Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Johnson County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who do not currently have enough money to enroll in a four-year college, nontraditional students looking to pick up a few classes here and there, and students who are looking to complete their associate's degree before moving on to greener pastures.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a high school student, I would highly recommend begining to take classes at JCCC through your school now because the more credits you can get in ahead of time, the better. If you are considering transferring for whatever reason, I would also strongly recommend it. The classes are laid back enough to where the teachers do not stress you with an impossible workload, however, you learn just as much as you would at a four-year college - for half the price.

    Bang for the buck

    JCCC is one of the best schools I found for the greatest bang for your buck. Not only are high school students able to take these college courses through their schools at nearly half the price, the actual price of the classes will astound you for the quality of the learning experience. They provide you with top-notch teachers, resources, buildings, and peers for the lowest prices.

    Am enjoying being here

    As stated before, the student population is very diverse at Johnson County Community College. There are students of every age, race, and nationality that interact through the various clubs and organizations around the school. It is a very friendly and encouraging environment where you can be yourself and get an enlightening education as well.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at Johnson County Community College, like the students, are greatly diverse. They come from all different backgrounds and experiences and have a lot of knowledge to share! In the classes that I have taken, the teachers have put a lot of themselves into their classes to provide you with as much information in a clear and clean-cut manner. I have learned a great deal and am excited for the coming semesters!

  • 08/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Johnson County Community College is great for someone who is still deciding on a certain major or who wants to learn as much as they can about the subjects they love before they decide. This college is also great for working parents or people who are continuing their education and would like a school with a flexible schedule. The campus is not extremely big either so anyone who may have a handicap will also flourish here as well. Basically, this school is geared toward anyone with a will to learn and plan for their future!

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure that you know what classes you would like to take before you enroll. The general studies classes generally tend to fill up on the first day of enrollment so be an early bird! You can also call and make an appointment with any of the counselors who will help you if you need advice! (I'm basically best friends with many of the counselors here). Do not be afraid to sign up for a couple of summer classes as well if you need some extra classes for another school or anything like that!

    Bang for the buck

    Hands down this school is very cost effective and is not expensive. especially compared to other schools that I have look into. This school is also great if you just want to get some of your general classes out of the way and not put a huge dent in your wallet. You will receive a first class education with an interesting teacher without going bankrupt.

    Am enjoying being here

    I completely enjoy attending this school during my associate degree seeking years. There is such a variety of students walking down the halls, you never know what type of person you'll see next, or who will sit by you in your next class! There are many resources available to anyone who needs help in any subject. I have visited the math lab and the writing center many times. There are teachers stationed at each of these places at all times. The library is also very extensive and there are countless materials at your fingertips. Another thing I especially loved was the incredible Nerman art museum that houses many famous artist's work and is open for anyone who wishes to visit. It's also free!

    Am learning a lot

    This school is an exceptional community college that I recommend to anyone who would like to earn their associates degree or prepare themselves for a transfer! I'm currently starting my second year here and I've already learned so much. Not just about the various subjects I have been taking but also a lot about myself. For example I never knew how interested I was in archaeology till I took Physical Anthropology and my teacher was astounding, you could tell he really loved what he was doing. The teachers are very nice and accepting, every teacher I've had so far has been willing to adjust to certain student's needs and they all have gone above and beyond any teacher I've ever had before. Even if the class is extremely full the various teachers will answer any question you have.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JCCC is a great school for students just graduating high school, because it gives you a change to get acclimated to the college scene without becoming too overwhelming. I believe it's an excellent school for someone who isn't quite sure what they want to do with their life. JCCC is also a great school for parents who are wanting to change careers. They offer a wide variety of night and summer classes, online and hybrid courses, and even self-paced courses. I believe there is really something for everyone at JCCC!

    Bang for the buck

    You absolutely get the most bang for your buck by atttending JCCC. Like I stated earlier, the professors are amazing, and if you are motivated to do well, you get a GREAT education for so much less than a 4-year university. Even if you are wanting to transfer to another school, you get two years at JCCC for nearly half the price of a state university. There are scholarships available for various fields of interest, and they are easy to find & apply for!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has a great, youthful environment. There is a wide variety of food, and everything is delicious! Not to mention the coffee shop right next door, which is awesome!

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at JCCC expect nothing short of greatness! In essence, most feel as though they are preparing you for a 4-year education, and they want you to be as prepared as possible. The classroom sizes are small, so it allows for a lot of social interaction between student and professor. Their online and hybrid courses are delicately designed, and if you utilize it, you will learn just as much online as in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are unsure where life is taking you or what you want to do for the rest of your life, JCCC offers so much diversity and options. Not to mention it is less expensive than a 4-year university! Even if you have a grasp on what your future holds, the professors of the general education courses are fantastic, some of the best I have witnessed, and I guarantee you will be getting a grade A education!

    In three sentences

    The professors at JCCC are outstanding, especially in the Mathematics and Science departments. Each professor I've come into contact with has taken an interest in my personal journey as well as other students in the classroom, and has gone above and beyond to help each succeed. I am a huge advocate for JCCC, and make sure to let prospective students know what great experiences I have had since attending.

  • 02/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All kinds. With great instructors and counselors, they can easily work with anybody who asks for help. JCCC will take everyone on an adventure. You will experience easy classes, fun classes, challenging classes and in the end you will be proud of yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just relax and take a few deep breaths. JCCC is a great school to start out at to get the general feel of college. It is a great way to be in college, while having the fun of high school. JCCC has helped me so much and i greatful for my time there

    Bang for the buck

    The classes really do prepare you for your future to transfer to a 4 year school. You learn a great deal for the price you pay. You gain a tremendous amount of knowledge, add that the amount of friendships you will create there and what you paid for the experience will be worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment is very comfortable and the classrooms are very helpful learning environments. With hard working professors and many other students, your time there will be enjoyable. Finding your way around will be though at first.

    Am learning a lot

    At Johnson County Community College, the professors are very skilled and are dedicated to teaching. They are willing to work with everybody. There are also many free resource centers there for extra help in various subjects.

  • 06/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who have busy schedules- there are just as many weekend, online, and evening classes as weekday classes. Students who want to save money and still have a great college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    1) Enrollment-Decide what classes you want to take before enrollment starts. General Education classes with good teachers and convinient time slots fill up early. So have the class numbers ready at 7:59 AM and call the school and try enrolling online at 8:00 AM. You may be on hold for a long time or your call won't go through but stay persistant. You will get the classes you want, at the time you want, and with who you want if you keep trying. 2) Get involved! Take advantage of the center for student involvement and get involved at the school. Everyone is extremely friendly and helpful. You will make friends. There is nothing to lose! 3) Utilize the resource centers- The math resource center has tutors for free, same with the science resource center and the writing center. All three have tools to help you succeed. 4) Apply for the general scholarship- it is a pain free, 5 minute application. You answer basic questions about race, GPA, income, etc. The school doesn't take extra strides to advertise the application so many students don't know about it. So your chances of receiving a scholarship are increased.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't see how people can complain at $75/credit hour. If you graduate here with a degree like an Associate's of Liberal Arts (what I'm working towards) then you can use that as your general education credits and transfer to a four year school- literally cutting your bachelor's tuition in half!

