Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

John Tyler Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are low on money or don't know what they want to do should go here. For someone who is paying their way, like me, community college price doesn't hit the bank too hard. For those who aren't sure what they want to do, this is the time to decide.

    Bang for the buck

    John Tyler is a community college, so it costs less than most.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is so nice and welcoming. I enjoy attending this college.

    Am learning a lot

    I have enjoyed many of my classes. I am sure, however, that neither my Biology 101, nor my math, will stick with me.

  • 01/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    John Tyler currently has two campuses, one in Chester and one in Midlothian. They both offer a full range of classes and disciplines. John Tyler is a great school for Liberal Arts and Sciences as well as vocational training. They offer everything from African drum lessons to fashion design to hands-on mechanics classes to nursing degrees to real estate. I love the variety and the people are very nice and friendly. I highly recommend checking out John Tyler.

    Tips for prospective students

    My suggestion is to explore community colleges before four year schools. It's less expensive and gives you a great opportunity to bring up grades, transition into college life and the real world, exploring what career fields interest you without paying an arm and a leg if you decide to change majors.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though most colleges have raised their tuition rates, John Tyler has stayed competitive with local community colleges by being under the tuition rate of other schools. You get more bang for your buck because of a quality education from professors that often also teach at a local 4 year college, VCU, and because of the lower tuition rates and scholarship opportunities.

    Am enjoying being here

    Overall I am enjoying attending John Tyler. They've been expanding their campuses and the types of classes they offer. It's an exciting time to be here. The teachers and administrators support you and are available for questions and conferences when you need help with homework or communicating with classmates or your instructor.

    Am learning a lot

    I am in the Visual Communications program and I absolutely love it! The instructors challenge you to do your best, and work with you at your own pace so you can understand the assignment, even if you need tutoring. I'm working on assignments I've never done before, like 3D sculptures and video commercials.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    John Tyler has excellent campus safety. They have security guards that patrol the parking lot by vehicle. They have security boxes in the parking lot to use in case of emergency. They have little lights to light the sidewalks at night. There is a security guard at a desk if needed.

    Great for these types of students

    John Tyler is great for students who need a flexible school schedule to accommodate a job or other circumstances. John Tyler is great for students who need or want to save some money on the cost of higher education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Midlothian campus offers much outdoor seating that is great for eating packed meals and snacks or studying outside.

    Bang for the buck

    The per-semester cost is significantly less than one surrounding four year and higher school. Many courses taken at John Tyler equal courses at this surrounding school and can be transferred, saving the student money.

    What to do for fun

    John Tyler offers many clubs for those who are interested in on- campus gatherings. The surrounding areas of both campuses offer many shopping areas and sports parks. Two amusement parks are also relatively close by.

    Food and Dining

    John Tyler should offer food and dinning for their students.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are tough but manageable for a serious student. It is possible to manage schoolwork and a part time job while attending John Tyler.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who intend to complete a four year or higher degree at a four year or higher school, should see if John Tyler has a transfer agreement to their intended transfer school. Students should consider the online classes, if they feel their learning style would accommodate online learning.

    In three sentences

    John Tyler is a good choice for higher learning at a low cost. John Tyler should offer more multiples of the same class at different times. John Tyler allows you to work on higher education while maintaining a life outside of higher education.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always present and helpful.

    Clubs and Activities

    A great selection of activities for which ever path you are following.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are working full time and going to school as well can find a wide range of time periods for the classes that are required for their ciriculium. It's a great environment, friendly and supportive.

    Bang for the buck

    Community College is a great way to get started in college on a limited income. A great deal.

    What to do for fun

    There are a host of clubs and organizations that meet on a regular basis. As a student you will be notified with upcoming events by email so you can plan your schedule to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Only vending machines are available.

    Dorm Life

    No on site living.

    Academic Rigor

    A+ There is an extensive Art program here with extremely knowledgeable staff and interesting topics.

    Tips for prospective students

    My most important tip for a future student would be if you are unsure of what degree you are seeking, to take the core classes first. While you are in the process of starting your classes you will be able to discuss the options with both the students and the professors.

    In three sentences

    John Tyler has opened up a world of opportunity for me and my future. The professors have been very supportive and knowledgeable in helping me to reach my goals. I have both learned and enjoyed my experience here and look forward to continuing my education.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No issues!

