Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Jefferson Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/14/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Busy students, tight-on-a-budget students and students who love lots of activities (famous bands play here frequently and many great speakers and comedians come, too!)

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay active in school activities - it makes the experience that much more fulfilling.

    Bang for the buck

    You really cannot beat community college tuition rates. So worth it!

    Did enjoy being here

    For me, JCC was the entire package. I loved the atmosphere, the low cost, the cafeteria food was decent and there are SO many student activities.

    Did learn a lot

    I enjoyed every single one of my classes at JCC. The professors are very knowledgeable and helpful.

  • 07/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Join activities and get to know people.

    Am enjoying being here

    i enjoy being a student at JCC the teachers are great well most of them are. lots of activities going on

    Am learning a lot

    I learned a lot my first semester at JCC.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    endless amounts of clubs and sporting activities to join.

    Great for these types of students

    this college is great for students who are new to the college experience, want to save money, and still be living at home.

    Bang for the buck

    you get the same education as someone at a private school or 4-year for practically nothing, it's diffidently a steal.

    What to do for fun

    you can join numerous clubs or join a sport.

    Food and Dining

    the food is decent, not too shabby; but the pricing can be a bit high.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms, you must commute.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics are good and the professors are excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    my tip would be that don't go into a community college thinking it's a total breeze, some classes can be difficult and then others are easy. it ultimately depends on the professor in any case.

    In three sentences

    this is a great starter school, lots of options at a low cost. it's close to home and is still in the suny system so transferring is a breeze. the professors are very helpful and the classes are the same as any four year college.

  • 05/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for getting started and taking your basics to help you get the feel of college life.

    Did enjoy being here

    Small campus and great experience.

    Did learn a lot

    Learned a lot and enjoyed my time there. The professors were very helpful and always made sure you understood their lectures.

  • 06/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Everybody, the teachers and staff really know how to accommodate for all types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved, don't be afraid to ask for help, and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is phenomenal for the amount you pay.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something fun to do while on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers really care about your education and you!

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Campus is small and easy to navigate. 90% of staff is very friendly and helpful. I just wish the younger students were more respectful.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is there everyday and night. The latest I've stayed at school was 11pm and there was still security wandering the campus. There are cameras on campus as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who like a small campus and love to see their instructors for additional help when needed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is always a study session jam when Finals come around.

    Bang for the buck

    There are scholarships available throughout the school year. Apply for them. I know a few of my classmates who applied for scholarships and were awarded.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in walks for causes such as Breast Cancer Awareness or AIDs walk, the gym is a great place to relieve stress and it is very affordable for students, join a club...there a variety of clubs, if you can't find one that suits you, create your own. :)

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Very dedicated and knowledgeable teaching faculty.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the library and other study areas on campus as well as the free tutoring available. There are a variety of resources there including the faculty.

    In three sentences

    The faculty are very kind and helpful. The diversity of the campus comes from a military community in the area including the residents of Watertown, NY. I really enjoyed the library on campus and the study areas throughout campus.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafeteria there. The food is a little over priced. There are plenty of fast food places near by.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms, but there are apartment buildings across the street from the school that have student housing available. The apartments are nice and you will meet tons of other students there! The apartments are pretty expensive (about 600 a month per student in a 5 person, 3 bedroom apartment).

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on which program you choose, the classes can be quite a challenge!

    In three sentences

    Tons of things to do on campus! They are always having musicians (many of them famous) come in and exciting things going on!

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who do not like large campuses, but still want to have a rigorous course load.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the price of tuition. No worries about overpaying for your classes.

    What to do for fun

    Photography and wood working in my spare time when I do not have my son with me.

    Food and Dining

    I have not been to the dining facility.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms are offered here. Everyone's housing is off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor is still not a walk in the park, but the faculty are very helpful and willing to help all their students.

    In three sentences

    It is a small campus, so everything is right around the corner instead of a long walk across a huge campus. The faculty is friendly. It is easy to find your way around campus.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are ping pong tables on the 2nd floor that many people like to use during their free hour. Also, in the student lounge, you can sign out an XBox to play.

    What to do for fun

    There are many groups and clubs to get involved in. There are sports games to watch. There are comedians who perform. There are concerts that come to the campus. And more!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers variety, but can get expensive. There is an option to use financial aid toward your meal plan though.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Each teacher has their own style and way of teaching. However, my teahcers are extremely helpful and willing to answer your questions and work things out with you if something comes up.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are still thinking about going to college, go in and sit down with an admissions advisor. They will answer any questions you have, and explain the process it will take to get registered. It never hurts to get information!

