Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Joliet Junior College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Unsure what you want to do. Looking to keep expenses down. Know what you want to do, but not where you want to go. Close enough to home, work, and friends for those in Will and Grundy counties. And lots more...

    Tips for prospective students

    Find out what you would like to do education-wise and make a comparison checklist between your four year choices and JJC. Find out what classes you would need to take and how much they would cost. Most students don't realize that college costs a lot more than just tuition...you have to factor in housing, food, entertainment, transportation, etc. If you were able to stay at home for your first two years and attend JJC -- the saving in everything would speak for itself.

    Bang for the buck

    JJC is a **TOTAL** value! The level of education you receive for the money you pay is unbelievable... If you tried to start out your first two years at university, you would pay most likely three to four times than you pay at JJC.

    Am enjoying being here

    This is my second time attending JJC, and it's a fantastic place to be. There are plenty of organizations that you can become part of: student government and student activities, psychology club, peer mentoring, and performing arts just to name a few...

    Am learning a lot

    This is a GREAT place to get started if you are planning to go on to a four year college or university. It's a wonderful learning environment! Also, JJC has well respected Associate of Applied Science programs that allow you to streamline into a career (Nursing, Vet Tech, Phlebotomy, etc...)!! That's what I'm doing.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    JJC offers something for almost everyone. It is particularly great for students who want to save a bit of money before heading off to four-year colleges. It is also great for adults who want to return back to school- there is a wide range of age groups at JJC, so adult learners would not feel out of place. JJC is also good for those that quit, or did not do well the last time they were in school. JJC's open admission policy makes this school a good choice for those looking to give school a second chance and turn their education around.

    Tips for prospective students

    I mentioned earlier that I did not learn much from some of my classes. I noticed that the classes from which I did not learn much were usually general education courses, that all students needed to take in order to fulfill their degree requirements. If you want to learn a lot from your general education courses, I would recommend taking the more unique ones that most students do not take. It seems like the more popular classes are made easier, so that more students can pass them. I would also recommend getting involved in things right away. I met a lot of my friends through theater at JJC. No matter what you join, you are likely to make friends, and it will make your time at JJC more enjoyable. Even if you do not remain involved in whatever club you joined, at least you will have made friends! The parking situation should be better now that new buildings and parking lots are in progress. However, you should still arrive early for classes during the first week, because that is usually the craziest week around campus in terms of traffic and parking. Finally, make sure you double check whatever anyone tells you in the counseling office. For example, if someone tells you that a particular class does indeed count towards your degree, make sure you double check that it does, otherwise you may find yourself one class short of graduation.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are great, and the class sizes are small. Tuition is only about $100 per credit hour (for in-district residents), and you get a lot for your money. On more than one occasion, I had teachers that used to teach at big four year schools- it's like getting the same quality for much less money! For example, my economics teacher used to teach at a popular four year college and started teaching at JJC when he moved into the suburbs. Apart from this, the teachers are all required to have office hours, and if you can't attend their office hours, most are more than willing to set up an appointment with you if you need extra help! They also have an honors program, through which you can take even smaller classes with honors-geared coursework. JJC also offers free tutoring and writing assistance for all students, in several subjects. I used to go to the math center a lot, and their assistance is part of what helped me get an A in my math class. I also went to the writing center once or twice, to have someone look over my college application essay. They were very helpful. Another great thing about JJC is that their credits are highly transferrable to four-year universities. This means that once you transfer, you are much less likely to have to spend the time and money retaking a class that you already took at JJC. I did notice, however, that some of the academic counselors at JJC are not very knowledgeable. Oftentimes, they answered my questions incorrectly or in a roundabout way.

    Did enjoy being here

    At first, I was not looking forward to being there- I thought it would be like an extension of high school, since many of the people from my high school would be attending JJC. However, I ended up having a great experience once I started getting involved in things and making friends! JJC also has a wide variety of clubs, which is great. I really enjoyed their theater club and being in some of the plays. Usually, parking is horrible. I remember arriving half an hour early at times, and still being late for class because of lack of parking. However, I do not think this will be a problem anymore because of the new buildings and parking lots they are adding.

    Did learn a lot

    Overall I learned a lot, but each class is really a hit or miss in terms of how much you can expect to learn. Some of my classes were fantastic. I took a psychology class that both challenged me and taught me more than I could have expected to learn. On the other side of the spectrum, I took a history class in which I learned hardly anything. A lot of the time the instructor was off topic. There were no assignments or tests. It was a great class for those who wanted something easy, but not if you wanted to increase your knowledge of history. Overall, very few of my classes were like this, which is why I still think JJC is a great starting point for your college education.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had any issues and feel that enough safety precautions are taken. There are blue lights in the parking lights for if you feel unsafe and JJC campus police are always patrolling.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    GREAT variety. I truly feel there is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters. students unsure of major, wanting to stay at home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a variety of little nooks around the campus that are quiet and secluded from the rest of the students. Great for cramming for finals!

    Bang for the buck

    I was highly satisfied with the qualitiy of institution I attended and felt that it was a great way to invest my money for the first two years.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers a great deal of opportunities for having fun and interacting. There are a variety of clubs, sports, and social activities to meet other.

    Food and Dining

    There is always a great selection of food and I have never had a bad meal.

    Dorm Life

    This school isn't centered around dorm life, it is much more of a commuter school. There is a dorm option though, but I do not know many who do it.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had some challenging teachers and others who are not. It is definitely based on your teachers and the effort you put forth.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to complete all parts for registering and becoming a student before classes are set to begin. Will save a lot of head ache!

    In three sentences

    JJC is a great school for whatever stage of your education you are at. It is great for getting your footing in college and saving money at the same time. I would highly recommend JJC for any students interested.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many, I don't know which to choose. But I'm definitively starting with the Culinary Arts Competition Group.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students. they even have a college course 101 to help students fit into college life and learn better ways to manage time and study habits.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bridge. There is literally a small lake running right in the middle of the school. So they built a bridge to connect the whole school. It's beautiful and is surround by windows for a spectacular view. This bridge is where all of the announcements are placed or where we have any special activities.

    Bang for the buck

    JJC is very affordable and helpful with scholarships, loans, and monthly payments, to ensure you are getting the best possible educations without any overwhelming financial objections.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of organizations to join, for example we have student government and student activities, psychology club, peer mentoring, and performing arts, to name a few. My personal favorite is the Hot Foods Competition Team.

    Food and Dining

    The Food made by the Culinary Arts Students in their own restaurant, Chef's Table, is delicious.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes can be challenging, but the school makes sure that you have plenty of resources to pass a class. And they never give you more than you can handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just cause it is a community college, it doesn't mean it's going to be just like high school. The classes are more challenging and more time consuming, but definitely worth it in the end. So give it a chance before crossing it off your list.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College is not just like high school. It's a fresh start for all of us and a pathway to a successful future. They are all about providing students with quality educations that is important to our future careers.

  • 06/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities, however since I work full time, I am not able to partake in most of them.

    Food and Dining

    JJC has a great culinary program so i assume the food is good, however, I've never eaten there as my classes are at night.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check out the website ratemyprofessors.com.

    In three sentences

    JJC has been a great experience. The teachers have all been knowledgeable and willing to help when needed. For the most part, I have been able to take classes that work with my schedule.

