Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Jefferson Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Jefferson is great for students willing to work hard towards a career and better their lives. This college is great for students who enjoy learning, meeting new people, and being responsible with their schoolwork.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate. Enroll in your prerequisites first, then enroll in classes required for your major; it will make it easier to be educationally organized. Get to know your classmates, they can help you in the long run. Join study groups, meet with an advisor, and stay ahead with your school work.

    Bang for the buck

    Jefferson, compared to other colleges, is not too expensive. It is worth the small classes and one on one time with the professors.

    Am enjoying being here

    I was completely nervous about attending college. I did not know what to expect but I knew it was going to be difficult. Once I started my classes at Jefferson, I knew I made the right choice in attending there.

    Am learning a lot

    My English teacher is Bekka Van Horn, she is so helpful and the best teacher I have had throughout all of my years in school. I have become a much better writer since I have been at Jefferson and I am so excited to see how much information I can retain to further my education.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Jefferson Community and Technical College has a wide range of students and is great for anyone. Different personalities and interests will not effect the relationships that you develop on campus, nor the things that you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to speak to those around you. Jefferson is not similar to other schools in that you do not have all of these traditional students around judging you for the person that you are. Friends can be found in a variety of walks of life if only you open up a little. Also, do not be afraid to talk to your professors about problems that you are having. Most of them have taught at other schools and are at Jefferson for the friendly, community feel. They really are there to help you, not just as the cliche used for every school declares.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost is $125 per credit hour, and there is no housing so there is no cost for that as well as food. You can take as many credit hours as you desire, so you yourself can determine how much you pay. There is also great financial aid available that makes it even easier to go to school here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the friendly feel of Jefferson Community and Technical College campus in Shelbyville. Students come from all walks of life and are willing to talk to people whom they have never met. The professors want to help as much as possible and are willing to work with you inside and outside of class in order to do what it takes to get you through the class with growth and satisfaction. Because of the size of the campus, you see people you know every day, inside and outside of the classroom.

    Am learning a lot

    Jefferson Community and Technical College has specified programs between its many campuses, with differing classes at different campuses so that you can find classes that interest you and fit in with your major. The classes go into key ideas and develop into the specifics. You can learn about things applying to your major, or you can just fulfill elective requirements and take classes involving fields that you are simply interested in.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great, I feel safe at all times never have had a problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    phi theta kappa, art club, math club, quick recall.....

    Bang for the buck

    JCC is very low costly, and you get your moneys worth and some I love it here.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs to join here like the art club and ect..

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are hard, but most of all the teacher are willing to help out side the class room.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do you work and turn it in on time, do not wait to the last minute to do it.

    In three sentences

    JCC southwest is very helpful and friendly. AT this school all the teachers go out of their way to help you. Also the teacher here stay after class for any help you may need.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security personnel all over the campus, the campus felt safe during the evening hours.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Women's Clubs, LBGT clubs and academic clubs are just a few of the diverse clubs and activities of this college.

    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for independent students who do not need a lot of supervision, they have a great support system at this college but it's better for those who do not need it.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is less expensive than the other universities and they have a relationship with the colleges so that transferring schools is easier and the student does not lose credits.

    What to do for fun

    There is a Student Lounge area for students to relax while on campus. There are a few Foreign Language Clubs and for sports lovers, there are Basketball and other sports games as season permits.

    Food and Dining

    A variety of choices for the students.

    Dorm Life

    Did not see any dormitories on the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are several campuses around the city and each one will meet whatever individual need that arises, whether it be location of school or a certain major.

    In three sentences

    The staff was very helpful and willing to assist with the student's academic goals and needs. The students seemed to really be content on the campus, a very peaceful environment. The staff in admissions was very knowledgeable and offered assistance whenever needed.

  • 02/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who don't have a lot of money to put towards schooling.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at a college, especially an online degree program, ask them about whether they have mobile access to their classes. Some schools have Blackboard available for the iPhone. Being an avid iPhone user, this is a huge deal to me, but I didn't know about it until after I enrolled.

    Bang for the buck

    I looked at several other schools, University of Louisville (where I also attended for a year), DeVry, and a few other online schools. JCTCS was the cheapest by far, but the quality was not compromised.

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE my professors, they have been very helpful every time I have had a question or problem. There is not a lot of busy work in my classes, which I appreciate. I'm too busy for a lot of fluff.

    Am learning a lot

    I am currently enrolled in online classes part-time, which have taught me a lot, but are also not too demanding on my time.

  • 07/27/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for people who want to stay close to home and get a quality education for less. This school has a lot of great programs that can lead you straight into a career!

    Tips for prospective students

    If your just going for an Associates, you have nothing to worry about. However, if you plan on getting a Bachelor's at another school someday, you need to make sure that your classes transfer. That is the one HUGE downfall of going to a community college. Almost nothing of mine transferred, and I am having to pay for the same classes all over again. Do your research!

