Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

John C Calhoun State Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is good for all types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just start going and get into it and you will really enjoy it. It is something that you will use the rest of your life. Have fun and get envolved with extra activities there. There is a tutoring program which is great . I used it last semester and plan to use it this semester and it is free. This program is called the ROADS program.

    Bang for the buck

    I volunteer at Athens Hospital in education and I volunteer at Friendship Methodist church doing the front desk and the nursery.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really love going to school and all the instructors have been very nice and help me with all I need.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned alot while I have been going. I am a student this semester. I haven't been in school in 30 years before last semester.

  • 08/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking to go back to college; Looking to receive your basics; Great for nursing; Students who want a Vocational Certificate or an Associates degree; Those who are looking for a cheaper education, but still want a quality education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't buy your books until you have had your first class. I bought all mine the week before classes started, all a bunch of people had books that were a lot cheaper. I would have done this but the online bookstore is not vary specific on their text book policy. Wait until your professor gives you instructions.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very cheap in comparison to other colleges. The tuition is currently $131 per credit hour and this covers fees, parking, student ID and your classes. The books are pretty high, but most teachers will try to help you find a cheaper alternative.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone here is pretty nice. The teachers are really great. Most of the make huge efforts to help their students excel in their class.

    Am learning a lot

    The first week you will feel like you are not really learning much, but it gets better. Some of the classes are made to be easier for the students

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always on the prowl and it makes all the students feel safe especially the evening students.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have so many clubs and activities going on and the official website calhoun.edu can inform you about the clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for Part-time or full-time workers and parents. Great for students fresh out of high school getting the basics for a four year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Behind the Decatur campus there is a private airport. The airport always have planes flying at all sorts of times.

    Bang for the buck

    You will most definitely get your moneys worth for the school. It's one of the most reasonable prices around. They offer renting for books and tools for the students that don't have the financial funds to cover it. They provide free tutoring as well.

    What to do for fun

    There are different groups to join and it is as simple as signing up at an event. They often have free hamburger or pizza lunches and there is were all the fun is. They have fun contests all the time and they always have every student excited about they upcoming plays.

    Food and Dining

    They have one of the best cafes. All of their delicious meals are made with love and they always have new sandwiches and coffee drinks. You'll never get bored.

    Dorm Life

    They do not provide dorms. Everyone commutes from home.

    Academic Rigor

    They are the top community college in North Alabama and the programs are very competitive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always make a good first impression, and if you are having trouble just ask your teachers they are your friends.

    In three sentences

    A very helpful and inviting school. The teachers are so dedicated, they work with you one on one. The atmosphere is magnificiant and its exciting to go to school.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a Subway near the campus and a cafe inside the bookstore. Both places offer great-tasting foods!

    Dorm Life

    Since it's a community college, Calhoun does not have dorms.

    In three sentences

    Calhoun is a great college to attend! Not only are the students friendly, but the professors and advisers are always willing to help. I would strongly advise anyone who are planning on completing their basic requirements to attend this college.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are monitoring the Campus during operation hours.

    Greek Life

    Calhoun does not have sorority groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    Calhoun allows student with the opportunity to engage in sports such as basketball, softball and etc. Calhoun has events monthly whether its a Mr. and Ms. Calhoun election party or a relaxed Wendy's Free Chili Day.

    Great for these types of students

    Calhoun is great college for any type of student. Calhoun contains University students and/or high school students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of people like to sit and talk in the Student Center. The Student Center contains couches, tables, and a lunch area.

    Bang for the buck

    Calhoun's has low tuition rates, great teachers, helpful advisors and a resourceful library.

    What to do for fun

    Calhoun is located near the Sci-quest building, which contains science related activities. The Mall is near. And the Space and Rocket center is near. Calhoun offers club programs and work study.

    Food and Dining

    Calhoun is near the Bridge Street Mall, where you can go to shop, walk, eat, talk, laugh and more. They have several dining areas.

    Dorm Life

    Calhoun does not provide dorms for their students.