  • 07/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Currently, the J.J.C. Police Departmentâ??s staff of twelve sworn highly-trained Police Officers is supplemented by fifteen full and part-time civilian, non-sworn, Campus Safety Officers, six Dispatchers, three Records Clerks, one Department Secretary as well as several Student Workers. Each year, notification of crime statistics is made to students, faculty and staff through the J.J.C. Student Handbook and the J.J.C.P.D. informational booklet. Copies of the report may also be obtained on the J.J.C.P.D. Web site and at the JJCPD headquarters located on Main Campus

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, there are no fraternities or sororities at Joliet Junior College. The only Greek Life on campus are either academic or major-specific honor societies including Phi Theta Kappa International (General Academic), Alpha Beta Gamma (Business), Delta Psi Omega (Theater), and Sigma Delta Mu/Alpha Mu Gamma (Foreign Languages)

    Clubs and Activities

    There are approximately 30-40 active clubs and organizations on campus including honorary societies, multicultural organizations, political groups, professional groups, recreational groups, spiritual groups, and special interest groups. During the fall and spring semesters, a campus-wide club and organizational recruiting event called J.J.C. Mainstreet is held along with a Welcome Week event during the first week of each semester, including summer sessions.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuter students, Distance education/online students, Non-traditional students (25 and over), Military students (active duty/veteran), Minority students (regardless of gender, race, religion, or sexual orientation)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a bridge located on the west side of the main campus where a lot of the campus-wide activities are held. The bridge has a fantastic view of a man-made lake running through the campus as well as an erected memorial on the center part of the bridge honoring military veterans who had attended J.J.C. in the past.

    Bang for the buck

    Most affordable in-state and out of state community college tuition, per credit hour. Financial aid and scholarships available for those who qualify. Multitude of student services available including special departments/programs for student veterans, minority students, students with disabilities, and honor students.

    What to do for fun

    Terrific athletic dept. (baseball, basketball, soccer, softball, volleyball, cheerleading). Spectacular fine arts dept. including theater productions, band/chorale recitals, and art gallery. Recreational activities including fitness center, nature trails, and cyber cafe. Campus publications including student newspaper and student literary magazine. Year-round campus-wide activities.

    Food and Dining

    There is a newly remodeled cafeteria, coffee bistro, and smoothie bar multiplex conveniently located at the crossroads of three campus building wings. Snack kiosks are available at three different locations on campus during midday hours. The Chef's Table, located on northwest side of campus, is a full-service restaurant, providing table service with a friendly atmosphere and features contemporary American cuisine, all prepared from scratch by talented culinary students. Major credit and debit cards are accepted. Student dining cards are available for financial aid students.

    Dorm Life

    Fully furnished units, private bedrooms and other great amenities, in an environment that promotes personal growth and community responsibility with respect for individual differences. The Students First residence life program provides students with activities, events, resources and information he or she needs to make time at J.J.C. both memorable and successful. Located within walking distance to main campus. Financial aid accepted (for those who qualify).

    Academic Rigor

    Overall curriculum can be challenging to students but depends on various factors (learning style, commitment to class, interaction with instructors, etc.) If a student is struggling, consult with the instructor as soon as possible--DO NOT wait until midterms, finals or other important assignment deadlines to ask for help. J.J.C. offers tutoring services for various subjects (Writing, Math, Science, etc.) and general academic skills in both online and in-person formats.

    Tips for prospective students

    Determine your academic goals. If you plan to transfer to a four-year institution with a major all planned out, consult with a counselor AND an academic advisor to map your class schedules for the next 2 to 3 years; same rules apply if you plan to obtain only your Associates degree or technical/vocational certificate. If you are undecided about your major, J.J.C. has a wonderful Career Services dept. with a terrific staff that can assist you in selecting a career and give you all the details about a job (skill set, salary, etc.) Once you determine your skill strengths and weaknesses, your next step would be to consult with a counselor and an academic advisor to plan out your class schedules.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College is the most affordable community/junior college in the state of Illinois. J.J.C. has an open-door policy for students who are looking to continue their education after interruptions in life or who are looking for a fresh start in their academic career. J.J.C. also has a very diverse student population, not only from the Chicagoland area but from across the country and even around the world.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I never feel safe and I am a pretty large guy.

    Greek Life

    no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    none really spark my interest.

    Great for these types of students

    Broke, paying out of pocket, or unsure of intended major.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    North campus is the best out of all the campuses. helpful staff here as well.

    Bang for the buck

    very affordable! this is what kept me at the school!

    What to do for fun

    leave.

    Food and Dining

    I've seen the food and would not eat it.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    I don't feel much quality in the education.

    Tips for prospective students

    one tip I can give is if you're going to attend here take as many credit hours as possible to get out as fast as possible. Another tip is try to take your classes at their north campus it is a far better place then the main campus.

    In three sentences

    I think believe Joliet Junior College is a affordable place and excellent to complete your associates. Even though the low cost has help me afford school I would not recommend this school to a friend. I felt like I was just a number here and Staff is very unhelpful.

  • 08/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always visible in the halls and in cars, you will never feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    If you want a home away from home living on campus is great. This is a great alternative to going far away from home, and a very affordable price. If you don't like a huge campus, you want quiet and your pockets to have a smaller hole then this is for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are a lot of college fairs, and when different holidays come up competitions and choices of clothing get interesting

    What to do for fun

    For fun if you have a car there are countless things to do. If you are living on campus I suggest you make friends with a person who has a car, because there's not much to do on campus. If you're into sports than, that may occupy most of your time. If you are just going to school an playing no sports and don't have a car I suggest you find someone who does or you will be bored.

    Food and Dining

    food is good, I love the morning food the best cause its hot and fresh depending on what time you have class, the coffee is always hot thought, and the frappes are great.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on what type of environment you want to live in depicts on how your dorm will be. You can have a room to your self, you care share your room with another person, or share your room with three other people. Each dorm comes with their own kitchen, depending on what style of room you choose you can have your own bathroom. I like living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Choose professors wisely, a site called Rate my Professor is really helpful when it comes to choosing your teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    You are going to meet someone new every day, if you give it the effort. Definitely wear comfortable shoes if your classes are scattered in different builds. NEVER take a seven o'clock class if your not a morning person. The food is okay but expensive, if you live on campus I hope you know how to cook.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College has a wide range of academic opportunities. It is a diverse well knit school, you will see new faces everyday. Joliet Junior College needs to bring back the football team.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If students want to have fun off campus they can attend to different events that go on in the Will County area. Sometimes some college students also attend to Chicago or Naperville just to experience a great time with their friends.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a new time student is transferring or going to Joliet Junior College the first time I would recommend scheduling a Campus tour to JJC just so each student can see how beautiful and modernized the school is. If students need help or needs tutoring they can schedule a tutoring session for any class either online or at the campus. If a student attends high school at Will County in Illinois, and wants to earn early credits for Joliet Junior College they can talk to their guidance counselor to see if their school has classes that offers Joliet Junior College Courses.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College is one of the best colleges I have attended. In my opinion I would say this school is rated a 5 out of 5, and the reason for this is because this school has so much opportunity to offer to students and the community. Joliet Junior College should be rated as the best college in Illinois so far, and this college is affordable for every student.

  • 10/16/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    For those students that ar looking to save money attending college look no further. I decided to stay to recieve my associates degree for three years. I am now looking to transfer to a 4-year school. I saved so much money starting off at a junior college. Many people think junior college is not for them... I did too, but I realize it was the best choice starting out.

