Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

John Brown University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/02/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    religious down-to-earth but hyper people like me, not sure HOW to describe that (lol)

    Tips for prospective students

    ask tons of questions. this is the next four years of your life (mine too, i know, scary)! make sure you are comfortable with the college and that it seems good for you.

    Bang for the buck

    US NEWS AND WORLD REPORT:listed JBU as having the highest grad rateamoung southern Baccalaureate colleges and ranked them as No. 2 best college in southern region FORBES:lists NW Arkansas as NO. 4 on its list of best places for careers in the whole country plus, there is TONS of activities, worship services, live bands, sports,ect ect only 25,756 total. tuition=18,032 room and board=6,876 fees=848

    Will enjoy being here

    deffinetly

    Will learn a lot

    JBU is amazing from what I have read, saw on virtual tour, and heard. the people there are from all over the country. It is a religious school, so (as at all schools) I am sure there will be SOME drinking, but when you go there, you sign an agreement saying you won't do that on or off campus. It seems like the perfect place for me. The only thing about JBU i don't like is that it is in Arkansas and I am in PA. I will have to be far from my family for a long time, and I'm not yet sure how I will handle that. To counter-set this fact is the fct that they have host families that will take you in, pray for you, hang out with you, and become your second (or third) family. JBU seems like a really genuine place, and when I call, all I have to do is say my first name and Ryan (my admissions counselor) knows EXACTLY who I am. I love the intimacy there. I haven't even gone and I can already picture myself there for the next four years

  • 10/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who doesn't like wearing shoes to class, who likes smaller private schools, who loves Christ or wants to know what that's all about or wants to further their love for Christ.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask lots and lots of questions and don't be afraid to stay up later than normal and get up at the same time in order to enjoy student dorm life. And relax, God knows what He's doing. :)

    Bang for the buck

    Eh, I'm still figuring out how to pay for this college without being too much in debt, but I believe God will find a way if He wants me here :)

    Am enjoying being here

    JBU is amazing. We have something going on all the time from concerts to late-skates to athletic games to cultural lunches. Who else has a Toilet Paper basketball game? We also have amazing people that make ordinary life awesome. And I actually enjoy going to class.

    Am learning a lot

    I love learning everything from a Christian worldview. All of my classes always intertwine somehow. What I'm learning in one will carry over to the next. I don't just have to learn what they are teaching me. I want to learn it. Also, the art classes are the best I've ever taken. And those gen ed classes that no one wants to take are still good and I end up looking back on them and realizing just how much I am using what the professor taught me.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    cute downtown and lots of fun hikes.

    Food and Dining

    lots of choices and a great salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    again, i haven't lived on campus yet, but when i have stayed in the dorms everyone seemed to get along really well and there were plenty of hall activities and everyone seemed to love their neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    to be honest, i don't know yet, but all the class i sat in on seemed to be very challenging, beneficial, and engaging.

    Tips for prospective students

    -visit the campus, you haven't experienced the real jbu until you set foot on campus. -stay in a dorm, it is the best way to get to know students and see what going to jbu will be like. -visit a class in your future field of study, this is what you life is going to be like for the next four years. do you enjoy what you see / experience? if not, you might want to examine your intended major or school. -ask any and all questions, the people at jbu are there and ready to help. -ask god for guidance. jbu is the school for me, but that doesn't mean it is the school for you. god has a plan for your life and he is ready to show you if you ask him. but i do hope that plan brings you to john brown university, because it truly is a wonderful school.

    In three sentences

    john brown university is a fantastic school filled with wonderful people and opportunities. there is an overwhelming sense of community when you get to campus. people just genuinely care for each other and love jesus, and you experience this love in every dorm, class, and office you visit.

  • 11/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JBU is an amazing place for students who wish to accel academically, socially, and spiritually. I've grown closer to God since I've been here, made more friends than I ever could've expected, and learned more than I ever did in high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early on applying for financial aid. JBU is VERY generous with their scholarship fund, you just have to apply sooner rather than later.

    Bang for the buck

    Although JBU is a little pricey, it was ranked by US World Report as the #1 Christian college in the south! I'm so glad I made the decision to come here. They strive to take care of you, no matter your financial background, which is a major factor in school choice.

    Am enjoying being here

    The community at JBU is amazing. People are always so warm and welcoming, not to mention willing to help. I love being surrounded by people of similar faith.

