Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

John Carroll University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    John Carroll University is located in a safe community. Emergency phones are located on campus and there is a special emergency number.

    Greek Life

    There are several sororities and fraternities to choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs on campus, such as club sports and many service organizations. There is a group for every interest. If a group you would like is not on campus, you can start one yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    John Carroll is great for quieter and studious students. The small campus creates an intimate and academic setting. It is also great for religious students. Campus ministry allows students to become involved in masses, retreats, and small Christian Life Communities.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are a lot of fun activities from movies to sports. There is always something happening.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are very comfortable. I have one roommate and my room is a comfortable size. I love the little study area and common room on my floor. My Resident Assistant is a great person to talk to and the people I live with are amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but professors are always willing to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the most important things is to get involved, but not over involved. Be prepared to work if you want good grades because classes are challenging. Be yourself and do not be afraid to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    I love John Carroll University. Professors are always willing to help you and the dorms are very comfortable. My fellow students are very welcoming and I have made some wonderful friends at John Carroll.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those looking for a small campus, a close community, a religious community, and a challenging four years of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Budget your funds: the dining hall has okay food, but there are some on campus dining which is not included in your meal plan and it can be very expensive. Talk with upper classmen: These students know the ropes and are willing to help new students get around campus. They also know which teachers are easy or are ones to avoid.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite expensive, but there are many ways to finance for JCU.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is absolutely beautiful. It is small and close to downtown Cleveland and the shopping centers of Legacy Village and Beachwood. It is a close community of students and it feels like a family once you find your niche.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are challenging but there is a lot to learn. Of course, there are certain teachers to take and others to avoid. The core classes are a drag but with the correct research, you can pick the best classes to raise your GPA.

  • 01/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Highly motivated individuals who know how to manage their time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very secure.

    Greek Life

    not involved in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    football program is great here and i am very glad each day to be a part of it.

    What to do for fun

    i like to hang out with my friends on the weekends and am involved with the football program.

    Food and Dining

    food is delicious and the staff is very kind.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are great. mine is quiet enough to study in during the week and has lots of fun on weekends.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are both challenging and interesting. these classes are not about busy work, but rather making sure you learn the subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    study and attend classes. college is not just about parties, it is about preparing yourself for your future. academics are very important and should not be taken lightly. you are paying for this education and should not have it wasted.

    In three sentences

    it is a great university with a very welcoming environment. classes are great and very informative. i am very happy with my decision to come here.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    a big deal, but you can still get into parties if you're a non-greek

    Great for these types of students

    catholic, rich, conservative. but there are definitely those who fall outside those lines.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the cubby. a student-run cafe that serves delicious cookies, muffins, and drinks.

    What to do for fun

    a lot of options because we're so close to cleveland.

    Food and Dining

    the caf food is alright. i've had worse but i've had a lot better, too.

    Academic Rigor

    study a lot, but have fun too.

    Tips for prospective students

    study your butt off, but don't forget to have fun. the professors are there to help. ask them questions!

    In three sentences

    the best college in the world. such a close community that stresses social justice and graduating well rounded students.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt unsafe walking anywhere on campus. John Carroll is surrounded by a great family neighborhood that love the students and look out for them. On campus it self, there is good lighting for walking at night and campus security is always around.

    Great for these types of students

    John Carroll is great for students that like a smaller campus and close community. A campus like JCU is great because the professors are willing to help in anyway they can and so they will know your name and a student will come out of college with great connections!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A great traditon at JCU is celebrating St. Patrick's Day by taking a train into downtown and watching the parade where over half a millon people come to watch. It is a sea of green and JCU students love taking part and enjoying the great weather and people watching!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something happening on campus. The Student Union plans events every weekend that all students can participate in. In the hot months, a bus will take students to a football or baseball game in the city and spend the night downtown. Other off campus events are seeing plays and musicals, going to the surrounding malls, shopping and dinner or a movie. Recently, a group of my friends and I went to a train station to celebrate St. Patrick's Day with a murder mystery put on by our school's theater group. If one does not want to go off campus, having a movie night in the dorm with friends and tons of popcorn is just as fun!