    Bang for the buck

    The prices beat any University around. I couldn't believe I could get an Associates degree for what I paid! And it's great that most of the classes will transfer as I try and get a Bachelors.

    Did enjoy being here

    The school was much smaller, so there wasn't any problem finding classes. You didn't have to be there hours early just to park and walk to class. Everything was very convenient.

    Did learn a lot

    I was really excited to start school here, because it was so close to home, and a fraction of the price. However, I was nervous that the quality of my education wouldn't be nearly as good as an education from a bigger school. I was completely wrong. I was on the same level as a lot of my friends that attended the University of Louisville and Western Kentucky University.

  • 10/06/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Local, lower income, or looking for a small school

    Tips for prospective students

    Great community school where you can get your core classes for a better price.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great start to your college career to attend JCC if you want cheaper classes and flexible class times.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus I go to is nice and small so it feels friendly and welcoming.

    Am learning a lot

    I have mainly taken online classes, so I have not had too much experience in class, but I am definitely learning new things every time I go to class or learn online.

  • 12/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Enjoy it while you have it.... Never give up... and have a great college life. :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself when you go into the classes, because you won't make it in there if you pretend to be someone you are not.

    Bang for the buck

    It isn't expensive which makes it even better.

    Am enjoying being here

    I wouldn't trade my college for anything... It is the greatest place ever and I love the teachers.

    Am learning a lot

    I absolutely love this school and the teachers are more than amazing... You will learn loads of interesting stuff here... And you should definitely take the Dino class at Carrollton.

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many local clubs to hang out in

    Food and Dining

    Do not eat there

    Dorm Life

    Do not live in one.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are what you put into your courses. Like I said earlier, Study, Study & Study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, Study & Study. Life is short there will be plenty of time for lifes other pleasures. Get your degree then look towards the future.

    In three sentences

    I found JCC to be a very nice, safe campus. Parking is easy. I am doing online and class course to add diversity to my routine.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very efficient

    Greek Life

    not applicable

    Clubs and Activities

    S.P.O.I.L.E.D. (women's church group)

    Bang for the buck

    not aplicable

    What to do for fun

    Whatever makes you happy, (within reason).

    Food and Dining

    I cook for myself

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Put your best foot forward.

    Tips for prospective students

    Put your best foot forward and always strive to do your best. You want to use integrity in all things you accomplish. Let go of the past and be encouraged to look at what is there for you in the future.

    In three sentences

    I am a also a former student here returning to receive an associate Arts degree this summer. I have had a lot of stumbling blocks in the past, but now I have my priorities in order. I am looking forward to a graduating and enjoying a greater future.

  • 01/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer several clubs and actibities for one to be involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Homeschoolers. Students right out of highschool that aren't sure what area of study want to go into yet. Anyone who wants to pursue a higher education and make a difference in the world.

    Bang for the buck

    JCTC is very affordable. I feel you get same education you would at a university but at a resonsible cost.

    Food and Dining

    JCTC doesn't have any area to purchase food in school besides vending machines but they are located close to several resturants etc.

    Dorm Life

    I don't stay in dorms still live at home. So I can't rate the school in this area.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel academically JCTC truly cares and offers so many opportunities for one to succeed. They offer free labs and tutors to help in areas of study. I would give JCTC 5 stars in this area.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students would be serach everything out. Reserach all possibilities and don't settle for anything less. Be productive, don't wait till the last minute to do things.

    In three sentences

    I give Jefferson Community and Technical College a very high rating. I love it there, its small, hands on, and the professors show they truly care about your education. This school I feel wants to see each student succeed in whatever their goals and dreams are.

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on the JCTC campus. Students and parents are made aware of any problems here. There are a lot of people living and working in downtown Louisville.

    Greek Life

    I do not know much about the Greek life at JCTC. I am not in a sorority. I do not know anyone in a sorority or fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have not joined clubs or activities, unfortunately. I am having to work full time and attend college full time. I want to be more involved in campus life in the future.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students can be successful at JCTC. I have talked with students from all over Louisville, and all over the country. Everyone is welcome here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of any unusual traditions or locations. I love the downtown campus.

    Bang for the buck

    JCTC is a good school for the cost. I attended U of L one semester, then transfered to JCTC. I like it better for size and helpful professors.

    What to do for fun

    Louisville is an awesome city. There is always something to do here. I especially like the night life.

    Food and Dining

    I have never tried any food the campus has to offer. I do not know of any places to eat on campus. I do know several good inexpensive restaurants close by.

    Dorm Life

    JCTC does not have dorms. I live in an apartment off campus. I drive a long way to JCTC.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not all easy. The professors will help you if you need it. The library is a great resource.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you register early. Pay your tution on time. Focus on studying, party later.

