because of the small classroom size

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports and parties

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and make plenty of friends and when you need help with a class or something just ask.

    In three sentences

    I believe the experience that I am having at JU is phenomenal. The class sizes are great for struggling students and the staff are extremely helpful.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Surrounding area sucks, but campus has plenty of security

    Greek Life

    Very big part of campus life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Tons of clubs and opportunities to get involved on campus

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private Liberal Arts College so you will pay for a private school education.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best with few dinning options.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to all your classes, a lot of time teachers will gove you the benefit of the doubt. Ask if you need help or are struggling, no one can read your mind and there are tons of opportunities to get help.

    In three sentences

    The University as a whole is very close and tight knit. Seeming to operate in its own little world. The surrounding area is not the greatest or safest, however, the campus is perfectly safe and beautiful.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top of the line security!! Security constantly walking or biking around all hours of the night. Cameras everywhere even when you can't see them. Resident Advisers always on the safe side, locked campus at night. Security help booths every so feet away around the campus. You can call security to pick you up from your dorm or class at night and they'll take you where you need to go.

    Greek Life

    Not too big on frats and sorority life but occasionally you'll see them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Students can create and maintain clubs or activities through various departments, a lot of clubs and activities already on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    One of the top Aviation and NROTC programs in the U.S. Also great for Athletic Training, Exercise Programs. In general for students who want a good education, 1 on 1 with professors, not the pressures of a big university, comfy setting.

    What to do for fun

    Jacksonville is a big city, 2 minutes and a bridge away from down town, jax beaches are awesome, D-1 sports, Pro football team. Big cities close by 3 hours from Orlando, 6 hours from Miami.

    Food and Dining

    Restaurants and Cafe on campus, spacey so it's not over crowded.

    Dorm Life

    It can be hectic at times especially in the co-ed dorms, but it's normal dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Heavy work load most of the time but the professors are very knowledgeable and want you to be as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study. Make it to class early, a lot of professors don't allow you in even a minute after they start their lecture. Get use to PowerPoint's, everyone uses them. It's Florida, it rains all the time.

    In three sentences

    Small setting overall, very professional professors, restaurants still make it seem like college, co-ed dorms, cars allowed for freshman, pricey, but overall great experience if you're okay with small classes and not a huge amount of students.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is in charge of most of the campus activities.

    Great for these types of students

    JU has a great marine biology and aviation program along with a fantastic orthodontics and business school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus is right on the St. Johns River so there is a beautiful view of downtown Jacksonville.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a private University so it is very expensive but there are scholarships available which come directly from the school. All that is needed is an application to the school.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, ping pong, pool, greek life, sporting events, campus activities... etc. I am always busy.

    Food and Dining

    It could improve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Let your schooling take first priority.

    In three sentences

    I love the small class sizes and personal attention from my professors. This is a school all about community. There is much emphasis on future success which i believe propels students to make and achieve academic goals.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always either sports or arts events, so it is nice.

    Food and Dining

    There are three options. It is nice to have one of those options dormside which is also open until midnight.

    Dorm Life

    The Oak Hall dorms are very nice, the others are not as good.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are challenging but not overwhelming, as long as you do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for all the scholarships possible because it is an expensive school. The money you pay is definately worth the intimate education you get.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the one on one attention you get at JU. The professors are relatable and care about their students. My first year experience has been very good so far.

  • 12/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club! Clubs always have activities going on. The school also hosts special trips during holidays to special locations such as: Halloween Horror Nights in Orlando, FL.

    Food and Dining

    All you can eat buffet at the cafeteria. Small Starbucks on campus is great, I wish it would have more options like a normal Starbucks. Great fast food locations in front of campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    I do not reside in the dorms. I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes have two different professors for just one class (ex: for the sciences with labs), making it extremely difficult at times because of communication.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study. Ask professors any questions as soon as possible, and do not hesitate to ask. Live on campus for more chances to be involved in the fun campus activities. Meet new people!