    Food and Dining

    Nothing will be better then mom's home cooked meals, but the food at JCU is great compared to other caferitia food! At JCU, there are five different stations that change everyday with food from different cultures. One day there will be tacos and pizza, and the next, momma's home-made mashed potatoes and roasted beef and steamed vegetables. There is food for everyone! And some days one must get creative; take some chicken from the grill and go over to the deli to make a wrap is the perfect lunch. O and one cannot forget dessert! Everyday there is an ice cream machine and fresh cookies and cake. YUM!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a whole different world when compared to life at home. One no longer has their own room or own bathroom, rather one is sharing and living with strangers. Sounds scary at first, but it is an unique experience where one can meet people from every different background. Friends are made that will last a lifetime though the interactions of walking door-to-door down the hallway, late-night talks, and random movie marathons. These are fun and crazy experiences that one will only get in college and so might as well make the most of it!

    Academic Rigor

    John Carroll University wants its students to be challenged in all subject areas. No matter what major one goes into, they will be pushed to learn in new ways and to be opened to new material. Knowing a variety of subject manners will help one become more well-rounded and able to survive in the real world. Even though homework may build up, in the long run it will benefit its students who will be that much more prepared for their future endeavors.

    Tips for prospective students

    When it comes to college, the best mindset to have is open. Be opened to meeting new people and going outside one's comfort zone to try new things. Join clubs and other groups to get involved on campus and to stay active. It makes you more well-rounded and you will enjoy your time at your school. And finally, to always strive to do your best in all that you do; studies, clubs, sports, friendships, and being your best self.

    In three sentences

    John Carroll University is a very small and close community that strives to enrich its students in the liberal arts and to prepare them for the real world. Students are immersed into a variety of subjects taught by knowledgeable professors. Since it is such a close community, teachers are always willing to help outside the classroom so students can succeed.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I enjoy hanging out with my friends and attending sporting events, as well as going to parties on weekends.

    Food and Dining

    I dislike a majority of the food here at John Carroll.

    Dorm Life

    I love my friends in my dorm and the dorms are very accommodating.

    Academic Rigor

    John Carroll is a difficult school, but the professors are always there to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    John Carroll provides great tips for incoming students. If you need any help they are very understanding.

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy John Carroll's wonderful teaching staff, academics, and atmosphere.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cleveland and University Heights is pretty safe, the campus is closed in and they always have police. But there have been incidents when kids go off campus and the dorms are easy to get into.

    Greek Life

    That's one thing John Carroll strides in, many people go Greek and have fun. But it's expensive and most of them party to much.

    Clubs and Activities

    Offers some clubs but they are mostly all small and die because people stop showing up.

    Great for these types of students

    Football Players and Cheerleaders, very clicky high school kind of crowd.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus is pretty small, doesn't really have much going on.

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion it's not worth the money, even wit scholarships. Public schools offer a lot more academically and sociably. Plus they are cheaper and often have better facilities and dorms.

    What to do for fun

    Cleveland has a lot to offer if the student has money. John Carroll offers some things to do, but most of the clubs are very small and the campus life is very boring.

    Food and Dining

    The food was alright, didn't have much variety. Basically served pizza, chicken, salads and burgers everyday.

    Dorm Life

    John Carroll's dorm were awful. Murphy Hall where most freshman live is very dirty and old. The communal bathrooms were disgusting, rarely cleaned and something was ways broken. The heaters are always broken and the RA's rarely discipline students, I found it very hard to sleep because people were always partying. Plus it's very expensive, other schools have brand new dorms for half the price.

    Academic Rigor

    John Carroll's academics are average. I had some great teachers and some not so great teachers. My main problem wit Carroll's academics is their core, students spend almost 2 years taking classes that having nothing to do with their specific degree and it often leads to students not graduating on time in 4 years.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to many schools and don't decide on a school becaus e they offer you the most money, go where you want to go. John Carroll accepts 85-90% of thier students and offers a lot of money, but you have to reasearch schools, tour, talk to people and see what fits you the best!

    In three sentences

    After attending John Carroll for a year, I was ready for something different. The school itself is very disorganized and not worth the money.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is GREAT! They are really working to make the campus fun and safe and all the guys are really nice. The only thing they are not on the same page with is parking/coming on and off campus. The gates are locked at weird hours and they don't all say the same thing all the time, but in regards to keeping students protected they are some great workers!

    Bang for the buck

    Everyone around here LOVES when you say you are a JCU student.