    Am enjoying being here

    When I was younger I said I would absolutely not go to JCCC. Here I am now and I love it! Like I said earlier, the classes are wonderful. The student involvement is even more wonderful. There are many active clubs and organizations, which give students the social 'feel' of a university student living on campus. We are a commuter school so it is harder to make friends. I am involved in a few clubs at the school and have made friends very easily. There are many clubs/organizations to choose from. The Performing Arts Series is another enjoyable aspect of JCCC. Anything from ballets to comedians come to JCCC theater and perform. Student tickets are only $5! There is always a PAS production almost every weekend.

    Am learning a lot

    Since starting college, I have learned that I sincerely enjoy learning. JCCC offers an immense selection of classes. You can take anything from College Algebra to the History of Ancient Greece/Near East. The teachers are, of course, a big part of the learning experience. Despite the large student body (20,000+), The class sizes are smaller (I've had 10-30students) so the teacher can zone in and help students. All of the teachers I have had have been extremely helpful and approachable.

  • 08/16/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for older students, parents, and students that are not ready for a big time university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect this to be how a university will be. Much more relaxed, but a great way for students who are not exactly ready to go to school to get their feet wet, especially older students.

    Bang for the buck

    It was extremely reasonable. I was able to pay for two years without getting into debt and prepare for a university where I would get into debt.

    Did enjoy being here

    The two years I was there I only had one or two professors I didn't really like. I love the campus and the available help they offer outside of the classroom.

    Did learn a lot

    I loved going to Johnson County Community College. It was a fantastic college, but I found it was almost too easy. It was not necessarily a good transition school to a 4 year university with how easy it was. But I still loved it.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus has many activities at the begging and thought out the semesters.

    Food and Dining

    It's a great place with a variety of food options to get.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in sports or clubs if you have the time.

    In three sentences

    It has a great environment. The library is my favorite it has what I need and I like the quiet section when I need to study. When the weather is nice there is many places to be outside in the campus to do my homework or some studying.

  • 01/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all!!

    What to do for fun

    meet up on campus for shows or movies, hang out in the caf or out in the courtyard

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved! there are many different programs and ways to make friends around the school!

    In three sentences

    johnson county community college offers an affordable and fun way to earn your education. it is a large community college but it makes you feel close knit because there are only about 20 students in the classes and teachers are always willing to help. it is also in a great location making it accessible to people all over the country or metro area!

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great school for anyone wanting a great education without putting yourself into student load debt.

    Bang for the buck

    great quality education for less money. the graphic design program is 2 years while ku is 4. the work coming out of jccc wins awards over ku at almost every aiga competition.

    What to do for fun

    sit outside and visit with friends. they have a free movie theatre for students. lots of campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    there are a few different places to eat on campus. the food is good. look for the cafe under the cafeteria, their food is really good in comparison to the cafeteria food upstairs!

    Dorm Life

    non existant

    Academic Rigor

    most of the programs offered here are the same as 4 year schools only they cram the time down to 2 years. with classes being smaller and more instructors available for individual classes it isn't that hard to stay on task and understand what is going on. instructors make themselves available during office hours to assist in anything you need!

    Tips for prospective students

    go to the bookstore early for books to avoid the 3 hour lines 3 days before classes begin.

    In three sentences

    small classes in relation to four year universities. overall cost is much less than other schools. credits transfer to other area schools.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    drinking

    Food and Dining

    tasty.

    Dorm Life

    fully enclosed

    Academic Rigor

    girthy

    Tips for prospective students

    be nice!

    In three sentences

    the school is nice. the teachers at school are nice. the other students at school are nice.

  • 01/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there is a great list of clubs and activities on campus. they are constantly announcing each organization and they hold events where you can meet with representatives and learn about each club indivudually.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a thing called jccc to the max. these are sessions that inform you about many things around campus and they hold educational sessions as well. they help with improving your test scores, to improving your reading scores and meeting your professors. there are many great things to learn about in these sessions and to top if off, attend five of them and you automatically get five dollars to use at the dinning areas. it is a great place to go.

    Bang for the buck

    i honestly think this school is very affordable. with fafsa alone you can make it and pay for everything. scholarships are available on their website and they provide many different types that i am sure anyone will qualify for more than one. hard work pays off and the harder you search for scholarships, the more money you wil be awarded and be better off.

    What to do for fun

    there is a student lounge that i love to go to. there are playstations, xboxes, wiis, a ping-pong table, a fooseball table and many other things to do. this is a great place to hang out between classes and play video games on their big screens, or watch movies. they always hold tournaments and competitions on the video games or ping-pong. this makes going exciting and it's something else to look forward to.

    Food and Dining

    johnson county community college has a few options for food. they have chik-fil-a and burgers as well as pizza hut. it is pretty low priced and there are many things you can get for under two dollars. you can make a salar or go to a cafeteria like dinning area. there are constant sessions that inform you about the food they offer and they give out samples as well as tips on how to get the most for your money.

    Dorm Life

    johnson county community college does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    most teachers want to prepare you for a four year university and are tough teachers. many will help and work with you untill you understand the material. i have had one or two teachers that are extremely lenient, but for the most part teachers are strick. they stay on top of the syllabus and homework is constant.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking to save some money, going to johnson county is a great option. they have a great staff and everyone is willing to help. there is a great variety of classes and everyone does what they can to help you in anyway. i was able to connect with teachers on a one to one basis and they all learned my name quickly. all classes i enrolled in had about 15-30 students which was great for learning and focusing.

    In three sentences

    johnson county is a great place to start off your college experience. you can attend this college for your first two years and get a great foundation towards your major. above all the great qualities, it is by far the best community college in the area!

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great helpful they always have alot to offer and teach there is that ability to have a one on one connection to understand your subject or class and there are great resource centers that give you even further help

    Clubs and Activities

    you have the usual sports baseball basketball soccer .....etc clubs i don't know all that much about the clubs i'm not in any

    Great for these types of students

    go into the locomotive type stuff police officer um graphic design business and there is probably more thats just what i know

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i know of

    Bang for the buck

    i like it if i have to redo it i would do the same thing its education that it offers is stupendous !!

    What to do for fun

    one can go to a sporting event there are ton of clubs that you can join and its a great place to get tickets to events in kansas city and around town like concerts worlds of fun and other stuff like that and its cheaper to get tickets from them then somewhere else

    Food and Dining

    the food is great but the prices are to high for my liking

    Dorm Life

    i don't know the dorm life i still live at home but i have heard its wonderful the dorms are very nice

    Tips for prospective students

    get your hard classes out of the way as soon as possible so you can enjoy the rest of your schooling there. if your interested in photography digital or film there are great classes that can help you improve in that area and over all its the best place to get your associates before you go on to get another degree from there or somewhere else

    In three sentences

    they have a great photography program that can really excel you in that area. the teachers are extremely helpful the social life it offers isn't the best but you go to college for the education not the social entertainment it offers

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student center is always a bustle of activity. If you can't find something to do around campus, you just need to open your eyes. Something is always going on around campus.

    Food and Dining

    JCCC has a wonderful cafe' and the food ranges greatly, but the quality is always consistent.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms as this is a community college. It is all commuting students.

    Tips for prospective students

    JCCC is a great place for you to begin your collegiate career instead of wasting thousands of dollars at a state university.