    In three sentences

    Jacksonville University is a great college speaking from my experience so far. Classes are very challenging, and some in my opinion are too challenging based off of my knowledge. The classes are also a great size, making it easier to speak to professors.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The entire campus is enclosed and guards are always able to get to you if you need help.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you dont participate in some sort of club you are definitely not at Jacksonville because everyone and I mean everyone does something.

    Food and Dining

    Several food locations are located on campus, by far my favorite is Nellies Grill.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are very nice, I will be residing at the Oak hall and the rooms are very spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been told it is tough, however the staff if always willing to help you if you ask. Class sizes are small.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to have a great time.

    In three sentences

    Jacksonville University has the most beautiful campus. The people are friendly and so are the staff. Definitely look forward to attending this school.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards at every entrance, as well as riding around the campus. They are always willing to help and call in any help you need.

    Greek Life

    There are a plethora of sororities and fraternities here at JU that are extremely well-known and involved with campus life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different sports teams, intramurals, concerts, international student organizations, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    JU is great for determined, hardworking, and students with mature attitudes who want to be at school and want to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a boat house and are right along the St. John's river. You can take a run on the track as the sun sets while dolphins swim by next to you. It is a gorgeous campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I cannot the sheer greatness of the small, engaging class sized and the quality of what you learn. Professors care if you get the material and are always available to help you out. The best academic experience of my life.

    What to do for fun

    Travel around the city, go to the beach, go shopping at many of the malls or outlets, take a forty minute drive to St. Augustine, or go explore some old forts, the lighthouse, and get in touch with history.

    Food and Dining

    The food is above average and you have a lot of options at JU. Even better, there are some hotspots just outside of campus (San Marco, St. John's Town Center, etc.) with great restaurants and atmospheres!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are relatively clean and well-kept, but some students ruin the atmosphere for the rest of us by being a little too messy. The room sizes are nice there are relaxing lounge areas in every building.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, super interesting, and - in some cases - life changing courses. The professors expect adults and treat you like adults.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to go to class every day with a good attitude as the class sizes are small and they will know when you are not there. Be ready for a challenging but beneficial work load - you will get headaches, but you will be all the smarter for it! Take advantage of the resources given to you; go to the library, the career development center, and the study abroad office.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful. The classes are small and personal. On top of that, the professors are the most helpful, passionate, and engaging instructors I have ever had.

  • 05/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security take their jobs very seriously which is always a plus.

    Greek Life

    All over campus, people show their pride in Greek life. Just looking at their events on campus and school spirit is enough to make anyone want to join!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs on campus that any student is allowed to join. Many of the awesome teachers are involved in recruiting more members.

    What to do for fun

    If you enjoy the club life, the clubs are within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe allows for you to have a home cooked meal just like being at home. Nellies is always tinking of new ways to spice up their menu. Aned starting nexyt year, there will be a Chick-fil-A on campus!!!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms and apartments on campus are so cozy and spacious, you wont ever want to leave.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not saying that getting good grades will be easy at Jacksonville University, all I'm saying is it will be worth it. JU is challenging, yet a degree from here is extremely rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering coming to JU, go for it. You won't regret it. It is really a great campus with excellent educators that love doing their job, and doing it well.

    In three sentences

    Jacksonville University is located in the largest city in Florida which means there is always opportunities to enjoy the beautiful city! It's a campus that is easy to learn and adjust to. Many of JU's students come from all over the world which allows you to meet all kinds of people.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join clubs. Join Greek life. Go to the beach. Enjoy the riverfront.

    Food and Dining

    Food could be better.

    Dorm Life

    It is great having friends on every hall.

    Academic Rigor

    You must work for what you want. Don't slack on studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about classes. Professors are here to help you succeed. They want to help.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school with great teachers. The campus makes you feel like you are at home. The classe are the right size.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is average I would say. They do regular rounds to make sure everything on campus is good

    Greek Life

    I hear its okay, I personally do not like the Greek life but theres some good frats and soroities. They are not extremely expense I dont believe either.

