Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Judson University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/18/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    people who like smaller class sizes and a more homey environment, don't mind cold weather, great school for architecture, youth ministry, music ministry, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well on your ACT and grades and high school and you will get a good academic scholarship, but i would still expect to pay a good bit if you're not getting a lot of financial aid

    Bang for the buck

    it is a private, liberal arts school, so it is rather expensive, but a good quality education

    Am enjoying being here

    a very social college, very close to Chicago, lots to do near campus, love the people there

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are many social events that take place on and off campus as well as dorm events every other week. we hang out around campus, play games, watch movies...normal college stuff

    Food and Dining

    the food isn't 5 star, but i never really expected it to be. the only complaint i have is that the cafeteria has really set hours, so it can be annoying that you can't find food on campus late at night or at an awkward time in the afternoon

    Dorm Life

    ohio hall, the freshmen girls' dorm, is awesome! the sense of community is so amazing and it's great to be able to walk down the hall and have a real conversation with so many different girls. the relationships that i've built here will last, that much i know.

    Academic Rigor

    it really depends on the classes you take, but i would say that i am challenged in what classes i am registered in and really enjoy them. your academic advisor can help you choose classes that are right for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    come on a preview day: tour the campus, sit in on a few classes, come to chapel

    In three sentences

    i love it! judson is the perfect place for me and i know it's where i belong. i feel as though i am really a part of the community here and that i am valued.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are present and take there jobs seriously. they aren't a joke even though the students don't care for them, but they do a great job on our campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    find a way to get involved with jso (student government), university ministries, or athletics, or create your own group on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    fun, outgoing, athletic, international..this school emcompasses so many people groups and people types you are bound to get connected somewhere.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    wilson hall is tradition. underwear run, dance videos, cookouts, you name it. but there is always room for more, create your own legacy.

    Bang for the buck

    it is worth the money, it is tough for me to find ways to pay, but judson and their staff and helped as much as possible. god has had a purpose for me here and i haven't had a problem here.

    What to do for fun

    45 mins from chicago, walking distance from downtown elgin, easy access, tons of on-campus events including athletics. lots of opportunities, find what you like!

    Food and Dining

    things are changing and as the school gets bigger and grows the better things will become.

    Dorm Life

    wilson hall is the definition of male dorm life, (sorry girls). dorm life is real and authentic. it is the other half of your life besides your education.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the programs, but since it is a liberal arts school you get a taste of everything. the classes push you and help you learn outside of the classroom so you are ready for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    be proactive. there are so many opportunities and place to be involved. judson is growing, so make a mark in your time because you will not get these years back.

    In three sentences

    judson is the perfect small private christian college. your college experience is based on how you invest your time and gifts, and at judson you have every opportunity to grow through your education, athletics, student life, and spiritually. time at judson is well worth the investment.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great, protection 24/7

    Greek Life

    is fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of athletic clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    is a small community and christian place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    is a small community so will know most of students.

    Bang for the buck

    chapel is fun.

    What to do for fun

    dorm activities.

    Food and Dining

    food is not so good, but it is ok sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    rooms are big, do not have to share bathrooms with many people, just your roommate. rd's are available 24/7

    Academic Rigor

    it is a liberal arts university, so students will get a very high standard education.

    Tips for prospective students

    fill out an application.

    In three sentences

    judson university is a good university for people that like small classes. also students can have easy access to professors. a good thing is that there are shop places really close.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great. Judson has their own security.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few on campus. Not a lot of options

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sporting events are the sun traditions on campus. Prizes are awarded at basketball games and other sports for attendance. Home coming is usually held at an off-campus location and is a fun evening. Many service projects are done in Chicago and surrounding areas by students.

    Bang for the buck

    Depends....if you are in architecture, then it is a wonderful school....most other majors are just as likely to be good at a cheaper school, but if you want a Christian school, then this is good.

    What to do for fun

    Many go home on weekends. Architect students study all weekend. Not much of a campus life on weekends.

    Food and Dining

    Very limited on variety and times that it is open. If you have a car, it is more likely you will go out to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorm was awesome. So much that I lived in that dorm again during sophomore year.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on your major and extra curricular activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a smaller and intimate school, Judson is it. Know what you want before coming so you don't waste time and money. It is more expensive than a state school, but worth it. If you want great Christian professors, this is a great school, too.

    In three sentences

    Overall, Judson is a great school. Many options for majors and with a small campus, you get to know your professors very well as well as the student body. Food service is not that great and there is limited dining opportunities which is hard for athletes.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a very good campus safety program and I have not heard of any reported crimes or problems on the campus.