    In three sentences

    JCTC is a small campus. It has helpful and friendly staff. The downtown location is just right for me.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this is the most unsafe place i've visited in louisville, everyday i dred going to classes in fear of getting mugged or having my car broken into. improvements must be made to make students feel more comfortable on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is a great place for adult students returning to school, but not so much for younger recent high school graduates starting their college career.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is not worth even a quarter of the money that is paid in tuition.

    Food and Dining

    they have a small cafe in the basement of one of the buildings, food is decent but choices are limited.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor at this school is equivalent to that of a public high school or middle school.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not attend unless you wish to spend four years earning a two year degree. unless you want to walk around scared for your life surrounded by homeless bums. or want to be treated like a thirteen year old, rather than a college student.

    In three sentences

    the school as a whole is a complete waste of money, professors treat you like you are middle school students and that you are only attending because your too poor or too stupid to attend another school. i feel unsafe walking around campus and leaving my car parked on campus, massive amounts of bums lurk around campus begging for money. i also feel greatly outnumbered in my class by adult students returning to school than by students my own age. i would give this school an overall rating of a 2 out of 10, i can't wait to transfer.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always on guard.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    drama club

    Great for these types of students

    any type is welcome to the campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    one of the campus is downtown.

    Bang for the buck

    cost is low but classes are great so it is excellent to be enrolled here.

    What to do for fun

    drama club

    Food and Dining

    cafe in the campus is great but expense.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    proffessors will work with you when you need it but you got to work with them too.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't hastate to start small and work big, since jctc is only a community college classes are smaller and cost is low.

    In three sentences

    it is excellent to start off in before you go on to an unversity since you can learn how the finincial process starts and class are smaller to start with so it is an a- for this community and technical college.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    jctcs is amazing, hands on, and i love the small classes.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always safety officers walking around the campus. Also the police are usually apparent throughout the course of buildings. It makes for a safe environment and a sense of security.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs you can join at JCTC.

    What to do for fun

    At JCTC if you are interested in the arts. The art program holds many new things to enjoy throughout the year. They set up galleries and even have different events you can participate in and get discounts as a JCTC student. There are also Phi Theta Kappa which is highly involved with the community and is filled with great students and advisors.

    Tips for prospective students

    For new students interested in JCTC it is a great way to enter into the college life. As JCTC is filled with all kinds of people you'll learn many new things about your career path and the kind of people you may encounter in your career. It's a great environment to work through and you'll enjoy the teachers and staff you come in contact with.

    In three sentences

    JCTC is a fun active college ready to take on new things. It is filled with helping teachers and advisors to guide you through you college career. JCTC is great for a new student or a returning student as they help you start or finish your college career.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very good

    What to do for fun

    watch tv and play on the computer

    Food and Dining

    wonderful its right down town near alot of resturants plus we have a brand new cafe

    Tips for prospective students

    be the best do the best and you will become thew best

    In three sentences

    jefferson community and technical college is everything a person could want from a school great teacher nice people and it has a good learning environment

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe. they have security officers to walk the premises.

    Clubs and Activities

    Beta club for students with an 3.0 GPA.

    Great for these types of students

    if you have to work full time and go to school this is your best choice.

    Bang for the buck

    this campus is more for adults that have family, its really a small school for trade.

    What to do for fun

    nothing there to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    as for food they have vending machines. you can always go to little Caesars or Kroger that is down the street from JCC in Shelbyville, ky.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorms or housing for this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Most instructors do require a lot of work if you taking an online class. On campus the homework tend to be less it all depend on the instructor and your classmates.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you ever have a problem about the material, don't put it off to the point of no return, go ahead and ask for help. The instructors really want you to succeed in what ever you do.

    In three sentences

    I attend to the Shelby Co. campus and the staff there are really nice. The instructors go out of there way to help students learn and comprehend the material. The technology there is top of the line.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Security was located in my building so when I found a cell phone it was easy to take care of turning it into them. However, since parking was so split up with 5-6 different lots, several quite a distance off, we were all startled to learn that someone had been stabbed in our satellite parking lot (domestic partner violence); but I will say that the communications during and after the incident were top notch. In four months Campus Security sent out several reminder notices about personal safety, personal items, parked car safety (hide your valuables and cords), I thought this was a great addition to their patrols and pressence on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Great for these types of students

    Local, young students who can walk, bike or ride bus to class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bathrooms in our building were oddly layed out - women's on second and fourth floors; and men's on first and third floors. Weird to try to have to remember that when my classes changed from one floor to the other.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost per credit hour is way below the bigger colleges. But, the bigger colleges also have BIGGER classroom size and less individualized attention per student. The smaller size of the classes was less stressful to this non-traditional (older) student who drove over 100 miles roundtrip for each day of classes.

    What to do for fun

    Out of towner - drove into classes, and went home every night with family to care for and homework to complete.

