Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Johnson & Wales University-Denver Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/04/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students who like to do hands on activities and get a great career out of it

    Tips for prospective students

    dont fall behind and keep your heads high

  • 07/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who know what field of study they want to go into. Since you do pay so much to go to JWU you don't want to get there and then figure out it's not where you want to be. It is also really good for dedicated, hard-working students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Expect to work, this school is fast paced so it's easier to get overwhelmed. My best advice is not to let yourself get behind in classes, make sure you keep up with stuff.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 3 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for very out going people.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is amazing and I couldn't imagine attending anywhere else. The instructors are genuinely excited to teach their students everything that they possibly can. All the instructors have had industry experience, which gives them the upper-hand on what exactly employers are looking for. I have met so many awesome people there. The campus is full of warm and welcoming people. It is just a great environment to attend school.

  • 10/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Driven, career-focused students who still want the standard college experience

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for a lot of scholarships to help you pay for this school.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is pretty expensive, but there is a lot of value in the name, as well as the education you get here.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its a small school, so you end up knowing pretty much everybody, which can be a bad thing, but its nice having a pretty tight knit community.

    Am learning a lot

    The student must be driven to lear to really get the full value of the classes at JWU, but if you apply yourself, you can really get a really good education.

  • 01/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who love the outdoors, the weather is really great in Colorado and the air is fresh and clean. People who like the cold. When it snows and gets cooler you can even have a high in the negatives! People who actually want to learn. If you just want to kick back and do minimal work then don't bother coming because it will be a waste of your time and money; you should actually want to try and learn because you have a passion for it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and make sure it is the right fit for you! Just because you think a campus might sound great doesn't mean you will actually enjoy living there. Ask as many questions as possible, don't be afraid to ask questions that concerns you such as safety, cost, weather, etc. Make sure Johnson and Wales offer your major that you want to have a profession in! So that you will actually want to go to school and learn. And make sure to plan ahead. Make all your payments on time and mark the dates on your calendar for important reminders.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely are on a personal level with the chefs and they are always offering to teach you new things. Also, if you are a person into competitions, it would be a great asset to learn how to adjust according to altitude and learn why certain ingredients would give you a specific result in your products. You also get a feel for the 'industry' and what will be expected of you in the real world.

    Am learning a lot

    In certain classes I feel like you can learn a lot about the products you produce as well as the ingredients it takes to make them. However, there are some classes that aren't really teaching you anything new, just mainly review.

  • 10/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for any one! Honestly! There are gamers, hippies, hard-core athletes, soft-core athletes, and a ton more of just regular happy people. It's a personal campus; I feel like I know everyone already! So it's probably not the best for those that like those huge campuses, but it's not much of a problem because downtown's not so far away and you could always go there on the weekends if you want to be surrounded by more people. I would say the adventure-loving person will do the best here. Try new foods, meet new people, hike and explore the area... it's all good!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say respective is the most important thing. Come armed with an open mind and you will do absolutely fine. Bring warm weather clothes and sunglasses. I know that sounds so opposite but it's so sunny every day in this area that I regret not bringing mine, but I am SO glad I brought all my hoodies and gloves. It can get chilly! Also I would say get to know the teachers and really know them. They want to know you so it shouldn't be hard. One of my professors takes the kids he knows on field trips so it's really good to be in the know. They're really great people so get out there; send e-mails and don't stay in the dorm!

    Bang for the buck

    The food is great, the classes are thorough, the students are nice, and they offer a lot of activities and clubs. I would say it's a little overpriced but it is a private school and you are pretty close to the mountains. I do feel taken care of though. I don't feel cheated or pick-pocketed. It's a great school and I'm happy to be here.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here! Every one is so nice. The teachers are amazing and everyone is wonderful. The students are friendly and there is a wide variety of people. The staff are friendly and the people who work in the Cafeteria are so nice! They brought me out vegan corn and rice twice already. Everyone's accommodating and the campus is beautiful and cozy. There are things to do (volleyball, shopping, table tennis) and a huge array of clubs (I am in swimming and CAB- campus activities board). It's a very enjoyable school!

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot but am currently in the academic classes. I haven't done labs yet and feel like I will learn a lot more once I get into the actual food-making process. Currently, the academic classes are good, but I know a lot of what they are discussing. For example, we have covered macro and micro nutrients in my nutrition class and I already am thoroughly informed on both of those things.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anybody who want s to major in Criminal Justice, Culinary, Baking and Pastry, Business, you name it I am sure you can find a Major you would be interested in.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do end up coming to this school you will meet alot of great people, be involved in clubs and participate on activities that maybe occurring.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school so for some it might be a shocker that the school is like 35,000 a year but you can get plenty of financial aid or get work study.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its my first year here at Johnson and Wales and so far I love it, Everybody is super nice the professor are great and they actually get to know you.

    Am learning a lot

    All the professor really know what they are talking about when they are teaching and they make the class interesting so you don't just sit there and listen.

  • 08/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great school

    Tips for prospective students

    try to get as many sholarships as possible

    Bang for the buck

    the cost is high but it's worth it

    Am enjoying being here

    there are tons of way to get to know new people from all over america

    Am learning a lot

    they will work with you to make sure that you are learning everything that you need to know

  • 11/08/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who enjoys smaller, closer environments will love this school. Living on campus will allow you to meet a lot of new people and get involved in campus activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know for sure what you want to major in. Since there is not much to choose from it's not like you can keep changing your major if you don't like what you choose to start with.

