Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

James H Faulkner State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Attending on athletic scholarship - great way to knock off 2 years of tuition, get all your core courses out of the way, have fun and gently transition to college life.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The cops are nice! But make sure you secure your belongings because low people will break into your car! (They steal books, CD's, car chargers... like I said, low... I had a classmate that this happened to...)

    Greek Life

    I don't think they have those here.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know they have SGA, but I am not sure because I commute.

    Great for these types of students

    I am not sure because I commute.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not sure because I commute.

    Bang for the buck

    Study and make sure you are attentive in class. Get to know your teachers! It really does make a difference. Like I said earlier, I loved mine and know that they are there to help me.

    What to do for fun

    From what I can see, the beach is about 20 to 30 minutes away, they have a bowling alley and skating rink and just about everything is on one street. There are bigger cities nearby like Mobile and Daphne.

    Food and Dining

    The day I went it was really good. But since I commute to school, I don't have a meal plan. The price to eat is about $7.00 but you can eat buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    I commute. But I hear the new dormitory is really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Wonderful teachers! Make sure you ask questions if you don't understand. Write them down while the teacher is teaching so you don't interrupt them (just a polite way of making sure the teacher stays on track) and feel free to ask them before or after class. Also, they post their phone number on your syllabus, so keep up with it in case you have questions. I also hear from some of my peers that some teachers do not announce midterm or final exam dates because they expect you to have kept and read your syllabus.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY! ABSOLUTELY no cheating or eyeballing during testing, and no cell phones, teachers really call students out on these!

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the teachers I have here. They take time to explain, answer your questions, and assist you. I made excellent grades this semester and look forward to the Spring 2013 semester.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    SGA, PHI THETA CAPPA, MANY OTHERS

    Bang for the buck

    best bang for your buck in Alabama

    What to do for fun

    intermural sports. close to the beach

    Food and Dining

    THEIR CAFETERIA IS GROSS. BUY YOUR OWN FOOD!!!!

    Dorm Life

    is good some strict rules though

    Academic Rigor

    great!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved

    In three sentences

    This school is a place where teachers care and learning is fun

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are working and need to get a education.

    Bang for the buck

    they help you with your financial aid

    Will enjoy being here

    Any one who is having trouble with finding a cheap but efficient education

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    all safety patrol offices are actually state officers!

    What to do for fun

    get involved!

    Food and Dining

    not your average cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    have not lived on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't consider community colleges the 13th grades!

    In three sentences

    it is affordable. it has beautiful campuses. the teachers are great mentors.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security police on campus

    Greek Life

    phi theta and phi beta

    Bang for the buck

    affordable

    What to do for fun

    student activities

    Food and Dining

    spring and fall semesters have great tuesday night dinners. cafeteria on the main campus.

    Dorm Life

    dorm on the main campus, but have not used them.

    Academic Rigor

    i can work around my school schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    great location to get to the beach. or maybe you like fishing. or hiking.

    In three sentences

    it is a great school with classes on three campuses. teachers a great!

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe clean campus

    Food and Dining

    the food is excellent.

    Academic Rigor

    there academics is rigorous but it prepares you well.

    In three sentences

    faulkner state has an excellent caring staff. faulkner state has the lowest tuition in alabama. faulkner state has a terrific curriculmn that prepares you for your chosen field.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great! food is always fresh, and dining is always clean

    Academic Rigor

    Personalize learnigng and focusing on powerful teaching. Five star rating.

    Tips for prospective students

    You can't go wrong with choosing Faulkner State Community College!

    In three sentences

    Friendly registration and financial aid process and great teacher that show interest. I feel that im not just a student here; im known by name. Love the motivation that promotes college graduates.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Dorms are a 100% safe. Security is always a call away or you see them.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer all types of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of background is welcome at Faulkner. They offer every the same type of open arm effect.

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome education for the price and normally all classes will transfer to a 4-year college. You can always check ahead to make sure.

    What to do for fun

    Many organizations to join. Always having events on campus. Be sure to involve yourself with them. They always have open arms to new students.

    Food and Dining

    Watch the time for cafeteria hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wonderful college for your first two years or an associates degree. I would recommend this college to anyone. Make sure you follow all the guidelines and watch the deadline dates. If you can, get involved with an activity of your choice.

    In three sentences

    Excellent college for a first time college student. On a scale of 1 to 10, I give it a 10. You get a great education for less the price.

  • 04/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every Campus I have been on at Faulkner I have seen a campus cop at some point, they will always be available.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa Phi Beta Lambda

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a lot of different clubs and what not's but most of them are at the Bay Minnette campus. If you like staying busy or having something to put on your resume they have a lot of options.

