Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Jefferson State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    MAKE SURE TO TURN IN FINANCIAL AID EARLY!!!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Even though with the tuition increase for all community colleges in the state of Alabama, it is still really good to go there and get some prerequisites out of the way at a cheaper price.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since it is a community college, I would prefer attending a four year institution. However, after doing research on what Jeff State has to offer, I have grown to like it.

    Am learning a lot

    This school has much to offer. The course work is respectable for the college level. The professors enjoy everything that they are doing and they are willing to help out if you have any problems.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students of all ages

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy application process everyone is verte helpful.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come to class with a positive attitude and be ready to learn. Get prepared to study for a few hours outside of class, whether you study independently or with some friends. Do not procrastinate on assignments and remember to manage your time wisely between classes and your personal/ social life.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot from attending the classes at Jeff State. The professors give and ample amount of college work considering it's only a community college.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    good place to eat, but it does take a while to get food, i would call a head of time.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to study, it might be a junior college but it is very difficult.

    In three sentences

    great college, the campus is a little out dated but a great place to learn.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very affordable school!

    What to do for fun

    This particular Community College has its days. I believe the only way to actually enjoy and have fun is become involved around campus. I think thats something you have to do anywhere you go for school, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    When it comes to attending college, the most important thing to remember is time management. Time management plays a huge factor in how well your grades turn out. Do not procrastinate with your work, just get it done as soon as you possibly can and save fun for last.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson State Community College is a wonderful college. The campus is very nice and serene which makes the atmosphere enjoyable. The faculty and staff seem to enjoy their jobs and they enjoy helping all of the students.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    this campus is patrolled by the local police department all the time! very safe!

    Greek Life

    sga is the only greek life that i know about at jeff state.

    Clubs and Activities

    i wish that there were more clubs and on-campus activities to bring this campus together but there is hardly anything!

    Great for these types of students

    students that want professional certifications or are unsure of what it is that they want to accomplish in life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the student body at this campus is not tight knit at all!

    Bang for the buck

    there is no bang at all about this school!

    What to do for fun

    you can join many student groups or organizations. i plan on joining a marching band at a different college that markets to the students at jeff state.

    Food and Dining

    jeff state has only one lame deli counter available, which i think is crazy to just have one selection at a college in general!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    this is so-so.

    Tips for prospective students

    be sure that you check on your credits that will transfer from other institutions. i was given the short end of the stick when it comes to this aspect of being a student at jeff state.

    In three sentences

    jeff state's distance education is wonderful. i also recommend their distance learning programs. i think that jeff state deserves the number 3 spot for community colleges in america.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is really safe at Jeff. State. the crime statistics are VERY low. the most common crime is thief. to prevent this write down all the serial numbers of your valuables and don't leave your personal property unattended. if you do lose something, if it has been taken to the lost and found or Police station then you can go pick it up there.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are numerous clubs at jeff. st. 2 honors societies- Sigma Kappa Delta (English honors) and Phi Theta Kappa. this college has more than 2 dozen clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    those who have just came out of high school and are unsure of what to expect of college. it is a great step up from high school. also for those who are not quite ready to move off somewhere. and those students who have more education in front of them because they can finish out their basics here and save some money.

    Bang for the buck

    it is a great bargain! definitely worth your money. and it is quality too.

    What to do for fun

    there are not many fun things to do around campus.there are readings where and author comes and reads some of his or her work(s) and talks about them. sometimes there is back sales from the Culinary department. there is a yearly Christmas Bizarre,( which is like a small craft sale).

    Food and Dining

    the Fitzgerald Deli is located on campus. the food is excellent but pricey. there is also a Bookstore upstairs which sales snack items and quick meals. there are plenty of food establishments around the college, including a convenience store within 5 mins. of the college.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at Jeff. State. there are apartments within 5-15 minutes of the college. there is also a Max buss stop on campus which is frequently used by students to get from their houses to college.

    Academic Rigor

    for the most part the academic rigor for this college is not tough, unless you pick a harder course like Pre-calculas Algebra. the teachers have partly have to do with academic rigor. for example some teachers require more of their students in order to prepare them for higher learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    although it will not determine one's grade getting a good teacher is important. a very important question to ask is is there anything else i need (paperwork wise)? or is there anything else i need to fill out? or is there any more information i need to give? . make sure you check with your adviser every so often.