    Greek Life

    They don't have sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    They seem to have something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    They have a great architecture and International studies programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every new student including transfer students have to take a class their first and last semester called Gen 101: Faith and Learning in which students volunteer and learn how to be a strong and helpful community member.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school so it can be expensive. Their financial aide is decent and it is a quality school where I learned more than I expected to.

    What to do for fun

    There are many opportunities on campus from volunteer work to dining events for the students.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the cafeteria is poor quality. I once asked the lunch ladies where the food came from but they were unaware.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are well kept with good facilities like laundry, kitchen and bathrooms. Each building offers a different set up from 2 to a room to 4 respectively.

    Academic Rigor

    They have kind of a tough curriculum but they are intended on the student learning and not just have mickey mouse courses. Students will have to stay on top of the game to earn good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take notes and stay focused on your goals.

    In three sentences

    I am a transfer student from College of Dupage and I have greatly enjoyed my experiences at Judson especially compared to my last school. The teachers are kind and helpful and I have learned so much since coming here.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5...There is always a security officer on duty from the time the college opens til the last person walks out the door for the night.

    Bang for the buck

    5...Your books are included in your tuition, so that is a huge plus, especially for those of us that are receiving financial aid and can not afford to purchase books on our own and there is no bookstore on campus to apply your books toward financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    Here in Rockford you can go to the mall to do some shopping, go see a movie and there are many restaurants for you to dine at.

    Food and Dining

    1...I do not live on campus. I actually attend the campus in Rockford, IL and their are no dorms or cafeteria areas.

    Dorm Life

    1...I do not live on campus in Elgin, I attend the campus in Rockford and there are no dorms.1

    Academic Rigor

    5...The educatioin is very beneficial and the teachers are more than willing to help you with any issues that may arise.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always research colleges that you may attend in the future and make sure that it will be a perfect fit for you because you will be investing your time and money into this however long it takes you to obtain your degree.

    In three sentences

    Teachers and staff are very tactful. Teachers are very informational and willing to share their experiences. The atmosphere is very calming and learning comes easy.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for worship centered people and people with God focused lives. Also great for people searching out God and his will for their lives.

    What to do for fun

    There are random open dorm nights, so a lot of hanging out with friends. There are also places set up for movie nights with people even when it's not open dorm. Also down the road is Brunswick which is an amazing game arcade, bowling and laser tag!

    Food and Dining

    The food is average but there has been great strides to make it more flavorful and healthy in my three years here alone.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great! There are events for the dorm to have fun and also connect more spiritually. There is also a great community here at Judson.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel as though my professors care for not only my academics but also my personal life. They all have a true care and want to help through situations which helps allow you to be comfortable for help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a great place to forget about the week's chaos and burdens, giving them up to the Lord, go to upper room on tuesday nights. It is extremely encouraging and helps you make it through the week.

    In three sentences

    This school has a very warm and welcoming atmosphere about it. There are great faculty and staff that all are concerned and care about your well-being. The administration and financial aspect of this school are a little lacking in communication skills and speed but they are continuing to work on this issue.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is not the most friendly of sorts. There are exceptions, but sometimes they can be too serious. Watch where you park while you are on campus, because they are notorious for giving out tickets. Some of the campus safety members are nice but others can stand to relax a little.

    Greek Life

    If there is any kind of Greek Life I am not aware of it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are limited positions in the clubs and you have to apply for them. I thought that was upsetting because I wanted to do them on a voluntary basis, however you get paid for your time. There are great clubs such as FCA though where everyone is welcome, athletes or not. There are multiple activities but I do not think that many people attend, which is a bummer. Overall though I think that the activities are average of most small colleges and universities.

    Great for these types of students

    Judson is great if you do not like the opposite sex in your rooms all the time. If your roommate has an obnoxious boyfriend you do not have to deal with him being in your room all the time because there are designated hours/. It is also a great school if you are looking to be closer to God. I never thought I could grow so much. I also like it because I am not distracted by drugs or alcohol. Some people still do it but you do not feel pressured to join them. If you are into drama, choir, missionary trips, baseball, or many other community outreach programs Judson is the place for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During finals week teachers do something called Storm The Dorms and they bring milk and cookies to your room while you study. They show interest in what you are doing. There are also initiation events for each dorm. Freshman boys wake up at 2 AM and jump into the fox river during the first week.

    Bang for the buck

    The education is great and people are friendly, but I do not think that we get what we deserve for how much we pay. The food is hardly good, and I feel like I pay a lot of money to have bad food. It is free to go to all sporting events as a student, which is nice. You also get to use the athletic facilities without paying extra. However, in the end I do not think that the money is worth it sometimes.