    Academic Rigor

    Calhoun is a comprehensive college. What I mean is that they except all their students to understand and be able to recite what they have read and/ or learned.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend prospective students to talk with an advisor before taking any classes.

    In three sentences

    Calhoun is a great college. It is two-year college that allows you to earn your degree in Health Science, Biology, Arts and more. Calhoun is a college known locally for having low tuition rates. Calhoun provides their students with excellent studying skills, library resources, researching tips, and more. I would highly recommend Calhoun Community to anyone.

  • 06/16/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never had an issue with safety at Calhoun, nor was their any issue for my entire year of study.

    Greek Life

    There are none.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was only a part of the Calhoun Warhawks, which is a wonderful organization to join. I don't know much about the other clubs, although I do know that Calhoun has a Spanish Club, and a new Gaming Society.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for an alternative to an expensive university and a college that will give credit for any class taken. All classes taken at Calhoun will be accepted in any college/university in Alabama.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are none to my knowledge.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, I have to say that Calhoun is an excellent school. It's cheaper than a university and it maintains wonderful standards for a community college. Also, an FYI - Calhoun is the largest community college in the state of Alabama

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on the Huntsville Campus. That is slowly changing though, as more and more clubs are being created. I was a Calhoun Warhawk. The warhawks are basically student ambassadors and we help out at school events, community service activities, etc. It is a lot of fun, and it is truly an honor to represent the school.

    Food and Dining

    On the Huntsville campus, you will find Chick-Fil-A for lunch and Kira's Lunchbox from 1:30 to around 3:00 at the student center. And naturally, you will find Vending Machines. I have never tried Chick-Fil-A or Kira's Lunchbox, so I don't have much to say. But my friend has told me that Chick-Fil-A is unusually expensive.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Calhoun.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor varies from class to class, but I can definitely say that if you do your homework, pay attention, and come to class, you will succeed. The professors are also very supportive and want you to succeed as well. I personally did not find most of my classes challenging since I did exactly what I mentioned above. Some classes do require a tad bit of extra effort. My BUS120 class (Business Class) is hands down, the most difficult class I ever took at Calhoun. I am a Math guy and BUS120 was a tough class because of the amount of material covered in the short span of 1 semester. I will also say that I had one of the best math teachers I have ever had in my life. Mrs. Bright does everything in her capacity to help her students succeed. The bottom line is that it is up to you, whether or not you want to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't slack off - In every class, you will find the slackers and the silent hard workers. Make use of their facilities - I was a regular at Calhoun's cyber cafe, library and student center. Have Fun! - I had a nice time at Calhoun. Since I was coming straight from high school, even 19 credit hours (maximum load) wasn't all that difficult. I would relax in library and do homework while listening to music.

    In three sentences

    I studied at the Huntsville campus for two semesters and I have to say that I have had a wonderful time. I took 19 credit hours my 1st semester and 16 hours my second semester and will be transferring to Emory University. This school has wonderful professors, is a place I looked forward to go to everyday, and is a college I'd definitely recommend to anyone, any day.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always near-by. The campus is extremely safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Calhoun offers many club opportunities. The clubs are interactive and represent the college proudly.

    What to do for fun

    Calhoun has a room called The Hawk's Nest, which is where students can mingle with friends and play games between classes.

    Food and Dining

    Calhoun Community College has an amazing cafe, Common Grounds. The prices are reasonable and the food tastes amazing.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are softly challenging, but completely packed with useful information.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to go to the advisers or talk to a teacher, the staff is happy to help with any problem.

    In three sentences

    John C Calhoun State Community College has been an amazing experience. The teachers are nice and happily help students whom are having trouble in class. I would defiantly give Calhoun Five stars.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We always have Chik Fil A, but also our bookstore has great snacks

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a lot different then high school. I would stay prepared and stay in check with your classes

    In three sentences

    Calhoun Community College is a great hands-on Community College. The teachers there help with anything needed and you always have someone to rely on. This college is a great college for anyone to attend

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security supervised the campus everyday; in and outside the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    Softball, Baseball, Choir, Nursing Club, Base Fishing Club, Phi Theta Kappa, etc

