Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

James A Rhodes State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Quiet, cheap, parent loving, non-partying, older and wiser, and happy go lucky students. I highly recommend Rhodes State College!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are up for saving money and staying home for college, Rhodes State is your choice, if you live around Lima, Ohio. There are many older students at Rhodes State, so if you are wanting to head back to college long after high school you are not alone in this endeavor. James A. Rhodes State College is a great place to earn your associate's degree or to get some credits before transfering to a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    At most colleges you will pay at least three times the tuition per credit hour. James A. Rhodes State College is very cheap, but the education you recieve is the same as any other college in Ohio.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although there is no real on campus dormitories, there are campus apartments, it is much cheaper to just commute to college on the days that I do have class. I love the campus enviornment, everyone is friendly and welcoming.

    Am learning a lot

    Not only are the professors well accredited, but the campus is beautiful and full of new technology to provide the best learning enviornment possible. The professors help all types of learners from visual to kinesthetic.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always present and available.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for young or returning students.

    Bang for the buck

    Great educational experience for the best price in the state.

    What to do for fun

    There are campus activities, but I do not get involved.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria on site from M-Friday only.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a very competitive health field so make sure you bring your A game in order to stay above the rest in your area of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to become familiar with your program adviser they can be a wealth of knowledge for the beginning student.

    In three sentences

    This college is providing me a traditional and distant education opportunity for learning. The college is on the cutting edge of technology, I would recommend this college to anyone who is looking for an affordable 2yr degree of study.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is great. any problem they can help.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a wide veriety of clubs here

    Bang for the buck

    alot of free computers to use.

    What to do for fun

    every wensday they have a specail thing going on, during winter they have free hot coffe or hot coco. free walking tacos when ya sign up for a club. comedians and musicans are here some wensdays.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to rhodes its a great school. teachers are very understanding and helpful.

    In three sentences

    this is a great school. the staff and teachers are very helpful.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Kids from small towns.

    What to do for fun

    Basketball.

    Food and Dining

    Never been to the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your adviser.

    In three sentences

    Rhodes is a great school for kids from small high schools. They have small class rooms for more one on one learning. Most of the teachers are very nice and helpful.

  • 03/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security officers on campus are always willing to go above and beyond to help.

    Clubs and Activities

    many.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL who are serious about learning.

    Bang for the buck

    You will have a great time here.

    What to do for fun

    There are alot of student activities and special functions all during he semester.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live independently.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and that makes me learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will get a great education if you put great effort into it. The instructors expect you to put 100% into learning.

    In three sentences

    The instructors are very knowledgable and willing to help. The classes are very challenging. The campus is very relaxed and that is important.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is very safe. There are campus security guys all around. They are super nice and willing to help you out in any way.

    Greek Life

    Don't think there is a Greek life at Rhodes.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities to join. They have a student council and they have TEAM for early childhood education students.

    Great for these types of students

    Dont understand the question.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only thing that is unusual are the games they play in the square.

    Bang for the buck

    A bang for your buck would definitely be in the cafeteria. The food their is cheap and good.

    What to do for fun

    There are always fun activities going on, on campus. For example, we do zombie tag, Nerf wars, and they even do DJs sometimes. Those all take place in the square in between all the buildings.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food here is really good, and their prices are not bad. The cafeteria is always full of people and is a friendly environment.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, but from what I have heard they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Their academic rigor is not hard at all. In fact it is easier than my high school one was.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate on your homework. Study hard and always have a positive attitude. Make friends with your classmates and others' who go to the college.

    In three sentences

    Rhodes State College is a very nice and clean college. The professors there are very accepting to anyone and respectful of everyone. Great way for me to get my associates degree where it isn't to expensive.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had a problem but i do see the security throughout the day and all over campus to ensure the safety of everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is a great start for a student that is preparing for grad school.

    Bang for the buck

    Some of the classes are not transferable to other schools. I have learned a lot that pertains to my major.

    What to do for fun

    I like to have fun in water, go to a midget footbal games, and youth basketball games.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a pretty good salad bar. The specials are pretty reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your studies. Manage your time and stay organized.

