Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Johnson State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outdoorsy, artsy, athletic, creative, talented, laid-back, thoughtful, intelligent. Any type of student could feel at home here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to take classes that seem interesting even if they have nothing to do with your major. You can learn so much about life by trying new things and opening up to new experiences. Don't stay in your room; when you get out you have so much more fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Johnson is one of the most affordable schools around. The education and experience are definitely worth the price. The surrounding areas are beautiful, giving Johnson an edge on other campuses. Classes are small and personal, so you are truly getting an education, not just getting lost in a sea of faces.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students at Johnson are very laid back, and it's easy to feel comfortable here. Classes and professors are enjoyable. There are many things to do on campus. Being in a liberal state like Vermont, there is always something interesting going on, whether it be on or off campus. The campus and town is small enough that it is always easy to find people to hang out with or a place to go. Johnson is a one of a kind school.

    Am learning a lot

    Although not one of the most prestigious schools around, being a student at JSC has taught me a lot. I have studied subjects that were never an option in high school. I am learning how to write better, analyze material effectively, and solve problems. There is just enough of a workload to keep students busy, but not so much that anyone is overwhelmed. The things we do in class usually translate to outside life.

  • 10/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nature lovers, attended majors education, psychology, or business, small college lovers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your housing contracts in early.

    Bang for the buck

    Johnson State is a realatively cheap college, but they do give you a lot to do for their price. They have a free shuttle on weekends to go into Burlington, Vermont and they do a lot of amazing plays and movies that the students don't have to pay for. They have a full gym, climbing wall, swimming pool, gyms, and racquetball courts for no extra cost. I definitely think the tuition is appropriate for this college.

    Am enjoying being here

    People say that since Johnson is out of the way that their will be nothing to do, I have never been bored while here. The view of the mountains are simply amazing and the people are so laid back that you'll always have someone to talk to. They have movies every Monday and Wednesday nights and they have different events that go on around the campus every month.

    Am learning a lot

    Johnson State College is great for learning. I'm an elementary education major and this was my top choice for college. Johnson has definitely proved to be the right choice. The teachers are really laid back and are easy to talk to. Johnson also has a great transition from high school to college.

  • 12/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that did average in high school, and like more of the outdoorsy, artsy, and extra curricular of college lift.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Classes won't always keep you busy, nor will homework. So get involved! 2. Try hard in classes, and if you don't get it seek help at Trio tutoring center. 3. Don't be afraid to ask for help! 4. And mostly, GET INVOLVED in your college community!

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is a little expensive for out of state students, I truly think it was worth going out of state to a laid back college. I came to Johnson because right from the tours I felt that close knit community that gave you a sense of succeeding.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am truly enjoying being here BECAUSE I am involved in the close knit community that is surrounded by you at Johnson. I do a lot of stuff as a student leader such as SGA Senator, and Serve leader organizing the local community service.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot not only about the subjects that I am studying, but who I am personally. Taking college classes is the best indicator of what you actually like. Also, I have learned a lot more being at a laid back college rather then a prestigious college because we aren't as stressed studying all the time.

  • 10/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Future artists Future teachers Future psychologists Snow boarders Skiers Dancers ( the dance club is the largest and funnest club on campus)

    Tips for prospective students

    I can think of four very important tips for JSC students. Be diligent. Get involved. Do what you love to do. Have fun, it is college after all.

    Bang for the buck

    Here at JSC the quality of higher education is worth the amount of money one has to pay. The overall experience of living here or near here is wonderful because of all that the campus provides. There are over 100 clubs one can be apart of just for taking classes here, the food isn't bad, and the one on one time with professors is extremely helpful. As a commuter I pay half the price of an on campus student but I still am a big part of the community here and the satisfaction one gets from being involved and making a difference is definitely worth the buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    As a commuter people were worried that I wouldn't get the experience of college life but I am at JSC 9-12 hours per day because I love it so much. I have made at least twenty five new friends here and that amount is growing. The community that JSC provides is supportive, involved, enthusiastic, and inspiring and that is why I enjoy being here.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at JSC we have a very small number of students per classroom except for science classes and labs. The chance of a one on one relationship you can have with your professor is so high here which makes it easy to go to them to get help or just to have a relaxed conversation. The professors here are very enthusiastic about their student's success which drives us as students to work hard and do well. I feel that, although I have changed my major once already as a sophomore I am learning a lot and also the small classes make it easy to go on field studies and field trips so you can learn even more from experience.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Johnson is a small town in new england. Crime & security issues are pretty much non existant.

    Greek Life

    Not my thing

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to choose from, but I'm new so can't really say yet

    Great for these types of students

    Art & Art ed majors

    Bang for the buck

    Johnson may be a state college but their art program is one of the best offered.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty of on campus activies to keep you busy.

    Food and Dining

    Again check out the cafeteria often before selecting your meal plan. You may prefer the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Not sure yet. But if the dorms are as inviting as the campus it should be great.

