Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Judson College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Judson College has been listed among the top colleges by U.S. news. We are in the top twenty of 266 National Liberal Art Colleges in the nation! Our school is one of the few that allows a 2-10 graduating option. To graduate in only two years and ten months!

    Am enjoying being here

    With Judson College being a smaller school it is so much easier to get involved with student activities. The friends you gain here will be friends for a lifetime. We have many events throughout the school year that involve the students and the faculty. Our school is very close, we as Judson Girls consider Judson, our home away from home. Although I do anticipate going home on the weekends, by Sunday I am so ready to come back to Judson.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much here at Judson College. This is my third semester here at Judson and just when I think I cannot learn anymore information our wonderful professors encourage us to work harder and learn even more than is required to pass the classes.

  • 07/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I believe that Judson is great for any type of student. Judson does have smaller class sizes and more intimate settings but I think those things can be beneficial for any type of student. Just give it a try and I am sure you will not be disappointed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give it a chance. Marion is a bit scary at first glance and Judson may seem run down or past its prime to some but the true beauty of it all is found when a person is able to look past all appearances. I believe that is true of life in general. There are plenty of things about Judson that may seem unorthodox or just plain weird and I will admit that plenty of those things really are weird but if you can just learn to roll with things you will learn to embrace life at Judson and come to love and cherish your time as a Judson girl. Also, do not be afraid to tell the faculty and staff how you feel about things. They are very good to accommodate to each individual's needs in whatever way they possibly can.

    Bang for the buck

    It is true that Judson College is not exactly cheap to attend and some of the fees seem quite ridiculous but all in all I would say that Judson is worth every penny. Judson offers so much to its students in all aspects including academia, entertainment, spirituality, etc. Judson is a place where it is definite that you will not leave as the same person that you came in and it is always for the better. Judson is also very good at helping its students to receive as much financial aid as possible.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being a Judson girl SO much!! There is nothing like it. Judson College has a very enjoyable campus and the surrounding area is quite lovely too. It is an indescribable place and there is an indescribable feeling that goes along with it. Judson has plenty to offer when it comes to enjoyment. The faculty and staff are very good at providing things to do. Judson College's campus provides a very good environment for getting ahead in your studies, catching up on some sleep, and even having a little fun with your fellow Judson sisters. I absolutely love, love, LOVE Judson and Marion.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much here at Judson College. Judson has top notch academic programs. Judson is not only dedicated to teaching its students about World History, Art, and Calculus but also about life in the real world as well. You are constantly learning here at Judson whether you are in the classroom or just hanging around campus. Judson is everything I ever wanted academically in a school and so much more.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    judson is heavily involves traditions of the sisterhood, unfortunately, most of them are secret. shh!

    What to do for fun

    girls at judson find several ways to have fun in their limited free time. we can go swimming in our heated pool, go mattress sliding in one of the long stairwells on campus, go shopping in the downtown antique shops, or take a stroll in perry lakes park.

    Food and Dining

    the food at judson isn't always the best, but there are several options available at all times.

    Dorm Life

    the girls at judson all treat each other like family. we are very respectful of each other's privacy and study habits, but we also know how to have fun and form relationships.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors here make sure that we are prepared for the next step in our lives whether it involves more schooling or a career.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would stronly encourage prospective students to decide ahead of time if they truly desire to learn, or if they want to go to college to party. if partying is your scene, judson is not the place for you. we are all about hard work and dedication here.

    In three sentences

    judson is the perfect place for girls striving to earn a higher education while furthering their walk with god. here at judson, professors and other faculty actually know your name and care about your future. other students become a family to you as well.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    only a judson would you carry around a arts and craft box.

    What to do for fun

    go to games, go swimming, hang with friends, judson is always putting together activies for students to do on weekends who have nothing plan.

    Tips for prospective students

    great school if you every gave it a try you will not want to go anywhere else.

    In three sentences

    i love going to judson college. they make you feel welcome here and every one is like family. their not a duel moment at judson.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    our security knows our cars, our parent's and boyfriend's cars, and faculty cars. they are always available if you need anything. including to jump your car or change your tire. trust!

    Greek Life

    instead of many sororities with lots of hazing we have families represented by different animals. it takes the good part of sororities and emphasizes a sisterhood rather than a competition.

    Clubs and Activities

    anything you want to do someone will help you do! (within reason and appropriate conduct of course)

    Great for these types of students

    girls that want to learn and grow with the safety net of people helping you out if you mess up.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have tons of secret traditions!!!! we are well known for the traditions. traditions plays a huge role in why people love judson.

    Bang for the buck

    great education. find lifelong,true friends. we have a saying, i didn't come to judson to find my husband, i came to find my bridesmaids.