    Great for these types of students

    Students who live near Northern Alabama. Students who love to learn and get the basic of college out of the way, before entering a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    Calhoun Community College students are very nice and considerate. The professors help students one on one. The advisors help students enter into a four year university.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club Play sports

    Dorm Life

    No Dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Great Programs Top community nurses

    Tips for prospective students

    * Great Community * A lot of support from the administers * Small classes *Low tuition and fees

    In three sentences

    John C Calhoun State Community College is a great place to be. Calhoun tuition is the best in the state of Alabama. Calhoun administers want their students to be the very best that he or she can be.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Calhoun has a well qualified security detail with explains the low crime rate. Recently, a non-smoking policy went into effect causing security to be more present on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and organizations for every type of student.

    What to do for fun

    Calhoun not only offers club events, but also campus-wide events both in the fall and the spring. The drama department has plays during the semester and the art department has their semi-annual art show.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great little cofffee shop inside the library that serves hot coffee with southern hospitality.

    Dorm Life

    There is not any dorms on these campuses.

    Academic Rigor

    Calhoun's acedemic catalog is filled with a vast array of programs of study. Programs of study from Areospace Tech and Nursing to Criminal Justice and Psychology. Recently they added Robotics to the campus with a new state-of-the-art facility.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip I could give to prospective students is to get involved in the school. There are great academic and social clubs on the campuses, as well as events that involve all students.

    In three sentences

    Calhoun is an ideal place for the older student. The classes are small and personal. The staff in most departments are extremely student oriented.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always on their feet to keep each one of you safe.

    Great for these types of students

    All students are great for this school.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for the education you get.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with friends/classmates or doing club activities inside the school.

    Food and Dining

    They have a campus store for your needs, but nothing major outside of the restaurants nearby.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm for the Huntsville campus so there was no dorm feeling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the stay and go to class!

    In three sentences

    I learned a lot in this school and I would recommend people going here. Very cheap, good education, good place to start. Community inside the college was helpful and fun to be in.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    various

    Great for these types of students

    Straight out of High School, as well as, the non-traditional student looking for a career change and need new skills.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living, all commuters

    In three sentences

    Calhoun Community College is a wonderful school. They have an incredibly affordable tuition and all the departments work together to make sure that every who applies, gets accepted. They have all kinds of classroom types - hybrid, traditional, and distance learning. Just about anyone who wants to attend can find a schedule to suit their needs.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have campus police, but sense there is no dorm life, there is not a lot of ruckus going on.

    Greek Life

    NONE

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not as involed.

    Great for these types of students

    Calhoun serves all walks of life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NONE

    Bang for the buck

    Calhoun can be affordable. The classes that each student takes are well worth his or her money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and club that students may participate in. Personally, I am way to busy to participate in some of the festivities.

    Food and Dining

    NONE

    Dorm Life

    NONE

    Academic Rigor

    Calhoun does help academically, but it is up to the student to put forth effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    For student who just want a fresh start, Calhoun would be the best place. Registration Is simple and staff is friendly. You won't find a better place.

    In three sentences

    Calhoun Community College is an awesome school for students who where more than one hat. I am also a full time employee, and Calhoun works around my busy schedule. The teachers and professors are well educated in their fields!

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Calhoun campus is very safe. There is always police officers on campus and there is a campus police station in the entrance of the school.

    Food and Dining

    Calhoun has some food and dining areas. My favorite would be the on campus Chick-fil-a.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel that there are plenty of resources here to help me excel and succeed. Nobody should ever feel alone or left behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should start applying early. Select classes wisely and use the advisers/counselors to your advantage. Make sure, if you plan to transfer, that your classes will transfer to the college you plan to go to.

    In three sentences

    I go to the Calhoun Huntsville campus and I love it. It is affordable and close to home. I am currently enrolled in an Accelerated High School Student program that allows me to take classes while still attending high school.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police officers on campus are great if your battery has died or you have locked your keys in your car. Other than that, they are pretty useless. They don't hardly ever give out tickets though, which is wonderful.

    Clubs and Activities

    Art Club... sucks.