    In three sentences

    Johnson County Community is a very attractive school from the time you first set foot on campus. The staff and students are all helpful and answer any questions you have. They carry a great selection of classes for all degree seekers.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel extremely safe on campus, if you are unsure about your safety you can have an officer escort you to your car.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities it would take me ages to list all of them, they are all open to everyone and really help you to feel included.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who aren't exactly to leave home yet. Students who have a low budget for college. Older generation students with a family who needs a flexible schedule.

    Bang for the buck

    Wonderful classes for a cheaper price.

    What to do for fun

    There are a TON of clubs and fun days! Ranging from anime day to Capoeira club. The students are really friendly and there are a lot of school dances and events.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food! It can be a bit pricey, but perfect for a meal between classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms since it is so close to so many apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the classes you take it can differ. I personally think that my Physics and Calculus classes are tough, but other classes are not. It depends on the teacher and the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to the school to enroll and be there EARLY! It may be a community college, but a lot of people go there. Don't be afraid to reach out to others to make friends.

    In three sentences

    JCCC is a very positive school. They help everyone feel included no matter what they are interested in. I feel very safe going there.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are buttons to push for help scattered around campus and there aren't many incidents that happen anyways, so you can feel safe here!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who can't afford to go off to a major university right away, want small class sizes where they can get help and not feel too overwhelmed, and wants to feel more prepared and ready before going off to a major university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have 2 campus craze days where multiple universities come and students can talk with them about what to expect from their college.

    Bang for the buck

    It's way cheaper to take your classes through JCCC.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms; it's a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a school in mind that you wan to to transfer to after, but if you don't have one, it's ok. Just meet with a counselor and follow the list general education classes that you should take that will transfer to any university. It's so much cheaper to take them through JCCC!!!!!!!!!!!

    In three sentences

    It's a really nice school and has a lot of opportunities for you to get involved if you want to. Tons of help offered to you if you need it and it's smarter to go here and get you general education classes out of the way for less money...

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe at JCCC. It's clean, well kept, and campus police are always on patrol.

    Greek Life

    As far as I know and saw there was no Greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    I think it's great for mostly any student. It has large class sizes, small class sizes, online classes, outside classes. Sports, religious groups, activist, and many others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A lot of student will play frisbe, and beachball in the center grassy area between the SCI, GEB, OCB, & LIB buildings.

    Bang for the buck

    JCCC if a cheap school for the value. You're getting a good deal. One down fall, I have tried to seel my books back to the school but they wanted to give me 10$ for a book I paid 60$ for. I've started selling on ebay and making extra money on my books. I'm sure you could also try Amazon.

    What to do for fun

    I love the theaters at JCCC. They have two large ones and a small one called the Black Box theater. Tickets can be up to 50$ but if you're a student it's 5$. Also stop by the Atkins Art Museum. However call or research ahead, They have wierd hours and the two times I went they were closed to the public.

    Food and Dining

    I love the down under. Most students stay upstairs and eat from the Pizza Hut, salad bar, Chikc-fil-a, sushi bar, and other random places. However there is another dining area down under that never get's as crowded and has more homemade sort of meals.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms that I know if. I'm sure the school refer studetns to apartments and such, but most students that go to JCCC live near by

    Academic Rigor

    MOST teachers will work with a student. Most classes are 30 students or less so the teachers get to know you by name. I was failing a class once and the professor told me if I passed the final with an A he'd pass me even though an A still wouldn't have brought my over all grade up from an F. I've also had other teachers who seemed out of touch. They weren't mean but they also seemed like it was burden to be there. Over all most of them are willing to help any student who reaches out to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with a counselor about getting your degree. The one thing I regret was not having a plan and knowing what classes I need to take each semester for two years to acheive my degree. I ended up being in junior college for four years because of this.

    In three sentences

    It's a beautiful school. I enjoyed taking classes with 80% of my teachers. The students can be a little nonsocial but most of them have lives/families outside of school.

  • 12/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of activities here, so if you get bored that's your fault!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth going here before transferring to a 4 year college. SAVE you a lot of money!

    What to do for fun

    Run and workout at the Track.

    Food and Dining

    Typical College food.

    Dorm Life

    This school does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers seem to really care about every students success in their endeavors. Which is a huge plus in my opinion and is a rare thing to find.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students looking to go here should apply in advance, as the testing services can be kind of a pain...they take security very serious here. Also when you are signing up for your classes, make sure you pick them all out prior to enrollment starting. When classes open up, they fill fast!

    In three sentences

    Johnson County Community College is a school where you feel welcome, desired, and wanted. It is a great feeling when the teachers stop to help you with a subject you are struggling with, such as calculus. The class sizes are small enough so that you get noticed!

  • 02/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    even with recent tuition increases, the price is far better than a state university and the quality is very good.

    What to do for fun

    there are always people to talk to, plenty of clubs to join, and lots of opportunities to play games and get to know people. the recent addition of a student lounge has proven to be a big hit.

    Food and Dining

    they have a nice variety of choices, both expensive and cheap.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard, and don't assume that your good grades in high school will translate. success takes hard work.

    In three sentences

    a great environment to learn at a discounted price. the facilities are top-notch, and the faculty is committed. everyone complains about parking, but if you're on top of things that's not a relevant problem.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are phones connecting you directly to the campus police all over the campus. You can call and have an officer walk you to your car. Very low crime rates, and I see campus police and security patrolling the campus often.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Can't say that I've been involved in any clubs or activities, but I do know that there is a lot of options.

    Great for these types of students

    JCCC is great for anyone wanting to not break the bank!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    Low prices, great educational opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    JCCC has a lot going on in the way of fun! There are always concerts and other performances happening at the Carlson Center. Also, with the culinary program, there are opportunities for some great food!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is filled with mostly fast food companies. There is a salad bar, but I wish there was more variety.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms or on campus residences.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers definitely want to see their students succeed and are willing to work with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to talk to the teachers. They know their stuff and are willing to help you. Also, get involved on campus!

    In three sentences

    JCCC is a great school with lots to offer! I haven't had a bad professor, they all seem very interested in the success of their students. Great campus that is technologically updated, clean, aesthetically pleasing, and conveniently located!

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to club meetings and meet new people

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm life.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should go here because it is cheap for students and there is a lot of help.

    In three sentences

    it is a fun college, there is a lot of help from the staff here. It is cheap and there is a lot of resources here as well.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is extremely safe.

    Greek Life

    I was not interested but there is a minor presence.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are wanting to transfer to a four year school.

    Bang for the buck

    The prices of education are continuously on the rise, but JCCC is a lot more affordable to students and parents.

    What to do for fun

    JCCC has a lot of activities and clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    Great selection of food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus

    Academic Rigor

    This is a very good transition school to a four year program. Most all classes are easily transferable.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will enjoy the campus experience, the class sizes and the staff.

    In three sentences

    Johnson County Community college is an extremely resourceful, educational facility. The staff is extremely helpful and they are more than happy to assist their students reach their desired goals. The environment as a whole is extremely satisfying.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. There are emergency stations all over the campus along with on campus police.

    Greek Life

    There are a few honor societies.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and activities for anyone with any interests.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for the types of students who want to save money and who are focused and driven to succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is extremely affordable and I am saving so much money by completing my general education here before I transfer to a 4-year University.

    What to do for fun

    There are always plenty of activities and people in the court yard when it is nice outside. There are also a lot of groups and organizations to join.

    Food and Dining

    Tons of restaurants and coffee houses on campus and off campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Manageable, yet you know you are still learning new things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Call the offices anytime or visit the campus for yourself. There are tons of helpful advisers there to answer all your questions.