    Bang for the buck

    Though it is a lot of money, it is worth it. You are paying for the supplies required for your major which is good because you get to keep those things for future career reference. Paying to live on campus is also worth it because of the new experiences you get to have and the people you get to meet.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here because the people are so nice and there is always someone to help you out. Classes in your major are very career focused and there are opportunities to study abroad and do internships. It is also very relaxed on campus and you will usually know what is going on. There are also many ways to get involved on campus and get your mind off homework for a little while.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are very nice at this University so it is not intimidating to ask for help. The classes are smaller so you can make relationships with classmates so you can get help out of class too. The way each course is outlined helps you stay organized knowing when things are due and what to expect.

  • 06/16/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for those who want to get into a culinary major, business major and liberal arts

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a Private school so make sure that you apply to scholarships and this school itself also gives several scholarships and offers its own independent scholarships

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there's so much to do here. just come and find out!

    Food and Dining

    food is pretty good! all you care to eat dining.

    Dorm Life

    residence life is great! you'll become a family with your floor in no time! and if you have a specific interest, there are themed floors!

    Academic Rigor

    classes are meant for you to learn! which means no slacking! the professors here are excellent teachers and they are understanding, but they expect you do pull your weight!

    Tips for prospective students

    just be yourself when you arrive to college. it's a way to start fresh and become the person you've always wanted to be. you gotta risk it for the biscuit!

    In three sentences

    this is an excellent university, the campus is amazingly beautiful. there's always something to do here, its never a dull moment. if you enjoy a small campus experience, then jwu denver is the way to go!

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    i highly suggest you visit before you go. especially if you want to go into the culinary field. try to schedule a shadow, it was the best idea and experience i had. it made me excited to go!

  • 06/09/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It seems really friendly at the university and there are many types of activities there.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying for this school, make sure to have every paper work asked for submitted. You do not want to have to do everything in a rush.

    Bang for the buck

    Although this university is expensive, the school provides financial aid. There are other places you can look for financial aid.

    Will enjoy being here

    The admission process has been smooth thanks to the representatives and staff. I have seen many great reviews about this university and I am looking forward to my stay there.

    Will learn a lot

    I have seen from videos that the courses will be very interactive. I am excited to start the school year and learn what is taught in the courses.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    1. Great for the type of students who are very hardworking and don't mind doing a lot of homework and research. 2. Students who want a small campus and closed community. 3. Students with a car. 4. Great for students who have A LOT of patience.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Apply for as many scholarships as possible to cover your tuition to JWU. 2. Visit the campus to be absolutely sure that JWU is where you want to be. I did this too and was misguided, so just be clear before making a final decision. 3. If and when you visit, talk to current students you see on campus and ask them questions. They will tell you things that advisors and tour guides will not. 4. JWU Denver is a very small campus. There are 10 active buildings in total. Make sure that you can see yourself at JWU and know you will be happy. 5. Get out there and meet as many people as quickly as you can because JWU is very clique-like. It reminds me of high school.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is extraordinarily expensive, I receive financial aid but it's not near enough to even begin to cover my tuition. I am paying for my college education myself and work two jobs to help my tuition and it is still very steep. I feel that for the quality of education you receive at JWU, it is NOT worth anything close to the amount of money you will pay.

    Am enjoying being here

    JWU does have some good qualities. However, it is not the correct fit for me at all and I am transferring after this year. If you plan on coming to JWU, I would highly suggest having a car. The public transit system is very sketchy and if you're stuck on campus all the time, you get extremely bored. Also, the school's wifi is unbelievably slow; I had to purchase a personal internet router to be able to do homework and research on my laptop without having to use the labs in the academic building. Also, I love sports and there isn't a lot of sporting events or school spirit. I feel that coming to JWU does not give you the proper college experience that most seek. Many other people I know are transferring because they feel the same as me. I, as well as many others, came to JWU seeking a four year degree but now after being here, are switching to a two year degree and tranferring to a better fitting university.

    Am learning a lot

    The academic classes for freshman and sophomores are not nearly as up to par as they should be. I feel like I'm wasting my time and energy the majority of the time. A lot of the professors will assign tons of busy work for homework and it's mediocre review work that is ultra time consuming, tedious, and does not teach anything new. If you're a culinary or baking and pastry student, the labs are good most of the time. However, I have had a couple of labs where I felt I wasted nothing but time and money. It is all based on the chef you have which is not how it should be. Simply put, some chefs are amazing and very knowledgeable. On the other hand, there are a handful of chefs who do not know how to teach students and pass on information.

  • 12/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JWU is mostly known for their culinary. But I'm a business student. And I know for a solid fact that their business school is one of the top in the country. We also offer criminal justice, fashion, and hospitality. Even if you don't entirely know what you want to be yet, take your gen-ed classes and you'll figure it out. But like the President said, don't waste your time if you don't really want it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes here move quickly so be prepared to keep up. And if you visit and feel like it's not for you, then don't waste your time or your money. You need to have a passion for the field you're going into. The president said all of this when I visited which made me really sit back and question whether I really wanted this or not. And if the answer is yes then JWU would love to have your smiling face on campus. And if not, then thanks for your time :)

    Bang for the buck

    With it being a private school you're going to have to pay more. But what you're putting in, you'll get out twice as much. I know that when I go to graduate in a few years I will look back on my experience here and smile. Between having really great professors and awesome classmates the experience and the knowledge is just phenomenal!

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE IT HERE!!!! Everyone is really super nice, so you'll definitely be able to find someone that you can connect with; especially since the campus is small. Which makes getting around campus really easy too!!! Plus there's always different activities going on, I love arriving to school each day to see what's in store for me! I looked at a lot of big campuses, but at JWU it felt like home and I was really comfortable.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors make sure you fully understand the information that they're teaching. If I ever had a question I was able to either see the professor one-on-one or email them (and receive a quick response!). I know that it doesn't matter whether you're in the kitchen or in the classroom if you don't understand when you first walk in, you'll know it when you walk out.

