Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Johnson C Smith University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/22/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Focused Determined Proud African American Diverse Pro Active

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very Motivated and involved. Don't get distracted by others who would have you fail. Surround yourself with people who want to do something in life and are a positive influence, not those who are negative because they will pull you down. You want to be lifted.Enjoy yourself and have FUN!

    Will enjoy being here

    I will most definitely enjoy being here. During the Golden Bull Academy which is a Program for incoming freshman I learned so much. Most importantly the school made me feel at home. JCSU is a family and as a freshman I have become a part of that family. I cant wait to start school on Aug 12,2010. I'm really looking forward to it. ;D

    Will learn a lot

    At Johnson C. Smith University I will learn a lot about the field I'm going to major in which is Health Education. I will also learn more about the history of my school. How? Who? What? Where? All the need to know bases.Time management. I will learn how to become more independent.

  • 04/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Smith is a great place be for people who are: determined, optimistic, hard-working, unique, and confident. Incoming students should be confident in themselves before they get here because I've seen a lot of people come in one way and become completely swayed by their surroundings by the end of their first semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    - If you enroll here, do it for the long-haul, because the credits don't transfer out as easily as they transfer in. - Make sure if you have the opportunity to physically come and visit the school before you finalize your enrollment. While you are here ask a few students their opinion of the school, take everything into consideration but don't believe EVERYTHING your hear. Take all comments with a grain of salt.

    Bang for the buck

    In the past few years tuition has been on the rise. I wouldn't have an issue with this increase of tuition if things were being worked on on campus. This year it was increased to fund the acquisition of the street the school is located on. This is a great investment but many of the students would like the money to fix the issues on campus grounds before moving outward into the community.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here. Since it is such a small school the students become a very close-knit family away from home. Again, since it is a small school students have the opportunity to gain personal mentoring relationships with the professors on campus as well. This is important especially when opportunities arise in the area.

    Am learning a lot

    Smith provides many opportunities for students to learn in and outside of the classroom. There are programs called Lyceums that are given throughout the year. The topics of these programs range from financial help, to health awareness, to musical concerts. Every time I've attended one of them I walked away with a better understanding of the topic at hand,

  • 05/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you wanna have fun and get a great education this is the best institution for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors and administration. It will make coming to Smith easier.

    Bang for the buck

    For what we pay to attend JCSU I expect more, but we are growing and building to make JCSU the best HBCU in the south.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have met some really terrific people who I wouldn't trade in for the world!!!!!!!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much at Johnson C. Smith University. Everyday I learn a little more about life and how to balance a career and a social calendar.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun you can cool out at the student union hall were everybody goes and engage in different games or t.v. at johnson c. smith there are various organizations you can join. the gym is always available during none practice hours. johnson c. smith has a series of activities lined-up throughout the year for students to participate.

    Food and Dining

    johnson c. smith university has good breakfast, lunch and dinner accommodations. you are allowed 19 meals per week. johnson c. smith university gives every students a $200 gift card to papa johns, which is located on campus.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm rooms are well equipped with technical needs advanced students have the ability to stay in special housing dorms. dorms are design by contracted designers. the expansion of johnson c. smiths university dormitories stretch into metro charlotte.

    Academic Rigor

    all professors are graduated doctorates. the professor has a high tendency to know you by face. the school has a prestigious business academy. johnson c. smith university's science academy is acquiring advance technology. johnson c. smith has a great performance arts academy

    Tips for prospective students

    be open to new cultures. make us of the small class room sizes. develop a repoir with fellow classmates.

    In three sentences

    you development long lasting relationships with faculty and staff. the campus setup is beneficial to network capabilities. johnson c. smith is part of a developing city.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always feel safe on Campus. There are multiple help lines stationed all around campus.

    Greek Life

    There is a lot of greek life on campus. Not much randomness in it though but it is still entertaining.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs. Try to create your own club during your tenure here.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want a real family environment and who prefer smaller classes.

    What to do for fun

    Depends on the type of person you are. There are many different kinds of people on this campus with different types of interest. If you're a party-goer, there are free spots all throughout the week to go too. If you're more conservative. just a fifteen minute walk of five minute bus ride will get you to Uptown Charlotte. A very great place to be for nightlife.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria here is okay. It isn't the best food nor is it open for a long time but they do have some nutritional elements to them.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are just above average. They are not to flashy or great but they are not bad either. They keep it pretty clean throughout the week and it's a pretty easy place to live in.