    In three sentences

    Johnson County Community College is extremely helpful to all students. When you attend this college, you feel comforted knowing that everyone else wants you to succeed as well. This school is very career oriented and everyone is focused on succeeding.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always saw some form of security around.

    Great for these types of students

    Its great for students who need to attend at night because of children or full-time jobs.

    Bang for the buck

    It was easy on my budget and I didn't have to get financial aid for my entire school career.

    What to do for fun

    They have alot of different sports areas not just for students to use.

    Food and Dining

    Their main food area has 2 different places to pick up food, with plenty of choices. They also have their C-store in the student center that has a great variety of on-the-go kind of food for evening students before they start their classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are plenty of apartments near the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I didn't feel slighted because I was at a community college.

    In three sentences

    The campus is easy to navigate and figure out where you need to go. The teachers respond to your questions honestly and make you feel important. I chose to go back to Johnson County to finish my Associates degree instead of to another school when I came back to school after 3 years.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall I believe Johnson County to be a safe place for students although there is always be incidents of that not being the case at every school.

    Greek Life

    There is somewhat of a greek life but not like it is at other four year colleges. Johnson County does offer greek life but it is more focused on students with high GPA's trying to look good for scholarships or transfers.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide range of clubs such as the ping pong club or the gay pride club. They have a day at the beginning of the semester where all the clubs will be on campus and you can walk by and get more information and how to get involved. There is a club for everyone at JCCC.

    Great for these types of students

    I think JCCC is great for students who are undecided and trying to figure out a major. They have a wonderful Career Development Center that caters to your needs. They have online assessments, books, and counselors to help you decide.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    By the hill in the center of campus everyone gathers to hula hoop or play Frisbee and on the inside of campus by the Carlson Center or SCI building people usually set up a volleyball court and play. There is a lot of fun activities to participate in at Johnson County.

    Bang for the buck

    I think JCCC is a wonderful school to go to if you are having financial trouble or do not want to go to a four year school yet because your undecided. Johnson County has wonderful assets and is just a great experience for all ages.

    What to do for fun

    In the library they have closed off rooms that you can ask some of your classmates to join you in. Many people buy pizza and drinks and have study parties in these rooms. If you walk around on campus there is always something going on. A lot of people sit by the hill, many playing volleyball, hakey sack, hula hoop, or Frisbee.

    Food and Dining

    Johnson County does not have much food or dining to offer. On the upper floor they have a Pizza Hut, Chick-fil-A, a hamburger joint, and a mexican joint, and salad bar. Downstairs they call down under they offer several warm meals and it varies every day. You can also make sandwiches down under.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Johnson County. I think that if they had dorms it would make the experience much more interesting for the student. I also believe that if a student was able to attend a dorm they would be able to access JCCC's assets easier, instead of having to drive from home and back, and the student could potentially have a better GPA.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that JCCC was fairly easily academic wise as long as you get good professors. There are some on campus that do not seem to know exactly what they are doing but for the most part professor's at Johnson County Community College are wonderful. Many of the teachers use a grading system online called ANGEL. They can post grades, assignments, resources, ect.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be talkative in class, because all though it is a junior college you can make many friends because the students are so friendly. Be sure to make it to class on time because the teachers will call you out, trust me I have experienced this many times. Many of you probably have jobs and other responsibilities outside of school but make sure you put your studies before them. Another thing I would recommend is to look up your teachers before enrolling on ratemyprofessor.com so you can have a really good year because one bad class could ruin a whole day. But with enrolling if you want to make sure you get into all the classes you need you should wake up before classes open online because the server is really bad and over boots. It will kick of many students and classes fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    Johnson County Community College is a great, hands on learning environment. They have knowledgeable professor's, great resource rooms filled with tutors, and a wide range of friendly students and staff. JCCC has so much to offer and I would rate it four out of five stars.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend all classes, engage yourself in classes/lectures by paying attention, asking questions, and answering those asked.

    In three sentences

    Great instructors. Accommodating toward adult learners. Encourages academic achievement with many free offered services/tutoring opportunities.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never heard of any serious violent crimes there.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of variety.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the classes depends on what class you are taking. They do not hand out passing grades. You will need to work for them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll in your class as early as possible on enrollment day. Classes fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Great teachers. Reasonably sized classes. Awesome reputation. Great for anyone who is interested in learning. There are a variety of classes for a variety of interests.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take classes seriously. It's a community college, not a slacker school.

    In three sentences

    This school is great for a community college. Johnson county has great tutoring programs, and the teachers are helpful. I defiantly recommend this school as an alternative to a large university that would cost you a lot more for the same education.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 69

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    The college is very helpful with any needs you have. The teachers are great. The classes are pretty small so you can learn easier and be able to ask questions.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Johnson county community college is a very safe campus with its own police department right on campus. If a student is ever in need of an escort to their car an officer will happily do so. The officer are always around campus and are very nice.

    Greek Life

    There are not many sororities that I have come in contact with at my time in Johnson county community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs and actives you can be a part of here at Johnson county community college. There is a variety of clubs from fashion to science and math clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Johnson county community college is great for all students. I have been in class with mothers and father going back to school for the first time in years; to barley out of high school students and everything in between. I'd you want to save some money and get a fabulous education this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Johnson county community college is filled with unique statues and art. These pieces if art give the school a beautiful flare of difference.

    Bang for the buck

    Johnson county community college is amazing!!! You get the most out of your dollar when you come to this spectacular school. The price of these classes and the quality of education is the best you'll find anywhere.

    What to do for fun

    Johnson county community college is always providing fun events. There are always plays and shows to be viewed and even on occasion they host pizza nights for students. This school is also great about hosting events that are not only fun but are supporting a good cause, such as food drives for those in need and fundraisers for the ill.

    Food and Dining

    Yummy! Johnson county community college has a wonderful variety of food right within their very own walls. The food court here is full of different foods for students including; pizza hut, chic-fil-a, Mexican food, sushi, cheeseburgers, French fries, and a giant salad bar full if fresh healthy vegetables.

    Dorm Life

    Although, Johnson county community college is a wonderful school it does not provide dorm rooms. Most community colleges don't provide dorm rooms. However, that doesn't the remarkable academics you will receive here.

    Academic Rigor

    Johnson county community college is an accredited School that is actually one of the top five community colleges in the country, how could you go wrong?! The staff at Jonson county community college is incredibly educated and keeps you engaged in the subject at hand and wants you to learn and succeed!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning on attending Johnson county community college I would say go for it! This a wonderful school in the heart of Johnson county Kansas. You will not be disappointed.

    In three sentences

    Johnson county community college is a terrific higher education institution. This school provides small classes and wonderful teachers. Due to the fact that it is a community college, the classes are less expensive then those of a university; however, I believe they provide an even better education.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are blue towers everywhere with help buttons.

    Bang for the buck

    The average cost is better than any university.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of areas to go and clubs to join. There is something always going on somewhere. Its the students choice ti get involved or not.

    Food and Dining

    There is a coffee shop, a cafeteria, and a dining space. All of which are good, fast, and efficient.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the class, it is academically challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just go and sign up but find your classes before the start and leave early for a good parking spot.