  • 12/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, and people that know what they want to do from day one.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit the school, that's where I fell in love with it. It felt right!

    Bang for the buck

    Although the school is expensive, I have already met the CEO of the Rockies, several general managers of the Cherry Creek Shopping Center, and countless recruitment managers for large brands such as World Trade Center, Starbucks, etc. Networking, networking, networking!

    Am enjoying being here

    The school has such a community feel to everything they do. I'm almost never home sick because you always stay busy, and there is always something fun to do. Everyone is nice too! When coming here as a freshman, it's not hard to make friends at all everyone just says hi to everyone!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are very knowledgable and most have a lot of industry relevance and experience. The classes are also all industry relevant which helps because the goal is to get a job, and not just go in random classes that won't help you get a job after college.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Do the culinary shadow, or fashion shadowing, business, etc. They are worth it and a complete joy. I did my culinary shadow and it only made me more excited. JWU is beautiful, Colorado in itself is one of the best states out there, if I do say so myself. Make sure it's right for you. Keep you're head high and keep moving forward!

    Bang for the buck

    So far, all the Academics and Culinary Labs I've had so far, definitely worth my education. I've learned a lot, met some great people, have had some great chefs so far help me along the way making sure I'm ready. Education doesn't just come from the school, again, you're going to have to do a few things yourself to make sure you're keeping up with homework.

    Am enjoying being here

    Johnson & Wales is what you make of it. If you don't really put yourself out there and become involved, you won't get much. The people there are really chill, the professors and chefs I have had so far push you a lot, which is awesome. Remember, it's what you make of it, be involved!

    Am learning a lot

    The chefs that I have had so far are amazing. They have had their share of the industry, and are willing to help you out. It may be discouraging when you do something wrong and get yelled for it, but that's when you bounce back and practice. Keep up with the work you do, do not fall behind. If you really want to become a great chef it will take a lot of time outside of the labs for you to do some research. Always be willing to learn, have the attitude everyday that you're going to get better.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 42

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    beautiful comps. staff follows students to make sure they reach their goals. small classes, tutors available.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    though a little pricey it makes up for it in scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    i am looking forward to exploring the city of denver during the weekends! plus being from texas we don't see a lot of snow. i am looking forward to a cold, snowy winter.

    Tips for prospective students

    most definitely do well in high school. i am a b+ kid and already have received $18k in scholarship. start early. i was a little late so i missed out on some scholarships. you may have to transfer campus depending on your major. mine is baking and pastry originally at the providence campus, but it was full so i transferred here instead. but i am glad cause it seems like a better campus!

    In three sentences

    i am very excited to attend here. it seems like a great campus! they are always trying to help me with things that i will need for the future!

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you like to learn in a peaceful environment, here you go.

    In three sentences

    They have a beautiful campus. The staff is very eager to talk to you and help you out.The architecture is also very beautiful.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe, campus safety can escort you anywhere at night and there is quick access to them if need be.

    Greek Life

    There is currently a sorority and there is work on establishing a fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus, and it isn't hard to start your own club if you choose to do so. There is the Campus Activities Board that organizes events on campus, like movies or smores night.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great if you want a career related school right off the bat. If you want to know what you will be doing in the career you want, then this is the perfect school. They get you started on your career and give you many opportunities to get in touch with different industries.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the hanging of the greens which is an old tradition during the winter on campus. We have a formal where students dress nicely and we hang the greens in the dining hall. We have a nice dinner and then we spend the night dancing.

    Bang for the buck

    Johnson and Wales is great University where you can get the whole experience. There is many opportunities to do something related to you education, like the many career fairs or study abroad.

    What to do for fun

    You can go downtown to the 16th street mall, or play sports on the open and grassy campus. There are many events that go on downtown, like skating in the winter.

    Food and Dining

    We have a great dining hall that has changing options everyday day with a vegetarian menu included.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which dorm you choose, it can be awesome or satisfactory.

    Academic Rigor

    It varies, depending on classes. It all comes down to how hard you work.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school that gives you the tools to succeed then this is the right choice. The teachers are always and willing and want to help you.

    In three sentences

    A great school with an inviting atmosphere and community. The teachers are there for you and want you to succeed. Great campus close to downtown and places to visit.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Great Day of Fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Freshman year gave me a ton of skills for my career. I learned skills I will be able to apply right away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend a Wildcat weekend.

    In three sentences

    This college is a perfect fit for me. The curriculum design and faculty set me up for success

  • 06/09/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    At Johnson & Wales in Denver the safety is quite high. The campus has somewhat of a closed environment but open as well that creates a safe atmosphere for all students.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately there is no Greek Life at Johnson & Wales in Denver.

    Clubs and Activities

    Johnson & Wales never seems to have an end to the clubs and activities. There a few sports team with dedicated coaches to guide incoming athletes in their sports. The a few clubs but the school allows students to create clubs if they wish to. Along with the on campus activities there a many more off campus with the university providing safe options as well.

    Great for these types of students

    If a student knows what they want to to do in the culinary world then Johnson and Wales is the perfect place for that student. Johnson & Wales guides their students directly into what they want and what they need to succeed in this cut throat industry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There seem to be no unusual traditions but the campus has a Frisbee golf course built in heart of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    At Johnson & Wales the term bang for you buck does not even come close to describing this school. Every dollar spent on tuition goes directly to educational purpose. Unlike other culinary facilities, Johnson & Wales knows how to channel their money directly where it needs to go which is directly back to teaching their students.