    In three sentences

    Is a great start to a good career. Can be a good start before grad school. Very helpful and fulfilling.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that arent looking for a party, who are willing to crack down on the books and get there degree done.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is very active with their students, they offer alot of on campus activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study and take notes!

    In three sentences

    James A. Rhodes has been a great school thus far! The instructors are very willing when it comes to helping students understand material, even if it means staying after class. The facility is a very clean and friendly environment!

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security is always walking around campus, which makes campus feel much safer.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lot's of activities go on at Rhodes.

    Bang for the buck

    Rhodes State is definately one of the cheapest schools in Northwest Ohio, if not the cheapest!

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations at Rhodes State Campus, and one can also be involed in one of the many sports Rhodes has.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus could be better, but they try to make healthy food!

    Dorm Life

    Rhodes is a commuting school. However, some students stay in apartments right off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Definately take a tour of campus, and learn where everything is. Its a small campus but it is easy to get lost.

    In three sentences

    Rhodes State College is a very small school that is on the same campus as OSU Lima. The class sizes are small which makes it easier for a student to have one-on-one time with the instructor. Plus you start your field of study the first semester you are there, so if you don't like that field you can change it your second semester!

  • 10/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing. The security guards offer themselves as an escort if you are worried to walk by yourself at night. There are phone booths to call security if you need them, and someone is always available.

    Clubs and Activities

    Rhodes has a wide variety of sports and student clubs you can get involved with.

    Bang for the buck

    Rhodes is a great college to start off at. You get the experience, the credits, and you have the opportunity to save money along the way. Rhodes gives the opportunity for many jobs as they will send your resume out for you, or even offer an on campus job. Rhodes also offers many job fairs to get you experienced with interviews and give you a chance to get out there.

    What to do for fun

    Every Wednesday Rhodes has a fun night in one of the buildings basements. Sometimes comedians are there, bands, etc. They have movie nights and game nights quiet often, and even get great deals on outside events, like last week, it was free golf!

    Food and Dining

    I haven't tried out the cafeteria food yet, but Rhodes is nice in the fact that there are vending machines everywhere. Many classes are long, and when you have a back to back schedule it's nice to squeeze a snack in. Also, there are a few fast-food options right down the road.

    Dorm Life

    Rhodes State is a community college, therefor there are no dorms. Many students live at home. Though, Rhodes does have an apartment complex that is made available exclusively for students which is a 5 minute walk from campus, and is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are more tough than high school classes, but not tough to the extent that you constantly feel like you will fail. Your teachers do not care if you don't do the homework, they won't bother you to catch it up or make sure you do it. But, if you have a question they are always there for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students is to go in to talk to someone about registering. Don't just do it on your own online. You will be able to accomplish much more in your college career with the advise of counselors.

    In three sentences

    James A Rhodes State College has many degree options, and many certificates to earn along the way. Though most majors are only for a 2 year degree Rhodes has made it easy to transfer to other accredited schools. Rhodes is a great, cheaper choice to start off at, get used to the college class style, and continue your education for a brighter future.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very secure. I worked for the IS Help Desk and I seen a lot. There are cameras everywhere. They also have a security office where you can call them up and they can give you an escort to your vehicle. Police academy is right next to it.

    Greek Life

    I really don't know all that much because I am on a computer a lot working on projects solo. I can say that for the most part, they are very friendly. It is really easy to fit in.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs that I know of are Gaming Club, Cyber Defense Club, and a Biology club. One year, the President of the Biology club had access to the telescope on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student interested in computers, a medical degree, or engineering might find a place here. They just brought in a class for iOS Mobile App Development. There is also a police academy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    These things vary from year to year. One year, a club had access to the $10,000 telescope on campus that was donated to the Lima Campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Since they switched from quarters to semesters, I really don't care for some of the changes they made. It cost more then it used to because the classes are extended. I would prefer to extend your research on what you learn in class as well (particularly in computer related fields).