    Academic Rigor

    The schoolwork at this institution is tough, but only if you choose not to pay attention in class or do your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    GO TO YOUR PROFESSOR'S OFFICE HOURS! That is a great way for your professor's to get a feel for who you are and what you strive to do in College. It is also a great way to earn better grades. You can talk to your professor about anything from school to personal life.

    In three sentences

    This school has a great community-outreach program. The professor's really thrive to educate you. Wherever you turn, someone is able to help you.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    playing spades in the union

    Food and Dining

    food here is not great they have one or two days were they are ok but thats it

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is ok could be a little better

    Academic Rigor

    academically most professors here are hard on students because the have a relationship with you so you can succeed

    Tips for prospective students

    three basic tips for future students would be 1. visit the univeristy before accepting to come 2. know your purpose of coming 3. keep a small circle of important people, its not who you know but who knows you. networking is key and coming to smith thats the main focus

    In three sentences

    Johnson C.Smith is a school for a person who likes a small environment. It is a institution that focuses on helping each student get ready for the working world. Johnson C.Smith has there pros and cons

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very dangerous! Anyone can come on campus and there was shooting recently not too far from the school!

    Greek Life

    Doesn't even have Frat house!

    Clubs and Activities

    Very limited

    Bang for the buck

    They charge 25k for a very small campus!

    What to do for fun

    There's Nothing!

    Food and Dining

    Terrible!

    Dorm Life

    Very nasty!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not attend!

    In three sentences

    This school is totally unreliable! The Dean does not interact with the student body. I would not recommend.

  • 11/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    You plenty of clubs and activities that one can be involved, for example I am currently involved with the Political Science club and the Pre-Law organization.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to attend law school this is one of the greatest colleges because they now have what is called the 3 by 3 program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They just opened a new off campus dorm that everyone is enjoying.

    Bang for the buck

    The President here at Johnson C Smith is always visible and involved with the students. You see more than when you are having a problem. The staff here is great to communicate with and they make you feel welcome.

    What to do for fun

    We have supports, going to the mall is always great, and you are not far from the NFL or NBA at Johnson C Smith University.

    Food and Dining

    Food is my favorite and we have variety here at Johnson C Smith.

    Dorm Life

    Well the dorm life is what you make it, we have fun and we are involved in the decision making in our dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic program is great, they have plenty different programs that one can have a major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always come to class prepared for a pop quiz. Work hard and have fun after you have done your work. Get involved with the campus and different organizations.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a full staff of campus police as well as gates around the school. Each gate has a guard booth and is monitored 24/7.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is quite expensive but you will get an education and experience not found many other places.

    What to do for fun

    Being located in Charlotte, NC there are many fun things to do in you're free time. This includes theme parks, clubs, and downtown Charlotte is only five minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is good, especially breakfast. The cafe is unlimited food once you have entered.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a good size and you have the options of single rooms or double. New dorms have just been built. The only issues is, as with living with other people is the cleanliness issue.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor of your classes will be determined upon the major you have decided upon. Being a double major in biology and chemistry the rigor of your classes is very high.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay on your finances. If you receive an academic scholarship be sure to keep your GPA above a 3.0.

    In three sentences

    I would give Johnson C Smith University a 7 on a scale of 10. It has a nice environment and good teachers but there is various issues with financial aid. If you have decided to come to the University make sure that you always stay on your finances.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    as for safety, i have been here for a year already and never had any problems.

    Greek Life

    greek life is really big here. always have different events according to each greek organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are several different clubs. like spiritual, academic, sports, ethnicity.

    Great for these types of students

    definitely attend all events if you can.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    tradition that happen every year is of course homecoming and ciaa (central intercollegiate athletic association).

    What to do for fun

    there is always a lot to do here. smith has several hang out spots for all students. a gym and the game room where you can meet other students.

    Food and Dining

    in my opinion the food is not the best but as a student you definitely appreciate it.

    Dorm Life

    as for me, i don't like the dorms because for one your sharing your space and another you don't know who your next roommate will be.on the other hand i do like it because i enjoy meeting new people.

    Academic Rigor

    academic depends on you but instructors are willing to work with. you also have your peers and student services to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    future students who are willing to learn, i will definitely encourage them to be involved. please go by the quote a close mouth don't get fed. meaning ask for all the help you need.

