Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Jefferson College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    public safety constantly patrols campus and there is a sheriff's station on campus.

    Greek Life

    there is a branch of phi theta kappa on campus. i am not part of this organization so i'm not fully sure about it.

    What to do for fun

    they have events on campus for students to participate in. other than that, it's kind of boring.

    Food and Dining

    the food can be paid for with financial aid, but it is rather expensive for food that is not made well. very little variety.

    Dorm Life

    it is a dry campus, so no alcohol and definitely no drugs. if you're the partying type, either don't live on campus or have another place you can go.

    Academic Rigor

    some of the classes are difficult and some are so easy they shouldn't be classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    all you have to do is fill out an application and wait for a week or so and you will get in. you will have to work hard; it is a school. if you want to live on campus i advise you to get the application in 3 or 4 months before the semester you want to be there.

    In three sentences

    jefferson college has been very helpful and i really enjoy going here. their classes are relatively small and their housing is inexpensive. they have been very helpful to me in getting work and education.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have a public security on campus. they do a great job.

    Greek Life

    i'm in phi theta kappa and we do have a great community at jefferson college. we get together every month. it is fun and proud be with.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many activities that students can join. i was never interested to be honest they all look so boring and waste of time. but if you are already bored and don't have anything to do, you might find these activities very fun, who knows.

    Great for these types of students

    like i said, it is a great school for people that had hard time to make friends and get social, or haven't decided any major yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i don't have any in my mind.

    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of activities around the campus. students even get to watch free movies,. they get together in the cafeteria and play video games, eat free snacks, karaoke.

    Food and Dining

    i say lower than average because they always have the same type of meal. it is so rare to see any healthy food in the cafeteria if you don't count the salad bar. and the most important thing is that food is extremely expensive in jeffco. i'll suggest you to bring your own food to school or starve yourself until you get home. unfortunately, i never enjoyed eating in jeffco.

    Dorm Life

    i lived out of campus but i had some friends that had some hard times with their roommates. otherwise they liked their place. but i know that they weren't able to have any alcohol in the dorms. they were sometimes complaining about not partying.

    Academic Rigor

    this part depends on students. if you study enough, you'll be very successful in jeffco. in my opinion, everything is too easy here. there are some tough teachers but like i said if you don't skip studying, there won't be any problem at all. you'll be graduating with a lot of fun at the end.

    Tips for prospective students

    all you have to do is to fill the application and find an advisor to help you with. it'll be very easy for you to get in.

    In three sentences

    it is a great beginning for the students who are undecided about their lives. it is easy to make a lot of friends in a short time. there are a lot of activities that make students have fun besides school work.

  • 03/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A county police station is located on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities at Jefferson College.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like a tight-knit community will like Jefferson College.

    What to do for fun

    Jefferson College offers many fun events through the months. There is always something to do on campus, whether it be a movie night, concert, play, or community event. The campus holds several community events such as Shocktober, which is a community Halloween event that features a hay ride around campus, a haunted house, DJ, and several games for all ages.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe on campus that offers a variety of choices. It also has both inside and outside seating.

    Dorm Life

    Jefferson College offers apartments on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I took several classes that were not required for my Associate's degree, such as Chemistry II and Organic Chemistry I. I was impressed at the rigor of these courses, and they did pose a challenge to me. However, I had a wonderful instructor who was willing to help his students in every way possible. The instructors at Jefferson College that teach advanced classes are very willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should know that the staff of Jefferson College are willing to do anything to help their students. There are unlimited resources on campus to help with numerous subjects, and peer tutoring is available. Many instructors also offer office hours for private tutoring. My advice is to take advantage of these resources. The staff is extremely devoted to helping and supporting their students.

    In three sentences

    In my time at Jefferson College, I have been fortunate enough to have instructors that have greatly impacted my life both inside and outside of college. The incredibly helpful and energetic staff, small campus, and friendly student body are just three of the many attributes of Jefferson College. This school has academically prepared me for a university level education by helping me challenge myself in every way I can.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Staff is very helpful.

    In three sentences

    This is a very good school. It is close to home and it offers the courses I am interested in.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Jeffco offers many recreational activities. The gym and field house are awesome. And I love the blood drives that jeffco hosts fairly regularly.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is wonderful and the snack bar and the career and technical building is awesome. The staff are all very wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know because I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty are helpful. The teachers are great. My uncle actually teaches at this college

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared and know what you want out of community college.

    In three sentences

    Jeffco is a fun exciting campus. It offers opportunities for great growth. The faculty are all helpful.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus very safe. They do all they can to keep it that way.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the pool or in the library.