    Academic Rigor

    As always you'll only get as good as you give. I love all forms of art and I'm always looking for new mediums. I hope to try all they have to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the cafeteria on several different days of the week before selecting your meal plan as it may not be for you.

    In three sentences

    Excellent art program. Good student to professor ratio. Comfortable surroundings

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are phones located all around campus and at night time they are lit with a blue light and if you get to that phone you are automatically connected to public safety and you can call them even if you just need somebody to walk back to your dorm with. Public safety walks around consistently and I never feel unsafe with them there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs I wouldn't even know where to begin :)

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students. Everybody is welcome at JSC.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a rock placed on campus that is repainted every few months, either for different events or causes or just for fun.

    What to do for fun

    In the winter there are many winter activities. There are concerts weekly. Late night is the best, this is where students go to listen to some good music, hang out and eat delicious food between 9pm and 1am. There are so many activities available.

    Food and Dining

    They provide good food options. Their french toast for breakfast is my favorite. Their breakfast selection is amazing.

    Dorm Life

    Senators south is the best fit for me. It is kept very clean, the bathrooms are cleaned everyday. It isn't too loud, but it is to be expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you bring your hat and mittens because you are going to need them.

    In three sentences

    At JSC they make everybody feel welcome and they don't judge their students. JSC is more than a school, it is a community. The students and professors have a great relationship and it is their goal to see that students get to where they want to be.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    johnson's a great school. teachers really care about there student in johnson they pushes them to do better no matter how low they think of them selves. there is not much to do in johnson it's in the middle of no where and empty but if you are a snowboader then you will love it because it's close to the mountain resorts and when it snows johnson looks pretty white and lovely. people are frirendly and communicat with each other well it's easy to make friends in johnson, life there is easy and calm.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's extremely safe! We have amazing safety officers that are fun to just talk to!

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 80 clubs on campus. The largest is the dance club that has over 80 active members, and then rugby which is the second largest. Dodge ball is also a large club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a giant rock on campus that we paint for every event. The best time is when the freshman are there for the first time and paint the rock.

    What to do for fun

    We have three ski and snowboard mountains that are fairly close by with student discounts and shuttles. Also, we have a nature preserve and an 18 hole frolf course!

    Food and Dining

    Food had been about average, however we are changing food providers soon.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is better than most other schools, but there is only one dorm that has a full kitchen. They have not yet installed wireless in the dorms which can sometimes be an inconvenience. But overall it doesn't cause too much trouble. The other dorms are good, decent size and warm in the harsh winters.

    Academic Rigor

    Johnson State College academics can be described as challenging and sometimes frustrating. In the end students end up learning a ton!

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to get out of your dorm room and meet new people. College is about furthering yourself not only as a student, but as a person. Do your homework the day it's assigned and don't forget a egg shell pad for your mattress.

    In three sentences

    Johnson State College is an incredible place that fuels and supports the minds of young people. When they accept you, they accept you as a future graduate, and that is exactly how they treat everyone. Johnson State College is family.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go see a production or live act at the Dibden Center for the Arts, hang out with friends, travel to Burlington, VT.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your application in early, apply for scholarships, and make the most of your time at Johnson State

    In three sentences

    Johnson State College is an exceptional college that makes every student treat each other like family. Whether it's going to the Dibden Center for the Arts to see live shows or guest speakers, or just tossing the old football around, everyone has something to do. Johnson State College is my favorite college out of all that I looked at.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Stay in a group. Don't go out to late. Do do drugs or drink alcohol. ol

    Greek Life

    Don't apply to Johnson state college.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a lot of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone with ambitious to do well in life. Creative people. Open minded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We are in the mountain so we always climb to the top. Snowboarding and sking is something we do alot. We also have campfire.

    What to do for fun

    I play basketball. Go to the mall. We have partys on the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't that tasty. In the dining hall we get to socialize with one another. You get to eat different dishes.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. You also learn quickly how to survive on your own. You also learn how to share space.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that if you are from Philly you will be evelen hours away from home. Stay focus on your work. Try to join an activity or a club so can build social skills.

  • 03/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    These are very friendly people and very caring as well , they are always there for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs of all kinds example: christian club, break away which help poor countries to build schools, dance, rugby, outing and others.

    Great for these types of students

    quit, reserved, small population, ski lovers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the welcoming ceremony for freshmen , the teachers dresses in gowns and the students walked in a quadrangle and are welcomed by applause and cheers.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a good school to be at , if you just want to focus on school with little distractions such as partying, drama etc.

    What to do for fun

    There's always water aerobics, zumba, dance, alot of clubs, work out teams and sports to play.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing at times.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are okay, very nice and clean, most times very quite.

    Academic Rigor

    The student work hard , i will say not a lot of them but the few that does they are very interested in their work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Its snows a lot, the college is in a small town, if you like skiing this is the place for you, not much parties, unless you go into the city.

    In three sentences

    Johnson State is easy to get into, some classes are challenging and others are easy. They have a good sports teams not always the best, small campus and class sizes and they have a good education program i heard.