    In three sentences

    jonson c. smith small classes give students more of an opportunity to succeed. each professor make it there job to help each and every student no matter what circumstance. also smith introduces several events that connects with every student interest.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    all divine 9 nphc greek organizations are offered on this campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    lets just say when basketball season comes around there is a saying you stand no chance in brayboy

    What to do for fun

    we are located 5 minutes from uptown charlotte, nc. the epic center movie theaters located 15 minutes away northlake mall(7 minutes), concord mills outlet mall(10 minutess),carolina place mall(10minutes) variety of parks , and plenty more

    Tips for prospective students

    when applying for smith consider the following: do i like big cities. do i like to have a good time while studying do i want to have a home away from home if you answered yes to these questions johnson c smith university is for you!

    In three sentences

    johnson c smith university is a wonderful hbcu. although we are a hbcu we have international students, and all races that attend. the best university by far.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    the school is well diverse. the grounds are well kept. the school is amazing i love what and how i am being prepared to entire the world educated.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students that want to still feel like they are in high school or students that don't mind being rejected from group's because of looks or finical back ground.

    Food and Dining

    there is not a lot of options for dinning. either you have stir fry, burgers or you can go down to the bullpen and have papa johns where the service is horrible.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are not how i expected. the bathrooms are dirty, there are roaches and the people that i live with are very immature and dirty.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you do a lot of research on the university before you attend the college. be prepared to feel like you are back in high school.

    In three sentences

    johnson c. smith university is a very urban university. the teaching style varies by professor. over all as a campus i wouldn't recommend this university to any of my friends or family members.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there campus police every where on campus

    Greek Life

    from what i seen greek life is amazning.

    Clubs and Activities

    spanish club, math club and etc.

    What to do for fun

    there a lot of campus active to do on campus for fun or i would go uptown on the free bus.

    Food and Dining

    to me the food is ok because i am use to a different type of food,but to other is great.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is fun but if you use to having your own room it going to be a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't think every body your friend. when the semester, something your friend change. also try to stay on track on your studies because as freshman we tend to party a lot.

    In three sentences

    johnson c smith university is good for enforce the rule. also johnson c smith make you feel like a family tone his is parting especially for the one who from out of state.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    the Greek Life at JCSU is okay, its growing.

    Great for these types of students

    people who like/want a small environment

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of JCSU is A LOT! and rising each year. Because its a private there isn't a difference for in state and out of state tuition.

    What to do for fun

    The people at JCSU are awesome. Alot of nice fun people. Uptown Charlotte is literally a 5 min ride/drive or 15 min walk up the street.

    Food and Dining

    The food is -_____-. Sometimes its okay but most times its TERRIBLE,

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is TERRIBLE ! be prepared to be treated like a child. The RHCs and the RAs want you to be grow but they set SOOO many simple stupid rules that you basically have more freedom at home then you do in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are pretty easy, at least as a freshmen they are. Its almost the end of the my second semester and I haven't wrote more than 2 pages for an assignment. However, it does get harder from what I've heard and seen.

    Tips for prospective students

    JCSU is very small, therefore make sure you visit the school before you decide. Make sure a small school is what you really want because its VERY small. However, it is growing but the changes their doing wont really be done til 2014-2015.

    In three sentences

    JCSU is a good school. Nice professors.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty much cool.

    Greek Life

    pretty cool

    Clubs and Activities

    all sports

    Great for these types of students

    African Americans

    What to do for fun

    Party, athletics, feternities, clubs and school.

    Food and Dining

    Food sucks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty spacey.

    Academic Rigor

    It's great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you research your college. Check out the majors. And make sure its where you want to go.

    In three sentences

    Its a private school. Johnson C smith is a small campus. The class room learning is great.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always patrolling making sure everyone is safe

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very lively they put on a lot of programs for campus life

    Great for these types of students

    For student who like family oriented environments

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Free laundry mat

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent for the most part it just isn't the most nutritious

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great it's a lot of activities going on for students to enjoy themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoy being in a small environment and you want your professors to know you by your name Johnson C Smith is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Is a unique HBCU you get one on one time with professors you will receive help you need and all around great private college.