    What to do for fun

    There is a limitless number of things to do for fun at Johnson & Wales. Along with the great activities on campus there is ten times more off campus. Since the school is ten minutes away from Denver there are great opportunities to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is rather good unlike most colleges. The meal plans are affordable and there are a good number of food selection on campus. The only down side is that if a meal is not used up then it does not carry over.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is rather nice and it's like most colleges except there are three halls from which new students can choose from. As for returning students the accommodations are much better but over all have that average college feel. Also, Johnson & Wales offers selective housing for students that wish to be surrounded by other fellow students studying in their field.

    Academic Rigor

    Unlike other universities that have students start with their basic education first, Johnson & Wales follows the upside down curriculum where students take their main classes first. Overall the classes are not too strenuousness but it all depends on the degree the student is pursuing.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip for prospective students is know that college life at Johnson & Wales will be unlike anything you will experience. Another tip is to once you have been accepted, take advantage of Johnson & Wales study abroad programs where they offer numerous locations to choose from.

    In three sentences

    A university dedicated to achieving academic success in all of it's students. Johnson & Wales in Denver is a small yet beautiful campus that has a friendly feel for incoming students. Johnson & Wales is one of the few culinary schools that provides the skills needed for students to survive in the competitive culinary world.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lost of things within walking and driving distance. Not too far from the city, but a nice distant so you aren't in the middle of all the noise.

    Food and Dining

    Better than most campuses from what I'm told.

    Dorm Life

    The triple rooms that are new for the 2011-2012 school year aren't ideal, but you can live with it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that you are making the right decision to come for your major and don't quit in the middle of a term. If you're unhappy with your major, don't give up, talk to the advisors that you are paying to have available to you.

    In three sentences

    The school offers great opportunities that prepare you for the job market. The smaller campus can get annoying, but it's nice to see familiar faces all the time. Class is fun and upbeat and you always learn a lot.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Way too many crimes.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cliques.

    Great for these types of students

    Career-oriented.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hanging of the Greens.

    Bang for the buck

    Go to a community college.

    What to do for fun

    It's Denver; there is not anything fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    Crappy food for a huge price.

    Dorm Life

    Crappy dorms for a huge price.

    Academic Rigor

    Not hard at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not attend JWU. Take your money and your time elsewhere. If you want to study culinary arts or baking and pastry, go ahead.

    In three sentences

    JWU has a great staff. JWU has a horrible curriculum for those who want to be challenged. JWU is filled with morons.

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent. I am never afraid.

    Greek Life

    There is one sorority but they do not even have a house.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of students are welcome here. A very diverse and inclusive campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open to everything. Stay out of drama. Stay focused for your future.

    In three sentences

    Johnson and Wales is a very career driven, hands on and interactive school. It's small size provides a comfortable community atmosphere, encouraging self growth. It develops individuals into leaders and experts.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is wonderful! The officers are very nice and approachable and it makes you feel so much safer, no matter what is going on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Late night breakfast, Hanging of the Greens, Masquerade Ball. There are so many cool traditions that happen on campus that everyone should be a part of.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are a lot of activities going on all year long. There are sporting events, there are dances, there are spirit weeks. And if there is nothing going on and you think there should be, our campus activities board is very open to new ideas.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is what is to be expected from most college campus'. It's sub par. It is not the best food I have ever had, but it is also not the worst. It depends on what you like and how high your standards are.

    Dorm Life

    I highly recommend living on campus. It it absolutely part of the college experience that no one should miss out on. The dorm life on campus is wonderful, there are at least 2 or 3 floor gatherings per term, accompanied by all hall events and all dorm events throughout the year. It's a great way to get to know people and develop new friendships.

    Academic Rigor

    Johnson and Wales is a school like many others, the academic rigor of all classes largely depends on what kind of student you are and also what kind of professor you have.

    Tips for prospective students

    As an incoming student, the biggest piece of advice I can give is to be on the ball when it comes to financial aid. Johnson and Wales is a great school but it is not the best when it comes to cost. Stay on top of things, apply for scholarships, and do everything you can to lower the cost.

    In three sentences

    Johnson and Wales is a wonderful school to attend, it is a school that is very driven towards specific careers which makes it a unique university. It is a campus that is very vibrant and full of energy, full of people who are kind and caring. This is a school that people will enjoy being a part of and will be proud to tell others that they attend Johnson and Wales University.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    even though the school is expensive it's worth it because that tuition pays for a lot of things like knife sets, your uniforms, and depending on the room your micro fridge.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are coming out of state make sure you drink lots of water because it might be a higher sea level then what you are use to and you will get a headache if you don't.

    In three sentences

    A small campus where you can easily make friends. The city around it is very beautiful. And the people who attend the school are very nice and helpful.

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have phones all over campus that are linked to campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    Here there are clubs for almost anything and everything. Movies is one of the WIGIS groups I am apart of and it is extremely fun. We watch movies and dress up like the characters.

    Great for these types of students

    Students in a serious education and not a party school.

    Bang for the buck

    It is extremely expensive to attend this school however, everyone I have ever talked to about this school says that it is top notch. I'm extremely excited to continue this journey.

    What to do for fun

    At JWU we have small groups called WIGIS groups and they help us interact with other students here. They are also quite small so its more close together.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is better than a lot of other schools. However, we recently had a BBQ theme dinner and I personally am not a HUGE fan of BBQ so I didn't so much enjoy it.