  • 11/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Criminal justice students will have a good time here.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have found that most of the instructors in the criminal justice and math departments are good teachers. The English department at this college has some good teachers and some not so good ones. Before taking any English course ask other students who their instructors were and find out which ones are the good ones. This college is rather large and can sometimes be confusing to navigate. Any students interested in attending should make an effort to locate their classrooms before classes for the semester begin. One of the advantages of attending this college is getting a two year degree and then transferring to a four year college. Transfer students should speak with an adviser from where they will get their four year degree to determine which classes will transfer. Sometimes it is not necessary to get a two year degree before transferring. If you take an online class here, you must stay on top of the coursework or it will quickly get out of hand.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes here are less expensive than at most four year colleges. The advantage adds up for those looking to transfer to a four college as any classes that transfer will save time and money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have found a chess club and a criminal justice club among the large variety of groups and organizations available at this college. Students should consider joining one.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the instructors are willing to help those who are having trouble understanding the material. I have found that just asking an instructor to explain or clarify a point yields much useful information.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is very important on the campus. I feel very safe there!

    Greek Life

    Large diversity of students attend.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to be a a member of!!!

    Bang for the buck

    I am a mother of four sons and grandchildren. It's great to be on the Honor Roll at fifty-one years old and teaching my kids and grand-kids, you can do it at any age!

    What to do for fun

    Lots of things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is wonderful, I would highly recommend it.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Each class challenged me and I loved the challenge. The studying pushed me to achieve more than I believed I could. I had the desire to accomplish my goals and JJC definitely kept me encouraged and motivated!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Communication with your Professors and the staff at JJC. They are there to help each student achieve. Going back to school was the best decision I have ever made!

    In three sentences

    Attending Joliet Junior College is the best decision I have ever made. The Professors there have given me motivation, belief in myself and the desire to contribute all I can to this world. My life has a new meaning since attending JJC.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    sports

    Food and Dining

    never ate there

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused,and motivated

    In three sentences

    Some teachers there are very helpful and understanding. The fasfa service was really unhelpful and did not show any interest at all to helping a student in need. Its very easy to transfer schools from there.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    join one of the many clubs. try out for one the sporting teams. become a tutor for many different subjects.

    Food and Dining

    fairly good food. a quality facility that is very new and is very clean. would choose it over some restaurants.

    Tips for prospective students

    take it serious although you are in a junior college its no different than any other 4 year institute. get as much as you can out of this experience.

    In three sentences

    an overall good experience with caring teachers. better than how people promote junior colleges usually. it was a great decision in an economic stance and

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is plenty of campus safety police around. i personally have never had any issues but every time i turn around i see some type of campus security.

    Great for these types of students

    this school is great for all types of students. i first started attending jjc when i was 18 and right out of high school. there were many other kids my age there at the same time. however due to some personal things i stopped going to school. it has been 8 years and i have decided to start classes again. there is an even wider age variety this time around and i feel very comfortable in my classes. it is a very diverse student body.

    What to do for fun

    there are many different activities to get involved in and a wide variety of groups to join. just last week there was many displays all along main street to show quite a few options to get involved in and it was surprising to see everything that was offered.

    Food and Dining

    the food in the cafeteria is pretty good. there are pleanty of choices to meet everyone's needs and likes.

    Dorm Life

    i do not have any experience with the dorm life. i have never seen the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    this semester is the first time i have ever taken an online course but i love it. it's nice to still be able to interact with other students in the class too. i am also taking math which is generally a horrible subject for me but this teacher is fabulous.

    Tips for prospective students

    my main tip for prospective students is to set up an appointment with a counselor to decide what classes you need to take and get an idea of what order to take them in. i had a great experience with my counselor and this semester has gone very well for me.

    In three sentences

    joliet junior college is an excellent choice for continuing education because of the availability and types of classes offered. i have had great success with both online and classroom setting classes. the environment is very welcoming and comfortable.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    they have many different sports and activities.

    Food and Dining

    foods good.

    Dorm Life

    i live at home, i don't know.

    Academic Rigor

    great.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't skip class, it may be boring but its your life actually starting in college.

    In three sentences

    this college is great for anyone who wants to continue their education after high school or later on in life. there is a great staff of teachers who are willing to help you. they also have housing so if you don't want to live at home you can stay there!

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    not on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    apply early, and seek help from counselors and financial aid. when in doubt, ask questions.

    In three sentences

    joliet junior college is awesome. the counselors and financial aid staff are very helpful and patient. if i had to rate the college on a scale of 1-10, i would give it a 10.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    going to any of the sporting events is a lot of fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    get to the school early if you want a good parking spot.

    In three sentences

    joliet junior college is a good college to go to if you are not sure what you want to do in life. the staff is very helpful with want your goals are in life. the classes are a lot more challenging than most people think

  • 03/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it seems very safe. i have not heard of anything bad happen here.

    What to do for fun

    a lot of activities and clubs to get involved in and stay occupied.

    Food and Dining

    the new cafeteria just opened not to long ago. it is awesome! the food is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you attend joliet junior college make sure you get involved. this college offers a lot of clubs and activities, which will help in scholarship applications.

    In three sentences

    joliet junior college is a very peaceful community college. i love it because there is less than 30 students in each class. teachers are available when ever a student needs help.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There's a McDonalds and a Dunkin Donuts right down the street from the campus. There is also a cafe in the main building on campus. Your also able to bring your own food or drinks into the class.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. There are apartments through the school, but hard to get into. Most people who go here live close enough to just commute.

    Academic Rigor

    Although you go over everything that will be on an exam before it, it is hard to retain all the information they give. You will more than likely have homework for each class everyday. You should study everyday for each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Introduce yourself to people in the class. When exams are coming up make sure you study everything you learned since the last exam. Make sure you don't sign up for more classes then you can handle.

    In three sentences

    It's hard to meet new people, everyone tends to keep to themselves. Most of the classes involve a lot of group work. The teachers make sure everyone knows what they're learning.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are 3 Greek programs, I believe at Joliet Junior College, one being the Honors Program. More for school, less for partying here. No buildings, I believe, but there is a lounge for the Honors Society.

    Clubs and Activities

    Huge variety of clubs and activities, should be no issues finding something to suit you.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are looking for a cheaper start, didn't get accepted into other colleges/universities due to ACT or G.P.A, or students who want to transfer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The bridge is really cool part of the campus, it goes across the river that flows past the college, and a majority of the events are held here.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in district, full time can be anywhere from $1500-$2300, much better then $10000-$20000 at a university.

    What to do for fun

    They have plenty of clubs, activities, and days with events, such as talents shows, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Food is actually pretty good, and the cafeteria is new and nice, just needs more seating.

    Dorm Life

    Most students who attend Joliet Junior College live close by and therefore, don't live there, some buildings close by, and heard that they were decent, but don't know from experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Have a huge variety of classes, with multiple professors teaching. Some are harder then others, for example clearly a calculus class will be harder then, world history.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would go here for your first 2 years and receive your associates and then transfer.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College is a great place to start if you plan on transferring eventually to a graduate school. Downsides are it's massive attendance, with limited parking and class sizes.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've heard of very minimal issues. Just the occasional theft, but nothing life threatening.

    Great for these types of students

    Financially strapped or those returning to school after a break to raise a family or further careers.

    Bang for the buck

    I have completed 27 credit hours at $103/hour. Even at that price it is much cheaper than the alternative and definitely a great option.

    What to do for fun

    The events on the bridge and the concourse are definitely things that should be looked into. There was a dunk tank last fall!

    Food and Dining

    The new dining centers and small kiosks are stocked with good food, though it is marked up a bit. They have a good variety of junk food and super healthy food.

    Dorm Life

    On campus housing is offered, but it is typically for the athletes who have been 'scouted'. I've heard from a cop I know on campus that there are a lot of problems with partying there.