    Am learning a lot

    The staff here at JBU really know their stuff. My calculus professor wrote our entire text book. My Islamic art teacher doesn't only teach it, he goes on archeological digs in Jordan every summer.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safty is good but some improvements can be made

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and Activities are exceptional.

    Great for these types of students

    If you were home-schooled or very conservative and liberal Christian, this is the place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual traditions are annual bonfires, birthday brigades, and homecoming events

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is ridiculously high but the education is worth it

    What to do for fun

    Go to Fayetteville, AR and Rogers, AR for good fun and excitement. Also recommended is Tulsa, OK.

    Food and Dining

    Dining services are not satisfactory, although in the Fall 2013, a new dining services will come in, raising the possibility of good quality food.

    Dorm Life

    Engage with the guys or girls in your dormitory. Dorm life encourages brotherhood or sisterhood. Encourages spiritual accountability for one another and dorm events promote campus unity.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic system is intriguing and encourages students to engage in subjects taught to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    *Put God first in everything you do *Major in something that you love *Engage in ministries and organizations *Have fun and remain focused academically

    In three sentences

    John Brown University is known for its Christian accredited education and values. Although this institution lacks the emphasis of cultural diversity, the education system is superb in all its areas of studies. Lastly, campus life is engaging in its activities and weekly worship services.

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to receive a high-quality Christian education Students who want a small student-professor ratio

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! I am now a student ambassador and the one thing that I have seen to ruin someones experience at JBU is to shut yourself up in your room. The campus community is fun and welcoming but you have to put in effort as well. Buy your books online unless it is a professor's edition...you will save a lot of money! Explore Siloam Springs and the surrounding communities because there is quite a bit to do off-campus!

    Bang for the buck

    JBU has been listed as one of the top universities in US News and World report for best colleges in the South for all the years that I have attended. As a student we receive an Ivy league level of education for half of the cost. The professors are very well-educated, with many of them being published and either working on or have already received doctorates. The buildings on campus are well kept and very nice. Campus is also growing at a fast rate after the University's Keeping the Faith Campaign which funded the new Gym, the new Performing Arts Center, Cathedral Group renovations, the new engineering building, and added a new wing to a dorm among many other things. JBU is blessed to have gracious alumni and donors which keeps JBU's tuition costs low in comparison to universities with similar campuses and academic programs.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have really enjoyed being at John Brown! I was worried that I wasn't going to be able to make a close group of friends or get involved on campus. However within the first week of my freshman year I made friends that I still have to this day! New and transfer student orientation helps students to get involved right from the start which really helped. There are many student ministries and clubs that students can easily get involved in. JBU does really well at fostering community!

    Am learning a lot

    John Brown University is the place to go if you want to grow not only educationally, but also spiritually and socially. I am currently a Senior at JBU and I have learned more in the few years that I have been here than I had in my entire life. Every professor that I have had pushes their students to go beyond the text and the designated curriculum and explore different perspectives on the subject being studied. They also do a fantastic job of integrating faith and learning, which has been incredible!

  • 09/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JBU is great for students who are looking for a private school that is small and offers competitive academics as well as an intimate peer-peer community with a fun campus life!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus and be sure to stay in one of the dorms. Don't be afraid to talk to people about classes and campus life. Go to The Gathering and see the community of students. Stop by Pour Jon's coffee shop in Downtown Siloam Springs and get a cup of tea or coffee. Be sure to apply early!!

    Bang for the buck

    Even though it is a private school, JBU is still very affordable for many people. It is among the cheapest of the schools on the same level while being the #1 school in the South region for baccalaureate schools. JBU also offers a number of scholarships and grants that come from a huge network of Alumni and supporters.

    Am enjoying being here

    JBU is an great place to be at for college! Not only are the facilities top notch, the people are very inviting and welcoming. JBU has built three brand new buildings since I have been a student here with top of the line class rooms and technologies. The other buildings also have great learning environments for the many majors offered. The community that is present on this campus also makes it such a great place to take classes. Each of the dorms on campus has special traditions and characteristics that make great environments for students. There is always a fun activity happening on the weekends or on weeknights including Varsity Athletics, concerts, mini golf, or dances! I truly love being here and I wouldn't choose to go anywhere else.