    In three sentences

    going to Jeff. State allows a person to get a great education at a great price. however it does not have a lot of student activities. the food in the Fitzgerald deli is good but pricey and most of the teachers care about their students progress, depending on which instructor.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    highly safe and great environment

    Great for these types of students

    students who really wanna learn at a slower pace and yet still feel like you're at an university.

    What to do for fun

    we have sports and an choir

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are still in high school and want to go too college without being in debt at the end of your college experience; go to an community college, it really helped me out before heading to an university and you save tons of money.

    In three sentences

    jefferson state community college is an amazing school. i've been helped by my teachers many times, and they are patient and teach really well. i now see community college as an excellent way to start of college before you enter an university.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I would like to advise future students to make sure they get all their paperwork done in a timely manner. I was late getting my financial aid paperwork done and it delayed me in getting my tuition handled before classes started.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed my time at Jeff State. It's close to my home and my job so I am able save on expenses. It was a great transition for me from my high school to the college experience.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a full time staff of security on campus at all times, the campus security are all retired military police officers or police officers, and they work with the county police to ensure full safety of all students.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone, we have a art club, culinary club, philosophy club, student government, ambassadors, to explorers.

    Great for these types of students

    Nurse majors, funeral service majors, culinary majors, transferring to a four year college students, business majors, construction majors, agriculture majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Graduation ceremonies is only held once a year and each major have there own traditions, I can only speak for the culinary department, but we have the culinary Christmas tree and gingerbread events to the grand buffet in Spring to show case all the hard work of the culinary students.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs to join from art club, to philosophy club, to the culinary club. The classes are smaller so there are more of a chance to make friends.

    Food and Dining

    Each campus has a different way of eating, the main campus has a deli with fast food style dining to get from wraps to hamburgers, the Shelby campus has a student ran bistro (completely ran by the culinary department) and you can get white table cloth dining for McDonald prices.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are challenging but they offer several outside sources to help you with your classes, from tutoring, to class labs or you meeting with your professors for one on one sessions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Jefferson Community College offers several of the general education classes that you can take that will transfer over to any four year school.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson State Community College is affordable. Jefferson State Community College is a career based school. Jefferson State Community College has several opportunities to give back to the community.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safest Campus in Birmingham, AL, well lit and security rides campus. has security phones placed all over the campus also.

    Clubs and Activities

    None at the Shelby campus unless you are in an honors society, personally I was in Phi Theta Kappa an enjoyed it very much.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students, could not imagine any student not doing well at JSCC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traffic at the shelby campus can be outrageous at times, it is located between two high schools. If your class is scheduled around any time that school lets out you better leave early for your class.

    Bang for the buck

    Loved the time I spent at JSCC teachers were great, advisors were amazing and helpful, and campus was easy to get around when classes where in different buildings.

    What to do for fun

    Located next to a large park, has a pond you can fish in, field for frisbee, swings for kids or the ones like me that are a kid at heart, a track if you want to work out in between classes, and baseball/softball fields.

    Food and Dining

    Shelby campus located by fast food and Highway 280 with has many restaurants. None are a far drive but usually only have a few classes a day.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on the Shelby campus

    Academic Rigor

    Not the hardest classes but a step and half up from high school depending on your classes and which ones are your strongest. They have a forgiveness policy, but I would work hard and do everything right the first time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Us the STAR website if planning to go to a four year from JSCC. Don't take morning classes just to get them out of the way for your day, most students end up missing. Don't take too many core classes in one semester, throw some electives in the mix.

    In three sentences

    Great school to go to get your core classes out of the way. Classes transfer too your four year. Use the STAR program if you already know your major

  • 04/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus security around.

    Greek Life

    I'am unfamiliar with Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many clubs and sports that this college offers.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for ALL age groups.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do know that there are many locations to choose from so you are not bound to one place or one location.

    Bang for the buck

    I do believe they are reasonably priced for the amount of material they offer per course.

    What to do for fun

    Art class and painting class

    Food and Dining

    Campus does not have good food and dining available.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available but many apartments near by.

    Academic Rigor

    I would rate it a 3/5 for academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that this is a good college for all age groups as long as you stay motivated you will thrive in your studies.

    In three sentences

    I believe that Jefferson State Community College is a wonderful college with an immense amount to offer. The classes are small and teachers are focused on teaching the appropriate material. I do feel that going to this college; it has and will further prepare me to become a great nurse.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are not many activities to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    Never participated.

    Dorm Life

    non-existent

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough, however they help prepare you for a major university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard. Just because it's a community college does not mean there isn't work because there is.