  • 04/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Socialize. Make friends or find classmates to hang with. Parties are everywhere(if you ask you will find some) and you may meet people who go to other colleges and find more things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be so much better but most college's food is crazy. The cafe has a small selection of foods to pick from but you will find something you like. If not, the student union has good food. There's also a coffee shop, a book store with snacks, and food places around campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is what you make it. Be clean and neat or things will get ugly. There are times when there may be nothing to do, take the time to explore the city. Charlotte is beautiful and the location of the school helps with that. Studying is a way to kill time too :)

    Academic Rigor

    The teaching methods are different depending on who your instructor is for that class but you will adjust. Its simple-just do the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard. Step on campus with an open mind. You will experience life and realize things that will help you be successful. Take advantage of the resources and the rest is fun-if you are social !!!!

    In three sentences

    Johnson C. Smith University has it's ups-and-downs like every university. Through everything, the faculty and staff is very supportive and helpful. I couldn't have chosen a better college to attend !

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Even though it the same old thing, I promise you its something better than nothing. Going out, hanging with friends, going shopping, going out to eat. The city has plenty to do just not advertised enough so, find ways to find out.

    Food and Dining

    Food wasn't always good, but I enjoyed breakfast.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm are not good but, for an old school its ok. Just embrace it.

    Academic Rigor

    When I left the Science department was getting a make over. hopefully that is done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy every minute of Smith, We all complained but, we all miss it and love it.

    In three sentences

    Loved the school and the variety of persons that attends. It's something different but, the city needs some work.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing really, not unless you're into clubbing. Might as well not go to the epic center unless you're 21+

    Food and Dining

    Tha after effects are terrible!

    Dorm Life

    Females are really nasty these days, look out!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go looking for good food, Make sure you tour the school before hand, Visit your teachers during their office hours! It will help.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are always there to help. It is a good school for those who want to attend a small campus. The school has it's ups & downs.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a dance crew that goes with the school band. They are creating a soccer field for the students who are interested. Their basketball team attracts many people.

    Food and Dining

    I have not started school but from what I recall the food at the open house is not at all from the high school cafeteria. The food varies and they give students money per semester to spend on food. also, the food is very delicious.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on the students life whether to attend school and live in the campus. My choice was to just go to school. The reason is because when you decide to live on campus there is more spending.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are best suitable when they apply to you. It is best to go to your counselor and talk about your doubts if you have any. It is better to be prepared and study before taking a class that you are unsure about.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip I would recommend to the students is to study and get good grades in order to come to that school. Another tip is that is better to apply to scholarships before you go there. Lastly, take advantage of every opportunity.

    In three sentences

    Johnson C. Smith is a great school that has many majors to choose from. Although it is hard to get a scholarship for a low GPA student, Johnson C. Smith has managed to stay on top. In the finance field is very suitable for a student majoring in Accounting.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Be aware of your surroundings, there is security but always make sure you are cautious.

    Clubs and Activities

    National Society of Black Engineers(NSBE) MATH Club Community Service Committee

    What to do for fun

    Listen to music Meet up with friends to hang out Go shopping

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food and papa johns both suck but you just have to make the best of it.

    Dorm Life

    Living in dorms is a really great opportunity to meet new people and is sort of like your home away from home.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic standard is good, you have to make sure you are on top of your studies and then getting good grades should come naturally.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is ok if you are undecided with your major with time you will figure out. Network Take advantage of opportunities

    In three sentences

    Johnson C. Smith University is a wonderful institution where the professors are very hands on and helpful. Also, the enviornment and the students on campus are friendly where you get a loving feeling. The educational experience is amazing and presents us students with a lot of opportunities.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe campus police stay riding around 24/7

    What to do for fun

    Go out, experience new things, live a little. It's all up to you and you get a new kind of freedom that's very rewarding.

    Food and Dining

    The two days I visited the food was terrible and they had nothing I liked so I clearly will be making my own meals in my dorm room.

    Dorm Life

    Nice sized dorms can do it up however you want only thing is they have certain rules you have to follow but their not too bad and a bonus is you have no curfew and if you do well you get coed visitation.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know the academics like that yet but I can say that things seem like they are pretty well set and can take you places in the world with their majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just to do all your research and make sure you're making the decision that's right for you.

    In three sentences

    Johnson C. Smith University has a beautiful campus that holds promising possibilities. When I visited I wasnt into all the other students yet but I feel like it's the type of place that grows on you. I would recommend it to anyone interested in taking a leap of faith.

  • 07/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Johnson C. Smith is located 2 minutes from downtown Charlotte. Every weekend starting Friday after 5pm I would go downtown and just hangout with friends. If I was downtown I at the mall. Charlotte have a lot of shopping and entertainment to go to.