    Food and Dining

    No facilities in my building, however several organizations regularly held bake sales and lunch sales as fund raisers and were in the building.

    Academic Rigor

    I was challenged AND encouraged in all my classwork.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking is a hassle, so be prepared and know the area prior to class start-up.

    In three sentences

    Faculty really cares about the students and wants them to be successful. Multi-cultural environment with many opportunities for younger students. Busy place with lots of activity going on.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome safety!~

    Greek Life

    Loving my Phi Theta Kappa - Alpha Delta Theta Chapter - we are an honor society, not gender specific and are enhanced and helped by the college itself.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am President of Phi Theta Kappa - Alpha Delta Theta Chapter and it is amazing. It has made such a difference in my college academia!

    Great for these types of students

    Non-Traditional and Traditional.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent!

    What to do for fun

    I am involved in Phi Theta Kappa which is an honor society and we almost always have something happening. We are involved in giving back to the community so we have all types of volunteer projects taking place all over Louisville, Kentucky.

    Food and Dining

    There is a college cafeteria on site and the a-typical McDonalds and Taco Bell.

    Dorm Life

    I am not in a dorm, I live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Giving it your all if encouraged and rewarded at JCTCS. I am challenged each and everyday in class and have found my interactions both academically and socially have been immensely rewarding!

    Tips for prospective students

    Finding your niche at JCTCS is easy and rewarding. Counselors, staff and faculty are more than willing to help assist you on your journey. Change your life, empower your mine and grasp the knowledge that is here for you at JCTCS.

    In three sentences

    Faculty and staff at JCTCS are both receiving, understand and professional. I am a non-traditional student and my experience has been outstanding. I encourage all who are hesitating to put your fears aside and enroll in a life changing, rewarding and diverse atmosphere that JCTCS offers.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Musuems

    Food and Dining

    They is a small cafe on campus, but there are plenty of restaurants surrounding the campus are since it is in the middle of downtown Louisville.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately there are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the professor. It can either easier than a university or really hard as a university class. A professor once ask his class How bad do you want it?

    Tips for prospective students

    There is nothing wrong with going to a community college. Especially if you can't afford a university tuition.

    In three sentences

    Really Affordable Education.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is small and there are always guys walking around. I always feel safe when I am walking around campus.

    Food and Dining

    They have snack machines. Other than that there aren't any food places to eat at on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are challenging but if you give it your all you can pass with an A.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great college to begin at. If you're not sure what you intend to major in I would highly suggest going here. You can get all the general classes you need while figuring out what you would like to major in.

    In three sentences

    I like the small classes. The teachers are always willing to help you. I wish the advisors were more helpful than they are.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always there where ever you need them!

    Clubs and Activities

    drama, music, art, language

    Great for these types of students

    everyone!

    Bang for the buck

    not too costly!

    What to do for fun

    sit with friends on the stairs by the library, sit in the library, random booths setup for outside classroom fun.

    Food and Dining

    mcdonalds, tac bell, cafe, thortons (all around campus)

    Dorm Life

    no dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the teachers you get and what program you join.

    Tips for prospective students

    teachers are cool, laid back, but know when its time to get to work and study!

    In three sentences

    great place to meet great people who have the same interests as you do.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hardly ever see the security.

    Bang for the buck

    Not bad but the tuition is rising to where I am beginning to wonder if I should just go to U of L.

    What to do for fun

    Campus is about three blocks from fourth street live. I sometimes would go have a drink there between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Many choices but I usually brought my own food.

    Dorm Life

    Lived off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    While I have had some teachers not expect much from you at all and others that keep you challenged but not over worked I have also had teachers that treat you like you are premed and should know everything. I don't find it fair for those teachers to make you feel like a leper for asking a question. But over all I've had a nice experience with my teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first month of fall and spring you will not find parking but you should try under the bridge behind taco bell. It has a little bit more of a walk but you are more likely to find parking there than anywhere else. There are always lines for the elevators in the hartford building. Be at least 5 minutes ahead of schedule if you need to use them. The VTI building has food in the basement :)

    In three sentences

    I really like this school because it isn't expensive, large, or over crowded.... Most the time. I do wish it was cleaner and had better security at night. I appreciate how they continue to try and fix problems for us... If only they could make the financial aid office more helpful.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is readily available

    Clubs and Activities

    You will have to research the different clubs. There are many activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types and ages of students

    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive to attend. You will need to save as much as possible now, so that you can go on to earn higher degrees later.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of places to go in downtown Louisville.

    Academic Rigor

    Good and bad instructors. Check rate my professor or check with others before choosing your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you don't take more credit hours per semester than you can handle. Take advantage of online classes that are offered thru blackboard. Attend an orientation so that you will know what to expect.