    In three sentences

    I am a first time college student, and JCC was a great choice to start my college career. I am an army wife, so I needed a lot of choices in classes and class times and JCC provided that. The teachers are friendly, excited, and very involved in what they teach.

  • 03/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It's a lot of money, but in comparison to a university it's cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and other student enrichment opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    It is not like that from a university, but its good for a small school.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I only have experience from this college, but it's challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, find financial aid, and make sure you take all available opportunities.

    In three sentences

    It's a good starting college. A nice step towards your bachelors. Also cost friendly in comparison to a university.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is extremely safe.

    Bang for the buck

    People are really really nice at this school. They really are so friendly, but one down side of this school is that there are spiders everywhere in the fall. In building 6 at the entrance there are a bunch of spiders inside the school. Also in building 6 on the third floor quiet lounge there are these weird beetle bugs. They are always there and we don't know where they come from. Either way it's disgusting. Besides that the school is pretty clean,

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty of entertainment in the lounge where bands and comedians perform. At the school there were a few concerts where bands like Escape the Fate, Papa Roach, 3Oh!3, Sick Puppies, and Kendrick Lamar have played.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the college, but the food is expensive. I think the school might be changing their dining and might put a buffet there.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus, but the school is getting dorms for year 2014. As of now student that are not from the area usually live in apartments that are really close to the school that used to be military housing way back.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm not sure what academic rigor means, but when going to this school you can build up credits and transfer over to another school that has a major that you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention to your grades and attend class. You are paying for college, so do not skip. You'll only hurt yourself

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is really nice. The teachers are great, and inform their students of tutoring hours. In their library, they have a quiet study area that is just upstairs.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    While car break-ins are common, overall, I always felt safe on campus. You will hardly ever find campus security in the office they are almost always wandering about campus (which is good.) The school does have lockers inside to use free of change. As most campuses there are many clearly marked emergency phone stations. The school is also just a short distance from the local ambulance squad and emergency station.

    Clubs and Activities

    Even though it is a small school there is a club for everyone. You can find a group of like minded students. There is always something fun going on in The Commons or in the student lounge. Activities abound with concerts, plays, and comedians.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On completion day they do a version of cash cab where Professors in their caps and gowns will chauffeur you from your car to class and offer you prizes.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall a decent school. The price is not bad, be aware if you do go here to follow your financial aid. I had mine canceled randomly into the semester due to a paper work error (TWICE). Finance was able to eventually sort it out. This is a SUNY institution so as long as you complete the general ed requirements you can be places as a Jounior upon graduation at another SUNY institution. Be aware that I had to fight for almost all my transfer credit and they didn't evaluate my transcripts until after the semester had started. The class sizes are small which is excellent and very conductive to learning. It is easy to ask questions and have a true class discussion. The age is highly varied of students on campus. This is nice as I don't always feel like the oldest person on campus. They do offer a few four year degrees with partner schools you can get on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are many outdoor activities in the area. You are in Upstate New York and very near the Canadian border. Syracuse, New York is about an hour away.

    Food and Dining

    The options on campus are severely limited as are the meal plans themselves. I was on campus only four days a week and there was no meal plan to fit me. This is a commuter school at the time of my attendance and there was no real breakfast or dinner. The food is also the same price as the surrounding area. You are much better bringing your food or heading off campus at lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms will be ready for the 2014 school year.

    Academic Rigor

    School is what you put into it. School is also about the instructor. There are some classes that breathing will get you an A and other that you have to really put the effort into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a rather small school. There is a good mix of age from young to adult students. As an adult student I did not encounter any age discrimination. It is also a SUNY institution. Be aware they are a bit harsh on transfer credit and I did have to appeal some of mine. WIFI coverage in the buildings is very good, there is however no WIFI in the parking lot or fields. You will find many students studying and napping in their cars during nice weather. The school also has very few power outlets around campus.

    In three sentences

    Good place to get your start or return to college. Most instructors are generally helpful and want you to succeed. Class size is small which makes learning easier and far more interactive.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For me, it is free due to financial aid and some scholarships but compared to other places, I can't see why everyone doesn't choose JCC.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, they have speakers and comedians and different on campus activities. There are always sports games going on too.