    Great for these types of students

    The one's who just got out of high school and need to be careful with their money and the one's who are wanting to go back to school for higher education and do not have a lot of income to spend. You see both of these students on each campus.

    Bang for the buck

    In-state tuition is amazing, especially when you can get your hands on scholarships and grants. You would think with the price being reasonable you wouldn't have great instructors but at FSCC I have found them to expect highly of us and give us a great amount of knowledge.

    What to do for fun

    THE BEACH! You don't have to wait for the summer when it is crowded, busses at the Bay Minnette capus take students and the other 2 campuses are so close why not go after class. There is mini golf, so many mini golf options, ice cream, and an outlet mall in Foley that is cheaper than going to Pensacola or Mobile malls.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't dined at Bay Minette where the dorms are but I have enjoyed to culinary section of the Gulf Shores campus. They have either lunch or dinner's during the week for $10 which includes a full course meal and sweet tea (coffee with your dessert if you want too). The meals are always surprisingly great coming from your fellow students.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, I have never been to the dorm building, they only have dorm rooms available at the Bay Minnette campus thought I believe they have plans for the Gulf Shores campus. Though I do know for sure they have a new building for dorms and an older one.

    Academic Rigor

    Their campus rules are clear when you start your classes. Each class begins with your instructor explaining rules in grading. Everything has always been fair.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to school for Nursing this is a great option. You can go here for Pre-Nursing and save money rather than going straight to that 4 year university or do as I am and go through their fair yet competitive Nursing program. Best way to save that hard earned money is to go here, look for scholarships and grants then rent those text books on Chegg/Bookrenter! I will not be graduating with loans to pay back because of this in-state tuition and the method I mentioned before. Each campus has its Pros. The Gulf Shores campus is small but has the culinary dinner's and lunch's that are cheap for a student and also a full course meal that is delicious, don't forget the beach is right down the road. The Fairhope campus is in the middle of the downtown area with nice little shops for lunch or shopping along with a beautiful campus of tree's and older buildings with history. Their newest building though has a great lounge with tons of tables and couches with 2 t.v.s and fireplaces. The Bay Minnette Campus is the largest and the main campus. They have more events to offer like dances or sports!

    In three sentences

    The price for classes is amazing compared to other schools and quality of the classes isn't lowered. Personal and friendly instructors offer help along with expectations of a large university. I expected no social college life but there is probably more of a variety of friends, people right out of high school or people going back for higher education can be seen in all of your classes on all 3 campuses along with many activities to be active in.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's lots of things to do for fun around the campus. There's a student center were anyone can come during class breaks to play ping-pong, billiards, study, or even just hangout and talk to friends. There is also a basketball court, track, and golf course for outdoor activities during your free time.

    Food and Dining

    Faulkner State, I must say, always has something yummy cooking! You can hardly walk by the cafeteria without stopping by and getting a snack, or even a whole meal!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms personally, but I have heard they are very nice, comfy, and convenient. Faulkner is steadily building on more to the school and making the campus nicer and more student friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not hard in any way. The instructors make sure everything is clear for every student that attends. You will not face any difficulty at this college in any way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students that are considering Faulkner State Community College should definitely give it a try. It was altogether a great experience for me in which I have just finished my first semester and am going on to take another.

    In three sentences

    Faulkner State Community College is altogether a great school. The tuition at this school is the lowest in the state of Alabama, which makes it easy to afford. The instructors are very friendly, and help get to know each student personally while also teaching.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs and organizations

    Tips for prospective students

    Engage in the clubs and organizations the school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Faulkner State Community College is a great learning environment. The teachers and other staff members are very helpful with tons of information. I would totally recommend this college to anyone.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    PowWow Leadership Society

    What to do for fun

    We have many activities weekly and all sporting events are free with your student card.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should take advantage of the instructors' assistance.

    In three sentences

    Faulkner State is a great school with small class sizes and personable instructors. They care about your success and want you to do your very best. At Faulkner Sate, you are not just a number or tuition money.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I like spending quality time with my family, movies, bowling, and skating. Oh course taking my nephew to Chucky Cheese

    Food and Dining

    I really can't give any advise on this matter considering this will be my first year. I am sure it will be outstanding.

    Dorm Life

    I really can't give any advice on this matter considering this will be my first year. I am sure it will be outstanding.

    Academic Rigor

    I really can't give any advice on this matter considering this will be my first year. I sure it will be outstanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    I really can't give any advice on this matter considering this will be my first year.

    In three sentences

    Its a school with a great respect. It demonstrates professional in every aspect in regards to helping freshmen with the transition to the college life. I appreciate the at home feeling that I experience in my coming to the college that eliminated the fears of leaving home.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe it is a very safe college. The campus in Bay Minette has campus police, and the campus in Fairhope is really close to the polce station. The college is so pleasant, I don't think any one would have to worry about anything going wrong.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many sports and organizations to interact in. Their biggest sport is baseball.

