Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Johnson & Wales University-North Miami Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/02/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 out of 22 people found this review useful. 1 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for business and culinary students serious about becoming and achieving more than what they've ever expected.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Stay active: Join clubs and organizations. Build relationships with the friends, staff, professors, and any other person that you may come across. Networking is extremely important. Joining clubs/organizations help put you in the right position to establish those relationships. 2. Professional dress: Not too many people are aware of the dress code policy before they come to Johson & Wales. This university has a professional dress policy enforced, but it's extremely helpful because we often have business executives visit the school and it's better to introduce yourself to the CEO of Sports Illustrated wearing a suit and tie, than to be wearing your Spiderman pajamas and monster feet slippers.

    Bang for the buck

    Johnson & Wales is extremely expensive, and tuition goes up a little over $1,000 each year, but a majority of the money is returned to the students in the form of scholarships. Although it's expensive, it's worth it. Not too long ago, my retailing class had the opportunity to tour Perry Ellis International's Florida head quarters, as freshmen.

    Am enjoying being here

    I'm not going to lie, the campus life is a little slow, and sometimes feels like high school because it's so small. But I assure you that, you'll learn and gain more from a smaller class setting. Even though campus life is slow, my friends and I still find ways to have fun and enjoy the Miami weather.

    Am learning a lot

    Here at Johnson & Wales, you're learning stuff that you're actually going to be using in your industry. You get frist hand experience and the teaching staff is amazing. I've heard that some of the professors are a little difficult to work with, but I haven't had any bad experiences with any of mine so far. Either way, these professors know what they're doing, and no matter what the experience, you're going to come out knowing a lot more than what you came in with.

  • 12/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 out of 19 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    FASHION, COOKING AND ALSO TRAVLING

    Tips for prospective students

    IF YOUR LOOKING FOR A WONDERFUL COOKING SCHOOL WITH A SMALL AMOUNT OF STUDENTS JOHNSON & WALES IS FOR YOU.

    Bang for the buck

    THE SCHOOL IS VERY COSTLY , BUT I CAN SAY YOU DO GET ALOT FOR YOUR MONEY.

    Am enjoying being here

    I DON'T STAY ON CAMPUS SO IT'S HARD TO ENJOY MOST OF THE THINGS THEY OFFER, BUT THEY ALWAYS HAVE SOMTHING GOING ON IN THE DAY. VERY HELPFUL KIDS ALSO. I ENJOY GOING TO SCHOOL EVERY DAY.

    Am learning a lot

    AT JOHNSON & WALES THEY GO OUT OF THIER WAY TO MAKE SURE THAT EVERY STUDENT IS HELPED. YOU WILL NEVER LEAVE THERE AND SAY THAT YOU HAVE NOT LEARN NOTHING. THEY ALSO HAVE A VERY GOOD TEACHING STAFF.

  • 06/15/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 out of 19 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 3 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are wondering which culinary college to go to its this one for the fact that their educational programs is great to obtain for your future college degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask any questions that may concern you their staff does an amazing job at persuading you they are the right college for you.

  • 01/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 out of 14 people found this review useful. 4 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Culinary/Baking & Pastry, Fashion, Sports Event Management, Golf, Hospitality, Hotel/Lodging, Criminal Justice, Criminology, Accounting

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your financial aid. Get as many scholarships as you can. For the student interested in coming to the North Miami campus bring jackets and long pants because it does get cold. It has gotten to 37 degrees here.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive but for some of the things we are allowed to do it's worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I go to the North Miami campus. I love the weather here.

    Am learning a lot

    I learn a lot in my culinary labs and classes.

  • 11/30/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 5 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Buisness Culinary Hospitality Criminal Justice

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, here is some helpful tips for you to have an easier experience at school. 1. Please be serious about your education 2. Do not get distracted 3. Join a club 4. Always go to class 5. Surround yourself with positivd people

    Bang for the buck

    This school is expensive, but you have to ask yourself, Does my educati on & future have a limt? If your answer is no then you should consider Johnson & Wales.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being here has been an outstanding experience. They staff & students are just so amazing & willing to help whenever it is needed. The schools social events allows students to meet one another & are so much fun.

    Am learning a lot

    If education is your primary objective, you need to be at Johnson & Wales University. This school allows you to learn as much information of a big university but there classes are smaller, which allows student to receive the one-on-one help. I have learn so much since the couple of months being here. I now know how to communicate with others on a buiness level.

  • 06/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    9 out of 14 people found this review useful. 6 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    just apply to any school that you feel you want to attend whether you think your gpa is bad or not the school only could say two things accepted or denied.

    Will learn a lot

    i go in july and heard its an amazing school

  • 06/11/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    8 out of 12 people found this review useful. 7 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    Pastry has become my passion. I know that with the oppurtunities J&W give, I will always have fun learning.

  • 12/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 8 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Johnson & Wales is great for the types of students who never give up. Students that know when it is time for break after all the hard work. This college is also great for students who prefer a small campus and small classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students must come ready to give their all. Do not slack off or waste time. Teachers can tell the difference between students who are their to work hard and those that do not care and they will not put any effort into the slackers. Also try to come financially prepared. Make sure that everything is set in that area as well as anything that hinder a great experience.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is costly but you get what you pay for. As a Culinary student, my labs are long and it can be overwhelming at times, but chefs and professors go out of their ways to help each individual student. They are extremely helpful and answer any questions you may have. They constantly remind you what you are paying for and make sure that you get your moneys worth.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoying being at Johnson & Wales because there are always activities taking place that one can participate in. If there isnt something on campus, they will let you know about activities taking place off campus. Sometimes things can be hard to find out though.

    Am learning a lot

    I am honestly learning a lot here at Johnson & Wales. North Miami is a small campus, therefore the classes are smaller. This allows for more one on one time with your professors. There is tutouring available to everyone. This college does not hold your hand but it does not leave you hanging with out any help. You can learn a lot from the way things are run at this college.

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 9 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Criminal Justice Business Fashion Culinary Sports Management

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay involved. Do as much as you can. ASK for help if you need it. Use all of your resources.

    Bang for the buck

    Although tuition is quite expensive it is worth every penny. You get scholarships and grants and lots of help. The work-study program is great. You experience things here you wouldn't at a normal school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a commuter and I still enjoy campus activities. They have a variety of clubs you would not even imagine. Everyone is friendly and everything works around your schedule. The weather is amazing and so are the people.

    Am learning a lot

    At Johnson & Wales they break down the class information so that it is easy to understand. They spell out everything clearly for you without actually doing it for you. Teachers are very nice, I have never met a rude person here yet. Classes are small and organized. You start out with classes in your major mixed in with academics unlike other colleges.

  • 11/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 10 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Culinary Arts, Baking and Pastry, Criminal Justice, Sports Event Management, Business Management, Fashion

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active, Progressive, Ambitious, Confident. Put forth what you want to get out of your education. You will soon learn that College is on planet Mars outside of High school. Time Management and Involvement is very important towards your success.

    Bang for the buck

    You will only get what you put in, it is very important that you get involved in Campus Activities, Student Government , Special Functions Team. Participating in these clubs, organizations will open doors to your future success.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, very much. The weather here in North Miami, Fl is phenomenal. South Beach is a short distance away, Aventura Mall is right down the road, and Mario's is right across the street from the campus. Mario's serves a great Philly Cheese Steak!

    Am learning a lot

    The culinary labs that we get to utilize are at the top of industry standards, very expensive equipment. The instructors here at Johnson and Wales University are very knowledgeable and nurturing when it comes to individual student success.