    Clubs and Activities

    NROTC all the way!

    What to do for fun

    We are close to the beach and there is a great trail to go running and biking on. The mall is also very close by.

    Food and Dining

    The food is up to par and continues to get better, they are building new food establishments on campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is not bad, it can get loud on the weekends but it is always pretty quite when it needs to be. The rooms are a good size and are clean. A bit expensive though.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers have workable office hours around our schedules and there are always tutors there to help and the library is open till late.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study very hard and don't get into the major party scene.

    In three sentences

    The campus is wonderful and very picturesque. The Chemistry Department is not the best but overall a great staff is there to help. The food is good and continues to get better.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is extremely valued and handled in a serious manner. Campus security has options to send you alerts in case of emergency via cellphone or e-mail, and officers stand guard at the front gate as well. While some officers protect from the front gate, we also have some who ride bikes around the campus grounds to keep the campus safe.

    Greek Life

    A diverse group of greek life is available at student request. Check out the JU website, go to the club & org fair, sign up for Greek recruitment, or attend an event! Whatever you decide, just get involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    It is recommended that one is involved in at least one club or extracurricular activity, and there are plenty to chose from that will allow one to feel they belong. Jacksonville University allows you to relax by the pool, experience Jacksonville history and has several extras to take your mind off of becoming home sick.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working students wishing to make their mark at an institution that is continuously developing for the better, are sure to excel at Jacksonville Univeristy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Jacksonville University sits along a beautiful riverfront where one may see actual Dolphins swimming about. The 190-acre campus has paths guided by large oak trees and a mix of historic and modern buildings. Jacksonville Univeristy allows students to take a load off at a plethora of benches available in many areas decorated with flowers and water fountains. The beautiful campus appears as though the maintenance workers never sleep!

    Bang for the buck

    Jacksonville University is an extremely recognized University and is an awesome institution for those that are wishing to have a prosperous future. Jacksonville University has the connection to their students that other intuitions do not, because many colleges do not take the time to know their students on a personal level. Do to this connection, many students are hired immediately after college in their field of study; and often students are asked to work at the institution while working toward their masters.

    What to do for fun

    With the small town feel on campus, it is easy to know a familiar face. This creates plenty of fun when one is looking for something to do on a Friday night. There will be many choices of athletic events, on campus socials, and off campus night-life.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining areas are under serious renovations and many new things are to come as far as the dining experience. Jacksonville University is partnered with Sodexo in order to continuously make the student body happier with their eating experience. We not only have Sodexo on campus, but we also have Chick-fil-A on campus, Einstein Bagel, not to mention the staff at Waves makes an amazing sandwich at your request during those late night study sessions.

    Dorm Life

    Relatively new renovations have been made to housing making living spaces extremely comfortable. Size and spacing of the rooms are not small, still allowing room for plenty of creativity for students to make their living space feel like home. Most importantly, living areas are extremely clean, and extermination services are offered for free for those that are not accustomed to Florida insects.

    Academic Rigor

    With small class sizes, the private institution allows for Professors to know students by name. This is highly helpful when questions or concerns about subject matter come to mind, as professors are readily available to help. The majority of the professors are willing to help students at all hours, but it is recommended to visit during their office hours. Students can keep up with their academic progress with academic audits that will keep them up to date with necessary classes for any particular major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should look into getting involved around campus in some manner. The campus is small, and networking has outstanding potential. With student involvement, prospective students are sure to excel academically and socially. Take the time to get involved on campus. There are several opportunities for you to make a difference at JU, take advantage while you can.

    In three sentences

    Jacksonville University is the home to a diverse student body, but the schools variety does not stop there. Jacksonville has various social, cultural, greek, religious, performance arts, and other service organizations. The Jacksonville University Dolphins are represented by 21 different Division 1 athletic teams as well. Jacksonville University has a beautiful campus, with staff and students dedicated to keeping it clean. There is always something going on at Jacksonville University and the smaller campus will leave you feeling like everyone knows your name!