    Great for these types of students

    If your a keep to yourself kind of person go to Fairhope campus. If your a very outgoing kind of person go to Bay Minette.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of any.

    Bang for the buck

    This school has one of the cheapest tuitions, it's worth the money. I am very happy with the campus I am currently going to.

    What to do for fun

    The location of the Fairhope campus is in downtown Fairhope, so there are many places to shop. There are also very yummy food places.

    Food and Dining

    I have never ate at the school.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in the dorms, but the place where the dorms are, look nice.

    Academic Rigor

    This college does present challenges. When you study for your tests you study hard. When you do your homework it must be turned in on time, but it's not a big deal if you have self discipline to do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is perfect to start your degree and transfer if you plan to pursue your bachelor's degree.

    In three sentences

    I have been attending Faulkner State Community College at the Fairhope campus, and I give it a TEN. It is the perfect college campus because it is so peaceful and a perfect place to study. The professors and the students always seem happy because the environment of the campus is so pleasant.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In Fairhope, downtown provides for plenty of little shops for a fun day!

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live on campus!

    Academic Rigor

    As stated before, I left class feeling knowledgable and happy!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study. Read professor reviews. And, go to class!

    In three sentences

    Faulkner State Community College has surprised me since I started attending. I am challenged mentally during lectures and labs, but I leave feeling like I fully understood what I just did. I have gained true knowledge my past two semesters!

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards posted 24/7 in the dorms and campus police is always there when you need them.

    Greek Life

    Phi Beta Lamda ( I believe ) and Phi Theta Kappa.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs to join. There are several religious clubs, choir, LGBT, and others.

    What to do for fun

    There is a track on campus that students, like myself, use to go walking after class. There is a library, so if you like reading you will have fun there. The school hosts several things that are open to all students that is a lot fun. A recent event was Bongo Ball. It's like paintball, but with Nerf footballs instead.

    Food and Dining

    On most days the food is absolutely wonderful. My favorite lunch so far has been prime rib, potatoes, broccoli, and cake for dessert. Yum!

    Dorm Life

    I live in the older dorms, so of course there are quite a few foundation problems, like plumbing and mold. On the plus side, the people who live there with me are some of the best. The security guards are very friendly and everyone is like a big family.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes have been fairly easy for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    File your FAFSA early. Don't wait around to do it, because once the deadline passes, they will not wait for you. This goes for any school. When registering for classes try to give yourself at least ten minute gaps between classes so you have time to get to the next class. Be on time for class. Teachers will love it.

    In three sentences

    Faulkner State is such a great school to get started at, or even graduate from. All of my current teachers are very friendly and easy-going, and are willing to help when you need it. The also have the lowest tuition in Alabama which is great, but if you plan on living in the dorms, like myself, I have noticed that the rates are a bit higher than other schools I have visited.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is really well. There is security guards in the dorms and campus police have their own personal booth on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities at FSCC. If you don't want to be a part of the clubs there, then you can start your own club and have it approved.

    Food and Dining

    You get three meals a day. The meals are pretty good and there is an awesome salad bar. The desserts are awesome.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome. There are fireplaces in the lobby area. There is a movie room and game room that you and friends can get together in and have fun. Also, the rooms are divided so that you can have all the privacy you may need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to actually try in class and the teachers will see your effort and try to help see what is going on and how you can improve. Get involved on campus and make friends. Making friends makes it easier to study and do homework. You can start study groups and more than likely someone will be able to help you if you don't want to go to tutoring.

    In three sentences

    Faulkner State Community College is a great school for students straight out of high school. The tuition is low and the environment and people are great. The teacher to student ratio is perfect and the teachers work really well with the students with helping them to understand and helping them when they have to miss class.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    SGA, Sports!!!!

    What to do for fun

    the beach is nearby and so is Mobile.

    Food and Dining

    Heard its great

    Dorm Life

    I Plan to live in the new dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    Study!!!

    In three sentences

    I think this is a GREAT two-year school. From the reviews I think im going to like it here. any suggestions any one?

  • 08/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not far from the beach and all kinds of entertainment options around Baldwin County.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has some great food choices

    Dorm Life

    Has a great dorm features and a safe campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all your information ready (application, financial aid, room and board) before you go to help ease the process. Get registered early to get the best classes.

    In three sentences

    This is a very great university for anyone applying to school. It has a wide ranger of program options and class times which is something that I enjoy because I work full time. It has some of the best educators in the industry today and they are their to help you.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The security is wonderful, they're professional and nice. Whether it is dealing with little accidents or non-students being on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have 3 small campuses. One in Gulf Shores, Fairhope, and Bay Minette.