  • 06/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 11 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for a school that is going to get you started with your major right when you step on campus JWU is the school for you. I am a freshman going in to being a sophomore and I have already taken class that I need towards my final degree. Also they give you hands on experience that can help you in the long run. It is a great school to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to go to Johnson & Wales University I would encourage that you join many clubs and organization to get involved with student life. I am apart of a few clubs on campus and it has been a great tool to network and meet new interesting people.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like I am getting the bang for the buck I am paying for a good school with professors that are willing to help me succeed in my field, the dorms are very spacious and good to live in, and the food that they prepare is very delicious.

    Am enjoying being here

    Student life at Johnson & Wales university is a great way to interact with students. JWU is host to many different kinds of students from a wide varity of cultures and different types of people. The sudent activities board plans events that get the student involved with events such as socials, parties, and many other activities. During my time at Johnson & Wales I have met so many amazing different peolple from different cultures that have taught me alot about their native country.

    Am learning a lot

    Johnson & Wales University offers a wide varity of great professors that have been in the field they teach in. I am a fashion/business major and my professors are very knowledgable in what they are teaching me because of their past. I learn so much not only because of what I study in my books but because of the experience that my professors are giving me from their hands on lessons and experience. I make it a point to learn something new everyday I go to class and due to the interactive classes I do just that. The classes are not to big so you feel like your getting to learn all you can and get that one-on-one time with your professor.

  • 08/25/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 12 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Amazing Culinary School- The best in my opinion! Fantastic Business School Criminal Justice is great, as well Fashion is decent but you are better off to travel to NY for fashion

    Tips for prospective students

    A major tip for prospective students would be: Make sure you become best friends with your financial aid officers. Fall in love with them, as well as, your academic advisors. Res Life is another too if you plan on living on campus. People go the extra mile when you give them the respect that they deserve in return. If you do not know much about financial aid, ASK your financial aid officers and tell them you have NO idea what the hell you are getting yourself into and you want them to lay it out for you. If it makes their lives hell, tell them to get over it; it's their job to do so. You need to learn how to take control of your own life before someone else does. You don't have to be mean to them, but you definitely need to know how to manage your finances and college is a great place to start because you will be doing a hell of a lot more when you live on your own!

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, I have traveled and visited other culinary schools, INCLUDING The Culinary Institute of America, and I really did not find anything but people who think they are better than everyone else because of the reputation that goes with the school. It may be an amazing school, but you have to put in the effort to make your life happen for you. The same goes for Johnson and Wales University- Florida Campus, except the Chefs really do care about the students, plus the classes are smaller so that means more individualized attention from your chefs. BTW, Le Cordon Bleu is no good unless you go to the original one in France. Americans try to screw things up by mass producing and it just doesn't work... and forget all other culinary schools, quite frankly, they are not worth the time because the education is not the same and all culinary schools are expensive! $$$

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here strictly for my schooling. The atmosphere that many students contribute to is not the healthiest but if you work hard, you rise above them quickly. You WILL gain respect for your hard work.

    Am learning a lot

    I honestly have to say that the effort you put into your work, you WILL find results! I am currently a Junior in the Food Service Management program, working towards my Bachelor's Degree. I have already done my Co-op but I have to say, it's a job that will kick off your future. My boss was extremely tough and expected more out of me than all of the other interns he had because he knows that I know what I was getting myself into. Work, and work hard. You will enjoy it so much more if you do! Make It Happen!

  • 07/28/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 13 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your admissions process and get to know your advisors! Visit the campus and get a feel for miami.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 14 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Culinary and Business.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active in high school and get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the cost seem expensive at first glance, it does include a lot of benefits. Also, lots of employers are always on campus, you must look your best at all times, you will for sure have a good job once you get out if you keep your mind to it.

    Will enjoy being here

    Yes, the students all seem very active and as long as you put the effort, you will get a lot out of it.

    Will learn a lot

    The professor I spoke to seemed very personal and the class sizes were very small and it would be the perfect place to go for education.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 15 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's 24 hour campus safety, along with emergency telephone poles, and pickup by campus safety patrol.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a handful of clubs and the campus events club plans monthly activities and trips to the movies, orlando, and even paint ball courses.

    Great for these types of students

    International, creative, unique, driven, and ones that want to be successful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our herb garden has a large variety of fruits, vegetables, and herbs like lychee and dragon fruit.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but they provide a lot of financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the beach, attend CAB events, try out new restaurants, go shopping, enjoy the Miami night life.

    Food and Dining

    There's a lot of local bars and restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    The RA's are really cool, and there's barely any issues between residents.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too difficult, but a lot of assignments and notes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're thinking about coming to this campus, feel free to take a visit and meet the students and professors. Everyone is super friendly. It may be a small campus, but we're all a family here.

    In three sentences

    I've really been enjoying my education at JWU- North Miami. All of my professors have provided me with useful information, and a fun learning environment. Even the staff members are friendly, and more than happy to help me with any issues.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 16 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is small on campus. There a a few frats and sororities but the main fraternity is Kappa Sigma and the main sorority is Alpha Sigma Tau. There is no cruel hazing!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs and activities on campus but none of them are very involved and most do not have a lot of members. If you're looking for an active on-campus social life, you may want to look into JWU's providence campus instead.

    Great for these types of students

    JWU North Miami is great for career oriented students who like a small campus setting.

    What to do for fun

    Find a good group of friends and go out! Aventura Mall is a 15-20 minute drive where you can shop or see a movie. There are many beaches within a 10-15 minute drive or you can lay-out by the campus pools. South beach (about a 20-30 minute drive) is great for shopping, food, tourist attractions, hookah bars, clubs, and more. Take a weekend trip to Disney, which is 4 hours away. The Keys are also just a couple of hours away. Google what to do in Miami and I'm sure you'll find a tourist attraction that you find appealing. Also, the school hosts trips about every other month or so at a discounted price to a water park, Disney, Universal Studios, a zoo, or an aquarium.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus: The Mix and The Cyber Cafe. The Cyber Cafe has pre-made sandwiches and salads as well as a few snacks and drinks including yogurt, jello, chips, granola bars, energy drinks, juice, etc. They also brew Starbucks drinks and sell muffins, bagels, breakfast sandwiches, pastries and other Starbucks food. The Mix is the cafeteria that has a sandwich station, burger station, salad station, healthy station, dessert station, soup station, and on weekdays 2 other cultural food stations. The food in The Mix looks a lot better than it tastes. However, they do have really good cookies! Also, one meal swipe gets you 1 entree, 4 sides, and 1 drink which is a good amount of food. But you better go early! It closes at 8pm on weekdays and 7:30pm on weekends. If you get the late night munchies, there is a Burger King, McDonalds, pizza place, and Dennys within walking distance and many other places within a 5 minute drive.

    Dorm Life

    All the dorms have their own bathroom (except for Flamingo, which has community showers). Many dorms also have balconies. Some upperclassmen dorms even have their own kitchen. Living in a dorm is a great way to meet new people and I recommend it! JWU is a dry campus, meaning there is no drugs or alcohol (including drug and alcohol novelties such as decorative shot glasses) allowed, regardless of being of legal age! The time-slot for choosing your room is given at random, so the chance of getting the opportunity to live where you wish is average.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of courses truly depends on your major and/or professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be fooled! When visiting campus, the school seems amazing. Once on campus, the food is never as good as what they cook you for orientation and Wildcat Weekends (campus visits). Majority of the clubs they tell you about are a joke- they consist of only a few people that hardly ever meet up. When visiting, if you happen to meet a student on campus that does not get paid to give tours and talk about all the good things about the school, ask for their honest opinion. But also remember, the school is what you make of it.