    Food and Dining

    The dinning is average and the food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    They are just building dorms now. They will be completed as of next fall.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are easier than others. It is college, they expect a lot out of you but it is definitely doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely consider community colleges! You will be glad you did!

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy SUNY Jefferson. I love the atmosphere and the professors. The class sizes are great!

  • 10/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is fantastic. Through out the school there is signs for campus security and safe walks for any student uncomfortable walking from one building to the next.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs for almost every program of study.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is recommended for students coming from a smaller town or high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    fall/spring fest

    What to do for fun

    Fall fest was fun. Spring fest is expected to be the same. It Is a carnival to celebrate the first week of a semester.

    Food and Dining

    Food prices are expensive for a young student working minimum wage.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not going to be finished until fall 2014. So far the progress looks incredible.

    Academic Rigor

    Staying on top of work, and or seeking help makes one academically successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help when needed. Attend class. Attendance is key to passing a class. There are tutoring programs and professors willing to help students in need. College is the time not to be shy, speak up.

    In three sentences

    The college is great for beginners. The classrooms and class size are similar to high school. Most professors care, and are willing to help any student in need.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has 24-7 security. Just dial a number and someone will walk you to your car or your next destination. They will jump your car, or help you if you need any type of help at all.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and activites to join. Also, they have events going on every week where a speaker or an actor or someone along those lines comes in and talks or preforms. Always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, depending on what you order and how picky you are. Big cafeteria, lots of places to sit and eat.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms at JCC, so you can get an apartment with some friends in the local area or drive.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take, it is more difficult than high school. Teachers are not on your back about work, it is your own responsiblilty. Most teachers are cooperative.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the pacement testing seriously and don't just slack off. It is very important to take this seriously because if you don't you could be placed into classes that you are too advanced for but you still have to take them and also pay for them.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson Community College is a great college to start at. They are very helpful and informative and the staff there are fantastic. Easy to apply, cooperative staff and small but fun campus.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The college has so many clubs that you will have a hard time choosing which club to attend!

    What to do for fun

    Watertown is s small town so there's not much of a bar/club scene there.

    Food and Dining

    It's just like cafeteria food. Average and expensive!

    Academic Rigor

    I would say it's like an average college. From the classes I have, I didn't get so much courseload but the work is still very engaging and helpful. This goes to show that a college doesn't have to give loads of homework to make students learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Since the classes are small, feel free to build a relationship with the teacher and students. Attend tutoring sessions and talk with the professor if you have any problems. Classes are great!

    In three sentences

    It is a small community college so it is able to have a very small student to teacher ratio. The classes are very personal and small. The staff is also very friendly and the campus is very gorgeous.

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is around but they don't have any powers.

    Great for these types of students

    If you don't know what you're going to do yet or don't have a lot of money.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for what you get!

    What to do for fun

    Many activities, join some clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Food is Average-Below Average, cafeteria closes way too early!

    Academic Rigor

    It's average for a community college, also depends on your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your education seriously, do not act like you're in High School still.

    In three sentences

    It's not a bad school. Some students don't take their education quite seriously enough though. Great starting point.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's okay but could be better so it may improve with the new dorms. The security isn't very tight here because its an open campus so pretty much anyone can get on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do at JCC. The first week of campus is welcome week where students get free food and entertainment to welcome them back to campus. There are a lot of clubs and its not that hard to make a new club here either.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a great price but sometimes the books are a bit outrageous so be sure to check Craigslist for better deals for books.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is right near downtown so there is plenty of restaurants to go to and the mall is right down the road. The highway is right down the road to so if you want to go to syracuse that is your best bet.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good and there is also vegan food as well as gluten free. There is a salad bar and the staff there are so friendly!

    Dorm Life

    Well its hard to say since we never had dorms here and I mean never. They will be finished building in the Fall of 2014. But the plans I have seen for them and the construction being done while I'm on campus it is coming along great!

    Academic Rigor

    It's not that hard but it depends on what your major is or what classes you are taking. Make sure you do your work on time and don't be afraid to ask questions because someone in your class might have the same question you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early because as of Fall 2014 we will be getting dorms and those will go fast!

    In three sentences

    I love the campus! The professors are helpful and friendly and want you to succeed. Its close to downtown so there is a lot to do here!