    Am learning a lot

    The academic rigorous at JBU is incredible and I am learning so much in all of my classes. Because of a small student to faculty ratio, you get valuable time with your professors as they are teaching class. And the professors actually want you to learn and will go out of their way to help you to understand a subject. You will be challenged through discussions, papers and reading but it is worth it when you recognize how much knowledge you have gained.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food was pretty good actually.

    Dorm Life

    i didn't stay in the dorms, but others who did said it was great.

    Academic Rigor

    they seem to have very good academics and the professors are all well qualified.

    In three sentences

    john brown university is awesome! i had a great time when i visited!

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    non traditional students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    i am not very familiar with this yet.

    What to do for fun

    i have heard of several musical programs the school offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    sounds like a great school with flexible programs for non traditional students.

    In three sentences

    the registration process has not been easy. the school counselor has been very professional. it appears like there is not a clearly defined role of the people communicating back to the students.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's hard to find trouble on this campus, and even if you did, campus safety (fondly known as campo) would save you immediately. they also make a point to teach self-defense classes once in a while.

    Greek Life

    no greek life here, although there's a suite in j. alvin that decided to start calling themselves delta sigma phi. they made sweatshirts.

    Clubs and Activities

    see previous statements!

    Great for these types of students

    all types! if you're an academian, there's plenty of your academic brethren to hang with and learn from. if you're a socialite, like i said, there's plenty to do. if you're a weirdo, look me up! i love weirdos. (i am a weirdo. we'll have a weird party in your honor!) everyone can find a place to fit in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are so many! mock rock and our talent show are great times to simultaneously show off and make a fool of yourself. then there's the tp game (did you see it on espn?), where, at the first men's basketball game of the season, when they make their first basket, we absolutely bury the court in toilet paper. as for unusual locations, there's all sorts of nooks and crannies to explore. i love to hang out by the hundred steps, a huge, ancient staircase behind the business building. the quad is gorgeous nearly all year, a lovely place to sit and relax.

    Bang for the buck

    it is super expensive to go, i will admit, but jbu is good about giving scholarships, and it's very worth it. our professors are all authorities in their various subjects, and they will not waste your time or your money.

    What to do for fun

    there's always something to do around here! to name some of the stuff you can get involved in: student newspaper, student government, outreach ministries (everything from nursing home visits to elementary school tutoring to missions trips), dorm get-togethers, jbu swing society, the nature society, the next big thing (a musical competition of epic proportions), chorus and pep band, plays and musicals, mock rock (the best lip-syncing contest ever), debate and forensics, intramurals (from rugby to ultimate frisbee to, soon, quiddich)...and that's not even the half of it!

    Food and Dining

    i do wish we were a little bigger, so that we had more options for food, but if there's nothing edible for the main course, there's always a salad bar, a sandwich line, and pizza to be found. plus, the cafeteria staff really do care about the students.

    Dorm Life

    you won't find a better dorm situation. your neighbors won't cuss at you for telling them that their techno is really loud. your ra's are caring and listen to you, always. if you like a trendy new dorm, walker and north are the place to be; if the idea of community appeals, j. alvin and mayfield have got your back.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics are challenging, but always manageable, with professors who really care and are interested in helping you succeed. plus, it's all centered around faith. the rugby team sums it up best: christ over all.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you're looking for a math degree, you might want to go somewhere else, but the science program is growing all the time, and we have amazing business, art, and engineering departments.

    In three sentences

    john brown is a great university. their faith-centered curriculum is challenging and always keeps god in mind. if you can afford it, it's well worth the cost, a wonderful place to figure out who you are.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is great, there is very few reports of issues on campus and the safety team is super nice and loving towards the students on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    JBU has the Toilet paper game, that is held during the first men,s home basketball game. It's a sight to see and be a part of.

    Bang for the buck

    Students like to sell each other books and this is usually the best price besides online deals.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is the movies in Siloam and Pour Jon's (Local coffee shop) that provide hang out spots for must of the campus but if you want to go some where for the weekend there are about three big Cities only 30 to 45 minutes away which have all the shopping malls, big name stores and other activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is good but has its downs just like any other cafe. but there is a coffee shop on campus that sells Starbucks and food. it might be a little expensive but you also have the local fast food restaurants and dinners in Siloam Springs AR, where JBU is located, that are about five minutes away at the most.