    What to do for fun

    JCU is in walking distance to the RTA rapic, which spills you off at both Shaker Square (restaraunts and a Movie theater) and also Tower City, which is about 5 minutes walking distance from the Cleveland Indians stadium and Quicken Loans Arena. Tower city also has places to eat, stores to shop at and a cinema. There is a metro park trail about half a mile from campus. Legacy Village and Beachwood are about 10-15 minutes driving wise, and the shuttle that takes students to a couple surrounding areas makes stops there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is awful. One star is generous. The cafeteria looks like it offers many different options but the only thing that is really edible is the grilled chicken, burgers and fries, and even those are questionable most days. I would recommend getting the smallest meal plan possible with the most plus points so you can eat at Einsteins or the Inbetween. The workers are really nice, majority of them, but the lunch and dinner time rushes seem to be a surprise to them everyday, so be prepared to stand in line...

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are alright. Relatively clean. It's really luck of the draw based on who you room with and who your neighbors are, just like any other college.

    Academic Rigor

    The core curriculum is a bit excessive and rarely beneficial to majority of students. The core classes will be harder than any class you take for you major, and will also require the most work from you.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always friendly helpful and present.

    Clubs and Activities

    Join as many as you can to get the full spread of campus diversity!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are religious, or are heavily into service and social action, this is the school for you!

    What to do for fun

    Join as many clubs as you can! The groups of people you meet in them are great friends!

    Food and Dining

    Iffy selection in Schott. The other options are pricey but worth it. Get the lowest swipe plan possible with the most Plus points!

    Dorm Life

    Chaotic. Luck of the Draw.

    Academic Rigor

    Challanging but doable. If you have trouble go to office hours!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't give up. The coursework is tough, but managable. Once you find your niche and close set of friends, you are good to go!

    In three sentences

    The faculty and staff at JCU are highly Knowledgable and friendly. Student body is varied and community is wonderful once you find your niche. Classes are tough, but it is a prestigeous university.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students. There is a lot of diversity.

    Bang for the buck

    Quite expensive, you are paying for the name.

    What to do for fun

    Student Union offers free trips to cedar point, or to the movies. If you are willing to look for things to do then you will never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria gets old after the first couple of weeks. Sometimes there is a lot to choose from, sometimes there is nothing.

    Dorm Life

    The oldest dorm is being remodeled in the summer to be more modern.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the classes you are taking and what your intended major is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever fall behind in your studies!

    In three sentences

    Great, friendly atmosphere. Offers a lot of activities for students. Easy to find something to do.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, I have never felt unsafe on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have so many different clubs and activities. They are worth checking out!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have mass every Wednesday.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the school is an either you hate it or you love it school, there is no in between; to me it was a waste of time and money.

    What to do for fun

    I hang out and do intramurals. They always have school sponsored events and they are a ton of fun!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is very good, the food there is very delicious. It closes at 8 p.m. so if you have a late night job plan on eating in your room.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are well kept but small. If you live in Murphy you can have a common room, i suggest this.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a very well developed curriculum. The professors expect the best from their students and the materials covered are very diverse.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit and if you have roommate problems talk to the resident assistant right away.

    In three sentences

    I think it's a lovely campus however the people there are not the nicest. The academics push you but their biology program is outrageous.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Dining hall food is acceptable, but not great. Food is greasy and menu is repetitive. The inn-between is expensive, and the food isn't great, although it is a nice change from the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Roomate selection and dorm selection process is inefficient and frustrating. The dorms are sub-par and not very clean, especially for the cost of room and board.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are demanding, and intense usually. The core is huge and consumes a lot of time. GPA requirements for intended majors require you to have discipline.

    In three sentences

    John Carroll is rigorous in the academic area, however, some professors are a waste of time and money. In terms of the campus, John Carroll is small, and beautiful, but there is a lot of partying. John Carroll is not the most financially efficient school.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is about 20 minutes from downtown in an upper-middle-class residential area. Primarily families and a large Hasidic Jewish community nearby - would definitely feel safe walking around after dark, even by myself. We also have campus police and EMS on call.

    Greek Life

    About 10-15% Greek. Five sororities and four fraternities. Greek organizations don't have their own houses, but have locked floors in regular residence halls, allowing them to have their own space but still be integrated with the rest of the community. Very service based, friendly, and involved, not at all like you see in the movies. You don't have to be Greek to have fun and make friends, though - Greek life at JCU is not really exclusive like it is at some universities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 100 different clubs and organizations, really easy to get involved and really easy to make a new club if you want to see something new.