    In three sentences

    JWU is an okay school depending on your major. However, the school is very small and has cliques making it seem like you are in high school all over again. The school is easy as of now and you don't get the quality of education you are paying for, but thankfully they are improving their standards and application requirements.

  • 07/16/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 17 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Culinary Arts...and others as well

    Tips for prospective students

    It's never too early to start applying for scholarships and grants, and of course for admission. Don't wait too long!

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school, but I believe it will be well worth it for the experience and the learning.

    Will enjoy being here

    I can not wait to enjoy the Florida weather, and of course to achieve my dream of becoming a chef.

    Will learn a lot

    Based on the website and representative visiting my high school, the teachers are wonderful and the curriculum teaches a variety of techniques in Culinary Arts.

  • 12/04/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is absolutely wonderful.

    Will learn a lot

    I love how the classrooms are in a small, casual setting. Almost like being in a regular high school classroom again .

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Future Bakers, Chefs, Sports Managers, Law Enforcers, Marketers, & Hotel Managers

    Tips for prospective students

    Get you applications and transcripts in early. And get atleast a little experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Its very costly but worth while. You get more resources than most other schools.

    Will enjoy being here

    I'm looking forward to the small student body and bettering my skills in what i love doing best.

    Will learn a lot

    I will learn more than i will at other schools. This school offers degrees in Culinary Arts and other variations. Whereas most others only offer certificates.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 20 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    party people and people with cars

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    no gates

    Bang for the buck

    school here is overpriced a lot of people wonder where our money goes

    What to do for fun

    miami is all about money. partying and shopping thats about it

    Food and Dining

    food is good

    Dorm Life

    dorm life isn't the greatest when forming with 3 other roommates

    Academic Rigor

    good with school but small school very small teachers are very helpful which is good

    Tips for prospective students

    visit the school first and try to get as many scholarships as possible

    In three sentences

    It is not the totally college experience people look for when going away from home.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    plenty to do, though i believe there should be a wider variety of clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    definitely for those interested in culinary or baking and pasty and food service management.

    Tips for prospective students

    get as many scholarships as you can- it'll help you a lot.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    in order to avoid the freshman 20, i hang out at the new gym facility a lot. i must say it's really nice. i was never a gym rat and i'm not saying i'm one now but it's nice to have a place to go. i have made a lot of new friends and it's a cool place to just hang out there.

    Food and Dining

    i am on the meal plan and have no problem finding things to eat. i was worried in the beginning that i would have problems. i'm a picky eater. however there always seems to be something that i'm interested in eating. also there are specialty places that i can go to, starbucks right on campus!

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is fun. they always seem to have something going on. during halloween the different dorms/floor competed in decorating the halls. the new gym facility opened this year and it's awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    i'm about to start the 3rd trimester of my 1st year and have been able to maintain a 3.00 gpa. the classes have been challenging and interesting. they have made a good mix of academics with practical experience classes during this 1st year.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not over pack, the dorm rooms are not that big. you may think you need a lot of personal belongings but less is more. i took way too much stuff and then had to get it back home.

    In three sentences

    johnson & wales is a wonderful school. it's located in beautiful miami, fl. the campus is centrally located and has plenty of amenities for out of state students.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    food I great since we're a culinary school

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in dorms because I'm a commuter

    Academic Rigor

    academic program fits really well especially if you have a full time job and you're a full time student

    Tips for prospective students

    basically just come with an open mind and the drive to learn and you'll be just fine

    In three sentences

    if you're planning to study culinary arts I can tell you now that it is worth every penny to study culinary here many of the chefs and professors are very involved in helping you succeed towards the future many job opportunities are presented to you when you graduate; whether it be culinary or other majors

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JWU has many career options for all types of people. From Culinary Arts/ Baking & Pastry Arts, to becoming a CIA agent, to majoring in fashion, the possibilities seem endless.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have all your information straight. You don't want to begin the new year confused and have unanswered questions. There are several people who can help try to solve your educational problems.

    Bang for the buck

    JWU is a bit pricey but so worth it. The expression you get what you pay for definitely apply's here.

    Am enjoying being here

    The people are friendly, the activities are endless, and the teachers are amazing.

    Am learning a lot

    The transition into college is a difficult thing but, JWU made sure i was all set for the new school year. The transition was smooth and the information was very clear.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is tight, if you even seem somewhat suspicious they will check you out. this is a dry campus. they do not mess around, if you have a problem they will be at your assistance as soon as they can

    Greek Life

    i am not involved in the slightest

    Clubs and Activities

    i personally don't do clubs or activities but it isn't hard to make one, for instance my friend made a tai chi activity for every weekend.

    Great for these types of students

    international, open minded to new cultures and new ways of thinking, willing to put the effort in. those who like arts and sciences those seeking a career in culinary arts, baking & pasty, business, criminal justice, fashion, sports entertainment, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    it may be expensive, but because of that everyone is respectful because we all know that we are paying to much to do something stupid.

    What to do for fun

    for fun you can do somethings with friends, something in your room, a club or activity, go to the schools personal gym, go to one of the local bars (if you like that kind of thing, don't come back wasted.) or find a place with a bit of atmosphere. parties at the minimum because we like it at least semi quite.

    Food and Dining

    you have a wide range of options usually for food. you have a choice to either eat inside, where they play music in the background and you are more likely to see people, outside in the surrounding area, they have done a great job on the plants, some you can even harvest for herbs, spices, and fruits.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms themselves are coed, but the rooms are single gender. you have a choice of about six or seven different dorms where based off of your major you can live with others of the same in your area. quite is from 10 to 10, and courtesy hours is 24/7.some dorms have a pool, and most have a kitchen of some sort, if not in your room, it is a community kitchen.

    Academic Rigor

    mostly because of the fact that the teachers are well adapted to the industry it is helpful to learn. examples; my leadership teacher was a mayor of a city, my english teacher was and still is a writer, our chefs have high reputation around the industry including the miami ice man

    Tips for prospective students

    find the student success office quickly, they will help you on any of your projects that you need, or even a resume. the chefs and professors are always ready to help, feel free to ask them anything and they will do their best to help you, they are usually friendly.

    In three sentences

    great opportunities in the area for work and study. instructors are experts in what they do, weather it is the chefs or the professors, most of them were not trained for teaching but industry, so they have experience to pass on to the students. the international program allows students from any spot in the world to learn here and meet new people and cultures

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    excellent. not too strict but always involved.

    Greek Life

    barely.

    Clubs and Activities

    very broad and well roundede. something for everyone. lots of fundraisers and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    art or business oriented.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    insane asylum across the street.

    Bang for the buck

    very expensive. food could improve. teachers care.

    What to do for fun

    theres lots of activities on campus. trips taken often around miami. lots of clubs and orgs.

    Food and Dining

    not special or fancy. small cafetreria for a culinary school. limited variety.

    Dorm Life

    great sense of community. residentail directors are hands on and resident assistants are helpful. kept clean

    Academic Rigor

    very industrail work. assignments are similar to the real world. involves work in the field.

    Tips for prospective students

    kepp up on your grades online. start work ahead of time and kepp it up. jioin lots of clus and orgs.

    In three sentences

    johnson and wales is a very student oriented institution. they have lots of connections with businesses around the area. the campus is small.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are over 150 cameras surrounding the school as well as a 24 hour campus safety and security staff. the area surrounding the school can get pretty scary at night and there have been reported cases of robbery and the like around the campus. the best tip i can give is never walk alone at night or call the van service to take you where you need to go.

    Greek Life

    there are a few different fraternities and sororities on campus and they are very proud of their organizations. they do not have their own houses since the campus is so small but they do share a closer bond with their brothers and sisters than you will find at other universities.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is always something to do on campus. there is a campus activities board that is constantly putting together different activities. these range from movie trips to foam parties and even a homecoming dance.