    Dorm Life

    No I have to say I live off campus but there is so much social activities that i have never felt left out and from what my friends have told me they love dorm life so far.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of class diversity in JBU, from art to science and bible to business and education. There is no such thing as no place for anyone. The classes will be challenging as you get up in the upper level classes, but don't let that discourage. The professors here want to get the best out of you they can and keep up on current research.

    Tips for prospective students

    If I were you don't let the price scare you, trust me I made that mistake. Take the time to take a tour of campus look around and no that it is the universities goal to help anyone they can come to JBU, no matter what your back ground is. It is a Christian college but there are so many that are not Christian that come to JBU and no one is belittled. Dont be afraid to talk to the students on campus, we are so willing and eager to talk to and welcome any prospective students.

    In three sentences

    There is one amazing thing about John Brown and that's the professors are always there for you. You can always find a fellow student willing to help you in school and in personal life. The sense of community is so strong, it ends up being more like family.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Christian, striving to grow spiritually and in their education

    What to do for fun

    Most of the fun is in campus!

    Dorm Life

    There are options for different personality types.

    Academic Rigor

    John Brown, though small, is challenges its students academically to the standards of many better known colleges. The teachers are highly qualified and have an extensive amount of knowledge in their subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application in early. Go to a visit day and bring a friend who is also interested. Explore the town a little bit before you commit. (it is a small town, most of the fun is on campus!) Make sure you have applied before the scholarship competition, you don't want to miss such a great opportunity.

    In three sentences

    John Brown is an incredible Christian university that combines a strong belief in Christ with challenging academics. The environment is encouraging and the goal for all faculty, staff, and students, is the success of the class as a whole. There are also enormous amounts of career opportunities after graduation as JBU equips students with experience and internships that foster success.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It seems like the same thing day in and day out, but it's pretty tasty, and the dining hall is never left a mess.

    Dorm Life

    You'll be surrounded by people who will ask how you are when you walk by in the hall, who will randomly come by to say hi, and who will help you stay focused on academics as well as help you have fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Every class is challenging, even if it isn't an Honors one. The professors know what they're talking about, and are willing to help if you are struggling. But, even with help, studying and preparation are key.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions about whatever comes to mind. Even if the person you are talking to doesn't know, they can connect you to someone who does.

    In three sentences

    A campus full of welcoming, caring people, from students to staff. You won't just be a face in the crowd: many people will know your name and will ask how you are, and they'll mean it.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are several clubs you can join to keep you busy. They also have a swimming pool and fields to play sports. Off campus they have a large selection of shopping malls and shopping outlets. JBU is between two of the largest malls in Northwest Arkansas.

    Food and Dining

    JBU has a cafeteria, snack shop, and a pub where students can go eat, snack, or hang out. The snack shop stayed open late for those who snack late.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very nice. I'm going to live in the North Hall which I was very impressed with. North Hall has many different styles of living. You can choose from living in the suite or a more traditional dorm style. The rooms are decent sized and well decorated.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a good reputation. Employers would choose a student who graduated at JBU over other colleges. I'm going in Business and they're business degrees are top ranked. They win first place in competitions whether it's from SIFE or their senior projects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take a tour of the campus before you go. It will help you meet your counselor and get an idea as to where everything is. You also get to meet some of your professors who you can sit down with and create your schedule for the next 4 years.

    In three sentences

    John Brown University is a well organized university. The campus is beautiful and the faculty are kind. They also have a good reputation among employers.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food isn't the best but we have a wide variety in selections. but when you eat with good friends you don't really pay attention to what your eating

    Dorm Life

    I love our campus dorms we have two co-ed dorms and an all girls dorm and an all guys dorm so you can pick which dorm you are more comfortable staying in

    Academic Rigor

    We do have to work very hard to achieve a 'good' grade but in the end it is totally worth all the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to have fun and learn a lot about how our college students live.

    In three sentences

    John Brown is an awesome school. the campus is safe and everyone around campus is very nice to everyone. We have all around good characters.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    JBU is so cheap and so generous with scholarships. It is a great school with great prices.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great--there is something new every day, and if you have a little more time, there is plenty of other restaurants a short walk away.

    Dorm Life

    All the RAs and RDs make the dorm a great place to live. Community bathrooms might seem horrible, but they provide community within the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    It's not an Ivy League school, but the academics are great and JBU is well-recognized.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in the dorms. It might not seem like that big of a deal, but it is. I have visited twice (since my sister attends JBU) and only stayed in the dorms once. My experience the second time, when I stayed with the students, was very different from the first time. You feel a lot more connected when you feel almost like a student there.