    Great for these types of students

    - Students committed to community service - You do NOT have to be Catholic to attend here even though we are a Jesuit school. There are plenty of opportunities to get involved with your faith if you're religious (even if you're not Catholic), but if you don't want to participate in those activities or go to mass, there's no pressure.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    - Not sure if this is grounded in fact, but there's a rumor going around that JCU has the highest rate of marriage between alumni. - Don't step on the university seal on the floor of the atrium of Dolan Science Center or you'll fail your next exam. - Don't cross the quad - use the sidewalks. - Don't use a tray in the cafeteria

    Bang for the buck

    A little more expensive, as it's a private school, but definitely worth it. The only reason you wouldn't be happy at JCU is if you don't get involved in campus life. The education environment is personalized, rigorous, and experience-based. The student body is friendly and involved. The campus is beautiful and well-maintained, and Cleveland is a great city.

    What to do for fun

    Two major malls within 10 minutes (Legacy and Beachwood) accessible by campus shuttle on weekends. Movie theater nearby. Lots to do downtown (accessible by public transportation within about 20 minutes), both in terms of nightlife and cultural events like the orchestra, museums, ethnic neighborhoods, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Only one actual cafeteria on campus, but lots of different stations (including a dessert station manned by a full-time pastry chef). A few other places on campus (grill, bagel shop, coffee/pastry shop). The food has gotten pretty decent since my freshman year and the dining staff are really friendly.

    Dorm Life

    Some residence halls are newer, some are older. Recently the administration has been pushing to renovate some of the older ones, so that situation is improving. People are really friendly and generally there aren't big issues with cleanliness or disruptive people.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect the best from students - this is not a school where you can slack off and still pull As. That said, the professors are really supportive and always willing to go the extra mile to help a struggling student. They really care about students' success and education. There's also a big emphasis on experiential learning, so many courses/majors have required internships or community service.

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule a personalized visit to meet with professors and eat lunch with current students. It will give you a great idea of what life is like in and out of the classroom at JCU.

    In three sentences

    A small Jesuit school with a great academic environment, caring professors, and friendly students. Big emphasis on community service and experiential learning. A great school if you're looking for personal attention from professors, a community feel, a good reputation, and a great education.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is the same as every other college, after so long you will eventually become tired of eating it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life style at John Carroll is very acceptable. The one freshman dorm I am currently living in is right next to another freshman dorm, making it easy to meet other freshman from other dorms. The sizes are perfect, they are cleaned by maintenance on a daily schedule, and the RA's are all very welcoming and easy to approach.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here at John Carroll are the perfect level of challenging. They have basic core classes that every student must take and they are all reasonable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Depending on the school size one feels comfortable with, John Carroll is a small but big enough school that you see a new face each day. As I stated, I am a freshman and all the upper class men are all so welcoming and do not look at you as a freshman but rather one of their friends.

    In three sentences

    I am currently a freshman at John Carroll and I absolutely love it here. Everyone is very welcoming, and the school offers great opportunities for students. I am planning on studying abroad next fall semester through John Carroll in Vatican City.

  • 02/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    John Carroll has a reputation for being a safe school, there are police officers that are nearby and easy to reach by red telephones.

    Greek Life

    Not Involved

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of fun, and has a lot that goes on. My only issue is that a lot of the activities are late at night, and I'm a commuting student.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who's looking for a small school. I am shy and easily lost, so John Carroll is compatible with me by having a smaller campus with less students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know enough about John Carroll to give this information.

    Bang for the buck

    John Carroll is really pricey, and I only a $21,500 off per year scholarship because of my community service hours. The school does offer large scholarships, though, and community service is preferred by this school. If you do a lot of service, you increase your chances of being accepted by this school by a lot, and getting money from them.

    What to do for fun

    Chess club, Zumba, Christian Life Community, and Intramural sports are a few things I like to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is usually good, sometimes it needs a little changing up. I do wish that there could be other fruit besides melon, but there are apples and oranges.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live here. Except, I've been in two freshman dorms. One was hot and stuffy, and another I've heard has the reputation of being gross. The good news is that its being replaced.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics aren't too intense and don't expect too much out of the student, but the work still needs to be done for you to get a good grade. Not too easy, but not too hard. Then again, I'm only a freshman.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about being late to classes at John Carroll, but don't intentionally skip out on them either. Most of the professors are great and are willing to help if you are willing to learn, but if you're a few minutes late you shouldn't worry about being locked out.

    In three sentences

    I love John Carroll because I feel safe, comfortable, and secure here. It's a beautiful campus that offers a lot of clubs and activities, and I can get to know people easily because it's small. I appreciate the school's efforts to meet everyone's academic, social, physical, spiritual, and emotional needs.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hahahahahahaha.

    Greek Life

    They'll say 5% of the student body is affiliated with Greek Life. It's a lie. Over half the campus is.

