Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

John A Logan College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anybody looking for small classes and affordable tuition.

    Tips for prospective students

    Recent events in our economy have sent many students to John A. Logan in an attempt to get a more affordable education. Attendance is at a record high and space is limited, therefore it is imperative that interested students apply as soon as possible. Also, John A. Logan has reduced the financial aid packages of almost all students, and students may not take federal student loans to attend John A. Logan.

    Bang for the buck

    John A. Logan is very affordable, as long as students stay out of the bookstore! It is far better to rent books online than to purchase them at the contemptible markup in the bookstore.

    Am enjoying being here

    John A. Logan has a diverse student population and offers various extra-curricular activities and cultural experiences to students who may be interested. However, there are certain aspects of John A. Logan that are reminiscent of the high school environment: most classes do not allow food, beverages, or portable electronics. Also, failure to attend classes may result in being dropped from the course and/or repaying financial aid. To many instructors, late is the same as absent.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes at John A. Logan are thorough and the class sizes are small. There are free tutors available and any student needing extra instruction will find that they are able to easily schedule a time to meet with their instructors.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    John A. Logan is routinely patrolled by security guards. Walking through the halls, parking lots, offices and cafeteria. With these guards there is hardly trouble lurking.

    What to do for fun

    The Lounge! The newly added wing of the school has a great new lounge. It's great for lunch, hanging out wit friends or if you need a quirt place to study. Or if your a big workout muscle head, John A has a clean and safe health complex gym. The library, to catch up on the latest book, magazine or to play on the computer.

    Food and Dining

    John A has a nice cafeteria and plenty of lounge areas, but the food at Chartwells can be overly priced. It's good food, just they don't have a dollar menu for the poor college kids.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at John A Logan, its a community college close to home.

    Academic Rigor

    I have Psychology at 8 a.m., then off to math at 10 a.m. and then English at 12 p.m. Between the classes i go to work at the financial aid office and try to get some quick lunch. The homework is about an average amount of work and the test if you study are easy enough. If you listen and take notes instead of gossiping about last night's party you'll do great!

    Tips for prospective students

    In high school I didn't study, i blew off all my classes barley getting a C. And i was happy with my average grades. When I got back my first test, with a 41% i knew something need to change and fast. One tip i learned the hard way, study and study hard. Don't just blow it off, sit down and actually read the text.

    In three sentences

    I love John A. Logan for its small class rooms size, close to home, and it's affordability. Small classes make it more personal and a better learning environment. Not growing up rich John A. Logan's affordability was the best choice for my first college experience.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JALC is great for a wide variety of students. It is a good place to learn new skills for the job market, to get the basics out of the way before transferring, or for senior citizens (JALC also has a good health center featuring health-related courses such as swimming).

    Tips for prospective students

    My biggest tip: if you want to spend your time partying, and not studying, then why are you going to college in the first place?

    Bang for the buck

    As a community college, JALC is far more affordable than a four year university, and yet is a good institution to either train for a career or learn something new.

    Am enjoying being here

    John A Logan College has a combination of a campus full of trees, grass, and water fountains, and decent student services such as a tasty cafeteria and helpful staff. Overall, a good learning environment.

    Am learning a lot

    The instructors are really knowledgeable about the subjects they teach. They are adept at conveying the information in a way which makes the lesson fascinating, and are fair towards the students.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A gaming club which is nice for nerds like myself.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall worth the money you pay. Very cheap as compared to S.I.U.

    Food and Dining

    Theres a Starbucks in the E-Wing. There is a cafeteria and vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are exciting. Some are not so much like math.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what degree you want. Take a map with you. Use the OneCard atm in the gym because it withdrawals your grant for free.

    In three sentences

    Teachers treat you like a person, not a number. It is easy to get math help from a teacher or a tutor. Overall, people are nice and tell you where to go if your lost.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    this is a community college there isnt anything on campus to do besides the library

    Tips for prospective students

    pay attention, dont wait till the last mintue to apply for anything.

    In three sentences

    very tight fisted with financial aid. the appeal committee has too high of standards. poor building setup and design.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i think the campus safety here is outstanding. there is hardly ever a time where you can go from class to class and not see a security officer or campus police officer. they always patrol the parking lots really well, too.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am unaware of any clubs or activities because i am always busy doing homework alone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i am not fond of where the swimming pool is located at john a logan college. it seems like a great distance to have to walk west of the building.