    In three sentences

    JBU is a great place for people who like a homey feel. The faculty and staff are great, caring people who love everyone so much. The classes and student life are bar-none.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We don't have any sororities/fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not active in any clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Christian students who want to learn and are willing to dig deeper into their faith

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Toilet Paper Game! The First basketball game of the season is called the TP game. When our team makes their first 2 or 3 point shot, everyone in the stands throws rolls of toilet paper onto the court. Then we clean it up as fast as we can. It is so much fun!

    Bang for the buck

    U.S. News rated JBU as #1 best value! Here is the article if you would like to read more. http://www.jbu.edu/news/press_releases/?id=9211

    What to do for fun

    Siloam Springs is a small town so there isn't a lot to do. But there are cheap options in the area. There are lots of places in northwest Arkansas to go hiking. Swepco is a heated lake that people like to go to. Springdale, Rodgers, and Fayetteville are only 30 minutes away so if you want to go shopping or something you can always go there.

    Food and Dining

    It's cafeteria food. The staff is really nice and the California Cafe has good snacks and coffee.

    Dorm Life

    I have so much fun in the girls' dorm (Mayfield)! It can get a little loud but the sense of family and community is great!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers want you to excel and will push you to do your best. However they are not going to make the class a easy A. Work hard and don't be afraid to ask for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay positive! It will be tough at first but college life gets easier. Listen to your teachers and do the readings. Find a good group of people to spend time with. College is a great place to make new friends. And find the best way for you to manage your time. You should make time for friends but you also need to make time for homework and studying.

    In three sentences

    John Brown is a Christ-centered learning environment. The campus is beautiful and the people are caring. It is a great community to pursue higher education and a wonderful place to find out who you really are.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never had anything stolen from me, and I always feel safe.

    Greek Life

    None-- no Greek stress or drama! Just awesome dorm families!

    Clubs and Activities

    KuKappa Enactus Side-by-side Intramural Sports Club Rugby Leaders Scholars Institute

    Great for these types of students

    Christian (any denomination) Engineers Education Majors Construction Management majors Missionary Kids International Students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's the MK events-- the annual Goat Roast and the Float Trip. There's a chapel dedicated to celebrating different countries known as the Flag ceremony. There's Mock Rock, which is a lip-singing and dancing competition, and a Talent show.

    Bang for the buck

    I love JBU! It has totally met my needs and gone beyond my expectations!

    What to do for fun

    There's a small running trail that goes along the creek behind campus to walk, run, or bike on. There's a cute little town to explore or have lunch or dinner in. Fayetteville is a mere 45 minutes away for a day trip. There's several places around to go hiking at. Intramural sports, campus events, and random, fun things you'll find to do with your friends!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're not big on the small-town Christian school kind of thing, this isn't the place for you. However, if you love to have good, clean, safe fun, get involved with international projects, meet diverse people, and have great discussions with professors who truly care, I guarantee JBU would love to have you.

    In three sentences

    It's a fun, diverse community full of loving people, hardworking, godly people. There's plenty of ways to have good, clean fun while gaining an excellent education at the same time. JBU prepares students for their careers, society, and life.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I truly do believe that John Brown University is the best suited school for me. The staff and instructors are always very helpful and I love the small setting of the classrooms. The small classrooms allows us to interact and have more indepth discussions.

  • 06/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel so safe here!! The campus knows each face and so can recognize any stranger. If you have any safety concerns at all, just let them know and they'll help you out.

    Food and Dining

    I'm not so sure anymore, because we're getting a different providor for 2013.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can get annoying, because most students are in the all boy or all girl dorms. But, it also teaches you patience.

    Academic Rigor

    If this means how consuming are academics...then VERY. The classes are pretty intense but the professors are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships! It's a pretty expensive school but so worth it. The friends you will make here will last a lifetime.

    In three sentences

    The education is of the highest quality. The RAs are harder to talk to than just another caring student. I would recommend this school to anyone.

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is amazing in that it is not only wonderful landscaped but also very secure. The inaction of the buddy system has ensured a very safe campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    JBU offers several clubs and activities to keep students active in the student community while also being able to socialize. The activities range from sports whether it be club or attending a sport to even community outreach programs.