    What to do for fun

    Each dorm does at least 2 events per month. They can be something small like a movie night or they can do something more fun like a dance party. There are also other student body organizations that do events and I go to as many as I can. Only boring people get bored, make the best out of the situation. The organizations are always open to new ideas too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is the worst part about the school. I have a busy schedule Monday, Wed. and Friday. I can not even stop to get lunch because of their hours. The food is rarely good, and I often end up going to get food elsewhere. However, the lunch ladies are truly there to serve you and are always very happy. It makes going in there enjoyable, even when the food is bad.

    Dorm Life

    have been to see a lot of colleges and I can honestly say we have amazing dorms. There are also room checks, so if your roommate is dirty you are not the one who needs to tell her, the RAs do it for you. I love that the classes downstairs and I don't have to leave the building when it's cold. However, the open dorm hours make me feel like I am in high school, that's the only reason they do not get 5 stars.

    Academic Rigor

    I have improved so much in my academics, even after one semester. The teachers take the time to know you personally and will help you one on one. I played volleyball and even when it was tough I was able to get by and did well my first semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for any scholarships you can find. The tuition continues to go up. Take the time and save yourself money.

    In three sentences

    I love going to Judson, but it is super expensive. I love that it is a dry campus. People there are so friendly too.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very Safe. It is a very open campus, so you can enjoy the scenery without being scared somebody is going to come up to you and attack you. We have Campus safety officers on duty all times of the day and are not scary to talk to either. Very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Not much of that here in this setting.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different clubs and activities for the students on campus from chapel dance team to Student activities committee, you have many to choose from, you just have too look into what you like to do. Sports is one that I recommend because I have had a positive input in being part of the Universities women's Soccer team.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is a Liberal Arts school. There are many majors here but to break it down the easiest is Education, Art and Design, Architecture, Music, biblical studies, and other majors that fall into those categories. Half the school is made up of athletes too, which gives a wide range of what this school has student wise.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many late night activities you can attend, for instance there is this Battle Royal thing we do on campus, basically people get teams together and play capture the flag all over campus during the night. There are so many more activities that happen which are so fun! We also have Homecoming which is a great way to spend some time with your buddies.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a Christian Liberal school, but by know means does anyone push any beliefs on you. You do have to attend chapel, which not boring at all. Many different speakers come, there international chapels, plays and dramas. It is a very good community to surround yourself in.

    What to do for fun

    I mostly spend time with my soccer team and my Architecture students. It is a culture that we have to spend a lot of time with each other. I do not have a lot of free time but that is my choice of path because of the major I chose and being an athlete. I do not regret it one bit though, I am working hard and am dedicated in achieving at the highest level that I can.

    Food and Dining

    We just got new chefs this year so the food has improved drastically with better choices and quality. There is a wide range of different foods from different cultures.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on where you live on Campus it has different experiences. There are apartment style dorms (Volkman), freshman dorms (Ohio and Wilson), and I transfered here and I live in Linder Tower which a hotel styled dorm. This is my second year in this dorm I I find it to be the best. The resident Director is awesome and the community there is the most close knit.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, there are different workloads. I am in Architecture which Is one of the majors that have a rigorous work load. You have to love what you are doing because it demands alot of your attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like good relationships with your teachers and small class sizes it is a good choice to be here. As a transfer student here I did not know what to expect but I have grown to love it here. I joined the Soccer team here also which is an amazing experience, it help me break out of my shell and be apart of the school in a fun way. If you play a sport I highly recommend joining if you are willing to manage your time well with school and your sport of choice. Will have an amazing college experience and opportunities an average student couldn't have. For example, my team got to go to Florida for a week for the national championship which was an unbelievable experience I will never forget.

    In three sentences

    Judson is a small private school that I didn't expect I would ever consider. It is a very close knit community that cares for each other. You will make friends for life here and you will learn so much about yourself.

  • 03/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is nothing to worry about at Judson. Campus Safety is pretty top-notch.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't participate in any of the clubs. I honestly can't even name any of the clubs off the top of my head. There are, however, activites that you can participate in; some are dorm activities and some are campus-wide activities.

    Great for these types of students

    It's a Christian university; this is ideal for those devout Christians looking to attend a liberal arts college. Putting that aside, it is an accredited school of Art, Design, and Architecture; these programs are of the best in the area.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No unusual traditions that I can think of. There is Upper Room on Tuesday nights for those who like worship at night. Behind Creekside, there is a really nice path for those who like walks through the trees. I also recently found out that there is a castle in the forest.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to Judson University is pretty expensive. I have to say that I'm always a bit worried when each semester comes around, but I can say with confidence that it is fairly worth it paying the amount that is due per semester to come to Judson.