    Dorm Life

    In both the Johnson and Wales Halls there are lounges on the first floor to relax and watch TV or shoot pool in. In Wales hall The beds and storage is a lot better but you cannot move your furniture. In Johnson Hall you can move your furniture but you have a risk of sharing a room with two other people besides yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors and chefs are very helpful with the learning process. They always make sure to ask if you understand before moving on.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend buying a laptop so that you can have your own computer to work from, that way you can work from your dorm. Get wales hall if you would like a lot of storage and a newer building.

    In three sentences

    Everyone here, including the older students, are so helpful and nice to the underclassmen. The campus is small so the population is more like a family and that makes the classes more one on one with the instructors. They also have a very easy to use website that connects to a specific email set up for you.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus safety is 100percent reliable and always a phone call away when needed

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do here, and every event is made where fun is always involved

    Tips for prospective students

    if you feel like you need to pack something but not sure, just pack it anyways, bring a laptop so you can do your work anywhere. also have a direct cable cord for the Internet just in case you cant connect to the wifi

    In three sentences

    Johnson and Wales University is very supportive. The students, staff, and faculty are very involved. Also they are very helpful when having questions.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I know having a piece of paper with the name Johnson & Wales on it will afford me many more opportunities in my career, than a community college degree would. So does that make it worth the $35k per year tuition? Yes! Not only am I going to a famous and popular school, but I'm getting a competitive and relevant education for my field. That is worth its weight in gold.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs!!! There are so many amazing clubs and extracurricular activities to be a part of, no matter what your tastes, interests, or majors are. Also, there is a bounty of amazing things to do in Denver just around the corner from the school. Get out, explore and live a little.

    Food and Dining

    As a school known for its Culinary Arts program, I expect the food to be delicious and nutritious. Sadly, the food falls short sometimes and I wish they had cooks who were interested in making good food, not cheap food.

    Dorm Life

    I am really unable to answer any questions about this because I dont live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As a culinary student, Johnson & Wales has challenged me in ways I never imagined. I didn't come into this field blindly. I had a few years experience and came in with quite the cocky attitude. I got knocked down a peg or two pretty quickly. The academic courses, as well as the labs have been challenging yet completely attainable goals to achieve each term. I'm more than pleased with the education I am receiving.

    Tips for prospective students

    You MUST go to a wildcat weekend event. It is a 2-3 day camp and workshop for students living 200+ miles from the campus of their choice. Not only will you tour the school and dorms, you will meet program chairs and instructors, not to mention play games, win prizes, and make friends before you even start school.

    In three sentences

    Johnson & Wales may be famous for its Culinary Arts programs, but this is far from a one trick pony. Students can earn degrees in everything from business related majors to healthcare. I'm beyond proud to attend this institution.

  • 11/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe everyday, everywhere on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Varsity: cross country, basketball and volleyball

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are into culinary, baking, business, fashion

    What to do for fun

    Activities, dances, clubs, sports

    Food and Dining

    Good food pretty much everyday.

    Dorm Life

    I don't personal live on campus but I hear that's there's tons of activities to do while on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Like is said before environment for learning is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try and connect with the school, because if you love culinary, business or fashion.. etc. Johnson and wales is a great school for those!

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love the campus, the environment and people. It's a great place to learn and connect with people all over the country. And it's where I want to be for my degree in baking and pastry arts. They are able to give what other schools can't.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our safety is fabulous, and I never feel unsafe here. They are always around and doing their jobs.

    Greek Life

    Because this school is small, there are only one or two options. I am not involved personally, but I have heard they are enjoyable.

    Clubs and Activities

    It is very easy to start a club on campus and get involved. There are very many clubs pertaining to many different interests, such as culinary, music, and school spirit.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are very dedicated to culinary and that are willing to maximize their learning for the benefit of their career will thrive here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hanging of the Greens is a winter tradition that is a dinner and dance help the weekend before Winter break.

    Bang for the buck

    Much financial aide is available, especially if you apply for FAFSA.

    What to do for fun

    Denver is a fabulous city with lots of sports and restaurants, and there is lots to do off campus. On campus, however, fosters a connected and tight-knit community that boasts lots of clubs and activities of all different sorts, such as frisbee gold, acapella club, and ice chippers club.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is buffet style, and 15 swipes per week on the average meal plan is more than sufficient; I never go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    I have personally had a fabulous dorm experience with a dedicated RA, respectful neighbors, and fun friends on my floor and in my hall. Living on campus is fun and convenient, especially during your first year.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more challenging than others, but all professors and chefs have office hours and tutoring times that will cater to you and your needs. They all clearly want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus as soon as possible, and connect and network with your professors and chefs, especially if they can help you with your eventual career.

    In three sentences

    Johnson and Wales in Denver, Colorado has a beautiful campus that looks good during all seasons. Only a ten minute drive from downtown Denver, there is always plenty to do both on and off campus. There are so many clubs and traditions here, and that says a lot about the standard we hold ourselves to.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    The WIGIS groups are required when you get here, so you can at least have one place you belong. Not all of them do as many activities, but it is still atleast one club you have.

    Great for these types of students

    The weird, outgoing, eccentric students are ideal for this campus and this environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a gate in the middle of the campus that you get to walk through in your new student welcoming ceremony at the beginning of the year. The gate stays closed and locked until graduation, and that is when you get to walk through it again, the opposite way. It's kind of a big deal here.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is really pricey, I won't lie about that. But when it comes to the baking labs and everything that you learn, I would say at the end of the day it is worth it. You have to make the most of it.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs you can join on campus and there are always activities to join in on, its all about putting yourself out there. But if you do, you will have a great time. There are also other activities near that are off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty great here! The food is fresh and the usually have a good variety. Being a private school they food is up there at the top with how good it is.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is all about where you are. Johnson hall is not the best, they have had a lot of plumbing issues. But the others are pretty nice, it all depends on your roommate and your living style.