    Great for these types of students

    This is GREAT for Art students! We have a new campus called The North Alabama Canter for Fine Arts. It is really a wonderful place to learn and to be inspired.

    Bang for the buck

    Calhoun's prices were really great when I first came here, but now they have shot up so much so that my Pell Grant barely covers my tuition and books.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing here. Sammy T's is in Huntsville though!

    Food and Dining

    The regular campus only has vending machines and subway next door. The art campus is located in Downtown Historic Decatur, and there is tons of amazing places to eat! All of which are fairly inexpensive.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, for we have no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    With the exception of one teacher I have had, All of the teachers here are very knowledgeable and passionate about the subjects that they teach.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not rely on the advisers. Look up what you will need for your major on your own. Trust me, I have been here 2 more years than I am supposed to because of the track they had me follow.

    In three sentences

    Calhoun is a great small college to attend if you aren't quite ready to leave home or have an apartment nearby. The teachers are wonderful. The advising center is not so wonderful.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never felt uncomfortable or unsafe on campus even at night.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you want to be involved there is always something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Calhoun is great for any student. It is a cheaper way to get a quality education, even if you just take your basics there.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the Common Grounds Cafe, go to softball/baseball games, and get involved with campus events.

    Food and Dining

    The Common Grounds Cafe is amazing and the owner and staff are very friendly. I ate there every day and it was a easy and fun way to meet new friends and hang out with classmates.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms, so I live at home. That however, has been great and has saved me and my parents lots of money.

    Academic Rigor

    This obviously depends on the student and teacher. I found that most of the teachers do really challenge you and expect you to work for your grades, but are all very helpful and understanding if you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the rate my professor web site. It is very accurate and it will help you find the teacher to fit your personality and needs. Eat at the Common Grounds Cafe on the Decatur campus. It is amazing! Don't be afraid to talk to the advisors about your questions and concerns, they are all great!

    In three sentences

    I have really enjoyed my experience at Calhoun the last year and a half. The professors and staff are very helpful and encouraging. The Decatur campus feels like a real college campus and everyone is very friendly.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food in the student center is overpriced. You're better off buying from the vending machines

    Academic Rigor

    Easy to find your intended major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit ratemyprofessor.com before settling on a teacher.

    In three sentences

    Calhoun is a good school to go to if you need a few classes over the summer. The teachers are nice and helpful for the most part. I will be graduating with my Associates degree.

  • 01/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any issues and I have taken both day and evening classes

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    parents non traditional student, student that has to work

    Food and Dining

    There is a small cafe in the library and that it.

    Dorm Life

    no on campus housing

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Helps check off the boxes for lower level classes.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    In three sentences

    Disorganized admissions office and unhelpful advisers. I am going because of the low tuition and can't afford somewhere else.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is great.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Great for these types of students

    Great college for finishing a technical trade or getting your first two years out of the way to transfer.

    Bang for the buck

    Money spent on an education is never wasted

    What to do for fun

    Get together with some of your classmates to study and hang out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come with the expectations of working hard.

    In three sentences

    This is a great college to attend. It has smaller class sizes for more one on one attention and has a very relaxed atmosphere.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are dozens of clubs and organizations, as well as sports, that a student can join, enough to suit the interests of just about anybody.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great cafeteria in the Fine Arts building. There is also a cafe in the library, and vending machines all over the place. They are all pretty cheap.

    Dorm Life

    Calhoun does not have dorms, so I cannot say!

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really know how to bring out the best in their students. Engaging and interesting classes are offered, and the student has a lot of independence in how they get their work done.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only big tip I have is to register for your classes as soon as possible so that you can get all of the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    Calhoun is a great college for earning your two-year degree. They offer wonderful job training for those entering the work force, as well as excellent transfer options for those hoping to get a Bachelor's degree. The teachers really get the best out of you.

  • 02/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police who are always at the school during the day time. The parking lot is somewhat lit, but they could do things to make the campus feel safer at night.