    Food and Dining

    The food was okay on some days. You would have to know what day it was for the good for but I like that they had a stir fry line so we didn't have to eat the regular cafe food. They also had the union where we could get pizza and chicken.

    Dorm Life

    I lived across the street from the main campus but I still loved my AR and the people that stayed with me in the dorms. Also it was a new experience sharing a bathroom with a lot of people.

    Academic Rigor

    Smith gives you a lot of options for your academics when you get here but somemore could be offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you live in the other side of the street like I did make sure you get up early enough to get ready and walk across the bridge. Also if you have any questions don't be afraid to ask the professor are more than willing to help you get the answer or find somebody who can. Take advantage of all the study sessions on and off campus they will help in the long run and have fun.

    In three sentences

    Johnson C. Smith as a collge is a wonderful place to do your undergraduate because it is like a big family and the professors are willing to help you. Smith's are also very friendly. The campus and everybody on it make you feel like you at home.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty much safe seeing as how you have to go past the security booth before entering the main campus. Most freshman stay across the street in their designated dorms, which are gated and has its own little security booth. Only those freshman have key access to the gates.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks keep campus alive and fun. Their mini performances during gym parties get the whole school involved. The students love cheering on the fraternities and sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is: tennis, volleyball, track & field, basketball, football, modeling troupes, a cheerleading squad, and so much more.

    Great for these types of students

    JCSU is great for students who like a small campus with small classes, where everbody knows everybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On designated Thursdays, at 10:10 pm, campus clubs and organizations make-up short performances for all students to get an insight on what they are all about.

    Bang for the buck

    Johnson C. Smith University is a private institute so there is no in-state/out-of-state tuition; everyone pays the same amount for tuition. Teachers are so involved in the students' academic progress, as well as satisfying graduation requirements, such as community service projects.

    What to do for fun

    Via bus, there's several malls, movies, and restaurants. If you have a car though, there's so much more. Clubs, bowling, skating, facilities for outdoor activities (mountain climbing, whitewater rafting, etc.), museums and much more!

    Food and Dining

    Food could use a little improvement but still good nonetheless.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are nice and clean. Great housekeeping staff.

    Academic Rigor

    Nice, small classrooms. You have the ability to get to know your professors and vice versa. You can actually learn and engage in the lessons versus taking endless notes in a class of 400 students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Manage your time well. Do not get so involved with the party life that you forget why you're attending the school in the first place. Get to know your professors, as well as your peers, because you'll need someone's help before you graduate. Don't forget to enjoy your college career and still try to have fun!

    In three sentences

    A wonderful school with small class proportions. Great sense of community there. Located in Charlotte, the Queen City.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I plan on joining a sorority, cheerleading, book club and school magazine or newspaper

    Food and Dining

    Papa Johns restaurant in university

    Dorm Life

    Ive been told that the dorms are amazing I will have to see for myself to know for sure Sept. 11 2012

    Academic Rigor

    GREAT

    Tips for prospective students

    I will be attending this fall so my only tip would be for the next incoming srudents and that is to applied your all to what you want. Go further than the norm and start your own path and lead.

    In three sentences

    Never been on the campus but seen beautiful pictures showcasing how amazing the University is with a minimum of 1297 students attending there it is full of life, culture. I am eager and excited to be,a part of JCSU this fall.

  • 09/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police will handle anything and everything negative that goes on around campus.

    Greek Life

    The greek life is wonderful at Johnson C Smith. I may not be a part of one but I respect every organization and what they represent.

    Clubs and Activities

    Johnson C Smith University clubs and activities are marvelous.

    Great for these types of students

    International students can participate in the study abroad which is a program for students to travel around the world with the culture they're studying.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Johnson C Smith University have traditions such as JCSU Student Government Organization President, Homecoming King and Queen, Miss and Mr JCSU to represent the school.

    Bang for the buck

    If you apply yourself with making good grades or looking for scholarships, then those opportunities will come to you.

    What to do for fun

    Johnson C Smith has different organizations you can join. There also be gym parties either Friday or Saturday night, sometimes both nights. You can showcase your talent on stage if you sing, rap, dance or etc.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is good. Johnson C Smith's meal plan includes a $200 card for papa johns just in case you don't want the food in the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Johnson C Smith are in good condition. It's up to the suit mates and roommates to keep the dorm's environment clean.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here at Johnson C Smith University are there to help both inside and outside the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Focus on your education for more grants and scholarships. 2. Be careful who you call your friends. 3. Be involved with college activities and be active around campus.