    What to do for fun

    traditions!!!!! unfortunately shopping and movies must be done in a bigger city.

    Food and Dining

    getting better. we can come in and out of the dining hall all day long for coffee, cereal, or bagels!

    Dorm Life

    like one big slumber party!

    Academic Rigor

    great acceptance rates into professional schools and graduate schools! study labs available at all hours. small student to faculty ratio makes for flexibility with study sessions and conferences with the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    come visit the campus!!

    In three sentences

    this was the top college for me because of the small town feel and southern hospitality. i enjoy the closeness of the students, faculty, and community. i appreciate the simplicity of life here.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 14

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    we go to tuscalussa or birmingham for shopping or a movie. but sometimes we will go to mobile and go to the beach

    Food and Dining

    the food here is pretty good. sometimes its not the best but im one not to complain.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is a blast even though some of the girls here can get a little crazy.

    Academic Rigor

    the academics here are very good. they are very one on one with the students here.

    Tips for prospective students

    it may seem like a small school thats because it is but its so family orientated

    In three sentences

    judson is the most relaxing place i have ever been to. i feel safe and i feel able to get a good grasp on life. the teachers and staff are very encourageing and i dont feel shy to tell them any thing.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we're in a small town. nothing ever happens here.

    Great for these types of students

    if you enjoy small classes and awesome people, then you can come here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    big/lil. every student gets a big, an upperclassman who will walk you through judson and its other traditions and who will become your best friend. i got lucky and my roommate became my twin (meaning we got the same big). it's a lot of fun.

    What to do for fun

    i enjoy hanging out in my dorm room with my friends, but if you need fun, selma is 30 minutes away, and t-town is an hour.

    Food and Dining

    dining hall is a dining hall, but the surrounding restaurants are good.

    Dorm Life

    traditions. that's all i have to say.

    Academic Rigor

    tough but fair professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    class sizes are small, so make sure this is right for you. also, judson is in a small city, so know it will take you an hour to reach a major city. oh, and it rains a lot here.

    In three sentences

    judson is absolutely amazing. the students are warm and wonderful, and the staff is always there if you need them. you will find no better education in the south.

  • 02/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is super safe. it is locked at night and you have to have an access card to get into any of the buildings

    Clubs and Activities

    every major has their own club, but you can join even if you are not that major.

    Great for these types of students

    every type of student would thrive here

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    some of the locations on campus are exclusive just to the seniors

    Bang for the buck

    judson is priced well for the education and the sports opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    you can ride to tuscaloosa on the weekends or you can stay on campus and enjoy what judson has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    the food at judson can be better. it is good and the dining hall offers many varieties.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is extremely fun. the experience is amazing. you meet a lot of new people and make some really great friends

    Academic Rigor

    the academic levels at judson are high. the academics are what draws people to judson in the first place.

    Tips for prospective students

    look for a college that suits you, because it will be where you get your education and where you will spend a lot of your time.

    In three sentences

    i give judson a solid 4. i love judson because of the education opportunities. i also love judson because of the people.

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very nice security guards who protect the small campus.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    plenty of activites on campus from volunteering opportunities to academic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    great place for music, religion, and all students interested in investing time in the community. the school is close to the community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have special traditions between classes and there is one in particular that brings us all together called big-little sis. it's how we connect to the classes above us and below us.

    Bang for the buck

    price is not too high, but it is part of why some girls can't come back.

    What to do for fun

    we have a pretty exciting campus, so fun just creates itself.

    Food and Dining

    small town, so there are the not that many places to eat, but we did just get a few new cafes. cafeteria depends from week to week.

    Dorm Life

    there are three resident halls and 2 of them have kitchens for the students to use. some of the room are smaller, but not too bad.

    Academic Rigor

    the class difficulty depends on how hard the students want to work.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure they have your major because it is a small school.

    In three sentences

    great place to study and really tightly knit community of students.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Judson campus is very safe. There is gates that get locked at a certain time every night making it a one way in and one way out. Also, there are security guards on duty 24/7 that constantly check the campus to make sure nothing strange or bad is happening, and they keep up with the cameras that are randomly posted around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of clubs and activities to get involved in making time at Judson more enjoyable.

    Great for these types of students

    There is something for everyone to get involved with here!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a great deal of traditions that take place here, but most are kept secret. They are more fun that way! Of course, they are not anything to harm you, but to bring you closer into the sisterhood and make your time one that you will never forget.