    In three sentences

    Very inexpensive to attend this college. I highly recommend earning you associates degree here. You can transfer to the school of your choice to complete your education.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of safety officers around, but the area is a little dangerous.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know of very many clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Adults looking to go back to school, people who need time to save money for a more expensive university.

    Bang for the buck

    Use Amazon.com or Half.com for books instead of the bookstore. Also JCTC is a lot less expensive than traditional university.

    What to do for fun

    JCTC is close to a lot of things, in the center of downtown Louisville.

    Food and Dining

    The school does have a dining hall but I have never been. There are lots of food options around though since it is in the middle of downtown.

    Dorm Life

    Non-applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly easy for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't use the advising office. Find a professor that can also do advising and stick with that person.

    In three sentences

    JCTC has small class sizes, and the teachers are generally helpful. However, since there is open enrollment some of your fellow students might be frustrating. A good school to ease yourself into the college experience.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safety. There are emergency phones on every corner of the campus that goes directly to security. The school also had police officers for even more security

    Tips for prospective students

    Just do your best and don't give up!! It may be hard at first but eventually you will be done and happy about the choices that you have made to further your education!

    In three sentences

    I love this college because of the great atmosphere!! The professors and other staff members treat everyone with respect and expect the best from their students. The classes aren't very big which means more one on one attention to all students.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every time I turn the corner there is campus security or an employee walking around helping people.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any at JCTC.

    Clubs and Activities

    I haven't been involved with any clubs or activites but if it is anything like the school then I am sure it will be great!

    Great for these types of students

    JCTC is great for any student who wants to get a quality education for a low price.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any that I have seen so far.

    Bang for the buck

    I have to take a prerequisite math class to be able to start in a regular math class. Not only is this class very cheap but I can take two classes for the price of one by completing my math class early and starting on the next one.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun. There are a lot of clubs and organizations that you can join to make community college more entertaining.

    Food and Dining

    They don't have food here other than in the bookstore and it is commercial.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms in JCTC.

    Academic Rigor

    JCTC can be as hard or easy as you make it. When i say that I mean if you want to work hard then you will work hard it doesn't matter how hard the class is or not. Educations purpose isn't to get a degree educations purpose is to prepare you for life.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest that you complete everything that you have to complete to get into school, including buying your books, a month in advance. That way you can be prepared for anything that comes your way.

    In three sentences

    JCTC is the first college that I have ever been to and I love it so far. All of the people who work here are friendly and want to help. I want to complete my degree here.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 50

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school is a great school to attend if you are an Ultra student and wanting to transfer to UofL during your junior year.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If looking for an associates degree, Jefferson is your place. If looking to complete just your basic courses here, you will find it is a struggle to maintain the excitement for your bachelor's degree.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson offers a clean campus with many classrooms. The professors are skilled in their specific field. The students are not as academic minded as what you might find at a university.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe campus. Very few incidents happen there.

    Greek Life

    I think there is one fraternity, but I am not sure.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are hardly any clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for: -low income students (like myself) -students who prefer small class sizes -students who want to get adjusted to college after high school -students who want to get involved in technical courses

    Bang for the buck

    It is the most affordable college in Kentucky. It is very cheap, and to get your Gen Eds out of the way, it is a great deal!

    What to do for fun

    There are a few clubs to do, but there really is not a whole lot to do around campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food, or dining halls.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what you want to do after you get your Associate Degree, and know where you want to transfer. And if you are going to the downtown campus, make sure you leave early enough to find parking.

    In three sentences

    It is a small community college. It is very affordable, and they are very helpful with getting you to transfer! I highly recommend it!

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5 star

    Clubs and Activities

    5 stars

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student can benefit at Jefferson

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am non-traditional and I am a student representative on the Board of Directors and on the KCTCS senate committee.

    Bang for the buck

    4 stars

    What to do for fun

    I like to write and bake.

    Food and Dining

    4 star

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in student groups. Ask lots of questions. Get to know your faculty. Participate in your education even when not on campus.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson is open to everybody. Jefferson is very student concerned. Jefferson is adventurous.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang in the library, form study groups.

    Food and Dining

    Not a university, so they don't have meal areas. There is a McDonalds, Subway, and Taco Bell close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms in that area.

    Academic Rigor

    As in every school (especially those you are paying for), grades are very important.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your financial aid is completed well before you apply because financial aid disbursement is a month after classes start, so you will have to pay out of pocket for your books and materials. Try to not miss any classes.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson Community and Technical college is an excellent school for first time freshmen. It's a great choice for those who are financially strapped and cannot afford to attend a large University. Also great for people who don't want to waste two years on unneeded prerequisites. JCTC offers a wide variety of programs to choose from.