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Wish that clubs were more active, but there are several club options

    Great for these types of students

    Those returning from a long break from school, those who maintain full-time employment, those who are financially struggling but need to go to school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Unusual rivalry between both campuses

    Bang for the buck

    Great experience for the cost. It's a good way to get the first two years out of the way for less money.

    What to do for fun

    Some clubs

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria on site- not near food places

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are usually either very easy or very intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Watch your deadlines. There are no extensions!

    In three sentences

    Great starter school for those returning to school after working. The teachers are helpful and the facilities are clean. There are many opportunities to learn outside of your degree. Cost is affordable.

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would say John Tyler is a fairly safe campus. The Midlothian campus has a lot of light during the night time, and also has multiple safety posts with phones within running distance of each other which are functional 24/7. They also have guards available to walk you to your car at night if you request them, and they have an emergency phone line that you can dial, if you sense any danger. There are numerous security guards (many which are retired police) on both campuses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of fun, and energetic people to get involved with at John Tyler. As an incoming student you will be required to take an introductory to college course, which will require you to attend at least three campus activities. Some of the activities are more of presentations, while other actually involve moving and doing (--they even have free movie nights). I find a lot of groups and classes themselves to be fun at both campuses John Tyler offers.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are looking for a cheaper way to begin college or those who are imitated about leaping into the arms of a big university straight out of high school.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are a great price, but unfortunately books can be a bit pricey. I've had semesters where the total costs of books are equal to or more expensive than the total of my classes. Also, the bookstore tends to be a rip off, they charge high prices and their buyback program gives you pocket change for them. I bought a biology book for about $150 and they only bought it back for $35.

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of fun, and energetic people to get involved with at John Tyler. As an incoming student you will be required to take an introductory to college course, which will require you to attend at least three campus activities. Some of the activities are more of presentations, while other actually involve moving and doing (--they even have free movie nights). I find a lot of groups and classes themselves to be fun at both campuses John Tyler offers.

    Food and Dining

    There's no cafeteria, but they have vending machines with snacks and TV and frozen dinners in them. I have never tried a dinner out of the vending machines, but they tend to be fairly empty, so I assume they are tasty. Every once in a while you will find a complimentary student luncheon being given, of course it's usually for new students, but everyone comes and gets a sandwich and some fruit.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at John Tyler Community College, because it is just that a community college, they accept you to have a place to live within the community.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are harder than others, but it really depends on what you are naturally gifted at and how the professor presents it. If your native language is English be sure to get a professor that's also has a native language of English, because some professors are hard to understand due to their ascents.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend John Tyler Community College, have a plan in mind and stick to it. Meet with your actual academic counselor to be sure you are on the right track and taking the right classes. And when you are enrolled in classes, don't be afraid to ask the professors questions, they generally are friendly and tend to answer them in full detail.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great starter schools, they have wonderful teachers and a great range of programs. Not only to they offer broad Associates degrees; they also offer certifications. They have to locations conveniently located in Midlothian, VA and Chester, VA.

  • 06/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    apply for the scholarships on time, and keep up on everything that's going on. i met with people early on to get my stuff together so it has been easier for me and i have avoided a lot of stress because of my initiative.

    Bang for the buck

    i am basically getting a free ride so this is exciting for me.

    Am enjoying being here

    I haven't been in a class on campus yet but the people there are very nice and helpful.

    Academic Rigor

    i have taken three classes through john tyler and have enjoyed all of them. i took them while still in high school which was easiest and most convenient for me. i am glad i was able to do that so i don't have to pay for the classes now. i have gone and met with people on the chester campus and they have all been very helpful.

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    a great way to easy your self in college life

    Bang for the buck

    very cheap

    Did enjoy being here

    love it. love the environment

    Did learn a lot

    All the teachers i had are great. not scary as people may think

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good officers.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Human Services Club

    Great for these types of students

    Meeting friends, going to the student lounge, the library, or just talk to the teachers. The environment is both relaxed and the landscape is very nice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable tuition

    What to do for fun

    The staff and students make learning fun and enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    Good study habits, ask questions, and work for your grade honestly.

    Tips for prospective students

    The willingness to learn and accept comment from the faculty, counselors, and advisors.