    In three sentences

    Johnson county is a good school with good teachers who really care for the well being of the students. There are several majors and many are easily transferable to go to university. It is a very ideal community college

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students in financial need Students looking to gain transfer credit Students desiring a balance between a small school and a huge one

    Bang for the buck

    JCCC hosts a number of high-quality faculty that are genuinely interested in challenging their students. Its facilities are top-notch, it has a rich club/org dynamic and a good professor-student ratio, all for a ridiculously small amount of tuition.

    Food and Dining

    JCCC has a diverse food court, a healthy dining alternative and a campus farm with fresh produce.

    Dorm Life

    JCCC offers no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There's a full spectrum of fantastic and lousy professors. Find the right ones and you will be challenged in classes that rarely exceed 40 students. Many of the credits are accepted nationwide.

    In three sentences

    JCCC is a smart option for beginning a college career without beginning a build-up of student loan debt. It has some great professors that genuinely care about students' education. The campus is lively and clean.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For the price of their classes you are getting an exceptional deal and education.

    Food and Dining

    They have a selection of restaurants and buffet, but the food is over priced and the buffet is not appetizing.

    Dorm Life

    It is non-existent. Their are no dorms on or off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very understanding and willing to work with you, but I have found the overall course materials to be a simplistic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Read rate my professor and if at all possible form your schedule around that. I have so far been happy with most of my teachers, but their are a couple bad eggs in the bunch.

    In three sentences

    I am currently taking 20 hours this semester at JCCC. I have been impressed with the amount of care the college takes in its students, and I am very impressed by the Recording arts program. However, I have so far been underwhelmed with a few of my classes and their academic challenge.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am making money going to school at JCCC.

    What to do for fun

    I am an amateur boxer from Haskel Boxing Club. Ever since high school soccer stopped I started skateboarding more. I play a lot of video games at home. My friends like to play basketball, so I hoop about 5-15 times a month.

    Food and Dining

    We have a small food court with mostly unhealthy or non filling foods. There is a convenient store for snacks and candy. Restaurants are not very close to campus but able to do with in 30 minutes.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my mom currently, but I plan on spending the rest of my financial aid on a new town home I am renting with two of my friends that also attend JCCC. JCCC does not offer any housing for students on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    None I think my high school teachers did a perfect job on preparing me for college study at JCCC.

    Tips for prospective students

    The classrooms are about the size of a 6A high schools, so be ready for the instructor to give you a lecture on what he needs his students to know. Take notes study and read the material and your first credits will be done fast.

    In three sentences

    JCCC Is a nine out of ten, with ten being the highest. I rate JCCC 90% satisfaction, because I can picture me accomplishing my goals only two weeks into school. I see four guys three times a week in a classroom with ready students, it's the best environment for my work.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Support your college team. Play basketball. Workout

    Food and Dining

    I love the Cafe its good. The food is always nice and hot.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class all the time. So you wont get left behind because it college they wont go back for you.

    In three sentences

    Johnson County Community College is a excellent school. Its like a big high school when more freedom. The teachers are great.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Many lessons are learned while attending Johnson County Community College, but the biggest lesson is this: If you're going to screw up and party your heart out, don't waste a few thousand dollars, but instead try $1,500. If my friends had not learned their lessons here, they would have definitely ruined their chances at a university.

    What to do for fun

    During the first couple months, after the students have settled in to their classes and routines, the school takes a special day to show all that they offer. This ranges from clubs on campus, to sports, to learning opportunities, and studying abroad and did I mention it's practically a carnival? You'll have to go see it to believe it!

    Food and Dining

    For a community college, this place definitely has variety! You have so many options to choose, it's practically a smorgasbord, or buffet. You can choose: pizza and cheese-sticks, burgers and french fries, nachos and burritos, or even the salad bar- but that's just the top floor! You'll have to check the school out and see what they serve in the basement!

    Dorm Life

    Honestly, because it's a community college, there are no dorms, but you will still be able to settle in as if you were in a dorm. Most students that I've met, became a friend or acquaintance as early as a month. Here's what I learned: if you make friends in class, the subject of study becomes much easier to learn and way more fun!

    Academic Rigor

    The area of academics is solely based on the career you want to pursue. You will have hard and easy classes, but it will only be labeled that if you don't put in the effort the teacher puts in for you. I preferred having a mix of both because you work hard and you can relax at the same time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are skeptical about attending this particular school, check it out first! I started with talking to a counselor at the Student Success Center and was well on my way to graduation from there- always checking-in after each semester. Even going part-time or taking the minimum full-time hours will definitely give you a better feel for the college.

    In three sentences

    This is a College that, in my opinion, is that middle-ground between high school and a university. You have a open campus, which is smoke-free, and you are accompanied by students of all ages and teachers who do their jobs well, mostly.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are alert stations in the parking lots, they also have a text alert system so you have the power to report wrong doings. There are patrol men keeping us safe. All of this isn't very needed though, as crime is not very high here. Thank god!

    Great for these types of students

    If you aren't wanting to move far and pay a lot, this is the place for you! They work hard to make sure their credits will transfer to a university and there are a lot of career counselors will to help you make a plan!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a giant, very round hill in the middle of the campus that some students refer to as the boob.

    What to do for fun

    As I have mentioned, get involved in clubs. There are a lot of great friendly people in each one and a way to help out and learn from experience.

    Food and Dining

    They have selection but none organic, which is all I eat so I don't spend money in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have learned so much in all of my classes, maybe I was just lucky enough to get good professors. But either way, I'm not the only one that gets to be in their classrooms

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in the clubs! They're fun and a great way to make friends with similar interests. Also, they're free!

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    37 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. JCCC is full of people who went to high school together, worked together, or did some childhood activity together. The only way to meet new people there and to break through the click-ish environment is to find something you have in common with others, typically through clubs or activities.

    In three sentences

    JCCC is a good place to start pursuing a college degree if you are unsure what you want to do, or if you are concerned about the cost of an education. The people on campus aren't the most social, and some of the teachers are less passionate about what they teach than I would have liked. However, it isn't hard to make friends and build relationships with students and teachers alike if you try.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    we have lots of different clubs for everybody

    Great for these types of students

    like small class sizes

    What to do for fun

    hang with friends.. shopping Oak park mall is not that far from the school

    Food and Dining

    the food is awesome

    Dorm Life

    we don't have dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    no comment

    Tips for prospective students

    do you homework and study hard

    In three sentences

    I think that Johnson county community college is a good school the teachers are very nice and understanding. small class sizes.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    nightclubs have college nights which are amazing! movie theaters are always a great option. water parks are close by as well.

    Food and Dining

    there's various places to go eat. many fast food restaurants in and around the campus. there's also fine dining not too far away from campus.

    Dorm Life

    no dorm life at all

    Academic Rigor

    i'm not going to say it's easy but it's not hard at all. If you are focused on your goal, you will make it through with spectacular grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive at least 20 minutes before your class starts or else you'll be walking a mile to get to class! Keep up with your homework or you'll fall back behind that it'll be difficult to get caught up.

    In three sentences

    Johnson county community college is a fantastic college. It's located in a very safe neighborhood that is also surrounded by anything you could ever need. Professors are amazing because they actually care about your success.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always clubs meeting or people playing frisbee in the courtyard.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of different options so you never get burnt out.

    Dorm Life

    JCCC doesn't have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't hard if you study and take notes along the way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessors.com when signing up for classes.