    Academic Rigor

    I gave it a fairly low score because as a Junior College, most classes I've taken have been Gen.Ed. classes that I had just taken in high school. If you choose to be in the Honors program, which I highly suggest, the classes will be a bit tougher, but there is much less busy work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Though the tuition is much more afordable, I definitely would suggest that you get the ISBN's for the books required for your classes and try to find as many on Amazon as possible. Because it is a small school, make the best of the events on the bridge. There is free food, games, things to win, and it is all in good fun.

    In three sentences

    A fairly small campus that is easy to navigate, it makes the transition from high school to college. Also, the financial aspect of it is much easier to handle with tuition that is a fraction of the cost of a bigger unicersity. Friendly staff and teachers are another plus to this fantastic school!

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many campus police and security on campus. The campus police maintain a secure environment for students and staff.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to choose from when it comes to clubs and activities. This is the highlight of your college life experience. There are also many field trips that you can participate in. For instance with Office of Multicultural Student Activities I went on college visits and the Holocaust museum. I am involved in the Natural Science Club. We go on field trips to the medical school, the Museum of Surgical Science, the Morton arboretum, the Shedd Aquarium and the Argonne national laboratory. I am also involved in the InterVarsity Christian Fellowship. We go on fall retreats and weekend long conferences to spend time with God and to have a good time. There are many opportunities for involvement through student clubs and organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    JJC prepares students for the transition to a four year university. Itâ??s also great for adults that are returning to school after a long time.

    Bang for the buck

    JJC has saved my family and I a lot of money. The tuition is a lot less expensive than a University. JJC is an affordable and accessible college.

    What to do for fun

    There are many fun and exciting activities to get involved in. A wide range of activities to attend are talent shows, dances, theatre productions, sporting events, daytime activities on the bridge and many more. The last week in April for Spring Fling week is not to miss. There many activities going on during that week such as free food, free earth day t-shirt giveaways and fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but it can be a little expensive. They offer many choices of food. You can consider sub sandwiches, the grill station, healthy foods, grab-n-go items, salad bar and vending. You can also choose smoothies, hot chocolate, coffee and many other drinks. The cafeteria is clean and new. It's a great spot to hang out with friends and to have lunch. You can also dine outside in our picnic area. The cafeteria stay open from 7 am - 7 pm Monday - Thursday. On Fridays it stays open from 7am - 2:30 pm.

    Dorm Life

    At JJC the Centennial Commons provide housing for students. It provides fully furnished units, private bedrooms and great amenities. Also housing provides activities, events and resource information.

    Academic Rigor

    I am learning a lot from all my classes. I will take what I learned from all my classes and apply it to my career. Always stay focus in class and it will help you tremendously when pursuing your career. If you study hard and complete any assignments you will do well in all your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend talking to your counselor of what classes you need to take. Counselors welcome new students with academic, transfer, career planning and personal concerns. I would also recommend taking advantage of the tutoring services. Tutoring has helped me tremendously with my homework and assignments. The college offers a wide variety of free tutoring services.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College is a very smart choice. Students can save thousands of dollars while getting an education that will prepare them for a lifetime of success. Students can get involved in many clubs and activities to make their college experience enjoyable.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Have never seen/heard about any fights. (From the 2011-2012 Student Handbook): Main Campus-2010: 7 Aggravated Assault/Battery; 80 Theft; 1 Motor Vehicle Theft; 3 Theft from Motor Vehicle; 3 Drug Abuse/Violations; 4 Arrest: Drug Law Violations ZERO: murders, sex offenses, arson, robbery, burglary, liquor law violations, hate crimes, weapons violations, arrests: illegal weapons, arrests: liquor law violations. JJC is a really friendly environment and everybody is very welcoming.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many different clubs. Clubs for different majors, religions, if you like agriculture, farming, science, math. We have sports too.

    Great for these types of students

    -Students that are looking to save money while taking general education courses -Students that would like to take online courses -Students near the area that would like to commute -Students that like a smaller school setting -Students that like diverse teaching styles

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most well-known spot at JJC is the bridge over the lake. This is where many activities are held and it's a great view of the beautiful lake.

    Bang for the buck

    I would 100% recommend JJC. You can get all of your general education classes out of the way for 75% less money than you would be paying at a university.

    What to do for fun

    In the fall, JJC has a Welcome Week with live performances and free food. Last year you got to make your own stuffed bear. It was really fun. Also there's the bridge, where you can hang out, study, or watch TV. When it's nice out, there's the lake that people come and sit out by. There are frequent activities on the bridge such as blood drives, karaoke, stress-relieving sessions with yoga and massages, and other entertaining things.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria and it is pretty large. Depending on the time of day it's usually not difficult to find a place to sit. The food is pretty good too, not too badly priced. Just take into consideration that things have tax added on to them. Seasoned fries all the way!

    Dorm Life

    JJC is a big commuter campus, so I personally have not lived on campus. The housing looks nice though, has a PACE bus for traveling, and a gate that's kept locked as far as I can see. It looks very safe and pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your student-style and which professor you get, classes are fairly dependent on the individual. If you put in the work, you'll get the grades. Every professor is different though, and every professor has a unique teaching style. This is where ratemyprofessor.com can come in handy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use ratemyprofessor.com, but don't rely on it; it can be very wrong because sometimes lazy students who received poor grades write bad reviews! If you want a good parking spot, get there early; otherwise prepare to do a little walking. Register as early as possible for the classes you want before the spots fill up. Once you register, visit the school and walk through your schedule so you know where you're going. And don't be shy! Everybody is friendly.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College is the perfect way to start off your college career, especially if you aren't sure what you'd like to major in. You'll find yourself in a friendly environment with extremely helpful peers and professors, along with being very cost effective. It is a comfortable transition from high school or if you're trying to go back to school, and I would recommend it for anybody of any age.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are emergency poles all over in case an emergency emerges

    Bang for the buck

    It is not as expensive as an university, but they do not give any less effort. The teachers are very dedicated to giving the students the best education as possible.

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs and activities that students can participate in on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I am unsure of the food here. I have never eaten here, but I have heard that it is not to bad.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm here, so I could not give you an accurate rating on this topic.

    Academic Rigor

    It's all about how much time you're willing to put in and how much you expect to get out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    I suggest looking at RateMyProfessor.com while searching for a teacher. The website will help students to see how that teacher teaches. Some students prefer certain techniques so that website is a good source. It is also important to stay on top of the homework and class work. In college you do not always get homework, but that does not mean that you should go home and do nothing. It is important to read the book and sometimes teach yourself and ask the professor to cover things that you do not understand.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College professors are very technology literate. The teachers are dedicated to the students knowledge. Students are encouraged to be the best in their area of study.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    26 of 62

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    A lot of different options for majors. Good for undecided students and those who want to save a LOT of money.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe campus with a active campus police force.

    Greek Life

    The only Greek life I am aware of is the Phi Theta Kappa honors society.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to save big on their first two years of tuition.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a planetarium located on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a transfer student JJC can save you thousands by getting your per-requisites out of the way. If you plan on only getting an associates then a competitive entry program is the way to go.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of social activities and clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    The food court serves pretty good food at a reasonable price.

    Dorm Life

    Student housing is ample and very nice. It is also walking distance to the main campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes above the 100 level are challenging. Being able to adapt to your professors teaching style is a big plus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well on the entrance exam. Brush up on your math and also check out your prospective teachers on ratemyprofessor.com.