    Bang for the buck

    i think john a logan college stretches your dollar that you pay for tuition. they have recently voted against a tuition hike and that helps us students. i think you really learn alot too for the money it costs to attend.

    What to do for fun

    there isn't a whole lot to do for fun, but maybe that is because i am there to learn. i never take time to have fun because i am always busy studying in the hallways with the rest of the students.

    Food and Dining

    john a logan college offers a nice, clean cafeteria located downstairs near the bookstore. it has a food shop and vending machines located right next to the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms here at john a logan, as it is a junior college.

    Academic Rigor

    i'm not exactly sure what academic rigor refers too, but if it is referring to stress from academics, you won't see too much academic rigor here at john a logan college compared to others campuses. they usuallly work really well as professors know that we all have a life of our own that we must attend to, also.

    Tips for prospective students

    i recommend that every student try their best to evade skipping homework assignments and that they are prompt on getting to class. it is always best, even though it is the college life, to put away all electronic devices and set your focus on learning.

    In three sentences

    john a logan college is very well maintained and set up. the professors know their material and they attempt to keep the school environment clean and professional. this is a great junior college for students seeking their associate's degree or to implement getting their bachelors degree.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 21

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    st. louse is only 2 hours a way

    Food and Dining

    eat off campus when you can

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the teacher

    In three sentences

    i have been at john a logan for the past 2 years and i have liked it there very much, it is a good 2 year school.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is good. There is always someone around if you need them. They will even help if you lock your keys in the car.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many groups to join.

    Bang for the buck

    Right now it is $92per/ credit hr. It's not bad. Other colleges here are in the $100's or more.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of school groups you can join. Some don't depend on GPA.

    Food and Dining

    There is a few places on campus for you to buy food. Most is good and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus and i don't think there is any dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes you take determine your work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great place to learn about different majors. If your undecided the staff can help.

    In three sentences

    John A Logan is a good community college. Tuition is very affordable. The teachers here are great.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Good deal compared to 4 year school that is close by (SIU)

    What to do for fun

    Various on campus activities if you want to get involved

    Food and Dining

    Good

    Academic Rigor

    Medium

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend class

    In three sentences

    Small campus Caring teachers Close to home

  • 04/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have an on campus police force and police is the surrounding area regularly get training in the Vocational Building.

    Greek Life

    The local chapter of Phi Theta Kappa was chartered on January 25, 1970. This national organization was founded in 1918, and is the community college equivalent of Phi Beta Kappa, the national honorary scholastic fraternity. Phi Theta Kappa provides recognition for academic excellence as well as opportunity for intellectual enrichment, social activities, and service to the College. Membership is by invitation. Psi Beta (Psychology) Honor Society

    Clubs and Activities

    American Sign Language Club Archery Club Art Club Auto Body Repair Automotive Club Biology Club Black Students Association Chi Alpha (Christian) Construction Management Cosmetology Club Dental Assisting Club Dental Hygiene Club � SADHA Fantasy and Science Fiction Game Club Journalism Club (The Volunteer) LIFE (Christian Club) LifeSavers of JALC Massage Therapy Club Nursing Club � ADN Nursing Club � Practical Phi Theta Kappa Political Science Club Psi Beta (Psychology) Honor Society Realtime Captioning Technology Club Student Senate Student Support Center (SSC) T�Plus Tutors Veterans Support Club American Association for Women in Community Colleges (AAWCC) AmeriCorps College Scholastic Bowl John A. Logan College Community Band John A. Logan College Community Orchestra Logan Choral Ensemble Student Ambassadors Student Leadership Program

    Great for these types of students

    John A is great for transfer and two year degrees.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing crazy, but there are several places to hide to study in the quiet and their is a lawn that the building surrounds that has tables to enjoy the weather.

    Bang for the buck

    You get great services that come with tuition: The Write Place (help with essays), The Biology Center (science help), SSC (tutoring and help with disabilities), Two Computer labs with free printing, and for $25 you can start payment plans if you do not have enough money that semester. Pell Grant covers: working out, bus rides, books and tuition.