    Academic Rigor

    The baking labs can be stressful, you're learning a lot and taking so many notes. But as for actual academic classes, its not too bad. Atleast it hasn't been for me so far. The professors will help you and there are great on campus tutors for free.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, I would say you need to visit before coming for sure. It is a very different atmosphere, but people are welcoming. Also, get out and get involved in the available activities. I wish I would have listened when they told me that.

    In three sentences

    Johnson and Wales is great for Baking & Pastry. The chefs are some of the best around and they really care about your success. If your passion is baking then consider this school.

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is extremely safe. There have only been a few incidents of bike theft, but other than that campus security is always there for you.

    Greek Life

    At the Denver campus there is only one sorority; however, I believe that there is more Greek Life at the Providence campus. The sorority hosts a few fun events, such as a Date Auction for Valentine's Day.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs on campus including political, religious, creative, artistic, and fun clubs. There are so many opportunities to get involved in order to be a part of the campus and student body, as well as to make many friendships.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy cooking and learning about the hospitality industry. This university is a great size for any student who likes knowing pretty much everyone on campus and making a large range of friendships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition is the late night dinner which takes place the night before the last day of every term. This late night dinner is held in the dining hall, starting from 10pm-midnight. The professors and Chefs serve students, and there is a lot of music and dancing.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely enroll in the SHARP program. This program allows you to take the maximum amount of credits and graduate sooner, saving money on tuition. This way, you'll have fewer student loans and the amount of work from the credits is doable.

    What to do for fun

    The University's Campus Activity Board provides activities year round to entertain the student body. Some examples are casino night, a cinema showcase every other week, dances, late night dinners the last night of every term, and Denver outings.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall always provides different options/stations to choose from. Although it is not always the tastiest food, it is still better than other universities I've been to and visited, and I have had some very good meals here.

    Dorm Life

    I do recommend living on campus at least your freshman year. This is a very easy way to get to know people and make lifelong friendships. All of the dorms are decent and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Johnson & Wales University operates in a professional setting. Labs are intensive but exciting. Classes are not extremely difficult, but they certainly to require effort and an interest and passion for the subject being taught.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the clubs, organizations, and professors at the university to help you during your school years, as well as to help your professional career after you graduate.

    In three sentences

    Johnson & Wales University strives to educate their students as much as possible to prepare them for the real world. The university cares about helping students become successful and achieve their dreams during and after school. It is a great school that provides many networking opportunities for students to get connected with professionals.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    36 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is great if you ever have a problem that your RA's can't solve then campus safety is a great solution. They can always be found on campus if you every need anything.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities that you can be involved in. The campus activities board is a great club to be involved in they have many sub-committees that have a different purpose for the student body.

    What to do for fun

    Go the 16th street mall and you can be walking around for hours and still not see everything. The cherry creek mall has some great places to go to that has great movie theater. If you love animals visit the city zoo that is fun and educational for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The food is descent. They do have a variety of different dishes for lunch and dinner. They have a place to get from if you don't want to eat in the dinning hall that serves good food at a reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    If you are an incoming student it is harder, you don't have that kitchen that is right there in your room. With having no kitchen you will have to go to the community kitchen don't get annoyed if people keep walking through the kitchen, remember it is not yours. Make friends with your suite mate and roommate cause it can be a long your if you can't stand each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers have a lax way of teaching and expect you to get it right away. Take detailed notes even if the teacher post notes, it is always easier to study for any test when you write your own notes. You can pass any class or lab as long as you are in class, on time and participate in what is going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your roommate if you have one, find them on face book or twitter. Make sure that you can keep up with your school work if you have a job. Make lots of friends and be involved on campus.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school that is in a good location. located by multiple bus lines, about a 15 minute walk from any stores depending on how fast you walk. 20 minutes away from downtown Denver, so anyone that wants to experience any kind of night life it is very close.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is always safe around campus, never feeling threatened and never being scared to go out alone. Plus security is strict on rules and making sure that everyone is comfortable on campus

    Greek Life

    Only One Sorority that still lives in dorms and such, it is like a girls volunteer group.

    Clubs and Activities

    When you enroll in JWU, you pick a WIGIS group, their are many different categories and something for everyone! Their is Dining out in Denver, Leadership, Comedy, Sports, Explore, Arts and Crafts, and many more. It is a group that helps you bond with JWU and other students, you do fun things occasionally. It is not that time consuming, but just enough to get student out there and enjoying their surroundings.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students, it has sports, and creative majors and a fun place to be. Probably better for people who like things less crowded because it is a very small school, but it is good for almost everyone.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their is a historic building in the middle of campus that used to be a women's college, and now is beautiful historic architecture in the heart of JWU Denver. We also have gates in the center of campus outside the historic building that commence your commitment to JWU and so you only walk through them twice in your college life here, once when you arrive to JWU and lastly when you graduate.

    Bang for the buck

    It is really expensive, but that includes everything! You get 15 meals a week, you get a knife set, and a full uniform. I don't know if the full price is worth it, but JWU gives out a lot of scholarships and financial aid, and with their help, it is worth the price.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown is only 20 minutes away and a big shopping center is right down the street. Plus a lot of 18+ clubs to go dance and have a good time.

    Food and Dining

    Dining Hall is open 7 days a week and features a buffet style with new stuff every day! It is hit and miss on how delicious the food is day to day, but you can always find something that you like. And with dorms for no additional cost you get 15 free meals a week! Beats Ramen by far!