    In three sentences

    Very supportive, encouraging, and the discipline to learn is exhorted by the faculty, staff, and advisors.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe. There is always a security guard around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs that you could join and many activities that you could volunteer for.

    Bang for the buck

    If you look up the books you need for classes on amazon they usually are cheaper but if you print off that page and bring it to the bookstore they will beat amazons price by 10%.

    Food and Dining

    All the school has is a vending machine, but there are many restaurants that are near by that you could go to.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes aren't that hard if you pay attention and stay focused. Also write down important dates so they don't sneak up on you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and pick your classes early. Also, go to http://www.ratemyprofessors.com before you pick the class that way you get a feel of what the teacher is like beforehand.

    In three sentences

    John Tyler is a great school, the classes are fun and the teachers are great. The atmosphere at John Tyler is very relaxed. There is always something going on so it's never boring.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They offer great glasses at a great price compared to the four year universities!

    What to do for fun

    This is a community college so there really isn't anything fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is no dining.

    Dorm Life

    There is not a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you sit down with a counselor in order to assure an accurate schedule.

    In three sentences

    John Tyler is a really great school! I love the teachers and all of the help they provide to their students!

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always security guards and people riding golf carts to ensure the safety of all of the students and teachers at John Tyler. Also, there are pillars scattered throughout the campus which have a button you press if you are ever in danger which alerts security. I feel completely safe at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Art club, theater club, study abroad, Fool for Art. That's just a few clubs and activities available at John Tyler.

    Great for these types of students

    John Tyler is great if you are a prospective Art student or if you are interested in the Nursing program. The work load is tough, but you are guaranteed a great education when you finally graduate.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It seems that everyone gathers near the statue of John Tyler outside. That fellow get's a lot of attention.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking for a great learning environment and devoted teachers, John Tyler is the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    John Tyler is always hosting activities. The art program's Tyler has are exceptional, so there are a lot of Art shows and such. The students that also attend Tyler are very friendly and everyone gathers in between classes. You actually meet a lot of cool people!

    Food and Dining

    Okay, so we don't have a cafeteria on campus, but we do have vending machines with frozen meals which you can heat up using the microwave in the student lounge. There are many places nearby where you can grab something to eat, so a cafeteria isn't all that necessary.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms since this is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    John Tyler is actually a pretty difficult school, I feel. This is good because it challenges people to do their absolute best. You are not just getting a grade, but you are getting an overall life experience, as well as being aware of your potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on going to John Tyler I feel that you should be ready to crunch down and study as much as possible. Also, being involved in activities with the school is crucial. This helps because it being a community college, you are not always on campus so many students feel as if they are not in school at all. By being involved with the school you are more apt to do well and feel like a real college student.

    In three sentences

    John Tyler is a great school. I feel that it exceeds most community colleges as far as education goes. I would recommend this school to anyone.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lift weights, Soccer

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen and interact with other student.

    In three sentences

    Good a laid back Atmosphere. Also a fast moving school. It has Great Teacher

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    John Tyler is 100% percent secure with on campus security. They are there when the campus open untill it close. there are often times when the sucurity officers would walk around the campus to make sure its a safe enviorment.

    Greek Life

    There are some sororities at john Tyler community college but they are academically based. most of them are honor and scholar programs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a clubs and activities of all types atJohn Tyler community college. there are fun clubs, academic clubs, music clubs and also activities such as work shops, movie nights, campus picnics and more. John Tyler ensures great college activities and clubs yo give all students a fun college feel.

    Great for these types of students

    John Tyler is great for students that plan on becoming successor's in eduction. also the campus is small so it also would fit students that love peaceful, small environments.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Most of the traditional spots at John Tyler is our new massive library, our commons area and sometimes if the weather is nice our outside stations that are set up to help students enjoy the brightness of the beautiful weather.

    Bang for the buck

    John Tyler community college is a great source for saving money. the tuition is very cheap. also if applied with financial aid you will receive a check worth however much you have left over all for yourself. you also are allowed to turn your books in at the end of the semester for an extra amount of money.