    Great for these types of students

    students ready to further their knowledge and work hard in the fields of culinary, baking and pastry, business, criminal justice, or fashion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    freshmen during the weekends usually like to hang out by a pizza place nearby called mario's.

    Bang for the buck

    the campus is private and therefore tuition and other expenses are pricey. with this being said, the school has many opportunities for students to earn scholarships and get involved with programs like work study or the chance to become a room assistant that will take some of the tuition money off.

    What to do for fun

    the university is located in north miami about 10-15 minutes from the beach, 20-30 minutes from the nightlife at south beach, 10-15 minutes from aventura mall, and about 10 minutes from he shops at bal harbour. it can be a pretty pricey area so most students will travel over to the beach for the weekends or even after class. the nightlife is also very popular here from the shops, restaurants, and hookah lounges on lincoln road to the many clubs downtown. just be sure not to walk alone at night since the area isn't in the safest part of town.

    Food and Dining

    as shocking as it may sound for a mainly culinary and baking school, the food in our cafeteria ( know as the mix) is not very good. they receive all their frozen food from a company called chartwells. they're are a few days when the food can be very good but mostly the students groan at the food and play it safe with either a burger or a sandwich.

    Dorm Life

    depending on the dorm, they can be very old from back before when the school was a hospital to the brand new ones that just opened up this 2011-2012 school year. some are apartment style dorms while the others are all within the same building.

    Academic Rigor

    the chefs will push you to do your best! they expect that if you're there you are willing to do what it takes to reach your culinary or baking & pastry goals. the curriculum is very close to how a real kitchen would be.

    Tips for prospective students

    the university in very structured meaning uniforms are taken seriously, you must always be on time, and trying your absolute best is key. the pressure can be a little overwhelming at times but if you can't handle it here, out in the industry is much more expecting of you.

    In three sentences

    the chefs are all extremely well educated on the skills needed to make it in this fast paced and ever-changing business. the negative side to each class segment is that they are only nine days long so its difficult to learn everything there is to know about a topic when its your first time doing the skill. all facts considered, i feel as though i've made the right choice by attending this school and i know once i graduate i'll have the skills and knowledge that will help me succeed in all my endeavors.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24 hour security on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities are fraturnities for all students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons and tons of activities for students to join in on each day.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a wonderful school and though it is expensive its worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities around campus and activities sponsored by the campus for students to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plan is affordable and delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice and there is always a useful staff member to assist you when you need it.

    Academic Rigor

    This school offers challenging curriculum while offering the resources to complete the courses offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you don't think you can make it, try, this school is very rewarding and you can achieve more than you think.

    In three sentences

    The North Miami campus is beautiful. The students and staff are friendly. This school offers the best of both the culinary and business worlds.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    29 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    South Beach, Aventura Mall all there and not to for :)

    In three sentences

    I really love this school and I heard it's the best for culinary arts!!

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus saftey protect the school as much as they can. They also try and help out students get around school at night with the help of the shuttle.

    Greek Life

    its not bad they could use more greek's

    Clubs and Activities

    movie night dance club volunteer club farenheit modeling

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are outgoing, who don't mind living with other people.

    What to do for fun

    Beach as always it is florida partys raves greek life farenheit modeling.

    Food and Dining

    You must think since its culinary school they have great food. The food is not amazing at all. its sometimes cold.. they don't apply proper cooking techniques.

    Dorm Life

    Its not the best, but students have 1 - 4 roomates depending on where you live. Some dorms have balconys some don't Some dorms are new some are not. there is no single rooms for people who want thier own room unless a Head R.A.

    Academic Rigor

    They are very strict , you have to hold a 2.0 minimum through out your trimester . IF not you will be suspended for academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Reasearch about the school Read what other alumni's have said about the school Get to know the R.A's when in school

    In three sentences

    Johnson and wales is known for the culinary field. Johnson and wales has various programs and students are required to dress up for class. Johnson and wales is a great school for students ;who are willing futhure thier education.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety and security come during emergency, you just have to bug them if you have maintenance problems in your dorm which can be a little annoying.

    Greek Life

    kappas are cute. lol

    Clubs and Activities

    athletics are on top of their game!!! From track, soccer, b-ball, golf,cross country.

    Great for these types of students

    students yerning to become a chef they have state of the art kitchens and famous chefs come in from day to day basis.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    greek life goes hard @ jwu.

    Bang for the buck

    expensive but great experience!!!

    What to do for fun

    track and feild, basketball, cross country, the m.o.d pagent in the spring.

    Food and Dining

    culinary school=all you can eat in the cafe a.k.a the mix.

    Dorm Life

    So exciting meeting new people, greek life is well respected, as well as the athletes.

    Academic Rigor

    tutors are there for you!!

    Tips for prospective students

    No way that you shouldn't pass non of your classes tutors are on campus and are available from &am until 6p.m

    In three sentences

    School full of wildcat pride, and if you want to become a chef, business major, or even hospitality they have everything you need hands on and academically. I love the teachers they truly care.

  • 07/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety and security are very sharp and alert to any things. With blue emergency phones located in many areas on campus for any problems or threats. They make sure students are aware of any on campus threats or dangers around campus.

    Greek Life

    There are 5 main Greek societies that you can join here on campus. There very dedicated and empowering towards their roll on and off campus. Throwing many activities on campus, they try to involve the student body to show what there organization brings to student life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life , Athletics, with many other clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    We have a department, Sudent Success that many students go for tutoring in any class or work that they need help on. The great thing about this staff place is that, the teachers and students that Tudor, are all well experienced on that certain subject and this is all free. Some students just use student success as a financial tool for using over priced textbooks for free and getting that extra help without burning a hole in your pocket.

    What to do for fun

    As a student here at Johnson and Wales, its always to keep yourself involved with Campus Activities, Special Events, Career Expos and Athletics. I am currently on the Johnson and Wales Soccer program, which I enjoy so much. I have made new friends while being able to play the sport I love and having the experience to play college soccer. Getting involved with local, on campus activites and clubs, will make your experience at a diverse unversity more meaningful and unforgettable.

    Food and Dining

    Johnson and Wales is supposrted by Chartwells company of food and beverage. Our caferetria, The Mix is run by Chartwells and Starbucks for the coffee lovers.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a bit small, but gives you that home feel and with different types of room set ups and styles to fit a students lifestyle.

    Academic Rigor

    The workload is varied by class, so classes are easy and others not so. Most classes do not require a formal project but instead present you with a hands on project. For example the events management class instead of taking a written test as the final, you take the knowledge that you have gained and throw an event and the grade is based on how well the event went.

    Tips for prospective students

    Being serious about college is one thing, but being mentally and physically ready for your degree or field is another and that is what Johnson and Wales prepares you for. I think Johnson and Wales gets any student ready for their profession and future to success.

    In three sentences

    Johnson & wales university is a 4 year School that offers a hands on expierence. It differs from other schools as it allows you to gain direct knowledge in your desired field sooner rather then later. The small class sizes allow the student to form a relationship with classmates and most importantly the professor. It gives us students hands on class activities that relate to the outside industries that will generate into our everyday use.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety and Security is great there are different phones set up all over the campus that autodial the Safety and Security office. They also unlock your room door if you happen to leave your key in your room.

    Greek Life

    The school has many different Sororities and Fraternities. The most prestigious are Kappa Sigma and Alpha Sigma Tau

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs and there are a lot of different outings that are sponsored by the school through out the year.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of different places to hang out on campus like the Wildcat Center and even Palm Court

    What to do for fun

    Miami is a vast city with tons to do day and night.