    Food and Dining

    The food is somewhat poor, but the staff in the dining area is great.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are somewhat challenging at times, but not overly hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all the help you can! There is help, you just have to ask for it.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson College is a top notch community college that feels like a university. The teachers are very helpful. The campus it nice.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is very little to do in the surrounding area. The city of Hillsboro is very under developed and lacking in big city amenities. The town doesn't even have a major shopping center such as a Wal-Mart. Festus, a town ten miles away, has a theater, and small shops to browse. Students frequently visit there.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has a cafeteria on site that serves hamburgers, chicken tenders, and other cafeteria food. The food is nothing impressive its merely glorified vendor food. The taste is rather mundane and the prices a little high for the quality. The surrounding area has a Taco Bell, McDonalds, Hardees, and various local cuisine as an alternative. However all of the aforementioned are located a few miles off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not have any experience with this topic since I do not live on campus. I did visit a friend once and she said that her dorm was reasonably priced and it looked spacious and nice. She also said that everyone was very respectful and quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is a little lacking in my opinion, I don't believe people are disciplined enough for skipping a large amount of classes or coming in late repeatedly. The honors classes are much more disciplined however.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend looking into the honors program right away. The program is not more demanding than the other classes. The difference is simply the size of the classroom, which is capped at 16 students for an honors class. This small class size does force participation, active studying, and a knowledge of the material but in the end the experience is very beneficial.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson College is a good starting point for a higher education. It has knowledgeable and experienced professors and a conveniently located campus. It reaches out to all types of students and allows students to push themselves if they so choose.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional, laid back

    What to do for fun

    Walk the campus, workout/swin in the field house, join a club, stay involved.

    Food and Dining

    There are 4 sit down restaurants (that I personally know of) right in town. One is a Mexican restaurant, and another one specializes in 1lb baked potatoes. For those in a hurry there's 4 fast food locations right in town. There is the infamous McDonald's, Hardees, Taco Bell, and DQ. From what I hear though, there are some talks of putting in a Steak and Shake.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a never-ending learning experience so do not be afraid to ask for help. Even if the person you are asking does not know the answer to your question, they know where to send you to get the right answer.

    In three sentences

    Small enough to get all the help you need. Big enough to feel apart of something. Jefferson College offers the help you need and keeps you involved in many different ways.

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to be surrounded by nature. It's also good for students who live around the Jefferson County area and want to be close to home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all of your classes, take notes, and study.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson College is affordable. Jefferson College has nice rooms and lecture halls. The teachers are extremely helpful and knowledgeable.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety is everywhere on campus. There is also a police station on campus too which makes me feel more safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Jefferson College is a very reasonable college. Compared to other colleges, it is very cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with your friends, go to school events

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, however, I like to bring my own lunch to safe money.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the nursing program at Jefferson College. It is very hard, however, I knew that when going into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to purchase your parking passes before the semester starts. Do your homework. Always answer every question on a test even if you dont know it.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson College is a great place to get your degree. They have a ton of different majors to choose from. The campus is very nice and has many parking spots for all students.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Actually have a police station on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer many activites and have great sports programs

    Great for these types of students

    If you think that a large campus would be overwhelming to begin college, then this is a great small 2 yr college that you won't feel lost in the crowd

    What to do for fun

    You are in a small town in the country. School offers a lot of varied activities and sports that we would attend in our free time

    Food and Dining

    Very nice cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    On Campus apartments, no dorms available

    In three sentences

    Great college with amazing teachers and support staff. Nice campus for a 2 yr college with on campus housing. Excellent sports programs and was glad that I chose this for my first 2 years!

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just have fun. Be safe. Be good!

    In three sentences

    Awesome school, small town but good place. Can't wait to start going. Great college.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Jefferson College (Hillsboro campus) as really good food in the cafes.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very small for the money.

    Academic Rigor

    The sciences classes need your full intention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard at your classes and do not slack off thinking you would be okay like you did in high school.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson college has a great campus in Hillsboro and classes are able to work around your schedule. There are many good teachers, but some should only teach one classes and not a couple of them. Overall I would rate this school as an 8 out of 10.

  • 07/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a sheriff's department located right on campus and, if there is an incident, an email is sent to all the students and faculty explaining the situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for just about every thing: Active Minds Baptist Campus Ministries Fine Arts Club Legion of Gamers National Association for Music Educators National Technical Honor Society Phi Theta Kappa Psychology Club Student Ambassadors Teacher Education Club Student Senate Viking Cheerleading

    Bang for the buck

    The professors all teach at Jefferson College because they attended and love the campus. They have a passion for the school and for their area of study and it shows when sitting in the classrooms.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun going on at Jeffco. The PACE (Performance Arts and Cultural Enrichment) Program ensures that there is always something unique going on on campus. PACE includes plays, choir and band concerts, illusionists, workshops to participate in, movie marathons and film festivals, screening of movies, great concerts by professionals, and a chance to connect with the community at large. Plus they usually only cost a few dollars or are completely free.

    Food and Dining

    The Viking Cafe always has a hot plate special each day of the week and it varies from Mexican, to Italian, to some good ole homestyle cooking. Recently we got a sub and salad bar too, so you can eat healthy :). It is a little pricey if you eat there everyday, but you can put financial aid or scholarship monies onto a re-loadable card at the beginning of the semester and then you earn 10% off of your meals.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms because I only live 10 minutes away from Jefferson College.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are always nice and always willing to help you. If you need assistance they have office hours set up for various times in the day or you can just email them to make an appointment. Usually if you ask a question through email, it only takes a day for the instructor to respond. It only takes that long because they are trying to make sure they give the best possible answer to your question.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely pay attention to deadlines. That includes FAFSA, scholarships, homework, and tests. Not paying attention to a deadline may mean you miss out on a class you really wanted to take.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson College is close to home and super affordable. The faculty couldn't be nicer. The campus keeps up-to-date on technology and renovations, so although it is more than 50 years old, it looks like it was built last year.