Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Johnson College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    expensive but its worth every penny

    Am enjoying being here

    its a small campus

    Am learning a lot

    before school starts evryone is ready to help and keep you on the right track. every one has a positive attitude.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I have been in contact with several different people from this school. Everyone has been very kind and extremely helpful!

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have cameras and security.

    Clubs and Activities

    intramural sports are the way to go! we have kickball, basketball, dodge ball, football, baseball!

    Great for these types of students

    dedicated student, and student that are willing to work hard and be on top.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the staff holds games in the cafe on lunch break. also, there is a dunkin donut in the toyota car lot across the street.

    What to do for fun

    there are lots of activities to do on campus. the staff has games always set up for us.

    Food and Dining

    they have lots of different food and drinks. the cooks are great!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are spacious, they have an upstairs and a downstairs, a kitchen, bathroom, living room and bedroom. also, a game room!

    Academic Rigor

    small classes so there is more one on one time with the instructor. the classes have a work place setting. classes are hands on!

    Tips for prospective students

    be dedicated and enjoy what you are doing. take all the learning you can!

    In three sentences

    johnson college works diligently to help their students get farther in their lives. they have a service for your every need. also, they work with their students to make them successful.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Excellent teaching Easy to enroll in classes and financial aid Everyone that I have come in contact with that work at the college are very knowledgeable and interested in helping the students

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I would have choosen a 2 year program before a 4 had I been more educated on my decisions in the past

    What to do for fun

    The surrounding area has alot of fun activities and cultural attractions.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria closes early

    Dorm Life

    I have not dormed.

    Academic Rigor

    Clinical hours are required and demand alot of time, summer clinical is 40hours a week and it is an unpaid clinical. You have to be goal driven.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes are not offered in the evening and often times the schedules are not open to time changes. Be prepared to sacrifice social life and work hours to maintain your educational goals.

    In three sentences

    Johnson College is an efficient 2yr program. I feel that I am getting the knowledge I will need to succeed in my career choice.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus here. I have never heard of any instances or problems before or while attending Johnson College. There are always faculty present even if you have a late class. It is also very well lighted and patrolled.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several types of clubs that can be joined. Almost all of these clubs have various activities throughout the year, which allow non-club members to participate in also.

    Great for these types of students

    I think this school is great for students that like a lot of hands on learning. After the theory is provided, most of the class time is spent with the hands on learning. This appeals to some students if they are a hands on learner or if they want to learn more than just theory.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Richmond Hall is a historic mansion that belonged to the founder of Johnson College. It is now offices and academic classrooms. There is a lot of detail and character in the building still present even with renovations.

    Bang for the buck

    I honestly feel that the amount of money I am spending is going towards my education. I have the lastest tools and equipment which are important for the success of my future career. I also believe they have well trained and expiernced instructors. I feel confident about choosing Johnson College and their program. I feel that I will be successfull and be able to pay off my college loans.

    What to do for fun

    Johnson College has a club, student life, which has activities on campus all the time to participate in. Other than activities and events there are places on campus that are fun. There is a game room, a gym, a weight room, and a hangout area.

    Food and Dining

    The campus food is pretty good and not too expensive. They have a variety of different foods daily and have a great staff. But the cafeteria does close in the afternoon. So anytime after two in the afternoon, you would have to use a vending machine or leave campus to get food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Johnson College are like no others that I have seen before. They are pretty much apartments. These two-story dorms have a bedroom, bathroom, living room, and a kitchen. And you have at most three people in a dorm. They are clean and have a feeling of home to them. Compared to other dorms that I have seen, these are huge and more comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that I am getting my money's worth here at Johnson College. I have a great instructor, the right tools and equipment, the theory and hands on to back it up. It is great how they incorporate a regular lecture with hands on that is almost exactly if not the same as it would be in the career field. I think the correct tools and equipment really stand out and have a big impact on the successfulness of our future career.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important tip I could give to a prospective student is to get involved with the college activities and clubs. I believe this is a great tip because it allows you to meet people and to get involved with the school. Getting involved can only make your experience better and even impress future employers by showing dedication, involvement, and leadership skills.

    In three sentences

    Johnson College has a great environment and provides a wonderful learning experience. It is a small college but it allows that close relationship with fellow students and staff to form. I also believe that they supply the right equipment for the hands on experience that is needed to succeed in future careers.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is public safety, and at orientation they stress the importance of safety on campus, and make sure we know who to go to if we need help.

    Greek Life

    At Johnson, you are inducted by your grades when you graduate.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are sports and intramural leagues on campus, and many clubs as I already stated

    Great for these types of students

    Great for hands on learners

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I am aware of

    Bang for the buck

    I love Johnson. It is nothing like my other school, but I am enjoying all of the teacher and I have met a lot of great people. The professors are extremely knowledgeable because they really are Veterinary Technicians.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs on campus that you can get involved with. Some are community service based and others focus with your program.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The hands on experience that you get is unlike other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is only a 2 year program, that is packed full of information.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small school with small, focused classes. The Veterinary program is very hands on, so it is a really great way to learn.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food at Johnson College is actually very good. And its also unexpensive.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is really fun it gives students the oppotunity to enteract with other student

    Academic Rigor

    Overall academic rigor here at johnson college is at a high level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips that i would give to prospective students would be. They should come visit the campus eathier by shadowing a major or by comping to open houses. There are many different programa of study that are suitable for different people.

    In three sentences

    Overall Johnson College is a great school. The teachers are great. They will always do anything in their power to help students do their best.

  • 04/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for kids fresh out of high school with no life experience.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing. It's scranton there is absolutely nothing to do here.

    Food and Dining

    Schiff's chicken across the street. Plenty of restaurants up the road.

    Academic Rigor

    Not very tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take any program other than HVAC, I hear great things about the Vet Tech and Diesel Programs.

    In three sentences

    The instructor is Not very knowledgeable. Unorganized. No real grading system. All in all terrible terrible program. I have never heard so many current or graduating students from any program anywhere so worried about not having learned Anything over the course of 2 years. Complain about instructors methods? Don't worry you'll be threatened with academic discipline for legally consuming a beer with your burger off campus on your own time after being told it was ok. I hope you like raking leaves and picking up trash even though they have maintenance personnel for that. Oh and if you love war stories about shooting camels and dragging them thru the desert of iraq you will love the course. Not too mention the backflips off of the shop tables by the instructor or paying students to eat bugs. But guarenteed to get a speech on proffessionalism at least weekly. Enjoy!