  • 09/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think the campus is very safe and the Public Safety on campus is great as well. It's great to know when you call them even from the emergency phones that when you do feel unsafe that they will drop everything to come to take you to your distention on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of Clubs and Activities on campus and you can make a club as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for education/ teacher, Wellness and Alternative Medicine, Artist, Theater, Psychology and Outdoor Majors. It's great for all kinds of majors but these majors are the biggest and popular majors you'll hear when you ask students what theor majors are.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a rock on campus that is painted for certain events every year. It's quite cool.

    Bang for the buck

    It's worth to go to Johnson State College, it's amazing, friendly, and family like. The campus is great, the dorms are great, the dining hall is great, everything is just great!

    What to do for fun

    There are many events on campus to go to and hang out at. Also just hanging out or studying with friends. There also a reasonable a lot of things to do in Johnson or Morrisville which is a 10 minute drive from Johnson. It's good. There also hiking trails around campus as well to hike or walk.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining hall is great! Very fancy and well built. The food is okay can be good on some days but overall is okay. It's a very large step from you're high school breakfast and lunches.

    Dorm Life

    Arthur Hall is great if you want a dry dorm/hall. Suite is great because you get to meet more people and make friends and have a great suite and living space and living room. The other dorms are okay if you want to live on a floor. From what the other students have said, there are a lot of slamming doors around quiet hours, and a lot of other similar things.

    Academic Rigor

    It's great Academic Rigor! A challenge is always the best!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do you're school and homework, remember you're paying to go to college, so it's part of the deal. Be friendly and make friends, it's quite easy at JSC! Go to all or a lot of activities and events on Campus, it'll benefit you and you'll meet and make more friends.

    In three sentences

    JSC is very friendly, outgoing, high achieving and caring college. I recommend this college to any one who wants a family, friendly and small campus and college. JSC is an amazing college!

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always available. The public safety officers are all very nice and like to make jokes with students; however they take their job very seriously.There is a very low rate of criminal activity on campus, but when there is public safety is on it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Relay for LIfe Magic Humans vs. Zombies JSC Hunger Games Outing Club Breakaway SERVE Community Service The Women's Center Gardening Theater Art Sports...

    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous, environmental, book-worms, active, athletic and much more!

    Bang for the buck

    I have been homeless twenty-two times before the age of 18. Throughout my childhood and teen years, I was forced to change schools fourteen times, it wasn't until I came to JSC that I finally felt safe, wanted and comfortably at home. I was welcomed and found a support net within months of attending JSC. JSC has changed my life. JSC has shown me what it means to be a part of something, to be a part of a community. Coming from poverty and not always having a home to go to on vacations, JSC allowed me and welcomed me to stay on campus while everyone else went home. JSC has offered me many opportunities to live a good life and to be in control in where I am heading for my future.

    What to do for fun

    Many students who go to JSC like to ski, snowboard and be involved in other outdoor activities. There are close by slopes that are great for skiing and there are many trails through the beautiful mountains. There aren't many stores around, but the stores that are around are very well liked. There is a local tea shop and pizzeria that not only students enjoy, but so do the professors. There are many on campus events and activities that students become involved with in order to keep busy.

    Food and Dining

    There are many options for meals. There are always healthy options, including vegetarian and vegan specialties, salad bar, pizza, the grill, sadwhiches and cereal. The usual. However, breakfasts and holiday meals are the most delicious. There are always great healthy options that are very appetizing.

    Dorm Life

    There are four dormitory buildings on the small campus. Dorm life at JSC is not like dorm life at larger colleges. Resident Assistants offer great support not only academically but personally. Quiet hours are respected and for the most part the dormitory floors are kept clean. People gather for floor meetings which often involve creativity and involvement. Everyone is respectful of others. There are singles, doubles, triples and suites.

    Academic Rigor

    Students are taught to work hard, respectfully and successfully. When times get rough for students, professors become involved in order to help the student to succeed. There are programs at the school that offer help for academic coaching, mentoring, advising and much more. TRiO is the most important college program that I am personally involved with. Without TRiO I would not be in college, the support that the staff and faculty give to their students is sincere and accommodating. JSC teaches it's students to question everything and to be able to understand personal values and the true self.

    Tips for prospective students

    If students are looking for a small community of people and appreciate a beautiful environment in the country, then Johnson State College is the place to be. The people that are involved in the JSC community are willing to do what they can in order to help the students. Professors get to know their students not only as students but as individuals. Almost all the people are considerate of all aspects of ones life. Most professors appreciate the attendance of their students and want them to do well and will put in the extra work in order to help their students. JSC is their for their students, if a prospective student is looking for a good support network, then JSC will guarantee just that.

    In three sentences

    Johnson State College is my favorite place in the world to spend my time. Johnson State College is the place where I feel the most comfortable, I have the greatest support system here and I appreciate how respectfully I am treated as a student. Johnson State is a small community of wonderful people who work hard in order to prepare for the future.