    What to do for fun

    Bay Minette is a very small town, they have a few resturants and a bowling alley. However, the beach is only 45 minutes away and there are other local small towns with a wide variety of more to offer. Such as: laser tag, movies, fishing, shopping, bowling, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is very good and decently affordable.

    Dorm Life

    Sun Cheif Hall is nice but, all the old dorms remind people of prisons.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors have an enormous ego for a such a small classroom but, they know what they are doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your own financial aid and classes, Faulkner will not help or accommodate you for anything. Try to keep track of all records and copies of paperwork, they're known for losing thing or files mysteriously going missing. Do not lose track of your hours, because you will have to go back and find out what you are missing.

    In three sentences

    Affordable is an understatement, they are one of the cheapest schools in the state of Alabama. Small network between students and professors, with a good work environment. Absolutely wonderful place to start your education.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fairhope campus is very very small, and very open. I feel safe. Bay Minette campus is wider and more spacious, and even though they have security I do not feel completely safe by myself at night.

    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable if looking for a starter College.

    What to do for fun

    Living in Fairhope there is a lot of things to do. The Fairhope Campus is right in the heart of downtown- so you can always go shopping (If you can afford it). The Bay is just a few miles down the road, and is a nice spot to relax and unwind.

    Food and Dining

    My campus does not provide food, except for the vending machines. (Most of which provide mostly energy drinks and Mega Cinnamon buns) Again, I have heard that the food on Campus is OK.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm, so I cannot give a good review. From what I have heard they are OK.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like most students are coming back to school in order to get a better job. As such, I feel a lot of what they are learning is review to get back to pace. I myself am constantly finding myself bored with the material, since I feel like I already know it. Newer subjects like Economics and Political Science can be challenging at times, which is appreciated.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend getting antiquated to your specific campus. It always helps knowing where your next class is, even if it is a smaller campus.

    In three sentences

    Faulkner State is a good starter school if you are not sure where to go yet. Faulkner has three main campuses: Bay Minette (Main Campus), Fairhope (Located right in downtown) and Gulf Shores (Mainly Hospitality). I attend the Fairhope campus, it offers a wonderful Nursing program as well as an Animation Program.

  • 09/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see officers patrolling.

    Clubs and Activities

    http://www.faulknerstate.edu/students/student_organizations.aspx SGA Music program and activities Homecoming Miss Faulkner State Phi Beta Lambda Phi Theta Kappa Psi Beta Religious groups Glee club (sun chief sound) Theater

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like small towns.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    http://www.faulknerstate.edu/students/student_organizations/miss_faulkner_state.aspx Miss Faulkner State

    Bang for the buck

    Best price for a great education.

    What to do for fun

    The school has three campuses in Baldwin County Alabama. That means you have access to great beaches. If you are in Fairhope there is the Fairhope pier, a wonderful place to study, relax, and exercise. The Gulf Shores campus is very close to the beach. The beaches are in Gulf Shores. I'm not too sure about the Main campus. There are Tanger Outlet of Foley, not to far from any of the campuses. Then in Malbus there is the Eastern Shore Shopping center, the BEST place to hang out. Food (cheap), movies and bowling. Then in Daphne only 15 min form Fairhope is a Skate rink. Then Mobile or Pensacola is the next largest towns and you will always have something to do there. Baldwin County is a collage of small town America. If you like that then come to Faulkner State.

    Food and Dining

    The fairhope campus does not have a dinning area. However there are dinning machines. The school is surrounded by little places to get a bite. Almost any thing you could want is within 15 min.

    Dorm Life

    I drive 45 min to get to school 5 days per week.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are there to help sound down the information before you go out and have to use it in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a great school to get you in and out in 2-3 years with a high demand job, choose Faulkner State Community College aka FSCC. I am in the PreNursing program and will apply for the Nursing program at Faulkner next year. If you want to find a great place to get out on your own but in a small town FSCC is a great choice. There are three campuses, I go to the Fairhope, AL this campus does not have dorms. However it is located in one of the most beautiful cities in the south. And was voted the prettiest town in Alabama. The main campus has dorms in a small town also. You can get your prereqs out of the way and then transfer you your dream school The teachers really care. The students are amazing, and the campus is beautiful. FSCC is my dream school!

    In three sentences

    Small classes with a great student body. Low tuition for a quality education. Great campus and location.

  • 09/26/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not tasted the food.

    Dorm Life

    I have not seen the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    They have my choice of major online

    In three sentences

    I have talked with several people from this campus and they are all wonderful! They made finding what I needed and getting accurate information VERY easy. The pictures I have seen of campus are beautiful, they offer my major of choice online, and so much more that benefits me greatly. I recommend this college to everybody! I look forward to learning more about Faulkner and potentially attending it in the Fall 2015 semester!