    Greek Life

    I am not aware of any greek life at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a good number of clubs and sports. I am a member of 2 honors clubs and a vice president of 1 other club, and they are great!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who do well in smaller classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It is totally worth the tuition for the knowledge I have gained from this school.

    What to do for fun

    They have sports, such as softball, and the games are fun to watch for sports fans. They have clubs for almost everything including art, psychology, and honors clubs. The host parties during Halloween time and Christmas time for everyone on campus.

    Food and Dining

    At lunch they offer Chick-fila and Kierras Lunchbox. Other than that there is no dining.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms or housing for Calhoun.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are medium on a scale of how hard classes are. They teach you alot and are paced well, but you also have to do your part and study the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try your hardest here and it will be well worth it. There are great opportunities at this college. Get involved with the clubs they offer, it will be a good way to meet new people!

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful college to get your future started. The classes are small and easy to learn in. The teachers really care about helping you do your best.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go shopping. Join various groups that the school offers.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places to eat that are not far from the school.

    Dorm Life

    There are not any dorms available at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, but it allows you to learn the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be diligent in doing the work that is required.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school to attend. The teachers are wonderful and extremely helpful. This school makes it much easier to attend and obtain a degree while having to work full-time.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is great havent had a problem yet

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any fresh high school students to start basic classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Money is worth spending for classes for any major.

    What to do for fun

    Game room on campus and cafe to talk with other students.

    Food and Dining

    Okay choices but has a little cafe.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms but would be a great idea if they had one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep everything organized and keep all tests dates close by.

    In three sentences

    Great class times to fit personal times. Great advisors on campus. Great class sizes for students and teachers to interact with one another.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Again, this is a community college. A cafeteria is not offered, but the Huntsville campus is close to several dining options.

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a community college, there are no dorm rooms available. However, many apartment complexes as well as town homes are within walking distance of the Huntsville campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Over the past few years, Calhoun has a higher expectation of students maintaining a good standing academically to hold financial aid.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to an advisor about any questions you may have about your classes. They will direct you in the right path and offer options you may not know about.

    In three sentences

    Calhoun has been a great community college for me. This school offers on site classes as well as distance learning for convenience. The tuition costs are reasonable as well.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are different groups on campus that you can join, but mainly I just found friends and connected with them and we went to eat lunch together a few times and became very good friends.

    Food and Dining

    There was no place to eat on campus if you were at the Decatur campus, but you could walk across the street tot he little gas station and get lunch there. Surprisingly, it was pretty good there too. If you are at the Huntsville campus then you have a little store there, but the food is gone it's gone. Both campuses have vending machines though and they do a pretty good job of keeping them stocked.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes where harder, but some seemed easier. You do need to take notes and pay attention though.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you find a professor you like stick with them and take some class that you have to take as well as some that you find interesting. Don't start skipping class because once you do it's hard to convince yourself to keep going to class. Don't be afraid to talk to your professors after class to ask for help or even just to tell them goodbye or that you enjoyed something they spoke about. Everyone likes knowing that people payed attention to them, even teachers.

    In three sentences

    They have some teachers that seem to know what they are talking about, but they also have some that I am convinced I knew more about the subject than they did. Their Decatur campus is very nice and feels like a real college, while the Huntsville campus feels like they just stuffed it some place. The classes seem to be taught well and they have a wide selection so you should be able to find something that will interest you.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Listen, Learn and Study!

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria but there is a coffee shop and a Subway within walking distance:)

    Dorm Life

    Unsure about the dorm life....

    Academic Rigor

    If each student attend classes, take notes and study, he or she should be able to make the Dean's List!

    Tips for prospective students

    The professors/instructors are usually friendly and willing to help in any way!

    In three sentences

    Calhoun is a large community college that has about 9,000 students that attend at both campus locations in Huntsville and Decatur. Calhoun is a good college to attend to get your basic core subjects or a two year degree. The nursing degree offers a really good program too!

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I enjoy attending calhoun. The teachers for the paralegal program are mostly judges and lawyers. I like how the financial aid and advisory staff are very helpfull

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are various extracurricular activities at Calhoun Community College such as baseball, student groups, fraternity's and sorority's, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Calhoun Community College is very limited and almost not existing. Only one dine-in area is available for students located in the student lounge area. Also, the nest way to eat is visiting the local dollar general store and subway.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm rooms present.