    In three sentences

    Great community college. Affordable and several competitive entry programs that pay well with a two year degree.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see the security cars everywhere and have never had a security problem on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It's really affordable, but you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club maybe? I only go there for classes and don't look for fun when I'm there.

    Food and Dining

    Great food with a great variety and it's all homemade. I look forward to a different soup everyday

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in one because there are so few and ridiculously expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    You don't have to pay attention to get a good grade, kinda depressing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look up the teachers before you choose to take the class and make sure you have enough time to get from one class to another, the buildings are far apart.

    In three sentences

    The best part about this school is that it's inexpensive and has classes most of the day. The competence of the teachers varies greatly so you never know what you might get. The general education classes can be ridiculously pointless and boring, but if you're looking for a cheap start to your college life this is a good choice.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good security system

    What to do for fun

    I babysit my little niece and nephew

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent helpful resourceful school.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    30 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on campus, even when I would leave my night classes at about 9 or 9:30. I always saw security guards and campus police in squad cars patrolling.

    Greek Life

    There isn't one.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a bunch of clubs. Every semester all the clubs set up tables and recruit new members. There is also an excellent honors program for those who are interested.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are working, trying to get an affordable education, or want to attend a small campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is pretty standard and compact.

    Bang for the buck

    You can't beat JJC's education for the price the institution charges. The school is well kept, in a nice area, and most the teachers and staff are super friendly. I would recommend this school to anyone who is trying to cut costs for education without sacrificing the quality of the education .

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs on campus. Also, every week JJC hosts events on the bridge, such as free food, workshops, music, etc. It is a nice place to hang out, get to know people, and learn come culture.

    Food and Dining

    A new cafeteria has been built and its really nice. The food overall is okay. Some entrees are better than others but overall the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    I have never been in the dorms. From what I have heard though, they seem okay.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are fair, very helpful, and just want to see you succeed. There are a few classes that can be very difficult, such as the science classes, but they are not impossible to pass as long as the work load is kept up with.

    Tips for prospective students

    My advice is to get to know your teachers and classmates. Since the classes are small, this makes for great discussions. Also, keep up with the work load and no one should have a hard time getting passing grades in any classes.

    In three sentences

    While a small school, JJC is full of diverse students. Most teachers are very knowledgeable and helpful. JJC is a great place to go to get affordable education.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police on staff at all hours. Their have not been any issues on campus in a couple years. When ever their are any minor issues the campus police handle the issues quickly and quietly. The campus police are also always available when ever any automobile problems arise. New to the campus are emergency bottoms located in the parking lots.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa and Alpha Lambda Phi are honors clubs that are located on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are tons of clubs and activities on campus. To name the categories: Honorary Societies, Multicultural Organizations, Political Groups, Professional Groups, Recreational Groups. Special Interest Groups, Spiritual Groups, and many other Extracurricular Activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone who wants to do well and get as much as they can for their money. If you want to work hard you will do well anywhere, but JJC is a very good learning environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their are no unusual traditions that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    JJC is very affordable and I have gotten a lot more for my money then I would have ever hopped for. My professors have helped me with anything I have needed after class. I have gotten professional training I have needed free of charge just by talking to my professors and being involved. The more you're involved the more you get out of it.

    What to do for fun

    Their are a lot of clubs to join, their is something for everyone. I would recommend joining one. It helps socially and it will help you meet a lot of new people with the same interest.

    Food and Dining

    Their are quiet a bit of choices as far as eating. The food is good, and the dinning areas is new and has a lot of space. I wish their was more as far as eating healthy and the food can be really expensive on a college budget.

    Dorm Life

    Their are no dorms available, only really expensive apartments on campus. I would recommend getting an apartment near by, or living at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Everything always depends on the professor one has choose. I have had some amazing professors since I have attended because I research my professors and ask around before I pick my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest tips I can give our research your professors on rate my professor and rate my teacher . com to make sure you get a professor that works for you, get to know your professors, and get involved.

    In three sentences

    JJC has been a great place to get started and keep my in school and on the right track to finishing. JJC is very affordable, my classes are small enough to get one on one time with my professors, and the more you get involved the better your experience will be.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You get a lot in the way of college life for the small bill that is payed for classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities that the college puts on such as karaoke and free food.

    Food and Dining

    The JJC cafeteria has, for the most part, good food. There is definitely a variety of things to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college, there really aren't dorms, however there are student apartments, although I do not know much about them. Most of the people attending commute from other locations.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the classes you take, but I would say overall, it is not bad academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I would give to students wanting to attend the college would be to register early because spots in classes go quickly. Also, once you have your schedule, I would make sure you go and look to see where your classrooms are before the first day of school. It makes the first day less stressful.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College is a great community college where you can find the vastness of a large university with the closeness of small classes sizes and plenty of student activities. There is something for everyone here and it is easy to find the place for you. Its also a great college for those who need to watch the budget.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Look for the Bridge!

    Bang for the buck

    You will love the price!

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs, so you will have to see what fits you!

    Food and Dining

    The food is affordable and taste good and you can be on a meal plan!

    Dorm Life

    Is amazing the people are nice and will help you!

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to go there and get started. It can only hurt you if you wait and do nothing!

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College is a amazing school. this college helps with whatever you need help with. The professor are there to make sure you can be the best you can be.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The students aren't really all that involved in any activities, most people are just trying to get their classes done and move onto their four year university.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending, when you go to register make sure you be clear and up-front with a counselor to make sure you are taking the right classes for your intended major. You won't get the right help if you don't ask for it.

    In three sentences

    Small school, very easy campus to get around. The faculty there are helpful and understanding. Very clean, organized, and up-to-date school.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own branch of the Joliet Police Department that are called the JJC Police. They are very friendly and are always looking out for the safety of the students!

    What to do for fun

    Welcome week is definately one the best things I have experienced. They gave free charicatures, a chance to build a bear, and they do a raffle. I won a free Ipod! :)

    Food and Dining

    Food is very similar to cafeteria food at a high school. Although there sub sandwhiches are delicious and they also have blended coffee drinks.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, I live at home. Which is another great thing if you live in the area you can commute!

    Academic Rigor

    I love the school but for most of my classes they are pretty laid back and do not challenge me as much as I would like.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great way to save money and stay on track. If you want to graduate in 2 years make sure you schedule how many credit hours you need a semester. Lastly make sure that the classes you take will transfer to the school that you want to go to, if you dont know what school that is go for your associates and it will make transition to a 4 year university easier.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College is a place where the professors care and there are smaller class sizes so you get the help you need and are not overwhelmed by the size or what is expected of you. It makes the transition to college a little easier because it is not so intense and yo u can ease your way into it. It is also a very modern campus and very easy to navigate!

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I have not joined or looked into any fraternities, so I am unqualified to speak on their behalf.

    Clubs and Activities

    The student activities are vast and diverse. Really, anything you can think of, there's a club for it. If there isn't, creating a club is incredibly easy. At one point, there were even Student Republican and Democrat clubs, all run by the students with the blessing of the teachers. You will never get bored if you're into clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are unsure of their major or looking to get a couple of classes without spending much money will do well at JJC. The quality of the classes is on par with any real university, but much less expensive, and the teachers expect most of the students to attend specifically for this reason.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is located right over a river and near some woods. It's fun to walk around the woods between classes or sit by the river and do homework. There is a massive bridge above the river, which itself is a building. This is where most of the student activities happen.