    What to do for fun

    There are different events held on campus like sports and clubs. There is even a gaming club. Otherwise, there really is not that much to do there. It can be very boring.

    Food and Dining

    This college is located on the east side of Lima where you can find restaurants like Red Lobster, Texas Roadhouse, Panera Bread, and more. There are many great restaurants in Lima and there is also a cafeteria available on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, but it's great!

    Academic Rigor

    The computer programming teachers work with me and are extremely flexible.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college to start a computer degree! However, they still teach COBOL, which is a dead language. This class is required for the Associate degree in Web/Computer Programming. If you're interested in a degree health related, this is the most affordable college out there.

    In three sentences

    A place that is fun, exciting, and a great atmosphere for learning is James A. Rhodes State College. They have professors with great minds and fun personalities. It's a great place to get an Associates Degree, Bachelors, or to transfer credits from.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just be sure not to get behind and study!

    In three sentences

    Overall a great school, has a few down falls but every school does.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school has a very nice facility. I plan on visiting again once the weather gets better. Definitely in my top 5 choices.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Fast pace

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions and use the resources.

    In three sentences

    The One Night a Week course is convenient. The staff have been honest and helpful with the expectations. Everything is laid out so you know what to expect in the coming years.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    not involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Recent high school graduates, stay at home moms, single moms, returning to college adults. everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    unknown

    Bang for the buck

    I think you get what you pay for. The classes are relevant to your studies and prepare you for your degree.

    What to do for fun

    I am a single mom and do not live locally.

    Food and Dining

    Do not live locally but food on campus is very good.

    Dorm Life

    I am not in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging and relevant teachings.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early and be prepared to do work. Not slack off and stay ahead in your studies.

    In three sentences

    I never logical and easy to manuver college. Most professors are very hands on and prepared to give the best education possible. Very up to speed and comparable to most big league universities.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are around all the time. There is a phone in every parking lot if you get scared at night the campus police will excort you to your car.

    What to do for fun

    Rhodes is always having activities going on.

    Food and Dining

    Kind of Expensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to ask if you need help.

    In three sentences

    James A Rhodes State College is very small and comfortable. You gain all the attention you need when it comes to help. This college is overall a very friendly college.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Research the the online Radiology technician program thoroughly, it is very tough and next to impossible to complete, but not impossible.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Rhodes is always got activities going on! Always checking my email to see what's going on for the week.

    Food and Dining

    I never really have time to eat when I attend class, but I have checked out the cafeteria in Reed Hall building for a quick cup of coffee and whatever they were cooking that day smelled amazing! They also had a large selection!

    Academic Rigor

    I would give Rhodes 4 stars on Academic Rigor. The classes I have taken for Medical Coding will always be something I use in my career everyday. I also think the instructors do a very good job in stressing what you will need to know instead of focusing on the things that you aren't required to know or will use in your field.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students would be to look closely at all classes making sure you don't have to have a prerequisite to take that class. Always ask questions if you are unsure about anything!

    In three sentences

    I would rate Rhodes State College an 8 with 10 being the highest. I love the campus and almost all the instructors I have had so far. I only have one complaint and that is when Rhodes switched from quarters to semesters...now instead of having my certificate the end of this semester I have to take 1 class this summer semester to get my certificate.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you can study or do homework outside. You can also join events the school has going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell future students to study hard, and ask teachers for help. I would also tell students to take advantage of opportunities that the school had to offer such as food, and events.

    In three sentences

    I love the teachers at the school. I love the early childhood program at the school. I also love that fact that we do hands on activities.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always there when you need for what ever you may need.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I do not do the clubs and most of my time is spent studying.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to better their life.

    What to do for fun

    Study!

    Food and Dining

    The have great foor at rhodes.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take advantege ao the help that is provided.

    In three sentences

    Rhodesstate has been a great school. They are very helpfull when it comes to any problem you may have. They truly strive to help their students.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The ones that aren't interested in a bachelors just an associates degree

    Bang for the buck

    I'd suggest spending the money to go to four year college because it takes too long at Rhodes. The waiting lists are pretty hefty.