    Dorm Life

    They are bigger than the other dorms I have seen, and they are spacious, and comfortable. It is the real college experience, but above average by far.

    Academic Rigor

    Average, it is time consuming, and gets harder the more you advance in degrees and classes, but definitely do-able.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come out of your box a little, and meet people. We have a very spirited and supportive student body, so become a part of the JWU family.

    In three sentences

    JWU is amazing! A real community feel, with small class sizes, and a beautiful Campus. It is one of the best Culinary schools in the country, but has more to offer than just culinary majors!

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have one of the best Campus Safety departments. You'll find blue lights with phones around campus, and these are emergency phones that go straight to the campus safety telephone line. We have 24 hour surveillance, (even during the summer) and there are numerous security cameras around campus, in the buildings, near entrances. We also have an ID card system, where every building is off limits (including all the resident halls) unless you have an ID.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We hold an event called Hanging of the Greens, a tradition that started here almost 80 years ago when campus was the Colorado Women's College. It is our winter formal, where everyone dressed up and we have a celebration in the dining hall hanging greens and beginning the winter festivities of campus. Following is a dance after in the Events Center. This is a very old tradition, and is to be continued for many years after. Another event is GDOF....Greatest Day of Fun! It's a day close to the end of the school year when it is warm out, and is an opportunity for students to take a break from the textbooks and enjoy a day of fun games, events, cotton candy, slip and slides, anything their hearts desire.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is expensive, but you get what you pay for. The facilities are very nice, and kept clean thanks to our Sedexo workers who you'll see around a bunch. If you're in the College of Culinary Arts building, you'll notice all of the equipment is up to date, and that we have more than just one stationary mixer per room.

    What to do for fun

    We are in viewing distance of the mountains, so some will spend their weekends skiing, snowboarding, camping (when it is warm of course) or even just to spend a day going for a refreshing hike. Others will choose to hit Downtown Denver for a night of clubbing at the various clubs. We are close to the Denver Zoo, Denver Museum of Nature & Science, and even the Denver Art Museum! If you're a Colorado Rockies fan, the Rockies Stadium is close by as well. There is ALWAYS something to do, and it may even be on campus where we will host Coffee Night, Komedy Korner, Midnight Breakfast, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Ultimately no food will ever be home style cooking, but compared to most universities, our food is the bomb! It's an all you can eat buffet set up with a sandwich station, a home cooked meal station, a grill, a made to order station, a vegetarian station, dessert station, cereal bar, and even a Pepsi machine! One will never go hungry at the Wildcat Dining Center.

    Dorm Life

    Residential life is one of the best decisions I have made. I am very close to my job, my classes, and my friends. My parents are still close to home, but far enough that I feel independent, as I have gained a sense of responsibility. Each residential hall is provided with a desk, a chair, a bed, a vanity sink, a bathroom (of course) and is set up like suite styles. For the more elaborate halls (typically for upperclassmen) they are apartment style with mini kitchens included.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors, the chefs, the instructors are all industry qualified; instead of teaching you from a book they had to read up on, they instruct how it is in your field by the knowledge THEY carry. This is one of the most phenomenal aspects of Johnson & Wales because not only are you receiving a degree, but an education that is rich with knowledge from those who have actually stepped in the shoes of what it is like to be an event planner, a fashion designer, or a cake decorator.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be fooled by what others have to say; Johnson & Wales is NOT just a Culinary and Baking & Pastry University, but also offers degrees that focus on Hospitality, Business Administration, Fashion Merchandising & Retail Marketing, Sports Entertainment & Event Management, as well as Criminal Justice.

    In three sentences

    If you're looking for a college that focuses on you as person, instead of just being a number' this is the place. If you're looking to get your hands on your future within the first trimester of school, this is the place. If you're wanting a fun, active college experience, this is the place.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have this thing called Late Night Breakfast, the Wednesday before the trimester we get served breakfast by the Culinary and Baking and Pastry Chefs and our Resident Directors. We eat and then dance all night it is too much fun! We have a tradition called Hanging of the Greens which is a formal dinner and then a dance.

    What to do for fun

    I like to go shopping when I have the time. If I am not shopping I have people over my room and we will just hang out talk watch movies, and other things of that nature :) I am the captain of our Cheer Team and I work out with the girls and prepare for events. There is something for everyone here promise.

    Food and Dining

    Hmm the dining hall, it has its' great days and horrible days. There is a variety but there are those days when nothing sounds good. Those are the days you go to the grocery store and cook dinner in our dorm community kitchens or if you have a kitchen in you're room, or hit up the McDonalds down the street, or even enjoy the Denver community and try somthing different like Ethiopian food.

    Dorm Life

    Think of the typical college life that is displayed on television and die it down by ten notches. Dorm life is fun and you get to meet so many people if you are a social butterfly you are sure to find people to connect with and even if you are more reserved. We do not push too hard but we do strive to welcome and make everyone step out of their comfort zone a little. We have dances, sports, clubs, everything and anything for people to have a good time.

    Academic Rigor

    My first year classes were a lot of fun. They continually do things to make sure you are comfortable and confident that you choose the right school. I don't believe that classes are too difficult most teacher give you all your assignments at the beginning of the trimester. Classes are what you make them so go hard of stay home :)

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay focused on classes it is always nice to have fun, but who wants to get suspended for something unneccessary. Stay on top of finaical aid it makes a difference when you are secure financially with school; there is no pressure.

    In three sentences

    This school went above my expectations, it is fun and filled with a staff that wants to see their students succeed. The student body is diverse enough to make anyone feel at home. Also you are in the heart of the city which adds excitement in it's own sense.