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. I never feel like I am afraid on campus because there are always guards around you. There are many police officers that walk around campus on a daily basis as well. If there is ever a problem, it isn't hard to find help.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the sorority that JCTCS has to offer. It is a sorority where you must obtain a 3.5 GPA or higher to be accepted into the sorority. You must also have completed at least 12 credit hours excluding any developmental courses.

    Clubs and Activities

    \\There are many clubs such as the Phi Theta Kappa. There is also single parent support groups, Disability Awareness, Academic Team, parent support groups and many other groups.

    Great for these types of students

    JCTCS is great for all types of students. It works well for students that are not wanting to spend a lot of money for their education. It also works well for adults that have been out of school for years and needing to get the hang of school life again.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Phi Theta Kappa is the only tradition that JCTCS has. It is not unusual or anything it is just a sorority that my school has for students with a 3.5 GPA or higher.

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion, JCTCS offers a lot with education for little money. It is only $140 per credit hour at JCTCS verses about $440 per credit hour at our local university. You receive the same education of an university for a fraction of the cost.

    What to do for fun

    There are many organizations around campus that you can join along with sorority groups. There are fairs and career expos going on around campus all the time. There are always some kind of contest to enter for prizes.

    Food and Dining

    JCTCS has an excellent cafe in the basement of the HSB Building. Their food is really good and very affordable for the college student.

    Dorm Life

    I am not living on campus so i would not be able to answer this question accurately.

    Academic Rigor

    There are always going to be difficulties in your way when attending college but JCTCS helps you get through them. I have not found any academic rigor with JCTCS yet. If anything they have helped me get through mine.

    Tips for prospective students

    JCTCS continues to help students further their education and never be to afraid to ask for help. There are many people and resources to help you along your way. Always believe in yourself that you can do it!

    In three sentences

    I love JCTCS because they are always willing to help you better yourself in college. You have so many resources on campus to use and so many people to help you along your way. They want you to succeed in your education path and will help you in any way they can.

  • 01/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that just want to get their classes done while being able to live at home.

    Food and Dining

    There's no cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    These classes are challenging; don't slack off.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice school, that has small class sizes. All the classes are taught well by great teachers. It's very affordable and I feel like I'm still getting a good education without spending too much money at a University.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I think that, from what I have seen for tuition, this school is very reasonable. Textbooks, on the other hand, are totally ridiculous, but that's not the school's fault.

    Food and Dining

    I take online classes, so I really don''t know. But, they made me put something here, so I know there's a McDonalds close by!

    Academic Rigor

    The online courses that I'm taking have been pretty challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're planning on taking classes online, I would suggest leaving yourself plenty of time to spend studying. I'm a single dad, and I have really had to force time for school. But, I think it has definitely been worth it.

    In three sentences

    I have been pretty impressed with the coursework so far. I am taking all my classes online, so I can't really speak to the classroom experience, but I am learning quite a bit. It seems to me that online requires more time and attention than did the classroom when I took classes at Sullivan University.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The southwest campus I attend is very safe. There is an older officer who walks around to make sure everything is how it should be.

    Great for these types of students

    I believe JCTC has a drama club, so if you think you're a good actor, or just a drama queen, this is for you!

    Bang for the buck

    I really enjoy JCTC. It's small, easy, and affordable. I wish they were a 4 year college so I could stay there throughout my college career. If you're looking to get your basics out of the way, this is the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    JCTC doesn't have any sports teams or real clubs like a university.

    Food and Dining

    JCTC only has a small lunchroom in the main building. It's not a university so it does not have restaraunts.

    Dorm Life

    JCTC does not have dorms or housing units. It's only a 2 year college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here at JCTC are reasonable. I don't think I came across one class that was really difficult. JCTC has online classes as well which I say are easy as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tip I would give for upcoming students is to take advantage of the small classrooms. Teachers are more able to work one on one with you if you need help. Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    JCTC is a great community college. They have small classes, and classes at all times through out the day so those who work can attend at night. The teachers are great and because of small classes, there is more one on one opportunities. It's cheap an affordable.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The southwest campus I attend is very safe. There haven't been any problems and there is an officer who walks around all the time.

    Great for these types of students

    I believe JCTC has drama club, so if you love acting or just a drama queen, this may be for you!

    Bang for the buck

    JCTC is small, afforable, and a great place to get all your basics out of the way. The teachers are great and I will be sad to leave this fall.

    What to do for fun

    Well, honestly, there really isn't anything to do but go to class and go home. They're not a university so they don't have sports teams or clubs.

    Food and Dining

    JCTC isn't a university, so all they have is a small lunchroom in the main building with a tv.

    Dorm Life

    JCTC is only a 2 year college, so no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are reasonable. I haven't come across one class that was so difficult I had to drop. They have online classes as well, and they're just as easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip I would give upcoming students is to take advantage of the small classrooms. This means teachers are able to do more one on one if you need help. Don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    JCTC is a great community college because they have small classrooms and awesome teachers. There are classes at night for those who work during the day. I haven't had one complaint since I started here in fall 2010.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe has security in every building as well as in the parking lots.