    What to do for fun

    There are many options to choose from at John Tyler community college pertaining to fun and activities. there are many on campus work shops, clubs, and teams. plenty of people to make new friends with. you also can request to make your own clubs and activities so if there is something you are interested in you can turn it into a club ore activities of your own if there isn't already a club or activity for it on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food and dining at John Tyler community. This college is surrounded with many food restaurants within 5 minutes walking distance. there is also a building called the Nicolas center its like a commons area where you can sit and eat while you study or hang out with friends.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at John Tyler community college, but the students are so friendly and optimistic that every time anyone goes on campus it feels as if you are living in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    John Tyler offers dual enrollment classes to high school students to prepare them for whats to come. also as a freshmen there is a class all college freshman must take which is called SDV 100. It teaches students how to get through college successfully.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Stay Ahead. John Tyler ensures many great opportunities for academic help. 2. Use your resources. the library, teachers tutors, etc are all placed there to help all students have academic success. 3.Study. college is a very high level of learning take your studies very serious.

    In three sentences

    I rate John Tyler Community College a 10 on a scale of 1-10. They ensure great education. The education of the worlds future leaders is very important here.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its affordable and flexible.

    Food and Dining

    No food :(

    Dorm Life

    No dorms :)

    Academic Rigor

    I was home schooled my whole life. I don't have previous public schooling to compare it to. I wasn't sure what to expect when I started... I have learned some, but it is not as hard as I thought it would be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't rely on your advisers, counselors, or other college's advisers for helping you walk through transferring. Get friends with experience to help you as well. Double and triple check every credit, rule, and read all of the fine print.

    In three sentences

    John Tyler is a friendly college with lots of options. Its a good stepping stone and the people there are eager to help you. I enjoy going to class and I also enjoy the online option.

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join at John Tyler. There is also a soccer team and volleyball.

    Food and Dining

    only vending machines

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great college at which to get started, the professors really care about you learning and everyone is nice!

    In three sentences

    John Tyler Community College is a great school. The staff is wonderful and helpful. The professors really care about the students well-being and learning.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, they have procedures for all sorts of situations and you can also sign up for Tyler Alert, which is a system that will send a text message to your phone for any type of emergency whether that be a some sort of situation on campus or the weather closings.

    Great for these types of students

    John Tyler Community College is great for every type of student, they even offer accommodations and extra help for people who have special needs.

    Bang for the buck

    The education quality is definitely worth the tuition here, which in comparison to many other schools really isn't that expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are many opportunities for fun on campus like clubs and other activities students set up, though I have not joined in on any of these I haven't heard any negative feedback about them.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria on campus only a few vending machines and a student lounge area.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really sya much here being as how this is a community college there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The assignments in each class are challenging yet not impossible, there are also many easy assignments but not to where you wouldn't learn anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes go fast, it would be smart to sign up as soon as the class sign ups open up if you want to be able to set what days, times, and instructors you want rather than scrambling last second.

    In three sentences

    John Tyler Community College has been everything I've expected it to be. I've started a certificate program in fine arts that helps build a portfolio to transfer to other art schools, though because of the helpfulness of the staff and quality of the program I have considered completing an art degree here. I would highly recommend John Tyler to incoming college students.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    only vending machines for food and drinks

    Dorm Life

    its a community college with no dorms

    In three sentences

    Great classes Great teachers Great accomidations

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great there is a system set up for text messages alert to send to all students. There are campus security police officers that patrol the campus.

    Greek Life

    There are some greek life with academic fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities that students can get involved with to help get experience. Things like study abroad or work study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    John Tyler as two campus locations one in Chester, VA and one in Midlothian, VA.

    Bang for the buck

    John Tyler is a great school for a student is looking to save money because of the tuition rates are great for the amount of classes and coursework one can complete.

    Food and Dining

    There is no food or dining however at each campus location there are many places to grab some food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life all students must compute to classes.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes depending on major or academic program range from easy to difficult as long as effort is put into the coursework students should excel.

    Tips for prospective students

    All students must do is apply first and then meet with a counselor on the best program of study is and then registrar for classes.

    In three sentences

    This a great school for the convenience of the classes and how they are scheduled. Great flexibility for individuals that have full time employment, and the instructors are well educated to help students. John Tyler is a great kick start to helping students transfer to other four year intuitions or complete their associates degree.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a library.

    Food and Dining

    community college

    Dorm Life

    Community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let work keep you from doing well in college.

    In three sentences

    John Tyler is a cheap, clean school. It is a good kickoff point for transferring to a four year college. There are many opportunities available for those with little money to spend.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club, attend campus events, and be open to getting to know your classmates.