    In three sentences

    Johnson C Smith University is a Historical Black College University. This school has great opportunities and great people in it. Once you come, you will never want to leave because of the people you have became close with.

  • 10/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I dance, sing and act goofy for fun. But hanging around my friends is just fun to me.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is wonderful because you don't have to wait in one line just for food and the is plenty of places that you can eat in the cafe and you also watch t.v while you are eating so I really like this a lot.

    Dorm Life

    I don't like the dorm life that much because the way the dorms are and I have to go up and down six flights of stairs to get to my room and I also dislike the fact that one floor has to share a bathroom but other than that I like the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Well, for me I have difficulty in some of my classes due the fact that I don't have any books yet and other that everything is excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check and see how much the school cost and if you don't have enough money to cover for your academic semester try to get scholarships. Also as a freshman its going to be harder than the rest of your years of college so the best thing for you is to focus the freshman year because its easy to drop your GPA but is hard to get it back up.

    In three sentences

    Johnson C Smith University is one of the best HBCU college that is out here. I say this because even though this is historical black university it is a lot of diversity. This school also does a great job in preparing you for your career and how its going to be in the real world when we do graduate and be out on our own.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police that's here on campus 24/7. We are also fenced in from the community with one way on and off the campus which makes it easier to help keep track of whose coming on and off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students of different race and background, anyone looking for a change of sensory, and for students that are planing on being a well rounded individual.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This campus is located minutes from Uptown Charlotte. From the campus u can see the buildings located Uptown and the way the buildings light up at night. The bus line also travels from this school which will make it easier if you planing on getting a job.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a little expensive, but you are paying for an education to help better you life.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty to do for fun. They will send out emails for the different student activities going on during the week.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining experience is tolerable. They have plenty of choices to choose from in case the food is not to your liking as well as the dorms having kitchen so you can always cook your own food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is adequate, gives you the freedom to live as an adult but have rules to keep you safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically this school is up to par. The professors will give you the material to use to help succeed. They will also help in anyway they can to make sure you are not failing. The school has set up tutoring for all subjects in all majors to make sure each student is applying his/her self.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospect students apply for finical aid ahead of time, apply for all scholarships possible, make outstanding grades while in high school, and save at the same time to help pay for college tuition room and board and any other expenses.

    In three sentences

    Johnson C. Smith is an exceptional college. The President of the college is opening the doors for students of different race, background, culture, and upbringings. The staff here will help the students in anyway to get ahead in life.

  • 10/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a lot of campus police available protecting the whole campus.

    Greek Life

    The frat life is abundant. They have all traditional fraternities to get into.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of club such as the yoga clubs, the stem club and the fraternization.

    Great for these types of students

    For African American

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is pretty cultural with church on campus and rules from the handbook.

    Bang for the buck

    Think I could get more for my money.

    What to do for fun

    They have a work out gym, lounge, parties etc.

    Food and Dining

    Need more choices, and they need to stock better on food n utensils.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live on dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Have to work hard to get an A. An A will not be given but earned.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have your financial aid prepared. Have what meal plan you want to get.

    In three sentences

    Johnson C Smith is a nice school if you can afford the tuition. There are not many resources on campus for financial assistance. If you can afford the tuition it is a nice journey to go through.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go on walks, play video games with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I had to adjust, because I was not used to eat fast food, however I do make wise choice about my food intake. My parents do send carepackage which is great.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is different for me, but with time I am adjusting. My roommate is a great guy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come join this HBC, you will find your self surrounded by people who cares and strive for better educations for their students.

    In three sentences

    They are Family-Friendyl, focus on students academics achievements and provide supports if needed. Excellent Professor, clean campus. Student and Administrators collaboration plays a big role at JCSU.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs and functions and events that could be dabbled into. It is up to the student to network and find their nitche in the world. I love JCSU!!!!

    Food and Dining

    Excellenct food. Just need more choices in the student union for commuter students!!

    Dorm Life

    Ilive off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent academic curriculum!!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a well rounded college experience this is the place to be. If you want a small class size. This is the place to be. If you want engagement and to be challenged. This is the place to comke a become a well rounded productive citizen. You can change the world and m,ake a difference at JCSU!!!

    In three sentences

    I enjoy my current major. I love the small class student to teacher ratio. I enjoy the involvement of the educators with the students. There have been posisitve experiences so far!! I love JCSU!!!