    What to do for fun

    Judson is in the small town of Marion so there is not a lot to go out and do. However, there is a few shops that have a lot of fun merchandise and there is a small ice cream shop that is cheap and is owned by a very friendly older couple. Also, if you have any ideas that you want to do around campus there is plenty of other girls that would be willing to join you. Everyone is up for some fun every now and then. Judson is also a tradition filled school so there is alot that go on so that you are not stuck in your dorm room or the library all the time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent. The dining hall staff try their best to make it enjoyable for everyone. More times than not there is a variety to choose from so if there is one thing that you do not want, there is plenty to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the dorms is so much fun! There is a sisterhood that brings everyone together! If you need something, someone is sure to have it and help you out. Majority of everyone gets along and enjoys each others company making it an experience you will never forget.

    Academic Rigor

    The work at Judson is college level work. You have to put as much time and effort into your studies as you would for any other college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that this is where you want to be so that you will be happy. Always ask any questions that you are concerned or curious about. Try to get all the information that you can about Judson so that it is easier for you to decide between any other colleges that you may be looking at. Also, be open minded. Take everything into consideration and really think about what you want.

    In three sentences

    Judson focuses on your education. They care about who you are going to become and what you want out of the college. They simply care about you and push you to strive for the best that you can be.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have top safety for all students. our security rides around campus every day and night for the safety of the students

    Clubs and Activities

    The school comes up with a lot of activities so the students can get involve. I love the activities

    What to do for fun

    For fun, there are movies in Selma and Tuscaloosa that we attend or we just have some type of event on campus that is fun.

    Food and Dining

    i Rate this low because the food is okay but i feel that they need new and more variety of things.

    Dorm Life

    My Freshmen year, I felt that the dorm life for me was unfair, but going into my second year i realized that it helps a lot. I would give this a high score because the people that give money to the school helps the students get new furniture. the dorm life is GREAT

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics are high

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best and prepared to work hard. If you have any questions feel free to ask the professor. They are a lot of help. The things that go on is not to hurt you but to help you.

    In three sentences

    I would Rate it an eight. My reasons for this is because its a great school but its just a little i believe it's missing

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is on alert twenty four- seven. They are aware of things happening on campus. Security takes our safety seriously.

    Greek Life

    Our sisterhood is our Greek life. Everyone is a part of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are weekly activities you can participate in in you spare time such as water aerobics or zumba. There will be a beach volleyball court built by the 2012-2013 school year which will be a lot of be a lot of fun. Some of the clubs on campus are Science club, English club, Art club, and History club. Everyone is welcome to each club. You do not have to be an English major to be in the English club.

    Great for these types of students

    Judson is a great school for any girl that wanted to further her education. There are things for everyone including horse back riding, sports, and various courses. One such course is an archaeology course.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many traditions but the best ones are secret.

    What to do for fun

    Even in a small town there are always a few options for fun. The gym is open late for ball game with your friends or a swim to relax after a afternoon full of studying. There is Perry Lakes Park and Barton's Beach during the spring and summer. If the small town thrills are not your thing Selma and Tuscaloosa are a short drive down the road and both have many other things to offer like the movie theater and the shopping mall.

    Food and Dining

    There is always a selection of various fruits, cereal, ice cream, and bagels in the dining hall. During meals there is pizza, sandwiches, and a variety of southern classic foods as well a large salad bar. There is never a lack of options in the dining hall. The problem is deciding on what to eat that day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm is a place for many things. Hall parties to get a break from studying, movie nights to watch that great new episode of Pretty Little Liars, and study groups for the big history test tomorrow as well as much more. You have your personal space and group areas. The best thing about the dorm is that everyone gets to know everyone outside of the classroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Being a small college everyone wants you to do well and succeed. Professors, students, and staff are there when help is needed or asked for or to give a pat on the back for doing well in courses, sports, or life in general. Academics are a big part of the college and at Judson everything from group study sessions to one on one tutoring can be found.

    Tips for prospective students

    When visiting campus do not be afraid to sit down and have a conversation with the professors. Every professor on campus is open and willing to answer any questions. Students are the same way. Talk with different girls and you might be surprised just how many have common interest with you.

    In three sentences

    Judson College is not a typical college but a campus wide sisterhood. We are there to further our education in a women's baptist college full of wonderful and thrilling traditions. Judson is a place where a girl can imagine what she wants the rest of her life to be like and find the true sisters that will always be there for her.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is great. They are always smiling and willing to help out with anything.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Greek life, but we do have plenty of sisterhood, and it's a great feeling.

    What to do for fun

    Attend sporting events, making signs, and etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will enjoy everything Judson has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Judson College has an awesome campus. If I had to rate Judson College I would give it a ten. The campus is just gorgeous.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 14

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes and nurse majors.

    What to do for fun

    Study with friends. Go for a swim. Join a club. Embrace the college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take things one step at a time. Hang lose and enjoy the college life.

    In three sentences

    It's a great environment. It feels like home. Everyone knows everyone.