    Food and Dining

    The only source of food or dining on campus would be vending machines, which is pretty typical for a community college. Since students commute, there are fast food options nearby and numerous food stores within five minutes away from campus.

    Dorm Life

    John Tyler Community College does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic rigor depends largely on how many courses or credits you are taking. There are many courses for students to take, so that they can have a broad range of options to further their education. The school definitely does its best to offer ways to academically excel, such as study groups, peer tutoring, and a library with flexible hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some professors are more passionate about their subjects then others. Check ratemyprofessor.com to find excellent matches, and make sure you are attentive and communicate with your professor. Time management and staying on top of your work load are critical.

    In three sentences

    John Tyler Community College has a beautiful campus. The design is flawless, and very focused on being environmentally friendly. Additionally the people are very friendly and open minded.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are three food vending machines in the main building. Along with two drink vending machines in the main building.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are not that well at John Tyler. Depending on the instructor you get really depends on whether or not you learn something new in that class.

  • 08/16/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in high school and go to a better college where they are more concerned about helping kids get into college and graduate. Look at the retention and graduation rate. Go to a different college..

    In three sentences

    The administration and financial aid personnel are all rude. Everyone we have talked to seem disinterested and don't care about the students. We waited to talk to an advisor for over an hour then they just closed up the office and left without telling anyone that was waiting.

  • 08/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Prepare you a bigger university

    Bang for the buck

    There are alot of people willing to sell their text books. Look for them before buying or sell your books to the school.

    Food and Dining

    nice vending machine

    Dorm Life

    no dorm but great places to stay

    Tips for prospective students

    Before picking your professors go on rate my professor.com to pick the really good ones.

    In three sentences

    Alot of people. Good professors

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of you account!!

    In three sentences

    So far Ive enjoyed it.

  • 04/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Decent as there are security always on campus along with alarm buttons in the parking lot. The school is small enough you shouldn't be in any real danger

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    You can join clubs or go to the library(which is nice for both campuses). Theatre club is a little weak( not a lot of people) and I can't speak for the other clubs. Art club seems to have a lot of fun( but i'm not in it). You can smoke outside( if you do that) or just chat with people in general. Overall theres not a tun of activities at this school.

    Great for these types of students

    I'd say anyone as long as you're ok with a school being not crazy exciting, you should be fine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Decent considering a ok amount of variety in classes and teachers. They have night/evening/ online/ hybrid/ shorter time period classes as well so there are options for just about everyone.

    What to do for fun

    Not too much except talking the library and clubs (which are not huge here)

    Food and Dining

    They have a center in chester where you can sit and eat. However it's very noisy in there but a lot of people socialize. There are microwaves at both campuses, but no place really dedicated for eating at the chester campus. Now they have a food truck that comes by a few hours every week, but personally i've never had class during that time and i've never seen it.

    Dorm Life

    none is available

    Academic Rigor

    It varies as certain teachers will be extremely difficult, while others will be overly easy. Ask around and look online for good teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the website ratemyproffesor. It's saved my butt a few times with switching out of certain classes. Also take advantage of the tutoring there by singing up in the very beginning of the semester if you can. they can work with you're schedule much better that way.The writing center at chester is usually non appointment, however the student success center is not.

    In three sentences

    I contains a lot of options for students for a community college. It offers two campuses. In most classes you will have a variety of teachers to choose from.

  • 04/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security guards are very great. They care about the safety and you can always call them if you need help.

    Great for these types of students

    Unsure about what they want to do in the future or don't have a lot of money just yet for a four year university. Also great for students who aren't quite ready to go away from home.

    Bang for the buck

    Good for the money. Not too expensive

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and things you can do for fun on campus. At the Chester campus, they just installed two volleyball nets too!

    Food and Dining

    They just started a taco truck service here at John Tyler one day a week. I haven't tried it but it seems like it's not too bad

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here, as it is a community college

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are a range from easy to challenging. When taking harder classes, make sure you listen to the teacher's pointers for studying. When you can, take multiple classes by a professor that you like

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessor.com when picking professors/teachers for your classes. It comes in very handy!

    In three sentences

    John Tyler is a great way to start college if you don't know where you want to go, what you want to do, or don't have a lot of money right now. It is cheaper than 4 year universities. The teachers are a lot more personable, as well, they like to help their students.