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is a lot of campus safety

    Greek Life

    the Greek life here is OK

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs that they can join.

    Great for these types of students

    none

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is the block.

    Bang for the buck

    No. You don't get bang for your buck

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a lot to do unless you take a trip to uptown Charlotte

    Food and Dining

    The Food is horrible

    Dorm Life

    I live in a single dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a Criminology student

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your college/university wisely

    In three sentences

    I really do love my HBCU. They are unorganized. We need a better system here.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure, they are willing to help. They are there to help you out if you are in need. In just one phone call they can be there to protect you.

    Greek Life

    Greek life helps you network yourself for when you need a job after college. Greeks helps out in the community and they are willing to give back. It will give you reason to perform well in the class room.

    Clubs and Activities

    Various clubs and activities can help build your character. It can also help you get involved in the school. Also it can get you apart of some friends that like the same things you do.

    Great for these types of students

    Students of different backgrounds can make friends here. The diversity at school is increasing every year. You can become very active at school by joining the Smith family.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student union is a great place to meet people. You can play pool, watch tv, and even play ping pong. The union is one location where you can hang out with your friends.

    Bang for the buck

    School is very expensive so make sure you go out and try everything. Your college life is the best time of your life so enjoy it. While you are in college you will meet some life long friends.

    What to do for fun

    Make sure that you get out and explore the campus. Try to go and join various clubs and organizations on campus to see what common interests you have with other people. Enjoy the weekends because that is a great time to unwind with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    Try to make the most out of the cafe food. Make sure you get all of the food groups in every meal. The cafe will be able to supply you with a good meal everyday you walk in there.

    Dorm Life

    Getting to know and understand the people that live in your dorm can help you make new friends. The more friends you have in your dorm the better your college experience will be. The people in the dorm can help you out with things you may need throughout the school year.

    Academic Rigor

    Always read the required material carefully. Never be afraid to go above and beyond the call of duty on your work. Pay attention to deadlines of your work so you can get all of it done on time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never forget the reason you came to college. Make sure that you use your time wisely and focus on your studies. Always have pride for your school and stay active on campus.

    In three sentences

    Johnson C. Smith University is a wonderful school and it is becoming more diverse. The teachers are there to help you anytime you need it. There is no better place to be than Johnson C. Smith.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual location is Biddle Hall. It is the oldest building on the campus and sits at the highest point in Charlotte, NC. This building also has a bell that rings every 15 minutes.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is filled with extracurricular activities for example sororities and fraternities, sports teams, dance teams, and band. We also have a lot of academic clubs and interest clubs such as the drama club and the Spanish club.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to come to Johnson C. Smith University be prepared to work for your degree. The teachers are magnificent but you must give effort in order to earn a good GPA.

    In three sentences

    Johnson C. Smith University is one of the best kept secrets. There are many qualities that are great such as the class size, the teaching, and the overall atmosphere. The sad thing is people overlook this beautiful school and that is why it is the best kept secret.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Things do go on, on the campus you just have to pay attention and sometimes randomly find it. Other that you would have a knack for exploration and the creativity to come up with something on your own.

    Food and Dining

    Ok days and days where you swear its close to murder although the cooking staff will be changed of the 2013 year.

    Dorm Life

    BE CAREFUL OF WHERE YOU DECIDE TO PICK FOR YOUR DORM!!!!!!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Here you want to really find out who you will have as a teacher before you take the because there are many teachers that will work along with you and enjoyable opposed to the others who can be so strict that a few wrong doings in work can bring your work down.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Prepare for schools organization with money and records. -Venture out and explore or you'll miss a variety of possible activities for yourself. -Somewhat a small college so you might know how to be sociable.

    In three sentences

    Good school with much potential, but many problems financial stability and keeping track of students also with many Internet and system connection problems. But all in all this school is what you make of it.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always activities that are occurring and various clubs one can join to make their college experience a fun one!

    Tips for prospective students

    When you get here know that the professors are always their to help. They staff are always their to help and support you to make sure your college experience is a good one.

    In three sentences

    Johnson C Smith is a small university dedicated to helping the students. when you enter the school you feel as though you are their legacy so they do everything in their power to make sure that at Johnson C Smith the legacy becomes a part of you. The one on one professor support is also a plus for the school students get to know their professors and get to improve their skills.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go uptown Charlotte, hang with friends and just enjoy the college experience.

    Food and Dining

    Could be better.