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are very excellent and willing to help you with whatever safety concerns you have, but we still have some theft on campus. However for the most part, they are quick to respond and very helpful.

    Greek Life

    We do not have a big greek life on campus. We have one sorority, and while they are very happy, it is not a big part of our school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a good amount of clubs on campus, so there's probably at least one that you'll be interested in. The biggest organization on campus is the Campus Activities Board (CAB). They are responsible for planning nearly every big event on campus, and they do an excellent job of planning activities.

    Great for these types of students

    JWU is great for highly skilled students who are driven to succeed in a field they are passionate about.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have 3 major traditions weeks on campus --one each trimester. Frightmare leads to Halloween, Winterweek happens just before we break for winter. And Springfling takes your mind off of finals. Winterweek probably has the most meaning on campus, because it culminates in an event called Hanging of the Greens, which has been a tradition on campus since the days of the Colorado Women's College. But each week is simply packed with fun events to get people involved and having fun on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    This school really sets you up for success, I've never seen another school put so much emphasis on making students do internships, and they really try to prepare you for your career choice. Additionally, Johnson and Wales has a lot of partnerships around the world, so not only do you have the ability to transfer between any of the 4 JWU campuses, you can study abroad very easily through the university.

    What to do for fun

    Johnson and Wales is technically in Denver, but we're not downtown. You have the convenience of the city right there, but you're not in the city. A lot of people go to the clubs and bars downtown, but I prefer to drive into the mountains and go hiking. You only have to drive about 30 minutes before you find a good state park in the mountains, and with the beautiful Rocky mountain right there, why wouldn't you explore the wilderness?

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has its ups and downs. When it's on an upswing everything is delicious, but when it's on a downswing everything is less than what you're looking for. I'd say it's pretty average for a college, but it would be nice to have a convenience store on campus that was open more often.

    Dorm Life

    The RAs are wonderful, and do a good job of building a community on their floors and they are always hosting events to keep their residence halls busy and build a community. Additionally most of the residence halls have recently been renovated and look spectacular.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes get progressively more challenging as you progress through your four years, so do not expect an easy A in any of your classes. You really have to work for your grades. All of our professors and chefs have industry experience and really will prepare you for your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit the campus at least once so you can see if you can imagine yourself going to school here, it's important to feel at home. Don't stress too much about your application, make sure it looks clean and professional, but don't stress about getting accepted. Your chances are good, and you shouldn't make the college application process any harder than it needs to be.

    In three sentences

    Johnson and Wales is home. Our campus is small, so you always see a familiar face, and people actually care about you. But at the same time, our campus is small, so sometimes it feels kinda boring.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 42

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities on campus to keep you involved. Every month there are at least 20 events that they plan so that students wont just sit in their rooms bored.

    Food and Dining

    Although this is a Culinary based school, it does not mean that the food is always gourmet. Sometimes they repeat dishes and they are not the best.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. There are 5 different buildings to live in but 2 of them are only for students 21 years old or older. It is best to get to know all the people on you floor so that you can hang out together and you can also hang out in their rooms when you get bored.

    Academic Rigor

    All teachers want all of their students to do well so they do enforce their own policies about turning in assignments. The best way to insure you have a good grade is to make sure you turn in every assignment on time or maybe even early.

    Tips for prospective students

    This campus is kind of small which makes it easy to make new friends, meet new people, and have new experiences.

    In three sentences

    This is a great school for getting the best hands on education that will help you later on in life. The teachers really care about you and they will do whatever they can to make sure that you succeed in their class. The positive spirit surrounding this school gives everyone the motivation to try and do the best that they possibly can.

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 42

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel fairly safe as the security puts out notices if there is anything suspicious around or on campus and they are very helpful when there is a problem.

    Greek Life

    There very little Greek life on campus. I think there is one sorority and fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am apart of the campus in certain clubs and I feel very involved. Also there a chance to do a lot and be apart of this campus and the community that I now live in.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are looking for a small school environments where they can really get to know their professors and become a truly intricate part of a community. This is also a great place for someone who is looking for diversity and hoping to find their niche. It is also great for people of all ages, it is not just a campus for kids straight out of high school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are no super unusual traditions on campus so no need to worry about this aspect.

    Bang for the buck

    I have been very helpful and I feel that I am getting the most out of classes and the clubs and activities on campus. The campus is beautiful and it has quite a bit to offer.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of activities to do on campus for the size of the campus. There are several events that happen monthly so you can usually count on those. Also it is pretty easy to make friends. Also people are pretty inviting so it is very easy to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the beginning of the year was really good but as the year has progressed the food quality has gone downhill and fast. But compered to other campuses we have it pretty good. Also they just switched dining services so that is taking some getting use to. The hall is kept in decent shape so the eating space is clean.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty good for first year dorms, there is a decent amount of space so you are not quite so on top of each other. The Resident Assistants or RA's are pretty helpful and they try to make it as home like as possible. Also there is a decent amount of storage space for a college dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not to difficult in the general academic area but in labs for culinary and baking and pastry are fairly intense, they give you a lot of experience in several areas. I can not speak for the criminal justice classes or fashion design but the students seem pretty happy.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best thing to do here is get involved. It really helps you meet people and know the campus and the community you now live in. People come to this campus from all over so there is a lot of diversity. The people here are really helpful and want to do the best for you and your education.

    In three sentences

    The campus is beautiful and is great if you are looking for a small campus where you can get really involved. The people here are very pleasant and they really focus on community. There is a wide range of ages and backgrounds here so it is easy to feel welcomed.