    Academic Rigor

    John C Calhoun tries to help their students in every way possible and also have set up programs to help all students succeed, no matter your age.

    Tips for prospective students

    When attending John C Calhoun State Community College some tips are to study hard, apply for scholarships, attend the free tutoring class, and never lose your printing card.

    In three sentences

    I would rate, John C Calhoun State Community College a A+ because this school helped me in numerous ways. For example, free math and English tutoring and math and English lab for one on one help. Also there are many free programs to join for financial help and other subjects.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police that are very present on campus. They do a great job.

    Greek Life

    We do have a few Greek clubs but since I am not interested in that I don't know how many.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs if you are interested.

    Great for these types of students

    Young fresh out of high school students that want to get into college but may not be able to afford a four year university yet. Also great for students that want to take general courses while they decide what to major in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none.

    Bang for the buck

    I do believe you get your moneys worth but you have to make sure that if you are going to transfer that the 4 year university you want to attend will accept credits from this school.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join at the college. There is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    They serve chick fil a in the student lounge.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please make sure you apply for financial aid early as possible if you need it. The student body is very large so do not wait until the last minute to register for classes.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college for individuals that may not have a specific major in mind yet but still need to get their basic courses done. It is also a great choice because the tuition is much less then any other college in Alabama. I also love this college because the classes are fairly small so you are able to have a one on one relationship with your instructor if you need extra help.

  • 06/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have a cafe at the school, as well as a hangout spot.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the campus!

    In three sentences

    great campus to be on. Calhoun is easy to navigate around. It has a great education program

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Craft, Games, Fish, anything outside

    Food and Dining

    Fast food :)

    Dorm Life

    I havent lived in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Books

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen, take notes, go to class.

    In three sentences

    It is very small, which i like. Most of the teachers are southern belle's which i can appreciate. My fellow classmates where very nice and helpful.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Bang for the buck

    Dual majors, most co-inside,, think like 8-10 extra classes for multiple degrees.

    In three sentences

    The past couple semesters has been an Awesome experience. I have learned so much and have all respect for all my instructors. A true Blessing.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school is safe. Armed security guards are present at the school. Responsible students and faculty members with a concealed carry license would improve any school safety standards.

    Greek Life

    I have no knowledge of Greek life except some of the clubs have Greek inspired names.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not in any clubs at this time.

    Great for these types of students

    Local students who don't want to drive hundreds of miles for school, and also don't want to stay on campus. The nursing degree is rated very high among Alabama schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Decatur campus is also home to Pryor Airstrip. Which is surrounded by open fields.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition prices are very reasonable when compared to other schools of the same quality.

    What to do for fun

    Calhoun has an excellent theater class. I personally have seen one of their plays Our Town, and the actors, teachers, and what little stage hands they had were all of highest quality character. The lines and acting, spot on. I couldn't imagine the students as anyone other than the characters they played. There are certainly other activities and I hope I get to experience them in time.

    Food and Dining

    I know there are snack machines at scattered locations but other than that I have no other knowledge of dining on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not have any experience with dorm life of on campus students.

    Academic Rigor

    As I've said, I only know what the online courses and advisers have taught me about the school. The online classes are unfortunately entirely up to you to be enthusiastic about your own success.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before meeting your advisers prepare a written list of questions with enough room so that you can jot down the answers under each question. That's what they get paid for. Make sure to ask plain questions like; What do I need to bring on my first day of class? What should I wear, will it be cold or warm inside the school? Where should I park my car? Would the professor mind if a bottle of water were brought in class? etc...

    In three sentences

    As a first year student taking all online courses, I don't have a great basis to go on to rate the on campus environment. However the online courses I am taking were in the beginning difficult to navigate. Now that I have been working with the programs for a few weeks it has gotten much easier to understand. Each time I've have had to go the the campus for help with financial matters or scheduling problems, the advisers all treated me no different than an on campus full time student.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Love the Chik-fil-a !!

