Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Jones County Junior College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 09/01/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your finacial aid done BEFORE dead lines, try to go to early registration so you can get all the classes you want, and get to the bookstore early for your books.

    Bang for the buck

    The free fitness center, racketball court, basketball court, and free internet are good things to have for students on in class. The teachers I have don't just teacher, they interact with the class. My Spanish teacher gave my class a chance to get a free 100 for mid-term grades, just by spelling a word out by using the Spanish alphabet. My Criminal Justice teacher starts topics for the class to discuss, to see what our views were.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something to do at JCJC. If not in class you can go to the free fitness center and work out or play racketball. You can go to the library and get online and just browse. There is always something to do.

    Am learning a lot

    So far my Criminal Justice teacher is awesome. He has been in law enforcement for over 20 years. All the instructors have enough experience to know what he/she is talking about. My Spanish 1 teacher's native language is actually Spanish.

  • 12/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Jones is great for any type of student really, whether you're the typical college student [straight out of high school] or what is considered a non-traditional student [someone not right out of high school]. The classes aren't so big that you get lost in the crowd, and your Professors make it a point to try and explain things in a manner which you can relate to. Overall learning here on campus is phenomenal.

    Tips for prospective students

    When making your class choices, remember not to overwhelm yourself because once you're here you'll find so many other great things to explore. For instance you could take a walk around the campus with friends, check out the band in the Fine Arts Building, catch a Baptist Student Union Service, chill in the BSU's all-new coffee shop, warm up with a hoodie from the bookstore, grab a bite to eat at the Sub Connection, take a few laps around the pool, or surf the net with free Wi-Fi offered all over the majority of the campus. And for those interested in sports, are you in for a treat. The football team is always looking for new and exciting recruits, as well as the baseball and soccer teams.

    Bang for the buck

    The reasonably priced tuition allows for more students who would normally fall into the non-collegiate educated category to obtain a valuable and life long educational oppurtunity which will enrich their lives with better oppurtunities.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here a lot more than I enjoyed the monotony of high school. Classes aren't stretched out and boring, most are quite intriguing and leave one with a surplus of knowledge. The ability to create your own schedule also gives the student the freedom to choose what days they get to have a break.

    Am learning a lot

    I am finding that I learn more here than when I was in high school. While in high school so many of your peers don't want to be in school, therefore they disrupt and cause distractions. Here at Jones the atmosphere is different. Majority of Professors understand the need to be open with their students on a personal level in order to spark enthusiasm in learning about the given topic. This ability allows for a better overall college experience. I hope to see those of you applying in the fall. Good Luck.

  • 05/12/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour as soon as possible and get as much info as you can during your Junior year of High School. Start applying for finantial aid of all kinds.

    Will enjoy being here

    The people at this college seemed to me realy nice and helpful. The teachers are patient with students and are willing to go the extra mile to teach all that they can; for what I can tell.

    Will learn a lot

    I plan to take on a course in Culinary Arts. I have taken a tour of the faculities that this class has to offer and I was very saticfied.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are fabulous campus police officers that constantly day in and day out protect the campus and everything in and surrounding it.

    Greek Life

    I am honestly not sure about the Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs and activities that one can be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for all types of students. Shy or outgoing both would enjoy this campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition that lived on in me is the breakfast at night to take a break from studying. During mid term and finals week the cafeteria serves a late dinner which is actually breakfast food to give all the studious students a break.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of Jones is very reasonable and possible for almost anyone wishing to pursue education.

    What to do for fun

    There are a number of activities offered throughout the semesters that are very fun. There are crawfish boils, breakfast for dinner, movie night on the lawn, and many many more.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria I believe was my overall favorite. The food was always fresh and the staff always so meticulous and caring.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Jones was the best two years of y life. I have never been so happy and felt so liberated before in my life.

    Academic Rigor

    The level of difficulty of the classes are at a perfect level. The classes are compelling and a challenge. The possibility of a good grade can be achieved at a fair level of studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to meet the professors and administrators to make yourself known.

    In three sentences

    Jones is a very beautiful and organized campus. Anyone would be lucky to be affiliated with such a brilliant school. The memories I made at the school will live forever.

  • 08/19/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    College can be expensive. I believe my education at JCJC was worth the money. The worst was paying for books, but that is at any college.

    What to do for fun

    I always attended sport events. Also, after class I went to the campus gym, tennis courts, basketball court, and several other amenities they offered.