    What to do for fun

    They hold different activities. There are also movie theaters, bowling alleys and restaurants near by!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria gives a variety of choices, healthy and unhealthy. The actually eating area is a nice size and has a lounging area with television.

    Dorm Life

    Rhodes currently has no housing for students. But there are apartments right next door to the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I've definitely learned a lot of information that I can use out in the work field.

    Tips for prospective students

    If planning on going for a Bachelors degree in the future, I'd suggest not going to Rhodes. Rhodes is great for a student wanting a slower paced school, and only the associates takes 4 years which I didn't like or know.

    In three sentences

    Some instructors are great, and some instructors are not. Nice buildings, and small class sizes. The course work is tough for Nursing, but well worth the ending goal.

  • 04/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who don't want to spend a lot of money, and who don;t know exactly what they want to do but they don't want to move far away from home, just yet,

    Bang for the buck

    Great school for earning a minor degree to go into something bigger later.

    What to do for fun

    We have many events throughout the week planned with free food, games and prizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start with an intended major, but if that changes, which it usually does, then don't be bothered with sticking with a program you do not like. Be open.

    In three sentences

    I would rate the college as a budding college. It is in constant improvement of the facilities and course selections. But the recent quarter to semester changes has really been interrupting many pre-planned courses for myself.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a game room and snack bar to go to during your down time on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions. Don't be shy, they are there to help you. Take advantage of it.

    In three sentences

    This college has tutors and professors to help you whenever you need it. They're also very knowledgeable about every aspect of the school and things to help you get started. Rhodes has gone far and in between to help me with my financial aid, which is comforting when you aren't sure what exactly you are suppose to do.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on patrol as well as directing traffic in the busy morning hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    OTA club but there are many more available

    Great for these types of students

    1 year out of high school, no kids, living with parents

    Bang for the buck

    There are alot of extra requirements for health fields so be prepared to spend above and beyong tuition.

    What to do for fun

    I am a distance student who lives 2 hours away so fun things in the Lima area are out of my expertise.

    Food and Dining

    Over priced and not very good

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Definetly a requirement for attending James A. Rhodes State College! Pushing past your limits is a must in order to pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Finish any general education and pre-req requirements before starting your program. Be prepared to quit your job and solely focus on your education. These programs are intense so be aware that school will become your life!

    In three sentences

    Intense programs set-up a student for passing board tests after graduation. Top of the line equipment and facilities provide the best education. Informative teachers living the occupation I am studying for have hands on experience stories to assist in learning.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and that makes getting around pretty easy. Campus security patrols the parking lots continuously. Most parking lots are well lit. The college does a great job of notifying students if their is a safety risk on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are no Greek life clubs at this time. I did recently receive an email about possibly starting a chapter at the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are far and few clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Rhodes State College is great for a student who does not want to live on campus, or has children. The college would also be great for adults who work full time during the day. The college offers night classes in a wide variety of programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The college started a easter egg hunt for students this year. They hid eggs with prizes all over campus and students randomly found them as they walked to and from classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is very cost effective but you get what you pay for. The tuition is very low compared to other colleges in the area. It is a great way to start your education with out going into serious debt. The downfall is with lower tuition comes less services for the students. There are few extra curricular activities, student housing, and food options on campus. Also, computer access is very limited.

    What to do for fun

    Rhodes State College has a small game room in one of the buildings. There is also a gymnasium and the students have access to exercise equipment.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers great food. The only downfall is the cafeteria is only open for limited hours and its not open at all during the summer.

    Dorm Life

    Rhodes State College does not offer dorms. There is a shared living apartment option with very limited space.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a wide variety of programs offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school to start your college education. The cost of tuition is low compared to other schools in the area. If you are looking to transfer to a four year program most local colleges accept the credits from Rhodes State.

    In three sentences

    At Rhodes State College is a cost effective school for students looking to obtain an associates degree. The college lacks in housing, sports programs, and other extra curricular activities. The school does offer a wide variety of educational programs.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Once again, tons of dining in the area, from fast food to sit down.