    In three sentences

    Jeff. State is a community college that helps prepare future four-year college students for life outside their original homes. During my year at Jeff. State I've learned how to handle college courses with everyday life.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I'm not the best to answer this. My definition of fun is lounging in the grass before my next class. One time I high-fived every student and teacher on campus that I could get. That was fun. Another time, there was a random free pizza day in the courtyard.

    Food and Dining

    The deli we have is average, but they do offer vegetarian options and the workers there are so nice. The atmosphere is great and friendly.

    Dorm Life

    This school doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I think since the school is a community college, the academic rigor isn't bad. It's average. You have the ones that don't really want to be there and you have the smart ones that ace every test seemingly effortlessly. The teachers have a its up to you attitude. They don't baby you. If you don't want to put forth effort, then they won't force you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends. The campus is so small, chances are, you'll have a lot of the same people in a lot of your classes. Also be prepared for classes. Just showing up will not get you an A in that class. Make friends with the teachers. They're very easy going and understanding. And don't take peoples words on which teacher should I get? because what some may call worst teacher ever turn out to be some of my favorite teachers! Trial and error.

    In three sentences

    Jeff State is very small town feeling. The classes are small and personal, it's easy to find your way around campus, and the teachers are nice and very helpful. They are open to everything and everyone (even have vegetarian options in the lunchroom!).

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone thinking of continuing their education should contact Jefferson State Community College. There is no reason to worry or stress about how you will go back to school. The faculty is great at helping you through the entire process, making it seem extremely easy.

    In three sentences

    My first impression of the campus and faculty at Jefferson State Community College was great. The office manager and adviser I spoke with helped me through the process with ease and thoroughness. The campus is clean and spotless.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police keep a careful watch over parking lots and school as a whole.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing

    What to do for fun

    See the sights in Birmingham.

    Food and Dining

    Food pricey, not very good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you start the financial aid process EARLY!

    In three sentences

    Financial Aid department very slow in processing aid. Instructors in my summer semester were very helpful. All resources are given to students to help them succeed.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are officers at every campus and cameras in all the rooms. Though, they've recently made it where anyone coming in can look at all the videos of the classroom and that's a little bit concerning

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want to stay home, go to school for a decent price, get the basics out of the way, etc.

    What to do for fun

    Become an ambassador, become part of the magazine staff or news station.

    Food and Dining

    My campus does not have any sort of restaurant; just vending machines that eat your money.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are interesting and challenging. The teachers care about your success and want to see you improve. They help you when asked and are amazing people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everything is online, whether or it it seems like it is or not. I promise, it's there. Keep looking.

    In three sentences

    I have found that this school has teachers that truly care about one's success. It's easy to navigate. It has small class sizes making it where you can get one-on-one interaction.

  • 11/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Study! Everyday you go home, read over your notes and study as often as possible.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson State Community College is a great school. The instructors are great when it comes to one on one help with the students. There are so many ways to get help, there's no reason to say you did't get the proper assistance.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a park across the street from the campus with a running/walking trail. It has a small playground for younger children and a large grassy area for football or soccer. There is also a sand area for volleyball.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten on campus however there is a Culinary Program which I have been told prepares food for the bistro on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The only classes that I had to take prior to being accepted into the Rad. Tech. program were the Anatomy & Physiology 1 & 2. Both of these classes were very rigorous but my professor was excellent and explained difficult concepts very well. The classes in my program have been very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to seek out a guidance counselor for help in signing up for classes especially if you plan to transfer to another school. There is a STARS program that allows you to plan your course work at Jeff. State and ensure that it transfers to the 4 yr. university.f

    In three sentences

    My experience with Jeff. State has been a very positive one with competent professors and challenging classes. I am in the Radiologic Technologist program which has been more challenging than my classes for my B.A. degree from UNC-Chapel Hill many years ago. I would recommend this school to anyone seeking to obtain an Associates Degree or someone wanting to take general education classes before transferring to a 4 yr. university.

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always campus security

    What to do for fun

    spend time with my family. ride horses.

    Food and Dining

    we only have vending machines

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    i dont have any

    In three sentences

    I like it there. Its close to home. Teachers are great.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs and activities to participate in, if you want.

    Food and Dining

    There is a dining hall/snack area.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    Just because it is a community college, doesn't mean the classes are any easier that the university.

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is conveniently laid out, making getting to classes easier than the larger universities.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson State Community College is a good college for students choosing to live at home. The locations of the mail college and satellite campuses are convenient. Class sizes are small and comfortable.