    Food and Dining

    I loved the food at JCJC. They provided a wide variety of foods. The cafeteria had very friendly staff. Most importantly, to me, it was very clean and sanitary.

    Dorm Life

    I never stayed in a dormitory. From other friends opinions, dorm life was great. It allows other students to mingle.

    Academic Rigor

    Jones is a very qualified junior college in my opinion, and it prepares one for the future. The teachers expect one's full effort; however, they help guide students the best they can. I would not say Jones is too hard, but it is an academic challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    A junior college is a great start because it is not a huge transition from high school; therefore, it will not overwhelm one. Associate with other students for advice with classes and teachers. Do your best and apply yourself.

    In three sentences

    JCJC was a great experience and had wonderful well qualified teachers. The atmosphere is great, and the college is expanding with new buildings and opportunities every day. Jones is an amazing place to meet other students because everyone is close/friends there.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Just hanging out at athletic events/on-campus events with your suite- mates and/or your newly found friends seems to be lots of fun. Getting involved in school organizations creates a fun experience for all college students.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the caferteria at JCJC is awesome! There are many great varieties of food items ranging from healthy foods to quick snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great at JCJC. Getting to know your suite-mates is always fun and exciting. Take the opportunity to make your dorm room your home away from home by creating an atmosphere of colors and fun photos of your family & friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Students at JCJC are allowed to apply the knowledge they have learned to real life experiences both inside and outside the classroom. Instructors at JCJC set high expectations for their students and in return, give us the skills and motivation to meet them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arrive at JCJC ready to learn. Find the library and use it to your advantage to help assist you in your studies. Expect to receive a great education from JCJC.

    In three sentences

    The campus of JCJC is a family-like atmosphere. Instructors are knowledgeable and willing to assist students when needed. JCJC is one of the best junior college campuses located in the state of Mississippi.

  • 01/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i love my hobbies of working out and spending time with my family and friends.

    Academic Rigor

    i am very interested in my major, and i enjoy the academic side of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    i encourage prospective students to research their majors before they start attending college. you will get the most out of what you pay for by doing this.

    In three sentences

    i love the fact that my class size is so small. i feel like i am actually gaining knowledge, because my instructor recognizes me as a student and not a number. all jones county junior college staff are very helpful.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    jones has it's own police force.

    Great for these types of students

    from my experienc any kind of student is welcome.

    What to do for fun

    there are many fun things to do that students can participate in; from swimming to arcade games, jones has it all!

    Tips for prospective students

    know what major you want so you will know what classes to take and will not have to stay for extended periods of time.

    In three sentences

    this school is great for students are coming straight from highschool or coming back to earn a new degree. jones is also has teachers who really want to help you and will communicate with students through email or other communication devices. students at jones are also sought after by many employers and there are many major programs available.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe because everyday when I walk across the street to get our mail, I always see campus police patrolling. I believe that is an excellent way to keep a college campus safe is to always have police scouting the area, watching to see if anything unusual takes place. I feel very safe everyday when I come to Jones.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs that are Jones are the best I have ever been in. I am secretary of Historical Society, Reporter for Creative Writing Club, member of Phi Theta Kappa, Student Government Association, writer and photographer for the Lair, Baptist Student Union, and Wesley Foundation. I am very involved with activities concerning the college because it lets people know how very active I am. Being in clubs and participating in events will show leadership, character, and a great report on a resume when you are being interviewed for a job.

    Bang for the buck

    Jones has a One Card Service where you put money on your ID card. This makes your ID card like a debit card, and you can use on or off campus.

    What to do for fun

    Being on Jones' campus, there are many things a person can do for fun. There is a gym on campus where a person can work out everyday, and it's free. There is also a track around the football field where someone can jog or walk for exercise. Spring Fever and Fall Freeze week are great events to see movies and eat with friends at parties. There's a game room where yo can hang out with friends and play pool. There is also a coffee shop inside the library that has great sweets to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    Jones' cafeteria has great food. There is a buffet where you can choose anything you want. I believe the cafeteria is kept clean, and that is an exceptional value to the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have never stayed in the dorms, but I have heard that the both the men and female's dorms are nice and clean.