    Greek Life

    they have greek named organization for honors and those with high grades.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a variety of clubs and organizations for almost everybody.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have no idea about the unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bang for the buck

    I like to say that overall it has a lot of great advantages like transfer to either University of Louisville or University of Kentucky.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing that I have found that I could do. They have many opportunities for writing or whatever they have posted.

    Food and Dining

    They have a café and the bookstore has food as well as throughout the campus there are vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Many opportunities to better yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions for financial and have them written out so you do not forget. You also have to keep up attendance even though some teachers do not count off for attendance many do.

    In three sentences

    Very good school and very busy. I like the classes and teachers. not sure about most of our homework is online and on blackboard.

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have on campus security so you feel safe there.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a drama club, they have a quick recall team, they have phi theta kappa just to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    any.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing unusual.

    Bang for the buck

    Great value for cost especially with college tuition rising.

    What to do for fun

    If you can imagine it they probably have it going on.

    Food and Dining

    Ohh yeah I had some gourmet food from there cooking department it was extremely awesome.

    Dorm Life

    I don't believe they have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging but doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do this as soon as possible. even if you are going for a bachelorette's degree by stopping here and having your credits transfer you are saving a lot of money.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love it. I go to the southwest campus and class sizes are small. Parking is easy. The staff is extremely friendly and super helpful.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Local students who are looking to pay cheaper tuition.

    Bang for the buck

    Just know that you get what you pay for.

    Food and Dining

    One of the buildings does have a small restaurant and store to purchase food and snacks.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    All depends on the course and professor you take.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay on top of the requirements for courses and financial aid. Stay in constant communication with the financial aid office and document everyone you speak with and keep for your personal record.

    In three sentences

    You must stay on top of what you need to accomplish because the administration has too many students to do it for you. While the tuition is much cheaper than a university, you definitely get what you pay for in the quality of resources that are available to use in class.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus has patrolled parking and security in every building.

    Clubs and Activities

    Offers lots of clubs and activities to get into! extracirricularly

    Great for these types of students

    For students that like walking, computers and diversity.

    Bang for the buck

    JCTC is a very fast paced school. You have to be on time for a class with no accept-ions and when its over, you have to leave for the next class. I love my college and wound not trade it for anything in the world.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around, go to the YMCA a block away from the library. Walk down to the river. Use our library to its greatest resources.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great, be sure to bring money when wanting something to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Currently not residing in JCTC's dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Missing one assignment can bring your grade down tremendously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to sign up for classes early! The earlier you get things done, the more downtime you will have. Be on time for the classes you pay for!

    In three sentences

    Jctc is a very diverse college. They offer a wide variety of opportunity. You will love this school.

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It only costs $140 per credit hour if you are a Kentucky resident or a resident of the selected surrounding counties. It's a great choice if you are having financial issues but still want to knock out your basic classes.

    What to do for fun

    They have a few clubs and organizations, but I don't know much about them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask for details about each class and teacher. If you don't think you got the proper help you needed from an advisor, amke sure to go talk to a different one. Don't be discouraged if you have no idea what you want to do, they help you with that.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy my classes and instuctors so far. I attend the Southwest campus and I love the atmosphere. They make sure you have a smooth transition from High School to College, and that's what I love most about it.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am friends with some students on campus and there have been no issues with campus safety since I have become a student at Jefferson community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not affiliated with any clubs at the school

    Great for these types of students

    If your focused and self motivated then you will grow and learn at Jefferson community college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Currently all of my training is not held on a college campus, all my training is at a high school in Jefferson county. Shawnee High school for everyone in the aviation program.

    Bang for the buck

    Looking at the current cost of education across America, you definetly get bang for you buck at Jefferson community college. At least in the program I attend works out well for the degree I will earn. $2000 a semester

    What to do for fun

    Currently I am traing for my pilots liencese and occasionally me and my wife people watch at the park, provided the weather is good.

    Food and Dining

    I don't dine at the school facility

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    I love a challenge so when school get hard, I tend to focus in and do my best to complete the task ahead of me. If you have a good education foundation you will succeed in this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a plan before you even apply to the school. Sometimes guidance Consolers are just follow a set program and each student is different from the previous. Also ensure that you check out all the different campuses to avoid driving downtown when you stay 40 minutes away

    In three sentences

    My experience has been up and down. The school academic programs are great, and the school offers a great number of academic degrees. Consolers are easy to work with and they have an easy website and school system to understand. Financial Aid is a weak point with the school even tough they manage to get everyone taken care of eventually.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I love to hang out with my friends love to paint and draw I also love to be involve in community activities, I go to church every Wednesday. love to try anything new I am very open mind.