    Bang for the buck

    PRICEY. Tuition keeps being raised every year, with no change in academic scholarships or financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    There's the club Centrum, as well as Sh....I mean, City and East. Past that... you'll have a lot of free time.

    Food and Dining

    Mediocre at best.

    Dorm Life

    If you fill out the paperwork for a random roommate, you will probably get a roommate that meets every requirement of what you DON'T wnat in a roommate.

    In three sentences

    Although it offers a really great education, we are known as the Binge-Drinking Jesuit School. Everyone parties nonstop... yet there is absolutely nothing to do on this campus. Good education, but be ready to sacrifice sleep.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    From Zumba to Yoga and hanging on the quad, from Indians games and free shuttles that take you to Legacy Village there is never any time to be bored on this campus!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has many different options that are delicious and diverse!

    Dorm Life

    While visiting we were taken through one of the smallest dorms. It wasn't new nor very big, but I didn't expect much more.

    Academic Rigor

    As a prospective student at John Carroll University I feel as though the academics will be challenging yet helpful for the average college student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit the campus before turning away this school. It has many opportunities to offer that agree with high values and morals.

    In three sentences

    John Carroll University had a beautiful campus. It was just the right size and is the perfect distance from Cleveland. The atmosphere was friendly and my visit there couldn't have been any better.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on this campus, from walking back to my dorm at night or even calling campus security to help with questions about the shuttle. I never felt scared or uneasy at all on campus since it is so enclosed and there are even services that will walk you back to your dorm at night.

    Greek Life

    I never took part in Greek life but my roommate and many friends from this past year did join a fraternity or sorority and loved it! If you want to join one, I would recommend it based on what everyone has told me (even though I never wanted to).

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to take part in. I joined SUPB (Students who put on events for campus), the varsity tennis team, and I also wanted to get involved with the Sweet Carrollines (an acapella female group) and lifeguarding (an on-campus job). It seems like the list for joining something on campus is endless and no matter what you like to do, there is a club or group for that. Also you could even make your own club or organization! Lastly, there are student activity fairs where everyone will be out to join something or make you interested in being a part of something at JCU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition that Greek life likes to put on almost every day is to spray paint the lion outside of Paccelli Hall. It is a competition to see who can have their letters up for the longest amount of time before another frat or sorority takes over. Another tradition that only the brave people take on is to get onto the roof top of Kulas Auditorium.

    What to do for fun

    The activities put on by student organizations like SUPB had something to do every weekend, like movie-nights, indians games, spa nights, dances, and many more fun things to do with your friends. Parties are always an option (I'm not going to sugar coat it) since we are a school that likes to have fun. Some are better than others but you'll soon find out if you like that lifestyle or not. Also, some people go out on Thursday night to Club Centrum or City and East to go dance and have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining experience overall became very routine, but the food itself was pretty good. This was the only place to eat on campus besides Einsteins Bros & Bagels, but the variety of food options was okay. Pizza and salad became very boring after a while but the comfort food and international stations always had something new, which I liked. My advice would be to try eating something new everyday or mix up different options, like eating an egg, bacon and cheese on a bagel in the morning instead of just cereal or an omelette.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in Murphy Hall my freshman year, home to about 400 other freshman, and my experience in that dorm helped shape my freshman year. Everyone is living in a new place and can meet so many new people to become friends with. I originally did not want to live in this Hall, but I am more than happy that I did. Murphy was where everyone came to hang out and have fun, and living here with my friends was definitely a major upside to living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a science major so naturally things may seem tough when it comes to classes. Any major can seem difficult but as long as you study and use the resources given to you, anything is possible. I have had two semesters so far of rigorous classes and professors who did everything they could to help me succeed. This really helped me by having so many people to talk to and help me along my first year at JCU. I'm more excited than ever to continue on with my major and classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    My first bit of advice would be to get involved. It is never too early to join something or become a part of something bigger on campus. Greek life, sports teams, clubs, student organizations and so many more offer students an outlet from school and a chance to meet some amazing people. Secondly, my tip would be to have an open mind and reach out for new things that you wouldn't have before. College is a chance to become who you want to be and you won't be able to do that by staying in your comfort zone.

    In three sentences

    John Carroll is a welcoming and exciting place to become a student following your passion. The sports teams, extracurriculars, clubs, groups and academics all stand for something on our campus and everyone seems to fit in really well and love what they do. No matter who you are, there are resources and people to help you find what you love and become a part of the John Carroll family.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join intramural teams with friends!