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes that are taught at Jones are taught by exceptional, well-educated, and bright teachers. The teachers are there to teach the students and gain knowledge that will help him or her later on in life. Keeping up with notes and lectures are important because without the notes, you'll fail the class or fail a test. It's very important to keep your grades up, but the teachers are there to help you. These classes at Jones are just a continuation of a high school class.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students that are thinking about coming to Jones, you should know that the teachers on campus are friendly. There is a library where you can freely enter to check out a book or get on the computer. There is also a coffee shop where you can get a cup of coffee or something sweet to eat. There is a bookstore on campus that will provide you with anything you need.

    In three sentences

    Jones County Junior College is one of the best Junior colleges I have ever attended. The teachers and faculty are very welcoming, and they will always help a student with anything they need. Jones is a very inspiring college, and it is a great place to get an education and earn a degree.

  • 04/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have a gym that you can work out in if you are into that. A place to go for a run and go fishing if you like that.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to start college this fall. Than I suggest that you try this college. You will like it.

    In three sentences

    This College is about the easy one to get around in. They having friendly teachers and that is a plus. It's close to where I live and the cost is reasonable.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I've eaten here on one occasion. It was AMAZING!

    In three sentences

    I've been to JCJC's campus on multiple occasions. It seems like an amazing kickstart for college. I'm looking forward to exploring the options here.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is no other place besides my own home where I feel as safe as I do at Jones. The campus police are always on patrol thought the students are always well behaved and very courteous. There are no threats to your safety on campus or even near campus for that matter.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs on campus that are sure to please anybody. For the constructive students there is SkillsUSA, for the science majors there is the science club headed up by the fabulous Mrs. McCoy, and for the future business men and women there is a wonderful club that is constantly active in their file with one activity or another. There are really too many to name!

    Great for these types of students

    JC is great for students who enjoy being challenged, being creative, and thinking outside of the box!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A favorite spot of mine is under the vine covered arbor close to the beautiful water fountain. It is a perfect escape from the busy world about you. There is always a sunny warm spot in the winter or a nice and cool bench to relax on and people watch in the summer.

    Bang for the buck

    At JCJC you have access to some of the most critically acclaimed professors of our time and even a few rising stars. Tuition at Jones is very reasonable, at only $1,700 a semester, you can afford to continue your current lifestyle while preparing for your future!

    What to do for fun

    JCJC is always throwing student bashes in the commons especially around the holidays! Many of our clubs host fun parties open to the public and sometimes our music or show choir groups will have free shows. Let's not forget football season or any sports for that matter! We Bobcats love our athletes and our tailgating.

    Food and Dining

    Almost every building has some form of dining. Our cafeteria serves hot and delicious meals at reasonable prices and has ample room for dining. There is a wifi hot spot next to our library that hosts a comfy study area and coffee shop. There are also a multitude of machines across campus that accept cash or your student ID/one card making it easy to access your favorite snacks!

    Dorm Life

    Many of my friends enjoy dorm life at JC because of the newly built lodgings, the Internet is fast and reliable, they are completely safe, and they are all well maintained. There are several men's and women's dorm houses across campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic courses at Jones are meant meant to challenge you not only as a student but as a professional too. Their course work is not watered down but rather a compelling obstacle course of knowledge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Our campus is large and always bustling with foot traffic and vehicles, so I highly recommend mapping out your route for maximum efficiency. Another huge thing is to always check your e-mail at least three times a day because you never what an instructor might require of you right before a class!

    In three sentences

    At JCJC you will be challenged constantly by your professors as well as your peers. They offer every accommodation possible whether it be physical, health-related, or merely a scheduling obstacle. Our motto at Jones is Be great! which may sound silly, but as a full time student who is struggling to come into her own, those words are very encouraging!

  • 01/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is surrounded with the campus police. I feel safe when I'm on campus.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I have heard that their the best.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great because its your everyday living.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    I think that you are getting good education at jones so it doesn't matter how much it cost.

    What to do for fun

    Fun things to do is that u can go watch movies on movie night. An also participate in campus activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great, it couldn't get any better.

    Dorm Life

    I have talked with some students there and majority say its clean an well maintenanced.

    Academic Rigor

    Good teaching

    Tips for prospective students

    Listening, watching, paying attention and learning.

    In three sentences

    I think JCJC is a great school. The teachers and staff are well respected and also the students. I am enjoying myself so far.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police officers are nice.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is really good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm but they look great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overwhelm yourself, and take classes you will like.

    In three sentences

    Jones is a great college. The learning environment is amazing. The teachers are very educated and knowledgeable in their field.