    Food and Dining

    never try the food there before but there places that you can go to around the campus

    Dorm Life

    wish they have dorms to be able to experiences college life to the best

    Academic Rigor

    haven't got to start classes yet but from seen my friends and family I would say is the best for a community college

    Tips for prospective students

    -take advantage of any type of help, either financial or educational -have fun -do good in time and schedule -do your best

    In three sentences

    helps you succeed no matter what type of knowledge or back ground you have.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    tuition is substancially cheaper.

    Food and Dining

    The wildcat in the cafe is AMAZING!

    Dorm Life

    no dorms avail.

    Tips for prospective students

    This isn't like highschool some come with your grown up pants on.

    In three sentences

    This is a very good school, some one the instructors here also teach at UofL. This school has many different resources available for students. 4 out of 5!

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 50

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out with friends they have activities going on on different days

    Food and Dining

    the campus dorm is great

    Dorm Life

    never stayed in dorm

    Academic Rigor

    It may get a little tough at times especially when one has too many classes so do not try to take on more than one can do. I believe if one put in the time and study one will achieve good grades. It is all about determination, dedication and knowing what one truly want.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study Study Study Get help if one is having difficulties with a subject there is many resources at this school. Believe in yourself, no matter how tough it get or how one may feel like giving up it is all about believing in oneself if one dream one can believe so it can be achieved.

    In three sentences

    A great college to start off in especially if one is thinking about transferring to a four year college. Low tuition which is a major concern for students, Tuition is going up every semester but this school has low tuition. They have teachers that truly care about their student's success, teachers do not mind giving a student a helping hand or giving them information about the many rresources.

  • 01/21/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is on sight campus security.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities for prospective students.

    Bang for the buck

    You get a solid education, that is transferable, at a reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    I am usually too busy studying to do things for fun! The campus does host events, such as Halloween parties, Christmas parties etc..

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is so-so. I like the chicken salad sandwich at the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus. I'm not sure that they even have dorms. It is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be tough. I am taking Anatomy II right now, and it is hard! Again, utilize the free tutoring, and you should do alright.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, as classes fill up quickly! Talk to an adviser, they can be very helpful. Utilize the library, tutoring, and other resources.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson Community College has a wide variety of majors for prospective students, and tuition is reasonable. It is also a great way to get prerequisites out of the way, if you're considering transferring schools. They offer free tutoring, among other programs, which are very helpful!

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of safety officers around, but the area is a little dangerous.There are emergency phones on every corner of the campus that goes directly to security. The school also had police officers for even more security

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa is the sorority that JCTCS has to offer. It is a sorority where you must obtain a 3.5 GPA or higher to be accepted into the sorority. You must also have completed at least 12 credit hours excluding any developmental courses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs such as the Phi Theta Kappa. There is also single parent support groups, Disability Awareness, Academic Team, parent support groups and many other groups

    Great for these types of students

    Adults looking to go back to school, people who need time to save money for a more expensive university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there aren't any that I have seen so far.

    Bang for the buck

    Use Amazon.com or Half.com for books instead of the bookstore. Also JCTC is a lot less expensive than traditional university.Jefferson, compared to other colleges, is not too expensive. It is worth the small classes and one on one time with the professors.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun. There are a lot of clubs and organizations that you can join to make community college more entertaining.There are many organizations around campus that you can join along with sorority groups. There are fairs and career expos going on around campus all the time. There are always some kind of contest to enter for prizes.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food, or dining halls.

    Dorm Life

    Non-applicable.

    Academic Rigor

    JCTC can be as hard or easy as you make it. When i say that I mean if you want to work hard then you will work hard it doesn't matter how hard the class is or not. Educations purpose isn't to get a degree educations purpose is to prepare you for life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate. Enroll in your prerequisites first, then enroll in classes required for your major; it will make it easier to be educationally organized. Get to know your classmates, they can help you in the long run. Join study groups, meet with an advisor, and stay ahead with your school work.

    In three sentences

    JCTC has small class sizes, and the teachers are generally helpful. However, since there is open enrollment some of your fellow students might be frustrating. A good school to ease yourself into the college experience.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 50

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a wonderful menu and eating space for the students. You can get a quick snack or a whole meal.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms that are provided through jctc are the Bellamy and province. These dorms can have up to 1 to 4 people living in them. Each student also gets their own bathroom that's located in their rooms. It is very spacious and very newly modeled. I would love to live on campus as a regular apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Successfully complete the courses they take;advance from remedial to credit-bearing courses;enroll in and successfully complete gatekeeper courses;enroll from one semester to the next; andearn degrees and/or certificates.��� 

    In three sentences

    I love Jefferson community college because of their small class sizes. Your instructor can solely focus on helping his/her students. I also like it because they provide free tutoring which is very helpful for the students that attend who may struggle with certain subjects.