    Academic Rigor

    Calhoun has really tried to do its best.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must try and do the work if you want to succeed. Don't be afraid to speak to your classmates; they are willing to help. Sometimes the advisers don't know everything.

    In three sentences

    The teachers really try to help you understand the material and really want you to succeed. Study materials are very accessible for each subject. Calhoun is a smart choice to start your education.

  • 01/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From my experience both campuses have been very safe. I have never had any trouble with either. I even dropped my card one day and a very nice student turned it into the campus police for me. This has been my experience.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and activates you can join, I have not though so I cannot give advice on them.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student needing basics should start here!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, this school is worth going to. It has the same basics and is cheaper. It also has smaller classes so you get to know your teachers. It is a good place to start!

    What to do for fun

    The Huntsville campus doesn't have anything inside but sciquest is right beside it and the space and rocket center and the mall not far from it.The Decatur campus has more options. You have a gym, workout room, game room, and if you actually go into Decatur there are some sites such as the princess theater and the art center. In both you have different clubs you can attend as well as some fun classes.

    Food and Dining

    Both campuses have a cafe type place. The one at Huntsville is more like a convenient store and decatur's is more like a coffee shop. Both have interesting items and very nice people.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    This college does set you up to learn how to study and prepare for the working world. You do have to apply yourself, as with any college or job, to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is really a good school, so far I have been here going on three years and have had really good teachers. The science classes have gone really well. Decatur is the more beautiful out of the two campuses. Like any other college it dies not mean you will have an easy A just because it is a community college. You have to study, but almost every teacher I have had has been very helpful and cares for there students. Thankfully neither are easy to get lost at and if you do you can ask some one who happens to be walking the same direction as you. Just make sure they do not look lost too. Over all I really like this school and am glad to say that this May I will be graduating with my associates of science. This really is a good school and a way to get the same basics for cheaper. My greatest advice though is if you need to figure out your schedule and plan to transfer, do your own research on the next colleges requirements. The advisors sometimes do not truly know what that talk about. You must rely on your own research but they are still good for some advice and helpful information about Calhoun.

    In three sentences

    I have been to both campuses; both being wonderful, Decatur was my favorite. This is a wonderful school and place to start your education. I recommend this school to everyone because it's a really good school and has the same basics but cheaper.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are actively around and stay at cross walks to make sure cars stop for pedestrians. They are always available if you need help.

    Greek Life

    We don't have a great Greek life, but there are some that you can apply for. Phi Theta Kappa and Sigma Kappa Delta.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs available for a community college. Warhawks Student Ambassadors which I was a member. Where you get to go into the community and represent your school. Bass fishing, SGA, Black Student Alliance, GSA Gay Straight Alliance, and too many more to name.

    Great for these types of students

    That want a quality and personal educational experience. With low tuition costs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The cemetery on the outskirts of the campus is really weird.

    Bang for the buck

    Perfect place for people in the community to get an associates, and then transfer to a university. Tuition is low, but the level of education you'll receive is very high.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the student center to play pool and meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    There is a great small coffee shop that has all of the food you will need while you are on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are not available.

    Academic Rigor

    You are highly motivated by teachers to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind to learn as much information as you can.

    In three sentences

    A great community college that gives students a quality education. The teachers are highly motivated to teach and make sure the students are learning. Great atmosphere to meet new people along with getting educated to move to the next level.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there is only the book store that sells snacks

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    the academics are not easy but not extremely hard either

    In three sentences

    it is a very nice location. the campus is easy to navigate. the teachers are friendly.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe. There are security guards around the clock.

    Greek Life

    Phi Delta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Delta Kappa is one that I know of.

    Great for these types of students

    All students can benefit from Calhoun. This is a great college

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I do not know of any but I am 52 years old so don't let that stop you.

    What to do for fun

    This one evades me. But you might find it.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small diner that is open at times and they have vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    Calhoun expects you to do your work and you must keep it honest above all. They provide you with help as you go along. You must keep your grades up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check with the staff for any questions that you have. They will help you when you are trying to get started there. They remain helpful even after you begin. Make sure you use the Math and English lab. The Library staff are extremely helpful also. They also have tutors if they are needed.