    Dorm Life

    Not the best

    Academic Rigor

    Very good teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont come on campus thinking its suppose to be fun, you have to make your own fun.

    In three sentences

    The class sizes are perfect to learn better. Its not many activities on campus but enough to enjoy it. I love the HBCU feelings and how everyone feels like family.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do on campus. The clubs and activities run by students are mostly either sororities or fraternities or class councils of some sort. The lack of diversity in everything is annoying.

    Food and Dining

    There isn't much diversity in food here. The food is either greasy or not. I get the Asian grill or sandwiches because the other food is disgusting. There is supposed to be restaurants where we can use our flex dollars to buy different food but they haven't been built yet.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a bit old. They are pretty run down and used. The space is nice this year since the class of 2017 is small so majority freshman males have their own rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty standard. They are all easy for me, because of my AP class course rigor experience. The classes don't really challenge you unless you really have a hard time with a certain course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to not be exposed to much diversity. Be prepared to hear a lot about the football team. Make friends as soon as possible to make your first months easy.

    In three sentences

    Johnson C. Smith University is an HBCU and isn't diverse. For myself personally, the school is hard to adapt to due to my diverse background. However, the school begins to grow on you when you make friends.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police Department is right on campus. They patrol campus and the dorms 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is improving.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for a student who is a peoples person and love to act as a leader. This college gives you a great opportunity to step up and let your voice be heard.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions are the Gym Jams ( Parties ) The pep rallies, The Chants , and Club Biddle.

    Bang for the buck

    The parties but be careful and be aware of everything.

    What to do for fun

    Explore Uptown and Get off campus with friends. Uptown is beautiful and the benefits are that you can get away from campus easier.

    Food and Dining

    Perkins is our current catering service. The same food everyday and the food is manageable but it can make you sick.

    Dorm Life

    Horrible Unless your off of campus . Ladies try to avoid Myers and Gentlemen try to avoid Carter

    Academic Rigor

    Academic may seem easier than the usual. The work is not much of an overload but plan accordingly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the worst. The food is not great at all and nor is the neighborhood surrounding the school. If you do plan to stay make sure you get to know people and gather a circle. These people have to be the ones you trust. Another tip is , work on people skills if you don't already have some,

    In three sentences

    I would give JCSU on a scale of 1-10 A 5. The school is not that great for many degrees. They focus on students majoring in Biology, the majority of the sciences and for Math.

  • 10/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I give it a 8 out of 10

    Greek Life

    Greek life is very weak on campus, looking at colleges one of my requirements was a strong Greek life on campus. But on Smith's campus you get disappointed. Some of the sororities and fraternities are suspended, and the ones that are not don't really show there pride when called out during events and the strolls are always sloppy. So if your looking for a strong Greek life Smith is DEFINITELY not the place.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty for you to join

    Great for these types of students

    Who don't like the party type schools

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's really not any

    Bang for the buck

    Smith is not worth the 32,000 tuition honestly. You pay so much and you cant even tell where the money is going.

    What to do for fun

    Campus is boring so for fun you can either go uptown or to the off campus dorm

    Food and Dining

    The food is nasty! The food taste good when you come for orientation and bull academy but when the actual school year starts it's nasty.

    Dorm Life

    There dorms on campus are old and need to be renovated. One of the dormitories has a bat problem ( was in the Charlotte newspaper) but the off campus dorm is nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a great school for bio and chem majors, but for any other majors you might not learn what you need to be. Especially for a music performance major I strongly suggest going to a different hbcu for that major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the school friendly atmosphere distract you from looking at the school itself. Really look into your major and decide if Smith is the place for you to go. Don't believe everything you read about Smith.

    In three sentences

    Johnson C Smith is not what they make themselves out to be. Its a good school for bio and chem majors but other than that your better off at a different school. I give them a 4 out of 10..10 being the best.

  • 01/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Anyone can get on campus and the area isn't really safe. Campus police are hard to find sometimes

    Bang for the buck

    not even close. There is a lot of turnover with teachers but a lot of them really care and want to help

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a lot to do on campus and it's sort of in a shady area. But it's close to uptown and lots of great stuff to do.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of choices

    Dorm Life

    Yeah, it is what it is. I use mine only to sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like the computer science teachers pass students who don't do their work and it's very hard and frustrating as someone who does their work and studies to watch someone get a grade they don't deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    pick something other than computer science

    In three sentences

    Completely frustrating!!!! I feel like I'm treated like a child and babied. Disappointed