    What to do for fun

    Joliet Junior College has a truly massive selection of clubs and student programs. Even if you aren't part of a club, you'll likely benefit from their work. There are monthly student appreciation days, where anything from free movie screenings and popcorn, to character drawings and massages have happened. As far as outside activities, the school is located near a couple of main streets in Joliet, which offers moderate entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The campus is near several fast food places, both corporate and independent. The school's cafeteria itself is mildly expensive, but they offer a wide variety of choices for the majority of the day.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms at JJC, but I have looked into them. They are in a gated community a very short way from the campus. There is a security force on patrol at all times, and the entire campus is quickly notified of any trouble in the dorms. Signs about vandalism and violence are rare, but put up with speed and efficiency.

    Academic Rigor

    The focus of Joliet Junior college is on meeting basic class requirements in order to transfer to a larger school. As such, the majority of classes available are standard level difficulty. While more advanced and challenging classes are available, they are much less frequent.

    Tips for prospective students

    The greatest thing you can do at Joliet Junior College is experiment. The classes are much cheaper than a four year university, so it's a great place to take a wide variety of courses and see what you like. Much better to do it now than later on and spend twice as much.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College is a great school for part time students, or as a starting point before transferring to a larger college. Most classes are available at multiple time during the day, including nights. The staff is experienced in transferring students, and are very helpful with advice and policies.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is constantly monitoring the building but never invading on personal space. You will feel safe here. The officers and guards do their best to maintain peace in a healthy learning environment.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to return to school, looking for an Associates Degree, looking to transfer, or just looking to learn for personal desire.

    Bang for the buck

    You will get what you payed for and more. Courses go from about 300-500 and to get full time status every semester, I have had to pay around $1,500 per semester which is amazing for getting an associates degree. The education here will run you like a university student for very reasonable prices. This is a great midway point for looking to transfer or getting a two year degree.

    What to do for fun

    Joliet Junior College has tons of groups to join and all are very open about joining. There are groups from gay/straight alliances to the newspaper team. There is a new community event every week and we frequently have non-for-profit groups come out for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is good for students on campus looking for a quick bite. Don't expect to get 5 star meals. It's college so there are better things to worry about than food.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors care about your well-being in the class, but some professors care less than others. Sometimes you're left on your own and sometimes the professor tries to make it easy so they can get out easy. It's all about finding the right professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never think you can do it on your own. If you feel like you need to talk to someone for help, do it. The counselors are here to help you. The older people here can help you so you can take on their position in the world and help people yourselves. Never procrastinate on any work. If you need to get something done, do it as soon as possible. Always ask your professor how you are doing and what you can change. It can really raise your grade.

    In three sentences

    The academics are great. Most of the teachers really care about the education of their students and are eager to help. There are multiple opportunities to get help if you need it and these same people will help you transfer if you need to.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is quite expensive so I bring my own food, but they did open up a 'Chef's table' in the old cafeteria and everything there is cheap because culinary students make the food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    I'm a nursing student so naturally the classes are tough. But the teachers really help in every way they can to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    At first I didn't want to go to JJC but now I'm glad I did. I've met so many wonderful people there and the classes I've had are amazing.

    In three sentences

    I'm in my second semester in Joliet Junior College and I like it there so far. I have learned a lot already and the teachers I've had are great. There are also a lot of fun activities that are held in the bridge.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good. you get many choices to choose from .

    Dorm Life

    Well im not currently staying in the dorms. I hear they are worth the price.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say going to any college you would have to be ready to be independent and responsible. Anything can distract you but its your job to stay on track.

    In three sentences

    I would say joliet Junior college is a great environment. I love the school and the program i'm in. I would recommend the school to a friend.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food isn't great, but it could be worse!

    Academic Rigor

    I had some teachers and classes I didn't care for, but some I absolutely loved.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't freak out if you can't go away to school your freshman year. It's sooo worth the money saved by attending a community college.

    In three sentences

    A lot of college kids look down on you if you attend community college, but it's one of the smartest decisions I've ever made. I've saved my family so much money while getting the education and degree I need. I've truly enjoyed my time at JJC.

  • 01/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    visible

    Greek Life

    Don't participate

    Clubs and Activities

    Don't participate

    Great for these types of students

    on a budget

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not aware of any

    What to do for fun

    Don't participate

    Food and Dining

    Don't eat there

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class Do homework as soon as possible Smile

    In three sentences

    Affordable Convenient Familiar

  • 01/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Anyone can walk into the building, so safety doesn't seem to be evident in the campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life at Joliet Junior College because it is a community college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities to choose from. There is something for everyone. They also have a new student lunch to help student become more comfortable and so that they can learn about different opportunities on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Joliet Junior College saves students a lot of money. As a full time student, my classes only cost about two thousand dollars, books included. At the four year college I attended last semester, it was much more than that. Also, FAFSA covered all of my Joliet Junior College fees.

    What to do for fun

    There is a rec center and available seating to sit with your friends to do a study group or to chat over coffee. There is also a very nice library to go online and there is a bookstore as well. There is also extracurricular activities you could be involved in.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria with available seating throughout the campus and multiple different locations to buy food. There are also coffee machines and vending machines. They have a variety of different options for everyone.

    Dorm Life

    Having never stayed in the Joliet Junior College dormitories, I am unable to give a rating.

    Academic Rigor

    Attending two colleges before Joliet Junior College, I have not seen much of a difference between them except that JJC is much more affordable and closer to home. The classwork is difficult but feasible if the student puts forth the effort. The teachers push their students to work hard, and really do care for their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even some of your credits from high school can count as a college credit at Joliet Junior College, depending on the class. Going to a community college saves you a lot of money in the long run, and it gets your general education classes out of the way. There are also counselors to help you decided on a major if you are confused or indecisive.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College is a large community college. However, the classes are very easy to locate and it saves a lot of money compared to a four year college. After attending Eastern Illinois University and taking general education classes, I knew that Joliet Junior College was the best decision for me until I decided on a major.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus police around campus in and around campus.

    Bang for the buck

    They have different options to pay for classes

    What to do for fun

    Hangout with friends in the cafe area. Attend an athletic event.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check your student email. Pay attention in class. Be sure to participate in class.

    In three sentences

    It's a small community college that will work with you. The professors here are very helpful. Great atmosphere.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Both the old and new cafeteria serve awesome food. The old cafeteria is made by the culinary students and is quite good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early. Use the services. Manage time.

    In three sentences

    JJC is apretty good school. All the buildings are connected so all of those going these past few years don't have to suffer through the cold winter of walking from building to building. It offers many services that all should take advantage of.

  • 05/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As secure as it can be in this crazy world.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone not yet ready to leave home; those who want to save money on the expense of a four-year degree; those with disabilities.

    Bang for the buck

    If you live in-district, you can't get a better deal.

    Food and Dining

    There are few choices immediately around the main campus. They do have a cafeteria. I choose to save money and take my own food.

    Dorm Life

    I lived at home and commuted to and from school.

    Academic Rigor

    I am an organized, determined person. I have had as little as 11 credit hours per semester to as many 19 while maintaining a part-time 20+ hours a week job. If I can succeed, so can you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead and register early. Review your professors prior to registering.

    In three sentences

    JJC is a great place to get your general education courses completed, earn an associates degree, or learn a trade. JJC offers plenty of opportunity to get involved if you so choose. JJC has good satellite locations and on-line course too.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around. I honestly haven't felt safer in a school.

    Clubs and Activities

    You can be involved many different clubs and activities that they have going on.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that I spent just enough for the 2 years I was there. Very affordable. They work with you financially in different areas.