    In three sentences

    The campus itself is nice, especially for a community college. The classes are somewhere between high school and college level and there are plenty of resources if you need extra help. Overall I think it's a great way to make the transition from high school to college, plus it's affordable.

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters and people living in or around Johnson County.

    What to do for fun

    Shopping, athletic events, and other events.

    Food and Dining

    Restaurants around campus area are great too.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look up the ratings of prospective teachers.

    In three sentences

    A good college if you are commuting. Great teachers that are willing to help you. Lacks a true student life without dorms.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and the biggest one, in which I am a member is the international club.

    What to do for fun

    There are movies shown at the auditorium twice per month. Also, there are always different events created by the students activities.

    Food and Dining

    The need more variety of food.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the Student Center if you have any kind of questions. Also go to the writing center before turning in an essay.

    In three sentences

    Great school with affordable tuition prices and good quality of education. It likes to help its students in whatever way they can.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    In-state tuition is pretty decent compared to other college options. I'm planning on taking as many courses with JCCC that I can before transferring to receive a four-year degree.

    What to do for fun

    Again I don't live in the area, but there are a lot of different options. They have guest speakers and entertainers that come out all the time. AMC Theater is not too far away, and there's Oak Park Mall down the road.

    Dorm Life

    I live off-campus so I couldn't really tell you from personal experience, but while on campus, it looks fairly clean and nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Although instructors try to help you as much as possible, you still need to actually be hands-on with your learning. You cannot just wing it and hope for the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be proactive about your college experience. If you feel that something is lacking, talk to someone who can help.

    In three sentences

    JCCC is a pretty nice community college. The Student Resource Center is very helpful and the online access is pretty user friendly. The instructors try to help in any way possible so that you can reach your potential.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe! There were a few stolen laptops this year, but only in the design department.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cru, Intervarsity.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for young students, for homeschoolers, for people wanting to get back in the swing of school, and for low-income students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's not super spirit-filled, since it's a community college.

    Bang for the buck

    So cheap for wonderful classes that almost all transfer! Definitely worth your money.

    What to do for fun

    Hanging out outside when it's warm, it's so beautiful! Do the talent show, and do Cru or Intervarsity for some on-campus ministry.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, it's just overpriced and not very healthy at all.

    Dorm Life

    There is no living on the JCCC campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm in the Graphic Design department, and it's definitely the real deal. These teachers aren't messing around or are going to go light on you; they jump head first into the real design world, and expect you to come with them. Be ready!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. At community college, it's so easy for people to avoid social interactions because they're just passing through, but it will be so much worth while of an experience if you jump out of your comfort zone and make buddies!

    In three sentences

    Johnson County is a wonderful place to get equipped with what you need for your future education. They have advanced technology, dedicated professors, and an easy access environment that you can stay for as little or as long as you like.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no idea

    Great for these types of students

    People who dont want to spend a lot of money and people who want a degree soon!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We do have a small campus farm, which a lot of people dont seem to know about.

    Bang for the buck

    Great price for great classes and teachers.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of activities if you are interested! that is..in school...Kansas is pretty boring otherwise

    Food and Dining

    Great food and its really great because the dining services use fresh produce from the campus farm.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Take as many classes as you can! specially if you're going to KU or something like that and most of them will transfer.

    In three sentences

    JCCC has a lot of different programs. At a very affordable price, i am really glad i went here before going to a four year university.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is excellent.

    Greek Life

    Not aware of any.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many.

    Great for these types of students

    If your a returning adult student that has not been in a class setting for awhile.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have several different campus locations and options available.

    Bang for the buck

    Community College is a lot less expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are many extra curricular activities and programs available.

    Food and Dining

    Great food and quality service, as well as many different options.

    Dorm Life

    No on campus living available.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge your skills and have interesting assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive early, parking is limited. Go on the JCCC web page to see future events.

    In three sentences

    Great programs available. Helpful professors. Flexible schedules.

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    47 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are great clubs and organizations for students to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students who may not know what they want their major to be. Students who are looking to save money for their first two years of college. Adult students and other non-traditional students. I for one am a single mom and I found that this school was great. The teachers were all understanding and really cared about your success. Also, there were plenty of different class times, so it was never hard to build a good schedule that suited my needs.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition and book prices are very reasonable. This school is great for students who are interested in saving their extra coin for the first two years of college. They also have a great book buyback program where a student can get a pretty reasonable amount of money for selling their unwanted textbooks.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs that are available as well as any student organizations. There are also many events that go on throughout the semester ranging anywhere from free movies on the weekend, spa day, and even a take a picture with Santa day (where you can bring children as well). All of these events are free and students are more than welcome. They also have concerts and dances where for a small price, you can attend and have a blast.

    Food and Dining

    They have a food court in the Commons building that is connected to the Student Center. Here, you will find a variety of choices such as pizza, burgers, Mexican food, Chinese food, chicken, and a salad bar. They also have another dining area called Down Under, which is located underneath (down the stairs) of the food court. Here they serve more specialty food such as deli sandwiches, noodle bar, and whatever is on the menu at the time. They also have a convenience store located in the Student Center, that has cheap and quick eats for when you want food in a hurry.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes and teachers are engaging and challenging. Don't let that scare you though, the teachers are all very helpful and are readily available for any extra study sessions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are a number of great clubs and organizations for students to participate in. Also, take advantage of the counselors, teachers, and the Student Success Center. These resources are very helpful and all of the faculty and staff want you to succeed. Remember to not be afraid to ask for help. There are other resources available that are a must such as the Math Resource Center and the Writing Center. There, you will find students and staff who are dedicated and willing to help students understand how to do things.

    In three sentences

    Johnson County Community College is a great place for students to attend if they are just starting out on their college adventure. Here, students have the opportunity to take a variety of classes and explore different career paths. It is also a good place for non-traditional students to go to school, since they have classes at varying times and the teachers care and understand.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police patrol actively

    Great for these types of students

    International students

    Bang for the buck

    Great school and the cost is very affordable

    What to do for fun

    gaming lounge and courts outside. Museum is attatched.

    Food and Dining

    Restaurant downstairs and a good sized food court with salad bar

    Dorm Life

    no dorms, community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Workload is not too heavy and not too weak.

    Tips for prospective students

    If interested in culinary arts do so! the program is nationally recognized.

    In three sentences

    The campus is BIG, with over 15,000 students enrolled (community college, need i remind). Class sizes are usually under 40 students, teachers are great. Generous with scholarships and exchange programs.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    49 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Emergency buttons around campus and Campus police react pretty quickly.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone looking for a cheap associates degree or to transfer to a 4 year uni in the area.

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent value for money.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of activities around campus as well as the student lounge where you can hang out, play table tennis or video games and so on.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is pretty good and has something for everybody, like Pizza Hut, Chick-Fillet, and a soup and salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply before April 1st so you can apply for scholarships there.

    In three sentences

    A community college that is on par with most Universities in the area even though it's a much cheaper option. Great staff who are very helpful, beautiful campus, and wide range of availability of courses.

  • 07/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a nontraditional student. My fun consists of family time .

    Tips for prospective students

    College is based on your effort. You will reap what you sow. Take advantage of teachers' office hours and seek help when needed. Most of all, enjoy this season of your life.