    Dorm Life

    It is a community college so there are no dorms on site, but there are tons of apartments and places for rent in the area!

    Academic Rigor

    The work is right on target. Have never got behind in a class I have been in thus far.

    In three sentences

    It is a small community college. You get one on one with professors. You can also make great friends and study buddies.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is one thing I have never worried about while being on campus. I feel the campus safety is amazing!

    Greek Life

    I wouldn't know!

    Clubs and Activities

    I work and go to school so I do not have time for clubs. But student activities are amazing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing that comes to mind.

    Bang for the buck

    Again I cannot say this enough student activities, they are fun and free!!

    What to do for fun

    I highly recommend going to student activities they are a lot of fun!

    Food and Dining

    I would not know I have never dined on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know I live in my own place.

    Academic Rigor

    I guess that depends on the instructors you get. I have had some very good instructors and some very bad ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you always have your FAFSA done early along with anything else you may need to be able to start school on time. I highly recommend going to the activities that they have on campus, they are a lot of fun and free!!

    In three sentences

    I love the experience I am getting with Rhodes. They do need to work on their advising and financial aid departments but I am sure every school does. I would recommend Rhodes to future students.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are one of the safest campus around. We have many previous Law Enforcement Officers who are now teachers. Their safety and security is superior to those of private colleges.

    Bang for the buck

    The campus is only 5 minutes from some excellent resteraunts. This is a major bonus for students.

    What to do for fun

    There is flag football leagues, basketball team, volleyball team, and baseball team. They have many events on campus that get the students to interact with each other.

    Food and Dining

    Their cafeteria is excellent. They have many varieties of food each week. They are rated high in my book.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus so this question I cannot answer at all.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very balanced and have good rules when it comes to academic behavior and such. They have passion for each student and want them all to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is an excellent college for Allied Health Proessionals and Criminal Justice Professionals.

    In three sentences

    James A Rhodes State College has been an excellent college to attend. They have great programs and amazing teachers. They will have an excellent rating from me.

  • 09/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel it is a safe campus. Security is seen around quit a bit. Plus there is a police academy on the campus so you have all of those prospective law enforcement individuals around.

    Greek Life

    I do not know what this is.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many

    Great for these types of students

    I think it is great for the not so outgoing student. Those who may be a little bit more shy, as you do not have the parties and peer pressure that campus universities have.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any of these locations

    Bang for the buck

    The advisors are very helpful, as well as the instructors. The instructors are top notch and will get the job done.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs there, They have dances and different events for the different seasons.

    Food and Dining

    I have never dined there, however there are many restaurants about a mile away.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home. I believe there are apartments for rent, very close by

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes have a little more work than others, but if you have great time management skills you should have no problem

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to your classes and keep a positive attitude as learning can be fun. Great for the older , returning students as well.

    In three sentences

    Rhodes State College is a fantastic starting out point for those who are undecided. I had earned a degree twenty years ago here and I am very impressed about how they have kept up with all the technology. I would recommend Rhodes State for anyone just starting out.

  • 09/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is everywhere. They are helpful for anything really. Flat tires to jumping your battery!

    Great for these types of students

    This is a very diverse school! Students from high school are enrolled in classes to 55 age + students. I thought that was an interesting learning style to have different experiences from all levels of life in the class room!

    Bang for the buck

    Great prices for the education you will receive!

    What to do for fun

    So many student activities put on by the student body and organizations that you can join. Students are always hanging out outside or in the game rooms available on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Great prices in the cafeteria with good food too!

    Dorm Life

    I haven't experienced the dorms since they just have apartments available. The apartments are right off of campus with limited space. I commute and it isn't very far from everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to a professor and ask for help, it can make a passing difference! If your professors know you are really trying they are willing to help!

    In three sentences

    Rhodes is doing a great job keeping the students informed about changes and why changes are being made. My experience at Rhodes has been great. Every professor is understanding and willing to take time out of their busy schedule to help students out!