    What to do for fun

    There are different areas on campus to go to. The Upper Commons has a pool table. There is Jerry's Cafe for really good coffee and drinks. There is also what is known as the JUBU for a group activity, or for watching a movie. There are also the different campus activities throughout the semester, which are always to look forward to.

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food isn't the best. Also, it isn't really worth it for the price of food for the semester. I, however, am thankful to be eating at all, so I try to make the best of what is given in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Each dorm has its pros and cons, but altogether, you have dorms for every taste. It's a widely-known fact that you get the best college experience by living on campus; at Judson, that holds truth. You get a lot of activity in the dorms. Plus, you get more time to spend with most of the people you see in your classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Actually, the only majors that are rigourous are Art, Design, and Architecture. To clarify, I know that all majors have their own amount of workload, but really no other majors can compare to the amount of hours spent studying for these exams or the hours spent in studio.

    Tips for prospective students

    Generally speaking, don't be afraid upon coming to Judson. You have a number of fun-loving Christian folk around that are ready and willing to welcome you. There is nothing to be afraid of because there are so many people here that are ready to share their love with you.

    In three sentences

    Judson is the perfect private university for students who are looking for a welcoming, Christian environment. At Judson, you get a personable experience with each professor. The best part about Judson is that it's such a small community that you actually interact with the vast majority of the residents and staff; it actually feels like home.

  • 03/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I thought this school was amazing and i probably will attend school here. I love the location of the school and how small the school is.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus Events, watch movies, go to Starbucks, go to Chicago on the weekends, go to the mall, hang out in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    Everyone complains about the cafeteria. You get used to it, it isn't that bad. But it is HORRIBLE for vegetarians or vegans.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the dorms for one semester and I didn't like it. It was not for me. But if you are a girl or a guy that wants to feel like you're at a slumber party with 100 other Christians every night, go for it.

    Academic Rigor

    Judson University is not easy. Even though they are a small school, they are ready to equip you with exactly what you need to succeed, and that means putting you to the test academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are interested in Education, Design, Architecture, Ministry, or Missions, you should definitely consider Judson University. They will serve you well. Otherwise, I would be hesitant to choose Judson if you are not a strong Christian believer. The community and campus life is strongly geared towards a Christian lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    Judson University's School of Art, Design, and Architecture Department is an incredibly rich environment to learn the arts in, which a very strong sense of community and studio space. Judson is also well known for their Education department, which is also quickly growing in opportunities. In addition to these strengths, Judson University is also a private Christian university, so it is not for someone seeking a secular education, as a Christian world-view permeates the way they teach.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Open gym, intramural volleyball/basketball/soccer/football, Kappa Delta Pi, most majors have some sort of club or group most people can join.

    Great for these types of students

    Don't be shy. If you're more introverted than extroverted, find people who fit your personality better and you'll love your college experience all the more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For freshman boys coming in, the dorm they live in (Wilson Hall) baptizes them in a river that runs behind our campus on their first night of college in the middle of the night. Last year, we even put big stones into the river so that Josh, the guy running the ceremony, also wearing a white robe, would walk out onto the stones and in the middle of the night, it appeared as though he was walking on water.

    What to do for fun

    Judson is 40 minutes outside Chicago, IL. That being said, there is much to do ranging from movies to scenic bike/walking trails, to fishing, to sporting events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be Yourself; when I came to college, I pretended to be someone I was not and subsequently that made my life in making friends more difficult. By being the man or woman God made you to be, and no one else, your college life will be much easier.

    In three sentences

    Judson University is a very diverse, yet unified school. We have students who attend from all across the globe, yet we all have many things in common ranging from our taste in food to our love of sports. Judson is very solid at bringing together and maintaining good, healthy, life-long relationships.

  • 09/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe. No drinking is allowed even if age is permissable. Security is always on site.

    Great for these types of students

    Judson University is great for students who seek career in a Christ-centered school. It is a very Christ-Centered school, no drinking, no parties, no inappropriate behavior.

    Food and Dining

    Judson University is located in an area where there is a lot dinning areas near by. The cafeteria food is decent nothing too major but still not bad. Definitely has a great location to eat out.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in a dorm I commuted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Judson University has small classroom sizes and classes book fast, always get all the admission process completed in timely manner.

    In three sentences

    Judson University is very impressive. It has a truly caring staff that makes the admission process very easy and smooth. Judson University offers a variety of financial aid options for each student and about ninety-five percent of students are and financial assistance through scholarships, grants and loans.