    Food and Dining

    The unlimited plan is key since i like to eat a lot.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms can be small, but overall not too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will challenge you so stay on top of your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest doing your research make sure that they are the college which will support your academic interest. The main reason you are going to school is for an education.

    In three sentences

    The university is a place you will fall in love with. The amount of activities to do is endless. John Carroll is the place to be.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is really safe and secure

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student union programming board is great at keeping campus busy with tons of fun events! There are off campus trips every weekend that generally are free of charge for students. Fun programs on campus include comedians, hypnotists, speakers, roller skating, movie showings, and much more!

    Food and Dining

    There is not a lot of variety in the cafeteria. The food is not the highlight of John Carroll. The staff is very pleasant and friendly and keep the area very clean.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and kind of old but workable. The community bathrooms aren't the most appealing for people with high standards. A brand new residence hall will be opening in the 2014 school year.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a wide variety of classes that accommodate students of all levels. You aren't overloaded with homework but you are expected to be responsible for your classes. You basically get what you put into it out of it. Teachers are very understanding and fair.

    In three sentences

    John Carroll is a great place to explore your spirituality. It is an extremely friendly place with a lot of variety. Residence life is very convenient and the small campus creates a great atmosphere of community.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is awesome. They are some of the nicest guy's you will ever meet and if there is a problem, they actually do something about it! They are also now armed.

    Greek Life

    It's big on campus but there is a lot of drinking and partying involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs, you just have to look around. They have a giant fair at the beginning of the year where you can find out about all of the clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who care about their education and care about others.

    Bang for the buck

    John Carroll is worth the price. The people that are here are amazing and the experiences you will have are out of this world! Also the education you receive will allow you to get into any grad program, specialty school, or a job straight into the workforce.

    What to do for fun

    The college offers several opportunities to get off campus and go do something! Most of the time they will make you pay $20 to hold you'r spot and then you usually get it back! It was like that when i went to the Indians game or to Little Italy for dinner. WE also went to Cedar Point for Halloweekends for $20. That covered admission, transportation, and a free food voucher. You can also go out with you'r friends. There are so many good restaurants to go to, or you can go out to the movies, or the zoo, etc. The area has a lot to do. Or you can stay on campus and watch movies. That's fun too!

    Food and Dining

    Ok, it's college food. There's an ok salad bar, a place to make sandwiches, pizza, burgers, chicken, etc. They do have the best bagels!! If you'r a vegetarian you will get so bored with the food! There are very limited options. Outside of the cafeteria, the Inn Between has really good food. Sandwiches, pizza, chicken fingers, and it's also like a little convenient store.

    Dorm Life

    In the dorms you will meet some of your best friends. The healthy living floor is the way to go! People usually respect quiet hours and if they don't just ask them to be quiet and they usually will! We have had a few problems this year with people pulling the fire alarm or trying to cook in Dolan and they burn food which once again, sets off the fire alarm, but that's it!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic work load is heavy. Your professors work you hard and expect nothing but your best work but they are always there to help! The core makes you take a lot of different types of classes so you are always busy and exposed to several different fields of education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a college visit after you have already been to a few other universities. You will notice the difference! At John Carroll everyone is so friendly and our campus is beautiful!

    In three sentences

    John Carroll is more than a college, it is a community. The professors want you to succeed and work around your schedule. You will meet great friends here, be exposed to many great service opportunities, and obtain a wonderful education and college experience.

  • 03/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's safe enough.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something for everyone here.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like small schools. People who like to get to know everyone just a little bit. If you want to have a relationship with your professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Thanksgiving dinner is the greatest Caf meal you will ever eat. It is so good that people from around the area come and eat there. Also our dorms are open to the public for Halloween and we pass out candy to the kids. We do a lot of different service projects too.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really expensive but it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends. Usually go downtown or at least to target on the weekends. There are plenty of activities to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Caf food isn't that great and the times are pretty inconvenient. The InnBetween and Einstein's are good but aren't open very late.

    Dorm Life

    If you live in Dolan or Suttowski you'll hate it. Campion, Millor, Bernet, Murphy (especially), and Hamlin are all fine.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty hard here but they challenge you to think in a different way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to read a lot. Make sure you're willing to work very hard to keep your gpa up. Come with an open mind as well.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school with a great faculty and great opportunities. Everyone here loves John Carroll and it's got a great atmosphere because of that. Tuition is expensive but you get what you pay for.