  • 03/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Priced well for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a lot to do for fun on campus. It's mainly just a place to get core classes out of the way. It's hard to get connected to students that go there.

    Food and Dining

    On campus is cafe that is served by the campus culinary school. It's delicious and very well priced for the quality of the food that you are served.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically it is a very good school. Teachers are always willing to help and will show you ways that you can succeed better in their class.

    In three sentences

    A great school to get core classes out of the way. Professors are great to set time aside to help. Hard to get connected with peers.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    anything really. there are malls a little ways away, different stuff is around all the campuses

    Food and Dining

    there is food all around each campus, and the book store sells easy to cook meals.

    Dorm Life

    there is none. everyone commutes .

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't technology savvy but when you need it, the technology is there at your disposal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go here, save money, get an education.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson State is perfect for students getting nursing degrees, or just getting the basics and getting ready to transfer. Of course the campuses are different but no matter which one you choose you will walk away with an education. Jeff state is always a good idea for any age student.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Definitely walk around campus. Its beautiful.

    Food and Dining

    Amazing food at the cafeteria!

    Dorm Life

    They do not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions, please ask your professor.

    In three sentences

    Very good college! I love the classes size. Teachers are very helpful

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 30

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have never take any classes here before. I'm starting this Summer. I hope it is a good experience to study in this college.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is always active!

    Great for these types of students

    If you like to have a relationship with your fellow classmates, instructors or even the campus police, this is the place for you. It's a small town type school, so everyone knows eachother.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't many traditions considering it is a community College. But I've Only been here one semester so you never know!

    What to do for fun

    I attend the Hoover/Shelby campus, which is located right outside of Birmingham. So you're not too far from the city which always has something going on!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application and paperwork in early, Jeff State is serious about application deadlines!

    In three sentences

    Small Town College. Great Instructors. Awesome locations!

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Not really knowing what you want to be in life,but just need to get your prereq out the way.

    What to do for fun

    recreational room is cool

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professor, and if you need help don't be afraid to ask.

    In three sentences

    Jefferson State Community College is rated a 8/10. This was my freshman year, and the Professor was very effiecient, and knowelegeble. I took chemistry which is challenging, but I made a B out the class because of help that was afforded to me through tutoring.

  • 01/27/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    28 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police is always around.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you get accepted into Phi Theta Kappa there are lots of activities you can get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are undecided in their majors should consider Jeff State because you can take your general classes for much cheaper.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is great while you pursue your 4 year degree. For a 2 year college, it is a great school.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of opportunities to get involved if you look at the bulletin boards all around the school.

    Food and Dining

    I have actually never had food at the school but most of the people I have talked to say it's really good.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you research and communicate with teachers you have. They are always helpful and will answer you to the best of their ability.

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed Jefferson State. I was on scholarship and am thankful I was provided the opportunity for two years of free education. The teachers are challenging and professional.

  • 03/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 30

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety precautions are very strict. An incident occurred not too long ago with a student, and an email was sent to all the students to be careful because a student was missing. After an investigation by the local police and FBI it turned out to be a false alarm and a student wanted some attention, but the police were able to handle the situation very quickly and efficiently.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of restaurants in the area to hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    It is a community college so only vending machines are available.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms since it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a community college and only being able to give courses of 200 level, it somehow can still be able to challenge you and prepare you for university.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is just a two-year community college and can only cover so much courses for your degree, but the counselors can help you to know where to go after jeff state and what classes you need for now. Jeff state does have one of the top nursing programs in the state for those who are interested in that career path.

    In three sentences

    This college is great and resourceful. The staff is very friendly and helpful whether it is the teachers, counselors and the people at the front desk. Jeff state has provided me with a very bright future allowing me to further improve my education and pursue a career in the near future.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 30

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do across the campus as well as space and time to enjoy the natural beauties of the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Jeff State offers a very challenging curriculum that will prepare you for what to come in the real world. The teachers are very supportive and are well equip with the knowledge of the future endeavors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although Jeff State is a community college, it provides a challenging curriculum that would be beneficial to the real world environment. There also are off campus activities that will be in place for you to get that experience in your field of study. Unlike most Community colleges, Jeff State offers on campus living for those who are out of daily commute range.

    In three sentences

    Jeff State has a beautiful campus with a relax feel. It is very inviting to learn new ideas, people, and future aspirations. Jeff State also offers a welcoming vibe to fun learning on and off campus activities.