    Food and Dining

    They have a lot of different options inside of the MIx and there is also a cyber cafe that offers many different Starbucks products.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are cute but they are also small. But there are many different places on campus to live.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to study hard,

    In three sentences

    Johnson & Wales University is a very lovely school with wonderful classes. The school offers four different majors with a great curriculum to match.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mostly i hang out with friends and go out to different partied and get togethers. The school also normally have some kind of event going on, so there is always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be A LOT better....no further comments.

    Dorm Life

    There are a total of 7 different dorms. For the most part they are all very clean and the dorm supervisors are really nice. The best dorms would have to be the upper class men dorms, only because they have kitchens located in each and every dorm room.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very helpful to those who want it. The classes are also very detailed and rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    This university is very different considering the fact that their is an upside down curriculum. The only thing i would have to really say is make sure you go to class, other wise your going to miss A LOT.

    In three sentences

    Johnson & wales is a wonderful institute to attend. Out of 5 stars i would defiantly give them a 5.5 star rating. I would recommend this university to anybody.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Well the school usually plans a lot of social events for the kids so that's one thing on campus. Off campus they are many others. Miami has plenty of beaches that you and your friends can go have a relaxing day. There is also a diversity in food selection; Miami has everything that you could want.

    Food and Dining

    When you first attend JWU your going to think the mix is great. After about a month you'll realize the food can get annoying and it's just better eating off campus. The sandwich station is probably the best they have to offer.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life can be really good or really boring depending on how you make it. They have a lot of social events in the dorms for everyone to meet and greet. If you make friends in your dorm than you'll have fun. If your anti-social or don't really like the people then it will be boring.

    Academic Rigor

    The work isn't as challenging once you get settled in and start focusing. You will have to put some effort into your work if you want a great grade though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time getting settled in. Miami is a big city and can be very tempting so focus on your studies first before having fun.

    In three sentences

    JWU is one of the best schools in the nation. There teachers make sure you get the proper content and that you pass with greats grades. Also, the students are really friendly and very welcoming.

  • 09/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    At JWU they have lots of activities arranged every other day, so you can either join a sorority, fraternity, an organization, or explore the city.

    Food and Dining

    Cyber cafe is awesome!

    Dorm Life

    I wish I can stay in the dorms because living on campus seems like a very fun and experiencing thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you think about coming here, you should come!!!

    In three sentences

    From the first day of summer orientation I knew that JWU was the school for me. I loved the vibe it gave me, everyone seemed nice and I love the school. Its been three weeks since the beginning of school and I can say that I still love it, I'm glad that I decided to come here instead of going to another college and studying Business Management. I'm loving my major (Fashion Merchandising) and my teachers all very nice, the classes are small so its more one on one time with the teacher. I made the right choice coming here and if anyone is thinking of coming to JWU. you should go you'll love it.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Because we are mixed into a sort of slummish part of Miami, the safety isn't that great. But everything that students need is only a minute or two off campus. The Security on Campus is also good to respond to things when they happen.

    Greek Life

    There are plenty of Fraternities and Sororities. Some for every kind of person, and they are very active on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all sorts of Fraternities and Sororities and other organizations on campus. There are more than you can imagine or possibly even need. Some for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Culinary Arts and Baking and Pastry

    Bang for the buck

    With the chefs and the professors - you get all that you paid far. They are insightful and can teach a lot more about the subject than a standard professor. It's worth what you pay for. And it's a better quality than some of the more expensive school that offer it.

    What to do for fun

    The beach is close by and South Beach is just down the road. There is a lot of night life and a lot of pretty sites to see. There is also a lot of cuisine and what not to find, and small sort of indie things to see.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is as all cafeteria food is. It kind of sucks. You just have to watch what you get, but other than, it is a hit and miss.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, ranging from the very social freshman dorms to the more laid back upperclassmen dorms. They're spread out all over campus, so getting to things can sometimes be a walk, especially to classes, but all the academic classes and everything else is all centrally located around the main building.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes that are core based are fast paced and keep students on track. It might be easy to fail them if you miss a few days, but if you keep going to class, you'll get everything that the professors teach. They are usually from the field and teach from experience as well as from the book. They are amazing at what they do.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are coming for Culinary or Baking, be prepared to fight for your placement. Get your application in early and be proactive with the school. The kitchen labs are a dog eat dog world. You have to be competitive and make your way to the top. It's not for the weak willed.

    In three sentences

    Johnson and Wales is an amazing school for Culinary and Baking & Pastry arts. The chefs and professors that teach are amazing and raise the bar constantly for the students; producing top notch chefs and bakers. This is a prestigious school, only topped by the CIA.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is always on patrol. You can also call them to escort you to your dorm late at night if you don't feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Dont join everything. Listen to what they have to say and choose what is best for you.

    Great for these types of students

    All students! The campus is extremely diverse when it comes to culture, religion and everything else.

    Bang for the buck

    The school has a lot of opportunities and I believe the money is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Aventura Mall!! That is my go to place, everything is there. I also go to Miami Heat games when tickets are cheap. There are alot of things to do in the area.

    Food and Dining

    The mix is the main cafeteria and 15 meals per week are included i your tuition. They have seven stations: pizza, salads, subs, carvery, dessert, grill and exhibition where they cook the food in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. There will always be those people who keep loads of noise. I have learned to zone them out and i have created a great friendship with my roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are geared directly to your career. The school has an upside down curriculum so you start with courses for your major instead of fundamentals or core courses. There is a mix of both.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember school is your first priority. Most of you would have sacrificed a lot to be here, don't waste your time and your parents' money. Stay focused.

    In three sentences

    The small classroom size is great for learning. The faculty and staff are always there to help. Great opportunities come from attending this school and i have seen this since i have been here.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is not too good. When you finally sit down to eat the food is cold. I would give the food a D.

    Dorm Life

    If you live in flamingo, it's not that great. You have public showers that you have to share with boys and girls. The showers are also disgusting, and barely ever clean. The rooms are small but comfortable. I give it a D.

    Academic Rigor

    It's good, I would give it a B.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you listen to your professors, take notes, and be familiar with the school's location so you know what activities you can do.

    In three sentences

    I give Johnson & Wales University a C because the school has very good professors but, the school is dirty and in a poor-type of neighborhood. They advertise the school as being hands on but, from what I have experienced so far, it isn't. It is mostly lecture and barely any hands on type work.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    south beach

    Food and Dining

    the food is hit or miss.

    Dorm Life

    depending on where you stay, you may have to share bathrooms and kitchens with entire floors at a time

    Academic Rigor

    they have very challenging curriculums

    Tips for prospective students

    have everything in order so that you dont fall behind.

    In three sentences

    it is a wonderful campus for networking and opportunities. the school has quality educators. there are plenty of things to do to stay busy.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    41 of 64

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school has everything i want

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Saftey of students is always first at school. Theres rules you have to abide by while attending the university

    Greek Life

    Theres a few greeks on campus. Greek life is pretty good on the campus alot of greek events as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres alot of organizations at school and they welcome all students. Its fun for people who have time on thier hands and not doing anything but school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions we have a christmas party for the school in december. alot of other great activities

    Bang for the buck

    good school

    What to do for fun

    Cook play basketball swim the beach

    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafe really needs improvement. only food i like is cyber cafe

    Dorm Life

    Could be better to have single dorms but dorm life is okay depending where you live.