    What to do for fun

    There are a great many things that a student can do for fun from clubs to sports or even tutoring others.

    Food and Dining

    John Brown offers a wide variety of choices for every meal to accommodate any health problem and eating habits.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are amazing. There has been a lot of remodeling of the dorms to ensure that they are more modern and appealing not only to those returning but also to make the new students to feel as though they are at home.

    Academic Rigor

    though very intense academically it does not seem that one is doing as much work as they are doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    this is an excellent university and although it is a bit more expensive than some other colleges and universities, it provides not only a top notch education but also knows the students individually and works with each student in whatever they need help in. They take a personal interest in you and try to have you reaching your full potential. In short this is one of top schools for continuing one's education.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is inviting as the incoming and current students welcoming each new member and student as a part of the new family of John Brown University. Although it is more from one's budget it is worth it from not only the strong Christian foundation but also to a modern campus that provides a home like environment with an individualized system in matching roommates and events that include all students. the most important factor would have to be the interest that each professor has for each student to succeed to their full potential and striving to live out the Christian faith as an example for others.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There haven't been any issues so far. There are on-campus police cars and a 24/7 safety hotline you can call for any reason. They will also escort you across campus at night if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    Doesn't exist! But you'll make friends through your dorm pretty fast. :)

    Clubs and Activities

    Just about anything you could imagine! Here's what I can think of off the top of my head: swing dancing club, anime club, intramural sports, Dead Poets Society, student government, student ministry, missions trips, Enactus (formerly known as SIFE), honors program, Visual Arts club, choir, band, orchestra, plays....the list goes on!

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, motivated, curious, honest/genuine, hard-working, fun-loving, and of course, Christian. side note: The campus and classroom have a distinct Christian emphasis, so be aware of this. If this is what you are looking for, then JBU is just about as good as it gets! But if you don't want this, consider attending somewhere else, or just be prepared for it.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it is a private college, so it's going to be more expensive than staying in state. That being said, it is very reasonable for a college of it's quality. (In fact, U.S. News just rated it the #1 value Southern college!). Also, they are pretty generous with financial aid, but you still need to try to apply for as many scholarships as possible!!

    What to do for fun

    Siloam Springs is a small town, but if you are looking for something to do there is nearly always something going on at JBU. Seriously, it's crazy how alive this campus is. Whatever your interest, there is bound to be a club or group for you. There is also a cute downtown area, and awesome hiking trails near by. We're also just about 45 minutes from lots of bigger cities, like Rogers and Fayetteville, that offer shopping, concerts, restaurants, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food-service provider is new this year, and according to upperclassmen, it is much better! Of course, it's caf food, so it's not going to be the same as a home cooked meal, but overall they have LOTS of variety and options for every meal. Here's the low-down on what they offer every day: Breakfast: waffles, omelets, biscuits and gravy, eggs, hashbrowns, yogurt, fruit, granola, and cereal Lunch/Dinner: Taco station, sandwich and wrap bar, pizza and pasta station, vegetarian/gluten free station, salad bar, home cooked station (stuff like baked chicken, mixed veggies, mashed potatoes), all American station (burgers, fries, etc), and a fresh station that serves up more ethnic inspired foods. And of course, tons of desserts and ice cream, soft drinks, coffee, and tea.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life so far is awesome! Each dorm has it's own unique community. There are co-ed dorms, an all-girls dorm, and an all-guys dorm. The RA's are very caring and kind, and the dorm room is bigger than I expected. Everyone I've met is really nice, and you can choose how social you want to be. If you're an extrovert, there will be plenty of opportunities for hanging out, meeting people, etc. But if not, that's okay too, and you can still have a very positive experience.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, I have experienced what I feel is an appropriate level of academic rigor. I am taking 17 hours, which is more than the average freshman load, but I feel it is just the right combination of challenging, yet manageable. The professors genuinely want you to succeed, and for the most part they are very approachable. They are interested in you as a person, not only a student. It is common for professors to have students over for dinner or movies! The academic environment here is very unique. The profs are dedicated to your growth, not just intellectually, but emotionally and spiritually as well. It will be a challenge, but not impossible or ridiculous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for a campus visit so you can get a feel for the community. The genuine friendliness I experienced on my visit was a big factor in my decision to attend.

    In three sentences

    JBU is a wonderful place to live and study! The motto, head, heart, hand, exemplifies their focus on educating the whole person. You are NOT just a number here!