    What to do for fun

    In the surrounding area you have: two malls, several places to eat, SI Bowl, Hits (a teen concert center), 5 or more libraries which John A can have any of it shipped to their library.

    Food and Dining

    They have over priced food court on site and on the other side of campus is a coffee bar (equally over priced). The only food I ever thought was far, is the pancakes. Three bucks for a pancake bigger than your head. I can never finish it.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. There are private owners with apartments in the area, but I do not recommend them. If you want to move to this area to go to John A, don't. Just go straight to SIU, its a town away, and it has dorms and foreign student programs.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class, the math classes can be very challenging, the psychology is very hard, speech is easy, science is moderate, and workout classes are tedious.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on transferring then you only really need an associates degree or to get the catalog from your future university. Everything they have for programs is very basic and they want to know what college you will be going to so that you will be better prepared. For two year degrees, you will be fine, just get the certificate and you'll be ready for a career. And always ask for help if grades slip, John A has tutoring, a writing center and a science center for any help you need. The tools are all there just reach out for them so that you can succeed.

    In three sentences

    It's a great college for a two year degree or if you are planning to transfer. John A doesn't have anymore than the basic classes and if you are a science major it can be very hard to plan out classes in science and math that do not conflict with each other, despite their degree programs. Parking is hard, due to a new wing being openned causing an explosion of new students and teachers. Otherwise the teachers are great and are helpful and despite the recent growth of the school its still easy to get one-on-one time for help.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    In three sentences

    It's a great small-town school, and a great alternative to SIUC for an associates degree, being that it is much cheaper.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is a nice environment to get lunch and go over notes for a quiz or get some homework done.

    Dorm Life

    John A Logan is a community college so there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructors at John A Logan are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I would give for others would be to stay on task and always stay organized.

    In three sentences

    John A Logan is a great college to study at because the class sizes are small. It makes it easier for students to ask questions and get extra help. All of the instructors are always willing to help whenever it's needed.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24-hour security. However they only have about 4 security guards working at a time. One for the parking lot, two walking the halls, and one sitting in the office.

    Greek Life

    No Fraternities or Sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large variety of clubs to choose from. All offer new and exciting opportunities.

    Great for these types of students

    John A is great for those who loved High School and small schools.

    What to do for fun

    Try out for a sports team, join one of the many clubs available.

    Food and Dining

    The food from Chartwells is somewhat expensive, and bland on the taste. But it's not so bad when your hungry and don't have time to leave campus.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have a dorm, so unfortunately for most there is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Most professor's here are laid back, and understanding if a problem arises and it's a valid excuse for not completing your work on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay out of the drama, and be sure to study.

    In three sentences

    John A Logan is just a bigger version of a High School.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a patrol car always nearby, watching for any suspicious activity. It is very safe at this school.

    Greek Life

    I cannot say much about the Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities involved in John A. Logan, but I have not yet to be involved in one.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for high school students looking to get ahead in their college degree. This college is also great for online students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus includes a very pretty walkway over the street below.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of this college is incredible. They truly give more of an educational experience than what you are paying for.

    What to do for fun

    There is not a lot to do around this college for fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are several areas to pick up a snack in between classes

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on this campus since it is only a junior college.

    Academic Rigor

    This college is not rigorous in it's assignments, but it will push you to be the best you can.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, and be courteous to all of your fellow students and teachers.

    In three sentences

    John A. Logan provides a quality education to hundreds of students per year. I have had a great experience while attending this school, and I plan on recommending it to many other prospective students. I have learned many valuable lessons while attending this school, and I

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    great value for what you pay

    What to do for fun

    close to other larger campuses and shopping areas

    In three sentences

    great campus facility, offers many different areas of study, and very affordable

  • 11/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great. They have security available until late at night when the school closes.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty affordable. The books are very expensive though. I would say it's a pretty smart idea to take at least some of your classes at a community college to save.

    What to do for fun

    There's not much to do for fun unless you into sports. I would recommend getting into that or any other organizations that suits you.

    Food and Dining

    I haven't eaten in the cafeteria but they do have vending machines with pretty decent prices.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not have dorms. They do have a large apartment complex that is about a quarter of a mile away. I'm not sure what they are like.