    Academic Rigor

    you have to have a 2.5 or higher to attend each semseter.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep good grades good manners be prepared dress proffesionally

    In three sentences

    good college great education alot of connections

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Miami police and our safety and security officers are the best. They are always around and you'll get to know them personally.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our CAB is awesome! They really know the students and what events would cater to everyone's needs and wants.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it may be a little pricey to attend the school, but the best thing is that a lot of the money is returned to us in the form of scholarships and grants. Also, anything that we receive during an academic year is renewable for each year that you attend the school.

    What to do for fun

    There's so much to do. It, of course, depends on the type of person that you are. The campus is conveniently located to hot spots around the county. We equally about 20 minutes away from downtown Miami, South Beach, Miami Beach, and also, the big tourist spot, Aventura. So there is plenty to get into where you won't be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Included in your tuition for resident students, it does what it's there for. I will say that it is a lot better than the meals that I had for lunch in middle and high school. Culinary and Baking students may have an advantage, but we have the variety.

    Dorm Life

    Plenty of choices. The setup for each dorm is surprising a lot better than you would think.

    Academic Rigor

    These professors here aren't tough, but they will get your brain juices flowing. Everything they do or say is to make us a better person and an asset to the world after we finish college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard, there's no shortcuts at this campus. Employers and visitors are always on campus looking to hopefully recruit you, so be on your best. Also, be prepared to have fun and enjoy all of the fun things that college has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Everything that I expected, plus more! The staff and professors are amazing and are always lending a hand when you need it. It is a semi-small campus, but it helps that everyone knows each other, we get along so well.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the beaches.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best in high school. You need lots of scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Very good school. Wonderful people. A great opportunity to be a chef.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is amazing, and always active!

    Greek Life

    I am unsure about this.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs that go with the majors!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a nice warm environment with small classes!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Mix, which is were you eat but everyone gathers there anyway

    Bang for the buck

    It is honestly a great campus!

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of things close by like Aventura Mall, the Beach, and plazas with a Publix, Panera Bread, Mc Donalds, ect.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually really good, they offer a lot of different types of food there and have alternatives for vegetarians too!

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in Biscayne Dorms for a weekend and had a great time! They were clean and the security was amazing!

    Academic Rigor

    They have trimesters with 3 classes in each, if you feel you can do more there is the shark program were you take 4 to 5 classes. Also school is Monday through Thursday,

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay during the summer program for your intended major at any of the campus', it helps to see if the program is what you want!

    In three sentences

    Johnson and Wales North Miami is a beautiful campus, that offers great majors with a staff that loves to help with anything! There welcoming and have a great campus!

  • 05/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been incidences that have happened on campus and what the school did was hire more security guards and a shuttle runs all over campus to take students where they need to go. Since the solution I feel safer.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek Life and I know that its popular but I have not looked much into it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to choose from. If there isn't a club that someone would like to join the school will be happy to create one.

    Great for these types of students

    This school would be great for students who are really passionate about their major, loves the beach, and wants to go to a small school where the teacher knows you individually.

    Bang for the buck

    If you really take advantage of all the resources and becoming active on campus then your school experience will definitely be worth it. Miami is a great place to network and I feel that this school does a good job at getting the right people to come in about talk with us.

    What to do for fun

    There are MANY of fun on campus organizations. Some organizations set up discounted and expense paid trips with the school. I went to the movies for free a couple of times and theme parks in Orlando and Tampa for just $30. There are also fun dorm and school parties that go on.

    Food and Dining

    There's a variety of options to choose from. I have no complaints about the food. There are culinary students who would differ.

    Dorm Life

    There are always lots of dorm activities almost every week. Rules are enforced for the safety of everyone. I really like that there isn't a curfew, we're able to work late and go out. Quite hours have to be respected.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging

    Tips for prospective students

    Become active on campus

    In three sentences

    Johnson & Wales is a really good school. The teachers and staffs actually care about the students and only want the best for them. The school is built on professionalism and does a great job at building its image.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety can be a little bit better than it is. Although security is located right on the campus, they need to be a little more visible around the different building around campus.

    Greek Life

    Johnson & Wales offers a variety of fraternities and sorrorities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Johnson & Wales offers a variety of clubs and activities for all cultures. From event planning, socceer, basketball, fashion shows, etc...

    What to do for fun

    Usually for fun we can go swimming in the pool which is connected to one of the dorms. In addiiton,the school has plenty of activities and clubs that you can join. In addition, there are surrounding baches, malls, and sports arenas. This makes my stay at Johnson & Wales a remarkable yet wonderful experience.

    Food and Dining

    The food usually consists of the same type of food throughout the week. Sometimes they offer a variety of foods. However, there are plenty of restaurants surrounding the campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very clean and you have a big selection to choose from. You can choose to have 1 to 3 roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor can consist of many assignments and projects at one time. Due to the school having tri-semesters, the weeks go by very quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    A prospective student should be prepared to work hard and be able to manage your time.

    In three sentences

    Johnson & Wales offers a wide range of majors. I really like how they have four campuses. Also, the professors there are very knowledgeable and helpful concerning academics.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    JWU is surrounded by a very active night life, including restaurants, sight seeing, bowling, beach and other activities.

    Food and Dining

    I am not there yet.

    Dorm Life

    I am not there yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Business Administration

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a school that meets your goals. Don't settle for something you don't like just to please others. Stay focus on your goals.

    In three sentences

    JWU is a small University geared to small classroom atmosphere. JWU has selected me to play basketball in their team. JWU provides internships and has a great program.

  • 07/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus Safety & Security are on patrol 24/7 whether they are on foot or in their vehicles. We have ID cards that get us in and out of buildings around the campus so we are not mistaken for an uninvited guess. They maintain surveillance cameras that are set around the campus to keep us secure in this environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are waaaaay too many to even begin to mention but I will give a few: Collegiate DECA Campus Activities Board BSU- Black Student Union SGA - Student Government Association Collegiate Ambassador Team Caribbean Student Association Peer Educators Greek Council Future Business Leaders of America Help Those In Need Fahrenheit Models -There are Dance and Performance Groups...etc.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is MADE for ambitious, open-minded, hardworking individuals who like new experiences. We have students from all over the world, literally and it's exciting to learn about so many different cultures. The Majors that are offered are Criminal Justice, Business Administration, Culinary, Baking & Pastry, Fashion Merchandising & Retail Marketing, Hospitality, Sports Entertainment and Event Management and more.

    What to do for fun

    There are always Residential Life events occurring each month. Outside of that the Campus Activities Board along with Greek Life and other organizations host their own events monthly. Some of these events include parties, free movie trips, festival involvement, outdoor games, etc. The Fitness Center itself has a weight room and offers classes in the dance studio such as Yoga, Pilates, Kickboxing, etc and at times Tennis and Kayaking on the weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Compared to many other campuses, we receive dining that is on a guaranteed schedule and offers various healthy options and choices.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely LOVE my dorm life experiences. The staff was wonderful and I loved my R.A.'s. There was always some kind of event going on and I met my friends that I have had for my four years my freshman year.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the course and the teachers. I spend MOST of my time after class with my head in the books because I constantly have deadlines and exams coming up, but overtime I became used to it. It's challenging, but prepares you for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to this school with an open mind and heart. YOU are what makes the campus experience worth while and I enjoyed my four years here!

    In three sentences

    I have been heavily involved with programs in classes, with administrators, and outside activities that involve campus life. When you give this campus your all, this school will give you an experience you will never forget! The diversity of ethnicity's and intelligence's challenge you while also encouraging you to learn from one another.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    50 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    hopefully nothing strange or wild happens while im here

    Greek Life

    I am half greek

    Clubs and Activities

    great baskeball team

    Great for these types of students

    that are trying to see more in life than a rural area

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    its tight off of south beach great location.