    In three sentences

    Johnson County Community College is an exceptional school with technology and support that surpasses many universities. The teacher to student ratio is modest and the teachers have a welcoming open door policy to encourage success in and out of the classroom. Student success is key and evidently showed through expansion, security, quality teachers, student services, and all other avenues to achieve success.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have no regrets for attending Johnson County Community College instead of a four year university. It has saved me thousands of dollars.

    Food and Dining

    Always have fresh food and lines are never too long. They also have nice coffee bars!

    Dorm Life

    I lived off campus throughout my attendance in apartments as the campus does not provide on campus housing. It does, however, provide suggestions on the website of different places students have lived nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only been to two different community colleges and some teachers are more difficult than others. It is all up to you to determine what grade you would like to achieve. If you put the work and study hours in you will be fine!

    Tips for prospective students

    Start off strong! Pay attention to what courses you NEED. It is very hard to come back from a rough start. I am more motivated now than ever and I am kicking myself for not getting better grades from the beginning.

    In three sentences

    This is a very good school to explore your interests at a reasonable price if you're unsure of your major. I had the opportunity to discover that I prefer night and online classes instead of during the day and the teachers are very considerate of other obligations you may have as a student whether that is working full-time, being a parent, or just juggling more than school.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I run cross country and track.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind and be happy you are getting an education.

    In three sentences

    At JCCC you get an opportunity for a good education at a good price. You have smaller class sizes making it more personable. It's a good stepping stone for a 4 year school.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe.

    Bang for the buck

    You won't find a better education for the money!

    Food and Dining

    The food court provides a good variety of options, all affordable. The dining areas are pleasant and clean.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Varies greatly by class and instructor. Overall, I have wished for more challenge, but I have been aware that many students have struggled in the same classes that I have excelled in with almost zero effort. You'll get out of the classes what you put in, but I think many professors have given in to the idea that the majority of community college students aren't going to work very hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    JCCC is a great choice for your first two years. I have met several students who have chosen JCCC over the well-known four-year schools in the area because the professors are so much more available and the credits transfer flawlessly when you're ready to move on.

    In three sentences

    Absolutely fantastic two-year college. I've had several outstanding professors, the class sizes are small, and all staff are interested in helping you succeed. The campus is pretty and has surprised me with its offerings.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe campus that has many cops and they actually have a law enforcement program at the college so there are more cops around than you would normally see. A VERY SAFE CAMPUS!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many clubs and free activities to list. Job fairs, pizza days, college transfer events, career days, movie days, lounge and hangout are for students.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any student. Been out of school for a while, coming from high school, nursing students, engineering students, awesome culinary arts program, video game developers program, and any student planning on transferring to a four year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have an awesome hangout spot at the college where you can hang out with friends, take advantage of their video games available, have free snack like popcorn and much, much more.

    Bang for the buck

    With the small price you pay for classes, you get so much. You get quality teachers, use of the best equipment, free tutors, amazing library, tons of free computers to use and so much more. I've been to several different colleges and this college exceeds all of the others I've attended by a ton. Nothing bad to say about this school!!!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join and there are always movie nights and all kinds of events to attend. There are plenty of college fairs and job fairs throughout the year as well. Close to several malls and movie theaters and within driving distance of MLB, NFL, Nascar and amusement parks.

    Food and Dining

    This school has an awesome dinning hall. They have a Chick Fillet, Pizza Hut, Sushi shop, burger grill and a Mexican grill. Awesome selection and pricing is decent for college students budgets.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at the college, but several apartment complexes nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not the toughest school that I have attended, but then again it all depends on the teacher. I have had easy teacher here and tough teachers as well. My Organic Chemistry teacher had her doctorate and expected a lot from students, but here students performed 10 percent higher on the ACS Exam than the National Average. One thing I can say about the teachers here is that they are here to teach and have no problem providing any student extra help. If you want easy teachers, you can always find a few of those, like you can at any college. However, if you are looking for highly knowledgeable teachers that you can learn a lot from and that will truly prepare you for your junior and senior level classes at a four year institution, than you are looking at the right school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for your classes early, as this is a highly attending junior college and the classes fill up very fast.

    In three sentences

    Extremely high quality teacher who care and want to help students, combined with small class sizes helps to optimize your learning. School is very clean and updated with all of the latest technology and equipment, especially in their labs. Math and science tutors are available for free to students which is an amazing value this school adds.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    campus fairs are fun, there is always events going on

    Tips for prospective students

    dont be scared of the big campus

    In three sentences

    I love it there. Classes are an awesome size and that makes it so its not so overwhelming.

  • 01/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Coffee's great, there's a fantastic little cafe in Regnier that's really open and quiet for studying in the mornings

    Dorm Life

    No dorms there

    Tips for prospective students

    Be diligent and motivated, ask your questions, stay involved. In my experience, the teachers and staff have been very kind and helpful.

    In three sentences

    Solid community college, very affordable. Pleasant experience, the teachers really work with you and do what they can to help you succeed. Good classes and education for the price.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Top notch safety here. Rarely any problems or issues with feelings safe at this school no matter the time of day. Security is always roaming the campus and there is also a Police Academy on campus too.

    Greek Life

    There are some Greek life activities such as the Honors Society.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many activities and clubs to choose from. The clubs are very involved and focused on what the club is instead of being a general club. The clubs and activities are also very involved with the school itself too.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are individualistic, people who are shy, and people who know what they want but don't want to pay big bucks for classes that they can take at a fraction of the price.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes here are very affordable and books are very affordable too whether you choose to rent, buy new, or buy pre-owned. My average per semester with books and tuition has been below $1800 and that's with the max amount of hours that can be taken. By going to JCCC for my first two years, I have saved has been about $20,000 compared to going to a four year university for my first two years for the same classes.

    What to do for fun

    At JCCC, this school has a lot of things to do for a community college. In the spring and fall near the beginning of the semester, there is a full campus fair that includes food, music, and booths to enjoy small games and interacting with other students on campus. The school does have a very large gym with three full basketball courts that is surrounded by a track all indoors and heated and cooled. There is also an outdoor volleyball and basketball court too. There are multiple clubs for anything and a student center that is very involved with the students who enjoy trying new things.

    Food and Dining

    For the food and dining here, the food is top-notch and provides a variety of foods to choose from. If you enjoy the basic fast food, this school does have a Pizza Hut inside the cafeteria and a restaurant similar to Chipotle along with the option of eating Chic-Fil-A too. If you want to eat healthy, there is a salad and soup bar along with optional healthy substitutes such as sushi, in-house made foods, and a second cafeteria called the Down Under which holds a sandwich bar and fully made meals at a low price below $7 dollars.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college so there are no on campus dorms but the housing near and around the area of the school are very nice and affordable if rooming with other people

    Academic Rigor

    This school is simple and direct to the lessons of the classes but not too easy where you die of boredom. There are classes you can take that are difficult if you enjoy a challenge but their are also classes that are easy and if you apply yourself at a basic level, you can easily get a great grade. The classes here provide to the students who like challenges and also for the students who enjoy breezing by the classes with A's.

    Tips for prospective students

    For those looking to find out what they want to do, figure out who they are, or looking for some extra classes to sharpen your mind, go to Johnson County Community College. This school is perfect for the people who not only like to themselves and feel fine about it all the time, but this school is also for those who are shy because people here are very kind and open to meeting others.

    In three sentences

    Johnson County Community College, home of the strong and independent Caveliers, is incredible. The teachers live to help you learn and become whatever you want to be. The school is based on what it is called, a true community college.