    Academic Rigor

    The instructor's are pretty strict with assignments getting done on time and some classes are a lot of work. But every assignment, test etc. is always in the syllabus handed out the first day of class. Read it thoroughly.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise any student to be aware that stay on top of everything you need to do to actually get though the financial aid and everything to get into the school. There are a lot of forms to fill out and a lot of steps.

    In three sentences

    I think John A. Logan is an okay college that should improve in some areas. The most positive thing I can say is that the teacher's are great. That faculty that you first go through like admissions and financial aid could stand to improve.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask questions and keep you subjects in order.

    In three sentences

    John A. Logan is a great college, because of the excellent teachers and small area. The work is not overwhelming and teachers are always willing to help with any problems that you may have. There are great programs for any major and it is a great start before going to a 4 year school.

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security inside and out. It is a great safe environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cosmetology club is always having a bake sale, which always has wonderful treats. The Christian and Catholic clubs are always doing something too, same with Phi Theta Alpha.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things going on between clubs, events like Hunting and Fishing Days, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    Many choices at the Logan Canteen, and the coffee place in building E.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not living at home, but their dorms are neat.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics could be better, there needs to be more choices, but the work is worth it in whatever you choose, even if it is just generals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to class, skipping will mess you up in the long run. Always do your homework that's assigned. Have fun and meet people while you're there. It is the best years of your life.

    In three sentences

    I rate John A Logan College a 4 out of 5. I love this school. It's easy to get around and just a great atmosphere to be in.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is amazing! they do their job and so much more. i was locked out of my car once and they were able to help me out. i also had a flat tire and they were able to get me in touch with someone that could help.

    What to do for fun

    John A. Logan offers a lot of clubs and sports. They also put on several different performances through out the year. there is almost always something to do either on campus or just around Carterville in general.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is wonderful. i have only been there once or twice but i know everything sure smells wonderful. my friends and i usually just have lunch from the vending machines. there are deli sandwiches and foods of those sorts right at the press of a button.

    Dorm Life

    John A. Logan doesn't have dorms that i know of, but they are building apartments just up the road and from what i hear they are very nice and not too costly.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are smaller and if you have any questions about homework or class work you have time to ask the professors questions. all of my professors have given me either their email address or phone number so that students can reach them with any questions at any time. it is very helpful. in my experience teachers have also been lenient on deadlines and understanding if you have personal things going on at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are in the area, go to this school. Here I learned what I want to be and what to do to make that happen. I was never a huge fan of school, but i do enjoy this one.

    In three sentences

    This is my first time attending a college and I love it. The teachers and faculty are always willing and wanting to help with anything and everything you need. Given financial issues these days this school is more affordable in terms of tuition and book fees than other schools around.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel very safe on campus. Some students even feel safe enough to sleep in the lobbies.

    Greek Life

    There aren't any sororities or fraternities at my community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities including student council, band, choir, baseball, volleyball, basketball, softball, and a large gym to swim or workout.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to have a small class amount but with close connections with their instructors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There seems to always be a fair or blood drive. Sometimes the choir will be singing in the hallways to display what they've learned.

    Bang for the buck

    John A Logan offers some of the cheapest tuition rates I've seen when looking into schools because it is only a community college.

    What to do for fun

    There's not a whole lot to do for fun around the area that the school is located. But in Carbondale, 10 minutes away, there's a mall, restaurants, and night life.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria at John A. Logan provides a pretty good variety of tasty foods. However, they're not always the healthiest choices.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at John A Logan College.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are very good for the most part. A few classes I've taken, though, I felt I didn't take anything from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always know which classes to take for your desired major. If you don't know exactly all the generals you will need, you may end up taking certain classes that don't apply to your major.

    In three sentences

    John A Logan is a fairly small school but with a lot of potential. Most of the teachers are well educated on their subject. The programs are known to be great but very hard to get through.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 21

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a good cafeteria and a Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class. Most generals are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find you class rooms right after you register before your classes start, some of the rooms are not were you think they should be. If you have to take several classes in one department like mathematics or science pay attention to what teachers you do or don't like and keep that in mind when singing up for classes next semester.

    In three sentences

    Affordable with good teachers for the most part. They don't have a ton of fees like some of the other schools in the area. Lots of quiet and secluded places to study and do home work.