Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Jefferson College of Health Sciences Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in health care!

    Bang for the buck

    Your getting your moneys worth going to Jefferson except if you do live in the residential hall because of the condition of the building. The Reid building is very old, I think it's time for a new residential hall building.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since Jefferson is so small, everyone seems to know everybody. All my professors seem to greet me outside of the classroom. The residental hall bunch is a very close group of people. Each floor has their closeness. Everyone seems to have their door open!

    Am learning a lot

    In our lab classes, we get a lot of hands on experiences because we are next to a hospital. Some professors keep the class flowing especially in long lecture classes.

  • 11/04/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Due to the school being a private, not public school, the costs are very high, ranging from tuition, residence hall, textbook fees, uniform fees, etc. Plan ahead of time and apply for scholarships and grants!

    Did enjoy being here

    The classroom experience has been wonderful and the instructors are animated in their classes. Due to the small college atmosphere, instructors are willing to help more with any questions. However, there are not many activities that are offered on campus, residence hall, etc. so students cannot get involved very easily. Not a very welcoming atmosphere for some of the newer students....

    Did learn a lot

    All the instructors are very excited about what they teach and do not seem to be burnt-out. If you attend classes regularly and continually study, this is a good learning experience for healthcare students. There are high-tech laboratories for the science classes that are usually open to students for extra lab time.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A lot of safety precautions. There are many cameras installed to ensure patient safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    BSN Programs.

    Great for these types of students

    Medical/health care professionals.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I haven't learned any so far.

    Bang for the buck

    Teachers are great. Nice environment.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations you may join.

    Food and Dining

    Great location to down town.

    Dorm Life

    I've heard it's pleasant but I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Intermediate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check into cost prior to entrance.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school that is very course specific. Great opportunity for careers upon graduation. This is a expensive school.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    average.

    Greek Life

    none!

    Clubs and Activities

    a good about unless you are in the paramedic track/ emergency services.

    Great for these types of students

    attentive to detail and know the book smarts of their profession.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none of the people who deal with/ manage your academic career seem to have your best interest at heart. it's just frustrating when it seems that no one is there to help. this all depends what your major is tho, the respiratory therapy track is apparently the most student friendly, where as rn is the hardest and least friendly.

    Bang for the buck

    for how much this school has set me back it is entirely not worth it. just the unprofessional manor in which you are treated pretty much for 4 years

    What to do for fun

    roanoke really doesn't have very much to do weather you are 18 or 21+. again you'll have fun with the people who live on your hall but that is pretty much it.

    Food and Dining

    there is really no food or dining hall. there is a cafe style lunch area but that is about it.

    Dorm Life

    the people you'll live with will be awesome but the conditions suck! recently however they have moved from the original building and are now in a remodeled hotel. i'd imagine its better than it was.

    Academic Rigor

    it all depends on your major and what you put into it. i thought it was harder than the state school i transferred from.

    Tips for prospective students

    pay attention to every detail from day 1, again. you will easily get accepted. be prepared for them to think they own your life! they truly believe that their school is more important than your life. just be ready for that.

    In three sentences

    a good school but the teachers/ professors really don't care about you. expect to be thrown into situations where you might wind up getting screwed/ not knowing. just be sure you pay attention to every detail from day 1 when you get there; it's kind of like the first day of basic for those in the armed forces.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    apply for scholarships, once you start classes here study hard

    In three sentences

    jefferson college of health sciences is a wonderful medical school. this school is one of the only schools where you can go straight into your program of choice. it's a bit difficult, however if you study you'll succeed.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serius about their future in healthcare and are determined to succeed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Dog House is the place to be!

    What to do for fun

    Close to downtown Roanoke and the weekend nightlife.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for a fast paced program that will challenge you from many different angles but will help you be successful in the future.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson College of Health Sciences is a great place to study. It is growing fast and is one of the most respected colleges in the health field. It has some of the most knowledgeable and helpful faculty I have ever worked with.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secure.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The dog house is a place to eat, study, or hang out with other students.

    What to do for fun

    Some clubs and get together sports and activities are provided each semester. Information is sent via email.

    Food and Dining

    Only one cafeteria type dinning area.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are currently in an apartment like building down the street from the college. Many students stay off-campus and drive to class from many locations.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes in major can be tough. Other classes can be easy, hands on, and enjoyable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great school if you know what field you what health field you want to go into.

    In three sentences

    Overall school is small with small classes. School does not have a large dorm life and is mostly located within one building. Everything is hands on and piratical.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are cook outs and breakfasts! And there are student movies too!

    Food and Dining

    The food is always good and there is none of that 4 day old food.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms, but the people that do love them.

    Academic Rigor

    You learn all about where you intend to work in and the school gives you that knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do all of your work on time. The professors expect you to act like adults. Do not text in class!!!

    In three sentences

    I love Jefferson! The professors all truly want to see you succeed and everyone there is so nice! The small classes give everyone a chance to have some one-on-one time with their professor.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i play ping pong

    Food and Dining

    delicious food prepared by wonderful cooks

    Dorm Life

    beautiful dorm and students are friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    To make it here, you need to study hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    This definitely a place to consider for your academic needs.

    In three sentences

    It is Small. It is beautiful. It is a center of learning.

  • 06/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities, as stated above.

    Great for these types of students

    The environment at Jefferson is a 'serious' one. Students are there to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    I like the fact that Jefferson is small and personal, and the Director of the Respiratory Program has already been in contact with me. He answered any questions that I had and was very helpful. The only downfall is the price of tuition and as a divorced mom going back to school, this was daunting to me. Therefore, I am in search of scholarships to help defer the cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations and things to do such as fundraising and game nights. There is a 'gym' with aerobic classes , treadmills, and weights. There is also an activities room with ping pong, foozball, TV's, etc. There are also malls and shopping nearby, and the downtown area is within walking distance.

    Food and Dining

    I have not experienced the food yet but the dining area looks to have a variety of foods. It looks very clean.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very new and clean, but not typical of most colleges in that they are co-ed and located in a renovated hotel near the school. Students are there to study, and the dorms are a place to rest and study. There is no partying going on at Jefferson.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not sure yet, as I was just accepted and starting classes in the fall. I expect it to be pretty rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Search for scholarships as Jefferson is very expensive.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson is small and personal. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The professors are very knowledgable.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very proactive safety program!

    What to do for fun

    study!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research and choose the best school for your future career.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school. The programs are intense, but well worth the effort. The campus is small and the people are friendly.