    What to do for fun

    They have different events going on all of the time. Joliet Junior College is very much into involving their student body in different events

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are challenging others are not. It depends on who you have as a professor and how serious the student is about his/her academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go in prepared to work. Go in with an agenda.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College on a scale of 1 to 10 is a 6. I feel it's still on a high school level, but in a way it's not.

  • 06/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food from the cafeteria is ok, but a little expensive. There is another cafeteria where they sell food made by the culinary students and the food there is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm, but there are dorms very close dorms near the campus that are convenient for students.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the teacher. Some are very easy going and others are more challenging. Challenging teachers push you to apply yourself and it is very rewarding to receive a good grade in those classes. Teachers are very helpful whenever I visit them during office hours

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend that new students get involved in clubs and campus activities and to take advantage to the resources available because there are a lot. I also recommend that students register early for classes since they fill fast. There are a lot of scholarships available from the school and I recommend that students apply for scholarships offered at this college.

    In three sentences

    It is a good community college, there are a lot of support services available for students, especially for first generation college students. Academic advisors are very helpful and supportive. I do wish this school had more school spirit, though.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe campus. There are campus police in every parking lot outside of every building. There are also campus police in most hallways and throughout the inside of the school. There are storm rooms where students can go when storms are threatening. Also, there are security lights throughout the campus that will flash blue in case of an emergency.

    Greek Life

    There is a small presence of fraternities and sororities here, but nothing like other schools. They do exist on a minimal level but they do not get much attention. However, others are still welcome to them, they just do not play a huge role on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is something out there for everyone. Music is a big deal here and there are numerous music clubs. There are also many agriculture and biology clubs. The school has a greenhouse and is also placed in a very diverse ecosystem, making it very easy to learn and conduct experiments.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students with open minds. Many cultures are exposed and differences are welcome. Having a laid back point of view will help you find peace at this school. However, you must also be a go-getter and someone who wants to be involved to really get the full experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I personally do not know of anything that unusual. The school does hold an annual pow wow, where Indians and Native Americans from numerous tribes put on a show for all the viewers who come.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering this is a junior college, it is very much so worth the money. The price is cheap, just over $100 per credit hour if you live in district. The courses and teachers are great and so many events that there is always something to do. You will gain experience just from attending a school with so many different people. This school welcomes differences and seems to really value their students.

    What to do for fun

    There is huge variety of extra curricular activities. The football team for this school is very well known and students keep up with the team like any other university. There are also many clubs, from multicultural clubs to music clubs. The school also hosts blood drives, free food events, and cultural events.

    Food and Dining

    A new cafeteria was recently built on to this school and it is much better than the previous one. It is very modern and roomy. There is a wide variety of food at a fair price. Lines are usually kept down to allow quick and fast service in between classes.

    Dorm Life

    This school recently built dorms. From what I hear, it is only available to full time students and it is low priced. The dorms are nicely kept up and are a good accent to this school. It doesn't seem to be crazy, students have fun but also keep up with their school work.

    Academic Rigor

    Entry level classes (100's) were tougher than I had expected them to be. It was difficult for me to keep up as a new student. However, the teachers make it easy to adjust and eventually you will get the hang of it. I will say that the higher level classes could be made more challenging. Most of the time spent is reviewing what was learned in lower level classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first thing a prospective student should do before they jump into full time classes is revise a plan. Meet with a counselor. Many people I know took classes they thought they needed, but actually wound up wasting that time. Know what you need to take and improve your time management skills.

    In three sentences

    This is fantastic for a junior college. It offers a variety of courses and programs to make college life easier for students. The teachers are extremely educated and interested in their students and subjects they are teaching.

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very secure.

    Greek Life

    Phi Theta Kappa

    Clubs and Activities

    Variety.

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing.

    Bang for the buck

    Free tutoring.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or sport.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. It is expensive though. Try to pack a lunch or get one after class.

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, the teachers are good here. Just do your best. No slacking at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your head up. School doesn't last forever. Teachers are nice here.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior college is a good college to go to. The college is dedicated to helping students. If I had the choice to choose again, I would still have picked JJC.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are always there, and the Joliet Police work with them to ensure safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Awesome because about once a month on the bridge, there is free food and different activities that students can join from a malachite band to a free massage and popcorn.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who want to go to a 4 year university but cannot afford the whole tuition. Also it is awesome for returning students who are active in their career and have a family because JJC has very flexible schedules.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a bridge that goes over a creek which connects the school. Just added a new building which has a whole side of it being windows which looks to the creek. We have a lot of wildlife, mainly deer and geese.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an awesome school for money because the classes are relatively low price so to get your general requirements done it is wonderful. It is better than going to a big school and paying thousands of dollars for what JJC offers at maybe two thousand, and that is a high price at our school. Average is about $1500 dollars a semester.

    What to do for fun

    For fun you join the different clubs, like the environmental club, the agricultural club. Join one of the many sports that are at JJC.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students one of the tips is to meet your classmates and make friends. All of the students are willing to help each other, and everyone is at JJC for a reason, and often times it is either to get a career in their fields with an associate or to transfer to a bigger college.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College has amazing teachers that work to help students get what at JJC for. The fellow students at Joliet Junior College are very diverse in ethnicity and age which makes the college interesting. Joliet Junior College also provides many services for different people, from day care to multicultural centers where students can find support.

  • 10/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just know that many student travel here and there is no social life what so ever

    In three sentences

    It is a good school talking price. There is no school spirt, but the teachers are good. Overall a good school for the price.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is an active campus security who actively eliminates threats. They also run practice procedures in the event that someone brought a weapon to the school.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to stay close to home as well get a good education will love this school. If you treat it as college then it will be one at a great price. You can live locally and plan your day around going to classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The culinary students have a restaurant they run in the old cafeteria. There is a cyber cafe along the main concourses as well. You can print ten pages a day for free in the T building computer lab as well.

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for. Either you have great teachers or you have absolutely terrible ones that should not be teaching. I have had some teachers who have given me examples for everything in the book and make it very easy to comprehend the material. Other teachers do not care what so ever, do not respond to emails, and will not actually teach you what the curriculum requires. Look up your teachers before taking their class to ensure you get a good one.

    What to do for fun

    The Office of Student Affairs (OSA) hosts numerous events every month and provides a calendar of events to the students. There are also many clubs also each of which have their own events going on each month. There are plenty of ways to get involved on campus and plenty of ways to have fun without getting involved in anything on campus either.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria serves mediocre food at best. There are nice salads and fresh made panini sandwiches that you can buy but at an increased cost. The fried food line is your best bet if you're on a budget and you are better off bringing a home made lunch than eating that sort of food. The only redeeming quality of it is that the food staff is very friendly and helpful. The culinary art students do run a restaurant periodically however! They sell exquisite food at an affordable price too.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs will be forcing you study about 40 hours a week. For example my major Nursing, I expect to be at the school about 8 hours monday through friday even though my classes only take up 2 hours out of the day. The work load is very strenuous but very fulfilling when you get decent marks in the class. Depending on your major and your program however the world load may vary greatly.

    Tips for prospective students

    The biggest mistake that a lot of people make about this school is that they treat it as a high school. The students are typically mediocre and don't care too much about their education. Avoid falling into this crowd of students, get your homework done and go to class. The programs are intense and you will be pushed to your limit studying once you are finished with your general education classes. Go into the school ready to treat it as a university because the classes are real.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College is a mediocre campus with a childish student body. The staff there can be rude but there are professors who will stick their neck out for you. The prices are cheap however so the value is well worth attending.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With campus police and security always on board, sometimes even when there is nothing wrong they are on patrol.