  • 03/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    All female residence halls remained locked where students must swipe their ID card and type in a 4 digit code to enter. All male residence halls are locked by key of the student. Campus PD patrols 24/7 and students are not allowed to walk around campus past 10 unless leaving campus or returning to campus.

    Greek Life

    nonexistent.

    Clubs and Activities

    large and well-run Student Government Association. lots of religion oriented clubs (Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Baptist Student Union, Wesley Foundation). College Republicans and College Democrats. a club for every subject (Science club, Mu Alpha Theta, Creative Writing Club, Historical Society, etc).

    Great for these types of students

    Students open to meeting new people and making close knit friends. Students who want to excel but don't quite feel ready to be a small fish in a big pond at a major university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The homecoming parade every year is always a good time for all the clubs on campus. There is also a float competition which gets extremely competitive. Also, during student body and homecoming elections, the parking in front of the cafeteria is overrun with people passing out candy and stickers asking for your vote. This happens every September and March.

    Bang for the buck

    Absolutely. Jones is one of the only places I know where one can still get a top notch education for less than $2,000 a semester.

    What to do for fun

    The SGA works pretty hard on making fun activities for students at Jones a reality. The SGA puts on a dance every semester, monthly movie nights, and slip in slides in the warmer months. All of these activities are great fun if you make it that way. Most students think they have to sit in their dorm all the time which is NOT the case.

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus can be hard to come by. There are two coffee shops not including the Baptist Student Union that all serve coffee, teas, pastries, small sandwiches, etc. Then there's the cafeteria in the student center which tends to have some strange rules due to the workers in there (no tank tops, limit on how long one can sit in there.) Futhermore, the food in the cafeteria can get old pretty quick. If I didn't have a meal plan, I wouldn't eat in there very often.

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms and very competent housing directors on both ends. Resident assistants are people your age. Dorms are the best way to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    There are classes that are the most difficult I've ever taken and there are classes that require little to no effort. It all depends on the teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give junior college a chance. Register for an freshman orientation early so you have a greater chance of the classes you want. Live in the dorms if you can; it's the best way to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    This college is great for those who want a college experience without paying the college price. Classes are small to medium sized with qualified professors who know your name. Jones is the perfect place for any type of student to begin their degree.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Jones is a very safe campus and the campus police help keep it that way. When ever you have a problem the campus police respond very quickly

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are amazing I am apart of a Club called SGA Student Government Association and they get involved with everything that goes on campus

    Great for these types of students

    Jones is a school of opportunity and everybody can paticipate on campus and if you need help they got tutors there that are ready to help daily,

    Bang for the buck

    Jones have many drawing that you can be involved in to win what we called bobcat bucks . Bobcat bucks can be use all on campus and many other places like McDonald Buffalo Wild wings etc

    What to do for fun

    The have a weight room and have a gym you can go fishing on campus and you can go jogging they have intramural sports that you can be involed in and flag football

    Food and Dining

    The food is great totally different from high school. Remember when you was in high school you just about knew what you was gone it for that day but college you never know what to expect and this year we got a taco bell so yes we moving you in the food chain.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing a experince in your life that you will never forget . The way the dorms are set up and the Residents assistants are amazing . An i happen to be one and dorm life allows you make friends that you think wouldn't talk to

    Academic Rigor

    Academic at JCJC is pushed very hard everybody is put their potential and no one gets slack . Jones take academic very seriously if you do not have the grades you will not be able to attend college there and plus you will be kick from any organization that your in . An on top of the you will lose your scholarships if you have accepted any at that given time.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you go to Jones or any college just make sure you go with the right attitude and that you be prepared to work and get with the program . College can be easy but if you play around with it college can be the hardest thing that you have ever done so i would tell the prospect students when you get to Jones or any college lose the high school attitude and be prepared to go to work as soon as you get there .

    In three sentences

    Jones is a school of competitiveness which is great. Jones always asks for a 100% when you do your work, because they want you to succeed in life. Jones get a great rating for me because of the hard work the teachers put in to make students college experince a great one.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great & very helpful !!

    What to do for fun

    I go most school functions involving families.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great !

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in dorms but worked there once.

    Academic Rigor

    Need more classes available during summer classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved with the school programs other than your classes. Try to meet new people to open your network.

    In three sentences

    Jones is a very friendly campus. They have lots of opportunities open for non traditional students. The professors are extremely nice and well educated.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None.

    What to do for fun

    Study, Study, Study

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the orientation class and strive for excellency.

    In three sentences

    Jones county Junior College is a wonderful institution.