  • 10/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Chick fil a!!!

    Dorm Life

    I commute to this school, so I'm not exactly sure how dorm life is.

    In three sentences

    Jacksonville University is a great school to go to, especially if you don't want to get overwhelmed. The campus size is small and easy to manage, and because the class sizes are so small, the professors actually get to know you. JU's atmosphere is so friendly and you always feel welcome with anybody that you see around campus and there is so much to do, you can't possibly get bored.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It can be expensive, but every college is going to be pricey.

    What to do for fun

    They have a room for you to play pool and ping pong. There is open fields of grass so you could play something over in that area. If you find the gym fun, they have a gym full of equipment to workout with.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is great. The café serves restaurant quality food and it's all you can eat. There is also a Chic-Fil-A and a Einstein's Bros Bagels.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on which dorms you stay at. I live in the cheapest one they have and it is okay. The AC has broken twice in the couple months I have been here and our cable does not work, but the community bathroom is cleaned twice a day by janitors, so that is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very intelligent in their field of study. The work that they hand out will be helpful and not a waste of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice would be to be ready to do a lot of reading and take plenty of notes. There is quite a bit of homework, but not too much to where it's overbearing.

    In three sentences

    Jacksonville University is a great place to be. The weather is nice most of the year and the campus is beautiful. The campus is small so everything is close together and the classes are small.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Dolphin Productions holds a lot of events on campus ranging anywhere from Drag shows to concerts. If Dolphin Productions is hosting something usually it will be pretty interesting. The Fin Fest is one of the best events to go to in the Spring, but a lot of the concerts at JU are focused toward a very small group on the campus.

    Food and Dining

    Recently, JU replaces Nellie's (its previous grill dining service) with a Chick-Fil-A Express. A lot of students regret this decision because of the lack of items on the menu and their realization that an individual can become tired of chicken rather quickly. However, the renovation to the Riverview Cafe was a success for the most part with the need Pasta Bar, although some of the food is still just edible. The meal plan changes have been pretty successful for the most part, but with the increase in Flex Bucks, JU needs more dining variety.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is typical of any other college. You have your very new dorms (Oak Hall) and you have your older dorms (Williams, Brest, McGhee, and Botts). The older dorms have a community shower on each hall which you have to share, but you will definitely meet the most people living in these close quarters. Oak Hall has two people to a room with two rooms connected by the bathroom. In Oak you do have access to an elevator, but you also have over 20 RAs watching your every move. Living in either dorms are fine it just depends on personally preference.

    Academic Rigor

    JU can be academically difficult it you do not use academic assistance areas like the Writing Center and students transferring from community college specifically have more academic difficulties. Always use ratemyprofessor.com before signing up for a class because there are some professors that set you up for failure.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in as many activities as possible. Get to know your teachers during the first week of school since 95% of the classes are under 30 students. Utilize the Career Development Center and the Student Solutions Center from the beginning of your time at Jacksonville University, both of these departments can truly help you with almost any questions you have during your college experience and assure success.

    In three sentences

    Jacksonville University is a close knit university that can be difficult academically. However, JU is in the process of becoming a better school in layout and structure after recently acquiring a new president. Within the next few years the university will change dramatically.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Unless working out or partying out of campus, nothing much.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best, but not the worst. Cafe food has gotten people food poisoning or indigestion.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very boring.

    Academic Rigor

    Their Business program would be considered better than that of Harvard. At the same time, JU upheld students to the most serious of morals.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you go to Jacksonville University, make sure you have a lot of Scholarships. Also, spend your money wisely because it is expensive.

    In three sentences

    Jacksonville University has screwed up my financial aid and tuition. They told me to take an independent study when I really did not had to take one and now I owe them $1000.