    Bang for the buck

    bit expensive

    What to do for fun

    haven't expierenced yet.

    Dorm Life

    great!!!!!

    Academic Rigor

    great academic resources

    Tips for prospective students

    I haven't attended yet but best of luck to anyone who decides to attend

    In three sentences

    I am very interested in attending jwu because they have so many different career paths to choose from. I was blown away by the different scholarships and grant available but unfortunately I am short $11,000 from being able to pay my tuition. he;p would be really appreciated

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    51 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Along with the patrols they have, safe transportation throughout the day, they also provide classes for protecting yourself

    Greek Life

    Only one sorority and I think three fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have soccer, basketball, cheer-leading, and several inter-mural sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Hospitality, Criminal Justice, & Culinary Majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As of right now the only thing I didn't really expect is how orientation operated. It was so much fun and creative.

    Bang for the buck

    Though the school is pretty expensive there are several scholarships offered by the school and you do receive what your paying for.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, a sport, fraternity or sorority anything. Also, don't forget your in Miami enjoy the Miami life !

    Food and Dining

    There are two eating facilities on campus and plenty of places nearby to grab a bite to eat. The meal plan at the school I personally think offers a lot and I love that its provided with housing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a lot bigger than what I thought they'd be and they only get bigger.

    Academic Rigor

    At this school you will get the best hands on experience within your major and the opportunities are endless.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious, determined, and financially prepared. If you are not these three things don't go to college. You must want the education provided enable to get the most out of it but it is also wise to not put yourself in debt or have to focus more on how your going to pay for school rather than school itself.

    In three sentences

    By what I've experienced I would say this school is the best choice for students that want a personalized and engaged learning environment. Before class has even started the staff is engaged and there to help you at anytime. One of the best choices if you plan to go into Hospitality, Culinary, Business, or Criminal Justice.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    52 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For what you pay I would say the school would be worth it!

    What to do for fun

    When i went they had a week of fun planned and the whole campus was alive!

    Food and Dining

    Great food, Great prices!

    Dorm Life

    From what i saw of the dorms they were all nice. You could choose which dorm and who you lived with.

    Academic Rigor

    I did not get to attend but from what i saw during the classes they are small easy one on one learning. Great teachers and happy students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have as many scholarships as you can! Definitely attend Wildcat Weekend if you can! Talk to a recruiter, you will not be let down!

    In three sentences

    For Johnson & Wales University all i can say is absolutely amazing! I was supposed to attend back in 2011 and I will say this is my dream school. Everything about JWU was breath taking. The small classes, the campus itself was beautiful, the amount of activities you could do while on campus was perfect. I wish i could have attended but i did not have enough money to attend. Although the school tuition is expensive i would say it would be worth it. Nothing about this school was bad on my weekend visit to see the school I fell in love with it. In two days JWU showed me what a dream school school would be like.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    South Beach, Downtown Miami, Bal harbour just to name a few its really a party city. If you like to shop Aventura mall is about 80 blocks. Lets not forget the NBA champs the Miami Heat

    Food and Dining

    Everybody hates the mix food! The location of the school makes up for that, with the food places on biscayne.

    Dorm Life

    Go to palm gardens or lakeside. In Palm Gardens you don't need to be checked in and have more of a duplex feel to them. Lakeside is 21 and over and is now the only place liquor is allowed in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Very hands on, each class has projects specific to the class which can be very easily be applied to life. Courses are only hard if you do not manage your time wisely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the wisdom given from the professors and the tools created by the school experiential center, student success, and your academic faculty.

    In three sentences

    Johnson and Wales- North Miami is a growing school with great networking available. The wisdom from the professors is priceless if used accordingly. Taking advantage of all resources they get a 4 out of 5 with great potential.

  • 09/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 security monitoring around campus and 24/7 calling centre available on campus. Also courses available for self defense.

    Greek Life

    Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Mu Sigma Upsilon Sorority, Kappa Sigma Fraternity, Lambda Sigma Upsilon Latino Fraternity, Eta Sigma Delta, Chi Upsilon Sigma National Latin Sorority, Alpha Sigma Tau Sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    Farenheight Models, International Community, American Culinary Federation, Black Student Union, Campus Activites Board, Caribbean Student Association, Coexist, Feed Your Soul, Future Business Leaders of America, Men of Distinction, National Society of Minorities, Peer Educators, Ladies of Essence, Cheerleading Squad.

    Great for these types of students

    Culinary, Hospitality, Sports and Entertainment, Business, Fashion, and Criminal Justice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Starbucks on campus, Gym available on campus, International Community, Various Clubs and organizations, Local job Board.

    Bang for the buck

    Whether in the form of school supplies (depending on your major), job assistance, seminars and hostings, campus events and activites or dorm life. you'll definitely get your moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    Movie nights, bash at the beach, trips to las vegas, carnival, poetry and comedy nights and so much more.

    Food and Dining

    From the isles of the caribbean to the mediterranean, food is a specialty at Johnson and Wales. Not only do you get regional and international tastes but you also ( in the case of culinary majors) get the opportunity to work in the kitchens.

    Dorm Life

    24 hour security and surveilance, lounges located in each dormitory, all of which are located within a 1-3 mile radius of the school so youre able to commute easily. Various ammmities available including a kitchen, and laundry access.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are highly qualified and offer up their free time to assist when needed. Also there are student academic centers available for tutoring, job applications and assistance in resume bilding, whats more all this assistance is free!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as early as possible and view all scholarship and finacial assistance options before applying. Come to Wildcat weekend to get the best experience of college life. Check e-mails and notifications often for changes and advice.

    In three sentences

    Johnson and wales University is an innovative and proactive college. This college is persistent in assisting over 85% of its student body with scholarships and financial assistance. It is an institution aimed at helping its members, both faculty and staff succeed.

  • 10/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is everywhere

    Greek Life

    We have Greek life. I just can't name all of them.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs to name, you name it we probably have it and if not you can talk to someone about it to make it an official club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In front of the main building there is this big circle that says JWU, and they say if you walk through the circle you would not graduate on time.

    What to do for fun

    It is always something going on campus; we have Casino Night, trip to the movies, even Disney. We are about 15 minutes from a beachand not to far from Souoth Beach. There are also a lot of shopping areas near by.

    Food and Dining

    The mix can sometimes get boring with food. The cyber cafe' is like a Starbucks which is good.

    Dorm Life

    If you don't like community showers, Flamingo Hall is not for you. For the most part everyone is cool.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are awesome, so far so good!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to start off using your hands. There is no one to baby sit you here, It's time to grow up. Get involved!! I promise the academic year would be way better.

    In three sentences

    Johnson & Wales University is a very hands on school no matter what field you are in. The campus is not as big compared to other universities, which is a good thing in a way. All the professors will know your name and can help you with whatever you need.

  • 11/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's always security guards driving around campus and every door is opened by our student IDs, you are safe!

    Greek Life

    LOTS OF IT. I'm not into that stuff but I love all the activities they hold on campus its a lot of fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    it goes from Basketball to Sororities back to Recycling clubs! One that must fit you!

    Great for these types of students

    If you're the type to hate big crowds and won't learn in a 500 student class. JWU is the place for you. Everyone will help and our classes are 45 or less students at most.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our dress code is not like every other universities, we dress to impress! however we do have a wildcat Wednesday where we can wear jeans and show our school spirit.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial Aid is the best thing at JWU. Keep your grades up and your loans will stay low.

    What to do for fun

    JWU is full of clubs and sororities that you are more welcome to join. there's always something going around on campus, food drives, walks, karaoke nights, pool parties. You wont be bored if you get involved!