    Greek Life

    We do not have sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Only down fall is we no longer have a football team, but we still have to field to practice.

    Bang for the buck

    Worth it and cheaper than any other university for the same classes.

    What to do for fun

    With so many clubs and activities the student activity center is always busy. The outside court yard is always up for grabs and their is a cyber cafe for computer enthusiast.

    Food and Dining

    YUMMY! They have different choices everyday but love when they have peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. A sandwich and salad bar, meat-lover and vegetarian friendly. The culinary students even have their own restaurant that is open to the public;whether one is in the mood for formal sit-down or to go it is always good food.

    Dorm Life

    Centennial Commons is like living in a little community right next to campus. Walking distance to the campus, the gated apartments goes well with the college life.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the best professors teach here and with a wide variety of choices, college life can be made easier on the mind by choosing the right teacher. They also teach at the same level as any other Ivy league college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help with financial situations, fill out the FASFA as soon as possible and keep going back to the financial office. Do everything early and don't wait until last minute to turn in important documents.

    In three sentences

    If one wanted to continue their education right out of high school or wanted to get that one credit they didn't receive to graduate 20 years ago, this community college is the one of the best places to go. With so many programs and locations, students are able to complete their dreams. The teachers and counselors make transferring out to a bigger college or completing a degree easier.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities if not you can start one.

    Bang for the buck

    You can get degrees and certifications that will get you a job right after school.

    Food and Dining

    Great cafeteria

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers I have had so far have been great.

    In three sentences

    Good place to go if you're not sure on what to do yet. It's very inexpensive to attend here.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Up to date with all the safety features like text messaging email alerts. Also it is a small confined college so staying safe isn't a large concern.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer a minimal amount of interesting clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that aren't sure what they want to do or where they want to go. Also great for students who have to pay their own way through college.

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap school offering classes in most fields. Well worth the money spent to attend for a year or two.

    What to do for fun

    Have an outside life. JJC allows you to have a full time life outside of school even when attending as a full time student.

    Food and Dining

    As good as most colleges. Prices are comparable to most colleges as well. Nothing that stands out.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know from first hand experience. Like most that attend JJC we live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are fairly easy on the students knowing many have a life outside of classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save money and use junior college to acclimate yourself with college by starting here for a year or two before transferring to a 4 year school.

    In three sentences

    JJC is helpful when it comes to office admissions and guidance. Half of the teachers overcompensate for being at a junior college instead of a university. The other teachers show an interest in you as a student.

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 62

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Events on the bridge

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY! Make sure you attend class. Take notes and participate in class discussion.

    In three sentences

    Joliet Junior College is very diverse. The staff at JJC overall would be a 2.5/3 rating, some professors are awesome, others are so bad we're not sure how they are teaching at the college level, or at all. Even though this is a junior college, there are real course work and you should apply yourself seriously.

  • 03/03/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    57 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i prefer to eat at home but they have pretty good food.

    Academic Rigor

    great.

    In three sentences

    jjc is a great school to go to, if you are being smart about money.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are campus police on campus at all times

    Greek Life

    Never heard of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs. Not very interesting and not very attractive to students.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes it's affordable, but still a waste of money for the quality of education you receive.

    What to do for fun

    Absolutely nothing. You have to look for fun to have fun here.

    Food and Dining

    Cafe food is pretty good. Handmade sandwich's and different meals daily.

    Dorm Life

    Police are called to the dorms all the time. You couldn't pay me to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are not very personable, or engaged. Nor do they seem to care if students are successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only choose this college if you have to.

    In three sentences

    You get less than what you pay for. A very black and white experience from semester to semester. An affordable way to earn your Associate's degree.

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is pretty good for a school; prices aren't too bad either.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but from what I hear, the dorms are nice.

    In three sentences

    After going to a university and then a community college that I hated, JJC is a breath of fresh air. Beautiful campus, eco-friendly, and the teachers know what they are talking about.

  • 04/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Community college less expensive! For in district students tuition is approx $111 per credit hour.

    Food and Dining

    It's decent.

    Dorm Life

    I wouldn't know since I don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Do the work, study for exams and you'll be fine. Just because it's community college doesn't mean you shouldn't apply yourself.

  • 05/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police is always patrolling around the buildings and parking lots, emergency buttons located all around campus, and there's also women's self defense classes offered free for anyone of the community aged 18 or older!

    Greek Life

    No greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs on campus that are aimed toward any and all types of people and personalities. There are also various activities that are constantly going on around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Commuters, outgoing and always looking for something to do, hard workers, and those who are looking to save a little money on tuition costs.

    Bang for the buck

    Highly affordable and most classes transfer to other universities.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities going on in the main campus center, the C concourse, and the bridge on campus. There's anything from hanging out with friends, playing outdoor games, walking the trails around campus, singing karaoke with clubs, watching and participating in club activities and presentations, trivias, and working out in the fitness center. There's never a dull moment on campus. Odds are there will be numerous activities going on at once that might peak your interest, so poke around and find what suits you.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is decently priced, and there is anything from soups to salads, to burgers and hotdogs, to subs and pretzels and baked goods. The food is good but can get boring after a while. Travel down from the cafeteria in the main campus building to the old caf�?�©, where the culinary students prepare their goods, and then you are in for a real treat.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are not very good, but others are beyond excellent. I suggest looking into them before you sign up for their classes, and ask other students about the professors to see if their teaching styles will fit with your learning style. Depending on the class you sign up for, you might have your work set up for you. I know when I took my humanities and sciences I had to set aside more time for homework because the courses demanded more.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose your classes by what major you intend to pursue, and complete those first. Once you complete those, then choose some classes that sound interesting and see if they are what you would like to also consider pursuing. Allow yourself plenty of time to study. Consider finding a job on campus instead of off campus. Participate in student activities because it will help you make lots of friends quickly, and give you study partners when you need them!

    In three sentences

    JJC has great professors and plenty of tutoring that is free to students outside of class, which is very helpful. The school is full of activities with various clubs and organizations hosting them, frequent visiting job fairs, and outside visitors that perform shows and monthly karaoke on campus, but if you prefer to be away from all the noise, there are plenty of places around campus that include sitting outside to enjoy in quiet and to study. The campus is also very safe with campus police constantly patrolling around the parking lots and buildings, and the hallways to ensure everyone is safe and things are okay.

  • 10/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 62

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own police on campus. They manage traffic control and personal disputes just as the local authorities would.

    Clubs and Activities

    sports, band, choirs all the traditional groups, what stands out the most is the culinary programs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are on the go, night and online courses are available.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very affordable for those saving to transfer to a 4 yr university.

    What to do for fun

    There are the usual clubs and sports programs. I, personally have not taken advantage of them because I work full time and am currently enrolled in 18 credit hours.

    Food and Dining

    JJC has one of the best culinary programs, if you are at the school at the right time of day, the culinary students will be selling their assignments from the day. Regular cafeteria food is grossly overpriced and mediocre.

    Dorm Life

    There is on campus living, size is very limited.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are appx 16 weeks on average, teachers on the regular semester do not push subjects terribly fast, however this school offers summer courses which are highly accelerated and require more out of class time than desired.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your classes and the professors, ratemyprofessor.com is an amazing tool that can be the line between you having a great or terrible semester.

    In three sentences

    The school itself is located conveniently for all local students in the area. Majority of the professors are there to assist as much as they can, however there are a hand full of faculty there that present themselves as there for a paycheck and your success does not effect them. Class size is small, no more than 40 at the largest.