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Toilet paper Basketball game is pretty funny

    Bang for the buck

    I love the whole person approach to teaching. I feel I'll leave JBU a better person

    What to do for fun

    Pour Jons Coffee shop downtown Fayetteville/Rogers not too far but far enough that you stick to your studies Movies, outdoor activities like slack lining, frisbee, soccer, school sports

    Food and Dining

    Always a variety - the staff is really friendly & the facilities are always clean.

    Dorm Life

    I've personally felt at home from the beginning and am now involved in helping plan, implement and promote dorm activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others depending on the major but the professors work with you

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on visitation dates and try to stay with a current student Get to know your local admissions rep Know that your degree may change - JBU will be there for you

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Christian, hardworking, fun-loving, friendly, involved, service-oriented

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Walker Dorm hosts an absolutely amazing Christmas party in which they go all-out to decorate halls so that the building is absolutely unrecognizable. Each hall has a theme and competes for first place. It looks so incredible!

    Bang for the buck

    It's an expensive school, but the financial aid department helps a lot, and there are a ton of workstudy positions available. For a private school, too, it's not too expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, walk in the graveyard at night, wade in the creek, walk to downtown Siloam, drive to Fayetteville, watch a movie

    Food and Dining

    The food is flavorful and fairly varied. I wish it was healthier sometimes, but they do their best to cater to everyone. The desserts are absolutely amazing.

    Dorm Life

    Each of the dorms has its own quirks--Mayfield and J-Alvin, the all-girls and all-guys dorms, have the best community and dorm pride, although they may be slightly run-down. Walker and Hutch are beautiful and polished, but they lack some of the personality that makes the other two dorms really special. The friendships I've made in the dorms has been a highlight of my experience so far!

    Academic Rigor

    My courses have been challenging so far. The assignments may seem overwhelming, but if managed properly, they are doable. The assignments are almost always practical and apply to your life, your faith, or your future career. The honors program provides further opportunities for rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're certain that you want to attend a Christian school, I can't think of a better one to go to. People are so friendly here, and the academics are challenging. Professional experience is built into the majors. If you are interested in a career in engineering, art, or education, come to JBU!

    In three sentences

    JBU is a friendly and academically challenging school for Christian students. It boasts a very diverse student body from many different states and across the world. It is affordable and worth the cost.

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is awesome. You will have several kinds of food. We have Mexican, salad bar, pizza, vegetarian, sandwiches, ice cream, and several others stations that always have new dishes for every meal.

    Dorm Life

    JBU has four dorms and each one is unique in it's own way. I live in Hutchenson Hall and it is the newest dorm that was build on campus. Rooms are big, you have your personal sink that only you and your roommate share and, also, bathroom that you share with roommate and sweetemates (2 of them).

    Academic Rigor

    I am a freshman in JBU. After studying there for only one semester, I feel like I have learned more in those six month's then I have learned during my whole life. Professor's are amazing! I loved all of them. Students are very kind and you are able to find a study group for your class really easy (if you are looking for one).

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We had an incident last year with the Siloam Spanker, some guy who would attempt to spank people walking on the trails in the middle of the day. And that's about as crazy as the crime gets around here. The Siloam Spanker was quickly taken care of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are like a thousand different clubs, some for fun, others for experience. And many clubs are activley involved in campus life.

    Great for these types of students

    Open minded

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    So many....

    Bang for the buck

    Ranked #1 in Best Value in the entire southern region of the United States by the US News and World Report. Considering the price of tuition that really says something.

    What to do for fun

    One of the multiple activites that are always going on around campus. One time, a group of people put up an inflatable bouncy house in the middle of the quad because why not! There's also a lot of good hiking in the area!

    Food and Dining

    Could be better but there are definitely days where the food is awesome!

    Dorm Life

    Fantastic community! Everyone here is very open minded and come from unique backgrounds!

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged but it won't be entirely daunting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit. I did not think much of JBU until I visited but it soon became very clear to me that this is the perfect college. As Mr. Donald Soderquist puts it John Brown is one of Arkansas' hidden gems. In addition to business we have top programs in nearly every single major.

    In three sentences

    The most fantastic business school you will find. One on one interaction with a premium education. Located next to one of the largest areas of business in the world, it is easy to make connections with people who are already prominent in the business world.