    Food and Dining

    The mix is where we dine! Let me remind you JWU is most recognized as a culinary school so just imagine our food!

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms at JWU are absolutely specious and comfortable, all of them with amazing views of North Miami!

    Academic Rigor

    JWU is all about excellence, in the classroom and outside of the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look forward to an amazing environment. Be prepared to have the best professors and the best experiences in your college career!

    In three sentences

    The perfect small, cozy, valuable university you could ever think of. Where every staff member actually cares for and about you, and help you through out your career the best they can. A university where your voice can be heard and the opportunities are immense.

  • 11/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club!! Be in the know about the events, you make friends that way. You build opportunity for yourself if you are involved.

    Food and Dining

    It's exceptional. Classes in culinary you get to eat like a champion. Outside of class you have more options to eat whatever but be careful. Save money on going out, you never know when you might need it.

    Dorm Life

    It's a challenge living with someone who isn't family or who you don't know but know your boundries and limits. Make friends with roommates and dormmates; they might become your best friend in the end if you're in the same year, even better. Be clean always!!!, and if your aren't start now before you come, no one ever likes a dirty roommate!!

    Academic Rigor

    It's challenging, most students will change their major if they don't truly love the first few classes. Be concrete on decision making. Be wise and seek advice from the professors they always want to help you. Do not ever be afraid to ask questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be financially cautious, know what your limits and spending habits are and fix them if you have poor habits of saving money. Know your work ethic in school and outside of school because there are so many opportunites to land jobs while in school.If you can't handle both you'll downsize your capabilities. While in school work hard and become involved because its literally pays off.

    In three sentences

    A great opportunity for networking with others. Good learning concepts and challeges. Since this is the Miami campus there is so much diversity that there is more than a few chances to learn different languages.

  • 12/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    58 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food there is amazing whether you eat the food prepared on campus or eat off campus, there are many restaurants to choose from and they even have a cafe on-campus!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty spacious, however, the down-sides to that are they are on a first come first serve basis and the showers are communal (They're private rooms with locked doors to shower but everyone has to use them and you have to wait for one to become available).

    Academic Rigor

    The course work seems like it is extremely difficult, however, there are many tutors there that can help you if you don't understand something.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This campus is great for students who like living in a community filled with diversity

  • 01/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go to hockey games, Miami Dolphins and Heat games. The beaches in South Beach are amazing and it is always sunny.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually quite good as it should be at a culinary majoring school. some days the cafeteria is a little lack luster while other days I'm not sure what to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is a little rough, but the rooms are well kept and have been recently updated with some stylish furniture from IKEA.

    Academic Rigor

    It is difficult as college should be, but you will get as much out of it as you put into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to enjoy everything about college. Stay focused on classwork because it is difficult in such a activity rich region.

    In three sentences

    Sunny, beautiful weather everyday. Great campus all around. Perfect location just North of Miami near all of the entertainment spots.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    61 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The beach if 5 minutes away and you can easily take a bus to the Aventura mall.

    Food and Dining

    The food is horrible but you pay for it so might as welleat it.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live and who you live with...... Biscayne and Tropical Pointe are the only options for freshman

    Academic Rigor

    Academic classes are a joke....

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure its what you really want to do. Do your research

    In three sentences

    Jwu has a lot to offer you but has many pros and cons. The culinary and Baking and pASTRY PROGRAM IS AWESOME BUT ANYOTHER MAJOR HERE IS NOT WORTH THE MONEY.

  • 03/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Plenty of clubs and organizations that have a lot of connections for various opportunities.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is very consistent. The catering company that does our meals needs to be expanded.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is solid. Plenty of housing options.

    Academic Rigor

    Great teachers with a lot of experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Excel in your classes and use the tutors to your advantage.

    In three sentences

    JWU- North Miami is a very prestigious university. The culinary programs here are top of the line. The people here are very unique/

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 64

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school has activities such as sports: Basketball, Golf, Soccer, and Volleyball. We also have off campus traveling sight such as: The Marlins Baseball Stadium, Miami Heat Basketball, Miami Dolphins Football, museums, beaches and other entertainment throughout south Florida.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing because it is a culinary based school where we eat luxurious daily.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students I would advise them to study hard and take every course serious. For example, every class that I have attended has taught me life lessons and has changed my life for the better. Having the ability to learn what your career is about beforehand will allow you to be advanced in everything. College is like a school dedicated for your future career, itâ??s a school of teaching you how to do your job right. Paying attention and learning the material will allow you to do your job right, itâ??s not high school.

    In three sentences

    Johnson & Wales University is one of the most hands on school I have ever attended, I rate this school a 9 out of 10. They have great courses that teach us about our future careers in every class. The programs that they provide allow us to experience college life at a safe, educational and fun level.

  • 05/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 64

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security every where on campus 24/7. including out in the side walks, in front of the building. Security carts are roaming every day, 24/7 around the entire campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    American Culinary Federation Special Functions Collegiate Ambassador Team DECA FCCLA and many more

    Great for these types of students

    Fitness addicts? The university has free gym and fitness classes and personal trainer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every first Wednesday of every month is known as Wildcat Wednesday, meaning you are allowed to wear university logo clothes instead of professional dress attire. JWU celebrates Christmas, thanksgiving, Chinese new years, 5 de mayo, and many more.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a student, faculty or staff, you can go to the gym that the university has for free. The gym is inside the university and has professional trainers there to help if needed and offers many fitness classes every day, every week for free. Basically, fitness classes and gym is free to use. Every month, the university takes students to the AMC theater to watch any movie they like for free (if they sign up for it) and takes them back to campus. Party? There is party going on every so often by the school and a great time to meet new people. No car? The university has their own shuttle bus to take student to their destination of their choice.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on in campus every week. There is non need to be stuck at your dorm every week. Come out and have some fun with the events set up by organizations of the school.

    Food and Dining

    The University has partnered up with a company called Chartwell. The cafeteria is called the MIX. There is a variety of foods every day. One day might be Chinese food, American, Mexican, Thailand, Japan, Korea, Haiti and other places. Every day the menu changes. Breakfast is always the same, lunch changes every day and dinner changes every day. The way it is set up is like a buffet line, except the Chefs serve you and hands you the plate or cooks the food in front of their station

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is something nice to experience. The dorms are close to the classes, you don't have to worry about driving to school. If you forget something before class, you can walk back to your dorm and retrieve the item and head to class. There is free cable, there is Residential Assistants in every level of the dorm building if there is a problem in the dorm. There is a kitchen, TV lounge, game room in every floor, along with washing machines in every floor as well. Every student has a mail box and has access to it. There is room inspection every 2 months, nothing new about that. There is always events going on every weekend, so there is non reason for you to be bored every weekend.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic classes are very straight forward and the good thing about it is that each class lasts about 2.5 hours. students are ONLY allowed 4 academic classes each trimester, meaning you can 4 or less, it all comes down to you, you can choose your classes and what time you would like to have them. If you are a morning person than you can choose your classes in the morning and have the rest of the day off. If you are not a morning person than you can choose your classes around noon or so and have the rest of the day off. In the end, you choose your classes and times. classes are always 4 days a week (Monday-Thursday). The professors are strict on professionalism and don't tolerate bad behaviors.

    Tips for prospective students

    This university is the best if you are looking into a university that sets high standards for students. Really look into every college before making a big investment in your future. If you are looking for a professional environment, this is one of the places that is focused on professionalism each and every day.

    In three sentences

    Johnson & Wales University strive to make each and every student successful for their future careers. I have seen that the professors really want their students to become successful in every way possible, they take their time to get to know each and every student. This university is 100% committed to helping students in their future careers.