  • 01/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The are 24 hour police officers specifically contracted to work solely for the campus. There are emergency telephones throughout the campus. you can pick up one of these phones and report suspicious activity or if you would even like a ride to your car because it is dark and you feel unsafe walking. They also have a texting system where alerts will be sent to your phone in case of an emergency.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few places to eat on a campus but from what I have seen they are coffee shops

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    I would say the academic rigor is average. Some classes are harder and some are easier so it averages out.

    In three sentences

    I have started my first week here at JCCC and so far I absolutely love it, My classes are perfectly timed so II don't have to miss work. One issue I wasn't thrilled about when I enrolled was one of my classes was in a unconnected building, so I would have to go outside in COLD Kansas weather. The school had set the buildings up fairly close and there were many entrances so you didn't have to be outside for so long. I really love going here.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are always around, and will even escort you to your car if you feel unsafe or have a late night class.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer many clubs for all sorts of things.

    Great for these types of students

    People who enjoy the city life, don't really look forward to meeting new people.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition per credit hour is pretty decent unless you live out of state or out of district.

    Food and Dining

    They have many food and dining services offered and they are all very good.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have on campus housing or any housing at all. Strictly a commuter college.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here for the majority are all very helpful. Occasionally you will get one who isn't the greatest.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what classes you want and need ahead of time. Most enrollment fills up very fast so get in them as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    This school has a wide variety of classes which is very helpful and they offer many of the same class. However it is a commuter college so unless you already know people I would not recommend this college if your wanting to meet people and make new friends with a great college experience.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a pretty good campus security program. The campus is small so someone else is always walking around. They have emergency phones around campus. They also have a good campus texting system to alert you of weather and serious events on campus

    Greek Life

    Only have Academic Greek Life

    Clubs and Activities

    Its located in Overland Park Business district. Everything has grown around it. It is a busy area of town. Mostly restaurants and grocery stores

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in Johnson County there is no place cheaper to get your Associates and they have a lot of Certification programs as well.

    What to do for fun

    I have not been too involved in the social aspect of the school. I have been busy with work and school and family.

    Food and Dining

    There are coffee huts around campus and the cafeteria food is actually decent they have vendors as well as the traditional by the pound hot and cold bar. *pizza hut, chick fillet. and a nice hamburger stand with sweet potatoe fries

    Dorm Life

    NO DORMS

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check online to make an appointment with a counselor they are hard to get a hold of now that they are appointment only. Parking Sucks, get to class 20 minutes early to plan just to park.

    In three sentences

    Pro-Great College, Cheap, Small Classes, Most Instructors are nice. Good class time variety for most classes. Neg- Terrible Parking, Hard to reach counselors,

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You just can't beat $85 a credit hour.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs

    Food and Dining

    Lots to choose from on and around campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus housing

    Academic Rigor

    Very high quality classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay organized and on top of your work. Even if it's just community college those grades stay on your transcript.

    In three sentences

    JCCC offers a wide variety of courses. JCCC has small class sizes. jCCC has high transferability rates.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the mall, hangout with friends. Maybe go to a sporting event.

    Food and Dining

    You pay for food as individual items. I liked it, because it wasn't life a buffet where most college kids gain weight.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life

    Tips for prospective students

    There is no on campus living, so you don't get the typical college experience. Teachers are great and give lots of help,

    In three sentences

    JCCC is a very nice big campus. There is lots of diversity. They also have great sports teams.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is all over campus. There are phones in the hallways you can use for any case of emergency plus security walking and driving around.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many Many clubs and activities to do on campus.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many different activities and programs at Johnson County Community college if you are ever bored you can find anything to do that interests you.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining is great. Different options and reasonably priced.

    Dorm Life

    There is not any specific dorms with Johnson County Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    There is absolutely nothing bad about Johnson County Community College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Johnson County Community College has many opportunities to succeed. All the instructors want to see their students succeed. They are very helpful with helping every student to their best extent.

    In three sentences

    Johnson County Community College is one of the most supportive, active, free learning, colleges in the United States. It is one hundred percent worth going to. I rate Johnson County Community College an 11 out of 10!

  • 02/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food available on campus but there are several fast food/restaurants close by.

    Dorm Life

    Unsure about dorm living be that there are not dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You pick your classes with an adviser or through Degree Check.

    In three sentences

    With a staff that is always willing to help, this school has helped me begin to see the potential I have in myself. I would highly recommend this college to any student that is unsure or just wants to test the water of college. When I started two years ago I was unsure of anything but today I just got accepted to the University of Kansas.

  • 04/17/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    65 of 69

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    From what I have heard people love going to Johnson County Community College. They say it is just like a major university and the teachers there are excellent!

  • 05/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe. There is campus police that will give an escort if you need one. There are safety phones all through out the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    JCCC is great for those who are not ready for a university setting. JCCC is great for those who are wanting an Associates degree. JCCC is great for those who want a small class setting.

    Bang for the buck

    They concert halls have a great series each year and you can get $5 student tickets that are normally $30 or more.

    Food and Dining

    The food court is good. There are 5 fast food restaurants and a salad and food bar that is reasonably priced. There are lots of other restaurants in then area.

    Dorm Life

    None on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The class sizes are small, usually under 30. You get to be known by your teachers and they are happy to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start here to get the most out of your education money. JCCC is ranked as one of the top 10 Junior Colleges in the nation. The staff is very friendly and will make it happen for you. They want you to succeed. See a counselor to decide on where to start, but if you can't decide right this moment, at least go for a general degree that transfers to most colleges.

    In three sentences

    I enjoyed getting my college start here. Everyone seems ready to help each other out. A great academic place to either start your undergraduate studies or to get an associate degree.

  • 06/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    asdf

    Dorm Life

    asdf

    In three sentences

    adklfj

  • 06/19/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    68 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an on campus police department and academy so all I can say if that you are well protected walking to your car.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and always sporting games. community college is for you to discover yourself without the extreme pay of a university.

    Food and Dining

    Your typical college food except we have a chick fil a and a burger king right inside the campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Laid back and easy, class sized are small and teachers are more intact to who you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always join in clubs, its a community college so nothing is really required but you meet all new people that way. Its an amazing experience and truly this college was the best choice ive ever made,

    In three sentences

    Amazing teachers always willing to help. Small class sized are great especially when the teachers know you by name. Helpful when teachers are helping you one on one with issues.

  • 07/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    69 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are plenty of cops on campus. They patrol parking lots and the halls. There are emergency locations all over with phones to call a cop to your location. They even offer to escort you to your car if you ever feel unsafe, which is great when you're taking night classes.

    Bang for the buck

    I wish I didn't have to transfer to get the degree I'm seeking. I love going here so much.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something going on on the campus. The campus radio station will broadcast from outside quite often when the weather is nice. They have free spa days. There's a student lounge full of games. Always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    They make it affordable to eat healthy. It's cheaper to eat off the salad bar than it is to eat the junk food. Plus, there's several hot food bars that are like homecooked meals instead of the pizza, burgers and fries, and tacos options.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be as easy or as difficult as you make them. Do the homework and you'll be just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely apply to go here. It's a great transition from high school. The classes stay small, and the library is amazing. There's a math resource center just for those needing help with math.

    In three sentences

    It's a sprawling campus that is beautiful. The classes are small so your professors can actually get to know you. No matter what you need help with, someone is there to help you.