    In three sentences

    So far Calhoun is a terrific school to attend as an undergrad. They are very nice and polite. They also help you any way they can to succeed, there is both a Math and English lab for the students to make use of.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is a very safe environment to be at with the campus police patrolling the area.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many opportunities for all kinds of clubs and activities

    Great for these types of students

    Any. There is a wide range of every kind of student attending at Calhoun.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good school that is not very expensive.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the café or the gym.

    Food and Dining

    There is a small Café in the library with very good food.

    Dorm Life

    The school does not offer on campus living.

    Academic Rigor

    Can be challenging at times, just like all other colleges/universities, but with hard work good grades can be achieved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time and listen to the instructors, as well as doing homework.

    In three sentences

    Calhoun has a very nice campus with easy directions to direct you to the appropriate buildings. The instructors are very kind and enthusiastic about their jobs. The campus has a very friendly environment with extremely kind people.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can always hang out in the snack room! Usually students will go there and eat in between classes. The lobby is usually for studying and is a very quiet place if you need alone time.

    Academic Rigor

    The material in the classes is confusing or hard based on the type of teacher and material. The math courses are of course going to be tough. Spanish 101/102 are the easiest classes I've taken so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a student is considering attending Calhoun, it is very important to choose your professors carefully and make sure they fit the student's personality and learning abilities. Also, make sure that you actually need the classes you are taking for your major. The admissions counselors are very helpful with this!

    In three sentences

    John C. Calhoun Community College is a great place to learn your basics. The professors are excellent at dealing with students' needs in every way. The campus is also neat and easy to find your way around in.

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a subway next door and Decatur has many places over the bridge to eat at downtown too.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be sure to take notes in class. Talk to an student adviser if you have any concerns or questions about anything.

    In three sentences

    Calhoun has become a fine upstanding school for new and current students. I would recommend this school to those seeking either a 2 year degree or wanting to transfer to a 4 year school. Calhoun has good instructors as well.

  • 04/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love Calhoun Community College! I am currently enrolled in the Nursing program there and will graduate as an RN in December. It is such a blessing to be involved in a program that truly cares about the patient and where our instructors go out of their way to help us understand what it is really like to be a nurse!

  • 05/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always see the campus police setting somewhere eating or talking i hardly see them doing anything other than that

    Greek Life

    unknown

    Clubs and Activities

    I was apart of a club that never contacted me or kept me updated on events so that club was a waste of time

    Great for these types of students

    all types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Hawks Nest has a big TV and i think a x box. They vote for Mr and Ms Calhoun, Spring fling

    Bang for the buck

    This is a good school to move on from

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of i guess clubs on campus if there isnt one you can create one, plays are good as well. Free food event happen often which is a plus for students.

    Food and Dining

    the campus food is horrible but there is a Subway right beside the campus. And a awesome place called Apple Barn not far from campus.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm

    Academic Rigor

    it ok

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a map and locate your classes pior to starting Get to campus early if your class is at 8am it would be safe to get to campus at 7:30 in order to get a good parking spot. Work hard at the beginging of the semster

    In three sentences

    Laid back school Teachers are tough Good sized campus

  • 06/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had nor seen a problem on Calhoun's campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Calhoun is a great school for anyone. The schedules are very flexible and will suit people ranging from high school graduates to full time working parents.

    Bang for the buck

    Calhoun offers a valuable education which is very affordable. Definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Calhoun offers many different activities including sports and sorority involvement.

    Food and Dining

    The only food I bought from this school was in the bookstore.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Calhoun.

    Academic Rigor

    This is not an easy school. You will need to stay current on your assignments and you will have to apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to contact your teachers with and and all concerns; they are there to help! If you pay attention and commit yourself to your work, you will be successful.

    In three sentences

    Attending Calhoun has been a great experience for me. The teachers and classes are easily accessible and it is evident that my success is a priority. I fully recommend Calhoun Community College.